View Full Version : Keith Andrews
Pages :
[
3]
mackannovic
29/12/2008, 8:31 PM
Vogel is over the hill and will not become a regular for Blackburn. Andrews may do just enough to become a regular under Allardyce but I wouldn't be surprised to see a couple of big tackling midfielders signed in January.
Over the hill at 31??? Are you serious?
Andrews is a squad player in a depleted squad. Reid, Dunn and Grella all to return, lets just say he won't be a firts team player for long.
livehead1
30/12/2008, 12:08 AM
Over the hill at 31??? Are you serious?
Andrews is a squad player in a depleted squad. Reid, Dunn and Grella all to return, lets just say he won't be a firts team player for long.
Its not his age that concerns me. He hasn't played regular week in week out football since 2004-2005. He is also the same age as a certain Ian Harte!
I think Andrews will be given a chance and its up to him to take it.
mackannovic
30/12/2008, 2:20 AM
Its not his age that concerns me. He hasn't played regular week in week out football since 2004-2005. He is also the same age as a certain Ian Harte!
I think Andrews will be given a chance and its up to him to take it.
Thats simply not true, he played the tail-end of last season with Rovers after missing the first half of the season with Betis. He played 18 games for Betis the year before and thats over the course of a season that included a number of injuries.
He's a bit different to Ian Harte, Harte never came close to playing to the same level as Vogel. This is not a discussion about Vogel anyway, he was merely being used as a point on how Andrews will struggle to feature in a fully fit Rovers squad.
Andrews will get a chance as everyone else at the club will now Sam Allardyve has taken over but it is an undeniable truth that if Dunn is fit he's first choice, as is Reid and then Grella. Behind them you have Johann Vogel who is extremely likely to feature should he get games under his belt. There is already talk of Allardyce bringing in another midfielder, possibly Bullard so that would push Andrews lower down the pecking order. At 28 he's at his peak and will not get much better, he's a very limited player and I think out of his depth at this level. If Blackburn were to push up the table he'd be one of the first casualties of an ambitious club.
30/12/2008, 4:01 AM
The fact of the matter is that right now, Andrews is in the first team. Whether or not he's good enough for Ireland if Vogel or Reid or Bullard or Nolan or whoever comes in is an argument for another day.
It's an unexpected pleasure to the Ireland manager that he gets to decide whether or not a regular Premiership starter can fit into his plan for the Ireland team.
For what it's worth, I thought he was the outstanding player in the B game VS Nottingham Forest (ahead of the goalscorers) and he took his chance in the friendly against Poland by scoring after coming on as a sub. I would not be disappointed if he was named in the squad for the Georgia game, and I believe he would be worth a start.
Razors left peg
17/01/2009, 1:27 PM
Nice to see that Andrews is continuing to make the starting line up under Allardyce
Trap is at the game as well today.
EastTerracer
17/01/2009, 2:53 PM
Trap is at the game as well today.
Trapp is actually sitting next to Capello at Ewood Park. I'm sure Trapp is pointing out that he has the better goalkeeper!
Andrews hasn't done anything wrong in the first half so that will keep him in Trapp's thoughts.
17/01/2009, 3:15 PM
Trapp is actually sitting next to Capello at Ewood Park. I'm sure Trapp is pointing out that he has the better goalkeeper!
Andrews hasn't done anything wrong in the first half so that will keep him in Trapp's thoughts.
He was at the Preston v Burnley game with Alan Kelly at lunchtime.
17/01/2009, 4:03 PM
and is he going to wolves game later?!
17/01/2009, 4:11 PM
only if he has a helicopter.
18/01/2009, 5:20 PM
Not that brief edited highlights give a proper picture but it looked like Andrews played well against Newcastle, covering ground, making at least one crunching tackle and he was heaviy involved in the third goal, carrying the ball and playing in Pedersen who squared it for Roberts (?). Good to see him keeping his place under a new manager alright.
republicofwhite
19/01/2009, 10:01 AM
Looked like he had a stormer in the highlights but recieved a paltry 6 in player ratings, and a mere 3 points in Fantasy Football. Whats wrong with these people, Keith Andrews is the best footballer in the world, EVER.
richieos
19/01/2009, 3:51 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A46127342?s_fromedit=1&s_type=10&s_sport=football
a thread i started to get blackburn fans opinions on andrews. most fans give him excellent reviews, with the odd fan stuck in the 'league 2 player' mindset.
must start against georgia
livehead1
19/01/2009, 10:05 PM
Well Mackanovic, how are you thinking now? He's played every league came under Big Sam so far...
stiffler
19/01/2009, 10:38 PM
I firmly believe he should start against Georgia (with Whelan).
20/01/2009, 4:55 PM
He really reminds me of Barry Robson of Celtic.
Brendan 82
21/01/2009, 2:57 PM
Hopefully Trappa and Capello(sitting together) must have come to the consensus that Andrews should start for us, he was excellent on Saturday. I think he is one of those players that will continually rise to the challenges in front of him. Much the same as Kevin Doyle does. Allardyce is a fan and he is starting to garner a lot more respect from KNOWLEDGEABLE Blackburn fans.
He has some shot on him and pops up in dangerous places like Lampard does, passes it well, and can tackle. Would love to see Whelan and himself start against Georgia, with Whelan being the more defensive of the two.
Trap will have a hard time relegating Gibson to the bench but it must be done because that is where he belongs, for the time being at least anyway.
21/01/2009, 5:59 PM
Yep, I'd start Whelan & Andrews too. It'd be a bit of a risk but any combo of Whelan, Gibson or Andrews would be a risk.
Diarmo
22/01/2009, 3:53 AM
Kind of scary that our 3 central midfielders vying for starting places have just about 10 caps between them. Have we ever gone with such an inexperienced CM partnership before?
Even more scary, I just realized that Liam Miller is our most experienced CM. Let the nightmare end.... :eek:
Dr. Ogba
22/01/2009, 8:46 AM
would agree with that, i'd be happy with an Andrews / Whelan midfield.
Diarmo I can understand what you're saying about an inexperienced midfield but lets not forget that both of them have been around the block for a while and Andrews had been captaining MK Dons for a couple of years so i don't think it'll be a problem.
Now if Gibson started on the other hand......
Noelys Guitar
31/01/2009, 2:55 PM
Gone off injured in first half against Boro. Looks like a hamstring injury.
republicofwhite
11/02/2009, 11:13 AM
Cult Of Keith Andrews on the ascendency in anticipation of his first start...
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Keith-Andrews/54557520867#/pages/Keith-Andrews/54557520867
danonion
11/02/2009, 12:10 PM
Ahem wrong thread...
Andrews looks decent enough I hope he gets forward a bit. Reid seemed to take matters into his own hands at times and maybe Andrews physicality and forward thought can be a positive.
republicofwhite
11/02/2009, 3:15 PM
Ahem wrong thread...
Apologies for riding roughshod over the bureaucratic nature of foot.ie but ahem, its a Keith Andrews thread.
kingdom hoop
11/02/2009, 4:06 PM
Apologies for riding roughshod over the bureaucratic nature of foot.ie but ahem, its a Keith Andrews thread.
I think The Onion (imagine - a talking onion!) was hinting that such is Andrews' expected rise to divinity that you ought to have started a new thread as a sacred space reserved for collective swooning and professions of undying appreciation for His Greatness. That way, his legend would not be sullied by unfavourable comparisons to dross like Barry Robson, a sacrilegious act as was perpetrated above.
Just a thought like. :)
danonion
11/02/2009, 9:06 PM
Lads I posted a big thing on Terry Dixon and "wrong thread" was just to explain my edit or if anyone saw my original post.
backstothewall
11/02/2009, 9:24 PM
According to rentagob he isn't good enough. On Sky Kevin Moran mentioned him being in the running for motm and Ray Houghton and Mick mcCarthy raved about his performance
Hmm, whos judgement should i trust, Moran, McCarthy and Houghton or Eamonn Dunphy? Tricky one
tommy_c12000
11/02/2009, 9:26 PM
According to rentagob he isn't good enough. On Sky Kevin Moran mentioned him being in the running for motm and Ray Houghton and Mick mcCarthy raved about his performance
Hmm, whos judgement should i trust, Moran, McCarthy and Houghton or Eamonn Dunphy? Tricky one
Thought he was very good 2nite. Revelled on the international stage
backstothewall
11/02/2009, 9:29 PM
I was quite happy wih him, I as happy with everyone in fact. I think Trap picked the right team for the job at hand. the problem in the first half wasn't any player, or the system, it was a simple lack of tempo to the game.
Andrews looked solid in midfield, which is the most important thing for a midfielder to do in my opinion.
Andrews had a fine game tonight. First start on the international stage, he can be pleased with his performance. Man of the match had to go to mcgeady however, had his best performance in a ireland shirt tonight. just need to get back stephen reid and stephen ireland and we'll have a fine squad.
FarBeag
11/02/2009, 9:35 PM
Paul Ince might not have been much of a manager but thank God he brought Andrews into the premiership. He was excellent tonight and is here to stay. Get Steven Reid fit and the two of them can do the job for us.
11/02/2009, 9:49 PM
yes well said farbeag, thought andrews was very good tonight. really got stuck in and his passing is 2 levels above whelan.
was very happy with his performance, im hoping he can up it again, looks like one of those who can adapt whereever he goes....
richieos
11/02/2009, 9:54 PM
i thought andrews was outstanding tonight. the rte panel were prejudice against him because of his league 2 past, but he was excellent, motm contender
backstothewall
11/02/2009, 10:01 PM
We were saying a lot of these things about Whelan after his debut. Lets not put the lad on a pedestal just yet. And lets not try to shoot Whelan off the one he was placed on after Mainz.
It takes most players 10-15 caps to really find their feet at international level
richieos
11/02/2009, 10:23 PM
i think andrews was much better than whelan was in mainz, he covered so much ground, he was everywhere. he has important experience too, he covered the right side of the pitch when kelly was short on experience, very clever play
backstothewall
11/02/2009, 10:51 PM
[CODE]
i think andrews was much better than whelan was in mainz, he covered so much ground, he was everywhere. he has important experience too, he covered the right side of the pitch when kelly was short on experience, very clever play
Well, your quite entitled to your opinion but Whelan was awarded the motm award in mainz (and against montenegro during the same week iirc). There was quite a lot of raving about him done then.
Dunphy is successfully whipping up hysteria about him, and its all part of his long term agenda to get Andy Reid in the team. I'm not sure why he is so obsessed with Andy Reid, but there you have it. So if in 4 games time Dunphy can get a package of clips showing Andrews giving the ball away put together to make him look bad, no one should be surprised.
I think the pair of them look like a solid partnership. Something we haven't looked like having since Reid got injured again.
11/02/2009, 11:37 PM
Didn't think Andrews did much wrong, simple passes, took his chance to score, and linked up well with the players around him.
No problems with him starting the next game against Bulgaria.
Incidentally, he helped out Ward and Hoolahan in the B game the same way he was helping out Kelly in tonight's game.
12/02/2009, 8:50 AM
Didn't think Andrews did much wrong, simple passes, took his chance to score, and linked up well with the players around him.
No problems with him starting the next game against Bulgaria.
Incidentally, he helped out Ward and Hoolahan in the B game the same way he was helping out Kelly in tonight's game.
Agreed - was shocked by the criticism on Newstalk which apparently is in today's papers. We still struggled in central midfield.
We badly miss Steven Reid. We could do with a change of heart from Stephen Ireland but otherwise we don't have much options and Andrews did OK and nobody can fault his effort.
Pike B
12/02/2009, 8:55 AM
Problem is simple. Two grafters in the middle is ok on the road but at home we need a luxury player with vision and passing ability. We have two. Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid.
This lad is another Whelan or Kilbane, tonnes of heart effort and tackling, no flair, creativity or technical class.
But he is good enough to stay in our squad for me.
12/02/2009, 10:03 AM
The problem with introducing a "luxury" player into the system Trapattoni has is that it would reintroduce the problem of a revolving door in central midfield. Neither Andy Reid or Stephen Ireland would have the same work ethic tracking back, or marking runners that both Whelan and Andrews do. In the last few games, all the opposition attacking moves have been forced out wide, but that's the concession to playing two attacking wingers in Duff and McGeady.
12/02/2009, 10:08 AM
Am I the only one who thought andrews did well?!
irishfan86
12/02/2009, 10:18 AM
Am I the only one who thought andrews did well?!
No, he was one of our better players in my view, and should have had that goal.
He adds a goal threat from central midfield which is something we haven't really had since Roy Keane (not making comparisons in terms of style or ability at all).
Pike B
12/02/2009, 10:26 AM
The problem with introducing a "luxury" player into the system Trapattoni has is that it would reintroduce the problem of a revolving door in central midfield. Neither Andy Reid or Stephen Ireland would have the same work ethic tracking back, or marking runners that both Whelan and Andrews do. In the last few games, all the opposition attacking moves have been forced out wide, but that's the concession to playing two attacking wingers in Duff and McGeady.
I see what your saying and his set up is exactly that. I just disagree with it at home against a team we should (in theory) beat.
It's a bit like Rafa setting out with one up front at home to Wigan or Fulham. It's over cautious.
As the crowd chant goes'Attack Attack Attack!!
But hey, thats just my view on how the game should be played. I understand he's Italian and it's their way, but maybe Brady needs to say, 'Hey, we're better than this team, lets tear into them early doors, play attack minded football'..
Just a thought..
12/02/2009, 10:41 AM
Am I the only one who thought andrews did well?!I thought he was very good. Mobile, quick to tackle and break up play and always looking to get involved. I wanted him to do well and he did.
12/02/2009, 10:51 AM
Sorry to say I thought he was fairly anonymous. Whelan was on the ball a lot more than Andrews. Need to see much more of central midfielders.
third policeman
12/02/2009, 11:24 AM
Sorry to say I thought he was fairly anonymous. Whelan was on the ball a lot more than Andrews. Need to see much more of central midfielders.
Think your Owl goggles were deceiving you. I have never been a fan of Andrews but last night he was excellent. Whelan was manifestly the weak link. His touch and distribution were way off. He is not good enough for this level and we must find an alternative if we are to progress.
12/02/2009, 11:31 AM
Sorry to say I thought he was fairly anonymous. Couldn't disagree more. I thought Andrews was everywhere, always looking to break up their possession, winning ball and using it efficiently. Contrary to the perception that Trap likes 2 "sitting" midfielders I think Andrews got forward a lot last night and is happy to take responsibility. Giles would have commended his "moral courage".
12/02/2009, 3:28 PM
Andrews in my opinion was constantly trying to harrass and win back ball, which is something I always said a midfielder should do even though most on the thread after cyprus game said whelan was great cos he sat back and just dispossesed if they were on the 18 yard line, which I dont agree with you need someone getting up and at them and harassing, wheland never does this, and gives away the ball more often than not. Andrews played about with it and look to assert himself in the game and win back possession or break up their play. Whelan did none of this.
The one thing I was surprised at/hoping for from Andrews was that he would be around the 18 yard line more, as thats what i was led to beleive from here/papers/clips on MOTD etc, but there was plenty of times that mcgeady/duff cut inside/ball came out after a set piece where i thought he was going to be and popping a shot in. This never happened and its somewhere where SI always excels. Anyway hope this was because Trap told him to sit further back(in a way though i hope thats wrong too....) and he normally would, as we need that side of his game desperately as was shown by his "goal"
12/02/2009, 4:08 PM
Yeah I would be with those who thought he did well. Not outstanding or in the class of Stephen Reid but I thought he was our most effective player and closing down the opoosition last night. He has plenty of energy and I think himself and S Reid could combine well in a central midfield, and give us plenty of energy in there. I think Whelan has a picture of the game in his head but his body does not react to it in time and he gets caught in possession. Whelans best games for Ireland have been with S Reid there and I think that could continue for him. We lack creativity in the centre of the park with out the two Stephens there.
12/02/2009, 4:29 PM
He certainly impressed me. About time we had a central-midfielder whos not afraid to shoot!