View Full Version : FAI cup matches w/e 29/8/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9

30/08/2011, 2:43 PM
Thought we were a teency bit fortunate tbh - didn't think it was a red card (there was another defender alongside the incident), and ye were just about to bring on Twigg when Flynn was sent off; he was re-benched and Murray came on instead. Ye were fairly sluggish throughout (except for the 15 minutes from the start of the second half to the opener), but the team ye had out was still strong enough. With Twigg on, a sluggish Rovers become a sluggish Rovers who'll probably nick a jammy goal. Massive red card decision in more ways than one.

I don't think Sives was ever going to catch him had he got past Flynn tbh. I don't think it was a deliberate or bad challenge (going by Flynn's normal Bohs standards :cool2: ), but he did block him off - fair enough call.

Twigg's finishing touch was sorely missed through the game. The opener he got a couple of weeks against youse was the sort of forward play that was missing. Lay-off, run across the defender and delicate touch into the corner. He might've got a third and some might've thrown him on anyway given youse equalised before Murray came on.

de bowez
30/08/2011, 3:34 PM
if they knew they were banned should not have showed up in the first place.

They weren´t banned from Flancare Park.

From what I remember Bohs, Rovers and others wanted to set up a shared database but there were laws in place not allowing it.

30/08/2011, 4:35 PM
Replay is yesterday week afaik

Dillonman
30/08/2011, 9:37 PM
2-1 to d town tonight, bragging rights back where they belong, should have been alot more. Drogs lads are very quiet tonight!!!

oriel
30/08/2011, 10:11 PM
Very comfortable win, should have been 3-0 before drogs got their consolation in the 93rd min. Still like last week, I have to say drogs played some good stuff, huge improvement for them from the start of the season.

Crowd wasnt that great, 1,484 I think was reported, I think less than 200 away.

bullit
30/08/2011, 10:47 PM
Very comfortable win, should have been 3-0 before drogs got their consolation in the 93rd min.
I thought we looked dodgey enough up until ward scored the 1st and then we got the bit between our teeth.Just could nay hit the 3rd to make it safe despite plenty of chances to do so, and then we were scrambling at times too.All in all a fair result at the end.

MeathDrog
30/08/2011, 11:31 PM
Deserved result for Dundalk, but we were short a bit of luck. Denied a stone wall peno with 10 mins left aswell.

31/08/2011, 12:36 AM
A number of people saying fans were denied medical attention after pepper spray attack but medical treatment is not required after pepper spray

Depends how much is used and how close. As I said before one guard was repeat spraying people in the eyes who were lying on the ground in bits. There were other injuries other than the pepper spray too.

The European Parliament Scientific and Technological Options Assessment (STOA) published in 1998 “An Appraisal of Technologies of Political Control”[5] with extensive information on pepper spray and tear gas. They write:
The effects of pepper spray are far more severe, including temporary blindness which lasts from 15–30 minutes, a burning sensation of the skin which lasts from 45 to 60 minutes, upper body spasms which force a person to bend forward and uncontrollable coughing making it difficult to breathe or speak for between 3 to 15 minutes.
For those with asthma, taking other drugs, or subject to restraining techniques which restrict the breathing passages, there is a risk of death. The Los Angeles Times has reported at least 61 deaths associated with police use of pepper spray since 1990 in the USA.[6] The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) documented 27 people in police custody who died after exposure to pepper spray in California since 1993.[2][7][8] However, the ACLU report counts any death occurring within hours of exposure to pepper spray. In all 27 cases, the coroners' report listed other factors as the primary cause of death, though in some cases the use of pepper spray may have been a contributing factor.[2]
The US Army concluded in a 1993 Aberdeen Proving Ground study that pepper spray could cause "[m]utagenic effects, carcinogenic effects, sensitization, cardiovascular and pulmonary toxicity, neurotoxicity, as well as possible human fatalities. There is a risk in using this product on a large and varied population".[9] However, the pepper spray was widely approved in the US despite the reservations of the US military scientists after it passed FBI tests in 1991. As of 1999, it was in use by more than 2000 public safety agencies.[10]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepper_spray

Pepper spray is banned for use in war by Article I.5 of the Chemical Weapons Convention which bans the use of all riot control agents in warfare whether lethal or non-lethal.

It wasn't even used in the London riots!

OneForTheFuture
31/08/2011, 9:49 AM
It wasn't even used in the London riots!

Yeah but we have a Pepper-Spray mountain here in Ireland don't ya know!

WindmillWarrior
31/08/2011, 10:05 AM
Very comfortable win, should have been 3-0 before drogs got their consolation in the 93rd min. Still like last week, I have to say drogs played some good stuff, huge improvement for them from the start of the season.

Crowd wasnt that great, 1,484 I think was reported, I think less than 200 away.

About 300/350 counted in the away terrace.
1,484 is fairly poor though innit. The novelty factor of being back in the premier has really worn off now for Duns fans I suppose. This seasons crowds are probably more of a realistic size for a club like Dundalk anyway.

On the game, it was never gonna be our night after those 2 quick goals. I thought we were doing fairly ok before that. Though if the peno was given, as it should have been, then it might have been a very different outcome.

marinobohs
31/08/2011, 10:32 AM
What happened in Longford on Sat was a complete disgrace, a lot of people have waded in here giving their opinion but they weren't there. Way too many people in this country seem incapable of believing that the gardai can do any wrong. It reminds me of the denial of abuse in the Catholic church. This was not a case of 'Casuals' causing trouble, I don't know what your idea of a casual is because none of the lads there on Saturday were there to look for any sort of trouble, I for one cannot stand such behaviour and would never condone it. I have never been involved in any sort of violence in (or outside) a football ground ever, and I can honestly say that I cannot remember the last time I witnessed any sort of 'scumbag' as was described earlier cause any trouble during a match (no matter what is reported), What happens between green street wannabes between themselves outside of football grounds does not concern me at all.

I was hit by pepper spray as I walked by the gap in the stand from a distance of 20m or so, thankfully it did not really affect me from that distance but when I looked around me it was just small groups of 3/4/5 people standing to the side getting sprayed. There was no mass riot going on as has been suggested. I spoke with the local gardai, they admitted that they were embarrassed by what was happening. The young lads sprayed (repeatedly) were denied medical attention for half an hour. I spoke to the 2 stewards on the gate after the incident, they too said they couldnt believe what happened, neither of them were injured.

The guards were a disgrace on Saturday but as already stated they were not solely to blame, some of that comes from within our own club I dont know how many people were refused admission (it cant have been very many) but the only people who I know of who were refused admission were refused as a direct result of personal problems with certain board members, these are decent people who certainly do not fit the stereotypes in the heads of certain posters on here. And any aggression inside the stadium was verbal (towards said board member) and a shake of the gate, there was no mob!

Anyway it matters not, I have witnessed such abuses of power far too often and people can make out all they want that this was a case of Bohs 'soccer hooligans' causing trouble, it simply wasn't, believe what you want, you won't believe what is happening until it happens to your club, to be honest I may have reacted the same beforehand. The sensationalist media reporting has to be admired though... 2 buses of 'hooligans' were supposedly in Longford (cue hilarious attendance jokes!) but yet we struggle to bring 2 buses in total to some places (cue hilarious all bohs fans are hooligans jokes!), Where would we get 2 buses of hooligans from? We would have to import them or advertise for weeks! Something doesnt add up.

Was not in Longford on Saturday so dont know specifics but a couple of factors obvious

(1) FAI were involved somehow - always a bad starting point

(2) Gardai are knobheads at footie games, and if they travelled down from Dublin were, no doubt, in Robocop mode

(3) Bohs fans that confronted the gardai were stupid (and wrong). irrespective of whether Gardai were right or wrong to stop certain people, they were never going to back down once they had made the decision (and the batons and pepper spray are not for ornemental purposes :rolleyes:)

There remains an issue regarding Bohs board banning certain individuals but that should be sorted out within the club not on the streets of Longford.

oriel
31/08/2011, 10:43 AM
1,484 is fairly poor though innit. The novelty factor of being back in the premier has really worn off now for Duns fans I suppose. This seasons crowds are probably more of a realistic size for a club like Dundalk anyway.

On the game, it was never gonna be our night after those 2 quick goals. I thought we were doing fairly ok before that. Though if the peno was given, as it should have been, then it might have been a very different outcome.

1,484 was poor, no question, dont think there was much more than 200 away still, also on the pen, I didnt see it, but we were denied a clear pen when rogers handled in the lge game in drogs 3 weeks ago, these things even themselves out over a season. In saying that you should be happy with the obvious improvement drogs have made.

WindmillWarrior
31/08/2011, 10:54 AM
1,484 was poor, no question, dont think there was much more than 200 away still, also on the pen, I didnt see it, but we were denied a clear pen when rogers handled in the lge game in drogs 3 weeks ago, these things even themselves out over a season. In saying that you should be happy with the obvious improvement drogs have made.

There was over 300 counted.

I'm over the moon with what Mick has done to the team. Its nothing short of a miracle!

bullit
31/08/2011, 4:43 PM
Highlights from last nights match.

http://vimeo.com/28404530

Fester
31/08/2011, 7:35 PM
Monaghan 0 v 2 Sligo Replay HT

31/08/2011, 7:38 PM
Fix...

31/08/2011, 7:42 PM

Is that pitch starting to slowly die in parts?

Ezeikial
31/08/2011, 8:59 PM
Is that pitch starting to slowly die in parts?

ahem...the pitch ain't no livin' thing

01/09/2011, 12:03 AM
Handy enough game for us tonight, as expected. Massive massive game Saturday Vs. Derry.

Sean South
01/09/2011, 8:23 AM
Good away support for a midweek fixture. Very poor Monaghan crowd at the game they looked **** poor too.

WindmillWarrior
01/09/2011, 8:32 AM

http://vimeo.com/28404530

Left out the hand ball for the peno we should have had! Other than that, good highlights.

freewheel30
01/09/2011, 8:45 AM
Two decent goals from Dundalk. Quigley's ended up having a fairly good season despite appearing a bit uninterested at different stages.

01/09/2011, 9:18 AM
That's quigley though. Always appears to be uninterested. Sometimes is uninterested. best player in the league when he's up for it though

01/09/2011, 9:42 AM
Which was twice at most in his entire time with us.

WindmillWarrior
01/09/2011, 9:45 AM
Two decent goals from Dundalk. Quigley's ended up having a fairly good season despite appearing a bit uninterested at different stages.

Our keeper made a balls of the 2nd one. First one was good, but he was a little too far off his line for it

01/09/2011, 10:54 AM

He was one of your best players last year whenever I watched you

White Horse
01/09/2011, 11:25 AM
I'm over the moon with what Mick has done to the team. Its nothing short of a miracle!

He has shown what a good manager he is. The Dundalk FC Board are watching him closely apparently ;)

PartySaint
01/09/2011, 11:54 AM

He was wasted out wide, If Nutsy had of played him upfront yous might have won the league

Or if you just didn't **** up against Galway!!

Quayman
01/09/2011, 12:49 PM

That really really hurt, come back to us when you crowds are consistently above the 1000 mark without the help of "bigger" clubs visiting Dunky Hory Park.

WindmillWarrior
01/09/2011, 1:27 PM
That really really hurt, come back to us when you crowds are consistently above the 1000 mark without the help of "bigger" clubs visiting Dunky Hory Park.

Will do! With the major apathy that surrounded the club for the last 2 seasons beginning to lift, we should see our crowds go back to the more usual healthy kinda numbers which you mention. Thanks for your concern tho :D

Ezeikial
01/09/2011, 3:12 PM
That's quigley though. Always appears to be uninterested. Sometimes is uninterested. best player in the league when he's up for it though

Spot on. The normal interpretations of body language goes out the window with Mark Quigley.

He nearly always looks disinterested, rarely celebrates goals, and generally appears as though he couldn't care less. In the midst of this, his workrate has been excellent for most of the season, he has played against medical advise, and the moments of brillance that he consitently produces are a joy to watch.

marinobohs
01/09/2011, 3:31 PM
Spot on. The normal interpretations of body language goes out the window with Mark Quigley.

He nearly always looks disinterested, rarely celebrates goals, and generally appears as though he couldn't care less. In the midst of this, his workrate has been excellent for most of the season, he has played against medical advise, and the moments of brillance that he consitently produces are a joy to watch.

Quigs has played well for Dundalk this year (and scored some fine goals) but was rubbish last season at Bohs, even on the few occasions he was played up front. Perhaps his confidence was dented by Nutsey playing him out of position so often as he often struck me as a confidence player.

Ezeikial
01/09/2011, 3:45 PM
Quigs has played well for Dundalk this year (and scored some fine goals) but was rubbish last season at Bohs, even on the few occasions he was played up front.

This seems to be the opinion of many Bohs fans. Interesting to hear Dodge's opinion of him being "one of the best" whenever he watched Bohs last year. He was also the standout player for Bohs against Dundalk in a league match in Oriel playing on the wing.

Perhaps his confidence was dented by Nutsey playing him out of position so often as he often struck me as a confidence player.

Poor reflection on Fenlon as a manager if what you say is true!

Quayman
01/09/2011, 6:51 PM
Will do! With the major apathy that surrounded the club for the last 2 seasons beginning to lift, we should see our crowds go back to the more usual healthy kinda numbers which you mention. Thanks for your concern tho :D

Your welcome.

WindmillWarrior
01/09/2011, 8:49 PM
Your welcome.

http://i700.photobucket.com/albums/ww9/HuskieDrog/Super6.jpg

El-Pietro
01/09/2011, 9:46 PM
that banner is clearly saying that their feces is not super

born2bwild
01/09/2011, 9:57 PM
that banner is clearly saying that their feces is not super
I hope you're not that generous in the Div 1 run in.

White Horse
02/09/2011, 10:22 AM
Quigs has played well for Dundalk this year (and scored some fine goals) but was rubbish last season at Bohs, even on the few occasions he was played up front. Perhaps his confidence was dented by Nutsey playing him out of position so often as he often struck me as a confidence player.

I think the key difference is the freedom he has playing for Dundalk. He enjoys having a free role and having the play revolve around him. He needs good one or two touch players around him. He is arrogant but he has the skill and puts in the workload to carry it off. The only time he struggled with Dundalk this year is when he had to play wide on the left when we had injuries or suspensions there.

It is a joy to see a player like Quigley at his best. It is what football is all about and players like Quigley are a rare commodity in the LOI.

adamd164
02/09/2011, 5:31 PM
I take it this 'player ineligibility' question has proven to be unfounded since nothing has come out of this meeting today?

CSFShels
02/09/2011, 7:20 PM
I take it this 'player ineligibility' question has proven to be unfounded since nothing has come out of this meeting today?
No I don't think you can take that at all, there will be an announcement in the media one way or another like.

Ezeikial
03/09/2011, 12:02 AM
No word till Monday:

PRESS RELEASE
FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION OF IRELAND
Friday, September 2, 2011
FAI DOMESTIC COMMITTEE MEET TO CONSIDER SHERIFF YC CASE

The FAI Domestic Committee met today to consider the eligibility of a Sheriff YC player in the FAI Ford Senior Cup 2011. The Committee hopes to be in a position to issue their decision on the matter on Monday.

No further comment will be coming from the FAI at this point.

05/09/2011, 3:45 PM
Limerick are through to the semi, Sheriff kicked out according to twitter. (http://twitter.com/#!/FAIreland)

Quote:

Limerick FC take their place in the FAI Ford Cup semi finals

THE FAI Domestic Committee has removed Sheriff Youth Club from the quarter-finals of the 2011 FAI Ford Senior Cup after ruling they played in an ineligible player in their Fourth Round tie against Shelbourne on August 26. Limerick FC will now progress to the semi-finals. All parties affected by this decision have the right of appeal and any appeal must be lodged by 1pm tomorrow as per FAI Rule 156C.

05/09/2011, 3:46 PM
That doesn't make sense. Why aren't Shels put back in (the same way Celtic replaced Sion) - same rule broken surely?

05/09/2011, 3:50 PM
I would have thought Shels would have been put through too. Another alternative being a game between Shels and Limerick to decide who gets through.

05/09/2011, 3:52 PM
Shelbounre will most likely appeal as they are an affected party. Shels should be put back in by right but I don't think they should be given home advantage.

Pike where removed from the FAI junior cup 2 years ago at the quarter final stage. St.Michaels (who Pike beat) where re-instated to the Cup.

05/09/2011, 3:56 PM
Makes no sense whatsoever. Shels should be back in, toss a coin for home draw. I can only assume they'll appeal.

shelsfan1
05/09/2011, 3:57 PM
Not only do we lose out by not being in the quarters but we lose out on rent because Sheriff were going to play the game at Tolka

Bayern Munchies
05/09/2011, 4:08 PM
Makes no sense whatsoever. Shels should be back in, toss a coin for home draw. I can only assume they'll appeal.

I wouldn't bet on it...

05/09/2011, 4:10 PM
An insane decision when you think about it logically. Which is probably the wrong approach given the crowd making the decision.

I can't believe the FAI have willfully given limerick a bye. I mean its limerick. The sworn enemy of all that is holy in the FAI.

Edit: that said its probably for the best that Shels put the FAI Cup 2011 behind them.

hoops1
05/09/2011, 4:10 PM
Sorry but
Rule 21 States that the FAI must make what ever decision ****es the most people off or in the case that both teams are equally ****ed the verdict that makes least sense to all is then applied.

Its clear enough really.