View Full Version : Pre Season 2011
Pages :
[
9]
15/02/2011, 2:30 PM
We've played four pre season games (one was in the Munster Senior Cup), feel privledged at this stage!
100% record. Goals For 24 Goals Against 3.
Be AFRAID Dundalk!! :cool: :p
KevB76
15/02/2011, 8:01 PM
Drogheda v Limerick FC confirmed 2.00 pm on Sun 20 Feb at Hunky Dory park.
Dillonman
15/02/2011, 10:33 PM
We've played four pre season games (one was in the Munster Senior Cup), feel privledged at this stage!
100% record. Goals For 24 Goals Against 3.
Be AFRAID Dundalk!! :cool: :p
We scored 5 in Windsor last night, first team in 17 odd years... so be aware Limerick, be very aware!!:p
sheao
15/02/2011, 11:01 PM
We're playing Bohs in Turners Cross on the 25th of February .
Flexy
16/02/2011, 12:05 PM
Derry beat Loughall 6-1 last night
16/02/2011, 12:07 PM
We beat Loughgall 6-1 last night, out in the wilds of Armagh.
Nice wee set-up they have there.
Not sure if ye get assume much from the match, but our defense is looking a bit shaky.
DRDoc
17/02/2011, 11:27 AM
Is ucd v mervue still on tonight?
17/02/2011, 11:30 AM
Yep; 7:45 in the Bowl.
bullit
17/02/2011, 6:23 PM
Dundalk & Lims teamsheets are now available on the DundalkFC Facebook page
http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=273061602083&topic=16987
Fester
17/02/2011, 8:37 PM
Dundalk 0 v 1 Limerick 68'Sheahan
Fester
17/02/2011, 8:38 PM
UCD 5 v 0 Mervue Utd FT
was that the crowd? :)
sorry - i couldnt resist...
bullit
17/02/2011, 8:47 PM
Lims beat Dundalk 1-0
Fester
17/02/2011, 8:49 PM
was that the crowd? :)
sorry - i couldnt resist...
Does including the 2 teams count??
Quayman
17/02/2011, 9:07 PM
Dundalk looked a shadow of the team from Monday even though it was a very stong lineup. Limerick were well organised and looked to catch us on the break. Their goal came from a Dundalk attack which resulted in a long hoofball sent up field and Gary Sheehan raced onto the ball to slot past our keeper.
17/02/2011, 9:14 PM
Rusk hat-trick (one peno) for us before Mervue lost their keeper through injury and had to bring on what I can only assume was their keeping coach - about 40years old and 16 stone. He was rubbish and we duly score two more - one a cracker from Dean Marshall and one bundled home by O'Conor when the keeper let a cross go by two yards in front of him.
Overall, I'm delighted with our pre-season so far - ten goals in three games, including five for Rusk. I've seen good pre-seasons before, so not jumping to conclusions! But wasn't really expecting this.
Monkfish
17/02/2011, 9:32 PM
a long hoofball sent up field and Gary Sheehan raced onto the ball to slot past our keeper.
Almost brings a tear to my eye. :p
Here comes the good times! :clap:
Quayman
17/02/2011, 9:35 PM
Almost brings a tear to my eye. :p
Here comes the good times! :clap:
Scully had the team well organised. Barry Ryan made two top class saves. He will be the difference between losing a match and sneaking a draw in a few matches this year for ye.
17/02/2011, 11:35 PM
I know its only pre-season but that's a pretty good result considering there was 5 young players under the age of 20 that started the game for Limerick and 3 more on the bench.
Monkfish
17/02/2011, 11:45 PM
Scully had the team well organised. Barry Ryan made two top class saves. He will be the difference between losing a match and sneaking a draw in a few matches this year for ye.
Hopefully Scully sticks with him and wont chop and change keepers (with Barrys brother Dave)
I say a solid organised back 4 breaking up play and putting long balls out into the corners for Garry Sheehan to run onto with O'Flynn in support on the break will be a tactic we'll see a lot of away from home this year.
Ezeikial
17/02/2011, 11:55 PM
I know its only pre-season but that's a pretty good result considering there was 5 young players under the age of 20 that started the game for Limerick and 3 more on the bench.
Pre-season results are rarely of any real significance, but Limerick fans should be enthused with the performance. With four lads in the u-21 home based squad mixed in with a good bit of experience Limerick should have a good tilt at the FD this year (licencing permitting!). David O'Leary and Paudie Quinn from the U-21's looked lively, Peter Hynes looked interested (thats a real hit or miss one) and Barry Ryan was excellent.
As for Dundalk, it was a real anti-climax after the Windsor Park performance, but maybe it was the best thing that could have happened to shake the squad up from any complacency that could have crept in.
Quayman
18/02/2011, 8:03 AM
Hopefully Scully sticks with him and wont chop and change keepers (with Barrys brother Dave)
I say a solid organised back 4 breaking up play and putting long balls out into the corners for Garry Sheehan to run onto with O'Flynn in support on the break will be a tactic we'll see a lot of away from home this year.
Dave Ryan wasnt on the bench for ye! Was somebody called Cusack I think!
Enruoblehs
18/02/2011, 8:35 AM
Three Shels games.
Home to Shamrock Rovers tonight - ko 8pm
Away to Clane United on Sunday (20th) - ko 1pm
Away to Newbridge Town on Monday(21st) - ko 7.30pm
18/02/2011, 10:14 AM
I was very impressed with Limerick's performance last night. We passed the ball well I thoguht Jeffrey Judge and David O'Leary did very well, Paudie Quinn was always a threat. Gary Sheehan finished very well and looked dangerous. Defence was solid although caught napping at one corner when Kearns nearly scored and someone (was it Hawkins?) missed an open goal on the rebound.
Guinney
18/02/2011, 12:09 PM
I only caught the second half of the Limerick-Dundalk match but we looked poor against a well organised Limerick team. There was a good structure to Limericks team and the Dundalk players got little space. If I was a Limerick fan I'd be very encouraged with that performance. Pre-season matches don't matter all that much but after such a good performance against Linfield and then to this it was disappointing.
Mr Maroon
18/02/2011, 1:25 PM
Monaghan United v Galway United, Sunday, 20th February, Century Homes Park, 3.00PM KO.
Glenavon vs Galway United, Tuesday, 22nd February, Mourneview Park, 7.45PM KO.
Sligo Rovers v Galway United, Saturday, 26th February, Showgrounds, 6.00PM KO.
Dillonman
18/02/2011, 1:29 PM
Monaghan United v Galway United, Sunday, 20th February, Century Homes Park, 3.00PM KO.
All hell is guna break lose then!:rolleyes:
superjohnny
18/02/2011, 1:39 PM
que galways fans singing, ''we are staying up, say we are staying up''
Mr Maroon
18/02/2011, 1:54 PM
que galways fans singing, ''we are staying up, say we are staying up''
There will probably only be one there.
18/02/2011, 2:05 PM
Dave Ryan wasnt on the bench for ye! Was somebody called Cusack I think!
Dave Ryan has been injured for all of pre season, should be fit in a week afaik.
I see no reason why Dave would be dropped as first choice to be honest.
On last night, thought twas very encouraging how well organised the team was, John Frost looks like he could be a very important player for us, himself and Paddy on either side of Brian McCarthy looked very solid.
O'Leary, Judge and Quinn are a decent footballing midfield, Gary Sheehan will score at least a dozen goals this season exactly like the one he scored last night.
I still think we're a bit short squad wise and we probably need an old head in the middle of the park to kick people but there was cause for optimism. :eek: :ball:
Trainee
18/02/2011, 6:57 PM
Gufc v Monaghan on sunday is off
Gufc will play Wexford youths in Ferrycrarig Park 2.pm instead
Dillonman
18/02/2011, 7:01 PM
Has there been a fallout now?
Dillonman
18/02/2011, 7:50 PM
1 all between Cork and Sligo atm Blinkhorn and Cummins with the goals.
gufc2000
18/02/2011, 7:58 PM
Has there been a fallout now?
I don't see why there should be a fall out between Galway and Monaghan. Monaghan were given false hope by the FAI, they had to know we were going to appeal. I have real sympathy for Monaghan here..they should be in the Premier, but not in our place
18/02/2011, 8:21 PM
Longford beating Pats 2-1 at the moment. Hope and Morley for Town, Bradley for Pats.
I was very impressed with Limerick's performance last night. We passed the ball well I thoguht Jeffrey Judge and David O'Leary did very well, Paudie Quinn was always a threat. Gary Sheehan finished very well and looked dangerous. Defence was solid although caught napping at one corner when Kearns nearly scored and someone (was it Hawkins?) missed an open goal on the rebound.
Limerick were well worth the win last night by all accounts, I think they are a great bet to win the FD. I was looking for some value, think I found my team now. Obviously Monday night and the changes took its toll on us, but fair play to Limerick, good result for them, and will give them real confidence.
18/02/2011, 8:54 PM
Full time in Flancare 2-1 win for Town, Pats had a late equaliser ruled out for a push. For anyone who cares!
Hitman
18/02/2011, 9:05 PM
1 all between Cork and Sligo atm Blinkhorn and Cummins with the goals.
Finished 3-1 to Sligo, Russell and Kirby with the goals.
18/02/2011, 9:14 PM
Hope and Morley for TownGood result for De Town...there's hope for ye this season.
18/02/2011, 9:17 PM
Good result for De Town...there's hope for ye this season.
Ha. Didn't see it myself but it's a good result. We were pretty unlucky to lose to Derry too. I think we'll be solid enough this season without threatening the top four really.
PartySaint
18/02/2011, 9:38 PM
We haven't been great in pre season besides a 3-0 win away to Drogs, Hopefully things pick up for Monday
18/02/2011, 9:59 PM
Letterkenny Rovers 2 - 2 Harps - Oisin McMenimen and Marc Brolly with the Harps goals.
CSFShels
18/02/2011, 10:08 PM
We beat Shamrock Rovers 1 nil tonight. Paisley with the goal. I think we've the makings of a serious team this season if we can get a striker to do the business for us.
18/02/2011, 10:13 PM
Bermingham would be good for ye I reckon. Ye'll be very hard to beat with Mathews in charge. Might have a couple of quid on ye to win the division actually.
CSFShels
18/02/2011, 10:28 PM
Dinny Corcoran would be my choice for first choice. Bermingham hasn't impressed me tonight or any time I've seen him.
bullit
18/02/2011, 10:46 PM
Cssf what was the line-up for Shels tonight ?? and Rovers if you have it to hand . Cheers .
18/02/2011, 10:47 PM
Cssf what was the line-up for Shels tonight ?? and Rovers if you have it to hand . Cheers .
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/12482/2/
baz-dcfc
18/02/2011, 11:02 PM
Derry beat Dergview (IFA 1st division team) 3-2 tonight at the Brandywell, PMcElehenney x 2 and Graceson Scored
bullit
18/02/2011, 11:36 PM
No Phillip Hughes for Shels tonight ? ? Is he out injured or is he still running off his puppy fat ??
CSFShels
18/02/2011, 11:56 PM
He was out with Colm James doing a run with the physio before the game tonight so I'm guessing recovering from an injury. More than happy for him to not be a starter anyway.