View Full Version : Ciaran Clark D Free agent b.1989
27/11/2010, 5:57 PM
Clarke for England!
AlaskaFox
27/11/2010, 6:08 PM
I think losing might have soured his day somewhat, but good goals nonetheless. The first was a great strike. Best player in a dire Villa team.
No way he was the best player. Pretty non-existent apart from the goals. As was Bannan. Arsenal just bypassed the Villa midfield. Downing was Villa's star man today, I thought.
He played ok, did well for both goals. But Villa by and large were very poor today, particularly when you compare today to their performance versus Man U. The team is very inexperienced and they really need the likes of Young and Downing to show the way, Young in particular was very poor! S Ireland came on, looked lively for ten mins and then did his usual disappearing act.
Crosby87
27/11/2010, 6:55 PM
He was playing in central midfield today. Despite the two goals he played very poorly and I doubt we'll see him play in this role again.
Meh. He didnt play very poorly. I suspect you suffer from seasonal affective disorder up there in Canada. You seem to be more negative the other 11 months than in your summer month.
Trap needs to ask FIFA if they can blood some players any way other than playing them in games. Can't he just get McCarthy and Clark in a basement and burn some cards and tell them not to rat on their friends like the mafia used to do?
SwanVsDalton
28/11/2010, 10:41 PM
No way he was the best player. Pretty non-existent apart from the goals. As was Bannan. Arsenal just bypassed the Villa midfield. Downing was Villa's star man today, I thought.
Downing spent most of his time crossing into the crowd and pulling out of tackles. Bit too much of the Downing of last season for my liking - tbh Clark got the nod simply because he scored. No Villa player particularly deserved the time of day after yesterday.
The Fly
29/11/2010, 1:07 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11677_6538467,00.html
Aston Villa starlet Ciaran Clark insists he has no regrets about pledging his international allegiance to Republic of Ireland. Clark, who could have played for England after representing them at Under 18, U 19 and U 20 level, decided to play his international football for the Ireland. The 21-year-old, who has impressed for Villa this season, is hoping to make his Republic of Ireland debut against Macedonia in March and he is happy with his choice of snubbing England.
"I've made my decision, I am Irish," Clark told The Mirror.
"I've played for England in the younger age groups but the time has come and I've decided to play for Ireland if selected. All my family is based in Ireland. If selected I'm sure I will have so much support over there. I am just looking forward to the next international game now as I was injured for the last one but there are a lot of games before then for Villa."
Clark, who scored two goals for Villa as an emergency midfielder against Arsenal on Saturday, admits he did not have time to enjoy his goals as he tried to get his side back into the game before going on to lose 4-2. He added: "I didn't have time to celebrate, I just wanted to get the ball back and push on for the next one."
Yard of Pace
29/11/2010, 2:39 PM
"I've decided to play for Ireland if selected" - what a refreshing attitude.
AlaskaFox
29/11/2010, 6:36 PM
"I've decided to play for Ireland if selected" - what a refreshing attitude.
That's not what he meant. He meant if he gets a call up, he was being humble.
kennedmc
29/11/2010, 6:48 PM
Jaysus Fox you are a glass half empty kind of person ;)
I am pretty sure Yard of Pace means the same thing as you!!
It is good to see Clark say that - its suppose to be a privlege to play for your country - not an entitlement
AlaskaFox
29/11/2010, 6:53 PM
It is good to see Clark say that - its suppose to be a privlege to play for your country - not an entitlement
Ah my sarcasm meter is on by default. :D
AlaskaFox
30/11/2010, 9:04 AM
Yet another rubbish story from caughtoffside:
http://www.caughtoffside.com/2010/11/29/manchester-united-set-sights-on-28m-move-for-aston-villa-and-blackburn-rovers-youngsters/
"Ferguson is said to be an admirer of the England Under 21 pair"
Yard of Pace
30/11/2010, 9:40 AM
That is what I meant, yes!
Really hope Clark avoids the notorious injury curse that has affected some of our brightest young prospects in recent years. Best of luck for the season CC and look forward to seeing you in the green soon.
youngirish
01/12/2010, 2:38 PM
Scouting report:
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/football/premier-league/video/allvideos-22327918/23266980
tommy_c12000
01/12/2010, 7:32 PM
Just got assist for Villa's equaliser V Birmingham. Dunne gave away penalty with challenge on Bowyer earlier in game.
"Salt into the Blues' wounds. Birmingham nemesis Gabriel Agbonlahor gets an inch of space in the box from Ciaran Clark's pass, he spins and lashes into the far corner. That's his third goal in three games at St Andrews." (BBC Sport)
AlaskaFox
01/12/2010, 7:39 PM
Dunne has been horrendous. I thought it was Young who set up the goal, but need to see it again. (Watching on a shoddy quality stream)
EDIT: Sky says Hogg with the assist, so no idea.
tommy_c12000
01/12/2010, 7:50 PM
Dunne has been horrendous. I thought it was Young who set up the goal, but need to see it again. (Watching on a shoddy quality stream)
EDIT: Sky says Hogg with the assist, so no idea.
Looks like the professionals are also getting mixed up with all the Villa youngsters (and not just myself)!
LFCSixty/Eighty
04/12/2010, 11:21 AM
Was interested to hear Traps comments on Ciaran Clark during the week on Off the Ball. He was asked what he thought of CC's performance against Arsenal and he said he'd seen the goals he'd scored but then he blatantly sneared at the idea that he is a midfielder, adding that anyone who had seen Barca v Real Madrid would have seen what midfielders are supposed to be. This is coming from the man who has based his whole Irish tenure on picking midfielders who CAN'T pass the ball.
He's basically slagging of a guy who has just declared for us. If Gerard Houllier, who see's him train every day thinks he is worth putting in the middle than i'm willing to trust his judgement.
Lest not forget this was against Arsenal who will make alot of midfields look like passangers. If someone had been watching Real Madrid against Barca for the first time on Monday they would come to the conclusion that Xabi Alonso isn't a midfielder.
Trap should get over to see him in the flesh a bit more often, other than when Sky Sports show Villa before passing comment.
i... must.... resist... the... Trap... bashing.
04/12/2010, 7:07 PM
Was interested to hear Traps comments on Ciaran Clark during the week on Off the Ball. He was asked what he thought of CC's performance against Arsenal and he said he'd seen the goals he'd scored but then he blatantly sneared at the idea that he is a midfielder, adding that anyone who had seen Barca v Real Madrid would have seen what midfielders are supposed to be. This is coming from the man who has based his whole Irish tenure on picking midfielders who CAN'T pass the ball.
He's basically slagging of a guy who has just declared for us. If Gerard Houllier, who see's him train every day thinks he is worth putting in the middle than i'm willing to trust his judgement.
Lest not forget this was against Arsenal who will make alot of midfields look like passangers. If someone had been watching Real Madrid against Barca for the first time on Monday they would come to the conclusion that Xabi Alonso isn't a midfielder.
Trap should get over to see him in the flesh a bit more often, other than when Sky Sports show Villa before passing comment.
Wait there will be lads on here who will defend Our Leader, Il Trap.
Trap reminds me of a "told you so guy", or the guy from the ewoks, who says something is a crap idea, unless he comes up with the idea. It appears that unless he sees the guy first, picks him and brings him through then he is a player. If the media/fans/whoever are pressing for a player, he ignores it, as though he doesn't want to seem swayed by anyone but himself. Its all very "my toys" really.
thats exactly my problem with him POS.
Ego!!!
04/12/2010, 8:10 PM
I don't really care about his personality, I just want him to win more matches.
Clark would be a decent option for us in midfield but at this point in his career he hasn't really done anything to suggest he'd be more useful than Whelan or Green, aerial ability notwithstanding.
kev mcq
04/12/2010, 8:26 PM
Trap is a numpty. Talking about the Barcelona midfield bein what midfielders should be yet he insists on picking Paul Green. Jesus wept.
and on top of that he has convinced a lot of otherwise intelligent people that no one else can do the job that Green can.
04/12/2010, 9:33 PM
and on top of that he has convinced a lot of otherwise intelligent people that no one else can do the job that Green can.
well maybe they are not that intelligent...but id take that on the whole trap selection not necessarily green, because i did actually think he id ok for the 27mins he was on against slovakia.
04/12/2010, 9:58 PM
Paul, you are one man captcha generator.
Adrock
04/12/2010, 11:36 PM
Paul Green is the Irish granny Xavi though, its a fact.
Having a midfielder like Clark is fine when like Villa we have a couple of wingers.......its not like we're offering any creative threat through the middle now anyway so having a pure holding player wouldnt lose us anything. He's looked a lot more solid in midfield than he looked at the back anyway.
SwanVsDalton
05/12/2010, 3:35 AM
He's looked a lot more solid in midfield than he looked at the back anyway.
Care to elaborate? I've watched Clark extensively, and he appears eminently more comfortable at CB than CM. He doesn't really stamp his authority in midfield at all (two Arsenal goals excepted, and in that game he wasn't exactly dominant in open play). Was totally anonymous against Birmingham in midweek as well. His performances at CB have largely been far more impressive.
Slagging? What sort of thin skinned part of the Limerick do you come from? Besides I wouldn't take Houllier's word on anything given how poorly Villa are playing. Plus most observers on Villa's main fan forum (Villa Talk) would put Clark back at CB, partly because Dunne going through one of his rubbish patches, but mostly because it's where he seems more comfortable. Just because he's an option at midfield doesn't mean he should actual be picked at CM. See O'Shea for reference.
Adrock
05/12/2010, 11:05 AM
Care to elaborate? I've watched Clark extensively, and he appears eminently more comfortable at CB than CM. He doesn't really stamp his authority in midfield at all (two Arsenal goals excepted, and in that game he wasn't exactly dominant in open play). Was totally anonymous against Birmingham in midweek as well. His performances at CB have largely been far more impressive.
Well they briefly experimented with with him at CB at the start of the season, which pretty much ended with a serious humping by Newcastle in which he had a horrendous time, and I can only recall him starting there once since I think. He's playing where he is at the moment to break up play and get the ball to Downing and Young as thats Villa's game plan and he can do the same for us, with maybe Gibson alongside him as more of a playmaker. Given the sparcity of alternative options seems as good a gameplan as any.
tommy_c12000
05/12/2010, 12:42 PM
Wait there will be lads on here who will defend Our Leader, Il Trap.
Trap reminds me of a "told you so guy", or the guy from the ewoks, who says something is a crap idea, unless he comes up with the idea. It appears that unless he sees the guy first, picks him and brings him through then he is a player. If the media/fans/whoever are pressing for a player, he ignores it, as though he doesn't want to seem swayed by anyone but himself. Its all very "my toys" really.
Gotta say that sums up my feelings about the man. Really frustrated with his attitude. "Trap, swallow your pride occasionally, it's non-fattening"
SwanVsDalton
05/12/2010, 3:56 PM
Well they briefly experimented with with him at CB at the start of the season
Experimented? You do realise he's played CB all his life? Not to mention when he made his senior debut at CB against Fulham, at the start of last season.
which pretty much ended with a serious humping by Newcastle in which he had a horrendous time, and I can only recall him starting there once since I think.
No. This season Clark has started at CB five times (and came on at CB for 80 minutes against Chelsea) and has started at CM four times (coming off the bench against Fulham). Since that Newcastle 'humping', he's started at CB twice (as well as 80 mins against Chelsea game).
He's playing where he is at the moment to break up play and get the ball to Downing and Young as thats Villa's game plan and he can do the same for us, with maybe Gibson alongside him as more of a playmaker.
Bottom line is this - Clark playing in midfield has nothing at all to do with form or tactics and everything to do with necessity. Villa have four senior CM's missing and he's playing there as an emergency CM. Incidentally this emergency is why Villa are also playing a 4'3' Scottish hobbit and a reserve no-hoper in midfield. And it's why they've signed a geriatric Frenchman with the pace of a tyreless bicycle...
Anyway since his debut at midfield, Reo Coker and Sidwell have both been chosen instead of Clark when fit. Hardly suggests Houllier really thinks he's a viable option beyond a stop gap.
Anyone who's seen him play much would likely agree.His performances at CM have been patchy. His positioning is poor, and he struggles to do just what you suggest he's there to do (break up play). Right now I'm putting this down to inexperience, his postitioning and reading of the game will improve if he's gets more time at CM. And on the plus side, he's very composed on the ball. But his CB performances have been so assured I wouldn't see the point on keeping him there when Villa's midfield returns to fitness.
Things might change. But right now he deserves a call-up based largely on his CB performances which have been far more consistent and impressive imo.
Given the sparcity of alternative options seems as good a gameplan as any.
Call me old fashioned but I like to select people on form and merit. If the only argument for playing Clark at midfield is because he can play in midfield then it's hardly worth debating. O'Shea and Killer can play centre mid as well but that doesn't mean they should.
Adrock
06/12/2010, 7:47 PM
Experimented? You do realise he's played CB all his life? Not to mention when he made his senior debut at CB against Fulham, at the start of last season.
Bottom line is this - Clark playing in midfield has nothing at all to do with form or tactics and everything to do with necessity. Villa have four senior CM's missing and he's playing there as an emergency CM. Incidentally this emergency is why Villa are also playing a 4'3' Scottish hobbit and a reserve no-hoper in midfield. And it's why they've signed a geriatric Frenchman with the pace of a tyreless bicycle...
Things might change. But right now he deserves a call-up based largely on his CB performances which have been far more consistent and impressive imo.
Call me old fashioned but I like to select people on form and merit. If the only argument for playing Clark at midfield is because he can play in midfield then it's hardly worth debating. O'Shea and Killer can play centre mid as well but that doesn't mean they should.
If you cant get in the Villa defence ahead of James Collins who is responsible directly for 60% of the goals Wales concede (and thats a lot) and looks an accident waiting to happen for Villa it doesnt tend to suggest either O'Neil or Houllier rate his centreback skills as highly as you. Are you watching the Liverpool game? If I've learnt one thing from watching Clark's performances this season, its that he seems a lot more proficient attacking the opponent's penalty box than he is defending his own. I'll keep an open mind on the lad as its still early days but being a midfielder of limited capacaties still puts him ahead on merit of members of our national squad with no capacities at all that seem to disappear in to the black hole in the middle of the pitch throughout Trap's tenure.
Jicked
06/12/2010, 8:52 PM
Subbed off at half-time today. I didn't see the game, but any time I have seen him he hasn't looked anything great yet. It is great to see a young Irish guy in an EPL starting XI but I don't think that necessarily means he should be fast tracked in to the Irish XI.
06/12/2010, 9:13 PM
If you cant get in the Villa defence ahead of James Collins who is responsible directly for 60% of the goals Wales concede (and thats a lot) and looks an accident waiting to happen for Villa it doesnt tend to suggest either O'Neil or Houllier rate his centreback skills as highly as you. Are you watching the Liverpool game? If I've learnt one thing from watching Clark's performances this season, its that he seems a lot more proficient attacking the opponent's penalty box than he is defending his own. I'll keep an open mind on the lad as its still early days but being a midfielder of limited capacaties still puts him ahead on merit of members of our national squad with no capacities at all that seem to disappear in to the black hole in the middle of the pitch throughout Trap's tenure.
Clarke is left-sided so he'd mainly be competing with Dunne for a shirt, unless Dunne were to move across to his less-favoured side. It could work but then again it might not, and Collins is a quality players whose form has just dipped at the moment, just like our Richard.
Clark played OK today and I thought he was a little unlucky to get hooked. Hogg was probably Villa's only good performer on the day so it's understandable.
Maroon 7
07/12/2010, 12:42 AM
He looked a bit lost against Liverpool. Lucas and Meireles were running the show in midfield and neither Clark or Hogg could get anywhere near them for much of the game and didn't get much help from Ireland either. Don't think he's going to be a central midfielder in the long run anyway.
07/12/2010, 9:37 AM
It's hard for a young player to settle in to a losing team. Early days.
Wonder where the "O'Neill out!" Villa fans are now?
AlaskaFox
07/12/2010, 11:15 AM
Subbed off at half-time today. I didn't see the game, but any time I have seen him he hasn't looked anything great yet. It is great to see a young Irish guy in an EPL starting XI but I don't think that necessarily means he should be fast tracked in to the Irish XI.
I thought he was better than most games, and he was miles ahead of Ireland performance-wise. He shouldn't have been taken off at half-time. Picked up yet another stupid booking though.
SwanVsDalton
07/12/2010, 12:48 PM
Don't know what Collins' performances for Wales have to do with anything. Anyway the only argument you're making is that Clark can't displace two international standard, experienced defenders who both had very fine seasons last year and are currently playing terribly. Personally I'd have Clark over either of them, but if Houllier (who I don't particularly rate) really wants to stick with them it's fair enough given their experience and past performances.
Your argument also ignores the key point I was making - Clark is a CB by trade and his performances there have been better. He was totally bypassed last night and outshone by Hogg, a player who isn't much cop but is actually a midfielder.
I'm not having a go at him cos I think he's great - I just think if anyone's really advocating him for midfield, then they haven't really seen him play.
SwanVsDalton
07/12/2010, 12:50 PM
It's hard for a young player to settle in to a losing team. Early days.
No one's really having a go at him, it's about where he's best employed. Having watched him extensively, it's hands down centre half for me. He settled in there very well at the start of the season.
irishfan86
07/12/2010, 5:06 PM
Great points Swan, I tend to agree. I'm excited that we've got Clark now, but not entirely sure midfield is his position. As you say, looked a bit lost against Liverpool for large chunks of time. Definitely looked like a centre-half playing in midfield rather than a natural midfielder.
The Fly
07/12/2010, 5:21 PM
In Clark's case I don't think we should care, as he wouldn't have received the amount of opportunities he has had, if O'Neill had still been in charge.
SwanVsDalton
08/12/2010, 2:24 PM
In Clark's case I don't think we should care, as he wouldn't have received the amount of opportunities he has had, if O'Neill had still been in charge.
In fairness I don't think that's strictly true. O'Neill gave Clark his debut last season and kept him in the squad ahead of Curtis Davies. And Clark would surely been heavily involved this season no matter who was in charge due to Villa's injury problems.
It's not really relevant to Clark but I'm with OwlsFan - Houllier's reaching O'Leary levels of popularity with Villa fans in record time.
Adrock
08/12/2010, 6:32 PM
In fairness I don't think that's strictly true. O'Neill gave Clark his debut last season and kept him in the squad ahead of Curtis Davies. And Clark would surely been heavily involved this season no matter who was in charge due to Villa's injury problems.
It's not really relevant to Clark but I'm with OwlsFan - Houllier's reaching O'Leary levels of popularity with Villa fans in record time.
He only played once all season though. What's a mystery to me is why they consistently leave Carlos Cuellar - a defender of some real class- out of the team and keep on playing a donkey like Ginge Collins. Ultimatley Villa are a squad that has suffered for lack of investment as well as dubious transfer decisions (getting rid of Cahill and Whittingham and wasting most their transfer budget on Curtis Davies) and that catches up on you after a while.
The Fly
08/12/2010, 7:24 PM
In fairness I don't think that's strictly true.
Whilst perhaps not strictly true, it is mostly true. ;)
SwanVsDalton
08/12/2010, 11:26 PM
He only played once all season though. What's a mystery to me is why they consistently leave Carlos Cuellar - a defender of some real class- out of the team and keep on playing a donkey like Ginge Collins. Ultimatley Villa are a squad that has suffered for lack of investment as well as dubious transfer decisions (getting rid of Cahill and Whittingham and wasting most their transfer budget on Curtis Davies) and that catches up on you after a while.
He only played once because Dunne and Collins were really excellent last year, which makes their current form all the more baffling. I'm with you on Cuellar as are most Villa fans, but like I said Collins really did play well last season (much to my surprise as well). He can play a bit but him and Dunne are well out of it so far this season. Also Villa's problems go way beyond letting an Championship level midfielder (Whittingham) and signing a promising, if occasionally ropey, centre half. ;) I actually think Davies could yet turn into a top notch centre half.
Whilst perhaps not strictly true, it is mostly true. ;)
Ok I'll rephrase - it's not really true at all. ;)
09/12/2010, 12:31 AM
Fly, you write more sense when you just provide a link :D
The Fly
09/12/2010, 2:57 AM
Forgive me for being pedantic, but, 'not really true at all' is not an alternate version of 'not strictly true'.
Fly, you write more sense when you just provide a link :D
In all seriousness though, I sincerely doubt that Clark, Bannan, Hogg etc.. would have received the amount of first-team opportunities that they have, had Martin O'Neill still been in charge. O'Neill has always played his favourites and was never really known for giving youth a chance.
Adrock
09/12/2010, 12:03 PM
He only played once because Dunne and Collins were really excellent last year, which makes their current form all the more baffling. I'm with you on Cuellar as are most Villa fans, but like I said Collins really did play well last season (much to my surprise as well). He can play a bit but him and Dunne are well out of it so far this season. Also Villa's problems go way beyond letting an Championship level midfielder (Whittingham) and signing a promising, if occasionally ropey, centre half. ;) I actually think Davies could yet turn into a top notch centre half.
I think Whittingham's a Premiership quality player though just playing a division below his right level, much like Nolan last season. He's certainly be an asset for Villa now. The thing with O'Neil is he makes a big thing of signing English players, even if they are somewhat mediocre like Davies, Knight, Shorey and Harewood but then english players who come through their youth ranks have to go elsewhere to get an opportunity. I honestly think O'Neil would have found a way to get round having to use Clark, Hogg and even Albrighton as starters in their team as he is a little too conservative that way.
They seem to actually have a few Irish players in their youth squad now so hopefully they turn out a little better than Steven Foley and that Fahey guy they used to have.
SwanVsDalton
09/12/2010, 4:16 PM
In all seriousness though, I sincerely doubt that Clark, Bannan, Hogg etc.. would have received the amount of first-team opportunities that they have, had Martin O'Neill still been in charge. O'Neill has always played his favourites and was never really known for giving youth a chance.
I think Whittingham's a Premiership quality player though just playing a division below his right level, much like Nolan last season. He's certainly be an asset for Villa now. The thing with O'Neil is he makes a big thing of signing English players, even if they are somewhat mediocre like Davies, Knight, Shorey and Harewood but then english players who come through their youth ranks have to go elsewhere to get an opportunity. I honestly think O'Neil would have found a way to get round having to use Clark, Hogg and even Albrighton as starters in their team as he is a little too conservative that way.
They seem to actually have a few Irish players in their youth squad now so hopefully they turn out a little better than Steven Foley and that Fahey guy they used to have.
Fair points and it really depends where you fall down on the MON debate. He definitely had his 'favourites' but he signed some decent players and moulded them into a highly competitive side.
Meanwhile this season has seen the emergence of younger players but we're struggling. It's a difficult question to even out. I'd like to think, particularly given the injuries this year, O'Neill would've turned to Albrighton and Clark, although he definitely didn't seem to rate Bannan.
Anyway it's must win this weekend for Villa and it'll be interesting to see what happens to Clark. There's a lot of support for recalling Cuellar and pairing him with Clark at CB, particularly with Ashley Young and possibly Bannan returning to midfield.
02/01/2011, 2:23 PM
Just nodded in at the far post to make it 3-3 in the Chelsea - Villa game