View Full Version : Everton Irish and Opposition Irish

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16

01/01/2015, 8:00 PM
Obvious isn't it, Martinez's incredible run of (Trap like) luck has run out.

01/01/2015, 8:04 PM
The signs were there when Coleman gave away that penalty. We should have listened to Paul O'Shea when we had the chance.

Crosby87
01/01/2015, 8:33 PM
Today always reminds me of that U2 song Charlie. What's its title?

01/01/2015, 9:04 PM
If any part of a player that can score a goal (so not his arm or hand basically) is ahead of the second last opponent then he is offside

Not seen that definition before, however, the defenders foot (which can score a goal) is a ahead of McCarthy's head (which can score a goal)
so that would mean he is on side.

It is a good definition which makes sense to me, ie it is the position of the goal scoring parts which count.

01/01/2015, 9:06 PM
Sunday Bloody Sunday

01/01/2015, 9:06 PM

New Years Day?

13/01/2015, 7:47 PM
FA cup replay with WHU,
McGeady starts in tonight's game, he was in a great position to receive a through ball from Naismith, but crafty Naismith waited just long enough for Aiden to drift a fraction offside and just to be sure he overhit the pass, just enough to tilt the balance to the defender.

The Fly
13/01/2015, 8:02 PM
He just got sent off.

13/01/2015, 8:05 PM
Shame, he had been their best player so far.

13/01/2015, 8:13 PM
At least he got sent off for giving Mark Noble a kick.

13/01/2015, 9:20 PM
Penalties! Gwan Seamie.

13/01/2015, 9:28 PM
Our friend Wee Stevie misses. Joel bails out Everton on the last penalty.

13/01/2015, 9:34 PM
Good penalty from Coleman, but Robles misses and Everton are out.

Crosby87
13/01/2015, 10:25 PM
Off topic chaps but yer man Conor McGregor is headlining a UFC event this sat night on national tv here.
http://mmajunkie.com/2015/01/ufc-ceo-on-conor-mcgregor-its-almost-like-the-irish-muhammad-ali-in-a-way

The Irish Ali. You chaps should support him.

13/01/2015, 11:13 PM
I like a good penalty shoot out feast but somehow I lost interest in that one. It was good that Coleman got his and his final product had composure, despite him looking as worried as an exhausted fox surrounded by a pack of hungry hounds.

14/01/2015, 4:54 AM
Missed the second half well most of it, seen highlights, Mirallas has a brilliant run the the second goal.
Nice peno from Coleman, Naismith looks like a little kid. McGeady won't get much support from the
fans for getting sent off, mind you they did better with 10 men, so maybe he did Everton a favour!
Seamus always has a certain look on his face, dunno how I would describe it really, maybe geysir got
quite close.

14/01/2015, 7:43 AM
Seamus looks like he's got cotton wool stuffed in each cheek.

What a truly brilliant game of football though. I absolutely loved it. We look down our noses (from our exalted position as football aficionados!) at English football and its perceived lack of finesse at times, but Jaysus that game was just fantastic. Atmo, goals, saves, comebacks, missed chances, drama, everything.

KK77
14/01/2015, 8:59 AM
Really enjoyed that game. A bitter pill for Everton.

DeLorean
14/01/2015, 9:05 AM
All it was missing was an Everton win. I find it difficult to like West Ham for some reason. I think it may be that handcore Londonness that only themselves, Chelsea and Millwall seem to have.

14/01/2015, 6:23 PM
Yea it was a great game, it's nice to see a decent game these days, I am beginning to like the FA cup more
and more these days, hoping Ipswich v Southampon will be as good.
Will be a few Irish on display, Long McGoldrick Murphy Stephen Hunt, Jay Tabb misses out.

Interesting battle of the Irish striker wonder who will win, but they are a good division apart both 3rd
so it is likely to be Southampton.

DeLorean
15/01/2015, 12:38 PM
At least he got sent off for giving Mark Noble a kick.

Even his own teammate wanted a bit of him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZ8U7-OZmZY

KK77
15/01/2015, 1:10 PM
I was listening sorry reading John Giles the other day and he said the recent bad run for Everton has really brought the spoof out in Roberto. He mentioned how he always liked him but of late he has gone right off him listening to his spoof. He mentioned that Roberto said James McCarthy's recent injuries have been down to playing international games. I don't remember myself Roberto saying this.

15/01/2015, 1:39 PM
He mentioned that Roberto said James McCarthy's recent injuries have been down to playing international games. I don't remember myself Roberto saying this. It's mentioned in Jamies thread.

KK77
15/01/2015, 1:46 PM
It's mentioned in Jamies thread.

Thanks.

DeLorean
19/01/2015, 8:15 PM
Mad stuff at Goodison. Everton got a penalty just before half time for a Lescott handball. Mirallas picks the ball up and heads to take it. Some of the other players tell him that Baines should take it, you know, being their penalty taker and all that. Mirallas just ignores them and Baines has a quiet word in his ear asking him if he's sure. Mirallas obviously says that he fancies it so Baines just signals fair enough, go for it. Mirallas hits the penalty off the post and wide. Martinez, the ruthless swine, brings on Oviedo for Mirallas at half time, obviously as a punishment for going against orders. Proper order to be fair although Mirallas was looking their most dangerous player from the few minutes I saw. Not much to do with the Everton Irish I guess, although I would have thought McGeady would have been the more obvious replacement, until I remembered he's probably suspended after his two yellows last week.

KK77
20/01/2015, 8:55 AM
I am hearing the natives are restless.

DeLorean
20/01/2015, 10:19 AM
Football fans frustrated at their team playing poorly, shocker.

20/01/2015, 12:16 PM
Not playing to expected standard. Also, before the season started, they had to blow most of their transfer budget on securing the services of a player they already had.

KK77
20/01/2015, 1:41 PM
Not playing to expected standard. Also, before the season started, they had to blow most of their transfer budget on securing the services of a player they already had.

Yes not playing well at all from what I am hearing. I believe the people booed last night.

20/01/2015, 1:42 PM
Yes not playing well at all from what I am hearing. I believe the people booed last night.
Hearing? Could you not have just watched it?

DeLorean
20/01/2015, 1:43 PM

But didn't own, and arguably couldn't afford to lose. Things definitely aren't going too great but I think sections of the Everton support are being a bit ridiculous after the heights of last season. They've had serious injury problems and a fairly hectic schedule with the dreaded Europa. They should still be doing better than they are but things just aren't happening for them at the moment, it's clearly not a lack of effort in any of the games I have seen, including last night. The crowd went nuts when Martinez brought in Kone for Besic late on, in an obvious attempt to try to win the game. To be fair, Besic had been excellent, easily the best player on show, but had just picked up a yellow card and Martinez obviously said they would throw everything at it with an extra forward. It might have made more sense to bring off Gareth Barry, but he's on the line to make these calls and I felt the reaction was way over the top, and totally counter productive in terms of helping their team.

KK77
20/01/2015, 1:51 PM
Hearing? Could you not have just watched it?

No sadly I had some other things to attend to.

20/01/2015, 1:54 PM
No sadly I had some other things to attend to.
Nether did I, but you're on the internet. Seems like if you were that interested you could just find some clips and see for yourself just how many people were booing or whatever.

KK77
20/01/2015, 2:00 PM
Nether did I, but you're on the internet. Seems like if you were that interested you could just find some clips and see for yourself just how many people were booing or whatever.

Or come on to an Everton based thread to discuss it with people who might have watched the game! LOL

20/01/2015, 2:34 PM
To discuss it or to lord it over Everton fans because you support Liverpool?

KK77
20/01/2015, 2:38 PM
To discuss it or to lord it over Everton fans because you support Liverpool?

To discuss.

20/01/2015, 2:43 PM
Fair enough.

KK77
21/01/2015, 11:54 AM
Anyone listen to gameon on 2fm on Monday evenings? I was listening to the podcast this morning from Monday just gone. Alan Cawley was saying that as far as he was aware three or four senior players are losing faith in Roberto. He mentioned something about Roberto letting other players away with stuff. Interesting but at the same time I wouldn't know who Cawley does or doesn't know that would be giving him this information. He could well be spoofing. I suppose Roberto is the latest manager to be in favour for getting knocked. He will probably win the derby in a couple of weeks and it will be BR's turn again!

DeLorean
30/01/2015, 10:59 AM
Some very good news for Everton and Ireland. (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/boost-for-martin-oneill-as-james-mccarthy-and-darron-gibson-back-in-contention-for-everton-trip-to-palace-30950313.html)

Hopefully they can both stay fit and, in Gibson's case, get some regular game time.

I'm in the middle of Kevin Kilbane's book at the moment and it was interesting to read how appreciative he was of the Everton fans. He said that no matter how poorly the team's results had been, they were always fully behind them which was really helpful to the players. It seems to be in total contrast with what is going on there at the moment, where it seems divided at best. I'm really astonished by how quickly a decent percentage seemed to have turned on Martinez. If it was Newcastle I wouldn't take any notice but the Evertonians always seemed a more grounded, patient bunch. Kilbane might have been exaggerating slightly to emphasise how counter productive the Sunderland fans were when it came to giving their side, and himself particularly, a hard time.

Irwin3
31/01/2015, 1:03 PM
Coleman and McGeady start against Palace. Gibson is back on the bench. Still no McCarthy...

DannyInvincible
31/01/2015, 2:13 PM
Good to see Gibson back. Let's hope he can work his way into the team now and get a good run of fitness.

DannyInvincible
07/02/2015, 4:32 PM
Coleman and McCarthy start the Merseyside derby. Gibson on the bench. Worryingly, McGeady isn't in the squad at all with Aaron Lennon on the bench.

07/02/2015, 6:01 PM
crap game, Coleman has been pretty crap, two very poor crosses

07/02/2015, 6:14 PM
livened up late on after a few yellow cards

07/02/2015, 6:15 PM
Coleman nearly scored, shot saved.

Crosby87
07/02/2015, 10:27 PM
Is McGeady hurt?

07/02/2015, 10:51 PM
He must be pretty upset.

DannyInvincible
11/02/2015, 11:10 PM
Gibson replaced Barkley on 74 minutes in Everton's 1-0 loss to Chelsea at Stamford Bridge tonight. Coleman played the full 90 minute and was booked. No sign of McGeady in the squad at all; Lennon started and was replaced by Miralles on 74 minutes.

McCarthy also came off the bench at half-time to replace Bešić and was later the recipient of a booking (and some sort of weird head-thrust/possible bite combo to the back from Ivanović (http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/branislav-ivanovic-did-the-chelsea-defender-try-to-bite-evertons-james-mccarthy-10040115.html)).

OPuluv2e3x9

Martinez is saying that if the bruise doesn't heal in time, he'll have to miss the Poland game.

11/02/2015, 11:20 PM
McGeady is sidelined with a bad bruise on his knee: http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2015/02/11/8832662/martinez-backs-mcgeady-to-return-to-his-very-best

Hopefully he returns to fitness soon as we'll need him against Poland.

DannyInvincible
11/02/2015, 11:21 PM
Did McGeady miss the Liverpool game for the same reason or when did he pick this up?