View Full Version : Ciaran Clark D Free agent b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

04/08/2011, 4:49 AM
When I was in school we were told that if you had an E at the end of your surname as in Keatinge, Clarke it meant you were adopted...............

I suddenly have a whole new understanding about the challenges of integrating Waterford people into normal society. ;)

DannyInvincible
04/08/2011, 4:57 AM
The strange thing is that Clark was part of the original 32-man squad before it was whittled down to "26", and that was later corrected to 25. Could Clark not have filled the vacant 26th slot, or was there even supposed to be one anyway? And why name him in a provisional squad a few weeks ago? What was the point in naming a provisional squad at all at this time? I'm not aware of the players having come together for Trap to work out who should make the final cut or whatever. Could he not have named all of Clark, Ward and Delaney in the squad? No harm in seeing what all of them have to offer again surely.

CraftyToePoke
04/08/2011, 5:57 AM
Untill he has played a competitive game, I would like to see no controversy around him at all, ideally.

SwanVsDalton
04/08/2011, 9:36 AM
The strange thing is that Clark was part of the original 32-man squad before it was whittled down to "26", and that was later corrected to 25. Could Clark not have filled the vacant 26th slot, or was there even supposed to be one anyway? And why name him in a provisional squad a few weeks ago? What was the point in naming a provisional squad at all at this time? I'm not aware of the players having come together for Trap to work out who should make the final cut or whatever. Could he not have named all of Clark, Ward and Delaney in the squad? No harm in seeing what all of them have to offer again surely.

It's very unlikely all of them (Ward, Delaney, Clark) would get a run of any consequence. With players in the midst of pre-season, it's surely reasonable to leave players at their clubs unless they are guaranteed game time. Clearly Ward and Delaney are the one Trap wants to take a look at for now.

Consider this also: Clark is 21. Last year was his break through season. He was dogged by nagging injuries and barely played/benchwarmed towards the tail end last year. Moreover he was only regained full fitness in the last fortnight. There's a fair chance he's a little burnt out and would benefit far more from staying at Villa, playing friendlies and building up fitness, than heading over to Dublin for 2 minutes at the end of a friendly.

Not sure what Clark has done over the summer to be dropped... its a strange one if you ask me.

That's the thing - I don't think he's done anything to be dropped. It's just two guys came in and did well when he was unfortunately absent.

I think there's an understandable tinge of paranoia about all this. We're accustomed to the same 25-30 names, and in the last two-three years anyone not in the squad has been accompanied by a trumpeted hysteria of 'OH NO TRAP HATES HIM/HE HATES TRAP/HE'S GOING TO TO DEFECT TO ICELAND'. But maybe, with our increased options, we can afford the luxury of simply leaving players out regardless of their behaviour and/or difficulties in using a mobile phone.

Granted the squad selection process (provisional squads, odd numbers) is a bit confusing, but perhaps it was suggested as a way of preventing May's squad pull-out debacle particularly since it's pre-season?

Either way Clark's omission strikes me as innocuous and, if anything, a positive indication of where our squad is at. Makes a nice change from selecting players because we've no other options or because the manager's afeared they'll toss their toys. Ciaran's likely disappointed but I thoroughly expect him to respond. He'll be back.

Closed Account 2
04/08/2011, 9:45 AM
Reminds me of all the fuss about commentators who switched between pronouncing Kevin Kilbane as "Kill-bayne", "Kill-ban" or "Kill-ban-eh"?

04/08/2011, 11:42 AM
Clarko definitely not- only cricket players are allowed the "o" on the end of their name.
Australian cricketer Clarke (with an 'e') is called Clarkey.

Anything but Clarksie.

Wolfie
04/08/2011, 12:20 PM
wow wolfie, i really disagree with your conclusion if that is the motivation for his absence. What possible good would it do for Trap to test Clark's mettle?? Not sure what Clark has done over the summer to be dropped... its a strange one if you ask me.

Who is "Wolfie". I'm Wolfi.

I just think Clark(e!!) is on the periphery at the moment and its motivation and solid club performances will change that.

the bear
04/08/2011, 11:03 PM
ye clarksie was shakey when he got his chance last season, then other people came in and played better so are quite rightly ahead off him

DannyInvincible
04/08/2011, 11:17 PM
Clarko definitely not- only cricket players are allowed the "o" on the end of their name.

One must wonder where we'd be had Roy and Robbie followed the paths they apparently should have.

Crosby87
04/08/2011, 11:59 PM
Maybe Trap has convinced Steven Reid to come back just for the 2 fixtures in Sept and needs the roster spot.

05/08/2011, 7:39 AM
One must wonder where we'd be had Roy and Robbie followed the paths they apparently should have.

Dunno, but they'd be searching for their birth mothers in Waterford for sure.

greendeiseboy
05/08/2011, 8:55 AM
I suddenly have a whole new understanding about the challenges of integrating Waterford people into normal society. ;)

Jaysus, I better qualify that story - there was a lad in my class in school with the surname Keating but he spelt it Keatinge. His family had a shop in town but the sign was spelt Keating. We asked him why he spelt his name different to the shop name and he told us that he spelt it that way as he was adopted.

Obviously I was taking the urine as regards the reasons for having a E at the end of a surname or has the hole being dug too deep already!

05/08/2011, 10:03 AM
When I was in school we were told that if you had an E at the end of your surname as in Keatinge, Clarke it meant you were adopted...............so lads putting an E at the end of Clark's name mightn't be too wrong;)

When did you change your name then?

greendeiseboy
05/08/2011, 10:09 AM
When did you change your name then?

No E in my name boi!!

Deckydee
05/08/2011, 1:53 PM
Im Decky?

Same?

TrapAPony
15/10/2011, 1:37 PM
Back starting for Aston Villa today at centre half alongside Richard Dunne. The baldy man starts in midfield too.

15/10/2011, 2:17 PM
Playing well so far, as are Villa. They got caught out once in defence but you tend to get that with full backs like Warnock and Hutton.

tommy_c12000
15/10/2011, 2:30 PM
Back starting for Aston Villa today at centre half alongside Richard Dunne. The baldy man starts in midfield too.

Great to see him back starting. Fingers crossed Ireland will qualify for the Euros: with a run of games, he could well be challenging for a starting place in the New Year for the Finals. Good to see Ciaran starting as well . . . . .

TrapAPony
15/10/2011, 2:49 PM
Great to see him back starting. Fingers crossed Ireland will qualify for the Euros: with a run of games, he could well be challenging for a starting place in the New Year for the Finals. Good to see Ciaran starting as well . . . . .

True, but he has to displace the likes of Delaney from the squad first.:rolleyes:

15/10/2011, 3:46 PM
He, and Villa, have done well despite the scoreline. City have just been sublime.

15/10/2011, 3:59 PM
I think City played very well but the scoreline flattered them.

21/12/2011, 6:25 PM
Clark and Ireland both start for Villa today alongside Dunne. It's probably just rotation on McLeish's part (though Ireland is just back from an injury) but a chance for Ciaran to impress in midfield, an area they've been struggling to compete in.

SwanVsDalton
21/12/2011, 6:52 PM
Derrick Williams is on the bench too.

21/12/2011, 7:04 PM
Clark just gave away a bad penalty

21/12/2011, 7:59 PM
Derrick Williams is on the bench too.Thanks, missed him for the live blog, added in now - http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/Live

21/12/2011, 8:54 PM
Settled into the game and done reasonable ok in central midfield

21/12/2011, 9:10 PM
Is it true our Stevie was taken off with 15 seconds left in the first half? McLeish making a point?

TrapAPony
21/12/2011, 9:40 PM
Is it true our Stevie was taken off with 15 seconds left in the first half? McLeish making a point?
He was injured

irishfan86
22/12/2011, 5:53 PM

He was injured

McLeish doesn't f*ck around!

The Fly
26/12/2011, 6:41 PM
Clark is playing in centre midfield this evening in the match against Stoke.

26/12/2011, 8:44 PM
He played OK. Looks hesitant in possession and failed to track a few runs but he was generally OK.

cestlavie
01/01/2012, 10:05 PM
Clarke had great game against Chelsea and set up Petrov goal. Would be nice to see him and Wilson in Ireland squad as they both can play defence and midfield. Would give us options.

01/01/2012, 10:13 PM
I don't think Clark could play in midfield for us. He can do a job there at Premier League level but I think in international games it'd show how unsuited he is to the position. I think he'll be an excellent centre half for us for the next decade though.

cestlavie
01/01/2012, 10:21 PM
Agree especially when ST Ledger is getting no game time at the moment and surely unless he gets regular football we cant take the risk with him in the Euro's.

zero
04/01/2012, 12:09 PM
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/12/01/04/SOCCER_Villa_Clark.html&TEAMHD=soccer&BID=165

04/01/2012, 1:08 PM
With his versatility, he's probably one of the better placed players to take a place in the squad

zero
04/01/2012, 1:40 PM
yes.. though one might make the same observation on marc wilson. i reckon one or the other will go.

The Fly
04/01/2012, 3:11 PM
James Collins might be off to either QPR or Sunderland during this transfer window. (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=james collins&source=newssearch&cd=1&ved=0CC8QqQIwAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww1.skysports.com%2Ffootball%2Fn ews%2F11677%2F7409405%2FDuo-chasing-Collins&ei=9XkET7mtGsOBhQe9s_XBAQ&usg=AFQjCNGSNA93QEIGg2xBujYYYNwPZLphUA)

Fingers crossed!

gastric
04/01/2012, 9:25 PM
James Collins might be off to either QPR or Sunderland during this transfer window. (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=james collins&source=newssearch&cd=1&ved=0CC8QqQIwAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww1.skysports.com%2Ffootball%2Fn ews%2F11677%2F7409405%2FDuo-chasing-Collins&ei=9XkET7mtGsOBhQe9s_XBAQ&usg=AFQjCNGSNA93QEIGg2xBujYYYNwPZLphUA)

Fingers crossed!

Based on gut feeling only, I think McLeish will go after someone like Samba, if Collins leaves, rather than just rely on a young defender like Clark, particularly as Villa have been pretty inconsistent all season. To be honest it is very hard to understand why McLeish would be happy to let Collins go as Dunne and himself have been a tower of strength to Villa over the past few years.

SwanVsDalton
04/01/2012, 10:25 PM
Collins has been awful for a year and a half. He's really poor. Dunne hasn't been great either but has picked it up this season. Don't think Collins would match that. If McLeish can get rid of Collins, he can stick with Cuellar/Clark partnering Dunne, Hutton at RB and Stevens/Chris Herd backing up the full-backs. Given Villa's financial cost cutting, makes sense.

05/01/2012, 8:58 AM
Read a few Villa fans forums and they would agree with Swans statement. According to them Dunne improved form was when Collins was out of the team and that Collins is definitely the weak link in their defence.

gastric
05/01/2012, 10:22 AM
Read a few Villa fans forums and they would agree with Swans statement. According to them Dunne improved form was when Collins was out of the team and that Collins is definitely the weak link in their defence.

On last weekend's performance , Warnock would seem to be the weak link!

05/01/2012, 12:45 PM
Hutton isn't much better, the left side of Villa's defence (left full + left sided centre half) seems to be a problem for them.
With any luck Stevens will get a run there and establish himself as the first choice.

05/01/2012, 1:05 PM
Warnock's error the other day was out of character - he's generally a solid but unspectacular defender. Neither he nor Hutton can cross the ball, which is why I think Enda has a real chance of getting in if he can sort out his positioning.

Olé Olé
05/01/2012, 1:06 PM
Hutton isn't much better, the left side of Villa's defence (left full + left sided centre half) seems to be a problem for them.
With any luck Stevens will get a run there and establish himself as the first choice.

I've seen Stevens twice. Away to PAOK (or Pow-ok as Trevor Welch calls them) and at home to Copenhagen. He was very impressive, both going forward and in defence, against Copenhagen. But I thought he looked slightly off the pace against PAOK. I presume the Stevens of the Copenhagen game is the typical Stevens? He used to ball very intelligently, both crossing and passing. And he never looked like being caught out.

The Premier League is obviously quite a step up from the Eircom League. It will be interesting to see whether McLeish involves him in the first team squad straight away or does what Moyes did with Coleman and blood him with a high-flying championship side.

But, in fairness, Warnock has been pretty poor this season. Liverpool's supposed interest in him last January when he couldn't get a run under Houllier looks like a close escape, especially given the impact of Enrique.

Clark has gained one of his two Irish caps at left full against Wales. Am I correct in saying the other one was at left full also?

05/01/2012, 1:27 PM
Enda's defensive positioning is a bit suspect, which he would usually get away with in Ireland but Partizan, PAOK and Rubin clearly targeted the full backs with cross-field passes and caused him all sorts of problems. Against Spurs and Copenhagen he coped very easily, I thought.

SwanVsDalton
05/01/2012, 1:28 PM
On last weekend's performance , Warnock would seem to be the weak link!

Dunne aside, the Villa defence is one large weak link.

TrapAPony
07/01/2012, 6:12 PM
Very good match from midfield against Bristol Rovers. Great goal too.

theworm2345
07/01/2012, 6:12 PM
Lovely goal there for Clark, goes alone, takes on a few Bristol Rovers defenders, cuts it back on to his left foot and a lovely in to the bottom corner. Almost made this **** poor match worth watching...almost.

10/01/2012, 11:57 PM
Clark never though about going out on loan to boost Euro 2012 chances: http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/aston-villa-fc/aston-villa-news/2012/01/10/aston-villa-ciaran-clark-reveals-his-thoughts-on-a-loan-move-97319-30092313/