View Full Version : MNS (Monday Night Soccer)
Pages :
[
7]
17/03/2008, 8:27 PM
maybe they should try to get referees to ive interviews after the games at every match aswell, worth trying it anyway
I'd go one further and put a ref on the panel.
refjohn
17/03/2008, 8:41 PM
Wasnt it weird listening to mckeown briefing his assistants about a possible melee before the game and it practically pans out exactly like he said with the keeper running out.
Well melees have been following him in the last few days. One at end of Drogs - Rovers game and three at Linfield - Derry game.
ilovejam
17/03/2008, 8:44 PM
anybody know when MNS from tonight will be on rte.ie?
green army
17/03/2008, 8:56 PM
first time to see the programme and thought it was excellent. very interesting feature on the referees. fair play to them for the time and effort that goes into it. but i will still critisise them every weekend for making the wrong decisions.
At the bohs-pats game i thought that ryan threw a punch but it was not picked up on the tv. i wouldnt have sent brennan or ryan off. joxer should have went for the shocking tackle on fats just before that incident
Buile Shuibhne
17/03/2008, 9:00 PM
Why was there a mirror in the referees room?
Was it to check that their egos were still in place?
17/03/2008, 9:04 PM
It was hardly for Dave McKeown to fix his hair.
harry crumb
17/03/2008, 10:11 PM
anybody know when MNS from tonight will be on rte.ie?
Available now.
Cut out half way through for me though.
17/03/2008, 11:19 PM
Wasnt it weird listening to mckeown briefing his assistants about a possible melee before the game and it practically pans out exactly like he said with the keeper running out.
tbf - that's standard instructions pre-match - "Watch for the bloke coming 30 yards, landing a dig, then fecking off"
Boh_So_Good
17/03/2008, 11:29 PM
MSN No. 2 was superb this week.
I very much enjoyed it and would give it a 9.5 out of 10
The only gripe would be the cameras at the Brandywell and Sligo Showgrounds were not facing the main stands. RTE promised this for every match recording. It's up to officials at both clubs to make sure any TV cameras face towards the main stands.
SPXcyan
17/03/2008, 11:30 PM
Worked fine for me!
17/03/2008, 11:31 PM
I'd go one further and put a ref on the panel.
yeah maybe a retired one could do it or something like graham poll used to on motd2
Only saw the first half of the show and twas good, but is sorely lacking of replays in general.
When they started discussing the referee at Tolka, Foley mentioned the "debatable penalty decision" while they showed Rice's goal. Still some things to iron out that if persist could really spoil the good core.
18/03/2008, 12:09 AM
does anyone have a copy of this week's edition recorded that they can stick onto a DVD for me?
renumeration will be forthcoming
Maroon 7
18/03/2008, 12:41 AM
The only gripe would be the cameras at the Brandywell and Sligo Showgrounds were not facing the main stands. RTE promised this for every match recording. It's up to officials at both clubs to make sure any TV cameras face towards the main stands.
You can add Terryland to that list too.
gufcfan
18/03/2008, 1:36 AM
RTE promised this for every match recording. It's up to officials at both clubs to make sure any TV cameras face towards the main stands.
Area you sure of that BSG?
I'm not disagreeing with you but, if it's the case that they did promise it, I will try to get onto RTE and maybe GUFC not to let them use main stand. There was a brand new gantry built in the old stand in Terryland.
If RTE promised, I'll be damned if I see them get away with changing their minds.
Terryland looks infinately better when view from the old stand.
You can see well ove the top of the old stand as it is now.
When the camera is in the old stand it makes the new stand look quite impressive.
Sorry for the wander off-topic...
EDIT
Its unlikely I know but... BSG, can you remember where you read that RTE promised to do that? Would appreciate it if you could remember...
gufcfan
18/03/2008, 1:41 AM
does anyone have a copy of this week's edition recorded that they can stick onto a DVD for me?
renumeration will be forthcoming
I would also take a copy of the MNS programme's if someone has them saved.
Does anyone know if it is possible to save the stream off the RTE site?
Have some friends overseas that for one reason or another cannot seem to be able to get the bloody thing up. I would send them the file if I knew how, or if one of yee had it taped and had it on dvd...
forza rovers
18/03/2008, 8:28 AM
The only gripe would be the cameras at the Brandywell and Sligo Showgrounds were not facing the main stands. RTE promised this for every match recording. It's up to officials at both clubs to make sure any TV cameras face towards the main stands.their is one being built
18/03/2008, 9:27 AM
Area you sure of that BSG?
I'm not disagreeing with you but, if it's the case that they did promise it, I will try to get onto RTE and maybe GUFC not to let them use main stand. There was a brand new gantry built in the old stand in Terryland.
I remember when it was built a few Galway fans said it couldn't be used as you wouldn't be able to see the whole pitch from the new gantry.
GuisaSaigon
18/03/2008, 9:44 AM
Does anyone know if it is possible to save the stream off the RTE site?
Using firefox and real player you should get an option to download the video and save it to your real player library. Trying it now, i'll let you know how it works.
GuisaSaigon
18/03/2008, 10:04 AM
Using firefox and real player you should get an option to download the video and save it to your real player library. Trying it now, i'll let you know how it works.
Yeah, saves it into Documents and Settings\Admin\My Documents\My Videos\RealPlayer Downloads. You should be able to zip or rar it and email it.
18/03/2008, 10:53 AM
Yeah, saves it into Documents and Settings\Admin\My Documents\My Videos\RealPlayer Downloads. You should be able to zip or rar it and email it.
I did this with last week's show and while it all looks like it downloaded perfectly it refuses to play. Did you check that it'd play when the download completed?
pixiehead
18/03/2008, 10:54 AM
Watching the show abroad and its ten outea ten for me. Well done RTE for a change. Great show!!! If i was not a fan of the EL sitting at home on a monday nite i think id watch it anyhow!! Thumbs up :)
Boo_Boy
18/03/2008, 10:57 AM
I did this with last week's show and while it all looks like it downloaded perfectly it refuses to play. Did you check that it'd play when the download completed?
yep,same problem for me,it just says 'loading'.:(
The sixty 60 thing in cringe worthy & needs to be dumped. Team line outs before highlights would be an improvement too.
Seems they may be using a combination of RTE cameras & club/fan cameras for alternative view?
18/03/2008, 11:42 AM
i wouldnt have sent brennan or ryan off.
brennan headbutted Jamie Harris. He had to go. Rest of it was just hand bags. Interesting that mckeon had songled out keepers before hand. seems like his mind was made up before the game to sent Ryan off.
Thought he was pathetic at half time. "It took me ten minutes to find a free kick" and then avoiding the question of whehter he was looking to give them or not.
Enjoyed the show. Actually like the "lighter" bits and think they work well as the show heads to a break.
Boh_So_Good
18/03/2008, 12:33 PM
You know what would be brilliant for MSN - a big mid season special with a studio audience made up of fans, managers and players. Have all the best goals from the games so far and maybe a feature on LOI players who played for the national side. The panel would be awesome if it included the likes of Paul McGrath, Trapatoni and Laro. If promoted well by RTE the ratings would be phenomenal and it would place the LOI well in the Irish soccer fold for the great unwashed. Especially if it was done in a Top Gear format with a good-natured bit of banter and slagging.
One episode of MSN done like that, would push the league into a new level. Especially if the likes of Trap and Laro were talking about how amazing such and such a goal or save was. It would end the "LOI is fookin shoite" carry on in one swoop.
We should get writing to the FAI and RTE about it.
18/03/2008, 1:12 PM
The sixty 60 thing in cringe worthy & needs to be dumped.
It was the one part my girlfriend looked up from her magazine and watched. If it's a way of getting people in any way interested then it's worth it.
18/03/2008, 1:16 PM
It was the one part my girlfriend looked up from her magazine and watched. If it's a way of getting people in any way interested then it's worth it.
Now you mention it same thing happened in mine. She was ignoring most of the show but watched the 60 second interview. I think it's an OK section anyway, maybe some of the questions need a bit of work.
The Archive clip was good this week. I was laughing out loud at the OG.
Overall it's an impressive show, beats the hell out of Eircom League Weakly anyway. ;)
Some of the footage definitely looked dodgy this week, I'd be concerned if this was to become a trend. Maybe it's more to do with the standard of lighting in the grounds, as I think was suggested earlier, if it is something needs to be done.
its to humanise the league. Every other league in the world is sold on the back of the players. Its about time ours was too.
18/03/2008, 1:24 PM
its to humanise the league. Every other league in the world is sold on the back of the players. Its about time ours was too.
Bobby Ryan for league pin-up?
el punter
18/03/2008, 1:54 PM
The 60 second thing isn't very informative, but that's not its point. If some of us can remember back to when we were little and read Shoot and Match magazines, it was full of that inane kind of stuff but I still remembered all my favourite players favourite colours and meals just because I was young and thought of pro footballers as super heros.
It's light and it's honestly the first time I've heard Ronan Finn or Ryan Guy speak, it helps with the profile and as Dodge says selling the league on its players is a good thing.
No need to take it all so seriously, I think the laid back feel of the show is great and for successive weeks I give it a massive thumbs up.
Sinéad K
18/03/2008, 1:57 PM
Now BohsPartisan, that's an idea for a calender
18/03/2008, 2:01 PM
Stephen Rice bit was quite funny.......wonder if they could find a player who dislikes sean connor every week
18/03/2008, 2:19 PM
The MNS section of the RTE website is looking pretty interesting too. Con Murphy's behind the scenes column (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/conmurphy/) is good reading, he explains his error when he though they were going to an ad break, but it was actually the Bray highlights, blames the editors Birmingham accent!
That's a pretty cool stuff. As has been noted several times before one of the coolest things about MNS is the obvious enthusiasm and commitment about what they're doing. Minor blips aside that makes all the difference, you get the feeling that the people involved are knowledgeable fans of the league and genuinely believe that it's important and worthwhile, a feeling never quite created by TV3. That said- TV3 provided coverage when no one else did, so fair play to them as well.
18/03/2008, 2:53 PM
Ive got to say well done to RTE's website. Their Eircom League focus on their website is excellent reading as are the columns from MNS presenters. You can tell their enthusiasm for the League. Do they give any mentions to the First Division as opposed to the quick readouts of results and tables as on EL Weekly?
bigmac
18/03/2008, 2:53 PM
The MNS section of the RTE website is looking pretty interesting too. Con Murphy's behind the scenes column (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/conmurphy/) is good reading, he explains his error when he though they were going to an ad break, but it was actually the Bray highlights, blames the editors Birmingham accent!
That's a good idea alright - definitely gets it across that he actually has some interest in what he's presenting. The music playing during the highlights really annoys me though - think I'll fire off an email about that (I'm probably not the only one I'd say)
bigmac
18/03/2008, 3:24 PM
brennan headbutted Jamie Harris. He had to go. Rest of it was just hand bags. Interesting that mckeon had songled out keepers before hand. seems like his mind was made up before the game to sent Ryan off.
In fairness, he said before the game that he wanted the assistants to look for whoever ran the furthest to get involved in any melee - he mentioned keepers as they are obviously at the furthest ends of the pitch.
I think he got it spot on myself and I think it's good that we see the rationale behind the decisions. Any time I see something like that happen I always think that someone who runs 20 or 30 yards to get involved should be at least booked and it's good to see that refs are prepared to stamp down on it.
I can't understand why players get involved in retaliation and "sticking up for a teammate" and then try to defend their actions. When something like that happens, let the ref deal with it and punish the other team. For a perfect example look at the Leinster rugby match recently in Leicester - Julian White starts swinging at Malcolm O'Kelly and gets yellow carded (should have been red) - end result is Leicester are down a man for 10 minutes. If O'Kelly defends himself and swings back, then they're both in the bin....
18/03/2008, 3:49 PM
Since when is running 40 yards to confront someone a sending off offence in and of itself? I'll give a shiny shilling to anyone who can unearth that in the rulebook. It's what you do once you get there that counts. I don't know whether Ryan's subsequent actions warranted an expulsion, but the fact is that the ref had prescribed a punishment which has no basis in the laws of the game before the match even started. Unbelievable.
Buller
18/03/2008, 3:52 PM
Since when is running 40 yards to confront someone a sending off offence in and of itself? I'll give a shiny shilling to anyone who can unearth that in the rulebook. It's what you do once you get there that counts. I don't know whether Ryan's subsequent actions warranted an expulsion, but the fact is that the ref had prescribed a punishment which has no basis in the laws of the game before the match even started. Unbelievable.
The fact is you are inciting confrontation and trouble by running that distance. Completely unnecessary. His own manager said it warrented a punishment...
18/03/2008, 3:55 PM
You're inciting confrontation if you start showboating when your team's winning, but it's not a bookable offence. To explicitly state that only the first two players on the scene and the ones who covered the furthest distance to get there should be sanctioned is nonsense.
bigmac
18/03/2008, 4:01 PM
Number 1 surely covers running 40 yards to confront someone?
Therefore, anything you subsequently do that may earn a yellow card equates to a sending-off offence.
A player is cautioned and shown the yellow card if he commits any of
the following seven offences:
1. is guilty of unsporting behaviour
2. shows dissent by word or action
3. persistently infringes the Laws of the Game
4. delays the restart of play
5. fails to respect the required distance when play is restarted with a corner kick, free kick or throw-in
6. enters or re-enters the field of play without the referee’s permission
7. deliberately leaves the field of play without the referee’s permission
furthermore
The referee has the authority to take disciplinary sanctions, as from the moment he enters the field of play until he leaves the field of play after the final whistle.
and
Any player, whether he is within or outside the field of play, whose conduct is ungentlemanly or violent, whether or not it is directed towards an opponent, a colleague, the referee, a linesman or other person, or who uses foul or abusive language, is guilty of an offense, and shall be dealt with according to the nature of the offense committed.
Take your pick and PM me for the address to send the shiny shilling to :D
diamond
18/03/2008, 4:47 PM
i think that the show is excellent and just goes to prove that you can never please el fans. damned if you do, damned if you dont.
what SHOCKED :eek: me from reading this thread is the negativity towards united park. i was born bread and buttered over the road from stadium and looking out me window now it saddens me that someday (maybe) it'll be gone. it is a fabulous stadium to play and support in. the atmosphere with a good crowd is great and most players love it.
anyway. i'm a teacher and the kids are well impressed that they can now see the drogs every week on the tele. that is the most positive part i think. a watchable show that kids will be up for and has something for everyone. they enjoyed the 60 ave said they cant wait til its Fabio on it. this has to be positive.
i dont care its a rip off of motd2. i prefer that to sat motd which is crap.
well done to con and rte.
why so negative lads. constructive criticism is fine but i've read this thread from start to finish in one go and people were waiting for it to fail before the fist show went on air. thats pathetic
18/03/2008, 5:17 PM
http://www.bohemians.ie/images/stories/action/stpats140308/17meleeparttwo.jpg
Think that tells the full story of Ryan's part in the incident - reports are that he managed to get Brennan in a headlock
I liked the own goal footage. Even after the 4th replay could not figure out what the Harps player trying to do. I Looked for a left back maybe he trying to pass to but if he was there must have been on the touch line.
Pity the large crowd at the Brandywell did not show well on TV. Crowd is so far from the pitch & tv camera on stand side.
Buller
18/03/2008, 5:37 PM
You're inciting confrontation if you start showboating when your team's winning, but it's not a bookable offence.
On the contrary, when George O'Callaghan celebrated his goal in front of us on Friday he got booked...
Pity the large crowd at the Brandywell did not show well on TV. Crowd is so far from the pitch & tv camera on stand side.
Thought that myself while watching it, why are highlights always shown in the mainstand? It looks much worse than the gantry... Why do they move the camara there?
18/03/2008, 8:57 PM
I liked the own goal footage. Even after the 4th replay could not figure out what the Harps player trying to do. I Looked for a left back maybe he trying to pass to but if he was there must have been on the touch line.
He turned around to pass back to the keeper but there was a Derry player (think you could only see as far as his shoulders) in the way. He tried to flick the ball over him to the keeper but failed with hilarious consequences.:D
18/03/2008, 10:11 PM
I hate the highlights part of this show[which is the main part presumably?]. It's poorly put together and on last night's programme, the UCD/Bray game was shocking, very blurry.
18/03/2008, 10:14 PM
mns@rte.ie
Any ideas lads, send them on.
roboyle
19/03/2008, 12:12 AM
Did you get sorted?