View Full Version : Ciaran Clark D Free agent b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

27/12/2012, 12:33 AM
I think it was misreported - was Clark to the best of my knowledge. Not that Sean has any reason to be so bitter months later, and it certainly doesn't make Clark a bad player, just impulsive. I'm also a bit perturbed by Sean's newfound love of Shane Duffy.

28/12/2012, 9:37 AM
The Sunday Times feature picked him out as "one who got away from England" in their feature last week. Just gifted Spurs a second goal with a horrible misplaced pass in midfield.

A week is a long time in....football.

28/12/2012, 12:13 PM
One thing we can agree on is that he's very green in more than one sense (though mercifully not Green...)

Sullivinho
28/12/2012, 2:05 PM
This guy will one day make a historic last ditch, draw-preserving tackle that will alter not only the alignment of some eastern European striker's spine, but the course of Irish football itself for the duration of ten glorious summer days. Paul McGrath and Richard Dunne will tweet their own unworthiness in response.

Mark my entirely sober words.

28/12/2012, 3:54 PM
This guy will one day make a historic last ditch, draw-preserving tackle that will alter not only the alignment of some eastern European striker's spine, but the course of Irish football itself for the duration of ten glorious summer days. Paul McGrath and Richard Dunne will tweet their own unworthiness in response.

Sober at 15:05... I doubt the veracity of this statement.

the doc
28/12/2012, 5:57 PM

Are you sure that wasn't St Ledgers last ditch tackle at home against Slovakia to keep our Euro 2012 dreams alive?

Ciaran Cak will spend most of his time getting sent off and caught hopelessly out of position judging by what ive seen of him over the past few seasons.

Most Villa fans are now seeing beyond the hype and realising how poor this England reject is.

Same as we Irish are with James McClean.

I'd have Macca ahead of Clark any day.

In Trap we must trust!

Sullivinho
28/12/2012, 6:55 PM
Are you sure that wasn't St Ledgers last ditch tackle at home against Slovakia to keep our Euro 2012 dreams alive?

Ciaran Cak will spend most of his time getting sent off and caught hopelessly out of position judging by what ive seen of him over the past few seasons.

Most Villa fans are now seeing beyond the hype and realising how poor this England reject is.

In Trap we must trust!

We've come to expect magnificence from Sledge. He is afterall, a man who made an entire European Championship Ireland GF column his bi**h.

Currently, there are murmurs (not to mention the cruel, name-based satire) emanating from the jury room regarding Ciaran. Who, it should be said, could only be described as an 'England reject' in disingenuous terms.

Supreme feet
28/12/2012, 7:21 PM

In Trap we must trust!

At least Clark is in a good position to improve, playing against international-class strikers every week, when every error will be punished. He's been hot and cold, but so was Richard Dunne at 23. Recent impressive games against Arsenal and Liverpool, and being given the captaincy for a few games, suggest that he's got the tools, and he could thrive in a better team than Villa.

Until St. Ledger shows good club form at a higher level than the Championship, there will always be a question mark over his ability to perform consistently. He's played well for Ireland, but one would fear that he's being carried by those around him (esp. Dunne), and is, in fact, a disaster waiting to happen. Is he a Kenny Cunningham or a Darren O'Dea? We just don't know.

the doc
28/12/2012, 9:50 PM
At least Clark is in a good position to improve, playing against international-class strikers every week, when every error will be punished. He's been hot and cold, but so was Richard Dunne at 23. Recent impressive games against Arsenal and Liverpool, and being given the captaincy for a few games, suggest that he's got the tools, and he could thrive in a better team than Villa.

Until St. Ledger shows good club form at a higher level than the Championship, there will always be a question mark over his ability to perform consistently. He's played well for Ireland, but one would fear that he's being carried by those around him (esp. Dunne), and is, in fact, a disaster waiting to happen. Is he a Kenny Cunningham or a Darren O'Dea? We just don't know.

It could be argued that SSL carried Dunny in the Euros.

As for higher level, SSL has never let us down at International level even scoring goals too.

SSL is very underrated and would of gone to Roma or Atalanta only for Leic to get cold feet.

Go and watch Cak at Villa, he's quickly becoming the Douglas Bader of football.

In Trap we must trust!

28/12/2012, 11:55 PM

I think it's a bit unfair to describe St Ledger as a disaster waiting to happen. If that's true, he has been avoiding said disaster for an awful long time.

DannyInvincible
29/12/2012, 12:33 AM
SSL is very underrated and would of gone to Roma or Atalanta only for Leic to get cold feet.

Roma were after St. Ledger?

Supreme feet
29/12/2012, 2:37 AM
I think it's a bit unfair to describe St Ledger as a disaster waiting to happen. If that's true, he has been avoiding said disaster for an awful long time.

Just a gut feeling really. I don't think we can rely long-term on a player who isn't playing a high level of football at club level. History shows we don't fare well when we have second-tier league players* in vital positions. Fair play to Sean; like David Kelly and Alan McLoughlin, he's defied the odds for a long time by being a good international despite being marooned in a second-rate league. When the likes of Duffy, Hoban and Egan are coming through, I'd prefer them to be led by a player who actually has week-in, week-out experience of marking international strikers, not just a journeyman who lifts himself to step up to that level 4 or 5 times a year.

*By 'second-tier league players', I mean players who have never played in a top league. I'm aware that the likes of Keane, Duff, and Dunne played second-tier football for a season or two, while playing well for Ireland.

the doc
29/12/2012, 6:18 PM
Had a compo so went to Villa Park today.
Poorest Villa team in years, certs to go down.

Ciaran Cack was poor yet again, all at sea for the goals. Funniest moment was when he got turned then tried to kick and pull the player down but kept missing him.

Sides are now targeting him as a weak link in a very weak team.

Christ knows what international sides will do to him.

Any chance we can send him back to England?

29/12/2012, 10:01 PM
Would imagine that Lambert is on borrowed time after today. The morale of the team must be in tatters. Clark has potential but is certainly error prone. He plays in a very difficult position for a relative novice - if he had Richie beside him for the remainder of the season I am sure you would see a marked improvement.

29/12/2012, 10:38 PM

Ciaran Cack was poor yet again, all at sea for the goals. Funniest moment was when he got turned then tried to kick and pull the player down but kept missing him.

The first goal today was caused when Beneker failed to pick up his man for the corner. The 2nd was when Lowton was brushed aside by Kone. Boyce's goal was the only goal he was involved in. A one=two was played around Clarke and he tried to recover by hauling Boyce back.

You have huge issues with Clark. You fail to realise he is just a kid playing in the Premier League in a very inexperienced team. Where was SSL, a player I like, playing when he was 21, Peterboro in Division 2 I think. Give the kid a chance, in time he will develop to a decent international defender.

CraftyToePoke
30/12/2012, 3:30 AM

I was at London Rd, around 2006, Vs Northampton maybe, but I went along to watch S.S.L., and saw you get an absolute chasing from a League 2 side containing Jason Pineapple Lee. You kept giving it back to them until they eventually scored and I remember one moment with you just stood there hands on hips looking at your boots for a very long time after yet another howler, team mates scowling at you. I doubt you have forgotten it, as it was tough to even watch.

I repeat, it was League 2 and yet, you turned out ok, not as good as you like to think you are, but decent. Give Clark a bit more of a chance.

30/12/2012, 10:04 AM
For some reason Ciaran Clark is quickly becoming a favourite player of mine. :-)

30/12/2012, 8:06 PM
Clarks a prime example of this, he wouldnt cope playing in the Championship as would many other over rated Prem players.

It's a tough league with some good sides who could hold there own in the Prem.

This Villa side would struggle in the Championship.

If this Villa side can't turn their current form around I think you'll be shown to be incorrect on a couple of points there. I strongly suspect this Villa side, even with the exodus that would follow relegation, would walk the championship. I also suspect Clarke would do very well in the championship never mind merely cope there. He has enough skill and lord knows enough physicallity to his game to do just fine.

As for the division itself -I'll agree it's a tough league -but that's as much to do with fixture congestion and finite resources as anything to do with quality. I can't agree about any number of teams currently in there being able to compete with any consistency in the Premier League. I suspect upwards of 90% would be dicked raw week in week out.

Crosby87
30/12/2012, 8:49 PM
what the hell were you guys talking about before? And who is Jason Pineapple Lee?

TrapAPony
30/12/2012, 10:58 PM
what the hell were you guys talking about before? And who is Jason Pineapple Lee?
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/10/08/article-1219047-06C0C15E000005DC-500_224x384.jpg

Bungle
31/12/2012, 11:25 AM
Clark is going to be a very good premiership player and a very good player for us in time. Right now, he looks what he is, a young defender with talent playing in a godawful team (some very promising players albeit), in the cruellest of positions to be inexperienced. He would thrive beside an experienced premiership player, but it says it all about Villa that Clark has been their captain over the past couple of games. Is it any wonder they lie in the position that they are in.

From an Irish perspective, it might not be a disaster if Villa went down. There are a few lads like Drennan and Carruthers who would probably break into the team and get their chance in the Championship and I would rather them play for a team with confidence and challenging for promotion, than breaking into a team getting thumped 3-0 at home to Wigan.

31/12/2012, 1:47 PM
Clark's got the makings of a good player but needs time and the benefit of a stronger player beside him. SSL's a fine player too but arguably also needs a stronger ball-winner. The "Cack" stuff is childish nonsense and if this is indicative of the relationship between key players in our squad then we've got bigger probalems than I thought.

the doc
01/01/2013, 1:23 PM
Clark's got the makings of a good player but needs time and the benefit of a stronger player beside him. SSL's a fine player too but arguably also needs a stronger ball-winner. The "Cack" stuff is childish nonsense and if this is indicative of the relationship between key players in our squad then we've got bigger probalems than I thought.

I think there's a great team spirit amongst the players but I doubt they would take too kindly to some nutter kicking senior players up in the air in training.

Happy New Year.

Sullivinho
01/01/2013, 1:30 PM
If 2012 was any indication, a kick in the @ss might do some of them fellas more good than harm. G'wan Ciaran.

Predator
01/01/2013, 1:46 PM
I think there's a great team spirit amongst the players but I doubt they would take too kindly to some nutter kicking senior players up in the air in training.

Happy New Year.
As Roy Keane said, you come to training and give 100%
If it worked for Roy...

Manblue
01/01/2013, 2:20 PM
clark looking like an unbelievable liability so far today...should be 5 down seriously....

Villa are horrendous

the doc
01/01/2013, 4:38 PM
clark looking like an unbelievable liability so far today...should be 5 down seriously....

Villa are horrendous

Spot on, saw the first 30 mins at Sky, has anyone told him he's supposed to pass to his own team mates

Gave the ball away with a pub players control.
We are fecked with this joker, he's another Alex Bruce type of player.

Prefer Duffy or Macca

Paddy Garcia
01/01/2013, 6:11 PM
Who is Macca?

Sorry - assume I've missed a recent declaration!

01/01/2013, 6:30 PM
Spot on, saw the first 30 mins at Sky, has anyone told him he's supposed to pass to his own team mates

Prefer Duffy or Macca
The game wasn't on Sky today? At least, not in Britain or Ireland.
Anyway, according to squawka, he completed 11 of 13 passes and only missed one in the first 30 minutes: http://epl.squawka.com/swansea-vs-a-villa/01-01-2013/english-barclays-premier-league/matches

Colbert Report
01/01/2013, 6:40 PM

Villa are horrendous

You're not joking. I'm 33 minutes in here over in Canada and it could easily be five or six nil already. This Michu lad is some player! He's hit the woodwork twice already.

Colbert Report
01/01/2013, 6:47 PM
Clark booked for a nightmare challenge on Wayne Routledge on 40 minutes. Criminal stuff really.

the doc
01/01/2013, 6:48 PM
The game wasn't on Sky today? At least, not in Britain or Ireland.
Anyway, according to squawka, he completed 11 of 13 passes and only missed one in the first 30 minutes: http://epl.squawka.com/swansea-vs-a-villa/01-01-2013/english-barclays-premier-league/matches

At Sky!!! Not on Sky

Were 10 of those passes were to Swansea players?

He was a joke, even some of the old pro footie players who were watching it said the same.

Why does everyone on here not see how bad he is?

You all knock Wardy yet he's a better player than Clark.

Colbert Report
01/01/2013, 6:53 PM
Stevens isn't much better. Booked on the stroke of halftime for a terrible challenge.

02/01/2013, 2:08 AM
At Sky!!! Not on Sky

Were 10 of those passes were to Swansea players?

He was a joke, even some of the old pro footie players who were watching it said the same.

Why does everyone on here not see how bad he is?

You all knock Wardy yet he's a better player than Clark.

What do you want foot.ie posters to do then Doc? Consign him to the scrap heap as "just not good enough and never will be"? These are Irish options playing premiership football. They mightn't be the best in the world or in the premiership (no-one is saying they are) but they're not bad footballers. I'm just not sure what you are trying to achieve here.

gastric
02/01/2013, 2:40 AM
What do you want foot.ie posters to do then Doc? Consign him to the scrap heap as "just not good enough and never will be"? These are Irish options playing premiership football. They mightn't be the best in the world or in the premiership (no-one is saying they are) but they're not bad footballers. I'm just not sure what you are trying to achieve here.

He is trying to denigrate any player who may threaten his position in the Irish backline, that is if he ever plays football himself again! :eek:

gastric
02/01/2013, 7:47 AM
Just on the subject of Clark and Villa, what Lambert is trying to do is very brave, and I hope the board don't lose faith in him. Like many teams before, the Christmas period creates a loss of confidence in teams and because of their youth, it is particularly noticeable with Villa. What Villa's defence needs badly now is Dunne's leadership and experience and I am sure the likes of Clark and Stevens will blossom again. Clark has natural leadership skills and is very physical and with greater experience he will become a very good player. On the subject of Doc, just happened to read the Alex Pearce thread where he has had a pop at Pearce too. I think he is a WIM who enjoys the notoriety!

02/01/2013, 8:09 AM
Villa had no midfield to speak of for most of that game and Swansea had free reign to attack through the center leaving the defenders very exposed. Clark and Stevens were no worse than those around them and they all improved in the second half. Both got booked for diving in, Stevens was a bit unlucky I thought, showed some good anticipation to try intercept but the Swansea lad just got a toe to it first, no defending Clark really it was just a frustrated late lunge. As young defenders they're both improving and as they mature should lose more of their bad habits. Getting that draw and breaking their dreadful run should do them a lot of good too. Way too early to declare Clark a failure or to know if he will become the rock to build a defence.

02/01/2013, 8:37 AM
He's done enough to merit inclusion in the Irish squad and enough to become a long-term fixture in the squad. At his age he needs the guidance of an older head. Presuming Coleman is our first choice RB going forward (which he should be), if Clark is to play it would be either as a partner to O'Shea or Dunne. But if Dunne and O'Shea are both fit, they should start ahead of Clark at CB as their experience is invaluable for the relative inexperience in the rest of the defence.

What's positive about Clark's run in the Villa team is that it increases our viable options at CB, a position lacking depth for us in recent years. Take the doc's whinging about Clark's run in the Villa team as recognition of this. Even disregarding Clark, our options at CB are increasing with a number of defenders starting to emerge and deserving of recognition. This is setting off alarm bells in the head of the doc as the realisation is hitting home that the player who's position in the team is most at threat is his.

02/01/2013, 8:40 AM
On the subject of Doc, just happened to read the Alex Pearce thread where he has had a pop at Pearce too. I think he is a WIM who enjoys the notoriety!
The Doc is the longest running joke on foot ie.
It's one of the heights of absurdity to be trying to engage him in conversation on any topic related to any of our defence options.

the doc
02/01/2013, 8:50 AM
I just give my opinion that's all.
I've said what I think, I will leave it at that.
The same things were being said about McShane and Bruce a while back whilst I disagreed and said that SSL should be called up.

You all dismissed that, and look what happened.

I go to lots of games at all levels in the UK and abroad too, so I know my football.

Ive said all I'm going to say now on this subject, I will now wait until I'm proved right yet again.

I will of course continue to support the BIG and be there home and away at every game.

How many do that?

Happy New Year to all on here x

02/01/2013, 10:21 AM
I will of course continue to support the BIG and be there home and away at every game.

How many do that?

Yes, but it does help when the FAI pays your expenses - and more!

Anyway, HNY to all here too.

Bungle
02/01/2013, 10:23 AM
Just on the subject of Clark and Villa, what Lambert is trying to do is very brave, and I hope the board don't lose faith in him. Like many teams before, the Christmas period creates a loss of confidence in teams and because of their youth, it is particularly noticeable with Villa. What Villa's defence needs badly now is Dunne's leadership and experience and I am sure the likes of Clark and Stevens will blossom again. Clark has natural leadership skills and is very physical and with greater experience he will become a very good player. On the subject of Doc, just happened to read the Alex Pearce thread where he has had a pop at Pearce too. I think he is a WIM who enjoys the notoriety!

Spot on that. I do think that Villa need to bring in a few battle hardened premiership players to stay up. I like Lambert and even if they do go down, I think he has the ability to build a good team there. He could be very good for our young Irish contingent there.

I love SSL and Richie Dunne, but I'd love if Clark and Duffy became top class players. Some people on here seem to almost want Clark to fail and I don't get that. Even if he ends up in 5 years playing for Oxford United, he was still a very talented young lad who turned down England to play with the country of his parents. I respect him greatly for that.

02/01/2013, 10:23 AM

Prefer Duffy or Macca

Doc, competition is good, don't fear it, instead embrace it as a challenge.

Bungle, one of the few on here who talks so much sense!

the doc
02/01/2013, 10:41 AM
Yes, but it does help when the FAI pays your expenses - and more!

Anyway, HNY to all here too.

Ha ha, very good.

I'd be better off with Shanks Pony!

02/01/2013, 12:56 PM
The Doc is the longest running joke on foot ie.
It's one of the heights of absurdity to be trying to engage him in conversation on any topic related to any of our defence options.

That's enough of that. Back on topic or back out of the thread please.

DannyInvincible
02/01/2013, 9:09 PM
Who is Macca?

Sorry - assume I've missed a recent declaration!

McShane? :confused:

Paddy Garcia
03/01/2013, 6:03 AM
Oh - that just leaves me wishing everyone a Happy New Year then.

SolitudeRed
03/01/2013, 8:52 PM
After reading the last few pages of this thread I kind of want SSL to get a move to Villa to see how he gets on in comparison to Clark but alas he is out injured at the moment :rolleyes:

Gubbins94
03/01/2013, 11:07 PM
Villa play with no midfield, there's no one for Clark to pass to at the best of times, not too mention hos exposed he is. He's also playing alongside someone who cost Holland any reasonable chance they had in the Euros in Ron Vlaar as well as covering for a league one right back playing for a premier league club at centre back.. He'll have much more protection in an Irish shirt. Every experience is worthwhile, Dunne and O'Shea will be too old in Rio. Get him in now, any experience is vital.

Manblue
04/01/2013, 12:25 AM

Prefer Duffy or Macca

Seldom someone agrees with me but I'm going to have to hold my hands up and say his passing wasn't the issue for me, thought it was actually fine and read somewhere it was around the 85% completion rate.

My issue was his inability to organise the defense, running out to play offside at the wrong time and not sticking with his man, all of which created one v one opportunities for Swansea in one way or another.

I wouldn't say he's a joker. He looked ok and to be improving with Vlaar next to him (who isnt great at all), having him and herd in there together is very unfair on two such young players, especially when they get no protection from midfield.

Although he is not brilliant in the air or excellent in the tackle, I think with the right guidance he could be a decent back up and depending on his development, maybe a starter. Certainly wouldnt right him off.

I can't blame him or stevens for their rash tackles the other day, it must be frustrating having nothing in front of you and getting peppered for 90 mins a game.