View Full Version : FAI Cup semis
Pages :
[
3]
Funny how the pats fans dont share the blame seeing that pats fans got on the pitch as well no matter who started it.
get real. Are they supposed to stand there and get hit by bottles while stewards and cops do nothing? You should blame the fans who run onto the pitch to throw bottles surely?
19/10/2010, 8:48 PM
Funny how the pats fans dont share the blame seeing that pats fans got on the pitch as well no matter who started it.I wasn't there so couldn't see it but going by what was said on RTE...do you expect the Pat's fans to just stay in their seats while they're hit with bottles etc.?
Hibs4Ever
19/10/2010, 8:49 PM
Funny how the pats fans dont share the blame seeing that pats fans got on the pitch as well no matter who started it.
Some people do defensive things when there's bottles being fooked at them!! Stupid post!
The Lep
19/10/2010, 8:50 PM
I wasn't there so couldn't see it but going by what was said on RTE...do you expect the Pat's fans to just stay in their seats while they're hit with bottles etc.?
Running towards the bottles wasnt the answer was it. Best bet was to exit at the back of the stand as you do at the end of the game. Are you saying that pats fans was right to retaliate?
The Lep
19/10/2010, 8:52 PM
Some people do defensive things when there's bottles being fooked at them!! Stupid post!
Like i said, going on the pitch wasnt the best defensive move was it.
Hibs4Ever
19/10/2010, 8:53 PM
Running towards the bottles wasnt the answer was it. Best bet was to exit at the back of the stand as you do at the end of the game. Are you saying that pats fans was right to retaliate?
There were thousands of people there waiting to get out of the stands, FFS it wasn't a Fingal match!!
Jicked
19/10/2010, 8:53 PM
such absolute scumbags.
most of the mb's i read said it was Pats being attacked by your lot for the most part.
Like you I now live abroad, so don't know what's actually going on at home in much detail so won't say too much on things that I can't watch on RTÉ. Maybe you're right, but from talking with people at home Pats fans tried to start stuff at the Maldron Hotel across the road from the stadium, some posts I've read alluded to that aswell, and judging by the little knackers reaction as soon as the full time whistle went they felt they had something to save face over. Of course, I don't actually know what went on.
The Lep
19/10/2010, 8:54 PM
get real. Are they supposed to stand there and get hit by bottles while stewards and cops do nothing? You should blame the fans who run onto the pitch to throw bottles surely?
Yep, the blame is on those that ran onto the pitch on both sides. There are exits at the back of the stand to go away from the trouble.
The Lep
19/10/2010, 8:55 PM
There were thousands of people there waiting to get out of the stands, FFS it wasn't a Fingal match!!
I know it wasnt a Fingal match, we are better behaved than that :).
Fester
19/10/2010, 8:56 PM
Your right these things should never happen at a match. But its funny how these things have happened over the years and it mostly always the name of Shamrock Rovers which is 1 of the parties involved.
Fivesilver
19/10/2010, 8:56 PM
I know it wasnt a Fingal match, we are better behaved than that :).
Both of you?
19/10/2010, 8:57 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF644/466517.jpg
Yep, the blame is on those that ran onto the pitch on both sides. There are exits at the back of the stand to go away from the trouble.
In the real world (welcome, by the way) people attack and people retaliate. Turning the other cheek or walking away doesnt always happen. This isnt the bible we're in.
Personally i will apportion the blame to the instigators of trouble.
White Horse
19/10/2010, 8:58 PM
Model club.
that was quick.
The one at the front clearly doing an impression of a monkey climbing a wall in the jungle. Very racist.
so thats the "three or four" Shams fans that give the club a bad name?
Shedendinvisibl
19/10/2010, 9:02 PM
Lord knows, most teams have an element of gurriers and scumbag fans but Rovers are always, always, always mentioned a few words away from the words "scenes", "violence", "scuffles", "incidents" etc etc
Like you I now live Pats fans tried to start stuff at the Maldron Hotel across the road from the stadium
Proof of this or retract your post
CSFShels
19/10/2010, 9:02 PM
Rovers are THE scummiest of scum.
The Lep
19/10/2010, 9:04 PM
In the real world (welcome, by the way) people attack and people retaliate. Turning the other cheek or walking away doesnt always happen. This isnt the bible we're in.
Personally i will apportion the blame to the instigators of trouble.
You are right, the blame is with everyone who was involved in the trouble from both sides.
CSFShels
19/10/2010, 9:07 PM
You are right, the blame is with everyone who was involved in the trouble from both sides.
Do you understand the word instigator or are you just blissfully ignorant?
19/10/2010, 9:08 PM
Pat's fans being held back
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/78/d1/7b/6f690d40f23c2f63e32c7c0f076385f6b06c982537.jpg
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF644/466519.jpg
Shams or Pat's? Easily identifiable anyway
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF644/466521.jpg
More pics here (http://www.sportsfile.com/more-images/10100164/) and here (http://www.inpho.ie/cgi-bin/WebObjects/INPHO-Shop.woa/wa/e?e=JOD8XmI5S7vTloEIVYlCTu4ZXuHUIXYHWMEciUBshC8.a)
Fester
19/10/2010, 9:09 PM
You have must never have been at a match where a riot took place or you would know how ridiculous this comment is. However Mr Hoopman 'Damien Richardson' was insistent that a women (Saints supporter) ran onto the pitch to remonstrate with the the large mob.
I think this women deserves a medal or else she is wonderwoman in disguise.
Back fromt he game. Gutted. Wasn't a sending off and we were the better team before that. Goal was comming for 10 minutes though as Rovers battered us.
As to answer questions as what happened after. I absolutely condone, applaud in fact, every Pats fan who went on to the pitch after being pelted it out of by 100s of Rovers. not a few, 100s.
This is the last I'll post on this thread as I'm not getting into semantics of who, what, where and the usual internet rubbish. EVERY single person who was there knows exactly what happened, and every one knows the blame lies firmly with fans of ROvers. not all of their fans are to blame, but enough of them to make me blame their club.
They've already been warned twice this year (Gary Rogers incident, Dundalk incident). We'll see how the FAI treats their model club
19/10/2010, 9:13 PM
Can't believe we actually won a match. Can't really blame the fans for rioting as on current form we may never repeat the experience.
Jicked
19/10/2010, 9:13 PM
Proof of this or retract your post
:D Are you serious? Are you some sort of budding investigative journalist?
I don't need to retract a post or provide proof when I say I was told it by a third party, and began and ended the post by saying I'm in no position to talk authoritative on the subject, only speculating that something must have riled up the knackers in the above pictures for them to race on the pitch at full time.
Why do you think they ran on the pitch straight down the Pats end after a victory, in which there didn't seem to be much bad blood during the game?
Because they're complete and utter knackers?
Jicked
19/10/2010, 9:16 PM
Which I have said several times, I agree completely they're little knacks. But nothing like this has happened at Pats recently (apart from Pats fans coming down the Rovers end last season, but there was no afters either game this season), and there was nothing in the game tonight to spark anything (or so it seemed on the radio). I'd hazard a guess some of those earlier reports were true, some of the Rovers scumbags decided to get some sort of rather sad 'revenge' and ran on the pitch as soon as the whistle blew, when security failed to react others ran on too. That's not me condoning it, I've clearly not tried to do that at all, just trying to make sense of why this would suddenly occur tonight, and not say 5 weeks ago when we also beat you there in a big game.
Out of interest Dodge, did the two sets of fans meet on the pitch resulting in fights breaking out ?
The Lep
19/10/2010, 9:21 PM
Back fromt he game. Gutted. Wasn't a sending off and we were the better team before that. Goal was comming for 10 minutes though as Rovers battered us.
As to answer questions as what happened after. I absolutely condone, applaud in fact, every Pats fan who went on to the pitch after being pelted it out of by 100s of Rovers. not a few, 100s.
This is the last I'll post on this thread as I'm not getting into semantics of who, what, where and the usual internet rubbish. EVERY single person who was there knows exactly what happened, and every one knows the blame lies firmly with fans of ROvers. not all of their fans are to blame, but enough of them to make me blame their club.
They've already been warned twice this year (Gary Rogers incident, Dundalk incident). We'll see how the FAI treats their model club
You applaude pats fans that got involved in the trouble? Both clubs should be fined no matter who started it.
White Horse
19/10/2010, 9:21 PM
The FAI failed to act when the Shams ran riot in Oriel earlier this year. They fail to recognise the monster that is their so called "model club".
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h311/MarkJM/9e1812ce2aecd2be9ee3dcee4b7afd6ee8382c51ad.jpg
Hibs4Ever
19/10/2010, 9:23 PM
Both clubs should be fined no matter who started it.
Sweet Jesus you talk some sh!te
The FAI failed to act when the Shams ran riot in Oriel earlier this year.
Lets not forget the incident with Gary Rogers in Tallaght too
Are they doing the YMCA?
monkey9
19/10/2010, 9:25 PM
Absolutely ****ing Scumcabs. Are the FAI ever actually gonna doing anything about these Shams *****! Actual grown men in the fourties out on that pitch as well, ****ing stuff up at his.
bullit
RTE.
Tuesday, 19 October 2010 22:15 Shamrock Rovers progressed to their first FAI Cup final since 2002 thanks to a Chris Turner strike against ten-man St Patrick's Athletic in this semi-final replay at Richmond Park.
However the night ended with a pitch invasion and supporters from both sides fighting.
Turner smashed a superb shot past Pat's keeper Gary Rogers on 70 minutes to set up a meeting Sligo Rovers at Aviva Stadium on 14 November.
Damian Lynch was sent off on 53 minutes when he pulled at Gary Twigg but the night was marred after the final whistle when Rovers fans invaded the pitch and confronted the Pat's supporters.
St Pat's supporters then ran onto the playing area and several fights broke out as players from both sides raced off to the dressing rooms.
Bottles were thrown by both sets of fans but order was restored by Gardai, stewards and St Patrick's Athletic officials.
CSFShels
Definitely time for the FAI to clamp down hard on Rovers. They've been allowed get away with it for too long.
No i'm not. But if you can make allegations like that, I can make plenty up about Rovers simple as, because a 3rd party told me.
They were singing about going on the pitch after they scored just like the last they came to Inchicore, this time they followed through, obviously they failed the last day. And to answer your question I have no idea why there so obsessed with running our pitch looking for a row.
19/10/2010, 9:27 PM
http://foot.ie/faq.php?faq=rules#faq_rumours
Just a reminder, to everyone, of that rule.
I went along tonight as a neutral. Nights like tonight make you wonder why the f*ck you bother busting your balls helping your clubs, selling tickets, giving up your time, badgering people to go to game only for a load of knackers to generate more national coverage than you could ever dream of.
The Lep
19/10/2010, 9:27 PM
You have must never have been at a match where a riot took place or you would know how ridiculous this comment is. However Mr Hoopman 'Damien Richardson' was insistent that a women (Saints supporter) ran onto the pitch to remonstrate with the the large mob.
I think this women deserves a medal or else she is wonderwoman in disguise.
Was she a steward? if she wasnt then she was a fool to run onto the pitch and was as bad as everyone else that was causing trouble and i hope St pats ban her from the ground.
Being on the pitch to get away is one thing but to get on the pitch to run towards the opposing fans is out of order.
This is a topic on fm104 now.
Monkfish
19/10/2010, 9:28 PM
Certainly no casuals involved looking at these pics......Nike tracksuits FFS.
Dave_SRFC
19/10/2010, 9:28 PM
You would swear 100% of Rovers fans were scumbags...cop on to yourselves....
The Lep
19/10/2010, 9:30 PM
Sweet Jesus you talk some sh!te
Lets not forget the incident with Gary Rogers in Tallaght too
Why? Rovers should be fined for the actions of some of their support and Pats because of the retaliation of some of theirs .
Saint_Charlie
19/10/2010, 9:31 PM
Re : The trouble - The first thing I saw was a lad in a white hoodie run the length of the pitch from the Pats end and start swinging digs down the shed end in the middle of about 50 Rovers fans as they ran on the pitch to celebrate. Stewards pounced on him right away. Then Rovers fans ran to the middle of the pitch celebrating with their players. Then started to move towards the Pats fans behind the goal waving their arms etc. Missiles were being fired from both sets of fans and then the Rovers lad with the brolly and others went further towards the Pats end. Lads from the Pats end hopped on to the pitch and a few brawls scattered around the pitch kicked off with only stewards in the midst. About 5 minutes later some guards started strolling on and the majority scarpered. Embarrassing stuff from both sides tbf
Jicked
19/10/2010, 9:32 PM
Certainly no casuals involved looking at these pics......Nike tracksuits FFS.
Two of pre-teens in White Horse's picture are more Monster Munch than monsters
Fester
19/10/2010, 9:34 PM
Definitely time for the FAI to clamp down hard on Rovers. They've been allowed get away with it for too long.
I agree. They have been let get away with it for far too long. But it will never happen to the FAI's 'Model Club'.
Monkfish
19/10/2010, 9:38 PM
Two of pre-teens in White Horse's picture are more Monster Munch than monsters
Ah ya but we know who's pulling the strings. :p
redobit
19/10/2010, 9:38 PM
No Shams in the Aviva for the final would be a fair punishment i think.
why do Rovers make their messageboard private after EVERY embarrassing performance or incident? It really is a bit pathetic and is happening on a weekly basis lately...
inchicore_saint
19/10/2010, 9:40 PM
Ban Rovers from the final is the best action.
fionnsci
19/10/2010, 9:40 PM
Rovers should be absolutely ashamed. I hope they pay dearly for this. Absolutely disgraceful behaviour. Worse still that the gardaí did sweet f all. The stewards were undermanned (which is, in itself, a problem) yet the gardaí did nothing to help. The were a handful of gardaí around the ground watching the action as if they were at the match as spectators. The were about 20 outside also, just waiting for the fans to leave as opposed to catching some of the scumbags.
I don't want to hear "Don't paint us all with the same brush", "A tiny minority.....", "A handful of individuals.....". There were hundreds of rovers fans on the pitch, not to celebrate but to wind up the Pat's fans. SCUM.