View Full Version : FAI Cup semis

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9

OneForTheFuture
19/10/2010, 11:28 PM
Sorry, but did you have to ask?

Don't worry I'm going......

Leejo
19/10/2010, 11:48 PM
Sligo did the same Friday the only thing difference was the reaction of the two losing sets of supporters

The difference there is, any Sligo fans that were on the pitch didn't come over looking for trouble. They didn't come over to gloat. They celebrated with their players in front of their own fans, then they left the pitch and went back into their own end to celebrate with themselves. The Sligo players and management were applauded off the pitch by the Bohs fans. Astronomical difference in scenes. Sligo > Shamrock

Leejo
19/10/2010, 11:49 PM
200-250 on the pitch about 10-15 went all the way to the Pats end max

http://i660.photobucket.com/albums/uu323/mrrobmurphy/scum2.jpg

hoops1
19/10/2010, 11:51 PM
They beat us last year came on the pitch right down to the 18yard box. Nobody from our end moved,threw anything or tried to batter them.

Leejo
19/10/2010, 11:56 PM
What's your point caller?

bullit
19/10/2010, 11:59 PM
http://i660.photobucket.com/albums/uu323/mrrobmurphy/scum2.jpg
Seiously intimidating(if your at an under 8"s bouncy castle festival)

Model Club
19/10/2010, 11:59 PM
Re : The trouble - The first thing I saw was a lad in a white hoodie run the length of the pitch from the Pats end and start swinging digs down the shed end in the middle of about 50 Rovers fans as they ran on the pitch to celebrate. Stewards pounced on him right away. Then Rovers fans ran to the middle of the pitch celebrating with their players. Then started to move towards the Pats fans behind the goal waving their arms etc. Missiles were being fired from both sets of fans and then the Rovers lad with the brolly and others went further towards the Pats end. Lads from the Pats end hopped on to the pitch and a few brawls scattered around the pitch kicked off with only stewards in the midst. About 5 minutes later some guards started strolling on and the majority scarpered. Embarrassing stuff from both sides tbf

Thats what happened.I'm sure our resident sligo fans and other dopes who wern't actually at the game can add in the usual crutches,invalid,wheelchair......etc,just to liven up an otherwise realistic debate but thats what actually happened,warts 'n all.

poster
20/10/2010, 12:04 AM
Thats what happened.I'm sure our resident sligo fans and other dopes who wern't actually at the game

Yes, I was present tonight. At the end of the game the Shams schooligans along with a few older lads came on the pitch. One Pat's fan jumped on the field thinking he had the support of his mates, only to look over his shoulder to discover a lack of support, I've never seen a human jump so high than this soul when he jumped back into the Pat's support. One Pat's fan made it through with the aid of an umbrella, and found himself laid into by about 50 Shams lads. Was probably the funniest thing I've ever seen in my life.

All in all, Shamrock Rovers are the shame of Irish football.

Jim out.

hoops1
20/10/2010, 12:06 AM
Yes, I was present tonight.

In the ground or reality?

poster
20/10/2010, 12:11 AM
In the ground or reality?

No, I'm being serious this time. The umbrella man was THE best thing I've seen in my 30 years following LoI:D

Rasputin
20/10/2010, 12:17 AM
Thats what happened.I'm sure our resident sligo fans and other dopes who wern't actually at the game can add in the usual crutches,invalid,wheelchair......etc,just to liven up an otherwise realistic debate but thats what actually happened,warts 'n all.
So your fans didnt attack the man who owns Centra across from the Showgies who happened to be on crutches at the time?
I dont see why you bother denying it now since not so long ago your fans were gloating about it, gentlemen that yee are.

PartySaint
20/10/2010, 12:26 AM
I love bashing Rovers fans for their scumbag actions but tonight there was 3 parties to blame, The Rovers fans the Pats fans and the Guards, The Rovers fans shouldnt have come down to our end and start throwing bottles, The Pats fans shouldn't have been on the pitch in the first place (Rovers had just won a cup semi-final let them celebrate with the players and of course the morons that are the Guards shouldn't have let anything happen, they just stood back like ****ing idiots, god help us all if a club with an ounce of trouble get to the Europa league final in May

For people talking about the last game of lats season, The difference was that when Pats fans got on the pitch last season they didn't throw bottles at Rovers fans and when the fans got on the pitch Rovers fans didn't come running at them looking for trouble

Model Club
20/10/2010, 12:36 AM
So your fans didnt attack the man who owns Centra across from the Showgies who happened to be on crutches at the time?
I dont see why you bother denying it now since not so long ago your fans were gloating about it, gentlemen that yee are.

To the best of my knowledge no.I dont remember anyone gloating about it anywhere but will hold judgement until you prove me wrong with a valid link.
Also the bus that the non-person not involved in the non incident you refer to above was supposedly travelling with the most family orientated bus at Rovers,with no alcohol allowed on board.
Iirc the people who run that supporters club took exception to the slander of their clubs good name on this and other sites and posts were removed.In fact your story might have been somewhat believable if you hadn't brought the particular clubs name into the non-story.
That club actually decided against bringing a bus to the showgrounds on the last 2 visits as it had windows put in on at least 2 previous trips and they couldn't guarantee the safety of those on board.

But lets not talk about the friendly showgrounds tonight-lets focus on Rovers animals based on sportsfile and the nobel prize winning adrian kennedy phone-in show all the while brushing aside the one post that most present at the game would deem accurate.

Model Club
20/10/2010, 12:41 AM
I love bashing Rovers fans for their scumbag actions but tonight there was 3 parties to blame, The Rovers fans the Pats fans and the Guards, The Rovers fans shouldnt have come down to our end and start throwing bottles, The Pats fans shouldn't have been on the pitch in the first place (Rovers had just won a cup semi-final let them celebrate with the players and of course the morons that are the Guards shouldn't have let anything happen, they just stood back like ****ing idiots, god help us all if a club with an ounce of trouble get to the Europa league final in May

For people talking about the last game of lats season, The difference was that when Pats fans got on the pitch last season they didn't throw bottles at Rovers fans and when the fans got on the pitch Rovers fans didn't come running at them looking for trouble

Your points on tonight are spot on.
With regard to last season pats fans didnt make it down far enough to throw bottles and some Rovers did make more than an attempt to get at them but where actually reeled in by Rovers fans who let them know that it wasn't acceptable-A huge sea-change in my time following Rovers when similar incidents in previous years where ignored.

poster
20/10/2010, 12:41 AM
Turns out there's 2 umbrella men. The Pat's one still gets my Umbrella Man Of The Year. Legend.http://www.leedsbuildingsociety.co.uk/financialplanning/images/pig_umbrella.jpg

20/10/2010, 12:49 AM
The sanctimonious guff on here has made me log on for the first time in years and remind you geeks of a few salient truths - nothing exercises you lot more than Rovers and, more importantly, it's now half a century since the Junkies won the Cup. Carry on geeks....

PartySaint
20/10/2010, 12:49 AM
Your points on tonight are spot on.
With regard to last season pats fans didnt make it down far enough to throw bottles and some Rovers did make more than an attempt to get at them but where actually reeled in by Rovers fans who let them know that it wasn't acceptable-A huge sea-change in my time following Rovers when similar incidents in previous years where ignored.

Actually you are right about last season , The Guards and stewards were a lot better on that occasion, they did well to get between both sets of fans, unlike tonight

PartySaint
20/10/2010, 12:51 AM
Turns out there's 2 umbrella men. The Pat's one still gets my Umbrella Man Of The Year. Legend.http://www.leedsbuildingsociety.co.uk/financialplanning/images/pig_umbrella.jpg

Who is Pats umbrella man?? I didn't see that, only the Rovers one, who was about 40, what kind of 40 year old gets on a football pitch and hits people with an umbrella?? the rest were just stupid kids who will learn as they grow older

poster
20/10/2010, 12:55 AM
He ran on from the SEI end, I'd say he was late 20's. It was well after Shams umbrella man, he just ran for a rake of Shammers and didn't stop. I'd love to meet him and tell him how much I enjoyed his run.

20/10/2010, 12:59 AM
They were lucky they weren't sharing an umbrella. That would have been embarrassing.

PartySaint
20/10/2010, 1:00 AM
He ran on from the SEI end, I'd say he was late 20's. It was well after Shams umbrella man, he just ran for a rake of Shammers and didn't stop. I'd love to meet him and tell him how much I enjoyed his run.

Did you see the mad ******* who ran the full length of the pitch to kick a Rovers fan?? he was no more than 15, when the Rovers fans started getting on the pitch he jumped the barrier ran the whole pitch without slowing up and threw himself into a group of Rovers fans, I know we shouldn't laugh about tonights events but I watched him the whole way down, It was hilarious

20/10/2010, 1:01 AM
Lord knows, most teams have an element of gurriers and scumbag fans but Rovers are always, always, always mentioned a few words away from the words "scenes", "violence", "scuffles", "incidents" etc etc

The first "fan" on the pitch after the whistle was a white Pats hoodie showing more pace and speed than his team did all evening. Pats fans fired most of the bottles, and when most of them headed back to Ballyfermot, another 4 of them made separate runs to the halfway line before meeting stewards and guards.

PartySaint
20/10/2010, 1:03 AM
The first "fan" on the pitch after the whistle was a white Pats hoodie showing more pace and speed than his team did all evening.

In Fairness Mypost, I think he got on the pitch about the same time as some Rovers fans did, He did have some pace tho, Usain Bolt watch out

bullit
20/10/2010, 1:04 AM
Who is Pats umbrella man?? I didn't see that, only the Rovers one, who was about 40, what kind of 40 year old gets on a football pitch and hits people with an umbrella?? the rest were just stupid kids who will learn as they grow older
In fairness there seems to be umbrella men(and wimmin) on both sides judging by the posts ive seen on either sides forums tonight.

In fairness, rain was forecast.
or something darker

poster
20/10/2010, 1:05 AM
Did you see the mad ******* who ran the full length of the pitch to kick a Rovers fan?? he was no more than 15, when the Rovers fans started getting on the pitch he jumped the barrier ran the whole pitch without slowing up and threw himself into a group of Rovers fans, I know we shouldn't laugh about tonights events but I watched him the whole way down, It was hilarious

There was too much going on at that stage. I agree with the whole "shouldn't laugh/happen", but it was rather funny. The Garda at the main gate claiming he'd "only just got to the game and didn't know what was going on" also amused me too.

PartySaint
20/10/2010, 1:06 AM
There was too much going on at that stage. I agree with the whole "shouldn't laugh/happen", but it was rather funny. The Garda at the main gate claiming he'd "only just got to the game and didn't know what was going on" also amused me too.

My brother asked 1 Guard why he wasn't on the pitch trying to stop it, he reply was 'We are not allowed on the pitch'

20/10/2010, 1:45 AM
What is the acceptable percentage these days?

Where's Réiteoir when you need him..

HulaHoop
20/10/2010, 2:00 AM
Which I have said several times, I agree completely they're little knacks. But nothing like this has happened at Pats recently (apart from Pats fans coming down the Rovers end last season, but there was no afters either game this season), and there was nothing in the game tonight to spark anything (or so it seemed on the radio). I'd hazard a guess some of those earlier reports were true, some of the Rovers scumbags decided to get some sort of rather sad 'revenge' and ran on the pitch as soon as the whistle blew, when security failed to react others ran on too. That's not me condoning it, I've clearly not tried to do that at all, just trying to make sense of why this would suddenly occur tonight, and not say 5 weeks ago when we also beat you there in a big game.

Out of interest Dodge, did the two sets of fans meet on the pitch resulting in fights breaking out ?

A post which unsurprisingly has been ignored. Pathetic as it was (by the scum who have no place at LOI football) there was more than a touch of revenge for the goings on in Tallaght on Sunday. I was hoping the Gardaí were going to baton charge the stupid pri@ks tonight but sadly it wasn't to be. A good hiding and the stupid fúcks wouldn't darken the door of a LOI game again. Now enjoy the Rovers bashing for the next few days lads and don't forget the subdued reaction on here when there was actually someone seriously injured by LOI fans (http://foot.ie/threads/141387-Bohs-fan-facing-extradition-to-Austria-...) . Now doubt this thread will continue on for days as it's so much more serious than other incidents that happen in the world of LOI football.

20/10/2010, 2:17 AM
What is the acceptable percentage these days?

Where's Réiteoir when you need him..

4% is usually about right for Rovers.

from the Rovers forum

Today 22:19 #147
POK

* View Profile
* View Forum Posts
* Private Message
* Add as Contact

Thanks
vCash

I've only been going to Rovers for a couple of seasons and I'm beginning to rethink how much I want to be associated with the club. What kind of fans are we?

Today 23:20 #177
Celtic Charm

* View Profile
* View Forum Posts
* Private Message
* Add as Contact

Thanks
vCash

Quote Originally Posted by TheOtto View Post
A percentage of idiots ? There was ****ing 200 of them scumbags on the pitch throwing bottles and one mongo about 35 swingin an umbrella at the pats fans , scum the lot of them !
Just back now. ****ing embaressing to see grown men do it. Whatever about a couple f Pats kids knackers. Grown ****ing men ruined a cup semi final win.

Cnts

Seriously. We've jsut won a cup semi and off to the new Lansdowne and I felt rotten coming out of that place. having to listen to more crap in work about scum etc etc

We can pass the buck all we want, but we all know that plenty of Rovers fans involved

Today 23:22 #180
Leno

* View Profile
* View Forum Posts
* Private Message
* Add as Contact

Thanks
vCash

same ****, it'll blow over in a couple of days, Adrian Kennedy is one idiot, WUM, knows exactly what hes doing... wonder why they dont comment on the widespread hoolagism that happens in their beloved English Premiership, which accours every week in nearly every city.

mrtndvn
20/10/2010, 2:37 AM
This is becoming a bit of a joke at this stage.

Either all Rovers fans are troublemakers, or it's a small minority.

If it's all Rovers fans, maybe they should be banned from away games.

If it is as they suggest and only a handful of trouble makers, then how on earth have they not been identified and banned from games?

Blaming the Gardai is a cop out, they didn't cause this trouble. It's ridiculous that any loi club needs any police presence at a game.

If we had more Gardai, we'd have the same people complaining that there are two many, the Gardai are to heavy handed and that they are inviting trouble.

20/10/2010, 2:40 AM
To be fair, apart from the one bloke who seems to think the Pats fans are entirely to blame for coming on the pitch second (don't quite follow the logic), nobody's really denied that there's a scumbag element to the Rovers support that's manifested itself a few times in the past few months.

It's been there as long as I've been going to games (about 7 years) and was presumably there long before, but it has improved in recent years, and the demographic profile of the thug element has thankfully shifted from mainly grown men to teenagers, which I think has to be factored in. But what's really irritating is the holier-than-thou attitudes of some other clubs' fans, as if Rovers are the only club in Ireland to have brushes with hooliganism (and a very mild brush at it). Hell, we're a club based in working class Dublin - of course there are going to be undesirable types, just like there are at Pats, Bohs and Shels.

bullit
20/10/2010, 4:44 AM
Hell, we're a club based in working class Dublin - of course there are going to be undesirable types, just like there are at Pats, Bohs and Shels.
And of course the rest of us well behaved plebs are from Dundalk,Sligo,Cork,Galway Etc......

The Lep
20/10/2010, 6:04 AM
Whoever is choosing the match day stewards needs to start choosing those that are willing to do a bit of work instead of doing it just to watch the game for free. Look at those 2 in the last pic on here, they are just strolling along looking at the pats fans. I know its not their fault for the trouble but if you had dedicated stewards then it would go a long way to stop the trouble spreading.
Do any of the Rovers or Pats fans on here know any of the clowns shown in the pics and if so are they requlars at home games? Hopefully the clubs will deal with those involved and stop them from bringing more shame onto the clubs in future. Ive found in general that Rovers and Pats fans are sound and are passionate about their teams.
What impressed me about Rovers fans was when they went on the pitch in Tolka after Dublin city beat them to send them to the first division and they went up to their players to console them. Of course there was over reaction afterwards with people saying they invaded the pitch to get at the bohs fans that was cheering for Dublin city and giving rovers fans abuse but they didnt, they just went on to console their players.
Its a pity that people call Rovers fans scum when in fact its only the hangers on that cause the trouble and the main body of fans are just passionate about their club and are sound. Bohs and shels are the same as well as a few other clubs, they all have decent supporters but get let down by a few hangers on who dont give a dam about their team.
All i say is, look back at the actions of a section of your own fans over the years before calling the fans of another team scum.

20/10/2010, 6:12 AM
And of course the rest of us well behaved plebs are from Dundalk,Sligo,Cork,Galway Etc......
Well I'm sure you're all as bad as each other. Basically what I'm saying is that UCD and Bray are the only nice middle class clubs in the country and all the rest are full of skangers.

The Lep
20/10/2010, 6:15 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7vjcw43wVQ

Before anymore Pats fans winge about Rovers fans invading the pitch, have a look at the pats fans in this from last year going onto the pitch to goad the rovers fans.

20/10/2010, 6:21 AM

Before anymore Pats fans winge about Rovers fans invading the pitch, have a look at the pats fans in this from last year going onto the pitch to goad the rovers fans.
Oh please, that footage has clearly been doctored.

It's a Shamrock Rovers conspiracy. It's always a Shamrock Rovers conspiracy. Even when it isn't, it's a double Shamrock Rovers conspiracy.

Hibs4Ever
20/10/2010, 6:33 AM
Pete Mahon moaning there's a suprise.

MON blaming everyone but Shams fans for their carry on last night, there's a surprise

Well done, you've found one incident of about 20/30 fans. Now, how many incidents can you find involving Shams fans? (to give you a head start, there are already 3 or 4 major incidents for this season alone)

The Lep
20/10/2010, 6:42 AM
Its not a case of who is the worst etc but the fact that some pats fans on here are quick to give out about rovers fans when their own fans have a history of doing the same. Did history repeat itself last night?
Why was so many bottles allowed in the ground and if they were plastic bottles then why wasnt the lids taken off them when sold or when searched coming into the ground. The stewards messed up big time last night.

danthesaint
20/10/2010, 7:57 AM
haha roche this morning saying it was 25-30 that lad is off his head, like it was 10-20 in Dundalk.

when we shouting over to the rovers fans (grown men) asking are you looking at this, we got replies with "junkie *******s".
This is the fooking eejits ya have to deal with.

I'm not condoning the pats who were involved, but rovers need to get these scumbags out of there club, too many incidents in one season.

20/10/2010, 8:32 AM
I'm not condoning the pats who were involved, but rovers need...too many incidents in one season.

Post 223

The first "fan" on the pitch after the whistle was a white Pats hoodie showing more pace and speed than his team did all evening.

It takes two to tango.

Hibs4Ever
20/10/2010, 8:41 AM
It takes two to tango.

Or two hundred in Shams case

danthesaint
20/10/2010, 8:47 AM
Post 223

It takes two to tango.

there was a rovers fan on the pitch at the same time, because the youngfella in white top kicked out at him,

if he wasnt on the pitch either, then the bloke in white gets fooked off the pitch or gets arrested. now if rovers didnt come onto the pitch to "celebrate", i dont know why you feel to celebrate on the pitch, then last nite wouldnt have happened imo.

fair play to davey mac and danny north who came over and applauded the pats fans throughout all that

20/10/2010, 9:14 AM
When hoodie climbed over the fence, there were no Hoops on the pitch until he got to the halfway line. I did check. I don't go on pitches to celebrate anything, don't see the point, but it's the sport culture to do it in this country, and our fans won't be the last to do it either. The trouble with pitch invasions, is that someone won't stop at merely celebrating. And when that happens, all hell breaks loose.

But there has been numerous incidents at this fixture in that ground, going back at least 10 years. First it was stones, then it was stabs, now it's bottles and umbrellas. The stewarding is, and always has been a joke there, and has to be sorted out.

Shedendinvisibl
20/10/2010, 9:24 AM
Whoever is choosing the match day stewards needs to start choosing those that are willing to do a bit of work instead of doing it just to watch the game for free. Look at those 2 in the last pic on here, they are just strolling along looking at the pats fans. I know its not their fault for the trouble but if you had dedicated stewards then it would go a long way to stop the trouble spreading.

Clubs find it nigh impossible to get fans to volunteer to steward as it is; if scenes like last night go on then it's harder again. We all don't have council cash or civil defense to cover costs like paid stewards, whom in the case of Frontline, are even worse again.

Do any of the Rovers or Pats fans on here know any of the clowns shown in the pics and if so are they requlars at home games? Hopefully the clubs will deal with those involved and stop them from bringing more shame onto the clubs in future.

It's either the same 100-200 involved in trouble every time over the years or else it's a different group at every game. There is no way that SRFC management and officials can say they don't know anybody involved time and time and time again,

Ive found in general that Rovers and Pats fans are sound and are passionate about their teams.

Taken from the big book of cliches?

What impressed me about Rovers fans was when they went on the pitch in Tolka after Dublin city beat them to send them to the first division and they went up to their players to console them. Of course there was over reaction afterwards with people saying they invaded the pitch to get at the bohs fans that was cheering for Dublin city and giving rovers fans abuse but they didnt, they just went on to console their players.

All that sort of carry on needs to break out is one idiot. It may seem good natured then but....

Its a pity that people call Rovers fans scum when in fact its only the hangers on that cause the trouble and the main body of fans are just passionate about their club and are sound. Bohs and shels are the same as well as a few other clubs, they all have decent supporters but get let down by a few hangers on who dont give a dam about their team.

Every club has a few dopes supporting them but not in the same numbers and not with the same intent and frequency.

All i say is, look back at the actions of a section of your own fans over the years before calling the fans of another team scum.

As I said last night, whenever you hear of trouble at games you always see the name of Rovers come up and it's rarely at their home games. Not ****ting on their own doorsteps, are they?

20/10/2010, 9:37 AM
Just one point on the "hangers on" argument. Every Rovers fan who got a ticket for last night was either a member, or a season ticket holder

Mr_Parker
20/10/2010, 9:38 AM
Rovers chairman.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPze_VSejFk

hoops1
20/10/2010, 9:52 AM
Just one point on the "hangers on" argument. Every Rovers fan who got a ticket for last night was either a member, or a season ticket holder

Thats not true. But carry on.

manic da hoop
20/10/2010, 9:52 AM

Absolutely not true.

HulaHoop
20/10/2010, 10:16 AM

Not quite Dodge, myself for example couldn't get to tallaght on Monday night so I bought a Pats ticket from the booth last night and strolled into the Rovers end with it no questions asked. if I did it I'm sure others would have also.

pixiehead
20/10/2010, 10:18 AM
On 2fm now! Colm hayes show