07/03/2005, 9:08 AM
think they're from donegal.
song is atrocious :eek: and they look terrible :o

hold on,this is starting to sound like a kit-kat ad :D

onenilgameover
07/03/2005, 10:10 AM
Result!

The midget siblings are there! Great stuff....Song isn't bad but they need to do a lot of work to produce a really good show...This has to get us out of the semi's? Anyone know the date of the semi and the Final...Gonna start planning me eurovision party early...Anyone know where to get little eu flags and what kind of dips/food and what not youd get at such a party....
Come on Ireland...!

07/03/2005, 10:22 AM
Result!

...Anyone know where to get little eu flags and what kind of dips/food and what not youd get at such a party....
Come on Ireland...!

flags :dept foreign affairs ;)
dips etc :marks & spencer are quite good at that sort of thing :D

07/03/2005, 12:10 PM
see what you have all done to us by not voting the henry girls! yes, he needs to get rid of the earring and NOT dance, GOd help him. His voice does not compliment hers at all, hers is much stronger,maybe if they got rid of him and put in some decent looking strong voice? they are from.....athlone. henry girls were from donegal and i think that put a lot of people against voting for them :mad: i think the semi final is 2 days before the final may 19th, final is on may 21st.... some good and some fecking awful songs picked already :eek: :D

http://www.keithm.utvinternet.com/05NFs.htm

onenilgameover
07/03/2005, 2:10 PM
flags :dept foreign affairs ;)
dips etc :marks & spencer are quite good at that sort of thing :D

Nice one great idea! ''We're goin to The Ukraine Que Sera Sera''

They will make him dance better and take the earing out at or least they should do....he did look a bit wrong alright.i presume it was an effort to make him look older..His voice to can be trained to go along with her's aswell....There's lots of work to do but the potential is there. The best we've had for a few years....

07/03/2005, 2:19 PM
Nice one great idea! ''We're goin to The Ukraine Que Sera Sera''

They will make him dance better and take the earing out at or least they should do....he did look a bit wrong alright.i presume it was an effort to make him look older..His voice to can be trained to go along with her's aswell....There's lots of work to do but the potential is there. The best we've had for a few years....

when spain are performing serve your tapas (or are they portugese),
france ...your cheese etc and so on.
it will really add to the evening and give you an authenthic feel to the experience :rolleyes: :D

onenilgameover
07/03/2005, 2:26 PM
it will really add to the evening and give you an authenthic feel to the experience :rolleyes: :D

Not bad not bad...You'd be talking about alot of full people at the end of the night with thirty something meals inside of em' Still its on the right line....

07/03/2005, 2:35 PM

what are u going to serve during Macedonia, Albania and Slovenia?(Slovenia,who has a tasty singer BTW :D )

Might be a bit of a challenge. I wanted to have a eurovision party and get a few foreign students i know round but now i am mortified as to what we r sending....... :rolleyes:

Eire06
07/03/2005, 2:37 PM

Do it with Alcohol shots instead.. The local drinks of each performer

07/03/2005, 2:51 PM
Do it with Alcohol shots instead.. The local drinks of each performer

i imagine everyone would enjoy the programme then. listening to terry 'the traitor' wogan is class, his sarky comments crack me up, brilliant, even if he has become anglicized in his support :eek: :D :D :D

08/03/2005, 5:01 AM
Great stuff....Song isn't bad but they need to do a lot of work to produce a really good show...This has to get us out of the semi's? Anyone know the date of the semi and the Final...Gonna start planning me eurovision party early...
Come on Ireland...!

The date of the semi is Thursday 19/05, if we finish in the top ten of that, we qualify for the final on Saturday 21/05. I think they should have the semi, and final on successive Saturdays, it's fairer. If we finish in the top half of the final, we qualify for next year's final. The draw for the running order of the songs of both shows is in 2 weeks.

It's going to be difficult to qualify for the final, especially against the Balkan/Baltic countries. That will leave about 3-4 qualifiers for countries with few neighbours like us, and as there are new countries like Lebanon, Moldova, and Bulgaria in the semi also, it's going to be difficult for us to qualify for the final. Winning the competition is unlikely, so qualifying for the final, and then qualifying for the 2006 final, like we did 2 years ago would I think, be the best we can hope for.

$Leon$
08/03/2005, 11:18 AM
is the semi final a public vote?
ireland haven't done well since the televoting system came in.
since then its all about voting for ur neighhbours or where a large no of ex-pats are located. germany votes for turkey, uk votes for us but we don't vote for them

joey B
08/03/2005, 11:59 AM
I'll tell you how bad eurovision is,Jordan came second in Britains vote :eek:
Nice tits but come on.

08/03/2005, 12:10 PM
they are from.....athlone.

They certainly are ... Towns season has already got off to a flyer
(seeing as their uncle is former Chairman of ATFC we're claiming it :D )

Going Up As Champions

As for the English song. Just happened to switch over to BBC just as the
winner was doing the Janet Jackson

M@ttitude
08/03/2005, 12:52 PM
what kind of dips/food and what not youd get at such a party....
Come on Ireland...!
You can get interesting magic mushroom dips imported from amsterdam, might make your night a bit more interesting...

As for the English song. Just happened to switch over to BBC just as the
winner was doing the Janet Jackson
She deserves to win for that!! They should have got her and Jordan to do a duet (in the bedroom)

08/03/2005, 1:11 PM
i wouldn't have the courage to wear such a dress for the 99.9% chance of popping out. especially when she is dancing a lot :eek:

M@ttitude
08/03/2005, 1:22 PM
Well it worked, allegedly Jordan was favourite and was getting loads of votes until that happened.. Maybe she done it on purpose, we should get the brother and sister to get their kit off in Kiev.. Ireland 10 points!!

08/03/2005, 1:33 PM
I'll tell you how bad eurovision is,Jordan came second in Britains vote :eek:
Nice tits but come on.

she looked like miss piggy and was badly out of tune, she should have came 4th, with gina g last, she was so sh*te

http://www.allposters.com/IMAGES/STR/8164.jpg
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio2/eurovision/mymu/contestants/katie.shtml

:D :D

M@ttitude
08/03/2005, 1:36 PM
Two fine photos theres Kerrs tribe, they both looked alright to me..

08/03/2005, 2:06 PM
Two fine photos theres Kerrs tribe, they both looked alright to me..

yup, both as fake as each other tee hee..... :rolleyes: :D :D :D

Jim Smith
08/03/2005, 3:14 PM
yup, both as fake as each other tee hee..... :rolleyes: :D :D :D
At least the Henson Production has a bit of class and personality :eek:

08/03/2005, 4:31 PM
At least the Henson Production has a bit of class and personality :eek:

That's true

08/03/2005, 10:40 PM
is the semi final a public vote?
ireland haven't done well since the televoting system came in.
since then its all about voting for ur neighhbours or where a large no of ex-pats are located. germany votes for turkey, uk votes for us but we don't vote for them

yes, as far as i know, the semi-final is a public vote operated in the same way as the final, each country votes for their song. i think so.......don't remember ever seeing it on tv though????? :confused:

09/03/2005, 4:18 AM
yes, as far as i know, the semi-final is a public vote operated in the same way as the final, each country votes for their song. i think so.......don't remember ever seeing it on tv though????? :confused:

Yes, both shows are public televotes, with a slight difference. In the final, we have to go through 40 countries announcing which countries got 1-12 points. However, in the semi, it's much quicker. You get 10 minutes to vote, followed by a short interval act, (last year it was a mock-up Abba video), during which the amount of votes are calculated, then the names of the countries who finished in the top 10 of the semi-final are put in envelopes, and are handed to the presenter who opens them, and calls out who qualifies for the final. Last year, nobody voted in Monaco, and Switzerland got 0 points. Serbia "won" the semi-final last year.

11/03/2005, 5:09 PM
http://www.keithm.utvinternet.com/YAS20050305.htm

just incase someone does not know what we are sending to the eurovis. :rolleyes: just watch the performance which came first

18/03/2005, 5:27 AM
The dreaded P word, may come back to haunt RTE again this year, Promotion.

So far, there has been no mention of what promotion the McCauls may do with their song. Nowadays, promoting the song is an important way of winning votes in Eurovision. The Russians, Greeks, and several other countries ESC representatives are going on promotional tours around Europe to create awareness, familiarity, and gain extra votes in the contest. What are the Irish doing? Not much it appears so far. :(

Last year's song was not promoted at all, and contributed to the bad result. Meanwhile last year's winner was selected by the Ukrainian state broadcaster, NTU. She was a qualified performer and songwriter, ran her own music business, went on a pre-contest European promotional tour, held lively press conferences when in Turkey, and had a strong visual act in the contest. What happened? Ukraine won. That's what RTE need to do.

Eurovision winner 2004, Ruslana Lyschinko couldn't speak (much) English last year. Apparantly her English has improved since then, and she is being considered for being one of the hosts of the contest this year. Why don't NTU send Adi Roche to present the show instead? She speaks English, and knows Ukraine better than she knows Cork, doesn't she? :D

18/03/2005, 6:26 AM
The dreaded P word, may come back to haunt RTE again this year, Promotion.

So far, there has been no mention of what promotion the McCauls may do with their song. Nowadays, promoting the song is an important way of winning votes in Eurovision. The Russians, Greeks, and several other countries ESC representatives are going on promotional tours around Europe to create awareness, familiarity, and gain extra votes in the contest. What are the Irish doing? Not much it appears so far. :(

-Well, did you not see his and her royal highness in Athlone as part of the St.Patrick's parades?, and i believe they were singing also :eek: .Athlone; that's the place for promotion, at the heart of Europe :rolleyes: everyone from Lisbon to Vilnius will be bopping away to it by now(!!)

Last year's song was not promoted at all, and contributed to the bad result. Meanwhile last year's winner was selected by the Ukrainian state broadcaster, NTU. She was a qualified performer and songwriter, ran her own music business, went on a pre-contest European promotional tour, held lively press conferences when in Turkey, and had a strong visual act in the

we have a strong visual act?? oo-er!, maybe the mcCauls are being hidden from the European public until the last minute, and they are desperately trying to sort them out, joseph going through puberty, getting rid of the earring etc...
contest. What happened? Ukraine won. That's what RTE need to do.

Eurovision winner 2004, Ruslana Lyschinko couldn't speak (much) English last year. Apparantly her English has improved since then, and she is being considered for being one of the hosts of the contest this year. Why don't NTU send Adi Roche to present the show instead? She speaks English, and knows Ukraine better than she knows Cork, doesn't she? :D

i think only you and i are so concerned about the eurovision!!!! :D

22/03/2005, 3:37 AM
With respect, performing our Eurovision entry for a few kids at a Paddy's Day Parade in Midlands Ireland, doesn't count as promotion, as we can't vote for ourselves on the night. Chris Doran performed his song at loads of gigs last year, he got one set of 7 points from our neighbours! Other countries, send their stars on European PR tours to try and win Eurovision, that's what you call promotion.

22/03/2005, 4:07 AM
40 countries at this year's contest, became 39 when Lebanon withdrew from the contest at the last minute, on technical grounds. That leaves 25 countries to compete in the semi-final this year. Ireland will fight it out for a place in the top ten against most of the Eastern countries who will vote for each other as normal, thereby reducing our chances of qualifying for the final. :(

All of the countries have now chosen their songs, and performers in the contest. Among them, Ukraine were allowed to compete, after their song's lyrics were changed. France's singer has an Israeli background. Germany and Switzerland's performers have the same manager. Ireland's performers are the first brother/sister act in Eurovision history. Meanwhile, last year's winner, Ruslana Lyschinko, will indeed be one of the 3 hosts of this year's Eurovision. Hopefully, her English will have improved from last year. :)

The 39 countries delegations (including RTE) are meeting this week in Kiev, to discuss the arrangements for Eurovision week. The draw for the running order of the songs in the semi-final, and final will be made this afternoon in Kiev. We were drawn in 18th for the final last year, which was a good slot, however the poor song ensured that it wasn't taken advantage of. Hopefully, the McCauls will appear as late as possible (15th-25th) in the semi-final for maximum impact. An early draw could mean we're in the semis again next year. :(

22/03/2005, 6:50 AM
With respect, performing our Eurovision entry for a few kids at a Paddy's Day Parade in Midlands Ireland, doesn't count as promotion, as we can't vote for ourselves on the night. Chris Doran performed his song at loads of gigs last year, he got one set of 7 points from our neighbours! Other countries, send their stars on European PR tours to try and win Eurovision, that's what you call promotion.

i was being sarcastic about the promotion, of course it is no good what they are doing, :D

23/03/2005, 3:10 AM
The draw for the running order of the songs in the semi-final, and final will be made this afternoon in Kiev. We were drawn in 18th for the final last year, which was a good slot, however the poor song ensured that it wasn't taken advantage of. Hopefully, the McCauls will appear as late as possible (15th-25th) in the semi-final for maximum impact. An early draw could mean we're in the semis again next year. :(

Our song will be number 22, fourth from last. It provides a great chance to qualify for the final, so hopefully we can take advantage of it. :) Austria will be first, Poland will be 25th and last. The first qualifier to be announced in the semi-final, will open the final. Javine competing for the UK, will be 2nd. France will perform the 24th and final song in Eurovision 2005.

03/05/2005, 4:42 AM
Jemini II (McCauls) released their Eurovision single this week. Of course it will go to the top of the Irish charts, but will it win ESC '05? Despite some promotion in the key Balkan countries, reaction to the song on the continent can best be described as lukewarm. These days winning the contest is not as important as it once was, and qualifying for next year's final would be considered a success. The McCauls fly out for the ESC rehearsals next week, and RTE will have to work very hard on their image for Eurovision, something they're not reknowned for. Good luck to them anyway, they may need a lot of it.

03/05/2005, 10:48 AM
No sure if this should this be in the music forum.

03/05/2005, 1:08 PM
I agree with Pete. This should be in some seperate category for stagnant lifeless pop culture ...and if there aint one ...rubbbish it is.

03/05/2005, 1:39 PM
i have a thread on the eurovision opened in off topic if u want to merge it??? :D

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=22361&highlight=eurovision

04/05/2005, 4:41 AM
No sure if this should this be in the music forum.:confused:

Why not? :confused: As Eurovision is about a music contest, I feel it would be better suited to this forum, than lumped in with the other threads in OT. As the other thread was removed from OT (when I last looked), I decided to start another one in here instead, in a more appropriate place.

14/05/2005, 2:41 AM
With less than a week to go before their performance at Eurovision, the McCauls have already arrived in Kiev, and have conducted their opening rehearsal and press conference. They will be joined by 4 female dancers on stage during the performance, to make up the maximum allowed of 6 on stage. The Riverdanc-ing piece has been retained in the song, during the (hopefully 2) night(s). The stage colour during the song is red, and all of the performers will wear black.

Our HOD (Head of Delegation) pronounced at the beginning of D&J's first press conference that "We're going for the 8th win". However, it will be almost impossible for Ireland to win the ESC this year, with 39 countries voting, mostly for their neighbours. We need around 70 points to qualify for the ESC final, and about 55 are needed to finish in the top 10 of that to qualify for next year's final. Minimum requirement is to qualify for the final from the semi, and perform on the Saturday. Anything else will be seen as failure. Lithuania, Belarus, Croatia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Iceland, and Switzerland are likely to qualify, which leaves just 3 other qualifying places left for the final. It is possible, that we might claim one of them.

14/05/2005, 7:40 AM
The Mc Cauls are up against it big time. It's a bit like the current Athlone Town team playing in the UEFA Cup... right Sir hamish? But good luck to them.
The gimmick of having Irish dancing during the short instrumental breaks could work the oracle and get them in the final.
After all take the dancing and the sexy costume of the singer from last years winning entry and you were left with a pathetic excuse for a piece of music.

The McCauls song is Ireland's strongest entry for about 5 years. It is still sh1te but more acceptable than some of the recent efforts.

14/05/2005, 3:16 PM
Semi-final is on this Thursday, RTE2

http://www.rte.ie/tv/star/

He is still wearing that f**king earring!!!!! :eek:

oh my God, read this and cringe!!!! (http://www.eurovision.tv/english/1659.htm)

some of the opposition (http://www.eurovision.tv/english/participants.htm)

Javine for the Uk, has been touring Europe and has gathered a lot of fans.. I imagine she will do well.. :rolleyes:

14/05/2005, 5:25 PM
over the last few years, it has become extremely cringy and cheesy, it is terribile terrible stuff. people will look back on it in 10 years as say how did we ever watch that. it will be like the 80's with the gammy clothes.

14/05/2005, 6:29 PM
Shocking indeed, the voting is a joke, but it has to be watched, people are even tipping the Norwegian rockers to do it this year! :eek: Norway = Nul points usually. :D Nobody in Europe takes it seriously, I am just horrified that Ireland is sending such a poor song, the lyrics are as if written by a child. They are re-working the song again after their performance on RTE recently in which made me want to vomit. The boy cannot and will NOT ever be able to dance....... :p

lopez
15/05/2005, 10:06 AM
...oh my God, read this and cringe!!!! (http://www.eurovision.tv/english/1659.htm)...Johnny Logan, Daniel O'Donnel, Shania Twain (Vomit, vomit). I couldn't read anymore. :o :o

Partizan
15/05/2005, 10:59 AM
lets look at it this way lads, if those Athlone muckers won the conest which is about as much of a chance as KK getting promoted this year, RTE will be faced with a huge bill and immediatley jack up the TV licence bill.

we dont want that now do we.

Let the Eurofags have their day in the sun. We have more pressing matters to contend with.

P.S. jaysus did you see the Greek one, would ye wah? :D

15/05/2005, 1:32 PM
eurovision.tv: You come from quite a big family: four boys and two girls, is that right

ya its massive!

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

you have kellogs for breakfast is that right too???

15/05/2005, 1:43 PM
Hi Donna. Hi Joe. Very pleased to meet you. Ireland has quite a long and successful tradition in the Eurovision Song Contest. Are you familiar with that history, and people like Johnny Logan?

Donna & Joe: No, not really. Our musical influences and roots come more from Daniel O’Donnell who is partially related to us – not much but remotely! – and, of course, the Commitments!
:eek: :rolleyes: I just had a thought, imagine if Joe became metrosexual!!! :eek: Fcuk!!!

how can someone be related to you 'not much' but 'remotely'.

Wired to the moon!!!!!!! :eek: :D

15/05/2005, 2:24 PM
Who would yez have sent from that god damn show? out of all the contestants, they have a bit of life in them at least.....Surprised people didnt vote for another man in a white suit and perhaps a guitar!

15/05/2005, 2:44 PM
Who would yez have sent from that god damn show? out of all the contestants, they have a bit of life in them at least.....Surprised people didnt vote for another man in a white suit and perhaps a guitar!

We all know you are their secret fan Maz!! :D I thought the Henry Girls would have did well, Europeans always fall for that traditional style Irish music. This song however is really weak, I could write better myself, and I'm no Elton John!! :D

Not fair as the semi final is only on BBC3 and I don't have digital tv, i won't see it over here.. :mad:

15/05/2005, 2:48 PM
would have did well

will done good. :rolleyes:

i have not seen or heard the song is there anywhere you can listen to it???

15/05/2005, 3:10 PM
The one we are sending to eurovision?

15/05/2005, 3:19 PM
no the st vincents current no1 KT :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :p

ya!