Croom B 1 Prospect Priory B 3
Athlunkard Villa B 3 Hyde B 3

Fixtures Sunday 12th:

Moyross C v Caherconlish B, 10.30, B Kelly
Dromore B v Coonagh B, 10.30, T Mannion
Caledonians B v Croom B, 10.30, J Curran
Hyde B v Northside B, 10.30, R Hennessy
Prospect Priory B v Athlunkard Villa B, 10.30, J Clancy

Half 10 kick off. I take it thats over it being an FAI weekend.

Croom and C'lish lost their last two games so they will be looking to bounce back. I fancy cals to nip it tho against Croom. Dromore and Coonagh will be tight will go for a draw. Hyde are getting a few nice results lately and they should get 3 points against Northside.

mogus
06/09/2010, 1:54 PM
Dromore 4-3 Athlunkard

With sickness, work and call ups to the A team (not the movie) testing the depth of the squad for Athlunkard’s trip to Dromore’s home turf. The match started bright enough for Athlunkard with the left winger and centre forwards linking well and causing the right full for Dromore trouble from the start. Chasing a long ball over the top caused the Athlunkard centre half to pull up after he cleared it and signalled the end of his game and the start of a horrible 15min spell for Athlunkard that saw them concede 3 goals before they settled before half-time and managed to get one back.
The second half saw Athlunkard scrap for everything something Dromore did much better than them in the first half and another great goal from their winger (his 4th of the season, one in each game) saw Athlunkard get right back in the game but a mix up at the back and the keeper being slow to react saw Dromore restore a 2 goal lead. With 15 minutes left a free kick from 25 yards saw the Athlunkard striker score one of the best freekicks seen in Junior football this season as his strike sailed over the wall and found the top corner with enough pace on it to beat the keeper. This set up a grandstand finish with Athlunkard committing more and more players forward and Dromore battling hard to keep their lead and looking dangerous on the break, in the end the final whistle ended a 7 goal thriller with Dromore taking the 3 points

Athlunkard 3-3 Hyde

This was a game of 2 halfs. With Athlunkard the better side in the first half and going in well deserving a 2 goal lead at half time. The first few minutes of the second half looked like it was going to be more of the same till a mistake at the back let in the lively Hyde striker to get them back in the game, Hyde then cleared the ball up the field twice and their lively striker scored again and then set up one to put them in the lead with 15 mins to go Athlunkard manage to rally again and got the equalizer put in reality dropped 2 points instead of gained 1.
Shame the match had to end with the Hyde manager running off with the ball with even the ref telling him it wasn't theirs.

francesco_1
06/09/2010, 4:40 PM
Thought Mungret did well today and took their chances. Felt we had the majority of the possesion but didn't do anything with it. We had one of those days. All the work ethic and effort was there but silly mistakes cost us. Think Mungret where in our half only 5 or 6 times the whole game but the difference was they took their chances and finished well and we failed to create much and test the keeper. Silly mistakes from us but we'll pick it up for the next game. A lot of the players are yet to gel and get to know each other which has been very evident so far this season being a new team but we should do okay over the course of the season i think.

I know your being modest Francesco but with the team ye have ye will walk this league as is being proved so far unless ye happen to lose some players which i can't see happening.

Ive been suprised with Athlunkards results as they have looked the strongest out of the teams we have played. They seem to start games very slow though. I can see them pushing up the league as things go on. Prospect should win the league and outside of that i can see promotion being between Cals, Athlunkard and Croom.

Its a bit early to say, as we caught Cal's on a bad day. If they keep on winning then its still going to be tight.
The croom match on sunday was very tight so there is not much between the teams at the top. This weekend we will be missing a few first team players through injury and other commitments so it will be interesting to see what the result is. Steven Kelly twisted his ankle on the bumpy croom pitch and will miss a few weeks.

gk10
06/09/2010, 6:54 PM
lads does anyone know what kinda side croom have? were playing them sunday but havent heard anything about them

A.P Hayes
06/09/2010, 9:08 PM
We played Croom at home two weeks ago and my god they were bad I thought. Still think Francesco like JofSpring that ye'll cake walk it. I mean Croom beat us 2-1 but our guys were twice as bad. Just young lads not finding their feet quick enough and Croom got two handy goals (one a free straight at our keeper) !!!!!

06/09/2010, 10:24 PM
Ya i didn't think much of Croom myself. They aren't a bad team by any means and they beat us but i was suprised with the amount of wins they where picking up. They had a very good centre back the day we played them and nothing went by him. He was the big difference that day i thought.

A.P Hayes
07/09/2010, 9:41 AM
Ya i didn't think much of Croom myself. They aren't a bad team by any means and they beat us but i was suprised with the amount of wins they where picking up. They had a very good centre back the day we played them and nothing went by him. He was the big difference that day i thought.

Ya a big tall bald guy ? By no means anything great but like you said he did a great job back there for them. Broke numerous of our attacks and forget long balls into their defence he cleaned house

midnight
07/09/2010, 10:57 AM
watched cals outside against charconlish there midfield is very strong youth and experience players.. two centre midfield are very strong curly from weston and kelly i think.. the two mitchelle`s and there two wingers are fine additions to a team that just kept there owne last year..prospect are very strong but as a season goes on all team`s will only get stronger and this league is wide open teams at bottom taking points from the top visa versa ..just my opinion.

midnight
07/09/2010, 11:18 AM
ask the LDMC to get on to gerry mcormack lol

gk10
07/09/2010, 6:42 PM
cheers lads hopefully we get 3 points and keep up with prospect i agree with midnight that teams at the bottom will improve and start picking up points the likes of moyross and northside are still finding there feet as a team alot of young players aswel they can only improve with time but it will take a very good side to beat prospect we never got going against them 2 down inside 15 mins and game over they took us apart as we tried to get back into it

07/09/2010, 11:57 PM
Ya a big tall bald guy ? By no means anything great but like you said he did a great job back there for them. Broke numerous of our attacks and forget long balls into their defence he cleaned house

This guy had red hair, he was clearing everything in the air and also he was quick on the ground. Very little past him.

albertg
08/09/2010, 10:45 AM
Hi Lads,

Let me introduce myself, My name is Albert and I´ve recently moved to Limerick for job reasons.

I´ve played football all my life in an amateur basis in Spain, and now I´m going be here for a long time I would love to join a Team.

I usually play as a midfielder altough I played ocassionaly in other positions, and I posted in
the 3A, 3b, and 4 category because I used to play in a 2A regional in Spain, and I don´t know what´s exactly the level but guess would be more or Less that.

So if your team or any other need a player even if it is only to train, feel free to contact me.

Regards.

francesco_1
08/09/2010, 11:42 AM
If you play croom at home you will have a good chance of beatin them. Its near impossible to play any sort of football on that field they have and the only thing that will work is long ball game which suits them.

The bottom goals are a hazzard its like playing on concrete. Im supprised no local politician had campained to get them a better field.

A.P Hayes
08/09/2010, 11:53 AM
Might have grown hair since haha. Ya their pitch is the pits alright but sure its not a patch on St. Pauls !!!!

francesco_1
08/09/2010, 12:59 PM
cheers lads hopefully we get 3 points and keep up with prospect i agree with midnight that teams at the bottom will improve and start picking up points the likes of moyross and northside are still finding there feet as a team alot of young players aswel they can only improve with time but it will take a very good side to beat prospect we never got going against them 2 down inside 15 mins and game over they took us apart as we tried to get back into it

When all the teams have played each other thats when you can really say who will win the league and be there for promotion.
We do have a fairly strong team but as i said earlier things could change over the next few weeks.

Steven Kelly will also be out for atleast 2 months with the ankle injury he picked up out in Croom.

A.P Hayes
08/09/2010, 9:21 PM
Any idea's when FAI cup games coming up ? if its next weekend (the one after this) it'll prob mean we'll be two weeks without a game and only started pickin up some valuable points !!!!

08/09/2010, 9:27 PM
Ya i heard someone say the weekend after this alright and then round two maybe the following weekend. In this division there are going to be long breaks i'd say. With matches being called off etc... and the fact its a small division.

gk10
08/09/2010, 10:40 PM
steven kelly will be a big loss for ye but ye seem to have a decent sized squad. the results around christmas will tell alot when the weather changes and the pitches get worse whoever can dig out a few results will go a long way

nosebleds
09/09/2010, 8:46 AM
i was told steven kelly will be out for the season he completly ruptured his right achilles and toure his left after his was chasing a ball out in crooms pitch last week when he fell in a hole and done the damage the pitch is a total disgrace and their should not be another match played on it IMO......

09/09/2010, 9:09 AM
i was told steven kelly will be out for the season he completly ruptured his right achilles and toure his left after his was chasing a ball out in crooms pitch last week when he fell in a hole and done the damage the pitch is a total disgrace and their should not be another match played on it IMO......

Its a pity the pitch is so bad cause the dressing rooms are very nice.

Northsides pitch is worse. Can see someone breaking their leg on it.

A.P Hayes
09/09/2010, 12:55 PM
For the love of God can these teams not get a proper field to play on ???? This guy goes out on a sunday for a kick about and ends up not playing again for the season ? And the club wont be held responsible !!! Lets hope he's got his insurance paid. I've nothing against Croom but IMO teams should have a sound surface pitch to play on its only fair. Our guys are paying 50euro reg/insurance money to play this season I'd like to think they dont need the Insurance bit !!! Cant see why pitches in dire straights cant be dug up end of/pre-season and relaid. That injury might cost Prospect either or both title and promotion. If I'm out of line I'm sorry but look at GAA pitches up and down the land their as flat as pancakes !!!

gk10
09/09/2010, 3:23 PM
cudnt agree with you more a.p surely there should be some sort of health and safety check on pitches before the season starts. lads going out to play could have jobs to go to the next day and alot of employers wouldnt be too sympathetic to injuries outside of work just hope its not too serious a injury and the lad will be back playing soon

09/09/2010, 3:56 PM
There should be a certain standard that clubs have to meet alright but if they where to get picky about the pitches then a lot of teams would not be able to play. It is very expensive to sort out a pitch but i think it should be the first thing to get right. A lot of clubs build clubhouses etc... but don't have the pitches to back it up.

I must say i was very impressed with the work Murroe have done on the far pitch. Both the pitches where awful before but now one of them is flat as a pancake.

The best pitches i have played on in the lower leagues have been Newport, Coonagh, Killmallock, Charleville, Dromore, Murroe, Weston (in Hogan Park), Aisling, Granville. Some of them depend on the weather conditions but most hold up very well.

francesco_1
09/09/2010, 4:04 PM

Yeah its a bit of a sickner. He was just gettin back to fitness so he will be gutted. I hope he recovers well anyway.

gk10
09/09/2010, 4:15 PM
There should be a certain standard that clubs have to meet alright but if they where to get picky about the pitches then a lot of teams would not be able to play. It is very expensive to sort out a pitch but i think it should be the first thing to get right. A lot of clubs build clubhouses etc... but don't have the pitches to back it up.

I must say i was very impressed with the work Murroe have done on the far pitch. Both the pitches where awful before but now one of them is flat as a pancake.

The best pitches i have played on in the lower leagues have been Newport, Coonagh, Killmallock, Charleville, Dromore, Murroe, Weston (in Hogan Park), Aisling, Granville. Some of them depend on the weather conditions but most hold up very well.

theres a big difference between a poor pitch thats not great for football caherconlish lisnagry etc. and a just plain dangerous pitch like northside and croom players shud be able to play the game without having to look out for potholes on a football pitch.
we played out in murroe last year and it was the best pitch we came across all season but the pitch in coonagh must be the best in the lower divisions apart from probably only wembley must be a pleasure to play there every home game

09/09/2010, 4:21 PM
theres a big difference between a poor pitch thats not great for football caherconlish lisnagry etc. and a just plain dangerous pitch like northside and croom players shud be able to play the game without having to look out for potholes on a football pitch.
we played out in murroe last year and it was the best pitch we came across all season but the pitch in coonagh must be the best in the lower divisions apart from probably only wembley must be a pleasure to play there every home game

Ya i agree with you there some are way too dangerous. Newport have a lovely pitch (well they did 2 years ago) so i'm looking forward to our A team heading out there this season. We are currently using the second pitch out in Coonagh so we are looking forward to moving up to the other one and seeing what that is like. Its a pleasure to have.

gk10
09/09/2010, 4:28 PM
Ya i agree with you there some are way too dangerous. Newport have a lovely pitch (well they did 2 years ago) so i'm looking forward to our A team heading out there this season. We are currently using the second pitch out in Coonagh so we are looking forward to moving up to the other one and seeing what that is like. Its a pleasure to have.

we played ye in a friendly on the pitch closest to the clubhouse before the season started and the pitch was perfectly suited to get the ball down and play match finished 5 5 looking forward to the league game out there hope its as exciting

A.P Hayes
09/09/2010, 5:33 PM

Like gk said people have jobs to go to on a monday morning. Its crazy that teams put more into clubhouses before pitches , I'd rather tog off in my car knowing I was playin on carpet !!! Francesco do ya know whether his injury is covered by club/insurance ? dont get me wrong guys we play most our games on the Cement pitch I'm sure ye know it , when its dry its a great open ball playing pitch but winter time and rain makes it a mud bath but the drainage is brilliant. Look out in the Desmond leagues for instance , Ballingarry , Newcastle west , Askeaton etc etc etc all top notch pitches and a good few with stands or terracing !!!! These places have massive GAA support but soccer doesnt suffer. I dont play or ever have GAA but come on its Ireland there's plenty of land out there thats flat.

blueboy2
09/09/2010, 9:32 PM
Heard prospect against athlunkard is changed to saturday night in cals.

briancool21
10/09/2010, 12:51 AM
Caherconlish pitch is grand for football outside of bein a bit a bit lopsided, Nothing beats Glenviews pitch for that though

mogus
10/09/2010, 6:38 AM
Heard prospect against athlunkard is changed to saturday night in cals.

Ya Athlunkard v Prospect is now on saturday night, Prospect had 2 matchs fixed for Cals at the same time

francesco_1
10/09/2010, 2:09 PM
Ya Athlunkard v Prospect is now on saturday night, Prospect had 2 matchs fixed for Cals at the same time

Hopefully it will be a good match and the rain stays away. The field is in great condition anyway.

A.P Hayes
10/09/2010, 4:47 PM
I dunno bout you guys but sat evening is always a good evening for ball. Pints afterwards then

10/09/2010, 6:04 PM
I dunno bout you guys but sat evening is always a good evening for ball. Pints afterwards then

Ya Sat evening is the job. Frees up all day Sunday then.

Predicitions:
Moyross C v Caherconlish B, 10.30, B Kelly Away

Caledonians B v Croom B, 10.30, J Curran Home

Hyde B v Northside B, 10.30, R Hennessy Home

Prospect Priory B v Athlunkard Villa B, Sat Night, J Clancy Home

Its going to be interesting to see how teams cope with the early kick off. I know a few of our lads where gutted when they heard ha. Anybody here why the matches where all moved to 10:30. It's very strange for this league and i can't see any reason for it. Do the refs have something on that afternoon or something.

gk10
10/09/2010, 9:10 PM
Ya Sat evening is the job. Frees up all day Sunday then.

Predicitions:
Moyross C v Caherconlish B, 10.30, B Kelly Away

Caledonians B v Croom B, 10.30, J Curran Home

Hyde B v Northside B, 10.30, R Hennessy Home

Prospect Priory B v Athlunkard Villa B, Sat Night, J Clancy Home

Its going to be interesting to see how teams cope with the early kick off. I know a few of our lads where gutted when they heard ha. Anybody here why the matches where all moved to 10:30. It's very strange for this league and i can't see any reason for it. Do the refs have something on that afternoon or something.

our game is moved to 2 on sunday a and b team were both down for home games at the same time.
i think the games are on early because half the divisions are playing saturday night so the refs are free sunday morning.

A.P Hayes
11/09/2010, 1:35 PM
Any body know what time k.o for Prospect V Athlunkard ? Be a good game to watch and see what the home side are at ?

11/09/2010, 4:16 PM
Should be a 6:15 kick off but i wouldn't be 100% sure on that.

blueboy2
11/09/2010, 8:27 PM
Prospect 4 Athlunkard 2

12/09/2010, 12:08 PM
Dromore B 1-3 Coonagh B

Lil _Man
12/09/2010, 1:40 PM
Hyde B 1-1 Northside B

gk10
12/09/2010, 4:02 PM
cals 1 1 croom
probably a fair result we had the better chances first half and went in front just before half time in the second half croom threw everything they had at us but we defended very well even with the loss of both our starting centre halves through injury they got the equaliser with just under 10 minutes left and from then on it was end to end stuff couldnt deny croom their point but stil dissapointed we didnt manage to hang onto our lead

briancool21
12/09/2010, 5:41 PM
Moyross 1-2 Caherconlish B back on track for the lish great result

mundener
12/09/2010, 6:44 PM
Hyde B 1-1 Northside B

Good point for Northside.... or maybe hyde couldnt get used to there new ball they robbed.!!!!!!!

francesco_1
12/09/2010, 8:02 PM
Prospect 4 Athlunkard 2

Prospect 5 Athlunkard 2.

We went 2 goals up in first 15 mins and then had a penalty to make it 3 but it came back off the post. We started to get sloppy then after that and let Athlunkard back in to the game with a penalty. Second half we made it 3-1 but to Athlunkard's credit they battled on well and made it 3-2 and with 15 mins to go we made sure of it with two well taking goals.

gk10
12/09/2010, 8:11 PM
O’Neill’s Soccer Division 4
Northside v Prospect Priory, 2.00, J Carey
Athlunkard Villa v Caledonians, 2.00, M O’Halloran
Coonagh Utd v Hyde Rgs, 2.00, P O’Brien
Croom Utd v Moyross C, 2.00, M Kavanagh

francesco_1
13/09/2010, 3:49 PM
Northside v Prospect Priory, 2.00, J Carey
Athlunkard Villa v Caledonians, 2.00, M O’Halloran
Coonagh Utd v Hyde Rgs, 2.00, P O’Brien
Croom Utd v Moyross C, 2.00, M Kavanagh

Northside v Prospect Priory, 2.00, J Carey Away WinAthlunkard Villa v Caledonians, 2.00, M O’Halloran Away Win
Coonagh Utd v Hyde Rgs, 2.00, P O’Brien Away WinCroom Utd v Moyross C, 2.00, M Kavanagh Home Win

midnight
13/09/2010, 6:51 PM
Northside v Prospect Priory, 2.00, J Carey Away WinAthlunkard Villa v Caledonians, 2.00, M O’Halloran Away Win
Coonagh Utd v Hyde Rgs, 2.00, P O’Brien Away WinCroom Utd v Moyross C, 2.00, M Kavanagh Home Win

hyde will lose

A.P Hayes
13/09/2010, 9:16 PM
Good point for Northside.... or maybe hyde couldnt get used to there new ball they robbed.!!!!!!!

Hahaha! I read that post earlier bout what happend against Athlunkard. I' not gonna name teams but we played a few sides in Mungret too this season and OUR match balls heading off with the opposition !!! Suppose its always nice to get a memento after getting beat :P

13/09/2010, 9:16 PM
hyde will lose

What makes you say that midnight?