View Full Version : Pre Season 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13

Doomofman
11/02/2011, 6:52 PM
The only very recently announced friendly between Bohs and Shels on Tuesday has been cancelled... Something to do with the guards or something like that

http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4917/

http://www.bohemians.ie/news/4-club-news/1060-2011-02-11-friendly-away-to-shels.html

12/02/2011, 4:37 AM
not enough notice for a pre-season friendly according to the gardai.

ermmmm...

galwayhoop
12/02/2011, 7:27 AM
Apparently if there's a Premier Division team involved at all then the match officials are paid at the highest rate, think it usually amounts to over 700 in total.
and good men out of work...

12/02/2011, 7:36 PM
Castlebar 0-7 Rovers. Doyle, Russell, Ventre, Mark McGoldrick(x2), Cretaro, Dillon.

Brendan Clarke played about 80mins in goal for us.

13/02/2011, 12:29 PM
City 1 up against Waterford in the MSC q/f. No prize for guessing who scored our goal.

Grey Boy
13/02/2011, 12:38 PM
Another Shels friendly cancelled. Is that 3 now? Bray, Fingal and now Bohs.

We did play Shels, just that Tolka wasn't available to use due to waterlogged pitch. 2-0 to Bray incidentally.

D.24saint
13/02/2011, 12:39 PM
700. this has to be the least value for money ever

this has to be the reason so many friendly's are on the qt these days.

13/02/2011, 2:04 PM
City 1 up against Waterford in the MSC q/f. No prize for guessing who scored our goal.

Finished 2-1 City. Goals from Cummins and Sullivan for us. Penalty for Waterford, not sure who scored it.

Enruoblehs
13/02/2011, 4:24 PM
Waterford skipper Michael Cody sent off near the end of the game.

Will miss the first League game away to Shels in Tolka????

cornflakes
13/02/2011, 4:57 PM
Finished 2-1 City. Goals from Cummins and Sullivan for us. Penalty for Waterford, not sure who scored it.

Paul Murphy for Waterford

CCFC1924
13/02/2011, 6:25 PM
QUality football played by your boys especially considering the hard conditions. Mattie Blinkhorn was superb first half I though.

Was a good day for us yesterday, advertised our grounds/clubhouse etc and made a few bob while we were at it! The cups were a nice touch and Tom Ketterick opening the dressing rooms was also appropriate.

13/02/2011, 6:46 PM
Rovers down to 9 men in their "friendly" v Monaghan in Tallaght apparently.

pauliek
13/02/2011, 7:14 PM
Rovers arnt playing Monaghan, they played Castlebar yesterday

Louth4sam
13/02/2011, 7:28 PM
Rovers arnt playing Monaghan, they played Castlebar yesterday

He's talking about the real Rovers

redobit
13/02/2011, 7:33 PM

Hull Kingston Rovers. (http://www.hullkr.co.uk/)

pauliek
13/02/2011, 7:35 PM
Is that not a Dundalk crest you have as your avatar?

Louth4sam
13/02/2011, 7:38 PM
Hull Kingston Rovers. (http://www.hullkr.co.uk/)

http://books.littleoak.com.au/football_annuals/roy/roy_1980.JPG

13/02/2011, 7:38 PM
Does this really need to start again?

Doomofman
13/02/2011, 7:48 PM

How in the hell do you have 2 guys sent off in a friendly? Against Monaghan ffs

Hibs4Ever
13/02/2011, 7:58 PM

Apparently it was the ref's fault

13/02/2011, 8:02 PM

theres no such think as "friendly" when you're inherently evil.

13/02/2011, 8:05 PM
Monaghan aren't that bad...

gufc2000
13/02/2011, 10:22 PM
Bray and Mons is off Tuesday...anything to do with a wall I wonder.

On a serious note, would this indicate that Monaghan are replacing Fingal and therefore don't want to face Premier opposition so close to the start of the season?

13/02/2011, 10:26 PM
Bray and Mons is off Tuesday...anything to do with a wall I wonder.

On a serious note, would this indicate that Monaghan are replacing Fingal and therefore don't want to face Premier opposition so close to the start of the season?

:confused: They played us on Thursday and Rovers today

gufc2000
13/02/2011, 10:32 PM
:confused: They played us on Thursday and Rovers today
Ya but the licencing committee were only meeting today

13/02/2011, 10:45 PM
why would they stop pre season though

DRDoc
13/02/2011, 11:29 PM
and it was two straight reds in the Rovers Mons game!

14/02/2011, 12:19 AM
One of our lads (Eric Foley) got quite badly hurt in one of the sending off incidents but I feel more sorry for one of the medics who carried him off coz he apparently then had a heartattack in the first aid room. Hope he is ok.

14/02/2011, 12:23 AM
Jaysus. Fingers crossed.

Had no Idea this game was on. Drove down to Kiltipper and was wondering why the lights were on.

14/02/2011, 3:05 AM
Not the worst pre-season game I've been to by any stretch with a half strength Rovers with some of the same creativity problems as last season...

I'm also duty-bound to inform that Magicme was in no way under the influence of alcohol during the game. Not at all, no way, not a single drop. :wink:

14/02/2011, 11:46 AM
Good man DFX......just as we rehearsed!! :D

HulaHoop
14/02/2011, 4:08 PM
http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/180723_10150391255100858_62673060857_17385828_3204 239_n.jpg

The Rovers player (McCormack) was given a straight red card for this challenge by that gobshíte Richie Winter. He will now have to serve a suspension in a competitive match.

14/02/2011, 4:09 PM
You're asking us to judge a tackle by one photo?

poster
14/02/2011, 4:14 PM
If he misses the ball and keeps his studs showing it's a red.

Also, I'm pretty sure Mr.Winter will even things out over the season.

HulaHoop
14/02/2011, 4:16 PM
You're asking us to judge a tackle by one photo?

Did I?

14/02/2011, 4:19 PM
and one clearly doctored photo at that.

(first such reference of the new season - feels good)

14/02/2011, 4:44 PM
Photo doesn't show much than McCormack nearer the ball. Not whether he lunged in, from memory, McCormack came from much further away, whether his studs went over the ball, caught the man or whether he was in control of the tackle

14/02/2011, 5:54 PM
and one clearly doctored photo at that.

Rubbish, dunno what you mean by that, this photo from another angle clearly shows the intent. I await your apology.

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/2426/18072310150391255100858.jpg

cornflakes
14/02/2011, 6:52 PM
Tramore AFC vs Wexford Youths, rearranged for tomorrow night at half 7

14/02/2011, 8:50 PM
Our match with Dungannon tomorrow is off.
Ragin.

http://www.dungannonswiftsfc.co.uk/viewnews.php?newstype=latest&id=393

14/02/2011, 11:01 PM
Instead of Dungannon, we're now playing Loughgall.
Which is somewhere sort of near Armagh City. Apparently.

eL Bettor
15/02/2011, 11:03 AM
St Pats v Waterford United tonight, 7.45pm
What are Pats' pre season results so far?
Any team news for tonight's game?

15/02/2011, 11:44 AM
PLayed twice v LOI

Easily beat Drogs 3-0. Heavily changed side drew 0-0 with Athlone

Wouldn't guess at team as pete seems to be trying variopus combinations at centre half. midfield etc

BillyG
15/02/2011, 1:10 PM
Pats v Waterford is off

15/02/2011, 1:17 PM
Derry v mons has bitten the dust too. Hope we can organise some friendlies against first division opposition fast, we need games.

15/02/2011, 1:19 PM
Derry v mons has bitten the dust too. Hope we can organise some friendlies against first division opposition fast, we need games.

you must be pretty confident that ye will be in the premier division so magicme??

15/02/2011, 1:25 PM
Seems like a lot of clubs are struggling to get friendlies played. Could mean some sides go into the season a bit undercooked.

15/02/2011, 1:28 PM
Seems like a lot of clubs are struggling to get friendlies played. Could mean some sides go into the season a bit undercooked.

Think there's been a few, eh, unreported "training session" v local sides. No huge costs on referees etc.

15/02/2011, 2:02 PM
you must be pretty confident that ye will be in the premier division so magicme??

We were told we are in premier so until we are told different we will prepare for premier.

15/02/2011, 2:17 PM
Harps play Letterkenny Rovers on Friday night in Aura Leisure Centre followed by a game against Swinford Town on Saturday in Finn Valley Centre.