View Full Version : Eurovision Uberthread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

02/11/2005, 12:41 AM
and I'm one of them:o. If I was watching it at all it would be on BBC that I'd watch it cos of Wogan's witty comments:D

oh we agree on something! :eek:

02/11/2005, 12:42 AM
oh we agree on something! :eek:Yeah, but dont get too used to it though;)

02/11/2005, 12:45 AM
Yeah, but dont get too used to it though;)

heh heh :D

14/11/2005, 11:47 AM
Brian Kennedy has been selected as Ireland's representative for Eurovision 2006 in Greece:

http://www.rte.ie/tv/eurovision2006/

We are the first country to select a performer for the 2006 contest, with 6 months to go to the event.

14/11/2005, 11:40 PM
Brian Kennedy has been selected as Ireland's representative for Eurovision 2006 in Greece:

http://www.rte.ie/tv/eurovision2006/

We are the first country to select a performer for the 2006 contest, with 6 months to go to the event.

I know, it's great! A great candidate in my opinion.

Positives:

* Great accomplished singer, very versatile and has great experience with many singers, so will make sure it is of a decent standard unlike last year :o

*Is a fan of traditional/folk type music

* He's fit :D

*YAS is no longer involved.

* He's from the North... ;)

* He's not those 2 geeks from Athlone (sorry hamish etc)

Negatives

* He's a guy and lately guys don't tend to win Eurovision, as long as they have a traditional Irish musical influence, instruments, a few women in stage etc, preferably dancers. Unfortunately the no. of people on stage is limited.

Cannot believe we are the first to pick a singer! Bit of organisation this time!!

Good luck Brian!

14/11/2005, 11:44 PM
* He's fit :Dand gay too;) :p

15/11/2005, 1:19 AM
and gay too;) :p

So?!? :mad: At least he looks good...

15/11/2005, 1:20 AM
So?!? At least he looks good...For other men;):p

*Thinks how easy it is to annoy GT*:cool:

15/11/2005, 1:24 AM
For other men

*Thinks how easy it is to annoy GT*:cool:

Do ya fancy him sligoman?

15/11/2005, 1:27 AM
Do ya fancy him sligoman?

:eek:Oh yeah sure, he's my idol:rolleyes:

I think you've me mistaken with Hamish, he's the guy that dreams of Elton John;)

15/11/2005, 1:32 AM
I don't watch it anymore.....I need not pretend :p :D

15/11/2005, 1:37 AM
I don't watch it anymore.....I need not pretend :p :D

you get your own personal updates though....;)

15/11/2005, 1:40 AM
For sligoman.......

http://www.tradmusic.com/artistimages/K/briankennedy.jpg :D

15/11/2005, 1:44 AM
For sligoman.......

http://www.tradmusic.com/artistimages/K/briankennedy.jpg :DFeck off with yer Brainless Kennedy:mad: :p

15/11/2005, 12:53 PM
Lionel no like this.

I think we should send that victorian freak-show tweedle dee and tweedle dum again. The people of Athlone demand it -hear their cry.

Send forth the one legged man - the @rse kicking competition is set to begin!

15/11/2005, 1:11 PM
Lionel no like this.

I think we should send that victorian freak-show tweedle dee and tweedle dum again. The people of Athlone demand it -hear their cry.

Send forth the one legged man - the @rse kicking competition is set to begin!

King Brian will bring the trophy home! :D

15/11/2005, 1:54 PM
King Brian will bring the trophy home! :D

that's what worries me.

I can picture him now -singing some camp quasi religious twaddle most likely composed by Brendan Graham with a bit of help from Brian mcFatten to inject a bit of "cool". Jesus wept.

21/11/2005, 2:40 AM
Click here (http://www.keithm.utvinternet.ie/IrishNews2.htm)for some more info on our Brian...:D

Fab voice. Come on, compare him to the Milky Bar Kid and his momma from Athlone that we sent last year! :o :eek:

21/11/2005, 3:54 AM
King Brian will bring the trophy home!

Kennedy reactions (http://www.esctoday.com/news/read/5163)

Personally, I have my doubts about Kennedy. While the reaction has been generally positive overall, I would be concerned that while he has the ability to perform well, it's clear that the show has changed irrevocably since our last win, and sending him to Athens could well backfire on RTE. Generally, traditional music/ballads (his forté) don't score well, and there will almost certainly be no "visuals" on stage to accompany the song. Couple that with the mass Eastern bloc voting, and it's going to be very difficult for him, and indeed us, to qualify for the final on that basis. I think it's a gamble by RTE to send him to Eurovision, and it could ruin his career if he fails in the contest.

Will he be another Mark Roberts/Mickey Harte, or alternatively Gary O'Shaughnessy Mark II?? Find out on May 19th.

21/11/2005, 7:13 AM
Kennedy reactions (http://www.esctoday.com/news/read/5163)
Personally, I have my doubts about Kennedy. While the reaction has been generally positive overall, I would be concerned that while he has the ability to perform well, it's clear that the show has changed irrevocably since our last win, and sending him to Athens could well backfire on RTE. Generally, traditional music/ballads (his forté) don't score well, and there will almost certainly be no "visuals" on stage to accompany the song. Couple that with the mass Eastern bloc voting, and it's going to be very difficult for him, and indeed us, to qualify for the final on that basis. I think it's a gamble by RTE to send him to Eurovision, and it could ruin his career if he fails in the contest.

Will he be another Mark Roberts/Mickey Harte, or alternatively Gary O'Shaughnessy Mark II?? Find out on May 19th.

Who's to say there will be no visuals on stage? I cannot believe they will stick him there on his own :eek: Brian is no cod, he will be highly involved in every stage of this performance and will have a say in what goes. They will not go for a straight ballad, even though his voice is well suited to it. They know these ballads do not work, however did Malta and some other country(Latvia?) not finish in the top 5 with ballads last year.....The bloc voting is a problem, only good thing is there are more and more east Europeans in Ireland so we tend to be getting more votes from Poland, Latvia etc.

Also I think Ireland has realised that it is important to send someone who is actually known in Europe, like other acts that have done well, recent Greek acts, Helena Paparizou and Sakis for e.g.

Previous winners have had some traditional elements to it, Ruslana had the Ukrainian :rolleyes: wild dances, music was traditional to a mountain area in Ukraine. Helena last year had elements of Greek music in hers and Turkey Sertab whatever her name had a very typical Turkish instrumental theme.

Regarding Brian's career, well he is 40 now and has already established himself, it is not as if he is just starting out or in the middle of his career. He would not have chosen to do this unless he felt he had the ability and experience to do well. That's all I expect and hope for in the competition, that we get our credibility back in the contest, actually MAKE a final and finish in the top 10. To win would be a huge bonus though...

I am very optimistic about it, can't wait, put it this way, we can't do any worse than last year! And who would you choose, those 2 gimps from last year or Brian? Speaking of which some gossip on those 2 gimps (http://www.esctoday.com/news/read/5174)! :eek:

22/11/2005, 4:37 AM
some gossip on those 2 gimps
We'll leave the gossip to those who care.

They will not go for a straight ballad. They know these ballads do not work.
We Irish are balladeers. And you can be sure that the public here will vote for another soppy ballad yet again for the contest. They don't work in Eurovision, because most people who watch it, are not interested in listening to 3-minute long boring bawls.

The bloc voting is a problem

The same problem of course, that will guarantee us 12 points from the UK in 2006. :D :rolleyes:

there are more and more east Europeans in Ireland so we tend to be getting more votes from Poland, Latvia etc.

There is no evidence suggesting that they vote for us in increasing numbers.

Previous winners have had some traditional elements to it, Ruslana had the Ukrainian wild dances, music was traditional to a mountain area in Ukraine. Helena last year had elements of Greek music in hers and Turkey Sertab whatever her name had a very typical Turkish instrumental theme.

Yes, Greece and Turkey have sent ethno songs for 30 odd years, and the reward for all that is 1 win apiece. Greece's winning song was a straight-forward pop song, written and performed by professionals. Turkey's winning song had a strong Austrian influence, as they were the dancers. Ukraine's song in 2004 was not an ethno entry. There are plenty of ethno failures too e.g. Estonia 2004, and Croatia/Turkey 2005. The televoters want to hear upbeat catchy numbers in English, not traditional music in a language that nobody else understands, or ballads that bore everyone to sleep.

I am very optimistic about it, can't wait, put it this way, we can't do any worse than last year!

Oh yes we can do worse, and I fear we will. BK wouldn't have been my choice, he wouldn't have even been considered tbh. I fear that after all the years of RTE saying we will do better next year, they will continue to embarrass us in the contest. Failure to make the final, could have a major negative impact on Kennedy's career and image, and I fear that he doesn't realise exactly how tough it's going to be. Eurovision is not a straight-forward gig. To succeed, you need to come up with something a bit different. Can he do it? I'm not so sure.

22/11/2005, 4:10 PM
The fact that this thread has reached 16 pages is what's worrying me:o.

22/11/2005, 5:19 PM
The fact that this thread has reached 16 pages is what's worrying me:o.

It's only 8 pages long, on my site set-up. :)

24/12/2005, 5:53 AM
With less than 5 months to go to the 2006 event, preparations for the contest are in full swing. Many countries will choose through YAS-style semi-finals, and finals. Only the Big 4 and Sweden have yet to get their Eurovision plans up for next year off the ground, but will do so soon. By this time next month, there will be 3-4 countries choosing their performers every weekend for Athens.

There were 450 entries submitted from all around the country, wishing to be selected as the song to represent Ireland in Athens. Shay Healy, and Brendan Graham will whittle them all down to a shortlist of 4 entries to be voted on by the public in the Spring.

Other Eurovision news sees Albania and Switzerland also select their performers in 2006. In Albania's case, they will have a Male artist on stage for the first time in the contest, while Switzerland have chosen a group of 6 members from 6 different countries. Johnny Logan will judge the Belgian entry for Eurovision in Athens. Meanwhile, Hungary's MTV, after making their return to the show in 2005 following an 11-year break, have withdrawn from the contest once again, mainly on financial grounds.

17/01/2006, 3:50 PM
update (http://www.keithm.utvinternet.ie/IrishNews.htm)

oh jaysus (http://www.keithm.utvinternet.ie/Athens06snc.htm)

Brian Kennedy is playing in Glasgow tonight, but i can't make it unfortunately :mad:

17/01/2006, 4:00 PM
Update:

I don't like the Eurovision anymore.

Come on boys and girls...is there need for such in depth analysis for the Eurovision...?:D

21/01/2006, 1:27 PM
Update:

I don't like the Eurovision anymore.

Come on boys and girls...is there need for such in depth analysis for the Eurovision...?:D

heh heh, wonder who you're quoting from, snigger.......:D

28/01/2006, 9:58 AM
heh heh, wonder who you're quoting from, snigger.......:D

I wish Brian Kennedy well. But if we do not get far in this year's competition I wish to reiterate an idea that Partizan would concur with .

Invite Belgrade's own Irish folk music/ trad band The Orthodox Celts to represent us in 2007. As they are one of the most popular bands in ex-Yugoslavia they would garner votes from all 5 parts of the former federation currently in the Contest. This would diffuse a lot of the block voting from the Balkans and would keep Ireland in the frame.

04/03/2006, 7:15 AM
Well, the "competition" to find the song for Kennedy in Eurovision turned out to be a) a fix, and b) crap. As usual with Kennedy, he cannot sing anything else except a ballad, and despite writers, and composers sending literally hundreds of better entries, Kennedy's own song was chosen. His own song may be typically Irish, but it's Gary O'Shaughnessy-esque, and hasn't a prayer at Eurovision. :mad:

The Brits make their minds up about Athens this weekend, as do the Croats. The Germans, Swedes, and French decide soon also, given that there are only 2 weeks left to choose a song for the 2006 contest. Las Ketchup are performing for Spain! :o

Of those that have decided, there are already some firm favourites, like Norway, Turkey, and especially Belgium, where RTBF have sent the well reknowned Kate Ryan to Athens; her looks, and song may well bring the title back to Brussels for the first time in 20 years. Already, it's a chart-topper around the continent, and yes, Je t'adore it too. Re: Kennedy, he may as well not turn up, as his song is of Father Ted standard. :(

06/03/2006, 6:42 PM
Well, the "competition" to find the song for Kennedy in Eurovision turned out to be a) a fix, and b) crap. As usual with Kennedy, he cannot sing anything else except a ballad, and despite writers, and composers sending literally hundreds of better entries, Kennedy's own song was chosen. His own song may be typically Irish, but it's Gary O'Shaughnessy-esque, and hasn't a prayer at Eurovision. :mad:

Of those that have decided, there are already some firm favourites, like Norway, Turkey, and especially Belgium, where RTBF have sent the well reknowned Kate Ryan to Athens; her looks, and song may well bring the title back to Brussels for the first time in 20 years. Already, it's a chart-topper around the continent, and yes, Je t'adore it too. Re: Kennedy, he may as well not turn up, as his song is of Father Ted standard.

oh, cop on, brian kennedy is an amazing singer :mad: Sure you thought the brother and sister geeks for ireland last year were great :eek:
I really hope it works well for him, i have not heard the song yet.

07/03/2006, 1:04 AM
oh, cop on, brian kennedy is an amazing singer

Kennedy's own song was chosen. His own song may be typically Irish, but it's Gary O'Shaughnessy-esque, and hasn't a prayer at Eurovision.

Kennedy's song is of Father Ted standard.

I have not heard the song yet.

Count your lucky stars. I have listened to several of the competing songs already, and I had to switch Kennedy's off after less than a minute. If that's what I do, you can imagine what the rest of Europe will do on the night. It's boring, and as flat as a pancake. The song is frankly, horrendous for Eurovision.

Belgium remains the clear favourite as the singer and song ticks all the right boxes. Croatia's is good too, as is Belarus, and Turkey. Kennedy's song however, is one of our worst ever entries. It's that bad. :(

20/03/2006, 2:30 AM
2 months before Eurovision 2006, and all countries have selected their artists for this year's contest. March 20th sees RTE make their first trip to Athens, for the Head of Delegation meetings with the EBU. The draw for the running order of the semi-final and final is made the next day.

No Name achieved the remarkable feat of representing their country for the second year in a row, however Serbia later withdrew from the contest after a row over the selection process. Carola represents Sweden for the third time, having won the contest in Rome in 1991. Anna Vissi represents Greece for the second time, and it's also her third try to win the show. One's to watch out for this year are, Monaco, Belgium, Belarus, Germany, and Holland. Outsiders are Croatia, Norway, Sweden, and UK. Plenty of competition for Kennedy to look forward to. :)

22/03/2006, 9:54 PM
Belgium remains the clear favourite as the singer and song ticks all the right boxes.

For "ticks all the right boxes", read "standard and formulaic"

The Eurovision stopped whenever Denmark won it last, it seems to have thought it should take itself seriously since then in particular........(The Eurovision taking itself seriously :D )

PR wins it now, not genuine bad songs, just preplanned bad songs. A whiparound tour of Europe for a few months to win it and then nothing. Sad to see iot like that, it used to be simply fun.

Bucks Fizz, Mr. Logan, Eimear Quinn, Abba, Norwegian null pointers should be turning in their Eurovision graves. What would happen now to a country that gets null points? Excommunication from the circle of love? It used to be just a funny joke, now it's treated so serious that you can't dare *humiliate* your country...:eek: :rolleyes:

The last song I remember from the Eurovision with any wish or fondness is whatever that Austrian had with his cardboard cows and pigs as backing singers.

It finished 4th or something like that because it was in the true, age-old fun Eurovision style and was therefore popular - against all the very studious betting fraternity's thoughts, iirc. No coincidence then that's the last one I remember then..

RIP Eurovision..

25/04/2006, 10:34 AM
Just spotted in the English Sun a pic of this year's Finnish entry for the Eurovision. Bucks Fizz it aint. Wonder what Wogan will make of these lads?

http://www.eurovision.tv/english/49.htm

Hope they are on after Brian Kennedy. It'll be like Slipknot following Daniel O'Donnell on the same bill! :D

25/04/2006, 2:20 PM
kudos to Finland for giving this overblown joke the two fingers.

I think I might just break the habit of a lifetime and vote this year.

May Lordi give Eurovision the death ist's been beggin for this long time.:p

25/04/2006, 2:34 PM

May Lordi give Eurovision the death ist's been beggin for this long time.:p

William Hill Eurovision Song Contest: 2/1 Greece, 8/1 United Kingdom, 8/1 Belgium, 8/1 Sweden, 8/1 Romania, 12/1 Bosnia, 14/1 Switzerland, 16/1 Estonia, 16/1 Norway, 16/1 Germany, 16/1 Croatia, 20/1 Iceland, 25/1 Denmark, 25/1 Finland, 33/1 Turkey, 33/1 Russia, 33/1 Poland, 33/1 Malta, 33/1 Macedonia, 33/1 Latvia, 40/1 Ireland, 50/1 Spain, 50/1 Netherlands, 50/1 Lithuania, 50/1 Monaco, 50/1 Cyprus, 66/1 Ukraine, 66/1 Slovenia, 66/1 Israel, 100/1 Belarus, 66/1 Andorra, 100/1 Portugal, 100/1 Moldova, 100/1 France, 100/1 Bulgaria, 100/1 Albania, 100/1 Armenia.

Going to slap a few quid on Finland so! watch the price come tumbling down.... it would be pure comedy if they won. and confirming in the process that it's just a mad freakshow...

27/04/2006, 10:46 PM
What are the odds on Ireland crashing and burning in the semi-final?

28/04/2006, 8:54 AM
I'll be crossing everything crossable. All together now "Every song ...is a pile of muck":)

01/05/2006, 8:41 PM
Maybe it should be rechristened the " Eurovision Schlock Contest" :D

05/05/2006, 2:15 AM

:(

Precisely why Finland should be ignored this year. It's a pr stunt, full of gimmicks, masks, fireworks, and the odd lyric or two thrown in. Unfortunately, it will score well among the Lionel Richie-type voters.

As for Brian, he's em, doing his bit to promote his song. Along with visiting music stores in Dublin :confused: , he's visited Serbia, and most recently, Croatia, where in amongst fellow ESC contestants on tv shows, his song was the only one described by the locals as...boring. :( In a country where Eurovision is quite rightly taken seriously, that's a pretty damning verdict, from a key voting area. The delegation fly out for the first rehearsals next week. We have been drawn 8th in the running order for the semi-final, directly after red-hot favourites this year, Belgium. Luck decrees that Brian will perform the 1,000th song in the contest's history.

With the show imminent, how are the others getting on? The Belgian girl with the distinctly Irish surname, Kate Ryan, has visited 20+ countries to promote her song, Je t'adore. Treble, the Dutch group, will visit all 38 competing countries. UK artist Daz Sampson promoted his song in the Med countries. Croatia have sent an artist, who's famous for a private video of hers that found it's way to the internet. Armenia will open the contest. Serbia withdrew from the contest, but are still ALLOWED to vote, the points awarded from 1 to 7 will appear on the voting scoreboard before each jury vote in the final. Only the countries who have scored 8 to 12 points will be announced on the night.

Real ale Madrid
05/05/2006, 7:42 AM
[QUOTE=mypost]:(
The Belgian girl with the distinctly Irish surname, Kate Ryan, has visited 20+ countries to promote her song, Je t'adore. QUOTE]

Actually thats just her stage name - her real name is Katrien Verbeeck. Extremely popular over here in Belgium even though the song is isnt great. Catchy i suppose.

By the way i'm surprised she hasnt featured on tottywatch.

05/05/2006, 9:20 AM
:(

Precisely why Finland should be ignored this year. It's a pr stunt, full of gimmicks, masks, fireworks, and the odd lyric or two thrown in. Unfortunately, it will score well among the Lionel Richie-type voters.

What? Former Commodores frontman and mega selling pop-soul artist Lionel Richie votes in Eurovision?! For Finland???!!!:confused:

Lionel Ritchie on the other hand, if he has nothing better to do, will indeed root for the Rob Zombie/Ted Nugent/Kiss tribute from Finland. I'm not sure what narrow strata Mypost thinks an act featured on Eurovision should come from -but if "gimmicks, masks, fireworks and the odd lyric or two" disqualify -can we bury Riverdance without trace and not before time?:cool:

06/05/2006, 5:36 AM
(Re: Kate Ryan) Actually thats just her stage name - her real name is Katrien Verbeeck.

Nah, we'll go with her stage name. It's Irish, and nicer on the ears. :)

the song isnt great. Catchy i suppose.

It's precisely what Eurovision fans want. It will do very well. :)

hamish
06/05/2006, 4:34 PM
Saw Kennedy singing his awful ditty on the Late Late last night, mypost.
You're dead right - it's brutal.:(

06/05/2006, 5:01 PM

That's the real Eurovision for you...

I've finally found the link to the Austrian song a few years ago that managed to finish fifth with 101 points with cardboard cows cats and parrots and apparently his mother as a backing singer... :cool:

Only in the Eurovision would this song survive and thrive. It was all expected to fail miserably amongst the serious types and the serious attempts and yet finished 5th out of 25 (?) :D

Alf Poier, Weil der Mensch Zaehlt::D

http://www.aftonbladet.se/vss/quicktime/movwin/0,3261,m0no030404osterrike,00.html

07/05/2006, 5:16 AM
That's the real Eurovision for you...

I've finally found the link to the Austrian song a few years ago that managed to finish fifth with 101 points

Only in the Eurovision would this song survive and thrive. It was all expected to fail miserably amongst the serious types and the serious attempts and yet finished 5th out of 25 (?) :D Alf Poier, Weil der Mensch Zaehlt.

Jaysus, you still haven't shut up about it. You'd swear that it had won. :rolleyes:

It was a flashback to the bad old days of the contest, which you'll find are very rare now. The highly organised, marketed, and sophisticated contest these days is not worthy of such junk. :mad:

07/05/2006, 8:35 PM
Jaysus, you still haven't shut up about it. You'd swear that it had won.

It was a flashback to the bad old days of the contest, which you'll find are very rare now. The highly organised, marketed, and sophisticated contest these days is not worthy of such junk.

Organised and marketed perhaps -but sophisticated?:rolleyes: Only if you're working with your average fashion supplement contributors definition of sophistication I'd say.

Though you're absolutley correct in your (I'm guessing unintentional) assertion that the contest these days is not worthy of such junk :D

Flashback to the bad old days? These ARE the bad old days. :p

12/05/2006, 2:17 AM
I've finally found the link to the Austrian song a few years ago that managed to finish fifth with 101 points with cardboard cows cats and parrots and apparently his mother as a backing singer. Only in the Eurovision would this song survive and thrive.

Yes, it did so well that ORF decided to withdraw from the contest this year. :rolleyes:

12/05/2006, 2:22 AM
The first Irish news from Athens this year:

Pre-contest Interview with the team (http://www.esctoday.com/news/read/6060)

First Rehearsal and Press Conference (http://www.esctoday.com/news/read/6079)

onenilgameover
16/05/2006, 2:47 AM
The semi-final is on Thursday. I dont fancy our chances of being round on saturday. have the song on me Ipod and its no 'hold me now'...Good luck to Brian all the same hopefully he's stayed off the pies cos he was lookin a bit chubby the last time I saw him. Come on Ireland..!!!!!