View Full Version : Ciaran Clark D Free agent b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

05/10/2012, 4:00 PM
Heard a brief snippet of an interview with Ciaran Clark on Today FM on the way home from work he was saying that he was committed to Ireland and would never turn down a call up despite being out in the cold for a while now so fair play to him for being a bit more mature about it. Maybe Trap does not rate him? or is it more of a disciplinary issue? Its a shame he didn't get a call up for the last friendly given that he is getting a run of games with Villa at the moment which will hopefully aid his development.

That was on Off The Ball on Newstalk wasn't it. Thought it was a great interview.

05/10/2012, 4:37 PM
That was on Off The Ball on Newstalk wasn't it. Thought it was a great interview.
It wasn't bad, but he did try his level best to break the record for saying "y'know" the most in a ten minute interview

06/10/2012, 10:39 AM
It wasn't bad, but he did try his level best to break the record for saying "y'know" the most in a ten minute interview

I liked when Eoin was pushing him on temptation to declare for England and Clark shut him up.

06/10/2012, 1:02 PM
The interview has been podcasted (that's a word right?) here: http://media.newstalk.ie/podcast/67752/popup
Interview starts just after 23 minutes

mark12345
06/10/2012, 8:35 PM
We saw with Ward's foul in Kazakhstan how easily one moment of impatience can lead to a goal.

Precisely. So why is Ward in the team ahead of Clark? That's what's wrong with this current set up. You can have as much of a nightmare as you want and you'll still get picked because you have that little bit more experience than the other guy. Poor performances, and Ward has had quite a few, should meet their just reward. But we have a manager who apparently doesn't think that way.

06/10/2012, 10:23 PM
Trap knows form is temporary class is permanent ;)

06/10/2012, 10:23 PM
Precisely. So why is Ward in the team ahead of Clark?
Because Ward is currently better at playing football than Clark. Ward is a technically better footballer who has more pace and, whatever you think of his talent, is well-drilled in full back play, which Clark isn't.

Manblue
07/10/2012, 2:46 PM
Solid first half so far although had little to do. Vlaar next to him has been very good. Clark just a little sloppy in the first 5 maybe.

Manblue
07/10/2012, 3:49 PM
Completely overrun in the second half, the midfield were non existent again...villa will really struggle.

Clark almost gifted spurs a goal in the last min when dispossessed in the middle of the pitch

CraftyToePoke
08/10/2012, 1:57 AM
Clark almost gifted spurs a goal in the last min when dispossessed in the middle of the pitch

I don't know what he was thinking there, he needlessly ran it straight at the nearest gathering of Spurs players.

the bear
08/10/2012, 8:35 AM
Bad mistake there alright. I noticed Vlaar is the captain so presumably he will be preferred to Clark when Dunne is back.

08/10/2012, 9:06 AM
Have not seen much of Villa this season other than highlights really. But unfortunately what I have seen of Clark hasnt been impressive. He is young and learning his trade etc and he would be very beneficial to him if he was partnered by someone with the experience and leadership of Dunne. But as its centre half, its not the position that you can get away with many mistakes and he has made a few already.

Noelys Guitar
08/10/2012, 12:16 PM
Just called into the squad to replace St Ledger

Grafter
08/10/2012, 12:32 PM
Just called into the squad to replace St Ledger

So Clark's finally in, all of his fan club on here should be happy now:rolleyes: Can't think of many other omissions to get riled over for rest of week so chill lads, sure we'll be grand as long as it keeps raining cats and dogs...

DannyInvincible
08/10/2012, 12:40 PM
After being favoured to Clark at centre-half a few weeks ago, is Alex Pearce already out of favour with Trap then?

CraftyToePoke
08/10/2012, 12:51 PM
After being favoured to Clark at centre-half a few weeks ago, is Alex Pearce already out of favour with Trap then?

I dont think Pearce is in favour at Reading, just now, maybe that swung it.

08/10/2012, 1:21 PM
Also, I think it was right for Trap to have a look at Pearce. It's not necessarily being favoured, though he probably was!

mark12345
08/10/2012, 1:50 PM
So Clark's finally in, all of his fan club on here should be happy now:rolleyes: Can't think of many other omissions to get riled over for rest of week so chill lads, sure we'll be grand as long as it keeps raining cats and dogs...

If Ward is in anyone can get in. So let's have a look at Clark. For the record, Wilson should be the left back. And if Trap doesn't play him against Germany (that is a highly rated Premier League defender) instead of a lower level Championship and international failure, in Ward, then all respect for him is gone. I mean what more evidence does Trap need about Ward's ability or lack of?

SwanVsDalton
08/10/2012, 2:23 PM

Don't want to open the 'best position' can of worms (it's centre back, 100 per cent) but he's got a versatility which could, for instance, free up Wilson to play centre mid.

08/10/2012, 3:08 PM
Bad mistake there alright. I noticed Vlaar is the captain so presumably he will be preferred to Clark when Dunne is back.
Or Clark will be preferred ahead of Dunne.

SolitudeRed
20/10/2012, 11:50 PM
Wasn't playing today or on the bench for Villa Is he injured or what??

tommy_c12000
21/10/2012, 8:21 AM
Ya he was doubtful for the game. I think it may have been his groin or something

21/10/2012, 8:22 AM
BBC reported that he was an injury doubt for the game,
it didn't say when he picked it up.

22/10/2012, 9:46 AM
This could go in any one of a number of threads. Aiadan O'Hara in The Indo saying that the less you play for Ireland the better you become!

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/the-less-you-play-for-ireland-the-better-you-become-3266729.html

DeLorean
06/11/2012, 10:21 AM
Probably deserves a mention for what seems to have been an impressive performance at centre back on Saturday. I'm sure he'll come up more potent attacks than Sunderland, for whom Demba Ba was their only scorer in October!! - but still good to see.

From Sky Sports - Sunderland 0-1 Aston Villa (http://www1.skysports.com/football/live/match/261656/report)

Best of the Match

Man of the match: It's a toss up between Villa's Ciaran Clark, Ashley Westwood and Barry Bannan - who were all outstanding - but the latter gets it for his calm and composed display in the middle of the park.

06/11/2012, 11:52 AM
CD obviously missed that game.

Manblue
09/11/2012, 1:17 PM
Tomorrow will be a great test for Clark against an inform united strikeforce in RVP and Rooney.

Will also be a good chance for people on here who has seen little enough of him make a more informed assessment.

Colbert Report
09/11/2012, 2:10 PM
Tomorrow will be a great test for Clark against an inform united strikeforce in RVP and Rooney.

Will also be a good chance for people on here who has seen little enough of him make a more informed assessment.

When will you be back in the team Stephen?

Manblue
09/11/2012, 2:12 PM
When will you be back in the team Stephen?

Last week mate :)

24/11/2012, 5:02 PM
Some very good blocks and interceptions from Clark in the first half hour against Arsenal. Looking the more assured CB beside his more experienced partner Vlaar.

tommy_c12000
24/11/2012, 5:17 PM
Some very good blocks and interceptions from Clark in the first half hour against Arsenal. Looking the more assured CB beside his more experienced partner Vlaar.

How is Stevens doing?

24/11/2012, 5:23 PM
Ok so far, nothing special but nothing wrong either. Every now and then he seems to push too far forward and leaves a gap down the left hand side but is usually quick to get back and cover. It is a problem with the likes of Oxlade Chamberlain running into the gap.

24/11/2012, 6:24 PM
Clark had a great game. Stevens was decent if unspectacular.

Crosby87
24/11/2012, 7:03 PM
Why cant Clark play like that when he has green on.

Supreme feet
24/11/2012, 7:14 PM
Why cant Clark play like that when he has green on.

:confused: He's only played one game for us in his natural position. Out of three caps. And he did little wrong against Greece.

SwanVsDalton
24/11/2012, 7:20 PM
:confused: He's only played one game for us in his natural position. Out of three caps. And he did little wrong against Greece.

Yah odd thing to say considering he's barely played in the green.

24/11/2012, 10:21 PM
Thought he played very well too. There was one block in particular in the last few mins that typified his game. Played well to the end. Good to see...

SwanVsDalton
24/11/2012, 10:29 PM
Thought he played very well too. There was one block in particular in the last few mins that typified his game. Played well to the end. Good to see...

Was that when he cut out Arshavin's cross with, I think, Gervinho waiting to turn it in? Outstanding bit of defending.

24/11/2012, 10:34 PM
Was that when he cut out Arshavin's cross with, I think, Gervinho waiting to turn it in? Outstanding bit of defending.

The very one.

25/11/2012, 10:39 AM
that CLEArance from the left was superb. the way he directed it out to the right as well was fantastic.
coming into his own after a shaky few games. wonder what CD now makes of him

hopefully Dunnes absence might not be noticed as much in march*

if he is absent. which is looking likely

swinfordfc
27/11/2012, 3:24 PM
I think when Dunne comes back next month - you see Vlaar and Dunne as the 2 central defender, where will Clark play then?

27/11/2012, 3:36 PM
I imagine he'll play centre half when Dunne gets injured again, if he even wins his place back to begin with. I suspect the honey monster will be moved on as soon as possible anyway.

SwanVsDalton
27/11/2012, 7:50 PM
Agree. I'd say Dunne's Villa career will be over at the end of this season. Certainly can't see him coming straight back into the defence if he gets back to fitness. Fortunately Villa's centre halves have been injured a lot, so would be surprised to not see him play a bit. But I'd have serious concerns about what kind of match practice he'll have for qualifiers in the first half of next year.

DeLorean
27/11/2012, 8:35 PM
Clark missed a super chance while ago. Met a corner almost perfectly at the near post but just glanced it wide at the far post. Booked for a cynical foul on Roberts.

swinfordfc
27/11/2012, 9:42 PM
In fairest to him tonight - he kept the defence together for most part tonight - Baker was dodgy and Clark was barking out the orders so fair play - i didn't think he was good enough earlier in the season but he is changing my tune .... but bigger tests to come.....

28/11/2012, 8:40 AM
Interesting piece I read this morning, it mentioned that the first half was full of chances for either side, not because of creative football, but because of the defending on show from both sides....

DannyInvincible
23/12/2012, 11:49 AM
'Ciaran Clark determined to make mark with Republic of Ireland': http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2012/1223/360186-clark-determined-to-make-ireland-mark/

Aston Villa central defender Ciaran Clark has reiterated his commitment and desire to play for the Republic of Ireland.

Clark, who has skippered Villa in recent matches, started Ireland's friendly international with Greece last month.

He is still eligible to play for England whom he represented at under-17 and under-18 level, as he has not played in a competitive match for Giovanni Trappatoni's team.

But Clark is still determined to play for the country of the birth of his parents.

He said: "It was nice to get the game last time, a friendly. All I can do is keep trying to play well here at Villa and hopefully I'll be in the back of their minds with Ireland.

"Wes Hoolahan was in as well against Greece and a couple of other lads were picked as well. It does give the other players hope now they might get a chance in the up and coming fixtures.

"I was regular for England Under-17, Under-18s, at the start of my career, but it's moved on now.

"I know there are a couple of friendly internationals leading up to the World Cup qualifiers and I've got to see what happens with that.

"Would I go back to England? No chance of that, not at all."

Clark, 23, has relished being Villa captain in the absence of the injured Ron Vlaar and admits skippering several of the players at youth level has made the role easier.

He said: "At the start of the season I never imagined I would be captain now. When a new manager comes in, you just want to try to get a place in the team first and foremost.

"That was my only goal and I've managed to play a number of games which has been a massive bonus for me.

"I captained at reserve and youth-team levels. I am vocal on the pitch. I do like to bark the orders out. It is just passing on info really, getting everyone communicating.

"It is maybe easier to communicate with lads you've played with for a while. The older lads are a lot more experienced and know what they should be doing anyway."

Current first-team players such as Clark, Nathan Baker and Chris Herd all graduated through the academy ranks at Villa.

Clark said: "It is good because we've come through the youth team, even younger than that, right through since the under-18s and reserves.

"We've won youth team and reserve leagues so we are all good mates and all know each other's games really well so that can only be good."

26/12/2012, 5:55 PM
The Sunday Times feature picked him out as "one who got away from England" in their feature last week. Just gifted Spurs a second goal with a horrible misplaced pass in midfield.

the doc
26/12/2012, 8:48 PM
The Sunday Times feature picked him out as "one who got away from England" in their feature last week. Just gifted Spurs a second goal with a horrible misplaced pass in midfield.

Clark is a poor player, I've see him play lots of times live and he's too rash in the tackle, likely to give a pen away or get himself sent off.

He put SSL out for 2 months with a brutal mistimed tackle in an Ireland training session plus nearly cut Whelan in half with a terrible diving in tackle.

He lacks composure too.

If this joker gets to play in any of the big qualifiers then we could have problems.

Completely over rated!

Duffys a better prospect.

27/12/2012, 12:27 AM
wasn't it McShane that put St Ledger out?