View Full Version : FAI Cup semis

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9

Jicked
19/10/2010, 9:41 PM
On the football side of things, it means that League of Ireland legend Dessie Baker will now play the last game of his career in the FAI Cup Final at Lasndowne Road. Delighted for him (if he doesn't pick up yet another injury in the meantime)

(As an aside, Hibs4Ever I'm feeling a bit left out, any chance of a "thanks"? If I write the words SOME MODEL CLUB in caps like that do I qualify?)

legendz
19/10/2010, 9:44 PM
Disgraceful scenes which have no place in Irish soccer.
On the football side of it, the all-Rovers final has the makings of a good final.

19/10/2010, 9:44 PM
You would swear 100% of Rovers fans were scumbags...cop on to yourselves....
What is the acceptable percentage these days?

Saint_Charlie
19/10/2010, 9:45 PM
FM104 phone show talking about the trouble right now...

White Horse
19/10/2010, 9:45 PM
On the football side of things, it means that League of Ireland legend Dessie Baker will now play the last game of his career in the FAI Cup Final at Lasndowne Road.

A player retiring while at Rovers. Normally that happens before joining Rovers.

19/10/2010, 9:47 PM
The FAI failed to act when the Shams ran riot in Oriel earlier this year. They fail to recognise the monster that is their so called "model club".

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h311/MarkJM/9e1812ce2aecd2be9ee3dcee4b7afd6ee8382c51ad.jpg
Is that Seamus Coleman?

placid casual
19/10/2010, 9:48 PM
Rovers are like porn for this forum.:nerd:
Gets youse all wet and excited and then the admonishment starts :o

hopefully our "anti-football" can stop whats looks like a decent sligo side in the final at landsdowne.

bye bye folks.

hoops1
19/10/2010, 9:49 PM
Lets get this straight the Rovers fans ran on to celebrate with the team,
The Pats fans that ran on for trouble. There was Pats fans on the camac side throwing bottles and coins in at the Rovers fans. In all my time going there there has never been any hassle from that side.

19/10/2010, 9:50 PM
FM104 phone show talking about the trouble right now...'I was off me looper' :D

Shedendinvisibl
19/10/2010, 9:50 PM
This is a topic on fm104 now.

Being a topic on this show and coming out badly is proof if ever it was needed that Rovers fans are scum

redobit
19/10/2010, 9:51 PM
You would swear 100% of Rovers fans were scumbags...cop on to yourselves....

Same old BS answer from Shams fans Dave. I wouldnt be a bit suprised if this decreased our number of travelling fans for the final, plenty of familys will not travel if there is the potential for this crap.

Say what you like but they represent your club, and I dont see ye taking the stance like Dundalk did.

19/10/2010, 9:57 PM
'I was off me looper' :D

'and I had me kids with me'

:clown:

fionnsci
19/10/2010, 9:57 PM
Lets get this straight the Rovers fans ran on to celebrate with the team,
The Pats fans that ran on for trouble. There was Pats fans on the camac side throwing bottles and coins in at the Rovers fans. In all my time going there there has never been any hassle from that side.

Come to think of it, you're right. Rovers fans (about a dozen or so) strolled amicably onto the field of play to gentlemanly shake hands with Rovers players and to comiserate with the dejected St Pat's players. Meanwhile, the notoriously rowdy Pat's fans hurled missiles at the innocent, defensless Rovers gentlemen and laughed histerically.

Get your story straight. It is nothing short of pathetic to try and pin this on the Pat's fans. Pathetic.

19/10/2010, 9:58 PM
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h311/MarkJM/9e1812ce2aecd2be9ee3dcee4b7afd6ee8382c51ad.jpg

celebrity fan there behind and to the left of the main hoolie - i think he was in Avatar.

19/10/2010, 9:58 PM
Lets get this straight the Rovers fans ran on to celebrate with the team

That's still not ok, you know?

1st time post
19/10/2010, 9:59 PM
There are currently 113 users browsing this thread. (32 members and 81 guests) LOL!!

hoops1
19/10/2010, 10:02 PM

Sligo did the same Friday the only thing difference was the reaction of the two losing sets of supporters

19/10/2010, 10:03 PM
Somebody could have been killed!

19/10/2010, 10:09 PM
Not a single steward at the Pats end. Not one. Rovers fans ran to the halfway line, Pats fans behind the goal goaded them up to them with nothing in the way.

And for the Pats fans walking out of the ground on Sunday and walking down Tyrconnell Rd before the game tonight asking "Can we feel it slip away?"

No:bigsmile:

fionnsci
19/10/2010, 10:10 PM
Sligo did the same Friday the only thing difference was the reaction of the two losing sets of supporters

You're right, I sincerly apologise on behalf of all other Pat's fans. Could you not just acknowledge at this point that the only decent thing to do is to put your hands up and say "Shamrock Rovers fans let the club and the league down tonight with their behaviour" and not try to pass it on to someone else?

hoops1
19/10/2010, 10:12 PM
Not really, Watch the stream again on PATS forum there was a Pats fan on the pitch on his way up the pitch before the game was over

19/10/2010, 10:17 PM
You're right, I sincerly apologise on behalf of all other Pat's fans. Could you not just acknowledge at this point that the only decent thing to do is to put your hands up and say "Shamrock Rovers fans let the club and the league down tonight with their behaviour" and not try to pass it on to someone else?

good luck with that.

Bear in mind the vast array of evidenced actions that have been denied time and again both on here and by the club.

harleyleeds
19/10/2010, 10:18 PM
Far be it for me to stand up for the shams but Hoop1 is right ' our fans did it at Dalyer and Redobit i think 'we are flying over from NY for final and if shams were banned i would cancel . It doesn't sound as if the trouble was that bad anyway . Can't wait for final .

19/10/2010, 10:19 PM
An idle 15 year old Pat's is being blamed for the 150-200 Shams fans actions. It's started with 1 fan attacking Gary Rogers, nothing done. 40 or so in Oriel Park, nothing done. 150 or so tonight, nothing will be done. This has probably put off a lot of Sligo Rovers fans and neutrals from going to the Aviva. Bravo Model Club!

Should be sufficient footage to ban a large percentage of the people involved. Hopefully both clubs grow a set and do it.

Mr_Parker
19/10/2010, 10:19 PM
RTE2 just about to start. No doubt there will be footage.

19/10/2010, 10:24 PM
Re : The trouble - The first thing I saw was a lad in a white hoodie run the length of the pitch from the Pats end and start swinging digs down the shed end in the middle of about 50 Rovers fans as they ran on the pitch to celebrate. Stewards pounced on him right away. Then Rovers fans ran to the middle of the pitch celebrating with their players. Then started to move towards the Pats fans behind the goal waving their arms etc. Missiles were being fired from both sets of fans and then the Rovers lad with the brolly and others went further towards the Pats end. Lads from the Pats end hopped on to the pitch and a few brawls scattered around the pitch kicked off with only stewards in the midst. About 5 minutes later some guards started strolling on and the majority scarpered. Embarrassing stuff from both sides tbf
Should probably draw attention to this report since it doesn't seem to have been remarked upon.

From the sound of it, this was all a bit of a storm in a teacup. Won't stop supporters from both sides grandstanding, but you tend to find the most reasonable explanation (e.g. Saint_Charlie's) turns out to be the closest to the truth.

Rasputin
19/10/2010, 10:26 PM
An idle 15 year old Pat's is being blamed for the 150-200 Shams fans actions. It's started with 1 fan attacking Gary Rogers, nothing done. 40 or so in Oriel Park, nothing done. 150 or so tonight, nothing will be done. This has probably put off a lot of Sligo Rovers fans and neutrals from going to the Aviva. Bravo Model Club!
Who's fault was it again that a full bus load of Shams fans (including the bus driver) attacked a shop worker on crutches in Sligo before they started pelting the shop with cans and bottles?
Just sick of hearing the same auld ****e from Shams fans, its a "minority" its this person its that persons fault etc etc.
Your club is a magnet for absolute bottom feeder filth, its an infection that has been let fester for what ever season.
Its about time your club did something and removed the hundreds of scumbags who drag this league through the dirt every season without fail, and its not a "small" minority.

19/10/2010, 10:28 PM
Regardless of the explanantion, there was still 200-250 Rovers on the pitch making a run at Pats fans...

(Right last post, swore I wouldn't get caught up in the usual rubbish)

redobit
19/10/2010, 10:29 PM
Far be it for me to stand up for the shams but Hoop1 is right ' our fans did it at Dalyer and Redobit i think 'we are flying over from NY for final and if shams were banned i would cancel . It doesn't sound as if the trouble was that bad anyway . Can't wait for final .

Oh sweet Jesus, you actually believed me.

And if you seriously wouldnt fly over for that reason, well Im sorry but thats just weird.

19/10/2010, 10:30 PM
Re : The trouble - The first thing I saw was a lad in a white hoodie run the length of the pitch from the Pats end and start swinging digs down the shed end in the middle of about 50 Rovers fans as they ran on the pitch to celebrate. Stewards pounced on him right away. Then Rovers fans ran to the middle of the pitch celebrating with their players. Then started to move towards the Pats fans behind the goal waving their arms etc. Missiles were being fired from both sets of fans and then the Rovers lad with the brolly and others went further towards the Pats end. Lads from the Pats end hopped on to the pitch and a few brawls scattered around the pitch kicked off with only stewards in the midst. About 5 minutes later some guards started strolling on and the majority scarpered. Embarrassing stuff from both sides tbf

It might be embarrassing from both sides, but it appears here that only one is getting the blame.

Of all the "who dunnit" posts, yours is exactly what happened.

It was always likely to happen though, regardless who won. Pats fans were on the pitch last year after a game, the security or lack of it in Richmond is, and has been a joke for many years. At games like these at that ground, it doesn't take much for the pitch to be invaded.

We laugh at the GAA crowd who have been doing it for years, and I don't know what it is, but there seems to be this damn Paddy mentality where you have to be seen to run onto a pitch to celebrate at the end of a game. You never see players running into the crowd after games, do you?

hoops1
19/10/2010, 10:30 PM
200-250 on the pitch about 10-15 went all the way to the Pats end max

19/10/2010, 10:32 PM
Regardless of the explanantion, there was still 200-250 Rovers on the pitch making a run at Pats fans...

(Right last post, swore I wouldn't get caught up in the usual rubbish)
I'm sure they weren't all baying for blood. I've invaded several pitches in my day and no murder convictions so far (touch wood).

Mr_Parker
19/10/2010, 10:39 PM
Looked like handbags from the RTE footage.

19/10/2010, 10:39 PM
Rovers came out the worst from that report.

19/10/2010, 10:40 PM
They've just showed it on the news now. A hundred or so Rovers fans hugging the players, while a man with an umbrella and two 14 year old boys in tracksuits shouting at the Pats fans from a safe distance.

I kind of feel ashamed admitting it, but I'm genuinely scared for my safety now. Terrifying scenes that really put the minor scuffles in Genoa into perspective.

hoops1
19/10/2010, 10:42 PM
Red card looked a bit harsh. Pete Mahon moaning there's a suprise.

bullit
19/10/2010, 10:43 PM
"Umbrella" man is my new hero! Brollies are for wimps.

19/10/2010, 10:47 PM
One of the worst red card decisions I've seen. Yer man with the umbrella though :D

harleyleeds
19/10/2010, 10:49 PM
Sorry Redo really hope you were not serious about banning fans and yes , no way would i go to a final with only one set of fans . I am glad to see us get the chance to get revenge on shams and firmly believe we will and I deffo want as many of them as possible to see it live . Come on the ROVERS .

19/10/2010, 10:49 PM
The red card looked dodgy but I'd have to see it again. Twiggy did seem to slow to a crawl initially rather than fall over so he might have been away at the point he was first pulled back.

L.T.F.C.
19/10/2010, 10:50 PM
You'd think the Gardaí would have at least read the various messageboards where Rovers fans were talking about being attacked at the Maldron on Sunday and considered the possibility of some of the knackers deciding to act up, and y'know, actually done something.

Yep thats what we need; Gardaí reading forums.

hoops1
19/10/2010, 11:05 PM
"Umbrella" man is my new hero! Brollies are for wimps.

You would be upset too if you brought your new brollie to a game and didnt get a chance to use it.

stojkovic
19/10/2010, 11:06 PM
You would be upset too if you brought your new brollie to a game and didnt get a chance to use it.

In fairness, rain was forecast.

redobit
19/10/2010, 11:08 PM
Sorry Redo really hope you were not serious about banning fans and yes , no way would i go to a final with only one set of fans . I am glad to see us get the chance to get revenge on shams and firmly believe we will and I deffo want as many of them as possible to see it live . Come on the ROVERS .

Id say youre the only one.

Id let them play it on a Icelandic volcano on Christmass Day if I knew they were going to come home the cup.

L.T.F.C.
19/10/2010, 11:13 PM
Whats the name of the Shamrock Rovers messageboard?

OneForTheFuture
19/10/2010, 11:15 PM
Whats the name of the Shamrock Rovers messageboard?

Google!

L.T.F.C.
19/10/2010, 11:17 PM
Google!
Polluted with prícks this place...

OneForTheFuture
19/10/2010, 11:20 PM
Yes it is....and you too

redarmyfaction
19/10/2010, 11:23 PM
Those Shams supporters should be banned from Irish Football if only for sartorial reasons, they must get their clothes from skips outside of Penny's, FFS did you ever see such a mob of Trampy, Pikey, Minkers.

The very same Green Street fantasist's were beaten up by the Polish shelf stackers from Mace in Maugheraboy the last time they sinned against fashion in Sligo. A friend who witnessed it said they resembled a Special Olympics Gymnastic Team on ether rather than Hooligans, and were an embarrassment instead of a disgrace.

L.T.F.C.
19/10/2010, 11:26 PM
Yes it is....and you too
Ah shoo will you, you're bugging me.