View Full Version : FAI cup matches w/e 29/8/11

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9

hoopy
29/08/2011, 3:52 PM
Unusual to see the usual suspects not commentating on the 'crowd trouble' on Sat and saying how terrible it was. Anyhow, I wouldn't be too quick to blame Bohs on this having seeing first hand on a few occasions what counts for security in Longford.

hoopy
29/08/2011, 3:55 PM
We are planning a boycott of Friday night's league game

Not going to make much difference to gate receipts :)

29/08/2011, 4:07 PM
Unusual to see the usual suspects not commentating on the 'crowd trouble' on Sat and saying how terrible it was. Anyhow, I wouldn't be too quick to blame Bohs on this having seeing first hand on a few occasions what counts for security in Longford.

FAI stewards along with a couple of Bohs stewards were doing the security for the Bohs fans inside the ground and the Gardai were in charge outside the ground.

bluemovie
29/08/2011, 4:11 PM
4 or 5 people were refused entry because of a personal gripe of one board member who has a habit of handing out arbitrary bannings. (most people who are banned at the moment are banned for vocally opposing his misrule, not anything to do with hooligan activity). I know these people personally. They are not "Scum". Most people thought they'd eventually let them in and some who were on their bus went down to the gate to see what was happening. At this stage myself and a few others went to see what was going on. People were shouting just let them in ffs. Someone grabbed the gate and rattled it at which point some stewards pushed back fairly aggressively.

how stupid this was and if they were just let in there would not have been a bit of trouble.

It does seem like there was a major overreaction from the Gardai and, going on what you said, the pepper spray Garda has an Ombudsman case to answer, but there's no way those people should have been let in. If they've been banned in the wrong, then they should take their case up with Bohs, but it doesn't mean Longford should let them into their ground. Just because people shouted to let them in and rattled the gate doesn't mean Longford stewards or the Gardai should just say "ah sure go on". If Longford are told by Bohs that these guys are banned, then there's no way they should let them in.

A lot of people who got sprayed weren't even up at the gate as he ran some distance into the entrance. He then withdrew and stood back, only to return - tried to get me again to stop me taking photos, re-sprayed people who were already on the ground in agony and people who were trying to help them up. I went to Longford stewards to ask for medical help for some of the people who were down. One steward who seemed alright went to ask the head steward who told me the only way they'd get any help was if they climbed the wall and walked around the pitch with him. These were people who were bent double with pain and couldn't open their eyes. It was another 10 minutes or so before civil defense were called down, fair play to them, they were great btw.

I'm picturing the opening scenes of Saving Private Ryan.

29/08/2011, 4:18 PM
How about the fans showing a bit of solidarity with the board in getting rid of the casuals and then worrying about (your admitedly fairly worrying) board afterwards?

Anybody acting the casual at a football match in Ireland is an utter, utter, mutant beyond contempt.

And before anyone comes on "but, but, but, they weren't casuals, the rozzers woz beating people indiscriminately so they woz", casuals were present, no casuals, less hassle, they're easily dealt with, help deal with them.

Calling a load of lads running out to a gate for a nose "solidarity" :rolleyes:

What constitutes "acting the casual"? Is it what you wear? Because these days there is not much in the way of what I'd consider hooliganism. If you're discriminating on the basis of what people wear, then you can throw a lot of people who aren't in the BSC, including myself into that category. The "casuals" weren't causing any trouble. The casuals and the NBB and a lot of other Bohs fans were drinking in Foleys for several hours before the game, there was no trouble there or in the town, there was no reason for anyone to be refused admission and most of the bannings are a joke. The club would have went to the wall ages ago were it not for fundraising efforts organised by both casuals and NBB and many of us have coughed up substantial amounts of cash out of our own pockets to keep the club going. To be treated in this manner is a disgrace.

Town Legend
29/08/2011, 4:21 PM
Sorry to tell you buddy, I was stewarding Sat night so yes I was there!! The Bohs troublemakers got everything they deserved. Rovers came down last season and packed out that section and we didn't have one troublemaker out of them. Bohs come down with a third of what Rovers had and cause trouble. Scum is too nice a word for them Bohs fans and I discount the real Bohs from that. The female steward I seen was knocked to the ground, she suffered no injury. Bohs fans there were threatening their own stewards and their families and were threatening to hunt them down!! What sort of ****s are they??!! According to another one of our stewards one Bohs fan tried to stab one of the dogs with an umbrella!! F*ckers like that should be locked up. They came prepared to cause trouble and even had 2 five gallon drums full of water to wash out their stricken colleagues eyes. It was hilarious stuff altogether seeing some of them sprawled out on the terrace rubbing there eyes!!!

Town Legend
29/08/2011, 4:27 PM
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y216/marconi76/294317_2154172945820_1591337335_32102566_6789724_n .jpg

Thats just one of the 'hardmen'!!!

29/08/2011, 4:31 PM
What constitutes "acting the casual"? Is it what you wear? Because these days there is not much in the way of what I'd consider hooliganism. If you're discriminating on the basis of what people wear, then you can throw a lot of people who aren't in the BSC, including myself into that category. The "casuals" weren't causing any trouble.

Acting the casual would include impersonating Danny Dyer, picking fights in groups of 20, waving your arms around, putting on a mockney accent etc etc. It's nothing to do with what you wear, don't be so disengenuous, Bohs have these clowns, I'd wager you've a fair idea who a lot of these clowns are. They have no business in any football ground in this country.

The casuals and the NBB and a lot of other Bohs fans were drinking in Foleys for several hours before the game, there was no trouble there or in the town

This reminds me of that Chris Rock bit about "n words wanting credit for some **** they supposed to do"

there was no reason for anyone to be refused admission

I assume the people being refused admission were pointed out as having been troublemakers in the past?

and most of the bannings are a joke.

Says who? You? Bohs is a members club isn't it? If the majority of members agree with you get it sorted. If they don't then tough. It shouldn't have to be Longford Towns problem either way.

The club would have went to the wall ages ago were it not for fundraising efforts organised by both casuals and NBB and many of us have coughed up substantial amounts of cash out of our own pockets to keep the club going.

It doesn't matter if a million men raised a million euro each tbh.

Dipping your hand in your pocket doesn't entitle you to behave whatever way you please.

As a socialist I'm sure you can agree wth the sentiment. ;)

29/08/2011, 4:37 PM
Sorry to tell you buddy, I was stewarding Sat night so yes I was there!! The Bohs troublemakers got everything they deserved. Rovers came down last season and packed out that section and we didn't have one troublemaker out of them. Bohs come down with a third of what Rovers had and cause trouble. Scum is too nice a word for them Bohs fans and I discount the real Bohs from that. The female steward I seen was knocked to the ground, she suffered no injury. Bohs fans there were threatening their own stewards and their families and were threatening to hunt them down!! What sort of ****s are they??!! According to another one of our stewards one Bohs fan tried to stab one of the dogs with an umbrella!! F*ckers like that should be locked up. They came prepared to cause trouble and even had 2 five gallon drums full of water to wash out their stricken colleagues eyes. It was hilarious stuff altogether seeing some of them sprawled out on the terrace rubbing there eyes!!!

Are you the one who refused to get medical attention when I asked? If so you've got some neck. 1. That young lad with his eyes covered is not "One of the hardmen". 2. If you were stewarding for Longford you couldn't have seen how this started. 3. If a dog trained to cause serious injury was trying to maul me, I'd stab it too. 4. The five gallon drums of water weren't brought, they were provided either by the gards or civil defence or someone. 5. Threatening people was out of order but it was in the heat of the moment when people are lying on the ground and a cop is coming back in and re-spraying people already injured with pepper spray then you can understand thing getting heated. 6. If you think that batons, dogs and pepper spray are a justifiable response to a few people pushing a gate then maybe you should consider a career in extreme right wing politics.

29/08/2011, 4:42 PM
Acting the casual would include impersonating Danny Dyer, picking fights in groups of 20, waving your arms around, putting on a mockney accent etc etc. It's nothing to do with what you wear, don't be so disengenuous, Bohs have these clowns, I'd wager you've a fair idea who a lot of these clowns are. They have no business in any football ground in this country.

This reminds me of that Chris Rock bit about "n words wanting credit for some **** they supposed to do"

I assume the people being refused admission were pointed out as having been troublemakers in the past?

Says who? You? Bohs is a members club isn't it? If the majority of members agree with you get it sorted. If they don't then tough. It shouldn't have to be Longford Towns problem either way.

It doesn't matter if a million men raised a million euro each tbh.

Dipping your hand in your pocket doesn't entitle you to behave whatever way you please.

As a socialist I'm sure you can agree wth the sentiment. ;)

I've already explained that most of the bannings are unjustified on the basis an individual on the board uses his power to hand out bannings to people he just doesn't like. The whole point I'm making is that the only justifiable banning is one where you have evidence of some wrong doing. It's difficult to get a majority of a general meeting attendance to agree with you when a significant section of people there are auld lads who don't go to away games and lap up everything Herr Maher tells them. We have been trying though and we are determined to get better organised to get him out of there.

29/08/2011, 4:42 PM
If a dog trained to cause serious injury was trying to maul me, I'd stab it too.They're not trained to cause serious injury. No reason for anyone to attempt to stab the dog, so you trying to justify it doesn't help your case on here.

29/08/2011, 4:44 PM
There were people bitten.

29/08/2011, 4:47 PM

By Bohs fans?!?! :eek:

29/08/2011, 4:51 PM
By Bohs fans?!?! :eek:

Yeah, we're animals. We've got weapons of mass destruction and the capability to launch an attack on abbotstown in 45 minutes. ;)

29/08/2011, 4:52 PM
According to another one of our stewards one Bohs fan tried to stab one of the dogs with an umbrella!!

What is it with LOI loopers and umbrellas? It's standard issue for them...

29/08/2011, 4:54 PM
What is it with LOI loopers and umbrellas? It's standard issue for them...

Come on, nothing sinister about bringing an umbrella to Longford.

29/08/2011, 4:55 PM
I've already explained that most of the bannings are unjustified on the basis an individual on the board uses his power to hand out bannings to people he just doesn't like. The whole point I'm making is that the only justifiable banning is one where you have evidence of some wrong doing. It's difficult to get a majority of a general meeting attendance to agree with you when a significant section of people there are auld lads who don't go to away games and lap up everything Herr Maher tells them. We have been trying though and we are determined to get better organised to get him out of there.

That's all very well and good but it shouldn't be Longford Towns problem.

Just a couple of points though:

There is undoubtedly an element among your support that is pure and utter scum and you don't seem half as pushed about righting that injustice.
If the majority of Bohs fans cared half as much as you do about the poor unfortunate wrongly banned folk would they not become members and vote the auld lads down?

My main gripe is that there's a pattern with all football violence in this country and it goes as follows:

Trouble at a game where there are scum in attendance.
Innocent people get hurt.
People descend on foot.ie to claim its the clubs/gardais/masons fault
Nothing ever done about small scum elements at clubs.
Repeat ad nauseum
Fade

If you want everyone to have loads of lovely rights how about everyone take some responsibilities??

29/08/2011, 5:02 PM
Come on, nothing sinister about bringing an umbrella to Longford.

Relax, owning an umbrella itself doesn't make you a looper

However every LOI looper seems to carry one. Best example being the Rovers lad who ran on the pitch in Inchicore last week

29/08/2011, 5:06 PM
That's all very well and good but it shouldn't be Longford Towns problem.

Just a couple of points though:

There is undoubtedly an element among your support that is pure and utter scum and you don't seem half as pushed about righting that injustice.
If the majority of Bohs fans cared half as much as you do about the poor unfortunate wrongly banned folk would they not become members and vote the auld lads down?

My main gripe is that there's a pattern with all football violence in this country and it goes as follows:

Trouble at a game where there are scum in attendance.
Innocent people get hurt.
People descend on foot.ie to claim its the clubs/gardais/masons fault
Nothing ever done about small scum elements at clubs.
Repeat ad nauseum
Fade

If you want everyone to have loads of lovely rights how about everyone take some responsibilities??

I agree it shoudn't be Longford's problem unless it was them who requested the police presence. The point is that if it was just the local gards policing the game and our stewards weren't being dicks none of it would have happened. The problem was caused by our club officials and the violence was instigated by the armed response unit. What are you basing your "pure and utter scum" theory on? If people are caught red handed causing trouble then a banning is justified, if someone is banned for wanting someone off the board and hearsay is used to justify it then it isn't. And yes, more people becoming members would be a help and we're trying to make that happen too.

29/08/2011, 5:10 PM
Nope, we didn't request any police presence except for the usual two guards and a sergeant. Guards cost money!

29/08/2011, 5:22 PM
Nope, we didn't request any police presence except for the usual two guards and a sergeant. Guards cost money!

Yeah didn't think you did. Probably just an excuse for overtime.

nosebleds
29/08/2011, 7:19 PM
:p
does everyone anti rabbi injections if they play BOHS.

29/08/2011, 7:31 PM

Yes, otherwise you end up getting circumcised.

adamd164
29/08/2011, 8:07 PM
Shamrock 1 up against UCD. Sheppard with the goal.

monkey9
29/08/2011, 8:33 PM
fair play to adam mitchell for an amazing last ditch tackle tonight to keep the score at 1-0. Well done to the ref for sending him off for that amazing tackle, and to the linesman who had a perfect view but did absolutely nothing. I have been going to bray matches for many years, and to feel my knees shaking with anger at such awful officiating is not something i wish to feel again.

I know officials make mistakes, but these lads should not keep their match fee. They have not done their job.

Good luck to limerick in the next round. They restricted us before the incident and took their chance to lead 1-0 before they capitilised on awful officiating. Don't have any gripe with them. Congratulations.

lol!!! :)

Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/08/2011, 8:37 PM
Yeah, we're animals. We've got weapons of mass destruction and the capability to launch an attack on abbotstown in 45 minutes. ;)

What bus could you get?

poster
29/08/2011, 8:38 PM
Finito 2-2. Replay on Monday.

Dan Murray

Town Legend
29/08/2011, 9:52 PM
To answer your question BohsPartisan, no I wasn't the steward you requested treatment from. But out of interest the steward you asked, was he on the outside gates, sitting on the sidelines or one of the 2 stewards at the gate leading over to the stand?

29/08/2011, 10:25 PM
To answer your question BohsPartisan, no I wasn't the steward you requested treatment from. But out of interest the steward you asked, was he on the outside gates, sitting on the sidelines or one of the 2 stewards at the gate leading over to the stand?

Well I first went to one near the gate leading over to the stand and he said he'd get someone so he walked over to the Longford side and brought back one of your stewards who was late 50's or early 60's I'd say, grey/balding. He wanted me to get people who were bent double with pain and were blinded climb across a wall, and walk all the way over to the other side to get treatment. When I asked him to at least open the gate so a few who weren't injured could help them around he refused. I told him if there was any permanent injury to anyone that he'd be liable. About ten minutes later, the civil defense, who were very helpful came over and sorted people out.

29/08/2011, 10:50 PM
3. If a dog trained to cause serious injury was trying to maul me, I'd stab it too. 4. The five gallon drums of water weren't brought, they were provided either by the gards or civil defence or someone. 5. Threatening people was out of order but it was in the heat of the moment when people are lying on the ground and a cop is coming back in and re-spraying people already injured with pepper spray then yree on these pointsou can understand thing getting heated. 6. If you think that batons, dogs and pepper spray are a justifiable response to a few people pushing a gate then maybe you should consider a career in extreme right wing politics.

Agree on these points, especially the last one. Like hoopy with experience of policing for Rovers games in the midlands, I won't be rushing to judge Bohs fans..

Even if Bohs fans "came prepared with gallons of water" :rolleyes: and I think anyone with sense would say they wouldn't, there's not much use for them until the Gardaí decided to use pepper spray. It's the Gardaí's fault. If dogs were attacked, well there's no reason for dogs to be used at a LOI match whatsoever except the robocop mentality. It's the responsibility of the Gardaí to use them appropriately and it's their fault for using them. No sympathy at all for any dogs or robocops.

29/08/2011, 10:52 PM
Finito 2-2. Replay on Monday.

Dan Murray

What about him? He did fine in the final 10 minutes..

Fair result overall, UCD's striker who got the first put the fear of the Flying Spaghetti Monster into Sives in particular. Great first goal, very well taken. It's becoming clear that MON will have to use the first team to settle the game before resting players. Drogheda away, Galway away and now this, the replacements have struggled.

topia
30/08/2011, 12:06 AM
What happened in Longford on Sat was a complete disgrace, a lot of people have waded in here giving their opinion but they weren't there. Way too many people in this country seem incapable of believing that the gardai can do any wrong. It reminds me of the denial of abuse in the Catholic church. This was not a case of 'Casuals' causing trouble, I don't know what your idea of a casual is because none of the lads there on Saturday were there to look for any sort of trouble, I for one cannot stand such behaviour and would never condone it. I have never been involved in any sort of violence in (or outside) a football ground ever, and I can honestly say that I cannot remember the last time I witnessed any sort of 'scumbag' as was described earlier cause any trouble during a match (no matter what is reported), What happens between green street wannabes between themselves outside of football grounds does not concern me at all.

I was hit by pepper spray as I walked by the gap in the stand from a distance of 20m or so, thankfully it did not really affect me from that distance but when I looked around me it was just small groups of 3/4/5 people standing to the side getting sprayed. There was no mass riot going on as has been suggested. I spoke with the local gardai, they admitted that they were embarrassed by what was happening. The young lads sprayed (repeatedly) were denied medical attention for half an hour. I spoke to the 2 stewards on the gate after the incident, they too said they couldnt believe what happened, neither of them were injured.

The guards were a disgrace on Saturday but as already stated they were not solely to blame, some of that comes from within our own club I dont know how many people were refused admission (it cant have been very many) but the only people who I know of who were refused admission were refused as a direct result of personal problems with certain board members, these are decent people who certainly do not fit the stereotypes in the heads of certain posters on here. And any aggression inside the stadium was verbal (towards said board member) and a shake of the gate, there was no mob!

Anyway it matters not, I have witnessed such abuses of power far too often and people can make out all they want that this was a case of Bohs 'soccer hooligans' causing trouble, it simply wasn't, believe what you want, you won't believe what is happening until it happens to your club, to be honest I may have reacted the same beforehand. The sensationalist media reporting has to be admired though... 2 buses of 'hooligans' were supposedly in Longford (cue hilarious attendance jokes!) but yet we struggle to bring 2 buses in total to some places (cue hilarious all bohs fans are hooligans jokes!), Where would we get 2 buses of hooligans from? We would have to import them or advertise for weeks! Something doesnt add up.

GCdfc
30/08/2011, 8:02 AM
I've read this thread about the trouble at the Longford v Bohs match and I'm in disbelief. I know I shouldn't be but the defence of the Bohs supporters is incredible. If everyone behaved the guards would not be required, the guards would not have had to act. It is not possible to blame the stewards or guards. The problem is some of the Bohs supporters. There is no way that can be argued because if that troublesome minority/majority weren't there then nobody would have gotten pepper sprayed or injured in any way.

30/08/2011, 8:43 AM
Because the cops couldn't possibly have overreacted? Not like we haven't experience of that both at football matches, and at other protests, is it?

There's a couple of caveats though...
- we don't know what they were being fed by Bohs officials (or from Longford officials, reacting to what they are being told), if anything at all.
- there have been previous incidents involving Bohs in Longford that have 100% been bsc and their ilk up to no good - that'd naturally make people think the worst and react a certain way.

30/08/2011, 8:46 AM
Fair result overall
Thought we were a teency bit fortunate tbh - didn't think it was a red card (there was another defender alongside the incident), and ye were just about to bring on Twigg when Flynn was sent off; he was re-benched and Murray came on instead. Ye were fairly sluggish throughout (except for the 15 minutes from the start of the second half to the opener), but the team ye had out was still strong enough. With Twigg on, a sluggish Rovers become a sluggish Rovers who'll probably nick a jammy goal. Massive red card decision in more ways than one.

When's the replay, do you know? Schedule's fairly clogged up in coming days, what with the two Ireland games and the initial game being moved.

GCdfc
30/08/2011, 9:01 AM
Because the cops couldn't possibly have overreacted? Not like we haven't experience of that both at football matches, and at other protests, is it?

- we don't know what they were being fed by Bohs officials (or from Longford officials, reacting to what they are being told), if anything at all.
- there have been previous incidents involving Bohs in Longford that have 100% been bsc and their ilk up to no good - that'd naturally make people think the worst and react a certain way.

The presence of the Bohs crowd that were not allowed in started the trouble. Yes the cops may have over-reacted. You can't over-react unless there is something to react to. They reacted to the Bohs crowd. No Bohs crowd, no over-reacting cops.

bluewhitearmy
30/08/2011, 9:12 AM
The presence of the Bohs crowd that were not allowed in started the trouble. Yes the cops may have over-reacted. You can't over-react unless there is something to react to. They reacted to the Bohs crowd. No Bohs crowd, no over-reacting cops.

Ya we should start a major clamp down on away fans going to games immediately.:rolleyes:

GCdfc
30/08/2011, 9:17 AM
Ya we should start a major clamp down on away fans going to games immediately.:rolleyes:

Very clever. :rolleyes: If they were not there to cause trouble the would have walked away after being refused entry. Also, a crowd wouldn't have left the ground to get involved either.

placid casual
30/08/2011, 9:26 AM
Rovers deserved what they got last night,trying to walk the ball into the net.
Should win the replay,if MON can put a rocket up the ar$e of the 2nd string.
hope we win,just so we can end sligos season in next round.

I can confirm that longford is a $hithole with stasi security.only interested to see TC and big bad Don Cowen do well.

bluewhitearmy
30/08/2011, 9:27 AM
Very clever. :rolleyes: If they were not there to cause trouble the would have walked away after being refused entry. Also, a crowd wouldn't have left the ground to get involved either.

No doubt the lads that were denied entry should have walked away and if they knew they were banned should not have showed up in the first place.

Dont think they left the ground did they? They went down to the gate to see what was happening and tried to leave i think was said.

But if its true that people were sprayed while trying to help other people its a disgrace.

The guards go mental at some games involving teams that have scum elements they dont bother going after the people causing the trouble they just get stuck in to everyone.

Derry
30/08/2011, 9:27 AM

It wasn't a weapon of mass destruction that smashed the bus window last week at Dalymount.

topia
30/08/2011, 10:01 AM
Before the pepper spray incident I saw 2 guards standing inside the stadium with their batons drawn and over their shoulder, there was nothing going on and they werent even looking at anything in particular but if that is the type of aggressive attitude/stance they are going to adopt when nothing is going on then they were obviously looking to justify their overtime.

The guards may have over-reacted but had to have something to react to???
Simply not the case, not one steward or guard was attacked so what right did they have to attack bohs fans with pepper spray and batons?

At least 1 or 2 of the buses who had victims of the gardai assault went home following the incident in disgust and didnt wait for the second half, they called everyone else on their bus from the stand to go home and not one of them complained when they saw what had happened.
After the initial spraying of pepper spray (about 3 or 4 minutes after) the injured were still bent over double and a guard strolled back in through the gate with a grin on his face and started to spray everyone again.

GCdfc
30/08/2011, 10:22 AM
The guards may have over-reacted but had to have something to react to???
Simply not the case, not one steward or guard was attacked so what right did they have to attack bohs fans with pepper spray and batons?

I can't wait for the court case and the subsequent sacking of the guards involved.

30/08/2011, 10:30 AM
Yes. Because the Gardaí are noted for their accountability and transparency.

30/08/2011, 10:43 AM
I can't wait for the court case and the subsequent sacking of the guards involved.
LOL - in Ireland!?!?

30/08/2011, 11:03 AM

The Longford officials didn't tell the guards anything really, they were dictated to by the guards and also the FAI from what I'm told. They were the ones "handling" the Bohs section. I don't know if Bohs briefed them on anything beyond identifying the people that were banned on the night.

30/08/2011, 11:10 AM

Lets leave the jews out of this !!!!!

GCdfc
30/08/2011, 12:02 PM
LOL - in Ireland!?!?

LOL...I would have agreed until this year. A few have been sacked for various offences.

passerrby
30/08/2011, 12:45 PM
A number of people saying fans were denied medical attention after pepper spray attack but medical treatment is not required after pepper spray

30/08/2011, 1:26 PM
Depends what you consider "medical attention". Assuming it'e the same stuff as CS spray, its treatment is covered in the current St John Ambulance First Aid book and includes fanning the eyes to evaporate the spray quicker, and also to urge the casualty not to rub their eyes - a very natural response in the circumstances, I think - as this will make things worse. Not exactly the stuff of ER, but stuff the layman mightn't know and which might very much inconvenience the patient if, say, the First Aiders on duty couldn't get to the patient.

(And I obviously wasn't at the game, so don't know to what extent medical attention was or wasn't denied)