View Full Version : Montenegro Away - 10th September 2008
Pages :
[
8]
20/08/2008, 11:21 AM
Yeah I am going to go with 10am as I put it up and nobody came back with any reason why not and that will get us in for 2pm into Pod. I will name a pub closer to the time just have to talk to Mara first. He cannot go into the Old town but he can meet us just outside, So it will be about a 5 minute walk from the pub we are in max.
Fearglas
20/08/2008, 1:31 PM
Thanx Neil, I saw the posting about the 10am bus. I see that up early = organised ! I'll have a good look through the thread and see if I can find any others. Thanks again.
20/08/2008, 9:01 PM
Hi all, I'm new on here, good site. I have been reading some of the great info posted. If thre is an answer for my question already posted, sorry. Had a good look but couldn't find one. Travelling is normally easy but this one is a bit tough. There are 3 of us landing in Dubrovnik on match day at 11:45. Just wanted to know there were any fans buses organised for around this time or if anyone knew of a minibus company that would do the run. We were gonna hire a car but only as a last resort. Any help very much appreciated. Cheers
hey i know someone on your flight who is Mr no mates, :D he is hoping to share a taxi/minibus with people on the flight. Can I PM you his name and number.:D He will be so happy:o
There are no public transport options that will get you to Podogorica in time that day
GT
Sligo Hornet
21/08/2008, 12:37 PM
I am sick to death of the sh*te weather we are having:mad:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?world=1465
but this cheered me up.....roll on 3 weeks!!:)
Fearglas
23/08/2008, 7:57 PM
Neil, do you have the name of the company you hired your bus from please. I might contact them to see if they also have minibuses. Thanx.
23/08/2008, 8:11 PM
Maro Carevic
Managing Director
Mediterranean Experience Ltd.
Cira Carica 3, 20000 Dubrovnik
tel: +385 20 436 846
fax: +385 20 436 847
mob: +385 91 2442 201
e-mail: info@mediterranean-experience.hr
www.mediterranean-experience.hr
evin_gla
28/08/2008, 12:28 PM
hello.
(new on here for posting but have been reading this and related threads over the last few months and have found them really useful, so thanks all round)
myself and a mate are needing to travel to Dubrovnik on the day after the game (Sept 11th).
I have been looking in this (on and off) for months but am still finding it difficult to get clear-cut info on public transport options.
Have seen some info that suggests that the only 'direct' bus leaves Podgorica at approx. 6am (and takes something like 7 hours as it goes round the houses on its way)
We would obviously rather an option which involves getting up a bit later than that on the morning after the match!
So I am now looking into the option of getting two buses:
First to Herceg Novi (near the border) and then from there to Dubrovnik
'Seems' (from travel forums and the like) that there are 3 or 4 buses Podgorica to Herceg Novi daily and a similar amount from there to Dubrovnik but again confirming details of times etc has been hard to come by - for me anyway.
Might even have to end up getting a taxi from HN to Dubrovnik but with just two of us am thinking that could be mad expensive
So I was wondering would anyone else have any relevant info/suggestions that they could pass on?
Or is anyone else making this journey on the 11th who would be interested in sharing a taxi/minibus if I could arrange one?
or anyone have spaces available themselves?
thanks in advance for any info
sorry for rambling!
Evin
28/08/2008, 12:36 PM
'Seems' (from travel forums and the like) that there are 3 or 4 buses Podgorica to Herceg Novi daily and a similar amount from there to Dubrovnik but again confirming details of times etc has been hard to come by - for me anyway.
That's correct anyway; should be one every hour or so and it'd take 2-2½ hours. To get timetables, you'd have to ring the bus station though; there's no internet timetable and the tourist office will tell you to ring the station. There's details on the summary thread in the stickies (www.visitmontenegro.com is the site).
Taxi could well be expensive, but don't pay the first price!
I think there's a charter bus being arranged here though - definitely the best bet.
28/08/2008, 1:27 PM
Lads if anybody is interested you can fly Stuttgart to Dubrovnik on the Tuesday with TUIFly.
ArdeeBhoy
28/08/2008, 2:16 PM
Did anyone ever manage to book any accomodation directly online?
As in through the hotel's or seperate booking website? Or have to contact independently?
zenokelly
28/08/2008, 3:31 PM
This is not exactly morale boosting for the lads next week!
http://www.rte.ie/sport/basketball/2008/0828/ireland.html
:p
28/08/2008, 3:41 PM
They would not have know if you did not post it up ha ha !!!
I am sure they are pretty good at Basketball in that neck of the woods as they have a good history of it.
MagicMulv
29/08/2008, 5:59 PM
Just a couple of questions.
Just wondering if anybody will be in Podgorica on the Tuesday and where is the best pub to go to. Will be staying 2 nights there and would like to know the best pub to go to.
Heading over to Dubrovnik for a few days, is it better to get the currency here or wait till I get over there, the banks here may charge extra to get etc.
Thanks
Just a couple of questions.
Just wondering if anybody will be in Podgorica on the Tuesday and where is the best pub to go to. Will be staying 2 nights there and would like to know the best pub to go to.
Heading over to Dubrovnik for a few days, is it better to get the currency here or wait till I get over there, the banks here may charge extra to get etc.
Thanks
There will be a good few over in Podgorica by Tuesday. There is an "Oirish" pub (I think 2) there so it will probably be the meeting place if not the main watering hole for the fans.
There is a local currency but according to the DFA exchange for the Euro is easy.
30/08/2008, 12:57 AM
Irish bar Saint Patrick....Ulica Slobode, there are a few other bars recommended by locals - Bar 111 and Buda Bar
jw_tfc
01/09/2008, 9:24 AM
Just got this email from Hotel Evorpa.... We had booked one night (the night of the match), staying in Dubrovnik the rest the time.
So a new search for a bed for 3 continues!
Dear John,
I'm sorry but i have to cancel your reservation,some guest to stay the long in the hotel.
Best regards
Hotel''EVROPA''
01/09/2008, 9:44 AM
Yeah I just got the same mail, *******s.
Sligo Hornet
01/09/2008, 9:51 AM
Yeah I just got the same mail, *******s.
I'm in that Hotel too:eek:..........but just checked my in box.......no bad news....yet!
01/09/2008, 10:48 AM
I'm in that Hotel too:eek:..........but just checked my in box.......no bad news....yet!
How big is your bed!!!!
01/09/2008, 11:46 AM
I presume there are no hotels now in Pod, that are free. What a shower of gangsters.
01/09/2008, 11:48 AM
Feck all hotels in the town, and with good reason. Try leg it to the bus station after the game; that's your best bet. Maybe bring a tent!
Sligo Hornet
01/09/2008, 11:51 AM
How big is your bed!!!!
Well there is 3 already in our room!:eek:
Would they (i.e Svjetlana, lady I emailed) not be able to find space at an alternative hotel having let you down at the last minute?
01/09/2008, 11:58 AM
Looks like I will be heading back on the bus to Dubrvonik with Paul and the rest of the gang.
01/09/2008, 8:33 PM
jeez that's pretty shabby. can they not book you somewhere else or recommend somewhere, but sligo hornet still has his room....:D
Moscow Mule
01/09/2008, 8:35 PM
Well there is 3 already in our room!:eek:
Would they (i.e Svjetlana, lady I emailed) not be able to find space at an alternative hotel having let you down at the last minute?
Im sure if you top and tail you could squeeze a few more in.
01/09/2008, 8:36 PM
The bus I am organising is heading back that night and my mate Paul is staying in Dubrovnik in an apartment that I booked so I can head back but if we win the game and have 3 points in the bag, I would love to be about Pod celebrating. I also had planned to hand about Montenegro for a few days as I am flying back on the Monday from Dubrovnik and I have been in Dubrovnik before also.
01/09/2008, 8:36 PM
Im sure if you top and tail you could squeeze a few more in.
Well I have lost 20lbs in the last 7 weeks. So I am doing my bit.
ArdeeBhoy
01/09/2008, 10:47 PM
Take that as a No then??
Did anyone ever manage to book any accomodation directly online?
As in through the hotel's or seperate booking website? Or have to contact independently?
Sligo Hornet
02/09/2008, 6:59 AM
Well I have lost 20lbs in the last 7 weeks. So I am doing my bit.
Dont you mean £20?:D
02/09/2008, 11:22 AM
Take that as a No then??
I booked my accomodation online no bother; Hotel Europa in Podgorica and Hotel Vardar in Kotor. Obviously Europa's full now though, which is a problem. Though when I say I booked online, I e-mailed them and they came back to say everything was OK.
02/09/2008, 11:44 AM
Check again Pineapple as they dumped me in it.
02/09/2008, 11:53 AM
I went last month though. I think I'm OK. :)
ArdeeBhoy
02/09/2008, 11:57 AM
I booked my accomodation online no bother; Hotel Europa in Podgorica and Hotel Vardar in Kotor. Obviously Europa's full now though, which is a problem. Though when I say I booked online, I e-mailed them and they came back to say everything was OK.
Thanks, but presuming was booked originally by request.
Also there was no game on then so accomodation plentiful.
Just been writing with little or no response;all of the former was negative.
Anyone know about booking private rooms or apartments?
Thanks.
RodgenotPodge
03/09/2008, 8:29 AM
I know that Mainz and the Georgians is first on the list but don't forget Montenegro. I'm in Podgorica at the moment and everything is looking set fair for next week. The weather is fantastic and the girls (amazing in all circumstances) are really showing of their summer tans. Anyone returning to the coast next Wednesday night is going to have to be dragged kicking and screaming into their cars or buses!
Howver one serious word of warning; the hotels in Podgorica are jammed and in at least some cases OVER-BOOKED for the 10th. Mine has admitted they are hoping for some cancellations; I've told them that the Irish visitors are very unlikely to cancel and I've suggested they think seriously about some emergency back-up. (The hotel didn't even realise there was a match on; this is all pretty new to the Montenegrins.)
So if you have a hotel booked in Podgorica for the 10th, my advice is to double and triple re-confirm and see if you can get some sort of priority status. Also bring your best jammies because some people might have to share (unless you can get one of the tanned, long-legged beauties to solve your problem).
03/09/2008, 9:28 AM
I am not flying home until teh Monday the 15th, What would you recommend Podge for the days after the match etc. I am on my own and have no set plans
03/09/2008, 10:01 AM
any nice policemen rodgenotpodge ;)
FAO Neilmcd, someone in podgorica will offer you lodgings, even a floor especially after all your hard work with the bus.
If you are really stuck we'll sneak you into the Kerber, babysis and i are booked in there we know a few lads booked in there too, they won't mind if you kip in there.
Great that Podgorica is all set. I think it'll turn out to be a great venue. I emailed a few places to tell them we were coming and to stock up :D
RodgenotPodge
03/09/2008, 10:05 AM
Just make sure of your own room in the Kerber first - that's the one that is overbooked!
03/09/2008, 10:06 AM
oh FFS,,,pack of tramps. must email them, i thought it was Europa that had the problem :mad:
03/09/2008, 10:13 AM
just emailed, awaiting a positive response :)
thanks rodge
RodgenotPodge
03/09/2008, 10:16 AM
I am not flying home until teh Monday the 15th, What would you recommend Podge for the days after the match etc. I am on my own and have no set plans
Podgorica will be fun on the match day - and night - but there's not a lot else to do, once you have cleared your hangover and kissed the new girlfriend goodbye.
I suggest you head down to the coast to Budva or Petrovac (its only a bit over an hour). Budva is the biggest and busiest resort - good scene but a lot of Russians. Locals say its about 20% more expensive than everywhere else but still pretty cheap by our standards.
Petrovac is smaller and quieter but still nice. If you are flying out of Dubrovnik you could go down to Herceg Novi which is close to the Croatian border. The town of Kotor is amazing also and in the same area.
The season is pretty well over but the sea is still warm and the weather is perfect - about 30 by day. Budva has a good town beach and there is a big one just outside the town which they also use for concerts (Stones last year, Madonna in a few weeks).
03/09/2008, 10:19 AM
I'd say not much in Podgorica at the moment, you might get some luck with apartments. Will see if i can find something. Can't have yerself on the streets :D
Otherwise try the coastal resorts
03/09/2008, 10:45 AM
Cheers for that, I am actually looking forward to a few days of swimming and chilling out after the madness of the games etc, and if there is a local female on my arm as I do it, all the better.
Actually the water will be warmer at this stage and its at its warments in late September as it takes a good while for water to warm up.
Sligo Hornet
03/09/2008, 11:02 AM
oh FFS,,,pack of tramps. must email them, i thought it was Europa that had the problem :mad:
They DO have a problem........I AM STAYING THERE!:D
Incidently, they responded yesterday to my "am I still booked in " email...and confirmed all Ok plus a driver will be waiting to collect us from the airport!:)
03/09/2008, 11:04 AM
the hornet survives.
madness this overbooking, still waiting to hear back. have texted aidom as he is in kerber too and he flew out to germany this morning. can't have the flag being homeless :eek:
Sligo Hornet
03/09/2008, 11:05 AM
I'd say not much in Podgorica at the moment, you might get some luck with apartments. Will see if i can find something. Can't have yerself on the streets :D
Otherwise try the coastal resorts
Why not?....he could help Neil selling the YBIG Magazine through the night!;)
Sligo Hornet
03/09/2008, 11:06 AM
the hornet survives.
madness this overbooking, still waiting to hear back. have texted aidom as he is in kerber too and he flew out to germany this morning. can't have the flag being homeless :eek:
...:D:D
03/09/2008, 11:11 AM
Looks like I am really going to have to make an effort with the local ladies so.
03/09/2008, 11:12 AM
aidom will be fine, it's the flag i'm concerned about :D ;)
03/09/2008, 11:13 AM
Looks like I am really going to have to make an effort with the local ladies so.
aidom is in the kerber. kip with him and the flag. You can iron it to pay for the stay :D
03/09/2008, 11:14 AM
I'd be concerned for the local residents if he was on the streets :D