View Full Version : A 7-team league First Division Next Year

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12

wonder88
20/12/2013, 8:15 PM
Fair play to Shamrock Rovers a members owned club that is showing real leadership in developing soccer in Ireland.

Town Legend
20/12/2013, 11:02 PM
[QUOTE=Louth4sam;1728534]Crucially, what if a couple of players say Zayed and Finn were coming back from injury and played against a team challenging for promotion. They will be at a serious disadvantage to their rivals.

Its up up to that team challenging for promotion to make sure Zayed or Finn have quite a few games to play in coming back from injury ��

20/12/2013, 11:43 PM
Shamrock Rovers B team playing Sunday afternoons. Great news really. Meaning bigger travelling support, at least from us anyway.

21/12/2013, 12:53 AM
Shamrock Rovers B team playing Sunday afternoons. Great news really. Meaning bigger travelling support, at least from us anyway.

It will undoubtedly be a great thing for the other first div teams. Will be interested to see how this experiment pans outand hopefully other teams will explore this.

Still feels dirty, just cos its R*^€rs obviously. Anyone else, I'd be delighted.

TheBoss
21/12/2013, 1:53 AM
The only issues I have with it, is that players registered for First Team, should not be able to play for the 'B' Team unless they are registered for 'B' team via transfer, on the other side, players that played with the 'B' team, that get promoted to First Team, should not be allowed to return the 'B' Team as they have effectively been signed as new player, maybe players U-21 can move interchangeably.

disgruntled
21/12/2013, 9:19 AM
It will undoubtedly be a great thing for the other first div teams. Will be interested to see how this experiment pans outand hopefully other teams will explore this.

Still feels dirty, just cos its R*^€rs obviously. Anyone else, I'd be delighted.

Don't think it will be to be honest.
My problem is players being allowed to come down from the first team.
Imagine you are going for promotion & playing Rovers who turn up with star studded strikers who bury your promotion hopes.
I had experience of this one when a certain club loaded their squad with senior players & we lost out on promotion as a result.
Normal transfer rules should apply between two senior teams which these two Rovers squads will be.

Its fine to have players going up & down between Senior & under 21's / Under 19's like in the UK but not between two senior sides.
The squads should be separate with the B / Reserve squad used for giving experience to up & coming players from underage sides.
If players are recovering from injury or need game time then they should play with the under 19's which are largely development squads.

21/12/2013, 9:47 AM
Will it not just work like Junior soccer where the B players can play with the A team but A players can't play with the B team. If see no problem with rovers calling on the B players if they had a lot of injuries and suspensions. That's the luxury they will get by coughing for two teams.

21/12/2013, 10:43 AM
Will it not just work like Junior soccer where the B players can play with the A team but A players can't play with the B team. If see no problem with rovers calling on the B players if they had a lot of injuries and suspensions. That's the luxury they will get by coughing for two teams.

It's the other way round. B players won't be moving up. 3 a players a week (plus a goalkeeper) can move down

21/12/2013, 11:18 AM
It's the other way round. B players won't be moving up. 3 a players a week (plus a goalkeeper) can move down

That's an absolute joke.

bluewhitearmy
21/12/2013, 5:32 PM
The only problem i have with players dropping down is it should be like in Spain where after a player has played a certain amount with the A team he cant drop down.

Dalymountrower
21/12/2013, 6:28 PM

Aah the Harps Hoops love in re kindled.!!

Would be imteresting if Rovers first team was relegated and ended up competimg with the second team for promotion ponts.

NeverFeltBetter
21/12/2013, 7:21 PM
That obviously isn't a possibility. In that unlikely event, the B team would cease to exist, for obvious reasons.

Dalymountrower
21/12/2013, 8:19 PM
Aah the Harps Hoops love in re kindled.!!

Would be imteresting if Rovers first team was relegated and ended up competimg with the second team for promotion ponts.

That obviously isn't a possibility. In that unlikely event, the B team would cease to exist, for obvious reasons.

Yeah , unlikely
Short memory NFB!.

IrishRossi
21/12/2013, 10:17 PM
Shamrock Rovers B team playing Sunday afternoons. great i will get to go to at least 2 away matches this year

22/12/2013, 10:40 AM
Yeah , unlikely
Short memory NFB!.

It would be interesting no doubt but not going to happen, TC isnt that bad a manager (mwhahaha)

marinobohs
23/12/2013, 10:29 AM
The only issues I have with it, is that players registered for First Team, should not be able to play for the 'B' Team unless they are registered for 'B' team via transfer, on the other side, players that played with the 'B' team, that get promoted to First Team, should not be allowed to return the 'B' Team as they have effectively been signed as new player, maybe players U-21 can move interchangeably.

Pretty sure its only 3 first teamers (plus keeper) can move down (first to A team). Stupid decision by those masters of the screw up at Abbotstown (what a surprise !)
Separate squads registered at the start of the season, and transfers as any other club(s) and this would be a good move, but that would be too easy...............:mad:

RiffRaff
27/12/2013, 12:44 PM
Have to say I'm really disappointed in this development. If memory serves correct we had a league of ireland B up until the 80's which featured reserve teams plus non league teams and the introduction of a 2nd division with promotion / relegation seemed a huge leap forward at the time. We now seem to be turning the clock back to where we were 30 years ago. Allowing a reserve team into the first division should have been the last consideration for the FAI, after the possibilities of making one expanded division or even sounding out any Northern teams interested in switching leagues (controversial though it may have been). They could also have made the numbers up by encouraging a university selection or garda team or something to enter (the 2nd option would also mean the games wouldnt need policing!). Even a pub team would have made the first division more realistic than putting reserves in. The FAI are pointing to what happens in Spain and Holland - but how many people tune in for the results in their 2nd divisions?

Trainee
27/12/2013, 4:23 PM
In spain B teams dont play on same night as first team(as per league rules), so If rovers first team are playing on a Friday night, will Rovers B be playing on same night. eg if Rovers B are away to waterford on Friday night, will waterford be forced to move their home game to sat/sun to avoid both Rovers playing on same night.

27/12/2013, 4:35 PM
In spain B teams dont play on same night as first team(as per league rules), so If rovers first team are playing on a Friday night, will Rovers B be playing on same night. eg if Rovers B are away to waterford on Friday night, will waterford be forced to move their home game to sat/sun to avoid both Rovers playing on same night.
I don't see any reason why they would do that. So yes, they probably will.

Neish
30/12/2013, 7:04 PM
I don't see any reason why they would do that. So yes, they probably will.

Are you saying that Rovers B will or will not play the same night as Rovers first team?

30/12/2013, 7:09 PM
Are you saying that Rovers B will or will not play the same night as Rovers first team?
I have no idea. I assume that clubs will still be allowed play games on their traditional dates.

disgruntled
31/12/2013, 9:55 AM

With the way the FAI have handled this entire farce I wouldn't be surprised what might happen.
I doubt if the FAI know themselves.
The logical thing to happen would be if Rovers first team are at home then their B team will be away.

31/12/2013, 1:03 PM
Rovers B team are playing home games on Sundays.

Away games may clash but no big deal

Darklordsbane
31/12/2013, 1:47 PM
Hi All
I might be wrong but I thought I heard that Shamrock Rovers B team will play on Sundays, like I said it might be that I was drunk or dreaming but I'm pretty sure that's what I heard.
From a Rovers point of view that would suit their squads as 1st team play on Friday players that only played for a few minutes or didn't play could play on Sunday for the B team

31/12/2013, 2:05 PM
I assume the question mark is over away games. If the A team are playing at home on Friday night and the B team are travelling to Shels, will Shels be forced to move their game to another night? I doubt it.

31/12/2013, 3:27 PM
Na I doubt teams are going to be made move a game to accommodate the away team.

KBurke
02/01/2014, 9:06 AM
Chatting to a Shels fan over the christmas and he said there were rumors that Shels mightn't have a team this year. Apparently money is v tight, cant afford the rent for Tolka etc. Anybody kknow if there is any truth in this?

02/01/2014, 9:21 AM
Chatting to a Shels fan over the christmas and he said there were rumors that Shels mightn't have a team this year. Apparently money is v tight, cant afford the rent for Tolka etc. Anybody kknow if there is any truth in this?

Money is clearly tight but they were signing players up to christmas week.

Darklordsbane
02/01/2014, 1:35 PM
Don't know if it's true but I was told by a footballer that the shels player are all signing as amateurs hence the low wages like I said could be just hearsay

02/01/2014, 2:37 PM
Don't know if it's true but I was told by a footballer that the shels player are all signing as amateurs hence the low wages like I said could be just hearsay

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-DeOGxaSZKqU/TpKu0O0MjJI/AAAAAAAAAVs/nJf426bn3Ik/s1600/confused.jpg

wonder88
02/01/2014, 5:42 PM
About a year ago I heard Brian Kerr say on rte radio that the majority of players in the league of Ireland are on wages/expenses of around 50 euro per week. Do those on this forum who have good knowledge of the LoI scene in Dublin agree with this statement?

Ezeikial
02/01/2014, 6:23 PM
About a year ago I heard Brian Kerr say on rte radio that the majority of players in the league of Ireland are on wages/expenses of around 50 euro per week. Do those on this forum who have good knowledge of the LoI scene in Dublin agree with this statement?

I doubt that he said that.

€50 is less then the minimum professional contract accepted by the FAI

Cuyahoga
02/01/2014, 7:00 PM
Ten times that is nearer the truth in the Premier Division.

adamd164
03/01/2014, 1:29 AM

Shels' home support won't vary much, they can't draw a crowd in either division. But what'll hit them big time is the lack of away support from the other Dublin clubs and extra travel expenses to away games.

03/01/2014, 11:32 AM
I know in todays Irish Indo that Daniel McDonnell has a piece on LOI today. He said that some amateurs are only on exps and have to get soc welfare on top of it too.

Iorfa2MaccaJim
03/01/2014, 11:45 AM
Hi lads.

I was just wondering has anyone heard when the First Division fixtures are to be released ?

Patrick Dunne
03/01/2014, 11:47 AM
Amateur or part-time professional footballers can claim social welfare, the same as anyone else in other employment sectors.

ATFC-1887
07/01/2014, 12:05 AM
Not looking good in cobh

Martin Deady @MDeady3 (https://twitter.com/MDeady3)
Follow (https://twitter.com/MDeady3)
Makes me sick that my own club is such a joke. What was the point in returning to the league if you're just going to make up the numbers?

NeverFeltBetter
07/01/2014, 1:08 AM
Goes on to say:

"No one is going to want to pay to watch a 19s squad get beat every week. How can they not see that? Good luck with that anyway....There is actually no point in entering the league this season. Another Salthill."

Hmm.

marinobohs
07/01/2014, 1:17 PM
I know in todays Irish Indo that Daniel McDonnell has a piece on LOI today. He said that some amateurs are only on exps and have to get soc welfare on top of it too.
They would of course be entitled to Social Welfare if the expenses paid by club was the only income they had ( as total income would likely be less than qualification figure for SW)
Similarly a player with a decent job could incur additional tax liability on income they got from a club. Money got from football is combined with any other income for tax and SW purposes

07/01/2014, 4:39 PM
According to Liam Buckley today, Pats approached the FAI about a B team in divisin one last year and were rebuffed. They were not consulted/(approached by fAI) on Shamrock Rovers entering this year

Neish
07/01/2014, 6:48 PM

Thats just what RTE are paying him and they told him that its what LOI players are getting to make it sound better

placid casual
07/01/2014, 8:05 PM
According to Liam Buckley today, Pats approached the FAI about a B team in divisin one last year and were rebuffed. They were not consulted/(approached by fAI) on Shamrock Rovers entering this year

What makes Bucko think that Pats(or any other club) should be consulted about Rovers entering a team in Division 1??

I dont know why pats were refused last year(if that part of buckos story is even true) but maybe the FAI thought that Pats B would not be sustainable.

NeverFeltBetter
07/01/2014, 8:49 PM
What makes Bucko think that Pats(or any other club) should be consulted about Rovers entering a team in Division 1??

Seriously?

07/01/2014, 9:11 PM
This thread depresses me. Everyone is laying into Rovers, but I just can't give enough of a toss about the issue to join in. I've become everything I've ever hated.

07/01/2014, 9:29 PM
First they came for Shamrock Rovers B, and I didn't speak out because I wasn't a Shamrock Rovers B fan.
Then they came for Shamrock Rovers, and I didn't speak out because I wasn't a Shamrock Rovers fan.
Then they came for Shelbourne, and I didn't speak out because Shelbourne don't have any fans.
Then they came for me, and there was nobody left to speak for me because they'd all signed for Pats.

legendz
07/01/2014, 10:06 PM
Pats were one of the Premier clubs who wanted the A Championship disbanded.

08/01/2014, 12:49 AM

I dont know why pats were refused last year(if that part of buckos story is even true) but maybe the FAI thought that Pats B would not be sustainable.

They weren't 'refused', they were 'rebuffed'. Meaning there was no formal application as presumably the FAI weren't looking for a B team to enter then

Buckley's point is that the FAI knew they were interested but preferred to offer the one available place to Rovers rather than maybe see if they could 3 teams to bring the division to 10. Maybe Rovers are a guinea pig and we'll see more in future years

Sustainability isn't an issue for the FAI

08/01/2014, 12:56 AM
Who would have been the third team?

08/01/2014, 1:04 AM
Who would have been the third team?

Finn Harps B, of course. They were turned down too, but for the life of me, I can't figure out why.