View Full Version : FAI cup matches w/e 29/8/11
Pages :
[
3]
kdjaC
28/08/2011, 12:45 AM
Ive seen sheriff play pike rovers in the F A I juinor cup went to extra time and pens pike won the last kick of the game,pike then go on and win the f.a i.juinor against st micks of tipp,sheriff where a stronger team.Pike then meet cup holders Silgo and nearly caused an upset,what im trying to say dont take the limelight of Sheriff a great result.
Their players well telling anyone what would listen to bet on them from monday onwards.
Confidence or knowledge?
PartySaint
28/08/2011, 1:13 AM
Always good to hear that scum aren't getting into matches!! Fair play as well to the Bohs officials for pointing them out!!
It's too bad all clubs don't do this!!
nosebleds
28/08/2011, 1:25 AM
Their players well telling anyone what would listen to bet on them from monday onwards.
Confidence or knowledge?u ever sitting in a pub ,last couple of euors in ur pocket somebody putting a punt on this or that ,u think what the fluk in for a penny in for a pound,Happens everywhere ,Hopes its not only me.
bullit
28/08/2011, 1:26 AM
It's too bad all clubs don't do this!!
On Shams last visit to Oriel their Stewards/officials were positioned in numbers at both the HOME and AWAY gates, and there was also a good few off them situated outside the approaches to the ground.Imo thats the way to go to try and weed out any potential troublemakers getting near the ground.
L.T.F.C.
28/08/2011, 1:41 AM
A sad sad night to be an LOI fan.
For who?
bullit
28/08/2011, 1:51 AM
On Shams last visit to Oriel their Stewards/officials were positioned in numbers at both the HOME and AWAY gates, and there was also a good few off them situated outside the approaches to the ground.Imo thats the way to go to try and weed out any potential troublemakers getting near the ground.
PS
A few potential trouble makers werwe spotted and were led away from the area by AGS.
The Lilywhites
28/08/2011, 5:06 AM
Sligo replay on Tuesday? The original replay date was Wednesday.
Town Legend
28/08/2011, 8:21 AM
The trouble flared when a couple of Bohs 'supporters' assaulted a female steward. Have to say though that the majority of Bohs fans were fine.
total hoofball
28/08/2011, 8:52 AM
Jacko Smyth was down at our game tonight apparently and he reckoned it was just goalkeeping error and great strikes. I know Mathews certainly wouldn't have had anything to do with it. Very very straight laced!
That defense from Jacko will be the textbook defence after everyone sees the footage of Sheriff's fantastic goals. 'Ooooh you can't fix that' etc. etc.. ********. The footage won't explain why Shels' defence and midfield happily let Sheriff bombard them in the final third for the first 20 minutes of that half and the laughable lack of effort in the last 25 minutes to search for an equaliser against a tiring and cramp ridden junior side.
Some bookies have eventually stopped paying out on this so hopefully this will get the wheels rolling for an investigation.
28/08/2011, 12:48 PM
The trouble flared when a couple of Bohs 'supporters' assaulted a female steward. Have to say though that the majority of Bohs fans were fine.
That's an outright lie. I was on the scene at the time and saw everything that happened. 4 or 5 people were refused entry because of a personal gripe of one board member who has a habit of handing out arbitrary bannings. (most people who are banned at the moment are banned for vocally opposing his misrule, not anything to do with hooligan activity). I know these people personally. They are not "Scum". Most people thought they'd eventually let them in and some who were on their bus went down to the gate to see what was happening. At this stage myself and a few others went to see what was going on. People were shouting just let them in ffs. Someone grabbed the gate and rattled it at which point some stewards pushed back fairly aggressively. This led to some pushing back at which point the gate opened and the cops weighed in with dogs and batons. Then one particularly mental copper comes in and starts spraying people with pepper spray. I was well back from where the trouble was, explaining to a local gard (who actually agreed with me) how stupid this was and if they were just let in there would not have been a bit of trouble. Both me and that gard got pepper sprayed by robocop. Thankfully, unlike most people I didn't get it in the eyes. A lot of people who got sprayed weren't even up at the gate as he ran some distance into the entrance. He then withdrew and stood back, only to return - tried to get me again to stop me taking photos, re-sprayed people who were already on the ground in agony and people who were trying to help them up. I went to Longford stewards to ask for medical help for some of the people who were down. One steward who seemed alright went to ask the head steward who told me the only way they'd get any help was if they climbed the wall and walked around the pitch with him. These were people who were bent double with pain and couldn't open their eyes. It was another 10 minutes or so before civil defense were called down, fair play to them, they were great btw.
Just let me re-iterate - Longford were in no way to blame for this - it was Bohs stewards on the orders from the board who caused this and the Gardaí armed response unit who were (again by the admission of some of the local gards) OTT to say the least and I'd go as far to say, the real thugs on the scene. It was like a WW1 field hospital down there when they were through.
passerrby
28/08/2011, 1:08 PM
On a lighter note replay for mons v Sligo is wed at 8
red bellied
28/08/2011, 1:17 PM
On a lighter note replay for mons v Sligo is wed at 8
Is this for definite? It was announced for Tuesday after the match last night.
HulaHoop
28/08/2011, 2:18 PM
So in the same week that Rovers beat Partizan away to secure a place in the group stages of the Europa League, go on to draw Spurs who were the biggest draw in the competition I then log on here and find out Bohs fans got pepper sprayed at their match last night!! I really didn't think the week could get any better but that just tops it off nicely ;)
passerrby
28/08/2011, 2:22 PM
Ya just got a call to confirm that it's wed
sundance kid
28/08/2011, 2:39 PM
I'd heard about the pepper alright but i just presumed it was related to the big barbecue they were having before they went on their big away trip.
28/08/2011, 2:51 PM
I'd heard about the pepper alright but i just presumed it was related to the big barbecue they were having before they went on their big away trip.
It worked a treat with my burger.
Despite my better judgement, there's no excuse for pepper spray. The traditional Garda tactic of indiscriminate, OTT beating hasn't failed them before.
28/08/2011, 3:35 PM
Despite my better judgement, there's no excuse for pepper spray. The traditional Garda tactic of indiscriminate, OTT beating hasn't failed them before.
I don't know why they felt the need to have the dog and armed response units for a game between Bohs and Longford anyway. It's not as if there's a massive rivalry there. I sometimes think the OTT police actions at some games (like after the Setanta cup final last year) are a means of justifying overtime. Make it look like you're needed, you're quids in.
jafrazer
28/08/2011, 6:53 PM
HD Highlights of Sheriff v Shels
http://vimeo.com/28262172
adamd164
28/08/2011, 7:53 PM
Sounds like it was a Sheriff home game, did Shels have any fans there!?
28/08/2011, 8:14 PM
Plenty of crowd (bohs) trouble tonight.. a good bus load of them weren't allowed in and or thrown out, well over 10 police cars and a few paddy wagons got called in. Don't know if it was a case of gards over reacting or what but looked pretty excessive.
Sligo-Pats, Shels-Cork, Longford-bohs......
"the common denominator in crowd trouble is Shamrock Rovers" :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
jafrazer
28/08/2011, 8:16 PM
It was a Sheriff home game. :)
mastermind1
28/08/2011, 8:41 PM
From watching those highlights of the sheriff v shels game I couldnt really see anyone that stood out as someone not giving their all. Maybe the shels keeper and defence were a bit suspect alright
28/08/2011, 9:35 PM
"the common denominator in crowd trouble is Shamrock Rovers" :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
I see that hook, I'm not gonna bite. I'm not...
noddy102
28/08/2011, 10:43 PM
no sure they were all down in the bookies!
28/08/2011, 10:45 PM
the common denominator in crowd trouble is..................
http://cs12.org/2011Spring/students_websites/sili4734/public_html/images/dublin_ireland.jpg
Too close to Britain tbs tbs.
PartySaint
28/08/2011, 10:51 PM
Sligo-Pats
One bloke kicking a van hardly counts as 'crowd trouble'
28/08/2011, 11:30 PM
Well, it turned out to be trouble for the p rick kicking the van.
superjohnny
29/08/2011, 7:26 AM
Soccer steward attacked by own 'fans'
By Mark Hilliard
Monday August 29 2011
UP to 30 soccer hooligans clashed with gardai at an FAI Cup tie over the weekend after Bohemians football club sent stewards to identify its own black-listed fans.
Gardai were forced to use pepper spray in a bid to contain the group of agitators who were said to be intoxicated and intent on violence.
A spokesman for Bohemians said that one of its own stewards was set upon by supporters.
No arrests were made at the Flancare Park ground in Longford on Saturday night although a Garda investigation is ongoing after one person was brought to hospital with minor injuries.
A file will be forwarded to the Director of Public Prosecutions.
"I know it sounds bonkers to say that a Bohemians steward would be attacked by people purporting to be Bohemians fans but that seems to be what happened," said the club spokesman.
Tooth
The steward in question lost a tooth in the incident.
The hooligans behind Saturday's violent outburst belong to a group known as the Bohemians 'Casuals' -- a hardcore base of fans, generally intent on causing trouble.
Before the fixture, the Football Association of Ireland had contacted Bohemians with information that a number of its fans, forbidden from attending club games, were travelling to the fixture.
In response, Bohemians dispatched their own stewards to assist gardai and security.
When a number of fans were prevented from entering the ground, at least a dozen more who were already inside came back out to involve themselves in the brawl.
Gardai were forced to use pepper spray to disperse those involved. The fixture, which Bohemians won 3-1, did not experience any delays as a result.
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/soccer-steward-attacked-by-own-fans-2860211.html
That is one of the most disgraceful pieces of journalism I have seen in a long time... and that is really saying something in this country.
El-Pietro
29/08/2011, 9:28 AM
looking at the highlights of the Shels match what stood out to me (and maybe only because I was looking for it) was:
Philly Hughes didn't look too disappointed to miss the penalty, and it looks like he gets right underneath it, almost scooping it over the bar.
Delaney was pretty poor for the first and second goals, first one he was way off his line, and maybe it looks like he can't get to ti, but why is he that far out to begin with, and the second one he didn't even move. The third was a peach in fairness
Theres another few times where players just don't seem that bothered about making too much of an effort to track back or get the ball, but that could be tiredness/laziness rather than anything underhanded.
Its hard to say from that clip and I hope that its not true. I really don't want to believe that sort of thing is going on in our league. If it is true though, the players need long term bans and you'd have to look at points deductions, though I don't want City to go up as a result of points deductions.
Still match fixing is about the worst thing you can do in football
Rasher
29/08/2011, 9:39 AM
It does if he's a Rovers supporter.
PartySaint
29/08/2011, 10:07 AM
It does if he's a Rovers supporter.
It still doesn't!!
Ezeikial
29/08/2011, 10:34 AM
That is one of the most disgraceful pieces of journalism I have seen in a long time... and that is really saying something in this country.
The Bohemians club spokesman believes that a steward was attacked, Town Legend reported the same.
The Gardai reactions may have been OTT (which would be the norm in my experiece) but that does not dilute what appears to have been the original problem.
If the steward was attacked and especially if it was a serious assault that dislodged a tooth, I hope the perpetrator(s) get their due from the courts. There is no room for ambivalance just because the the attacker is wearing the colours of the club you support
29/08/2011, 10:35 AM
looking at the highlights of the Shels match what stood out to me (and maybe only because I was looking for it) was:
Philly Hughes didn't look too disappointed to miss the penalty, and it looks like he gets right underneath it, almost scooping it over the bar.
Delaney was pretty poor for the first and second goals, first one he was way off his line, and maybe it looks like he can't get to ti, but why is he that far out to begin with, and the second one he didn't even move. The third was a peach in fairness
Theres another few times where players just don't seem that bothered about making too much of an effort to track back or get the ball, but that could be tiredness/laziness rather than anything underhanded.
Its hard to say from that clip and I hope that its not true. I really don't want to believe that sort of thing is going on in our league. If it is true though, the players need long term bans and you'd have to look at points deductions, though I don't want City to go up as a result of points deductions.
Still match fixing is about the worst thing you can do in football
Reading the text commentary on Friday that seemed to be the conclusion from my POV that they were just being lazy however there were alarm bells set off with the peno which were mentioned at the time. Like you I hope its not true and hope that anyone het whatever is coming them if it is true.
We shall see.
On your other point re points deductions, that can hardly be done given that this was a cup match. However I don't know, and clarification wild be appreciated.
29/08/2011, 10:48 AM
The FAI control both competitions so can sanction in either, or both
Anyone who posts about possible sanctions is guessing of course, as it's unprecedented
Personally think that nothing will happen BTW
oriel
29/08/2011, 10:51 AM
From that clip it didnt look too much of a fix for me, ok the shels keeper was of his line a long way and in an unusual position and I agree Hughes(was that a beer belly??) peno was awful, but there have been worse.
Towards the end I did noticed the shels left full, number 3 was walking in his own box when Sheriff were attacking. Only other thing was shels could have been 4 or 5 up at HT, but I think I`d put it down to dreadful shels 2nd half and a brilliant response from Sherif.
Maybe the betting patterns will tell more, HT Home/FT Away rarely come off. (i'm saying shels were the 'home' team in this case)
29/08/2011, 10:53 AM
The Bohemians club spokesman believes that a steward was attacked, Town Legend reported the same.
Town legend wasn't there though, neither was the journalist but I actually was. Now, Town legend said it was a female Longford steward attacked. This says it was a Bohs steward attacked. Both the Bohs stewards there were male and I'd know them personally to say hello to. They were attacked - verbally. The Bohs spokesperson would be Denis Maher, hon secretary who is a cancer on the club and routinely lies about fans, and I will go on record right here in saying he is a liar. A filthy liar. He knows who I am too (by username, same as on thebohs.com) so I'm not being a keyboard warrior here). The article never mentions that the person who was taken to hospital with minor injuries is a bohs fan who was INJURED BY THE GARDAÍ!!! The only people hurt were Bohs fans. The only people attacking anyone were the Gards. This story is being spun by the Bohs board because they want to kill the club. This might sound strange but yes, they are trying to kill the club. They are trying to force out members and devalue the club so they can change the rules and end the membership structure. A board member resigned today in protest at what is going on, particularly what happened on Saturday. We are planning a boycott of Friday night's league game and will not stop until that liar parasite Denis Maher is not only off the board but banned from going anywhere near Dalymount Park. He is a cancer on our club. WE ARE BOHS!
29/08/2011, 10:56 AM
Maybe all the Bohs fans who decided to run out to the gate to give their mates a helping hand should have concentrated on the match instead? I'm sure it was well meaning but it didn't exactly help the situation by the looks of it.
El-Pietro
29/08/2011, 10:59 AM
The FAI control both competitions so can sanction in either, or both
Anyone who posts about possible sanctions is guessing of course, as it's unprecedented
Personally think that nothing will happen BTW
I am of course just speculating, but a points deduction would seem to be the only way the FAI can punish clubs, and if 7 or more players are involved in match fixing then the club would have to be punished. I'd ban the players for life as well.
Maybe that in itself would be enough, but if anything can be proved then the FAI have to come down very hard.
Again, just to reiterate, I don't want Shels to be punished, because I want a full and thorough investigation to find that nothing untoward happened.
29/08/2011, 11:05 AM
Maybe all the Bohs fans who decided to run out to the gate to give their mates a helping hand should have concentrated on the match instead? I'm sure it was well meaning but it didn't exactly help the situation by the looks of it.
This country needs more solidarity and less Mé Feinism.
gaga man
29/08/2011, 11:30 AM
fact of the matter is, the majority of Bohs fans that got sprayed were initially let in to watch the game. Had they done just that, watch the game like the other GENUINE supporters, instead of running out and shouting obesenities at the gardai, then they wudnt have got sprayed. the civil defense people that came in to help the injured were also then subject to the same vulgar abuse by a (small minority of Bohs fans) and had to leave the Bohs area. I feel for the genuine Bohs supporters that pleaded with the stewards to leave the Bohs section, as they will get painted with the same brush as the troublemakers. The gardai may have over reacted, i dont know as i wasnt there. But i do know for a fact, that a female steward from LTFC was assaulted as was a Bohs steward who was threatened by supposedly one of his own fellow Bohs fans. Its a real shame to see this kind of thuggary in the game.
29/08/2011, 1:21 PM
Don't know the ins and outs of who the Bohs officials/stewards were but one man was pretty shaken up by all accounts. Not sure if he was hit or not but our secretary reckoned (whether she saw this or was just told I don't know) someone tried to hit him and were threatening his family. The lad brought to hospital was indeed a Bohs fan who got hit by a baton, fell back and split his head open on the ground.
Town legend wasn't there though, neither was the journalist but I actually was. Now, Town legend said it was a female Longford steward attacked. This says it was a Bohs steward attacked. Both the Bohs stewards there were male and I'd know them personally to say hello to. They were attacked - verbally. The Bohs spokesperson would be Denis Maher, hon secretary who is a cancer on the club and routinely lies about fans, and I will go on record right here in saying he is a liar. A filthy liar. He knows who I am too (by username, same as on thebohs.com) so I'm not being a keyboard warrior here). The article never mentions that the person who was taken to hospital with minor injuries is a bohs fan who was INJURED BY THE GARDAÍ!!! The only people hurt were Bohs fans. The only people attacking anyone were the Gards. This story is being spun by the Bohs board because they want to kill the club. This might sound strange but yes, they are trying to kill the club. They are trying to force out members and devalue the club so they can change the rules and end the membership structure. A board member resigned today in protest at what is going on, particularly what happened on Saturday. We are planning a boycott of Friday night's league game and will not stop until that liar parasite Denis Maher is not only off the board but banned from going anywhere near Dalymount Park. He is a cancer on our club. WE ARE BOHS!
29/08/2011, 1:51 PM
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y216/marconi76/294317_2154172945820_1591337335_32102566_6789724_n .jpg
bluemovie
29/08/2011, 1:54 PM
"the common denominator in crowd trouble is Shamrock Rovers"
The common denominator is clearly those damned troublemaking hyphens!! They're always in the middle of bust-ups and involved with ne'er-do-wells! :mad:
bullit
29/08/2011, 2:59 PM
Quarter-f draw is live on MNS tonight.
Teams in Quarter-Final Draw (Provisional Numbers)
1. Bohemians
2. Cork City
3. Drogheda United/Dundalk
4. Limerick
5. Saint Patrick’s Athletic
6. Shamrock Rovers/UCD
7. Sheriff
8. Sligo Rovers/Monaghan United
Cuyahoga
29/08/2011, 3:00 PM
The draw for the quarter final of the FAI cup is on MNS tonight.
El-Pietro
29/08/2011, 3:12 PM
i was bored so i pulled numbers out of a hat
obviously it won't end up like this but I got:
2 v 7
4 vs 3
6 vs 1
8 vs 5
Cuyahoga
29/08/2011, 3:25 PM
i was bored so i pulled numbers out of a hat
obviously it won't end up like this but I got:
2 v 7
4 vs 3
6 vs 1
8 vs 5
Easy one for Sheriff YC. :)
29/08/2011, 3:50 PM
This country needs more solidarity and less Mé Feinism.
How about the fans showing a bit of solidarity with the board in getting rid of the casuals and then worrying about (your admitedly fairly worrying) board afterwards?
Anybody acting the casual at a football match in Ireland is an utter, utter, mutant beyond contempt.
And before anyone comes on "but, but, but, they weren't casuals, the rozzers woz beating people indiscriminately so they woz", casuals were present, no casuals, less hassle, they're easily dealt with, help deal with them.
Calling a load of lads running out to a gate for a nose "solidarity" :rolleyes: