View Full Version : Eurovision Uberthread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

16/05/2006, 6:58 AM
Eh lads, no offence like but shouldn't this Eurovision thread be moved to somewhere other than music? Because the quality[or lack of it] of the songs has bog all to do with the outcome in recent years:D

16/05/2006, 8:29 AM
Eh lads, no offence like but shouldn't this Eurovision thread be moved to somewhere other than music? Because the quality[or lack of it] of the songs has bog all to do with the outcome in recent years:D

How about the 'Rubbish' thread? :D Though we'd have to re-name it 'EXPENSIVE Rubbish' to accomodate it properly.

I dont fancy our chances of being round on saturday. have the song on me Ipod and its no 'hold me now' :D

That's classic ...sooooooo Father Ted ...brilliant!

16/05/2006, 11:37 AM
kudos to Finland for giving this overblown joke the two fingers.

I think I might just break the habit of a lifetime and vote this year.

May Lordi give Eurovision the death ist's been beggin for this long time.:p

Heard a snippet of the song on Dave Fanning last night,are they serious or what?.The song is awful but it might liven things up a bit if they make it to the final.

16/05/2006, 11:41 AM
i cant wait for it....ill be cheering him on all the way....its coincides with me almost finishing my exams so it could be some celebration if he makes it through!!:}

17/05/2006, 12:37 AM
Yes, it did so well that ORF decided to withdraw from the contest this year.

A song from 2003 affects their decision this year...? Perhaps they thought the *serious* Eurovision actually just wasn't worth it this year..:rolleyes:

padjoe
17/05/2006, 12:49 AM
just watched terry wogan's review of the last fifty eurovision. some great moments in it. also a sneak preview of whats to come. to be honest the british rap entry is brutal but could do well. i'm hopeful the belgian entry will score well because it is a cracking dance tune as is the iceland entry. estonia will score well with their europop ditty. Brian Kennedy hasn't a hope of progressing beyond the semi-final.

18/05/2006, 2:15 AM
Qualifying predictions:

Armenia - No
Bulgaria - No
Slovenia - Yes
Andorra - No
Belarus - Yes
Albania - Yes
Belgium - Yes
Ireland - No :(
Cyprus - Yes
Monaco - No
Macedonia - Yes
Poland - No
Russia - No
Turkey - No
Ukraine - No
Finland - Yes :mad: :mad:
Netherlands - No
Lithuania - No
Portugal - No
Sweden - Yes
Estonia - Yes
Bosnia - Yes
Iceland - No

18/05/2006, 8:50 AM
What in the name of hell were they thinking (http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2006220698,00.html) ?

18/05/2006, 10:30 AM
That this whole thing is a mockery of a competition, let's just take the p!ss out of it?

18/05/2006, 10:44 AM
They just look evil - the UK entry is actually the work of Satan himself.

18/05/2006, 11:10 AM
it usually is.

Good on the Finns

18/05/2006, 11:29 AM
black metal and the likes are huge in finland, apart from trees its their biggest export!!!

but seriouslly they love this sort of stuff in finland.

18/05/2006, 11:41 AM
If i was bothered to vote i'd vote for them just for the laugh.

Came across UK entry (http://www.dazsampson.co.uk/) the other night on BBC. I thought it was a p!ss-take. :rolleyes:

18/05/2006, 12:08 PM
The UK entry is actually just a tad creepy, with a light sprinkling of paedo.

anto1208
18/05/2006, 12:14 PM
He looks like the 30 year old factory worker that still dates 15 year old girls.
every town has one , drives around in a done up car with the windows down and some cheesy dance crap blaring out of the stereo even in the freezing winter !!:D

18/05/2006, 12:40 PM
Ha.
Brilliant.
Finland are guaranteed to win.
Are they in the semi tonight?
I love the Eurovision - fierce entertaining.

18/05/2006, 1:19 PM

I would say more than a sprinkling. Who actually choose that entry?

18/05/2006, 1:29 PM
The public vote AFAIK........

I'm not a fan by any means but heard the Belgium song the other day and as far as this type of stuff goes it's not actually that bad !

18/05/2006, 1:40 PM
Fairly big market on this on betfair...

18/05/2006, 3:13 PM
Are those Finnish guys a pi$$ take or are they a 'serious' (for want of a better word) band? The lyrics are completely ridiculous.

18/05/2006, 3:52 PM
Where are the lyrics?

Partizan
18/05/2006, 5:06 PM
Finland gets my vote.

Partizan
18/05/2006, 5:20 PM

and this is coming from someone who says that the contest lost its meaning in the late 80's.

WTF. :eek:

18/05/2006, 5:25 PM
Where are the lyrics?
http://www.eurovision.tv/english/2115.htm

Hard Rock Hallelujah
original English lyrics
music & lyrics: Mr Lordi
arrangement: Lordi
performer: Lordi

Hard Rock Hallelujah!

The saints are crippled
On this sinners’ night
Lost are the lambs with no guiding light

The walls come down like thunder
The rocks about to roll
It’s the Arockalypse
Now bare your soul

All we need is lightning
With power and might
Striking down the prophets of false
As the moon is rising
Give us the sign
Now let us rise up in awe

Rock ’n roll angels bring thyn hard rock hallelujah
Demons and angels all in one have arrived
In God’s creation supernatural high

The true believers
Thou shall be saved
Brothers and sisters keep strong in the faith
On the day of Rockoning
It’s who dares, wins
You will see the jokers soon’ll be the new kings

All we need is lightning
With power and might
Striking down the prophets of false
As the moon is rising
Give us the sign
Now let us rise up in awe

Wings on my back
I got horns on my head
My fangs are sharp
And my eyes are red
Not quite an angel
Or the one that fell
Now choose to join us or go straight to Hell

Hard Rock Hallelujah!

18/05/2006, 6:29 PM
http://www.eurovision.tv/english/2115.htm

Oh sweet jebus !! :eek:

And the UK guy, he was in a few interviews and got very narky with the presenters if they tried to take the píss .... he seems like a bit of a nut actually and the song ?? .... well it cant be worse than the one they had that got zero points, a national disaster.

18/05/2006, 6:45 PM
Is it true that U.K, Germany & France automatically qualify because they're the biggest Countries (Radio this morn) if so wtf?.

Aberdonian Stu
18/05/2006, 7:56 PM
Technically no, actually yes.

To explain it has something to do with the early days of the European Broadcasting Union and that was used as a thinly veiled (and hardly denied) reason to guarantee countries with high populations (and more importantly high ratings) stayed in even when they did badly, like when Britain got 0 points.

18/05/2006, 8:17 PM
ok, confession time.

watching the eurovision there to see the finnish and I thought they were very enjoyable to say the least. the wife is going to vote for them !!!:D

anto eile
18/05/2006, 8:17 PM
eurovision is great if you dont take it seriously.
nearly worth staying in witha few cans and a pizza

18/05/2006, 8:20 PM
ok, confession time.

watching the eurovision there to see the finnish and I thought they were very enjoyable to say the least. the wife is going to vote for them !!!:D

I feel your pain :D ,Jasus they were sad..........

18/05/2006, 8:22 PM
eurovision is great if you dont take it seriously.
nearly worth staying in witha few cans and a pizza

Spent 6 months living in Denmark back in 1999, they go ballistic for the competition over there with big parties and what not. Of coarse, when a gang of beautiful scandavian women invite you to there party it is seen to be very inpolite not to attend;) :D

18/05/2006, 8:24 PM
I feel your pain :D ,Jasus they were sad..........

going by the reaction of the crowd, i have a feeling they will do very well ! if they get through I would nearly but a beat on them in pp, but would have to get the missus to go in a do it !!!:D

Neish
18/05/2006, 8:58 PM
I was just settling down there to watch thew Sopranos and realosed it was postponed due to the F*cking Eurovision. "Ohh it makes me made" :mad: :mad: :mad:

18/05/2006, 9:16 PM
Finland - Yes :mad: :mad:

Good ol' Eurovision...:D

18/05/2006, 9:16 PM
go finland !!!!!hehehehe

18/05/2006, 9:32 PM
It qualified

18/05/2006, 11:40 PM
I was just settling down there to watch thew Sopranos and realosed it was postponed due to the F*cking Eurovision. "Ohh it makes me made" :mad:

Eurovision is more important. :) The Sopranos is on how many stations?????

Jaysus, he got through!! :eek:

19/05/2006, 12:29 AM
I cried with laughter.
Absolutely brilliant stuff.

Can see them winning if there's a mobilisation of the people who watch it for a laugh.
On a serious note, i thought it was a decent tune.:eek:

These guys should be huge.

Gutted for the Belgian Je t'adore one.
As for that Icelandic one with Congratulations:rolleyes:
Rock on Lordi!!!

19/05/2006, 12:41 AM
Join the campaign at www.votelordi.org (http://www.votelordi.org/)
More on Lordi (http://www.eurovision.tv/english/finland.htm)
Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lordi)

WTF do ye think he says to the other entrants?
Going up to the likes of that Icelandic dope saying well done,fair play in his mask.

Actually saw Brian Kennedy hanging out near them.
They're probably the only one's who'd talk to him.

19/05/2006, 1:01 AM

All performers on stage must be at least 16 years old.

Spent 6 months living in Denmark, they go ballistic for the competition over there with big parties and what not.

As do most countries. :o

19/05/2006, 8:12 AM
I usually have a eurovision party....well I let the kids sit up and we eat junk food and sometimes some of my mates join us!

I thought the Belgian and Monaco entries deserved to go thro.

Had nightmares after Finland......

19/05/2006, 9:50 AM
The best lyrics Spinal Tap never wrote - lovely stuff!

The walls come down like thunder
The rocks about to roll
It’s the Arockalypse
Now bare your soul

I think I'm going to start using the term 'Arockalypse' in everyday conversation. :D

On the day of Rockoning
It’s who dares, wins
You will see the jokers soon’ll be the new kings

Amen, Brother Lordi - Testify! :D

19/05/2006, 10:04 AM
well done to him....so proud ....

19/05/2006, 11:25 AM
there could be a few euro going on Brian to win it for us....one of the best songs at it easily

19/05/2006, 11:26 AM
going by the reaction of the crowd, i have a feeling they will do very well ! if they get through I would nearly but a beat on them in pp, but would have to get the missus to go in a do it !!!:D

12/1 on Betfair atm if you -I mean ahem, your Missus;) still fancies them.

anto1208
19/05/2006, 11:49 AM
flicking about i landed on bbc3 just as they showed up , i liked it too there massive in finland ( if thats an achievement :D ) like Kiss

anto1208
19/05/2006, 11:52 AM
All performers on stage must be at least 16 years old.

surely 16 is still considered a kid or am i getting old ??

Celdrog
19/05/2006, 11:57 AM
My 4 year old was enjoying the songs until Finland came on - she nearly had to hide behind the sofa with the state of them.

lopez
19/05/2006, 11:59 AM
Was that Father Jack Hackett in the middle of the backing singers?:confused:

19/05/2006, 12:02 PM
Caught the finnish entry - brilliant, I'll even vote for it.

The UK one was audience vote afaik - who says the brits haven't a sense of humour picking that rubbish :D