View Full Version : Ciaran Clark D Free agent b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Sullivinho
08/02/2011, 11:32 PM
Ringing endorsement for Ciaran from Trap in his post-match interview tonight.

09/02/2011, 9:53 AM
If Man City hadn't been revolutionised, Dunney Monster wouldn't have gone to Villa, wouldn't have met Clarkey's Mother after the friendly vs Valencia, wouldn't have recognised her bogger Leitrim accent, and wouldn't have got Clark to play for Ireland.

Comprende?

It was clear to me kingdom. Mind the bogger accent ye knacker dub.

09/02/2011, 10:04 AM
In fairness, it does sound like a bit of a cop-out on the player's part. And the FAI do seem almost too pre-occupied with getting English youngsters involved at underage level, judging by the proportion of them that seem to be in the squads of every age group. Missing Clark does seem like a glaring oversight though.
Kevin McDonald was at Villa for many years while Clark was a promising youth there and being picked for the English underage teams.

Duggie
09/02/2011, 10:20 AM
isnt both his parents irish? weird he went with england in the first place. anyway hes with us now. fair play to dunney.

02/03/2011, 6:45 PM
Clark's playing centre half tonight with Dunne against City as Cuellar and Collins are both injured. Will be interesting to see which one lines up on the left side.

02/03/2011, 7:32 PM
himself and dunney seem to be getting caught for pace a bit in this game.

CraftyToePoke
02/03/2011, 7:36 PM
himself and dunney seem to be getting caught for pace a bit in this game.

To be fair there isnt much of a midfield ahead of them. I think they have done ok.

02/03/2011, 8:49 PM
There might not have been, but they were caught out numerous times, particularly clark, very slow, positional sense from both was very poor, if yer midfield is poor you don't pull so far up if you are lacking in pace at the back, you have to stay deep, they didnt do that and they got caught out time and time again.

3 -0 is a fair assessment of how they did. Anyone can thank whoever they like but the reality is the score speaks for itself. And it could have been worse.

SwanVsDalton
02/03/2011, 9:07 PM
There might not have been, but they were caught out numerous times, particularly clark, very slow, positional sense from both was very poor, if yer midfield is poor you don't pull so far up if you are lacking in pace at the back, you have to stay deep, they didnt do that and they got caught out time and time again.

What game were you watching? Delph and Herd - two centre mid's playing as full back's were - were caught out several times but Dunne and Clark, despite having no protection from full-back's or centre mid, actually made several crucial interceptions and tackles. They had little or no support and stood up fairly well, Clark was pulled around at the start by Balotelli but he upped his game in fairness and, aside from getting caught from the second, did OK. Dunne was possibly Villa's best player.

When the centre midfield is non-existent it becomes very easy for the opposition to play dainty balls over the top btw. Petrov, Bradley and Bannan were overrun and clueless.

3-0 is a fair assessment of how they did. Anyone can thank whoever they like but the reality is the score speaks for itself. And it could have been worse.

Eh? No one said otherwise. Villa should've got utterly hammered - the fact they didn't is mostly down to Dunne, in particular, and Clark.

02/03/2011, 9:26 PM
Hard to understand why Houlier played a weakened team when they only have 2 more league games this month.

02/03/2011, 9:33 PM
What game were you watching? Delph and Herd - two centre mid's playing as full back's were - were caught out several times but Dunne and Clark, despite having no protection from full-back's or centre mid, actually made several crucial interceptions and tackles. They had little or no support and stood up fairly well, Clark was pulled around at the start by Balotelli but he upped his game in fairness and, aside from getting caught from the second, did OK. Dunne was possibly Villa's best player.

When the centre midfield is non-existent it becomes very easy for the opposition to play dainty balls over the top btw. Petrov, Bradley and Bannan were overrun and clueless.

Ya of course it is, but you dont keep playing out of position and pushing up and up. Dunne was playing in a DMF role at times in terms of where he was positioned in the first half. You have to make the call at the end of the day, and sit deep so you don't keep getting caught over the top. YOu just said that it was the full backs and then said they kept getting caught by balls over the top. Some of these balls were literally played right over them and they couldn't keep the pace with Citys forwards. They make some good challenges alright but they got caught out plenty of times- and not from the wings.

02/03/2011, 9:47 PM
He didn't just play a weakened team. He is punishing Young and Warnock - natural full backs - by leaving them out in favour of inexperienced youngsters playing in unfamiliar positions. Even if those players have clashed with him, it's a bizarre course of action.

Dunne seemed to be playing in midfield for large spells yesterday. Makes sense I suppose considering City were flooding it, but it did leave him exposed at times. They were caught for pace but that's only because Balotelli moves like lightning. Just look at the amount of quality defenders Walcott has made look like pensioners.

Dunne is actually very quick when he gains a head of steam.

SwanVsDalton
02/03/2011, 10:01 PM
Ya of course it is, but you dont keep playing out of position and pushing up and up. Dunne was playing in a DMF role at times in terms of where he was positioned in the first half. You have to make the call at the end of the day, and sit deep so you don't keep getting caught over the top. YOu just said that it was the full backs and then said they kept getting caught by balls over the top. Some of these balls were literally played right over them and they couldn't keep the pace with Citys forwards. They make some good challenges alright but they got caught out plenty of times- and not from the wings.

I think the balance of blame lies much more with the management side who sent out a defensively suspect, and clearly tactically clueless team, than with the centre backs who coped manfully against Man City's onslaught. It's been a trademark of Villa's season - the game plan implemented by Houllier and co appears to contain no allowance for the defenders.

Clark was caught in the first half hour - particularly for the second goal - but he largely recovered well and then upped his game admirably to cope with Balotelli. Most of the ball over the top were to the left wing were Kolarov was given acres of space by Herd.

Dunne was pushing up but it was usually when we had possession - or particularly when he had possession - and he does that often when his team is behind (doesn't do it so much for Ireland funny enough). If he was trying to push the defensively line up, I wouldn't blame him. I actually thought Villa were too deep, particularly in the first half, since Silva and Toure were allowed loads of room in behind the midfield.

He didn't just play a weakened team. He is punishing Young and Warnock - natural full backs - by leaving them out in favour of inexperienced youngsters playing in unfamiliar positions. Even if those players have clashed with him, it's a bizarre course of action.

Luke Young's injured, but agree with Warnock. Villa fans are pretty livid about the selection from what I've seen, although with the club's 88% turnover on wages giving youngsters a run could be a crucial part of the future.

CraftyToePoke
02/03/2011, 10:45 PM
3 -0 is a fair assessment of how they did. Anyone can thank whoever they like but the reality is the score speaks for itself. And it could have been worse.

I dont know Paul, I would have to diagree again, their midfield never once in the whole game managed to set up controlled, sustained posession in the middle third, let alone the opposition third. (well maybe once that I recall, but it wasnt ever really what you would call comfortable, more a series of hurried passes) this will compromise the CB pairing massively, no matter who they are - it was not helped by the full backs either who were neither available as an outlet or preventing easy pass picking by the City wide men.

In these circumstances the CB pairing prevented a real mauling IMO. Paticularly given the array ot attacking talent they were faced with and the movement, which those around them never got to grips with, the CB pairing can only do so much, Dunne and Clark put in a decent shift.

25/03/2011, 8:14 AM
"So, England was a second option. It never felt right to me because Ireland was always the country I wanted to represent."

Love it! Kilbane mark II, funny that he is vying for kilbanes position too at the moment.

25/03/2011, 8:19 AM
If the rumours are to believed I can't believe he is behind Darren O'Dea for centre half and even Kevin Kilbane for left back.

25/03/2011, 8:21 AM
Gspain, are you suggesting you know something more than we do? Or based on what has been said here?

I think everyone now knows Traps failings at this stage, so although extremely disappointing, not all that surprising.

SwanVsDalton
25/03/2011, 9:09 AM
It was reported yesterday Paul - the practice line-up, the same line-up Trap is expected to select tomorrow, featured O'Dea at CB instead of Sledge. Suggests Trap will go for him if Sledge misses out. Bad move (for me, the most mind-boggling of some mind-boggling selections) but, as you say, not all that surprising. We'll see...

25/03/2011, 9:13 AM
Ya I saw that, but gspain usually has some more inside info, thats what i was referring to. Thanks though!

25/03/2011, 9:15 AM
If St Ledger doesn't make it then I'll be very nervous if O'Dea does get the nod.

SwanVsDalton
25/03/2011, 9:17 AM
Ya I saw that, but gspain usually has some more inside info, thats what i was referring to. Thanks though!

Oh right, wasn't aware of gspain's in-the-know status!

25/03/2011, 9:18 AM
I canīt recall which game where the training ground spotters got it wrong, it's not an infallible guide as to who Trap will pick.

AlaskaFox
30/03/2011, 9:48 AM
Villa defender Cuellar: Clark will be top player (http://www.tribalfootball.com/articles/villa-defender-cuellar-clark-will-be-top-player-1538521)

30/03/2011, 10:44 AM
A lot learned. An awful lot to learn.

boovidge
07/06/2011, 8:37 AM
Linked with Man United in the Sun today. 7 million.probably BS but still..

the doc
07/06/2011, 9:18 AM
Too rash in the tackle, needs to learn to be more composed, but has ability.

irishfan86
07/06/2011, 9:26 AM
Probably better to stay at Villa at this point and get steady playing time. O'Shea is a significantly better player in my view at this point and can't always make the starting XI...

07/06/2011, 9:53 AM
Too rash in the tackle, needs to learn to be more composed, but has ability.

I sense there is some forgiveness in the air.

Sullivinho
07/06/2011, 11:35 AM

Second time around for this rumour. He was also linked with them (http://www.caughtoffside.com/2010/09/18/manchester-united-interested-in-potential-8m-aston-villa-defender-swap-deal/) early last season.

Irwin3
07/06/2011, 4:27 PM

Man United already have the exact same player. He calls himself Jonny Evans.

Sullivinho
16/07/2011, 12:55 PM
Cuellar heading back to Rangers? (http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/aston-villa-fc/aston-villa-news/2011/07/15/aston-villa-carlos-cuellar-s-agent-says-fee-has-been-agreed-with-rangers-97319-29062303) Could be good news for Ciaran, despite losing his biggest fan. (http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/aston-villa-fc/aston-villa-news/2011/03/30/aston-villa-ciaran-clark-can-be-the-best-in-europe-says-carlos-cuellar-97319-28426467/2/)

03/08/2011, 8:51 AM
Any reason why he is left out of squad for Croatia. Trap was to explain but haven't heard yet.

SwanVsDalton
03/08/2011, 9:39 AM
Doubt there's any big mystery - unluckily for Ciaran, Ward and Delaney came in the last squads and did well. So Trap would rather take a look at them for now. Don't have a problem with it, Clark's not a first team regular yet though I'd have big hopes he comes into this season strong. If he plays and performs he'll be back in the squad.

Wolfie
03/08/2011, 12:34 PM
Doubt there's any big mystery - unluckily for Ciaran, Ward and Delaney came in the last squads and did well. So Trap would rather take a look at them for now. Don't have a problem with it, Clark's not a first team regular yet though I'd have big hopes he comes into this season strong. If he plays and performs he'll be back in the squad.

True - I think Trapp could be testing Clarkes mettle, in order to see what response he gets.

Primarily, Clarkes out of the squad as, mentioned above, Ward and Delaney did well last time around. I think it serves a secondary purpose to test and motivate Clarke to force himself into the reckoning on merit. Good man management.

AlaskaFox
03/08/2011, 2:01 PM
CLARK. No e.

The thread is called "Ciaran Clark" ffs.

Wolfie
03/08/2011, 3:15 PM
CLARK. No e.

The thread is called "Ciaran Clark" ffs.

If only I'd have known that before I posted. It would have made a fundamental difference to the content and tone of my post.

Thanks for pointing out that highly relevant oversight.

I'm off to evaluate my life, my place in the world and to organise a post mortem on why I supplied Ciaran Clark with E.

AlaskaFox
03/08/2011, 3:29 PM
If only I'd have known that before I posted. It would have made a fundamental difference to the content and tone of my post.

Thanks for pointing out that highly relevant oversight.

I'm off to evaluate my life, my place in the world and to organise a post mortem on why I supplied Ciaran Clark with E.

It's not just you. It's countless posters here and elsewhere. It just gets on my goate.

Supreme feet
03/08/2011, 4:33 PM
In defence of Wolfie, I'm a stickler for grammar and spelling (which is why I avoid the ybig forum), and I've called Clark 'Clarke' quite a few times. For me, it all dates back to Clive Clarke, who, positionally, was a very similar player to today's Clark. Not exactly an unforgivable error.

I was disappointed to see Clark left out, but it would have been harsh on Delaney and/or O'Dea if they had been dropped, having played a significant part in the May/June games. It's not worth getting worked up over - at present, Clark and Delaney are fighting it out for 5th choice centre-back and third choice left-back. It's not going to have any short-term bearing.

SwanVsDalton
03/08/2011, 4:45 PM
True - I think Trapp could be testing Clarkes mettle, in order to see what response he gets.

Two extraneous letters on the end of names in one post? Nuff excuses Wolfee, get back to Cub School.

DannyInvincible
03/08/2011, 6:20 PM
It's not just you. It's countless posters here and elsewhere. It just gets on my goate.

I had a mild lapse in concentration and made this error yesterday in the Croatia friendly squad thread. I don't know how; it was my first time and I realised soon after, but the shame I felt regardless was palpable. As a consequence, I'm starting a self-help "Ciaran Clarke" thread for us types to ease us out of the habit before it worsens to "Kieran Clarke" levels. :)

03/08/2011, 6:30 PM
goate?
Goat or goatee?
goat - no 'e'
goatee - 2 ee's.

DannyInvincible
03/08/2011, 6:35 PM
Hopefully not goatse anyway.

youngirish
03/08/2011, 6:53 PM

Is Robbi Kean in the squad?

greendeiseboy
03/08/2011, 6:54 PM
When I was in school we were told that if you had an E at the end of your surname as in Keatinge, Clarke it meant you were adopted...............so lads putting an E at the end of Clark's name mightn't be too wrong;)

AlaskaFox
03/08/2011, 7:31 PM
goate?
Goat or goatee?
goat - no 'e'
goatee - 2 ee's.

Humour is wasted on some people.

the bear
03/08/2011, 8:26 PM
Is Robbi Kean in the squad?

no , he dropped two E's, he's goin raving

gastric
03/08/2011, 11:57 PM
Just wondering is Clarko or Clarkie acceptable?

boovidge
04/08/2011, 12:01 AM
Clarko definitely not- only cricket players are allowed the "o" on the end of their name.

04/08/2011, 1:55 AM
I'd only be worried if people starting saying Ciaran Clerk.

04/08/2011, 4:47 AM

Primarily, Clarkes out of the squad as, mentioned above, Ward and Delaney did well last time around. I think it serves a secondary purpose to test and motivate Clarke to force himself into the reckoning on merit. Good man management.

wow wolfie, i really disagree with your conclusion if that is the motivation for his absence. What possible good would it do for Trap to test Clark's mettle?? Not sure what Clark has done over the summer to be dropped... its a strange one if you ask me.