View Full Version : FAI Cup semis

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9

Hibs4Ever
22/10/2010, 6:08 PM
For anyone keeping score

Doubt anyone else would be that sad. Though keep up the great contribution pal!

bullit
22/10/2010, 9:38 PM
About Dundalk, there is never any trouble when we're home to Dundalk, only at away games. Tallaght is a state-of-the-art stadium, Oriel is a hostile environment, an inadequate stadium with poor facilities, and the slightest thing can spark an incident. Not just when we're around.

Next year we"ll whisper our chants,cushion the seats with rose petals and have complimentry chocolates,teddy bears and puppies on hand for ALL visiting fans.

Will you gayy wayyyyyyy ourra that!!;)

PartySaint
23/10/2010, 1:35 PM
For anyone keeping score, the above means 24 of Hibs4Ever's last 30 posts in the LoI section have been slagging off Shamrock Rovers. Of the other 6, four were score/attendance updates.

Keep up the great contribution pal!

'No one likes us we dont care'

fionnsci
23/10/2010, 2:45 PM
Incidents tend to happen at certain grounds for reasons I've already highlighted. Never ever in Tallaght.

In your two years in Tallaght, you have had a bottle hit a linesman and a fan confront a player during the match. Neither has happened at any other ground these last two years. Never EVER in Tallaght.....?

23/10/2010, 6:15 PM
In your two years in Tallaght, you have had a bottle hit a linesman and a fan confront a player during the match. Neither has happened at any other ground these last two years. Never EVER in Tallaght.....?

The fan issue was highlighted. Keep up at the back.

The single bottle accident is not crowd trouble.

Rasputin
23/10/2010, 6:59 PM
The fan issue was highlighted. Keep up at the back.

The single bottle accident is not crowd trouble.
Surreal, just surreal.

Hibs4Ever
23/10/2010, 7:20 PM
Probably as accidental as the monkey chants

placid casual
24/10/2010, 10:30 AM
if you all feel that strongly about Rovers fans then do something about it.
For away games to tallaght , just dont go. believe me the presence of away fans in tallaght, bar the junkies is completly negligible anyway.
and for your home games, get on to your teams head of finances and insist Rovers fans should be banned from the games. and then wait for them to laugh in your faces.

if all else fails youse could shut the fook up.

OneForTheFuture
24/10/2010, 11:30 AM
Placid me hole!

Rasputin
24/10/2010, 11:39 AM
get on to your teams head of finances and insist Rovers fans should be banned from the games. and then wait for them to laugh in your faces.
We survived 4 years ago when you brought 1 or 2 hundred to the showgies and we can survive without you in the future.
I could be wrong but I seem to remember a club official coming out stating that if your lot replicated the scenes there a season ago he would have no problem banning your travelling support.
The sheer arrogance that Shams seem to think clubs very survival hangs on their presence.

Model Club
24/10/2010, 1:55 PM
We survived 4 years ago when you brought 1 or 2 hundred to the showgies and we can survive without you in the future.
I could be wrong but I seem to remember a club official coming out stating that if your lot replicated the scenes there a season ago he would have no problem banning your travelling support.
The sheer arrogance that Shams seem to think clubs very survival hangs on their presence.

I love how the average opinion of Rovers fans seems to be guaged by a few posts on a forum-God knows if we took a general view of sligo fans from this forum you wouldn't need to ban us-we wouldn't bother visiting your bitter little town-But of course we dont and the truth is that sligo fans bark is much worse than their bite.

You make it sound like having 1-200 away fans cross country is a bad thing!
Take away bohs and pats and and I doubt we'll ever see 100 let alone 200 sligo fans in tallaght for a long time,unless of course the aviva is flooded and you need Tallaght for another cup final when your vast amount of sunshiners head east for a day out shopping/supporting

Fivesilver
24/10/2010, 3:07 PM
I love how the average opinion of Rovers fans seems to be guaged by a few posts on a forum-God knows if we took a general view of sligo fans from this forum you wouldn't need to ban us-we wouldn't bother visiting your bitter little town-But of course we dont and the truth is that sligo fans bark is much worse than their bite.

Take away bohs and pats and and I doubt we'll ever see 100 let alone 200 sligo fans in tallaght for a long time,unless of course the aviva is flooded and you need Tallaght for another cup final when your vast amount of sunshiners head east for a day out shopping/supporting

I was nearly taken aback by the arrogance and lack of connection to reality of this post, but then what would you expect given the amount of energy the poster has expended in this thread on defending hooligans?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/10/2010, 3:22 PM
Shams average attendance this season is under 4,000 so we'll see how many sunshine supporters ye have in 3 weeks time. Probably on a par with us or any other club who get to a cup final. I know it's been a while for ye to be there but you'll understand some day.

I would love to see how many people ye would bring to every away game if ye had to travel 130 miles every Friday night. Hell we even help the Dublin clubs out by having our home matches on a Saturday night so nobody has to take a half day for work (or keep the taxi off the road on a Saturday night).

24/10/2010, 5:00 PM
Hell we even help the Dublin clubs out by having our home matches on a Saturday night so nobody has to take a half day for work (or keep the taxi off the road on a Saturday night).
Doesn't so much help the clubs as help your home attendance.

24/10/2010, 6:59 PM
Probably as accidental as the monkey chants

You've ran out of proof, so you're making stuff up now.

24/10/2010, 7:47 PM
No, in that post, he's just mocking you. And quite rightly too.

danthesaint
24/10/2010, 8:40 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fretxesAwI&feature=player_embedded

24/10/2010, 8:46 PM

http://www.sari.ie/ss/racist-incident-at-shamrock-rovers-vs-bohemians/

poster
24/10/2010, 9:32 PM
Someone call 999! mypost got burnt bad.:doctor:

24/10/2010, 10:20 PM

More invention. This is the kind of nonsense that fuels the negativity towards Rovers. And all false.

24/10/2010, 10:25 PM
What is false exactly? The claims that there was racist chanting?

24/10/2010, 10:57 PM
More invention. This is the kind of nonsense that fuels the negativity towards Rovers. And all false.

No. Your post is the kind of nonsense that fuels negativity towards Rovers.

24/10/2010, 10:58 PM

http://holycrapthatsfunny.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/sweetjesus.gif

Jicked
24/10/2010, 11:05 PM

Interesting that you chose that page from the sari.ie and not

http://www.sari.ie/ss/outcome-of-the-fai-disciplinary-committee-racist-incident-shamrock-rovers-v-s-bohemians-fc/

24/10/2010, 11:15 PM

http://www.sari.ie/ss/outcome-of-the-fai-disciplinary-committee-racist-incident-shamrock-rovers-v-s-bohemians-fc/

He's responding to mypost's comment, which uses the word 'invented'. The video linked on the thread shows the opposite.

harleyleeds
24/10/2010, 11:44 PM
Doesn't so much help the clubs as help your home attendance.

probably helps both charlie and also the atmosphere eh ! I used to love it when shams came to our little town (really) for this reason but please remember people without us (and by us I mean the little towns) there would be no league of Ireland .
p.s Tallaght 84000 people 4000 fans Sligo 17000 people 2000 fans . No doubt who has the better (not bitter ) fans . Looking forward to Aviva so we can have a great day out , sunshiners and all ( oops thats me but coming from NYC dont think ill bother with the shopping ) .

24/10/2010, 11:50 PM

Which is why you can add that, the Wayne O'Donoghue, and the Centra shop "incidents" to the non-existent pile.

Well you should anyway.

Model Club
25/10/2010, 2:57 PM
I was nearly taken aback by the arrogance and lack of connection to reality of this post, but then what would you expect given the amount of energy the poster has expended in this thread on defending hooligans?

Do they not teach the meaning of the word "arrogance" in the Sligo schools system?

Nothing in the quoted post is untrue unlike your last sentence!

Pointing out flaws in a "plan" is not "defending hooligans".

Model Club
25/10/2010, 3:15 PM
Shams average attendance this season is under 4,000 so we'll see how many sunshine supporters ye have in 3 weeks time. Probably on a par with us or any other club who get to a cup final. I know it's been a while for ye to be there but you'll understand some day.

I would love to see how many people ye would bring to every away game if ye had to travel 130 miles every Friday night. Hell we even help the Dublin clubs out by having our home matches on a Saturday night so nobody has to take a half day for work (or keep the taxi off the road on a Saturday night).

I hate all sunshine supporters,whatever colour scarf they pull from the drawer and hoover for their day out.All I can do is not be one of them or raise another generation of them.
Having said that I hope that a visit to Landsdowne on the 14th will inspire any who do attend to see the error of their ways and maybe like to witness similar albeit smaller events more often either in Tallaght,Sligo or wherever.

The tone of your post suggsets you are regulars in cup finals so you should be experts in attracting the day trippers back................or not!

On your "wish".Its something oft asked but never answered due to its rhetorical nature,although I'm confident we would play our part.I think our away following in our Div. 1 year was as good and better than most clubs could wish for as fans of Limerick,Athlone,Harps etc can probably testify.

Model Club
25/10/2010, 3:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fretxesAwI&feature=player_embedded

Are we(you's) really going to do this again??

Rasputin
25/10/2010, 5:11 PM
Bizarre.

Not at all.

I was in Tallaght there the same day Ireland were playing Armenia and we had at least 100 at it so that point is redundant. Also the fact that you are not comparing like with like, we have to travel alot further than Shams fans in a season and also we have games on a Saturday, not a friday.
Secondly a Shams fan calling our support sunshiners?? That is just comical, oh Model Club oh Model Club could you please explain to me how you were getting 700 in Tolka and now 3500 in Tallaght?? Shams fans are the biggest sunshiner bandwagon supporters in this country. *que some good auld Model Club historical revisionism.
Aye there may be a few going for a bit of shopping aswell, hopefully it wont lead to any acts of hooliganism, racism or general scumbagness.

The Lep
25/10/2010, 5:38 PM
When was the last post actually about the cup semi final ?Ive seen threads closed for less.

25/10/2010, 5:41 PM
Are we(you's) really going to do this again??

In fairness to the poor souls, they've made it about 10 pages on umbrellas and 20-30 peopledoing pretty much nothing - they're probably getting desperate at this stage

brayfan08
25/10/2010, 6:21 PM
i preferred when the rovers fans boycotted foot

CSFShels
25/10/2010, 6:33 PM
I preferred when they boycotted Rovers.

25/10/2010, 6:58 PM
Surely Gary Rogers deserves some sort of award for that save? Tremendous athleticism.

25/10/2010, 7:06 PM
Had to laugh at the Rovers fans with the Umbrella's, they were screaming at the Pats fans and then shat themselves at the sight of the big blonde lady coming after them, hilarious.
Hooligans me arse, the guys involved there were like typical mouths who sit in the pub claiming to have huge genitalia when in reality they haven't developed since puberty.

Also, Sean Connor's reaction to Galways third goal was fookin' priceless, you would almost think he didn't like Bohs.

sullanefc
25/10/2010, 7:07 PM
Fair play to Colm Foley. Whatever about the wrongs or rights of the trouble on the night. There are newspapers that give our league little to zero coverage unless there is a problem.

25/10/2010, 8:06 PM
Had to laugh at the Rovers fans with the Umbrella's, they were screaming at the Pats fans and then shat themselves at the sight of the big blonde lady coming after them, hilarious.
Hooligans me arse, the guys involved there were like typical mouths who sit in the pub claiming to have huge genitalia when in reality they haven't developed since puberty.

Also, Sean Connor's reaction to Galways third goal was fookin' priceless, you would almost think he didn't like Bohs.

She should have clocked him.

poster
25/10/2010, 11:14 PM
Surely Gary Rogers deserves some sort of award for that save? Tremendous athleticism.

I was looking across the goal as he made the save, couldn't believe it then, looks even better on TV. I've never rated him before, but he's been the best keeper in the league this season by a mile.

26/10/2010, 1:25 AM
Fair play to Colm Foley. Whatever about the wrongs or rights of the trouble on the night. There are newspapers that give our league little to zero coverage unless there is a problem.

Very sane approach alright, even picking out the 4 or 5 involved, than the 20,000 reported here and elsewhere - even Collins was reasonable, mentioning the stewarding.

HulaHoop
26/10/2010, 2:23 AM

Unfortunately some of the ****s on this forum have the same mentality as the newspapers. Once the words Shamrock Rovers are mentioned things get blown out of all proportion.

marinobohs
26/10/2010, 9:48 AM
Very sane approach alright, even picking out the 4 or 5 involved, than the 20,000 reported here and elsewhere - even Collins was reasonable, mentioning the stewarding.

With so few involved I have no doubt that shams will identify and take appropriate action (IE long bans - not banned today back next week as with guy that abused Simon Webb) ?

The point consistently made on here was not that all Shams = bad (most of their support are real LOI stalwarts), but that the club has consistently failed to address an increasing problem assosiated with an element of that support. If the stewarding at other grounds (and Tallaght) was the problem then how come it works OK for every other team ?
Stop making more and more bizarre excuses and encourage your board to take proper action

26/10/2010, 1:05 PM
Where's the bizarre excuses? Even chief Boh himself (and not coincidentally) at the game said the stewarding needed to be better. To say nothing of the fantastical 200 people involved.

Right, Rovers...find and ban the lad out of 4,000 in the ground with a black hooded jacket, jeans and a black umbrella with his back to the camera. Can't be many of them going around on an Irish winter's night!

Dave_SRFC
26/10/2010, 1:29 PM
You're talking through your gick pipe there...people in glass houses and all that...

sundance kid
26/10/2010, 1:32 PM
With so few involved I have no doubt that shams will identify and take appropriate action (IE long bans - not banned today back next week as with guy that abused Simon Webb) ?

Well thats not true for starters, but you just keep firing ahead with your nonsense.
Are the Kingsley Curry court whingers still barred from Bohs, or the Granny basher from Austria? Be honest now.

OneForTheFuture
26/10/2010, 3:19 PM
Where's the bizarre excuses? Even chief Boh himself (and not coincidentally) at the game said the stewarding needed to be better. To say nothing of the fantastical 200 people involved.

Right, Rovers...find and ban the lad out of 4,000 in the ground with a black hooded jacket, jeans and a black umbrella with his back to the camera. Can't be many of them going around on an Irish winter's night!

And Burberry cap!

fionnsci
26/10/2010, 9:32 PM
Unfortunately some of the ****s on this forum have the same mentality as the newspapers. Once the words Shamrock Rovers are mentioned things get blown out of all proportion.

That's not true. The other clubs simply don't give us as many opportunities blow things out of proportion. Rovers fans have too high an opinion of themselves if they think that other fans are so preoccupied by them.

placid casual
26/10/2010, 10:17 PM
That's not true. The other clubs simply don't give us as many opportunities blow things out of proportion. Rovers fans have too high an opinion of themselves

interesting point.
is that what bothers you all so much?
Its not that Rovers have too high an opinion of ourselves , we just believe we are following the best club in Ireland .and we find it amusing and twee that anybody supports anybody else, anywhere!!.
even when plasterer-rod relegated us we still felt we were better than all of you.
thats just being honest by the way- i'm not trying to wind you all up.

HulaHoop
26/10/2010, 11:06 PM
That's not true. The other clubs simply don't give us as many opportunities blow things out of proportion. Rovers fans have too high an opinion of themselves if they think that other fans are so preoccupied by them.

The evidence speaks for itself fionnsci, whenever there is any sort of incident involving Rovers it gets huge threads here and elsewhere aswell as all the media coverage, however when incidents happen at other clubs it doesn't get half as much attention.