View Full Version : Group D - opponent watch!

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

11/09/2014, 12:32 PM
Everyone on foot.ie thinks the same! Everyone not on foot.ie thinks the same! And only one side can be absolutely 100% correct. So simple and so beautiful. I too admire your innocence POSH

Now I feel sorry for you, you're life must be very complicated, if you think football its not straightforward, its extremely simple. Your posts suggest that complication though and unending questioning. I wonder how you contemplate a route from A to b that has 6 different options. Scary :P It's all about results win or lose, if you play well you increase the chances of winning assuming the opposition are a similar or lower level, if you don't play well and the opposition are of similar level you increase the risk of losing. There are of course exceptions where you play badly and win and you win and play badly or you get one off freak results or even beating a team above well above your ability from time to time, but football is generally a straightforward and simple game. IF we play well enough and to our potential we can beat Scotland, if we don't we won't*. The views of how we play differ on here to what I hear and see from anyone else off here, it is that simple.

* Draws have been left out for extra simplicity ;-)

**Again there are few certainties in life, something magnificent could happen.

DannyInvincible
11/09/2014, 12:55 PM
But if it's so simple, how come we keep getting it wrong on here, and just so bloody often too? We must be really, really stupid. I feel so dumb right now. Please help us see the light.

11/09/2014, 12:58 PM
The views of how we play differ on here to what I hear and see from anyone else off here, it is that simple.
Can I get a quick summation of these views? I'd like to know how I feel about things. Cheers.

SwanVsDalton
11/09/2014, 2:47 PM
Now I feel sorry for you, you're life must be very complicated, if you think football its not straightforward, its extremely simple. Your posts suggest that complication though and unending questioning. I wonder how you contemplate a route from A to b that has 6 different options. Scary :P It's all about results win or lose, if you play well you increase the chances of winning assuming the opposition are a similar or lower level, if you don't play well and the opposition are of similar level you increase the risk of losing. There are of course exceptions where you play badly and win and you win and play badly or you get one off freak results or even beating a team above well above your ability from time to time, but football is generally a straightforward and simple game. IF we play well enough and to our potential we can beat Scotland, if we don't we won't*. The views of how we play differ on here to what I hear and see from anyone else off here, it is that simple.

Only that last sentence had anything to do with what I said.

I just find it amazing you go to Ireland matches and hear only one view, a totally opposite view to that expressed by Ireland fans on foot.ie. That's a deeply weird thing to happen. I go to Ireland matches and hear all sorts of opinions. I hear them from people you've met at away matches too. But they must conform to an opinion - the right opinion, of course - when they're around you.

I don't want to alarm you Paul, but they might be robots...

11/09/2014, 4:23 PM
Not robots, other people out of politeness do try to talk to him but he only hears the voices from his own head.

11/09/2014, 6:01 PM

Very much about what I've been saying about margins etc.

I've come across some muppets here and very definitely muppets at the matches and in far flung places too. In fact I come across more clichéd /herd opinions at live matches. The view of some distinct sections being better than others doesn't cut my mustard. The guy I was sitting beside in Stockholm thought we were missing Whelan FFS!

SwanVsDalton
11/09/2014, 6:29 PM
At the old Lansdowne, I used to sit beside a guy who absolutely despised Steve Staunton. Gave him dogs abuse, all day long. This was the 2002 campaign and before the home match against Portugal - when Stan and Richard Dunne were unexpectedly drafted into centre back due to injury - he was spitting feathers. Stan going on to cement his place and become captain at the WC didn't do him any good.

After Stan's retirement, he transferred his hatred to Robbie Keane. He was completely toxic.

11/09/2014, 8:19 PM
Yep, I come across these guys all the time. McGeady was a big hate figure for one guy I sat beside. He blamed the 4-0 defeat to Spain squarely at his feet.

MeathDrog
12/09/2014, 12:20 AM
Any game I've been to, McGeady is the biggest villain. Very unfair.

12/09/2014, 8:20 AM
Yep, I come across these guys all the time. McGeady was a big hate figure for one guy I sat beside. He blamed the 4-0 defeat to Spain squarely at his feet.
The guy next to me in the pub didn't like McGeady either. But the barman loved him. My barber wasn't sure about him. My aul lady didn't know who I was talking about. If I ever find myself in a large group, for example a travelling away support, or an internet forum, and everyone in their group agreed with each other with no unpopular or polarising opinions, remind me to look around for James Cromwell.

ArdeeBhoy
12/09/2014, 10:23 AM
Er, what has all this to do with the other teams in Group D...

12/09/2014, 10:56 AM
Yer obviously hanging around or sitting with the Ybig lads(at home games as I know ye mean home games), they're the exception I avoid them, unlike AB - you see what I mean?! :)

ArdeeBhoy
12/09/2014, 4:48 PM
Now, you've really lost me...

13/09/2014, 11:28 AM
The guy next to me in the pub didn't like McGeady either. But the barman loved him. My barber wasn't sure about him. My aul lady didn't know who I was talking about. If I ever find myself in a large group, for example a travelling away support, or an internet forum, and everyone in their group agreed with each other with no unpopular or polarising opinions, remind me to look around for James Cromwell.
Even if a guy agreed with one of my opinions I would disagree with the way he agreed but that's a bit different from being in earshot and stink radius of a slobbering drunk/lunatic who has a psychotic need to scream abuse at a particular player.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/09/2014, 12:18 PM
Even if a guy agreed with one of my opinions I would disagree with the way he agreed but that's a bit different from being in earshot and stink radius of a slobbering drunk/lunatic who has a psychotic need to scream abuse at a particular player.

Hey. I only had two vodka tonics.

NeverFeltBetter
15/09/2014, 2:13 PM
Anyone else seen this story?

http://www.yourgibraltartv.com/sport/7474-sep-15-gfa-keeping-options-open-for-home-games-hosting-stadium

There was some kind of unsavoury aspect to the security at the Poland game, complaints about it being too stringent. Read some (unsubstantiated) rumours of home games being moved elsewhere, possibly even England, since the stadium in Gibraltar won't be completed for a while. That might include the Ireland game next September.

DeLorean
15/09/2014, 4:30 PM
More here (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/gibraltar-could-host-ireland-qualifier-in-london-1.1929637)

15/09/2014, 4:40 PM
It'd be lily livered of us to accept. Or maybe another sign of O'Neill's luck.

15/09/2014, 7:19 PM
I don't know what the rules are in the regard of switching venues but offhand I think it's too late in the day for a switch and their excuse is not good enough.

edit, i thought we were playing them away next, mea culpa.

15/09/2014, 8:26 PM
Didn't Russia raise a stink when we were supposed to play Andorra in Barcelona, after they had already played in Andorra? IIRC, their argument was that not playing on the same ground meant the fixtures were not equal? Could we raise a similar objection, given that Poland have already played in Faro?

15/09/2014, 10:23 PM
It was weird that a super power such as Russia (population 150m) were moaning so vehemently about what us minnows were getting up to.

is Gibraltar any bigger than Dalkey?
A Dalkey with union jacks.

NeverFeltBetter
15/09/2014, 10:25 PM
It's Gibraltar, lets not get too worked up about it. They'll be doing well to get a point out of this group, regardless of where they play.

ArdeeBhoy
15/09/2014, 10:57 PM
They shouldn't even be in the competition, regardless of where they play...

16/09/2014, 3:17 PM
A Dalkey with union jacks.
So, Dun Laoghaire?

18/09/2014, 9:11 PM
Craig Gordon was magnificent for Celtic today - no chance for either goal and he made some world class saves. He's certainly given Strachan a decision to make with Marshall also in great form. Scott Brown was good too, albeit in a team who were bossed in midfield and he got his customary needless yellow card.

Fixer82
18/09/2014, 10:28 PM
So, Dun Laoghaire?

I think you'll find it's called Kingstown!! :wink2:

18/09/2014, 11:36 PM
John Bruton supports Gibraltar.
John, along with other irish born, are crawling out from under their cold grey stones and proclaiming their love and envy for all things Gibraltarian.

02/10/2014, 1:17 PM
Schweinsteiger, Khedira, Reus and Gomez all miss out for Die Mannschaft.

http://www.dfb.de/die-nationalmannschaft/team/?no_cache=1

TheOneWhoKnocks
02/10/2014, 1:36 PM
I'll see your Schweinsteiger, Khedira, Reus and Gomez and raise you Coleman.

02/10/2014, 1:54 PM
It doesnt look as intimidating as it did before.

02/10/2014, 2:02 PM
I'll see your Schweinsteiger, Khedira, Reus and Gomez and raise you Coleman.
I haven't heard any additional news. Far as I know, Everton are still trying to get him ready for Sunday.

Olé Olé
02/10/2014, 2:39 PM
Those quotes by Martinez seem as though if Coleman doesn't play Sunday then he'll take a break during the internationals. That's a bit rich given that we play Germany 9 days later, at which point he could well be fit.

02/10/2014, 2:44 PM
The quotes are a bit ambiguous. He's addressing Everton fans and people interested in Everton, so it's more likely he's just saying if he's not ready for the Manchester United game, he'll definitely be available after the break. Ultimately it's Coleman's decision whether he feels right to join up with the squad.

ArdeeBhoy
02/10/2014, 2:54 PM
It's irrelevant...
Deutschland will win.

TheOneWhoKnocks
02/10/2014, 7:46 PM
It's irrelevant...
Deutschland will win.

Will you stop saying that..

http://www.11v11.com/teams/germany/tab/matches/season/2013

They conceded 7 goals over 2 games against Sweden and squeaked wins against USA, Ghana, Algeria and Scotland in recent times. They are depleted of stars due to retirement, injury or poor form (Ozil, Poldi) and Gomez is lacking match practice.

Unlikely we'll win but we're never going to get anywhere with your kind of attitude.

Portugal draw with Liechtenstein. Italy draw with Luxembourg. Northern Ireland beat England, Spain and Russia. Yet we can't aspire against a team that has 4 or 5 stars and 4 or 5 donkeys in it.

Win, draw or 0-6 loss and I suppose it will be party time in Gelsenkirchen either way though so hey....

02/10/2014, 8:03 PM
Agree with all but the last part, which is a bit childish.

02/10/2014, 9:05 PM
I didn't see Celtic tonight but bbc live tracker suggests Gordon was pretty good, again.

02/10/2014, 10:58 PM
Relax, Forde would have made all the saves he did ..... well, nearly all.
Mulgrew wasn't playing and Brown is still 4 or 5 games off his pace.
Stokes though is beginning to show some shapes.

02/10/2014, 11:26 PM
McGregor is knacked and misses the international break, but he's probably in the worst form of the three goalkeepers so probably won't affect them much.

ArdeeBhoy
03/10/2014, 12:09 AM
Will you stop saying that..

http://www.11v11.com/teams/germany/tab/matches/season/2013

They conceded 7 goals over 2 games against Sweden and squeaked wins against USA, Ghana, Algeria and Scotland in recent times. They are depleted of stars due to retirement, injury or poor form (Ozil, Poldi) and Gomez is lacking match practice.

Unlikely we'll win but we're never going to get anywhere with your kind of attitude.

Portugal draw with Liechtenstein. Italy draw with Luxembourg. Northern Ireland beat England, Spain and Russia. Yet we can't aspire against a team that has 4 or 5 stars and 4 or 5 donkeys in it.

Yeah, right. have you looked at our form v. decent teams? It'd be a fecking miracle to get any sort of result.
And your last sentence is laughable.

TheOneWhoKnocks
03/10/2014, 10:55 AM
Yeah, right. have you looked at our form v. decent teams? It'd be a fecking miracle to get any sort of result.
And your last sentence is laughable.

Liechtenstein, Luxembourg and Faroe Islands fans have reason to deride their own teams chances of getting results against decent teams - and they do it. Why can't Ireland? Jesus Christ like. Watch the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League. It isn't that hard to frustrate teams the standard of Germany and nick a point or even better.

If Sweden can put 7 goals past Germany and Scotland can fluster them then no a defeat isn't the writing on the wall.

Enough time has passed now for the new management regime to iron out the inconsistencies, lack of a gameplan and lack of belief that saw us get whipped in a few games following Euro 2012.

If we put in a performance like the one at home to Austria - like we are capable of doing - and build on it instead of retreating into our shells and capitulating, then we can at least do everyone proud and have people questioning who will take the points like Scotland last month.

This Germany team is far from perfect. They have bambi like defence. It's a game made for Shane Long and maybe even Doyle on the counter to fluster them. But will MON be brave enough to select the right team?

DeLorean
03/10/2014, 11:20 AM
I agree with TOWK's general sentiment, aside of his attention seeking '5 donkeys' comment. Obviously the odds are stacked high in favour of your prediction AB, it's a fairly safe bet in reality. We get it though, no need for the constant reminders that we are incapable of getting a result under any circumstances. The fact is though, that a positive result is possible. To say stranger things have happened would be an understatement. Football, and sport generally, throws up unexpected results all the time, as I'm sure anybody who has ever done a four or five team accumulator full of dead certs will testify. Germany cost me a stupid amount of money when they didn't 'sneak a win' against Ghana at the WC. A week or two later they were putting seven past Brazil, as I shook my head with contempt.

I think it's vital that they beat Poland first. If they slip up there they'll have an extra incentive against us. If they beat Poland, they're as good as qualified and might just take the foot off the gas slightly. Plus, we could really do without Poland getting a 'bonus' point.

03/10/2014, 11:44 AM
Liechtenstein, Luxembourg and Faroe Islands fans have reason to deride their own teams chances of getting results against decent teams - and they do it. Why can't Ireland? Jesus Christ like. Watch the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League. It isn't that hard to frustrate teams the standard of Germany and nick a point or even better.

If Sweden can put 7 goals past Germany and Scotland can fluster them then no a defeat isn't the writing on the wall.

Enough time has passed now for the new management regime to iron out the inconsistencies, lack of a gameplan and lack of belief that saw us get whipped in a few games following Euro 2012.

If we put in a performance like the one at home to Austria - like we are capable of doing - and build on it instead of retreating into our shells and capitulating, then we can at least do everyone proud and have people questioning who will take the points like Scotland last month.

This Germany team is far from perfect. They have bambi like defence. It's a game made for Shane Long and maybe even Doyle on the counter to fluster them. But will MON be brave enough to select the right team?
even though they conceded seven goals against Sweden and Scotland, they still only gave up two points in those three games. I think we have a chance in the game, but a German win is the most likely outcome

ArdeeBhoy
03/10/2014, 2:01 PM
We have no chance in either game v.Germany. Get over it!

Our qualification, besides damage limitation in those two games, will be probably based on results v. Alba & Polska.
Actually think the Scots will be 2nd and us 3rd, but we'll both qualify, just about.

And then fail narrowly to get out of our groups in the Finals.

The End.

ArdeeBhoy
03/10/2014, 2:06 PM
Good, so why whine on about it then...

GypsyBlackCat
03/10/2014, 3:25 PM

Germany are that bad they only won the World Cup 1-0 with an extra time goal!!

We need to face facts. Ireland are a poor side and a team like Germany wouldn't have to hit top gear to beat us. That might be our only hope. If Germany aren't at the races and our 1-11 have blinder we have a chance. But looking at MON's teams and his time at Sunderland he is a negative manager and will look to shut up shop and grind out for point. I hope I'm wrong. I'd rather go for the Scotland approach.

TheOneWhoKnocks
03/10/2014, 3:38 PM
We have no chance in either game v.Germany. Get over it!

Our qualification, besides damage limitation in those two games, will be probably based on results v. Alba & Polska.
Actually think the Scots will be 2nd and us 3rd, but we'll both qualify, just about.

And then fail narrowly to get out of our groups in the Finals.

The End.

Will you give it a rest... Scotland lost narrowly in Germany. Germany's free scoring wins over Brazil and Ireland are the exception to the rule. They have noticable flaws. Nobody is questioning that Germany are the hot favorites. A win over Ireland is not guaranteed.

Jesus.. I hope the players don't have the same attitude as you.

We got tanked in Dublin due to extenuating circumstances - Trapattoni was waiting for a golden handshake and everyone concerned was going through the motions. We lost comprehensively in a meaningless match under a youth team coach.

Several short years prior to this - under Staunton - we played out tight games with Germany. Same as Scotland did recently. There is no reason why we can't do this under O'Neill.

If a heavy German win is a foregone conclusion then are you still travelling to Gelsenkirchen? And if so why are you bothering?

03/10/2014, 4:12 PM
Will you give it a rest... Scotland lost narrowly in Germany. Germany's free scoring wins over Brazil and Ireland are the exception to the rule. They have noticable flaws. Nobody is questioning that Germany are the hot favorites. A win over Ireland is not guaranteed.

TBF I think it is for Germany, they are a class act, and have a squad of top class players. We dont even have half a team of decent players.
Germany 1/12 to win the group. Ireland 12/1, knock yourself out:)

ArdeeBhoy
03/10/2014, 6:43 PM

Jesus.. I hope the players don't have the same attitude as you.

We got tanked in Dublin due to extenuating circumstances - Trapattoni was waiting for a golden handshake and everyone concerned was going through the motions. We lost comprehensively in a meaningless match under a youth team coach.

Several short years prior to this - under Staunton - we played out tight games with Germany. Same as Scotland did recently. There is no reason why we can't do this under O'Neill.

If a heavy German win is a foregone conclusion then are you still travelling to Gelsenkirchen? And if so why are you bothering?

A win for them is probably guaranteed, sadly. Not because previous Ireland teams couldn't grind one out, but have no more faith in these players than say during the Euros, as the collective ethic may have improved but the quality of our players is probably worse...
But we all knew these days were coming, hence my enthusiasm for 'new blood' by whatever means!

And even if we lose, wouldn't put me off going, though if we lose 6-1 again, no-one's going to be delighted...

Crosby87
03/10/2014, 10:34 PM
One of the Polish players went to the eye doctor the other day. The guy pointed to a line on the chart that said C Y Z R C K S K I.
"Can you read that?" Asked the optometrist.
"Read it?" Said the Polish player, " I know the guy!"