View Full Version : FAI Cup semis

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

20/10/2010, 10:39 AM
Just one point on the "hangers on" argument. Every Rovers fan who got a ticket for last night was either a member, or a season ticket holder

Just a question, should you sack your Rovers insider? He never seems to be right...

Lamper.sffc
20/10/2010, 11:05 AM
Just a thought for umbrella man for next time.

http://crunchgear.com/wp-content/uploads/football_head_umbrella.jpg

Very handy for deflecting bottles

L.T.F.C.
20/10/2010, 11:24 AM
Who coined the term 'Model Club?'

punkrocket
20/10/2010, 12:34 PM
.... It would be nice to stay dry for a change.

I posted this before last night's game, little did I know that there'd be a the night of the long brolleys.
Apologies. Still if the weather looks inclement for the final I know what to do now.

punkrocket
20/10/2010, 1:03 PM
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h311/MarkJM/9e1812ce2aecd2be9ee3dcee4b7afd6ee8382c51ad.jpg

celebrity fan there behind and to the left of the main hoolie - i think he was in Avatar.

No Stu that's Aiden McGeady, must have nipped over as soon as the Chelsea game finished

passerrby
20/10/2010, 1:09 PM
I cant believe that these asheholes have any feelings for the clubs they must know that this only takes away from the success of the evening, terrible that the chairman spends his press conference taking about matters other than the game.
what a bunch of ********s...

Rasputin
20/10/2010, 1:23 PM
To the best of my knowledge no.I dont remember anyone gloating about it anywhere but will hold judgement until you prove me wrong with a valid link.
Also the bus that the non-person not involved in the non incident you refer to above was supposedly travelling with the most family orientated bus at Rovers,with no alcohol allowed on board.
Iirc the people who run that supporters club took exception to the slander of their clubs good name on this and other sites and posts were removed.In fact your story might have been somewhat believable if you hadn't brought the particular clubs name into the non-story.
That club actually decided against bringing a bus to the showgrounds on the last 2 visits as it had windows put in on at least 2 previous trips and they couldn't guarantee the safety of those on board.

But lets not talk about the friendly showgrounds tonight-lets focus on Rovers animals based on sportsfile and the nobel prize winning adrian kennedy phone-in show all the while brushing aside the one post that most present at the game would deem accurate.
Its old news at this stage but I can tell you exactly what happened since I was outside Mooneys when your lot were at it.
The man in question who is the manager of Centra was on crutches at the door of Centra, he was stopping a few of your lot from coming in because last season they were robbing drink and one of them pulled a knife on him.
When he stopped a few young lads words were said and one of them grabbed one of his crutches and threw it out on the road.
He started swinging at them and this was all infront of their bus which was parked up beside Centra.
All thier mates from the bus (including the bus driver) came out Danny Dyer style and started flinging cans and bottles at the lad on crutches and at the Shop and smashed windows in the shop, they also ran up to a few young lads on the road Green Street style "giving it large" was fairly cringeworthy stuff.
Now I dont have a clue whos bus from Shams it was or who ran it or any of that, hence why I never once mentioned any of your supporters buses or anything like that.
This is common knowledge among Rovers fans and alot of people around after the game saw this.
I dont know whether you actually think im making this up for the craic or are just denying it happened to avoid the uncomfortable truth, but I can send you the lads name who was on crutches by PM if you wish and you can ask him his version of events the next time your down.
Not that this has anything to do with what happened last night, just as usual a sizeable amount of your support gives this league alot of negative publicity that it cannot afford, its not that anything is that serious, just really handbags especially compared to the 70's and 80's. I couldnt care less about the BSC and Shams Casuals because they largely leave it away from the grounds, its the scumbags who constantly give negative headlines to the rags in the public eye that I hate.

The Lep
20/10/2010, 1:37 PM
Anyway, congrats to Rovers on the win last night. From the highlights on the news, i thought the sending off was very harsh and didnt think it was even a free kick.

Model Club
20/10/2010, 2:33 PM
the uncomfortable truth

.......because you say so?

Ill make my own my own mind up thanks.

Its a knife wielding thug now is it?

Sensationalist bull usually ruins any chance of a proper discussion on here with agendas from both sides spiralling out of control and the facts getting lost among the vitriol-Thanks for adding yours!

20/10/2010, 2:38 PM
I cant believe that these asheholes have any feelings for the clubs they must know that this only takes away from the success of the evening, terrible that the chairman spends his press conference taking about matters other than the game.
what a bunch of ********s...

if he continues to deny the problem the he is just reinforcing it. I hope the decent Rovers skins on here realise that the constant denial of a problem or trying to shift blame onto every other possible source is a sure fire way of eliminating the remaining goodwill they had built up since they reformed. Not that i care about the welfare of your club but its doing Shamrock Rovers no favours and if i was you id be hoping that Roche would be issuing 100 bans to the culprits from last night.

Not wishing to rub it in at all and recognising that we have an element too on occasion (though i dont think it is anywhere near the size of yours) and are by no means perfectly behaved, we have a pretty good record of banning known troublemakers from Dalymount and going to reasonable lengths to make sure that they didnt get in to away grounds too.

Anyway, all im saying is quit burying your heads in the sand as a club, quit denying there is a problem and take a stand against the scumbags.

20/10/2010, 2:52 PM
Anyway, all im saying is quit burying your heads in the sand as a club, quit denying there is a problem and take a stand against the scumbags.
In fairness, that's not just a Rovers problem. That's a problem throughout the league, and indeed throughout football. We've all asked Bohs fans the exact same thing for years (for "scumbags", read "the two Gerries"). Most fans are like that, unfortunately.

(That's not to justify the club not taking any action against them; that's just to point out the way football fans are)

The Lep
20/10/2010, 3:07 PM
Handing out bans is one thing but how can they enforce them? There is nothing stopping them getting a ticket and a steward on a gate wont know who is banned or not. There is nothing stopping them going to away games either .

20/10/2010, 3:10 PM
Handing out bans is one thing but how can they enforce them? There is nothing stopping them getting a ticket and a steward on a gate wont know who is banned or not. There is nothing stopping them going to away games either .
When Cork came to Limerick for the first time this season, they had a 'spotter' with them who identified troublemakers among the Cork fans, who were refused entry by the Limerick officials. It's possible to do it if the will is there.

Rasputin
20/10/2010, 3:24 PM
.......because you say so?

Ill make my own my own mind up thanks.

Its a knife wielding thug now is it?

Sensationalist bull usually ruins any chance of a proper discussion on here with agendas from both sides spiralling out of control and the facts getting lost among the vitriol-Thanks for adding yours!
Quoting that one part of the post really says it all.
Now I never once claimed that those lads who were bottling him and his shop had a knife, what I clearly said was the reason why he was stopping some of your fans getting into the shop was because last season some of your fans were robbing drink from the shop and one of them pulled a knife on him, hence why he was acting like a bouncer on the door of his shop, not very complex stuff, even for a mind like yours.
All this is fact and can be confirmed by your average punter in Mooneys when your down next, believe me there is actually no need to make up slander about your fans, they do all the hard work themselves.

20/10/2010, 3:45 PM
Now I never once claimed that those lads who were bottling him and his shop had a knife, what I clearly said was the reason why he was stopping some of your fans getting into the shop was because......

Let
it
go

20/10/2010, 4:11 PM
Not wishing to rub it in at all and recognising that we have an element too on occasion (though i dont think it is anywhere near the size of yours) and are by no means perfectly behaved, we have a pretty good record of banning known troublemakers from Dalymount and going to reasonable lengths to make sure that they didnt get in to away grounds too.

To be fair, that's only because yous only have 1000 fans :D I'm sure the Salthill Devon lunatic fringe is smaller still.

(Sorry :()

Fivesilver
20/10/2010, 5:58 PM
Still, as they say, there's no such thing as bad publicity. It's good to see that the trouble has brought a surge of interest and expert comment on domestic football:

A Gary Turner goal in the 70th minute of a tense cup tie had seen Rovers through to their first FAI Cup final since 1992

Link (http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/10/20/irish-football-fai-order-investigation-into-crowd-disorder-at-richmond-park/)

From the Herald:

The Rovers fan that led the charge was able to get into the game with an umbrella

That should have set off alarm bells - why would anyone be carrying an umbrella in October in Ireland?

And Rte tells us that:

fans engaged in taunting

NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

http://www.slantmagazine.com/images/film/montypythonandtheholygrail.jpg

Model Club
20/10/2010, 6:16 PM
Quoting that one part of the post really says it all.
Now I never once claimed that those lads who were bottling him and his shop had a knife, what I clearly said was the reason why he was stopping some of your fans getting into the shop was because last season some of your fans were robbing drink from the shop and one of them pulled a knife on him, hence why he was acting like a bouncer on the door of his shop, not very complex stuff, even for a mind like yours.
All this is fact and can be confirmed by your average punter in Mooneys when your down next, believe me there is actually no need to make up slander about your fans, they do all the hard work themselves.

Seriously,take myposts advice,let it go.

If someone pulled a knife in that area on that night then he would have been aprehended-Just as one who actually did rob beer was as there was plenty of Gards in that immediate area!
But in the real world no knife was pulled and no-one got arrested because it didn't happen although I'm sure the local dipsos in mooneys will disagree,but then I don't really care what they think.

I know if I had a shop that had been invaded by hoardes of knife wielding theives on previous occasions I'd close for ythe 2 hours or so or at the very least vett those entering-But again I live in the real world and not rasputin-land.

Jinxy
20/10/2010, 6:55 PM
I was actually embarrassed for the two lads with the umbrellas.
The most shamefully inept display of 'hooliganism for dummies' I have ever seen.
Then they ran away from the woman who came on the pitch after them. :D

Model Club
20/10/2010, 8:36 PM
I was actually embarrassed for the two lads with the umbrellas.
The most shamefully inept display of 'hooliganism for dummies' I have ever seen.
Then they ran away from the woman who came on the pitch after them. :D

With respect as I do agree with your first point,what did you expect them to do? Hit her?

20/10/2010, 8:49 PM
Seriously,take myposts advice,let it go.

If someone pulled a knife in that area on that night then he would have been aprehended-Just as one who actually did rob beer was as there was plenty of Gards in that immediate area!
But in the real world no knife was pulled and no-one got arrested because it didn't happen although I'm sure the local dipsos in mooneys will disagree,but then I don't really care what they think.

As you know, there is never ever ever any public disorder, muggings, stabbings, or other crime in Sligo, as Shamrock Rovers visiting is the major event in Sligo twice a year, and every sneeze during said visit needs reporting and stored for future reference.

Why would he/they let it go?

PartySaint
20/10/2010, 9:21 PM
End of the day, The clubs will both get fines and they should ban as many as they can that were on this pitch, If this does not happen then both clubs have a lot to answer to

On the Rovers fans being on the pitch i actually have no problem with that, they had just won a cup semi final of course some were going to get on, I would have been on the pitch if we had won, Its what they and Pats fans did when they got on the pitch that was the problem, Guards should have been there to stop anyone getting on and not standing outside in full riot gear leaning up against a wall like morons

Jinxy
20/10/2010, 11:39 PM
With respect as I do agree with your first point,what did you expect them to do? Hit her?

Eh........no.

21/10/2010, 1:39 AM
Where's Réiteoir when you need him..

Not to worry, I'm still around these parts - although less and less frequently nowadays thanks to the amount of drivel and ****e posted on here...

I'm dipping in and out past few days - been catching up on my drinking and outside life (as it were) - doesn't concern me directly, so I'll leave it to between the Pats lads and yourselves...

The important stuff resumes on Friday coming

21/10/2010, 2:04 AM
No panic, SkStu filled in.

In case it saves you some time, read post 144 and that Rovers won 1-0. The rest is likely bluster from both sides that is best spent drinking.

Dixie Dean
21/10/2010, 8:21 AM
As you know, there is never ever ever any public disorder, muggings, stabbings, or other crime in Sligo, as Shamrock Rovers visiting is the major event in Sligo twice a year, and every sneeze during said visit needs reporting and stored for future reference.

Why would he/they let it go?

You lads are obsessed with sligo, what is it?

Model Club
21/10/2010, 10:05 AM
Eh........no.

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRhjwX6lictp-myAmXtHyrIonurfwUWCfT10s9zqh12ZKHFmhU&t=1&usg=__AHM0ZhhTGT1gxlIpOtiT7YLDQ_E=

frenchman
21/10/2010, 10:36 AM
as I don't have the right to start a new topic myself I'll tag this on here. how many can we expect at the final. in landsdowne you have 20 000 on the top and bottom tiers and then 10 000 in the middle tier. Recently the finals have been between 8 000 and 25 000. the bray sint francis was the first in landsdowne and it bought out 30 000....my mad prediction is 25 000 with the top tier closed off and some talented camera work to show a ''full'' stadium........ another option is of course that they close off the side opposite the cameras which will give another negative image of teh league.......what about a really cheap pricing policy of 1 euro a ticket to sell it out and celebrate the first final

PartySaint
21/10/2010, 11:26 AM
as I don't have the right to start a new topic myself I'll tag this on here. how many can we expect at the final. in landsdowne you have 20 000 on the top and bottom tiers and then 10 000 in the middle tier. Recently the finals have been between 8 000 and 25 000. the bray sint francis was the first in landsdowne and it bought out 30 000....my mad prediction is 25 000 with the top tier closed off and some talented camera work to show a ''full'' stadium........ another option is of course that they close off the side opposite the cameras which will give another negative image of teh league.......what about a really cheap pricing policy of 1 euro a ticket to sell it out and celebrate the first final

Its the FAI so tickets will be €50 and the only place open will be the top tier on the side of the cameras

21/10/2010, 11:44 AM
According to my next door neighbour, who said he phoned the FAI and asked, tickets for the final will be €10 adult €5 concession. FAI obviously hoping the low price will attract a few more neutrals.

On the incidents after the game, I really hate to see stuff like that, as a resident of Tallaght and a season ticket holder this year it's this kind of incident that really puts me off Rovers. They have plenty of great supporters but there's an element of scum that bring the whole crowd down, I do feel like there's also some reluctance to get rid of them as some of them are seen as a part of the "hardcore" club support who were there through the bad times. If the club really wants to be a community club and to continue to attract the young families of Tallaght they are going to have to be ruthless with banning orders and removing the trouble makers from the following.

btid1
21/10/2010, 11:52 AM
If the club really wants to be a community club and to continue to attract the young families of Tallaght they are going to have to be ruthless with banning orders and removing the trouble makers from the following.

Considering the attitude of Jonathan Roche after the game the other night I don't think this is very likely.This coupled with Michael O'Neill's attempt to blame the whole thing on the stewarding of the game leads me to believe that a tolerance of this behaviour runs right throgh the club.

pateen
21/10/2010, 1:05 PM
Considering the attitude of Jonathan Roche after the game the other night I don't think this is very likely.This coupled with Michael O'Neill's attempt to blame the whole thing on the stewarding of the game leads me to believe that a tolerance of this behaviour runs right throgh the club.

I have to say from the interviews I got that same feeling myself

21/10/2010, 2:50 PM

Stewarding was about 88.5% at fault..or lack of it.

I take it you were there? If Pats feel they can't afford the stewarding, they could've asked to forfeit home advantage.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 3:07 PM

What attitude?.The chap is asked to explain events that occured that are out of his hands.An away game should for him be a night off but because of pitch invaders who should know better and an at best amateur policing/stewarding of the match he is put in an impossible position.
Where was Pats security officer or Joe McGlue?-It was their gig after all!Why didn't they face the barage of questions from liars such as Philip Quinn and his constant referal to "glass bottles thrown"?FFS the situation is unsavoury enough without a LOI journo inserting blatant lies into the equation.

Other fans can type all the want on here,among other sites and try and get their pound of flesh(the laughable LOI section on bohs website,willing Rovers fans to be blamed as reports were coming in,dismissing any Pats involvement in a case in point),but anyone who was present on Tuesday can see that the gards and stewards are a disgrace with no plan B in place and whos whole plan A is to saturate an area with bodies,usually in the wrong place,all the time controlled by fools with supposed training from ,"Collegues across the water".
Absolute horse-****e as policing football in britain is light years ahead of here. Stewarding is a parallel universe compared to the 40 euro backhand,untrained merchants we get.To refer to them as bouncers is an insult to bouncers.

Granted Rovers fans shouldn't have entered the field of play
Granted -A section of these fans once on the pitch shouldn't have crossed the halfway line and try to confront Pats fans,but once the first instance happened the second was inevitable-Just as it was when Pats fans did something similar last season.

This situation occurs 10-20 times a season in Britain.The police and stewards are trained for such events and are able to adapt in real time.They expect this to happen in cup games/play off semis etc and usually a corden of stewards will be formed on the half way line to prevent possible confrontation.It usually works-It won't work when amateur pot bellied friends of friend are handed a bib and are paid to que up for chips all the while waiting for the final whistle so they can wrap up their rain-coat and spend their hard earned cash in the nearest boozer

No-one believed Rovers fans when we said Dundalks stewards were inadequete either.They were fined for it just as Pats will be along with us obviously.

I'll eagerly await the fans of clubs with little or no fans explaining if Rovers fans didnt invade..............etc.Its football-it happens.It shouldn't but it does and the so-called professionals are paid to deal with it-Not stand by and let in happen or worse still create the problem

21/10/2010, 3:34 PM
While I'd agree fully that there's serious issues with both policing and stewarding at games it doesn't excuse the behaviour of a minority of idiots and despite the fact that this wasn't a particularly serious incident it's the coverage that it get's that's very likely to put off families and casual observers attending games. There has been a few obvious incidents of shambolic stewarding this season, none more so than the complete inaction of the stewards in Tallaght to the idiot confronting Gary Rodgers on the pitch.

It's tough to get people to steward games, I don't imagine any volunteer stewards want to get involved in any kind of confrontation, they just want to watch the crowd maybe catch some of the game and go home with a few euros if they're lucky, if they see the potential for physical violence they definitely won't want to be there. Handing security over to private firms is an additional cost and is likely to result in heavy handed stewarding as they're much more prepared to get physical.

redobit
21/10/2010, 3:36 PM

+1
True or not, that is the feeling that you get.

21/10/2010, 3:50 PM
No need for them to get physical, pi..

A line of stewards at the Pats end at the final whistle following the "Stewards to end of match positions" announcement would've stopped it. Not the 4 stewards who were caught in the middle.

Shedendinvisibl
21/10/2010, 4:25 PM
What attitude?.The chap is asked to explain events that occured that are out of his hands.

And the fact that it is invariably Shamrock Rovers FC that are involved with incidents like this at games.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 4:34 PM
And the fact that it is invariably Shamrock Rovers FC that are involved with incidents like this at games.

I know,a large away support does have some disadvantages but I am sure amateur set-ups unable to deal with them will learn in time.

21/10/2010, 4:38 PM
Yes. Because Rovers are the only club that ever bring a big away support anywhere.. makes perfect sense.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 4:40 PM
While I'd agree fully that there's serious issues with both policing and stewarding at games it doesn't excuse the behaviour of a minority of idiots and despite the fact that this wasn't a particularly serious incident it's the coverage that it get's that's very likely to put off families and casual observers attending games. There has been a few obvious incidents of shambolic stewarding this season, none more so than the complete inaction of the stewards in Tallaght to the idiot confronting Gary Rodgers on the pitch.

It's tough to get people to steward games, I don't imagine any volunteer stewards want to get involved in any kind of confrontation, they just want to watch the crowd maybe catch some of the game and go home with a few euros if they're lucky, if they see the potential for physical violence they definitely won't want to be there. Handing security over to private firms is an additional cost and is likely to result in heavy handed stewarding as they're much more prepared to get physical.

I agree with our first paragraph but re. volunteer stewards-What good are they if all they are doing is filling a rain-coat so the numbers match the directives.They either know what they have to do and are prepared to do it or they arn't.The fact that they choose to let the club keep the money they could have earned,while commendable is immaterial and in the long run only shows the FAI,the league,the gards,the security company's and the clubs to be small time and unprofessional.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 4:41 PM
Yes. Because Rovers are the only club that ever bring a big away support anywhere.. makes perfect sense.

Thanks.Could you explain it to everyone else now:)

sligo23
21/10/2010, 4:42 PM
I know,a large away support does have some disadvantages but I am sure amateur set-ups unable to deal with them will learn in time.
Derry used to bring a much bigger crowd to the showgrounds than shams, and yet heavy security was never needed for them.

Fivesilver
21/10/2010, 4:48 PM
It's lucky Bohs had a full riot squad in place in Dalymount for the other semi, given the inevitability of bottle-throwing etc when there's a large travelling support.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 4:51 PM
Derry used to bring a much bigger crowd to the showgrounds than shams, and yet heavy security was never needed for them.

Cant remember "heavy security" needed for us in the showgrounds either, in my time anyway.My first visit was 1990.20 years+ trouble free in sligo.Now if that doesn't deserve a pat on the back I don't know what does.

21/10/2010, 4:55 PM
typical - excuse, excuses, excuses.

Get rid of your scumbags. There ye go, problem sorted.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 4:55 PM
It's lucky Bohs had a full riot squad in place in Dalymount for the other semi, given the inevitability of bottle-throwing etc when there's a large travelling support.

Dublin derbys have a little more spice in them wouldn't you agree?Can't imagine the bohs angels being so sporting if Rovers/Pats/Shels were doing a victory jig in front of the shed.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 4:58 PM
typical - excuse, excuses, excuses.

Get rid of your scumbags. There ye go, problem sorted.

If its so easy why don't you're own club do something in that area.And I don't mean stopping innocent unaccompanied under 16's either.

I'm not offering excuses,I am simply unwilling to accept 100% of the blame in this issue.

Hibs4Ever
21/10/2010, 5:03 PM
Shams stewards stood and watched ONE fan get on the pitch in an attempt to attack Gary Rogers, (and continued to stand watching as the players stopped the scumbag in his tracks) yet the club have the cheek to moan about St Pats stewards being unable to control the hundreds of fans on the pitch in Inchicore

21/10/2010, 5:04 PM
If its so easy why don't you're own club do something in that area.And I don't mean stopping innocent unaccompanied under 16's either.

I'm not offering excuses,I am simply unwilling to accept 100% of the blame in this issue.

typical throw it back and deflect the points being made. Ive already pointed out what we have done earlier in this thread.

You are offering excuses. Thats all you lot ever do. Deny deny deny, excuses after excuses.

Your club should at least try to do something instead of looking to offload blame and make it out to be a nothing incident. Pathetic.

But yeah, just keep throwing it back and making excuses. That'll stop it happening again.