View Full Version : Keith Andrews
Pages :
[
4]
stiffler
01/03/2009, 3:30 PM
Big man scores an important goal for Blackburn today as they beat hull in a bottom of the table clash.
republicofwhite
11/03/2009, 8:44 AM
Progressing nicely...
http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5035687,00.html
11/03/2009, 9:41 PM
Good result for Blackburn, it takes them out of the relegation zone, and it leaves the 'least Irish' teams in it - Portsmouth, Middlesbrough and West Brom.
If any of those 3 escape relegation it will put a squad player in the relegation zone.
Fergie's Son
12/03/2009, 12:01 AM
Odd to look at it that way but it's a good way to look at it! More Irish in the Premiership the better.
12/03/2009, 6:35 PM
He went off after 56 mins last night. Tactical or injury?
irishfan86
12/03/2009, 10:30 PM
He went off after 56 mins last night. Tactical or injury?
They were down 1-0 at the time, and Allardyce brought him off in favour of a forward.
Purely tactical.
republicofwhite
13/03/2009, 9:28 AM
I was at the match, he was Blackburn's most tidy player in a period of disarray for the first ten-15 minutes but started to fade out for the rest of the half, like everyone else. Only Warnock was doing anything and Fulham were cruising. But yeah, a purely tactical switch in the end as McCarthy was needed to change the approach. He couldn't take off Tugay that early as he was creating everything and Warnock was having a stormer defensively and going forward so he was the only one that could go really...
sligofan4ever
21/03/2009, 3:11 PM
Just scored an equiliser for Blackburn against West Ham, its 1-1 now.
tommy_c12000
21/03/2009, 3:14 PM
Great to see him score just before the Bulgaria game. A bit concerning is the recent time he has spent on the bench
21/03/2009, 3:15 PM
Yes I just noticed that on sky sports I think thats his third of the season?
Pretty good going.
sligofan4ever
21/03/2009, 3:17 PM
Yes I just noticed that on sky sports I think thats his third of the season?
Pretty good going.
Anytime ive seen him play hes been impressive. At first Blackburn fans questioned hm, but now he must be both their favourite signing (this season) and the bargain of the season for them.
21/03/2009, 3:21 PM
Great to see him score just before the Bulgaria game. A bit concerning is the recent time he has spent on the bench
I think the Arsenal game last week was the first league game he didn't start since October.
tommy_c12000
22/03/2009, 2:57 AM
I think the Arsenal game last week was the first league game he didn't start since October.
Ya i know. All i was saying that I was a bit concerned with him being dropped 2 games on the bounce. If he was genuinely the real deal, Allardyce would have him as one of the first names on the team sheet considering the team are struggling at 17th position in the premiership
http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/rovers-snub-fulhams-andrews-enquiry-418033.html
Fulham enquiry for Andrews, very interesting.
Ghost2hammers
09/07/2009, 2:47 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/rovers-snub-fulhams-andrews-enquiry-418033.html
Fulham enquiry for Andrews, very interesting.
As jbyrne has said in the transfer topic........blackburn are not interested in selling him........which is good confidence boost for the lad.
jbyrne:
"fulham interested in keith andrews. blackburn not interested un selling
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5422600,00.html "
carloz
09/07/2009, 7:00 PM
Fair dues to the lad. Lot of raised eye brows when he got his move to the Premiership but the fact that a Europa League team want to sign him up proves his place is in the premiership.
10/07/2009, 9:05 AM
+1
Good to see there are other premiership clubs and managers who value him. good on him.
johnnyc
10/07/2009, 9:37 AM
Have been impressed with Andrews most times I've seen him play. We're lucky to have him.
10/07/2009, 11:46 AM
Does well enough for us that's all that matters , I know the Blackburn fans aren't really impressed with him so it would be a good move for him
republicofwhite
10/07/2009, 12:29 PM
They like him now, he won them over during the course of the season. Although it was slightly hard towards the end when he being played at right back against the likes of rampaging Liverpool.
EastTerracer
22/07/2009, 5:39 PM
Andrews signed a new 4 year contract with Blackburn today. Hopefully that is a sign that Allardyce rates him and wants to keep him. The next step is to play him in midfield instead of at full-back like the end of last season.
http://www.rovers.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10303~1730505,00.html
Razors left peg
19/11/2009, 11:30 AM
Im too sick and upset to get involved in all the other threads about match last night but I just wanted to say I thought Keith Andrews produced the best midfield performance by an Irish player since Roy Keane against the Dutch.
I wasnt a fan of him before last night at all but the amount of tackles he won was incredible.Whelan too was excellent but it almost seemed that everytime an irish player won a ball back off the french that it was Andrews that did it. And it wasnt just in our own half either,he was box to box all night.
19/11/2009, 12:10 PM
Yeah I would agree Razor absolutely outstading. Whelan was a big loss when he went off.
colster
19/11/2009, 2:09 PM
Im too sick and upset to get involved in all the other threads about match last night but I just wanted to say I thought Keith Andrews produced the best midfield performance by an Irish player since Roy Keane against the Dutch.
I wasnt a fan of him before last night at all but the amount of tackles he won was incredible.Whelan too was excellent but it almost seemed that everytime an irish player won a ball back off the french that it was Andrews that did it. And it wasnt just in our own half either,he was box to box all night.
Couldn't agree more. Andrews, Lawrence and St Ledger were excellent last night. I think the deserve special mention. I doubt any of them have played in a game of that importance and with that amount of pressure and they more than stood up and were counted.
It makes it all the more annoying that these lads may have missed out on the highlight of their careers.
Den Perry
19/11/2009, 2:12 PM
Couldn't agree more. Andrews, Lawrence and St Ledger were excellent last night. I think the deserve special mention. I doubt any of them have played in a game of that importance and with that amount of pressure and they more than stood up and were counted.
It makes it all the more annoying that these lads may have missed out on the highlight of their careers.
I totally agree
cestlavie
19/11/2009, 2:20 PM
Plkayed really well, I hope this puts an end to all the criticism regarding him being a very limited player. He's better than you think. You would not be in premership if you were bad player
19/11/2009, 2:23 PM
This sums it up for a lot of us
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/46754000/jpg/_46754164_keane_andrews_466.jpg
Yard of Pace
19/11/2009, 2:30 PM
To think he was a 4th division player not so long ago is simply amazing. I hope the French media took note of that. We wrote enough about yer man being a gypsy. ;)
19/11/2009, 2:31 PM
This sums it up for a lot of us
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/46754000/jpg/_46754164_keane_andrews_466.jpg
:(:( every player gave it everything.
FarBeag
19/11/2009, 3:03 PM
During the qualifying games he was asked to do a specific job and that was to sit in midfield and break play up. It did not do him justice as a player. Last night he was asked to play and get forward when he could. It showed that he is a lot better player than most of us though he was.
IsMiseSean
19/11/2009, 3:07 PM
I feel awful today... Cant imagine what its like for the players, that picture is painful to look at!!
Duggie
19/11/2009, 3:12 PM
I feel awful today... Cant imagine what its like for the players, that picture is painful to look at!!
it is painfull to look at. as you say we all feel desperate but imagine how they feel. i hope this pulls the squad together even more for the euro qualifiers. with a bit of luck get a decent draw and fcking top it lads.
Ireland4ever
28/08/2010, 12:43 PM
On Sky Sports now for the Blackburn game, is he gonna be back for Armenia?
Not available for Blackburn again this weekend, the chances of him being match fit and available for Russia/Slovakia look to be diminishing.
rebelmusic
24/09/2010, 10:36 AM
Which means Paul Green in midfield....I'm sorry but he'll be taken to the cleaners. Trap has played him in 2 friendlies and against 2 minnows. And against Armenia, the only real game to judge him on, he was probably the worst player on the pitch.
24/09/2010, 2:11 PM
When did Keith Andrews turn into Roy Keane?
boovidge
24/09/2010, 2:27 PM
when he had a good game against france
IsMiseSean
25/09/2010, 1:59 PM
On the bench for Blackburn today, hopefully he'll get 15-20mins
25/09/2010, 2:13 PM
That's a relief - hopefully his fitness holds up for Russia/Slovakia.
25/09/2010, 4:03 PM
was introduced on 66 minutes for N'Zonzi
theworm2345
21/01/2011, 8:07 PM
In contention for this Sunday's match...very good to see
http://www.rovers.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10303~2272532,00.html
theworm2345
01/02/2011, 3:10 PM
Sort of slipped through the cracks, but Andrews started and played 70 minutes in Blackburn's 3-1 loss at Villa in the FA Cup on Saturday. Played a great ball that lead to their goal.
TrapAPony
02/02/2011, 7:13 PM
Making his first Premiership start since September tonight.
Starts for Blackburn away at Villa today. Would be good to have been back and fully match fit for next month.
theworm2345
26/02/2011, 3:09 PM
Conceded the penalty that gave Villa their opener.
SwanVsDalton
26/02/2011, 11:03 PM
MOTD was not kind to him. Saw him giving the ball away sloppily a couple of times, and was totally, embarrassingly, at fault for the penalty - caught napping on the ball, inside the box, by Young and then hauled him down. He knew it too - looked right peeved at himself.
Could claim rustyness though, and I'd definitely welcome him back to the squad especially if Green was to make way. Wishful thinking.
26/02/2011, 11:37 PM
I suspect he will start against Macedonia provided he's had a run of games beforehand.
SwanVsDalton
27/02/2011, 12:37 AM
I'd say the race is on between him and Gibson - if Fergie was to throw Darron into a few more big games between now and then it'd be fairly tight. And at home, Gibson would give us more of an attacking edge if Trap was feeling 'dangerous'.
Colbert Report
27/02/2011, 12:56 AM
When's the last time Trap felt like playing "dangerous"? Not going to happen!
SwanVsDalton
27/02/2011, 1:26 AM
I know. But playing Darron Gibson is to 'dangerous' what Joan Rivers is to 'natural beauty'.