View Full Version : Keith Andrews

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

03/11/2008, 9:21 AM
Yeah it was a lovely shot.

04/11/2008, 11:09 AM
“I played with Keith at Wolves,” Ince said. “He couldn’t get in the side because I was playing but he is a fantastic player.

Wolfie
04/11/2008, 12:23 PM
“I played with Keith at Wolves,” Ince said. “He couldn’t get in the side because I was playing but he is a fantastic player.

"When I went there he was going to leave but I forced him to stay"

The old softly, softly approach. Classy.

beautifulrock
04/11/2008, 2:15 PM
"When I went there he was going to leave but I forced him to stay"

The old softly, softly approach. Classy.

Tough love lads and it looks like it worked for Keith. I am sure he is not compaining about being made stay at the Dons.

04/11/2008, 2:47 PM
Perhaps this topic could be merged with:

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=101358

Ireland4ever
08/11/2008, 2:25 PM
But sure this is the Keith andrews thread....the boy is good but dunno if he warrants two threads....

See Ince was singing his praise again this morning...he's a real talent i feel we should be nurturing. Big game for him tomorrow.

http://football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_4471121,00.html

10/11/2008, 8:31 AM
Started yesterday, didnt do an awful lot wrong imo but was taken off at half time for Derbyshire, who did nothing in the second half. Chelsea were very dominant in midfield in the first half, as you would expect.

10/11/2008, 1:20 PM
Started yesterday, didnt do an awful lot wrong imo but was taken off at half time for Derbyshire, who did nothing in the second half. Chelsea were very dominant in midfield in the first half, as you would expect.

Wasn't it his backpass that sent Anelka through early on that probably should have been a penalty and red card? Not 100% sure on that but think so.

10/11/2008, 1:23 PM
Obnly saw bits of it but of interest for me was that he seems to play a very advanced midfield role, with Grella playing the more defensive role. Neat, tidy and mobile. Nothing flash.

10/11/2008, 3:02 PM
He was a bit more defensive in the B game against Forest, cleaning up, assisting the defence when they got crowded, and spraying the ball out to the wingers.

10/11/2008, 3:28 PM
Didn't notice him in the match yesterday. Can't remember his name being mentioned at all, actually.

Noelys Guitar
15/11/2008, 2:57 PM
Best player on the park in the first half. His ball control and passing have been excellent.

15/11/2008, 6:25 PM
BBC Sport Player Rater man of the match: Blackburn's Keith Andrews 8.67 (on 90 minutes).

Noelys Guitar
15/11/2008, 9:49 PM
Going on todays game I can understand why Trap would pick Andrews ahead of Reid. Reid played well when he came on but goes for the killer ball 50% of the time. He gave up possesion twice in the last ten minutes just inside his own half. I can't remember Andrew's giving the ball away cheaply. He instigated most of Blackburn's attacks for the 70 or so mins he was on (why did Ince take him off?).

16/11/2008, 12:06 AM
BBC Sport Player Rater man of the match: Blackburn's Keith Andrews 8.67 (on 90 minutes).

It says 5.41 pretty much the lowest rating.

Noelys Guitar
16/11/2008, 2:17 AM

You must be looking at Eamon Andrews.

16/11/2008, 2:56 AM
from http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/7711291.stm

Noelys Guitar
16/11/2008, 3:08 AM

Dare I say Andy Townsend in his prime based on 70 mins tetsujin. Really impressed with this guy. Looks like he has the balls to make it.

16/11/2008, 3:37 AM
Dare I say Andy Townsend in his prime based on 70 mins tetsujin. Really impressed with this guy. Looks like he has the balls to make it.Have to say I did have my doubts about him making the move up to the Premiership from League Two last season, but he hasn't looked out of place. Don't know if I'd go as far as compare him with Townsend just yet. Obviously centre midfield is one of out weaker positions, along with left full, so any options we have there have to be looked at. He was my pick for MOTM in the B game, and I wouldn't have any problems with him starting against Poland on wednesday.

Manc Irish Wolf
16/11/2008, 10:13 PM
Great to see him getting a chance in the top flight - fair play to Ince as it's a bold move. He looked quality when he came through at Wolves and was our youngest captain since Billy Wright for a spell under Dave Jones, but enjoyed the good life a bit too much and lost his way with Ince and Rae as competition.

Big, strong lad, tough in the tackle with a good range of short and long passing who prefers to keep it simple - so would seemingly fit well into Traps mould for a Centre Midfielder - although not the quickest if I remember right. Would be interesting to see how he fairs if he gets a chance on Wednesday.

Encouraging the number of modern midfielder options we have emerging in the centre-midfield position - Andrews, Gibson, McCarthy, Garvan & O'Toole all have a chance to stake their claim, although frustrating how the latter two have been in and out of their sides recently after scoring so many.

irishultra
17/11/2008, 12:41 AM
1.McCann
2.Garvan
3.Fahey
4.O'Toole
5.McCarthy
6.Gibson
7.S.Quinn
8.Joe Gamble

Good enough. Prob all them are high level championship at least.

13/12/2008, 4:42 PM
Very bad result for Blackburn today, dont think Ince will be around for the next game. Will be bad news for Andrews, doesnt sound like he had a good game today.

irishfan86
14/12/2008, 8:56 PM
I wouldn't blame the result on Andrews at all. Ince has his tactics all wrong, and he was playing without any sort of defensive midfielder.

Their heart consisted of Andrews (a driving midfielder), and Tugay (a playmaker).

Neither of them have the discipline or the work ethic to play that defensive role.

Maybe Trap can mold Andrews to play in that role, but if last night was any indicator, he's too attack-minded to play in our system.

tommy_c12000
16/12/2008, 10:58 AM
Ince has just been sacked. Real test for Andrews now. Interesting to see how he gets on

third policeman
16/12/2008, 3:49 PM
Ince has just been sacked. Real test for Andrews now. Interesting to see how he gets on

Would be very surprised if he remains a fixture at Blackburn, especially of Souness comes in. He does not have a premiership reputation, and will probably be seen as a relic from the soon to be expunged Ince era. I expect to see him back in League 1 before the beginning of next season.

Hunty's Flatcap
16/12/2008, 3:49 PM
It's a shame for Andrews; Ince has clearly given him his big chance. I don't think he's done himself any harm with his performances this season and in the absence of our own Stephen Reid, he's seen a fair amount of first team football this season. I hope the new manager, whoever that may be, will develop him further and see him as part of his first team plans. In fairness, it's not as if Glenn Whelan is a first team regular at Stoke, yet he's been a regular under Trap and Andrews has more years behind him the most of the other centre midfield candidates.

16/12/2008, 8:16 PM
I reckon that a host of Championship teams would bite the hand off the new Blackburn manager if he was to release Andrews.

16/12/2008, 8:25 PM

It definately says 3.79 here,, which is a very low score, I don't think
you get MOM if you lose 3-0, I suspect the 3.79 is correct.
Few Blackburn players scored over 5.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/b/blackburn_rovers/6183155.stm

16/12/2008, 9:51 PM
Watch a game and then look at those BBC fan ratings to see how accurate they are. Not very. ;)

mackannovic
17/12/2008, 1:45 AM
Ince is gone, expect Andrews to play very little football for the rest of the year. Rovers will return to a midfield containing Johann Vogel who had been out in the cold since Ince's arrival. Expect Vogel and Dunn to start on Saturday v Stoke.

Colbert Report
17/12/2008, 2:06 AM
Keith Andrews needs to cut bait and aim for a mid-table Championship club to take him on. I won't blame him if he sits it out and collects the Premiership paycheques though, he's earned it.

irishfan86
17/12/2008, 2:45 AM
Keith Andrews needs to cut bait and aim for a mid-table Championship club to take him on. I won't blame him if he sits it out and collects the Premiership paycheques though, he's earned it.

Uh...let's see if he can impress the new manager first before we find him a new club. :confused:

dr_peepee
17/12/2008, 8:43 AM
Yeah... Clean slate now. This is the acid test

17/12/2008, 10:11 AM
I'm with the doctor on this one. Up until this, people could legitimately claim that Andrews' place in the team was down to favouritism on Ince's part. With a new manager in place it's time for him to show that he's worth his place in the side.
Besides I don't think it was Ince that was picking him for Ireland, was it?

weldoninhio
17/12/2008, 7:19 PM
I don't think there is very much chance that Andrews will start another Premiership game again unless he joins a team in the Championship who get promoted. I would expect Allardyce to see that Dunn, Vogel, Grella, Mokoena and Tugay should all be in ahead of him in centre midfield and i'm sure that big Sam will bring in his own players in the new year, dropping him further down the list.

third policeman
17/12/2008, 7:55 PM
I'm with the doctor on this one. Up until this, people could legitimately claim that Andrews' place in the team was down to favouritism on Ince's part. With a new manager in place it's time for him to show that he's worth his place in the side.
Besides I don't think it was Ince that was picking him for Ireland, was it?

No it was a management regime that thought that being a Premiership benchwarmer was an instant passport to international football (Folan, Whelan, Miller, Gibson......) and only started watching our Championship players about a fortnight ago.

irishfan86
17/12/2008, 9:03 PM
Allardyce's appointment is good for all of the Irish players at Blackburn I'd say.

Reid, Andrews, and Treacy are all athletic players that will suit Allardyce's preferred 4-3-3 formation.

18/12/2008, 11:18 AM
Allardyce's appointment is good for all of the Irish players at Blackburn I'd say.

Reid, Andrews, and Treacy are all athletic players that will suit Allardyce's preferred 4-3-3 formation.

Ya agreed, I wouldve thought that Andrews is Allardyce's type of player. Hope Big Sam will give him a fair shout at it at least.

20/12/2008, 7:58 PM
Sam dropped a central midfielder for today but it's not the one we were all expecting, Dunn comes in for Mokoena to partner Andrews. Interstingly Treacy doesn't make the bench but Judge does, which is bizarre since Treacy was having a great season so far, maybe he's injured?

Considering the result, you would expect Andrews to hold his place for the next game. Although judging by the reports the scoreline was harsh on Stoke - Whelan played the full 90 mins.

22/12/2008, 11:14 AM
Considering the result, you would expect Andrews to hold his place for the next game. Although judging by the reports the scoreline was harsh on Stoke - Whelan played the full 90 mins.

andrews played well on sat i heard. made the "squad" for bbc website team of the weekend

lionelhutz
22/12/2008, 12:27 PM
Ince is gone, expect Andrews to play very little football for the rest of the year. Rovers will return to a midfield containing Johann Vogel who had been out in the cold since Ince's arrival. Expect Vogel and Dunn to start on Saturday v Stoke.

He played the full 90 mins on Saturday and played very well. Just shows how ignorant some posters are of Andrews ability. They just assume the likes of Vogel (because he's foreign) must be ahead of Andrews in the pecking order. Vogel is very poor of what I've seen of him, Andrews is far superior.

irishultra
22/12/2008, 5:17 PM
He played the full 90 mins on Saturday and played very well. Just shows how ignorant some posters are of Andrews ability. They just assume the likes of Vogel (because he's foreign) must be ahead of Andrews in the pecking order. Vogel is very poor of what I've seen of him, Andrews is far superior.

Andrews is foreign.:confused:

22/12/2008, 7:25 PM
They (Hanson) was quite complimentary to him on MOTD, playing the 'Lee Carsley' role. Didn't get a very high rating on Sky though - "did his job". But it's an key role in front of the defense where the work can go unnoticed, what he did looked easy but it's all part of being in the right place at the right time.

Ince had to have confidence in him to bring him in, however the clubs lost confident in Ince!

It will be interesting to see how he gets on there and whether he gets regular starts, and if Blackburn continue to gets results.

Hard to judge on just one match, but I have a feeling he will do OK.

lionelhutz
23/12/2008, 10:13 AM
Andrews is foreign.:confused:

If you read it again, its obvious I meant Vogel is foreign

livehead1
23/12/2008, 12:42 PM
Both are foreign.

Andrews is Irish?:rolleyes:

as_i_say
23/12/2008, 1:01 PM
ah old roly eyes is back with a vengeance :rolleyes:

mackannovic
24/12/2008, 12:16 AM

Ye can't have seen much of Vogel he's only played 10 minutes this season. When he played at the tail end of last season he was exceptional for Blackburn, this season he's only played 10 minutes because of a falling out with Paul Ince. You can't seriously be suggesting that a player who has played for Milan, Betis and PSV along with captaining his country who he has represented since he was 18 is in a lower bracket than a player who spent the vast amount of his career being passed from loan to loan in the lower leagues after 6 years at Wolves where he failed to impress in such a long stint. And as for the argument that Vogel is well into his thirties, he's 31, hardly a point of being over the hill and Andrews is 28 so he's not exactly gonna get much better at that age. As for Vogel not playing many games well thats true but players like Reid have played just as little over such a space of time and I know that Reid would be put straight in ahead of Andrews when fit again.

For all that its worth do you seriously think Andrews would've been signed by another Premiership club? The only reason he's at Blackburn was Paul Ince, it's the same reason Robbie Fowler turned up took a nice paycheck and left. Ince sorted his mates out with a chance at the big time. Maybe Ince thought he might cut it but we all know how good Inces judgement turned out for him. Go to any Blackburn message board and you'll see the general feeling is that he isn't good enough to play in the Premier League. He's a very, very limited player.

The team last weekend was not picked by Allardyce as he had only taken over training on the Friday with McDonald. The squad was selected for him by Archie Knox and Ray Mathias who would've excluded Vogel on the basis of his bust up with Ince. Allardyce has since dismissed Mathias and Knox and has publicly stated that every player at the club starts with a clean slate. In short expect Vogel to return to the first team squad quite soon.

livehead1
24/12/2008, 12:56 PM
Ye can't have seen much of Vogel he's only played 10 minutes this season. When he played at the tail end of last season he was exceptional for Blackburn, this season he's only played 10 minutes because of a falling out with Paul Ince. You can't seriously be suggesting that a player who has played for Milan, Betis and PSV along with captaining his country who he has represented since he was 18 is in a lower bracket than a player who spent the vast amount of his career being passed from loan to loan in the lower leagues after 6 years at Wolves where he failed to impress in such a long stint. And as for the argument that Vogel is well into his thirties, he's 31, hardly a point of being over the hill and Andrews is 28 so he's not exactly gonna get much better at that age. As for Vogel not playing many games well thats true but players like Reid have played just as little over such a space of time and I know that Reid would be put straight in ahead of Andrews when fit again.

For all that its worth do you seriously think Andrews would've been signed by another Premiership club? The only reason he's at Blackburn was Paul Ince, it's the same reason Robbie Fowler turned up took a nice paycheck and left. Ince sorted his mates out with a chance at the big time. Maybe Ince thought he might cut it but we all know how good Inces judgement turned out for him. Go to any Blackburn message board and you'll see the general feeling is that he isn't good enough to play in the Premier League. He's a very, very limited player.

The team last weekend was not picked by Allardyce as he had only taken over training on the Friday with McDonald. The squad was selected for him by Archie Knox and Ray Mathias who would've excluded Vogel on the basis of his bust up with Ince. Allardyce has since dismissed Mathias and Knox and has publicly stated that every player at the club starts with a clean slate. In short expect Vogel to return to the first team squad quite soon.
So why didn't you?

I really cannot see Vogel making more than 10-15 appearances this season, if that.

mackannovic
28/12/2008, 11:33 PM
So why didn't you?

I really cannot see Vogel making more than 10-15 appearances this season, if that.

Is that because there are only 18 league games left, thats not bad considering the room for an injury or suspension.
Even making the bench this week was a massive step towards playing for Vogel. Andrews started because of an injury crisis at the club - Dunn, Grella and Reid all out. Add to that the fact Vogel hasn't played even a reserve game in months and is severely match unfit.

livehead1
29/12/2008, 10:10 AM
Is that because there are only 18 league games left, thats not bad considering the room for an injury or suspension.
Even making the bench this week was a massive step towards playing for Vogel. Andrews started because of an injury crisis at the club - Dunn, Grella and Reid all out. Add to that the fact Vogel hasn't played even a reserve game in months and is severely match unfit.

Vogel is over the hill and will not become a regular for Blackburn. Andrews may do just enough to become a regular under Allardyce but I wouldn't be surprised to see a couple of big tackling midfielders signed in January.