View Full Version : FAI Cup semis

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

Hibs4Ever
21/10/2010, 5:04 PM
I'm not offering excuses,I am simply unwilling to accept 100% of the blame in this issue.

Are you willing to accept your club has a serious scum element? One the club clearly can't, or doesn't want to. control?

Ciaran W
21/10/2010, 5:05 PM
How much are the tickets ? I heard ?40, i wouldn't be suprised.

21/10/2010, 5:08 PM
How much are the tickets ? I heard ?40, i wouldn't be suprised.

for the final? 10 euro apparently.

Ciaran W
21/10/2010, 5:10 PM
10 euro ? :o i doubt that very much, cant imagine the fai having the prices for a cup final cheaper then the prices for a league game

21/10/2010, 5:20 PM
its just a rumour. they want to attract a good crowd to Lansdowne apparently. 5 euro for OAPs and students.

Dunno how true it is but clubs set ticket prices for league games. This is the FAI cup final, the FAI's gig, their call.

21/10/2010, 5:29 PM
Shams stewards stood and watched ONE fan get on the pitch in an attempt to attack Gary Rogers, (and continued to stand watching as the players stopped the scumbag in his tracks) yet the club have the cheek to moan about St Pats stewards being unable to control the hundreds of fans on the pitch in Inchicore

What has Rovers' stewarding got to do with whether the stewarding was at fault?

Model Club
21/10/2010, 5:49 PM
typical throw it back and deflect the points being made. Ive already pointed out what we have done earlier in this thread.

You are offering excuses. Thats all you lot ever do. Deny deny deny, excuses after excuses.

Your club should at least try to do something instead of looking to offload blame and make it out to be a nothing incident. Pathetic.

But yeah, just keep throwing it back and making excuses. That'll stop it happening again.

Why?? Because you say so? What can I do,except keep attending games and keeping my own nose clean.
If I seem partizan about my club its simply counter-balancing the absolute garbage that comes from fans of other clubs mosy noticeably on here.
I get a giggle from people who didn't attend this or other matches where unsavoury scenes occur giving their broad 2 cents without accepting the specific circumstances of that event ieTrouble at Rovers match=Rovers are scum.

I don't know anyone of note calling this a "nothing incident".The fact we are still talking about it almost 48 hours later proves that.But it sure as feck isn't the ww3 scenario the papers,radio shows and by extent the sheep who swallow this s**t whole.This includes most of the posters on this thread not to mention overseas Rovers fans who have the Rovers fans who actually attended the game hung,drawn and quartered until those people actually arrive home to offer the truth.
As usual others counteract this over-hype with under-hype and **** posts like yours above posted from 4000 miles away are injected into a "debate".
I know what I saw.It wasn't right or even legal.It shouldn't happen.People will be banned.But sensentionalising it,ignoring glaring facts that contributed to the incident,all fitting nicely into yours and others anti Rovers agenda won't put me off putting my case forward as an actual witness to the incident

Model Club
21/10/2010, 5:54 PM
Shams stewards stood and watched ONE fan get on the pitch in an attempt to attack Gary Rogers, (and continued to stand watching as the players stopped the scumbag in his tracks) yet the club have the cheek to moan about St Pats stewards being unable to control the hundreds of fans on the pitch in Inchicore

Two wrong don't make a right.Anyone who says otherwise is a fool.

Am I not allowed to comment on bad stewarding because stewards in Tallaght,most likely the same group of stewards on duty on tuesday night,allowed a clown on the pitch and acted ridiculously slow in removing him?

My comments on stewarding are league-wide and if this incident happened in tallaght my post above would have been identical.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 5:59 PM
Are you willing to accept your club has a serious scum element? One the club clearly can't, or doesn't want to. control?

Rovers have people attached who enjoy trouble.

How serious it is is a matter of opinion I suppose.
Depending on who you listen to/read Rovers fans are either "green street wannabees" or rampaging thugs>I suppose its whatever arguement you lot are having at the time.

What do you suggest the club/Tallaght gardai do.Ban people who are actually caught involved in hooliganism or the ones who wear particular clothes or the ones who say they have been involved but no-ones actually seen him do anything.

21/10/2010, 6:02 PM
its all over youtube FFS. I have seen it, i have read about it, i have read and heard of other eye-witness accounts from neutrals at the game including my brother. I have read accounts from YOUR OWN fans on YOUR OWN MB calling the actions of these 200 idiots pathetic. I have seen similar incidents in the past and i have been on the receiving end of such incidents in the past. Im not asking YOU personally to do something about it. I am asking your club to. But if you disagree with the actions of your "element" and think that something should be done then you should make it known. But your club clearly wont do anything about it. Roche didnt call it a nothing incident but his arrogant attitude to Inchicore and to the Oriel Park incidents in his interview (again, all over youtube) shows how much he cared about even beginning to correct it.

But what do i expect really? Your club has a convicted hooligan on its board. Your club has repeatedly failed to address similar incidents. The FAI has also allowed you to with nominal punishment.

But keep on making excuses and findind ways to deflect from the element at the core of your club. It wont do you or your club any favours in the long run. Model Club my arse.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 7:19 PM
its all over youtube FFS. I have seen it, i have read about it, i have read and heard of other eye-witness accounts from neutrals at the game including my brother. I have read accounts from YOUR OWN fans on YOUR OWN MB calling the actions of these 200 idiots pathetic. I have seen similar incidents in the past and i have been on the receiving end of such incidents in the past. Im not asking YOU personally to do something about it. I am asking your club to. But if you disagree with the actions of your "element" and think that something should be done then you should make it known. But your club clearly wont do anything about it. Roche didnt call it a nothing incident but his arrogant attitude to Inchicore and to the Oriel Park incidents in his interview (again, all over youtube) shows how much he cared about even beginning to correct it.

But what do i expect really? Your club has a convicted hooligan on its board. Your club has repeatedly failed to address similar incidents. The FAI has also allowed you to with nominal punishment.

But keep on making excuses and findind ways to deflect from the element at the core of your club. It wont do you or your club any favours in the long run. Model Club my arse.

Som much wrong with your post its laughable.If you find Mr.Roches interview "arrogant" then so be it.I thought he looked genuinely upset and uncomfortable but arrogant,please!

I love your "convicted hooligan" jibe you lot like to bring up from time to time.Last time I checked you had to be found guilty to be convicted.Now if its former hooligans involved with clubs maybe you should look a little closer to home-Your "Event manager" I think is his title,was a very prominent BSC member not a million years ago but hey its not Rovers so no story.

Im sick repeating myself with you.I'm not deflecting anything.I am simply pointing out holes in your story and I absolutely won't accept your opinion as fact when you clearly have so many holes in your story.Don't worry Im don't blame you.Many even non-bohs fans who read your forum would simply fall for your half-truths as fact by form of osmosis if they read and belived tits like Peader and co. and their delusionary tales of how the fai love`rovers etc.

If Rovers are as bad as you say yet the FAI still regard us as the model club(again according to you) then what the f**k does that make you.

You think you know everything about Rovers but posts like that joke above prove you dont.Don,t worry others on here like to think they have the inside track on Rovers but they don't.

Finally you'inexplicable,irrational hatred for Rovers is starting ton become less so.You got a dig a few years ago and now you get your own back by spouting lies "judged" from second hand experience and youtube clips.

You just stick to "supporting" your tin pot club from another continent and leave Rovers to run themselves.Your mock warning for our "future"is truly heart-warming though-Thanks for that!

21/10/2010, 7:27 PM
why are you turning everything back on Bohs? Or Pats? Or Security? Take a look at your own club FFS. Thats what im saying. You just dont get it. There are no holes in my story. My post is not a story. Its an opinion. Based on experience and common sense.

By the way - youre wrong. Heres the link

http://www.thefreelibrary.com/HOOPS+HOOLIGAN%3B+Rovers+stand+by+boss+after+viole nt+clash+with+rival...-a0148522933

Model Club
21/10/2010, 7:48 PM
why are you turning everything back on Bohs? Or Pats? Or Security? Take a look at your own club FFS. Thats what im saying. You just dont get it. There are no holes in my story. My post is not a story. Its an opinion. Based on experience and common sense.

By the way - youre wrong. Heres the link

http://www.thefreelibrary.com/HOOPS+HOOLIGAN%3B+Rovers+stand+by+boss+after+viole nt+clash+with+rival...-a0148522933

I stand corrected on the conviction.I thought it was poor-box fine hence no conviction.

Handy of you to have close aswell..............:rolleyes:

I suppose you're the type that feels an opionion can never be wrong?

200 people=Wrong
Roche arrogant=Wrong

Why should I accept your blinkered version of your truth when I seen what happened.Why should SRFC take all the blame when other parties were also at fault.
I will back my club when they deserve it and point out facts as I saw them.

I wouldn't have the guile to pontificate to you,something that happened at say an ice-hockey match that you attended but I viewed on you tube.

I wouldn't let my irrational hatred of that ice hockey team cloud my judgement either.

If you continue to point out flaws in my club that your own club also have I will continue to point out those flaws.If you supported say Bray,I wouldnt have these flaws to point out to you and would respect your opinion-But you don't and I don't.

As mentioned previously 2 wrongs don't make a right,but I suggest you look closer to home before dragging my clubs problems up for scrutinisation just because its easy to do with with the audience on this site.

Sometimes things arn't as black and white as you would like them to be.Each situation has its own specific circumstances and rather than moan about rovers bashing on our forum I'd rather tackle it head on.

If you read through my posts you won't find any excuse for what happened.Reasons maybe-But to make an excuse is to condone what happened and I don't.

Sean South
21/10/2010, 8:26 PM
Settle petal

Mario
21/10/2010, 9:03 PM
Got carried away in the moment and ran on the pitch myself, managed to clap a few players on the back and then calmy walked off. But anyone fan from either club who crossed the half way line or threw plastic bottles was a moron looking for trouble.

Exactly the same thing happened last year after Pats won but the stewarts and cops managed to hold the line and push the pats fans back before they got too close to the shed, but we were not able to hold the line on Tuesday and it got a bit out of hand and the press have blown it out of proportion.

I wonder how much of all this postering on the pitch bull**** is due to the Pats fans feeling undermined by not being in the shed anymore? They had an identity with the shed and the SEI and thats been lost now. I could be wrong but I dont remember any invasions by Rovers when we were in the west end!

athloneman
21/10/2010, 9:08 PM
shams have always had and will always have a scum following who will bring down the club, its been there for years and it is down to the club for get rid of this element. i have first hand experience of how bad rovers can be, a couple of seasons ago, i believe the first one after rovers were relegated they played there first game against athlone in st.mels and for the guards and the stewards to try and control the shams fans the main stand for home supports was reserved for rovers fans so that they could try and control the so called 'fans'!! that still didnt work, fans running onto the pitch in the middle of a game when they scored, a number of the 'scum' trying to get at the home fans during the game and a number arrested and brought away to try and keep the peace!
so how can you say its not there??? im an athlone fan, we generally dont have any fans who try and start trouble and any who did have been banned. i am telling you that rovers have a scum following who generally are looking for trouble but mainly only start trouble at away games where they are less likely to get caught and get a ban, what wud be the point of ****ting on your own door step in tallaght and then getting caught and banned??
cop yourself on, just coz its a bohs fan saying that your club have a problem doesnt mean you can deflect and throw things back at bohs, at least they admit they have an element who cause trouble and try to deal with it!!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/10/2010, 9:18 PM
I do believe you'll find that was all due to the bad stewarding by Athlone Town

PartySaint
21/10/2010, 10:11 PM
What attitude?.The chap is asked to explain events that occured that are out of his hands.An away game should for him be a night off but because of pitch invaders who should know better and an at best amateur policing/stewarding of the match he is put in an impossible position.
Where was Pats security officer or Joe McGlue?-It was their gig after all!Why didn't they face the barage of questions from liars such as Philip Quinn and his constant referal to "glass bottles thrown"?FFS the situation is unsavoury enough without a LOI journo inserting blatant lies into the equation.

Other fans can type all the want on here,among other sites and try and get their pound of flesh(the laughable LOI section on bohs website,willing Rovers fans to be blamed as reports were coming in,dismissing any Pats involvement in a case in point),but anyone who was present on Tuesday can see that the gards and stewards are a disgrace with no plan B in place and whos whole plan A is to saturate an area with bodies,usually in the wrong place,all the time controlled by fools with supposed training from ,"Collegues across the water".
Absolute horse-****e as policing football in britain is light years ahead of here. Stewarding is a parallel universe compared to the 40 euro backhand,untrained merchants we get.To refer to them as bouncers is an insult to bouncers.

Granted Rovers fans shouldn't have entered the field of play
Granted -A section of these fans once on the pitch shouldn't have crossed the halfway line and try to confront Pats fans,but once the first instance happened the second was inevitable-Just as it was when Pats fans did something similar last season.

This situation occurs 10-20 times a season in Britain.The police and stewards are trained for such events and are able to adapt in real time.They expect this to happen in cup games/play off semis etc and usually a corden of stewards will be formed on the half way line to prevent possible confrontation.It usually works-It won't work when amateur pot bellied friends of friend are handed a bib and are paid to que up for chips all the while waiting for the final whistle so they can wrap up their rain-coat and spend their hard earned cash in the nearest boozer

No-one believed Rovers fans when we said Dundalks stewards were inadequete either.They were fined for it just as Pats will be along with us obviously.

I'll eagerly await the fans of clubs with little or no fans explaining if Rovers fans didnt invade..............etc.Its football-it happens.It shouldn't but it does and the so-called professionals are paid to deal with it-Not stand by and let in happen or worse still create the problem

Spot on, As I said earlier in the thread, all the 2 clubs can do now is try ban as many people they can who were on the pitch, more specifically involved in the trouble

Now Model club i am not being smart but do you honestly believe Rovers will do that? I would put a lot of money on that most of the people involved in the trouble in Oriel earlier on in the season were on the pitch on Tuesday night and have been in Tallaght many times since the Dundalk game, I know Pats will ban as many as they can because a lot of people have been banned in Richmond for a lot less over the last few years

I wonder how much of all this postering on the pitch bull**** is due to the Pats fans feeling undermined by not being in the shed anymore? They had an identity with the shed and the SEI and thats been lost now. I could be wrong but I dont remember any invasions by Rovers when we were in the west end!

TBH mate thats just ridiculous

Model Club
21/10/2010, 11:05 PM
Spot on, As I said earlier in the thread, all the 2 clubs can do now is try ban as many people they can who were on the pitch, more specifically involved in the trouble

Now Model club i am not being smart but do you honestly believe Rovers will do that? I would put a lot of money on that most of the people involved in the trouble in Oriel earlier on in the season were on the pitch on Tuesday night and have been in Tallaght many times since the Dundalk game, I know Pats will ban as many as they can because a lot of people have been banned in Richmond for a lot less over the last few years

TBH mate thats just ridiculous

I know for a fact people will be banned.Even if the club were in cahoots with hooligans as our friends in D7 will lead you to believe, and were willing to turn a blind eye the cops in Tallaght wouldn't.

Model Club
21/10/2010, 11:15 PM
I was at every away game that year and saw nothing of note in Mels.A massive crowd by first division standards and absolutely nothing negative.
There was no segregation though.

21/10/2010, 11:18 PM
Yet again this rubbish about "admit you have an element". Who has said Rovers don't?

However, I will not let go by that Pats threw the first bottle, ran on the pitch, enticed Rovers up to behind the goal and ran at them first and failed to police that end at the end of the game. And if you don't like that or want to focus solely on Rovers then don't expect Rovers fans to put up with it.

PartySaint
21/10/2010, 11:21 PM
I know for a fact people will be banned.Even if the club were in cahoots with hooligans as our friends in D7 will lead you to believe, and were willing to turn a blind eye the cops in Tallaght wouldn't.

Thats good to hear, The club can't do much more than ban these people from games

Model Club
21/10/2010, 11:21 PM
I was at every away game that year and saw nothing of note in Mels.A massive crowd by first division standards and absolutely nothing negative.
There was no segregation though.

21/10/2010, 11:28 PM
enticed Rovers up to behind the goal

Enticed them with umbrellas and ice cream?

21/10/2010, 11:35 PM
No, a signed photo of Jedward

athloneman
21/10/2010, 11:50 PM
there was segregation that day in mels, as most athlone fans were told to go up on the hill behind the goal!! you prob didnt see anything of note because as i said there were a small number of fools who tried giving it the big act but for once the guards acted and got rid of them!! and the rovers fans were told to go down to the far end of the stand and there were barriers in the stand that day to help separate the home and away fans!! i did also see young kids, mainly home fans that nite look fairly scared when the went to the shop near half time and a number of rovers fans came down around them, although they did seem to be just stupid teenagers as i said giving it the big act!!

HulaHoop
22/10/2010, 12:27 AM
As predicted this thread has taken it's usual pattern when any sort of incident happens with Rovers. The fact is most of you wet yourselves with excitement when something like this happens with Rovers. It was a pitch invasion ffs, no injuries, no arrests, no crimes committed just pathetic posturing and bottle throwing. I've no time for the morons who got on the pitch especially those who crossed the halfway line to have a go at the Pats fans but you'd swear there was women and childen mutilated by Rovers fans the way some of you are carrying on. 17 pages of utter shíte yet as pointed out previously a thread about Bohs fans who actually brain damaged an old woman and got convicted in a european court got 2 pages on this forum. Unbelievable hypocrisy especially as the fan convicted was in Dalymount Park for the Dublin derby two weeks ago. Another thing pointed out that doesn't seem to register with all the Rovers haters here is Pats fans for years used to get on the pitch and fúck all sorts of crap at us after EVERY match in Richer. Not a word out of any of you then was there.

22/10/2010, 12:35 AM
As predicted this thread has taken it's usual pattern when any sort of incident happens with Rovers. The fact is most of you wet yourselves with excitement when something like this happens with Rovers.

its true, i definitely had more than an FAI Cup semi.

bullit
22/10/2010, 12:51 AM
In all fairness i have to say that the last game, Dundalk V Sham Rovers(the 5-1:p) at Oriel was perfectly policed by both the gards and stewards.Up to ten Shams stewards(along with our own) in their own stewarding garb present at the home turnstiles,couldnt see down the away end turnstiles but i would guess more or the same ammount down that end and also in the ground.Apparently several Rovers "fans" where not admitted(or were arrested) that night due to the presence of these stewards.The game passed off with no trouble(one shams fan jumped from the stand and was quickly led away and a few fireworks were thrown from the away end).
Thats the way it should be done but whether it happened that way on tues night i dont know and if it didnt i dont know why :confused:

22/10/2010, 2:29 AM
Mother Teresa Alert!!

On the incidents after the game, I really hate to see stuff like that, as a resident of Tallaght and a season ticket holder this year it's this kind of incident that really puts me off Rovers. They have plenty of great supporters but there's an element of scum that bring the whole crowd down, I do feel like there's also some reluctance to get rid of them as some of them are seen as a part of the "hardcore" club support who were there through the bad times. If the club really wants to be a community club and to continue to attract the young families of Tallaght they are going to have to be ruthless with banning orders and removing the trouble makers from the following.

None of the incidents involving our fans happen in Tallaght.* They always happen at away grounds, where the security operation is either OTT or inadequate.

The club does take action against individuals identified, but said individuals don't give a sht, and if anything, see it as a badge of honour. ("here Deco, look at me ban I got, hehehe") We are the biggest club in the country that bring the biggest gates, and most fans behave themselves exemplary, but as with other big clubs around the world, there will always be an element that go to games with more interest in the opposition fans than the football.

I was first exposed to this going on in 1993, and it's something that I have to live with. If I couldn't accept it, I'd probably be watching a more family-friendly sport. As much as it's difficult having to live with it, it's a relatively rare occurrence these days and it's not going to put me off supporting Rovers.

*one drunk loon excepted.

OneForTheFuture
22/10/2010, 8:20 AM
Was never a sending off!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/10/2010, 8:26 AM
I can't believe that no one has mentioned what ye did to that poor wall in Bray.....!

I have to say that in all my time of going to LOI matches I've never seen any trouble at games I've gone to but the scenes from Dundalk earlier on in the season weren't good at all and surely the blame has to lie more with the fans then with the stewards.

Haven't seen what happened on Tuesday so won't comment on that

Louth4sam
22/10/2010, 8:45 AM
I can't believe that no one has mentioned what ye did to that poor wall in Bray.....!

I have to say that in all my time of going to LOI matches I've never seen any trouble at games I've gone to but the scenes from Dundalk earlier on in the season weren't good at all and surely the blame has to lie more with the fans then with the stewards.

Haven't seen what happened on Tuesday so won't comment on that

Of course it does. If fans really want to act the ****** there is very little the stewards can do about it no matter what our chums in Tallaght will have you believe. Earlier in the season when they embarrassed themselves on live TV (not the 5-1 loss, the first occasion) they blamed a fence, yes a fence for their carry on in Dundalk. This wouldn't happen in Tallaght they said. I thought back to our previous trip to Tallaght and it was a piece of tape and about 3 stewards separating the fans. I honestly believe the wannabe hard men at other clubs sh!t their pants when they go to Tallaght as they know they'll get a hiding if they start anything and that is the main for the lack of trouble at Tallaght.

Model Club
22/10/2010, 8:54 AM
there was segregation that day in mels, as most athlone fans were told to go up on the hill behind the goal!! you prob didnt see anything of note because as i said there were a small number of fools who tried giving it the big act but for once the guards acted and got rid of them!! and the rovers fans were told to go down to the far end of the stand and there were barriers in the stand that day to help separate the home and away fans!! i did also see young kids, mainly home fans that nite look fairly scared when the went to the shop near half time and a number of rovers fans came down around them, although they did seem to be just stupid teenagers as i said giving it the big act!!

I'm not looking for a row with you and can't comment on posturing teenagers but the "segregation" in both trips to Mels that year consisted of Rovers fans having to walk through home fans to get to our assigned area-Hardly segregation! Designated areas maybe but no seperate entrance/exit most likely due to Mels layout.
A healthy crowd from both sides both nights I'm sure led to a better atmosphere than most otgher games there that year but nothing I would regard as sinister.

22/10/2010, 9:19 AM
Mother Teresa Alert!!

None of the incidents involving our fans happen in Tallaght.* They always happen at away grounds, where the security operation is either OTT or inadequate.

The club does take action against individuals identified, but said individuals don't give a sht, and if anything, see it as a badge of honour. ("here Deco, look at me ban I got, hehehe") We are the biggest club in the country that bring the biggest gates, and most fans behave themselves exemplary, but as with other big clubs around the world, there will always be an element that go to games with more interest in the opposition fans than the football.

I was first exposed to this going on in 1993, and it's something that I have to live with. If I couldn't accept it, I'd probably be watching a more family-friendly sport. As much as it's difficult having to live with it, it's a relatively rare occurrence these days and it's not going to put me off supporting Rovers.

For once I mostly agree with you, but I think I can see the damage that's done a lot more clearly than you. I started going to Tallaght beacuse I have an interest in the League rather than to support Rovers, it's my local club and it's easy for me to get to games, this is my second season with a season ticket and while I obviously support Rovers at the games I can't quite seem to get fully behind them.

I actually cringe a bit when people call me a Rovers fan and I feel it's connected to these recurrent incidents. I have a lot of mates who would rarely darken the door of a League of Irealnd ground and when I defend Rovers and tell them that the "trouble" at games is generally easily avoidable or mostly handbags and media hyperbole it doesn't really make a difference, they just see the headlines in the papers and come out with the usual crap about Rovers scum.

I've been tempted to go to a few Rovers away games but I am put off by incidents like those in Dundalk and Inchicore. I came in to work the other day to an email asking me was I involved in the "trouble" in Inchicore, and that's not something I really want to be associated with (even if it does make me Mother Theresa).

I know it's not particularly rational, I'm more aware than most curious observers of the fact that "hooliganism" in the League of Ireland is a greatly exaggerated phenomenon, but I can't help feeling that if it's still putting me off then it's definitely putting off a lot of potential supporters who are less clued in to these things.

I greatly admire a lot of what Shamrock Rovers has done, and is doing, within the Tallaght and wider South Dublin community but I do feel the club has to do more to weed out the neanderthals that continue to drag the name through the mud. I realise it's not easy and the bigger the crowds get the more potential there is for individual morons to start incidents but it needs to be done. I'm not talking about sterilisation of the atmoshpere either, just tighter controls on the lunatic fringe.

I don't know, maybe that just says more about me.

Model Club
22/10/2010, 9:20 AM
Of course it does. If fans really want to act the ****** there is very little the stewards can do about it no matter what our chums in Tallaght will have you believe. Earlier in the season when they embarrassed themselves on live TV (not the 5-1 loss, the first occasion) they blamed a fence, yes a fence for their carry on in Dundalk. This wouldn't happen in Tallaght they said. I thought back to our previous trip to Tallaght and it was a piece of tape and about 3 stewards separating the fans. I honestly believe the wannabe hard men at other clubs sh!t their pants when they go to Tallaght as they know they'll get a hiding if they start anything and that is the main for the lack of trouble at Tallaght.

A decent away support from opponents(bar Pats and Bohs obviously) is most likely another huge factor.Away support this season has been a disgrace even compared to last year as the LOI's eqivalent of event junkies ticked their visit to the shiny new stadium in Tallaght of their "been to" list and sat at home on friday nights updating livescores.

On your fence issue L4S,If Rovers are the scum most LOI people think they are then why use a fence so easy to knock over as a segregation tool-effectivley giving those fans a weapon?The fact that a proper gate with bolts etc was put in place for our next visit proves my point that shody security measures will make an unsavoury incident much worse.

No-one bar faceless clowns on message boards can blame a fence for what happened that night but had Dundalk had the gate they now have in place on the night in question those who broke through the fence would have simply hurt their toes on a proper barrier and we wouldn't be discussing this now.

Of course those blinkered with pie in the sky cures for Rovers "issues" will accuse me of deflecting issues or blaming everyone but Rovers,but I am intelligent enough to realise that had the fence not been charged for whatever reason that night it wouldn't have fallen,leading to dermot ahernes wet dream but unfortunelaly that proper segregation tool only exists now!
-In fact such a poor barrier makes a mockery of the security measures that cost so much in both time and money.Clubs meeting each other,stewards,gardai,searches,helicopter,dogs,hor ses,Riot cops,intelligence officers-All brilliant at preventing fans mixing ................and then a fence designed to keep children getting hit by the aer lingus float in the Paddy's day parade is the last line of defence.

If Rovers fans are such experts at making children cry then do the simple thing and ban us from entering your ground-but you won't because even with all the security measures in place were still worth the effort and hassle!

Model Club
22/10/2010, 9:29 AM
For once I mostly agree with you, but I think I can see the damage that's done a lot more clearly than you. I started going to Tallaght beacuse I have an interest in the League rather than to support Rovers, it's my local club and it's easy for me to get to games, this is my second season with a season ticket and while I obviously support Rovers at the games I can't quite seem to get fully behind them.

I actually cringe a bit when people call me a Rovers fan and I feel it's connected to these recurrent incidents. I have a lot of mates who would rarely darken the door of a League of Irealnd ground and when I defend Rovers and tell them that the "trouble" at games is generally easily avoidable or mostly handbags and media hyperbole it doesn't really make a difference, they just see the headlines in the papers and come out with the usual crap about Rovers scum.

I've been tempted to go to a few Rovers away games but I am but off by incidents like those in Dundalk and Inchicore. I came in to work the other day to an email asking me was I involved in the "trouble" in Inchicore, and that's not something I really want to be associated with (even if it does make me Mother Theresa).

I know it's not particularly rational, I'm more aware than most curious observers of the fact that "hooliganism" in the League of Ireland is a greatly exaggerated phenomenon, but I can't help feeling that if it's still putting me off then it's definitely putting off a lot of potential supporters who are less clued in to these things.

I greatly admire a lot of what Shamrock Rovers has done, and is doing, within the Tallaght and wider South Dublin community but I do feel the club has to do more to weed out the neanderthals that continue to drag the name through the mud. I realise it's not easy and the bigger the crowds get the more potential there is for individual morons to start incidents but it needs to be done. I'm not talking about sterilisation of the atmoshpere either, just tighter controls on the lunatic fringe.

A funny post that I can't get my head around.If supporting a club makes you cringe then don't support that club!

Then you say you understand the over the top reaction to loi crowd problems but then fall into the tabloid trap of allowing this hyperbole to stop you going to away games.
Mypost has most likely attened a 500 Rovers away games in his time and not given or recieved a dig.Other Rovers fans don't have this record as they choose not to.My point being if you want trouble you'll find-If you don't you wont.

FFS little girls attend Rovers away matches-All of them.Something tells me a grown resident of Tallaght will be ok!

22/10/2010, 9:37 AM
I know that Model Club, it's pretty much the point I'm trying to make. I know it shouldn't put me off, I know it's ridiculous, but there's still something in the back of my mind, I can't really get my head around it myself. I most likely will become more comfortable with supporting the club and I must likely will start to go to away games but for the moment I still feel slightly uncomfortable with the whole thing. I'm just trying to illustrate how damaging these minor incidents can be.

Louth4sam
22/10/2010, 9:43 AM
A decent away support from opponents(bar Pats and Bohs obviously) is most likely another huge factor.Away support this season has been a disgrace even compared to last year as the LOI's eqivalent of event junkies ticked their visit to the shiny new stadium in Tallaght of their "been to" list and sat at home on friday nights updating livescores.

On your fence issue L4S,If Rovers are the scum most LOI people think they are then why use a fence so easy to knock over as a segregation tool-effectivley giving those fans a weapon?The fact that a proper gate with bolts etc was put in place for our next visit proves my point that shody security measures will make an unsavoury incident much worse.

No-one bar faceless clowns on message boards can blame a fence for what happened that night but had Dundalk had the gate they now have in place on the night in question those who broke through the fence would have simply hurt their toes on a proper barrier and we wouldn't be discussing this now.

Of course those blinkered with pie in the sky cures for Rovers "issues" will accuse me of deflecting issues or blaming everyone but Rovers,but I am intelligent enough to realise that had the fence not been charged for whatever reason that night it wouldn't have fallen,leading to dermot ahernes wet dream but unfortunelaly that proper segregation tool only exists now!
-In fact such a poor barrier makes a mockery of the security measures that cost so much in both time and money.Clubs meeting each other,stewards,gardai,searches,helicopter,dogs,hor ses,Riot cops,intelligence officers-All brilliant at preventing fans mixing ................and then a fence designed to keep children getting hit by the aer lingus float in the Paddy's day parade is the last line of defence.

If Rovers fans are such experts at making children cry then do the simple thing and ban us from entering your ground-but you won't because even with all the security measures in place were still worth the effort and hassle!

Of course you are worth the effort and hassle and no matter what anybody says nearly all fans from other clubs look forward to playing rovers than anyone else. Proper segregation tool? Is a piece of tape a better segregation tool than a tie-wrapped fence? This was all that was in place in Tallaght. Are you really suggesting that Rovers fans need to be fenced in? No ground in Ireland has steal fences between fans so these grounds are all at fault if Rovers fans do the same thing again?

Model Club
22/10/2010, 9:44 AM
:camera:
I know that Model Club, it's pretty much the point I'm trying to make. I know it shouldn't put me off, I know it's ridiculous, but there's still something in the back of my mind, I can't really get my head around it myself. I most likely will become more comfortable with supporting the club and I must likely will start to go to away games but for the moment I still feel slightly uncomfortable with the whole thing. I'm just trying to illustrate how damaging these minor incidents can be.

I'll pick you up in Tallaght next friday and bring you to bray and back if you want.Can't guarantee any trouble ...................................unless we don't win the league;)

Model Club
22/10/2010, 10:18 AM
Of course you are worth the effort and hassle and no matter what anybody says nearly all fans from other clubs look forward to playing rovers than anyone else. Proper segregation tool? Is a piece of tape a better segregation tool than a tie-wrapped fence? This was all that was in place in Tallaght. Are you really suggesting that Rovers fans need to be fenced in? No ground in Ireland has steal fences between fans so these grounds are all at fault if Rovers fans do the same thing again?

But the "tape"in place in Tallaght is adequete.At bohs games it becomes a bit more advanced after it was breached in the first derby game in Tallaght.The security didnt work that day was reviewed and improved.

Why does the "fault" of any incident have to fall on one party only?
Granted something has to spark an incident but plans are in place should this spark occur and for me these plans are wholey inadequete and in typical Irish fashion are only ever improved when an incident happens-

Seat belts on school buses only bacame law when 5 young girls were killed in a Navan bus crash a few years ago-This pattern also follows into LOI security arrangements with the improved gate in Dundalk after events earlier this season,the fence at the OB end of Tallaght stadium after the one man attack on Rogers.Ive atteneded LOi games for over 20 years and have witnesses all of the reactionary changes slowly but surely being implemented always after issues and never before.

Fenced in is a bit harsh as I cant remember a pitch invasion for many a year before tuesday so IMO fences would be OTT unless a habit of such actions becomes apparant.
Proper segregation is a must and IIRC is a directive of licenscing.Surley prevention is better than intervention,I mean could you ever invisage Rovers and Dundalk mixing in the shed?.................No,me either.

sundance kid
22/10/2010, 11:30 AM
for the final? 10 euro apparently.

Definitely a tenner. They're advertised on ticketmaster now.

PartySaint
22/10/2010, 11:31 AM
Mother Teresa Alert!!

So the stewarding is either to good or to bad and that's why Rovers fans cause trouble??

HulaHoop
22/10/2010, 1:18 PM
So the stewarding is either to good or to bad and that's why Rovers fans cause trouble??

Prevention is better than cure. If the stewards had done their job and stopped the little scrotes from getting onto the pitch in the first place there wouldn't have been any incidents. That doesn't excuse what they did when they got onto the pitch and the club should be trying to identify them and stop them coming to matches in future but the fact remains - stop them getting on the pitch and you stop any potential trouble.

Blame on two parties here - firstly the idiots who tried and suceeded in getting onto the pitch and secondly the Guards and stewards for not having a Plan A of preventing a pitch invasion and not having a Plan B of diffusing a pitch invasion when it happened into becoming an angry confrontation between rival fans. Amateur hour organisation that would be laughed at on the continent. I dread to think what would happen if two rival temas get to the Europa cup final.

22/10/2010, 1:38 PM
I've been tempted to go to a few Rovers away games but I am put off by incidents like those in Dundalk and Inchicore. I came in to work the other day to an email asking me was I involved in the "trouble" in Inchicore, and that's not something I really want to be associated with (even if it does make me Mother Theresa).

Go to any non-Dublin Rovers away game except Dundalk and maybe Derry and you'll soon prefer the away games just as much as Tallaght now.

celticV3
22/10/2010, 2:35 PM
Go to any non-Dublin Rovers away game except Dundalk and maybe Derry and you'll soon prefer the away games just as much as Tallaght now.

Not leaving much options there are ya?

Hibs4Ever
22/10/2010, 2:48 PM
Not leaving much options there are ya?

it means passinginterest was safe to go to Galway or Drogheda this season

Jicked
22/10/2010, 3:17 PM
For anyone keeping score, the above means 24 of Hibs4Ever's last 30 posts in the LoI section have been slagging off Shamrock Rovers. Of the other 6, four were score/attendance updates.

Keep up the great contribution pal!

celticV3
22/10/2010, 3:44 PM
For anyone keeping score, the above means 24 of Hibs4Ever's last 30 posts in the LoI section have been slagging off Shamrock Rovers. Of the other 6, four were score/attendance updates.

Keep up the great contribution pal!

Credit to Shams fans for giving everyone so much to talk about off the field.

22/10/2010, 5:48 PM

I greatly admire a lot of what Shamrock Rovers has done, and is doing, within the Tallaght and wider South Dublin community but I do feel the club has to do more to weed out the neanderthals that continue to drag the name through the mud. I realise it's not easy and the bigger the crowds get the more potential there is for individual morons to start incidents but it needs to be done. I'm not talking about sterilisation of the atmoshpere either, just tighter controls on the lunatic fringe

The club does what it can, inquiries are set up, people are identified and punished, but we're not the police, and there's a limit to what the club can do. Incidents tend to happen at certain grounds for reasons I've already highlighted. Never ever in Tallaght. About Dundalk, there is never any trouble when we're home to Dundalk, only at away games. Tallaght is a state-of-the-art stadium, Oriel is a hostile environment, an inadequate stadium with poor facilities, and the slightest thing can spark an incident. Not just when we're around.

As regards the email, I wonder what kind of answer they expected. And what the response would have been to that answer. Much ado about nothing methinks. After the O'Connell Street riots, thanks to media lies, I was approached by a supplier in work afterwards, about whether I was involved. All I could do was laugh at his stupidity/ignorance, who put 2+2 together and got 22.

Security is improved after some incidents, but the response to the drunkard in Tallaght this year was one of the most OTT I've ever seen. 7 months later, it's sadly still there, even though the threat posed by it not there is non-existent.