View Full Version : MNS (Monday Night Soccer)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9

Maroon 7
10/03/2008, 7:25 PM
Roddy's trousers look a bit tight.

10/03/2008, 7:26 PM
Ian Rossiter is with Bohs now?:eek:

scottish_bohs
10/03/2008, 7:27 PM
really good show so far... although i thought the commentator on the bohs game called mark rossitter 'ian rossitter'... maybe it was just my imagination though.

Regardless, a tv programme to look forward to on a monday night.

10/03/2008, 7:29 PM
In the studio is fine, on the pitch highlights are of poor quality in comparison to other highlight shows and won't impress barstoolers. Good effort by RTE in truth

Boo_Boy
10/03/2008, 7:29 PM
roddy looks a bit awkward on those seats,keeps repositioning himself,maybe there not as comfortable as they look:eek::D

10/03/2008, 7:30 PM
mns@rte.ie - is the email address for the programme

Fired of a quick email just now:

Guys,
Excellent show so far - what the League and it's fans have been crying
out for over the past few years.

One small suggestion for later editions - when yourselves are
discussing incidents in the studio - would it also be possible to have
a replay of said incident so we can follow it at home as well?

Apart from that - superb - the highlight packages and intros are well
put together - the analysis is pretty good.

Regards

Chris Rock
Bohemians Fan
Worcester, England

Razors left peg
10/03/2008, 7:31 PM
Good show but they definately need to do the analysis by showing replays

10/03/2008, 7:32 PM
not to be critical but the music they play at the intro is terrible....

is it the same music as they just played to go to the break?

(missed the first 5 minutes of the show)

If so - they used to use it for the live game a couple of seasons ago - it's a Moby track - "Bodyrock"

10/03/2008, 7:32 PM
Its good so far, fair play.

10/03/2008, 7:33 PM
Advertising Milan/Liverpool game in the middle of the programme
maybe it was just my imagination though.Unless we're both imagining it (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=895426&postcount=104).

Good show so far though, apart from the few mistakes.

10/03/2008, 7:34 PM
That Cork jersey is awful.

I'm not looking forward to next Monday when they have to show the local sights of Bray (the beach...eh....).

actually - just struck me that we're missing something quite important from the highlights

Team line ups

biscuit
How come there was no problem with the jerseys in cork v bray game...sleeeves clash...buttimer u ***** take note..:mad:

10/03/2008, 7:39 PM
When I heard on the radio on Friday that Gormley was complaining about the sending off - I thought it'd be about the 2nd yellow for kicking the ball away (which he did - stupid boy)

But to try to say that the first challenge didn't deserve a yellow is somewhat staggering

Couldn't help notice Rico using "we" when referring to Cork.

Eddie's being an eejit. I wouldn't have been surprised if Kav had been sent off for that tackle. It was certainly a yellow.

the delights of Inchicore :D

Blue-Army
10/03/2008, 7:41 PM
whats with the music in the background during the Pat's highlights?

Boo_Boy
10/03/2008, 7:41 PM
FFS,the jersey rovers ended up wearing has white sleeves.....that is what really Pi$*es me off.

10/03/2008, 7:43 PM
At least they're not sweeping this under the carpet

Maroon 7
10/03/2008, 7:43 PM
Shaggin kits don't even clash.

10/03/2008, 7:44 PM
Glad they're going to town on the kit clash.

biscuit
10/03/2008, 7:45 PM
pedantic...:Dgo on rico!!

well handled there

Its so much better that watch Paul Osam stumble through a program, really enjoying it so far. Good piece on Shirtgate

10/03/2008, 7:46 PM
Most intimidating fans :cool:

The Indiana Jones piece and this 24 thing is pretty lame

Boo_Boy
hahahahahaha,aww 60-sixty is the funniest thing i gave ever seen,its a cross between 24 & mastermind:D

That '24' interview with Ryan Guy was cheesey:o
its the longest trip in loiDerry's longer, which was a mistake spotted by feo;)

Boo_Boy
10/03/2008, 7:48 PM
i guarantee before the end of the season a player is gunna fall down the steps at UCD's place!

Soper
10/03/2008, 7:49 PM
This is class

10/03/2008, 7:49 PM
UCD's second - jammy

Blue-Army
10/03/2008, 7:51 PM
hahahahahaha,aww 60-sixty is the funniest thing i gave ever seen,its a cross between 24 & mastermind:D
94 Honda Civic :D:D

10/03/2008, 7:52 PM
'I bought Paddy' No shock Roddy Collins listing his players now...Sean Connor to do the same when he's on.

Gaillimh Al
10/03/2008, 7:53 PM
There was a camera at the back of the new stand. I'm not sure why they even built that television gantry on top of the old stand because nobody ever seems to use it which is a pity as you don't get to see the new stand on telly.

Overheard the cameraman saying that they wouldn't use it. The prevailing wind is blowing off the Corrib straight into it which is far from ideal especially when it's raining and during the summer the sun is shining from behind the new stand, making it difficult as well.

Seems like a rash decision was taken building it for the Sunderland friendly.

Maroon 7
10/03/2008, 7:53 PM
Well I think it's fair to say that it's a million times better than Eircom League Weekly.

10/03/2008, 7:55 PM
Much better than Eircom League Weekly. Bags more personality and info.

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly is a blatant rip-off of 2 Good, 2 Bad on MOTD2.

10/03/2008, 7:55 PM
That, good, bad and the ugly bit will be good enough I'd say.

Boo_Boy
10/03/2008, 7:56 PM
yeh,really enjoyed the show,on at a reasonable time,and ALOT better than ELW..

neutrino
10/03/2008, 7:59 PM
The Good, The Bad and The Ugly is a blatant rip-off of 2 Good, 2 Bad on MOTD2.

So what.

Thought it was a great show - very very good. a few small things like lineups and replays of goals but i'm sure it'll improve...very good stuff.enjoyed it.

Celdrog
10/03/2008, 8:01 PM
Thought it was very good.

Bit concerned that the Drogs are being beaten by Linfield tonight. Roddy has a fascination with Shelley. Called Brian Shelley Mick the night the Drogs won the league and now calls Pete Mahon, Pete Shelley.

Overall well done RTE

Jicked
10/03/2008, 8:02 PM
Really enjoyed that, surprisingly good analysis, Roddy even had a few interesting things to say. I also counted three digs by Rovers fan Con Murphy at Roddy, they'll be at each others throats by the end of the year!

I thought the 60 Seconds, Raiders of the Lost Archive stuff was a bit cheesey alright, but that's just the sort of thing we need. The more stuff like that the more chance of fairweather fans learning a few more names and personalities and be more encouraged to go along and know a few more of the players.

10/03/2008, 8:02 PM
Really enjoyed that.

Some things to improve as mentioned above but small things.

The time slot is the most important thing. Watching highlights while fully awake was a new experience.

McGinty
10/03/2008, 8:05 PM
quality programming, well done RTE!

Buile Shuibhne
10/03/2008, 8:05 PM
Top marks from me - lightyears ahead of eircom League weekly.

Excellent production all round.

10/03/2008, 8:06 PM
tried emailing the show and it keeps failing?

thedoyler
10/03/2008, 8:11 PM
Great show, ive a had a few people who dont follow the league text me and say they really enjoyed it, that it was light hearted and more personal than other football shows. Good start

deecay
10/03/2008, 8:11 PM
Apart from the time its on at I didnt see much difference with it and EL Weekly.The cheesey 60 60 and 2 good 2 bad rip-off was ****e.

It said a great ball from Ian Rossiter to Fenn for the goal,it was his brother Mark who passed it.The Linfield v Derry bit was a joke,got it wrong twice

neutrino
10/03/2008, 8:16 PM
Apart from the time its on at I didnt see much difference with it and EL Weekly.

take the hair outta yer eyes !!! :eek:

Olander
10/03/2008, 8:16 PM
Really liked it, loved the new ideas :)

10/03/2008, 8:17 PM
Ian Rossiter is with Bohs now?:eek:

Nearly fell off the couch when I heard that :)

Overall I thought it was a decent show. Roddy was well streched out and
looked like he was dying to have a good scratch! Rico got his "pedantic" in
during an otherwise quiet performance.

That wan doing the 60 second interview is very annoying. She's on TTV too.
Man-ish voice is off putting.

But overall I was well impressed. The little intro to each game showing the
route to the ground and around the stand was a nice touch.