View Full Version : Everton Irish and Opposition Irish

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

08/04/2014, 3:35 AM
I thought McGeady was decent yesterday when he came on. He was far less wasteful than he is in an Irish shirt, granted its only a 10 minute cameo. Hopefully if he gets a full game he can keep it going throughout the game.

Some lovely ball control by coleman in those two clips.

Some more Colemanballs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rASmmmU5mMk

7 and 6 are the best I think, hard to choose between them.

12/04/2014, 3:43 PM
Everton have struggled today at Sunderland but Wes Brown has helped out with a trademark own goal to make it 1-0 with 15 minutes remaining. McGeady remains an unused substitute, much to Paul O'Shea's delight.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/04/2014, 3:52 PM
Brilliant run past 3 men and a pass to set up a Barkley chance by McGeady. Never really see him do that for Ireland.

12/04/2014, 3:54 PM
That was class from McGeady.

DannyInvincible
15/04/2014, 7:28 PM
West Ham have just taken a late first-half lead away to Arsenal at the Emirates. Good news for Everton and their hopes of finishing fourth.

Edit: Bah! Podolski has just equalised.

15/04/2014, 7:30 PM
Arsenal are great craic. They often go 1-0 down and wind up winning 3 or 4-1 so a long way to go yet.

15/04/2014, 9:55 PM
Great craic if you're not an Arsenal fan!

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/04/2014, 5:58 PM
McGeady starts. McCarthy on the bench.

16/04/2014, 7:10 PM
1-0 down early doors, Puncheon.

16/04/2014, 7:29 PM
I feel dirty wanting them to lose, but I can't help it.

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/04/2014, 7:34 PM
Not one of those guys who hangs around the bookies all day but I really should have put money down on Palace winning. Knew Everton would drop points tonight.

16/04/2014, 7:44 PM
Palace are a decent side, this will be their 4th win in a row,
not easy to score against, Everton will be lucky to score 2 in the next 45.

16/04/2014, 7:48 PM
Man City and Liverpool both have to play Palace in the run in, won't be an easy 3 points for either,
especially given Place will have beaten Chelsea and Everton recently (if this result stands).

16/04/2014, 8:01 PM
My eyes are mostly focussed on the Spanish cup final but while players there are rolling around the grass, I note that Coleman looks to be struggling and McGeady looks comfortable.

16/04/2014, 8:18 PM
You know it's just not meant to be when Cameron Jerome scores.

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/04/2014, 8:46 PM
Well..... looks like we may have to settle for Anthony Stokes and - at a stretch - Cillian Sheridan in the Champions League next season.

16/04/2014, 8:50 PM
Unless Mick McCarthy takes over from Wenger.

16/04/2014, 8:53 PM
A few upsets in the run in today, Man City held to a draw at home by bottom of the table Sunderland.
My money on Liverpool for the title gets safer by the week ;)

But yea Stokes and Sheridan sounds like a good striking combination, you could call them the SS :)

16/04/2014, 8:57 PM
Yes Tricky I'd say you won't have to sweat too much over your Eur2.56 investment on Liverpool to win the title.
But just in case, spread the risk.

16/04/2014, 10:11 PM
Coleman given a serious run around here.

I'm still sceptical of Martinez from the defensive side of things, beat the big teams and then concede 3 goals at home against palace...

16/04/2014, 10:12 PM
Well..... looks like we may have to settle for Anthony Stokes and - at a stretch - Cillian Sheridan in the Champions League next season. you don't think Eoghan O'Connell will be in the side?

16/04/2014, 10:16 PM
Feck it anyway.

16/04/2014, 10:19 PM
you don't think Eoghan O'Connell will be in the side?
He seems to be very highly rated alright, but if Van Dijk goes during the summer I'd say they'll be looking to bring in somebody fairly experienced. Hopefully he can stay around because a ball-playing defender of his class would be perfect for O'Connell to learn from.

16/04/2014, 11:39 PM
Yes Tricky I'd say you won't have to sweat too much over your Eur2.56 investment on Liverpool to win the title.
But just in case, spread the risk.

Well I am not too sure, I always though Man City were the big danger but I still fancied Liverpool to deal with them
I am a bit worried about Chelsea and Mourinho, if Chelsea manage to beat Liverpool the I think they win the
title, all their other games Cardiff, Sunderland and Norwich seem easy wins.

So yes I may cover it, at least with enough to get back my original stake of 50p :) that will only cost me 20p :)
(assuming Man City do not win it.)

16/04/2014, 11:50 PM
Tricky, I'm worried you might have a gambling problem. I was a bit unsure when you were gambling 50p, but now you're throwing 70p at the problem and I just don't know where it will end. 90p? £1????

17/04/2014, 1:24 AM
Tricky, I'm worried you might have a gambling problem. I was a bit unsure when you were gambling 50p, but now you're throwing 70p at the problem and I just don't know where it will end. 90p? £1????

Just 50p, my gambling problem is I can't stand to lose anything but a tiny amount of money!
What really concerned me was getting back the £4 I lost on the Grand National, Might even
have been £5, can't remember.
Anyhow my 50p at 12-1 give me a profit of at least £1 when you deduct the National losses.
So I can easily afford a cover bet of 20p. might even put the whole £1 on!!!

As I said I am uneasy about Chelsea because of the manager, he is a winner,
Manuel Pellegrini never really bothered me.

Anyhow I don't bet much because the money would not make any difference to me if
I won unless I was putting thousands on.

I remember the first time I put a big bet on, when I was at school, £5 on at 5-1 on, ie a 'dead cert'
needless to say it did not win, so I leaned an early lesson there!!!

Betting on long shot is much more fun, you can bet insignificant amounts you don't mind
losing and still get a good return if it does come in.

20/04/2014, 3:43 PM
1-0 at home to United after England's brave Phil Jones saved a Lukaku shot with his hand. McCarthy has been outstanding so far and Coleman looks lively.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 3:53 PM
Nice assist for Coleman.

20/04/2014, 3:54 PM
Nice pass but shocking from United to play him on. The gulf in class here is immense.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 4:05 PM
When is the last time the leading Irish goalscorer in the League has netted such a paltry amount of goals? Long and Coleman have 6 each and I am going to go out on a limb and say that they won't score any more. Walters has had a shocking goalscoring return even by his standards. Pilkington too.

Outside of that, Brady, Ireland and Meyler have 3, 2 and 2 goals respectively. And that's pretty much it apart from a Hoolahan goal here and an O'Shea goal there.

It really is shocking how little Irish players are scoring. Whelan and McCarthy have played all season and don't have a goal between them.

Coleman is pretty much the only player that is having anything close to a good goalscoring season.

It really is a pity in that sense that Brady got injured.

You look at the Scots and Naismith, Snodgrass and Adam seem to score every other week and McCormack and Rhodes are becoming goalscoring machines.

20/04/2014, 4:08 PM
Ah don't worry about Scotland they are only very average and we have way more than them.geysir said so.

DannyInvincible
20/04/2014, 4:20 PM
Who was our leading goalscorer in last season's Premier League and how many did he score?

How many games has Pilkington played/started for Norwich this season?

Whelan and McCarthy? Why would they be expected to rack up the goals?

20/04/2014, 4:25 PM
You look at the Scots and Naismith, Snodgrass and Adam seem to score every other week

5, 4 and 6 league goals respectively. You're incredibly full of sh!t.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 4:25 PM
I believe Long and Walters had 8 each. Before that Long and Pilkington had around 8 each.

Whelan and McCarthy are midfielders, not centre backs. They would be expected to average more than 1 goal in every 90 games.

20/04/2014, 4:27 PM
When is the last time the leading Irish goalscorer in the League has netted such a paltry amount of goals? Long and Coleman have 6 each and I am going to go out on a limb and say that they won't score any more. Walters has had a shocking goalscoring return even by his standards. Pilkington too.

Outside of that, Brady, Ireland and Meyler have 3, 2 and 2 goals respectively. And that's pretty much it apart from a Hoolahan goal here and an O'Shea goal there.

It really is shocking how little Irish players are scoring. Whelan and McCarthy have played all season and don't have a goal between them.

Coleman is pretty much the only player that is having anything close to a good goalscoring season.

It really is a pity in that sense that Brady got injured.

You look at the Scots and Naismith, Snodgrass and Adam seem to score every other week and McCormack and Rhodes are becoming goalscoring machines.
Naismith, who seems to score every other week, only has as many goals as Seamus Coleman, a defender on his own team. Ross McCormack and Jordan Rhodes are goalscoring machines in the lower half of the Championship. You're clearly exaggerating.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 4:30 PM
5, 4 and 6 league goals respectively. You're incredibly full of sh!t.

If you are going to be so belligerent, you could at least get it right. They have 5, 6 and 6 goals respectively and they are central midfielders. Our central midfielders have about 4 goals between them.

You didn't honestly think I was serious when I said they score every other week?! Naismith and Snodgrass have about 6 or 7 goals between them over the last several weeks. That is what I meant. I apologise for you taking every thing I say literally.

20/04/2014, 4:31 PM
Mccarthy playing well.

Something utd are missing.

20/04/2014, 4:32 PM
Rooney just gotten away with a studs-up challenge on McCarthy. Referees must think he's invisible once he gets within a yard of James.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 4:32 PM
Naismith, who seems to score every other week, only has as many goals as Seamus Coleman, a defender on his own team. Ross McCormack and Jordan Rhodes are goalscoring machines in the lower half of the Championship. You're clearly exaggerating.

I said Coleman has been scoring more than what would be expected of him. Naismith has been on the bench half the season. Surely McCormack and Rhodes scoring 50 goals between them for poor teams makes their accomplishments even better?

20/04/2014, 4:37 PM
If you are going to be so belligerent, you could at least get it right. They have 5, 6 and 6 goals respectively and they are central midfielders. Our central midfielders have about 4 goals between them.

You didn't honestly think I was serious when I said they score every other week?! Naismith and Snodgrass have about 6 or 7 goals between them over the last several weeks. That is what I meant. I apologise for you taking every thing I say literally.

I don't give a sh!t. You're just a bore. You big up 5 Scottish players in some effort to undermine our playing pool and at the same time you belittle everything that Keane does and take vicious swipes at fringe players for stating their desire to play for Ireland. Enough of the self loathing. It is really fcking annoying.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 4:40 PM
http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lmwd1oTDXP1qzeev4.png

DannyInvincible
20/04/2014, 4:42 PM
I believe Long and Walters had 8 each. Before that Long and Pilkington had around 8 each.

A matter of two goals isn't that massive a difference. We've never had a high-ranking Premier League goal-scorer since Robbie was at Spurs or since Kevin Doyle was banging them in for Reading.

Whelan and McCarthy are midfielders, not centre backs. They would be expected to average more than 1 goal in every 90 games.

Their roles for Stoke and Everton aren't at all conducive to goal-scoring. Barry Ferguson, to use another midfielder who patrols a similar area of the pitch as an example, played for Birmingham over 70 times but didn't score once. In 78 game for Blackpool, he's tallied a single goal.

20/04/2014, 4:45 PM
I said Coleman has been scoring more than what would be expected of him. Naismith has been on the bench half the season. Surely McCormack and Rhodes scoring 50 goals between them for poor teams makes their accomplishments even better?
He's been on the bench because he wasn't playing well. Now he is playing well. Our own strikers have been in similar situations. I'm not sure what point you seek to make, that Scotland's strikers are currently on better form than ours but weren't a few months ago? Clearly a crisis brewing.

And no, scoring lots of goals for mediocre teams in a lesser league is not as big an achievement as it would be were they playing for better sides. It's an achievement but the fact they haven't been able to reach a higher level suggests other deficiencies.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 4:50 PM
To answer my own question, Best and Walters were the leading Irish goalscorers with 6 each in the 2010/2011 season. Heh. Looks like I was being unnecessarily pessimistic. We are a long ways away from the halcyon days of Keane and Doyle banging them in on a regular basis.

DannyInvincible
20/04/2014, 5:01 PM
McGeady brought on for the final seconds but didn't get a touch.

20/04/2014, 5:10 PM
He started against palace didn't he?and McCarthy started on the bench.I'm not reallybsure that phrase is correct but I'll just follow the others on that...anyway perhaps that was telling, maybe Martinez felt he made a mistake for that game.

But remember he is working on his fitness and giving him a few seconds is helping build on that.

20/04/2014, 5:12 PM
He started against palace didn't he?and McCarthy started on the bench.I'm not reallybsure that phrase is correct but I'll just follow the others on that...anyway perhaps that was telling, maybe Martinez felt he made a mistake for that game.

But remember he is working on his fitness and giving him a few seconds is helping build on that.
I think he's just not first choice so he was unlikely to play today Coleman man of the match again.

DannyInvincible
20/04/2014, 5:13 PM
Coleman awarded 'man of the match' by Sky Sports.

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/04/2014, 5:17 PM
Hopefully Man Utd bid 15m for him this summer. Long-term he has a higher chance of featuring in the CL for them and there is not a chance in hell Arsenal, City or Chelsea will sign an Irish player.

20/04/2014, 5:21 PM
Hopefully Man Utd bid 15m for him this summer. Long-term he has a higher chance of featuring in the CL for them and there is not a chance in hell Arsenal, City or Chelsea will sign an Irish player.
I hope they bid 15m for him too because that means they won't sign him.