View Full Version : Montenegro Away - 10th September 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10

Juanace
27/04/2008, 8:13 PM
I got an email back from Bradley at Katie O'Connors this morning, thats six of us booked in for the bus trip. Has anyone any idea what time the bus will be leaving Dubrovnik on the Wednesday, the earlier the better I say.

Is that bus returning the same night as the game or the next day..is the 50euro one way or both ways. Did ya find out what time the bus leaves Dubrovnik at? Any advice!!?? Cheers!!

Fr. Joe
28/04/2008, 12:39 PM
Is that bus returning the same night as the game or the next day..is the 50euro one way or both ways. Did ya find out what time the bus leaves Dubrovnik at? Any advice!!?? Cheers!!

Bus is definetly €50 return but nothing yet on times etc.

28/04/2008, 1:20 PM
Are there many saying out in Budva, just want to see if there were going to be many Irish out there on the coast.That's my plan, I haven't booked anything yet though.

citizenerased
28/04/2008, 1:33 PM
lads just inform you about the bus..its 8 hours journey on the day 4 there and 4 back..i for one cant stomach it so will be staying in budva as it will only be an hour max to podgorica

Juanace
28/04/2008, 2:24 PM
We fly into Dubrovnik on the 7th at 11.45..is anyone trying to get from the airport to Budva. Seems like a pretty cool place to stay .thinking of staying there and going up for the game..if there was enough of us on the flight we could arrange a mini-bus:D

28/04/2008, 3:58 PM
I emailed Katie O'Robbery's pub over a week ago to tell him 48 - 50 Euro per person return from Dubrovnik is daylight robbery and that yet again an Irish bar abroad is ripping off the Irish people. No reply from them as yet funny enough. Told them I had got a quote from a local bus company which hired a 48 seater for 520 Euro, you do the maths, I think it's a bit more reasonable than what Katie O'Robberys is quoting. Anyhow, it is a shame as Citizen says, it is 4 hour bus journey each way... so I wouldn't fancy that trip especially at about 23:00 after a game. I am in the middle of getting quotes from a Mntenegrin company that the previous company recommended so will update...:D

28/04/2008, 8:29 PM
So what happened the company that offered you the 48 seater bus.

28/04/2008, 9:38 PM
So what happened the company that offered you the 48 seater bus.

Well, we're not going with it cos we are staying in podgorica. We might stay in Budva one night. We would run bus from Budva but not from Dubrovnik as it is too long a journey. I can PM you or post up the details from the bus company as they were very good... :)

The Scientist
29/04/2008, 8:55 AM
Well, we're not going with it cos we are staying in podgorica. We might stay in Budva one night. We would run bus from Budva but not from Dubrovnik as it is too long a journey. I can PM you or post up the details from the bus company as they were very good... :)

Send it on to me and i will get onto your man in the pub!! actually heading to Dubrovnik on Sunday week with the girlfriend for a weeks holidays!!

Have no bother going in and meeting this bradley chap. I work as a Q.S so i will get a few quotes and get the best deal if ye want me to.

29/04/2008, 11:28 AM
Send it on to me and i will get onto your man in the pub!! actually heading to Dubrovnik on Sunday week with the girlfriend for a weeks holidays!!

Have no bother going in and meeting this bradley chap. I work as a Q.S so i will get a few quotes and get the best deal if ye want me to.

Well the bradley chap in Katie O'Robbery's has already got an email from me stating his rip-off carry-on. He has chosen to ignore it. Feel free to go in to the pub and tell him to sort a better deal or yous will be organising your own bus and poaching his customers.....I told the company in Dubrovnik I would recommend him to other Ireland fans who would be looking for transport from Dubrovnik even though we are not using him now. His details are as follows.
He is very good, knows we are not like England fans :D He was quoting 520 Euro for a 48 seater, works out about 10 euro per person. Excellent as this includes night driving, parking in Podgorica and ferry tickets across the Kotorska Bay. 4 hours each way, he is aware it is Ireland fans and is flexible with regards to picking up about noon or earlier and coming back at midnight if need be. You can tell him that I (Julie) had recommended his company.

Maro Carevic
Managing Director
Mediterranean Experience Ltd.
Cira Carica 3, 20000 Dubrovnik
tel: +385 20 436 846
fax: +385 20 436 847
mob: +385 91 2442 201
e-mail: info@mediterranean-experience.hr
www.mediterranean-experience.hr

Fr. Joe
29/04/2008, 3:34 PM
Well the bradley chap in Katie O'Robbery's has already got an email from me stating his rip-off carry-on. He has chosen to ignore it. Feel free to go in to the pub and tell him to sort a better deal or yous will be organising your own bus and poaching his customers.....I told the company in Dubrovnik I would recommend him to other Ireland fans who would be looking for transport from Dubrovnik even though we are not using him now. His details are as follows.
He is very good, knows we are not like England fans :D He was quoting 520 Euro for a 48 seater, works out about 10 euro per person. Excellent as this includes night driving, parking in Podgorica and ferry tickets across the Kotorska Bay. 4 hours each way, he is aware it is Ireland fans and is flexible with regards to picking up about noon or earlier and coming back at midnight if need be. You can tell him that I (Julie) had recommended his company.

Maro Carevic
Managing Director
Mediterranean Experience Ltd.
Cira Carica 3, 20000 Dubrovnik
tel: +385 20 436 846
fax: +385 20 436 847
mob: +385 91 2442 201
e-mail: info@mediterranean-experience.hr
www.mediterranean-experience.hr

Will we try and get a crew organised for this bus and let Bradley go do one with his €50 a head :rolleyes:
If its true that he has three bus's for it then surely we could get 48 people off here and do it much cheaper.

29/04/2008, 8:46 PM
Will we try and get a crew organised for this bus and let Bradley go do one with his €50 a head :rolleyes:
If its true that he has three bus's for it then surely we could get 48 people off here and do it much cheaper.

His hole has he 3 buses full so far. :mad: And IF he has 3 buses full, I can't see people stumping up the money in advance. If he gets a few emails from fans saying 50 E is rip off and they are going with Maro, he'll soon change his tune. We were considering changing our accomodation recently to stay in Dubrovnik and run the bus from Maro, but when we found out it was a 4 hour journey each way, the thought of carting ourselves back on a 4 hour bus journey was not appealing. Basically, if someone is willing to take on the responsibility of it, I can forward all the emails i got from Maro's company. You would get 48 people on here no bother, even if you only got 30 people you're still looking at 17 E per person, much better than E 50. If it is anything like the San Marino bus we did, we ended up turning people away as we had loads of people asking us on the day as word spread. Arrange to meet as many people as possible in Dublin/at Serbia game to pay for bus tickets in advance, so you are not running around collecting money on the day and at least you have cost covered. PM me if anyone wants to do it and I'll email you all the emails from Maro.
Just make sure people know it is a 4 hour journey each way.;)

30/04/2008, 7:02 AM
Guys can I suggest we also boycott the bar as well as the bus.

I'm fed up of people trying to ripoff our fans (most of them are Irish too). I've never been to Dubrovnik but I bet the local bars are much cheaper than this guy's bar too.

The Scientist
30/04/2008, 7:32 AM
didnt get a chance to email him yesterday, up to my tits here in work. lads will do a bit of donkey work when im out ther on holidays on sunday week!! give ye a run down on the pubs and clubs. i will also meet this bradley guy and will defo sort things out with Marco if the buses are going to be this cheap!!

send me on what details of what ye have and i will get in contact with him when im out there and we can do some sort of a deal!!

if i book the bus we will setup a topic here and give foot.ie posters first shout on the seats!!

30/04/2008, 9:02 AM
Good man gspain, glad someone else is seeing it too. Anyone who is willing to pay 50 Euro to some money grabbing git deserves to be ripped off. These people annoy me too. That's why when we got the great quote from Maro's company we were planning to change our accomodation to Dubrovnik and runa bus from there as a 48 seater worked out at 10 euro each! We were up for it until we found out about the 4 hour journey each way.
Just shows you that Bradley did not reply to my email saying I was disappointed that yet again Irish bars abroad were ripping off their own people. He didn't even get back to me to suggest a lower price. I agree with gspain, boycott the bar ( there will always be some that go to it though), local bars are better fun and cheaper. Boycott the bar AND poach his bus customers :D
Maro said he can offer 2 buses if demand is there, I tried to get him down in price even more but he wasn't budging and in fairness it is a great price, especially if you fill the bus(es), which i believe you will. Put a poster up in a few bars the night before the game if you have spare seats saying what pub the bus is leaving from. I will email Maro and say that you might be dropping in Scientist in a week or so??
From the bus running in San Marino, I would recommend it, it was great fun, we had cd's playing and it was a laugh. If I had booked for Dubrovnik, I'd be doing it. Might yet run a bus from Budva and stay one night there.

Sligo Hornet
30/04/2008, 11:15 AM
Good man gspain, glad someone else is seeing it too. Anyone who is willing to pay 50 Euro to some money grabbing git deserves to be ripped off. These people annoy me too. That's why when we got the great quote from Maro's company we were planning to change our accomodation to Dubrovnik and runa bus from there as a 48 seater worked out at 10 euro each! We were up for it until we found out about the 4 hour journey each way.
Just shows you that Bradley did not reply to my email saying I was disappointed that yet again Irish bars abroad were ripping off their own people. He didn't even get back to me to suggest a lower price. I agree with gspain, boycott the bar ( there will always be some that go to it though), local bars are better fun and cheaper. Boycott the bar AND poach his bus customers :D
Maro said he can offer 2 buses if demand is there, I tried to get him down in price even more but he wasn't budging and in fairness it is a great price, especially if you fill the bus(es), which i believe you will. Put a poster up in a few bars the night before the game if you have spare seats saying what pub the bus is leaving from. I will email Maro and say that you might be dropping in Scientist in a week or so??
From the bus running in San Marino, I would recommend it, it was great fun, we had cd's playing and it was a laugh. If I had booked for Dubrovnik, I'd be doing it. Might yet run a bus from Budva and stay one night there.

GT I'm beginning to think you are a frustrated "Clippie":D

30/04/2008, 7:01 PM
now now sligo hornet!:D:eek:

lopez
30/04/2008, 10:02 PM
Guys can I suggest we also boycott the bar as well as the bus.

I'm fed up of people trying to ripoff our fans (most of them are Irish too). I've never been to Dubrovnik but I bet the local bars are much cheaper than this guy's bar too.This has been going on for years. I swerve big time from any Irish pubs. They were cooool about 89 but once they marketed themselves as bare-faced rip off kips I tend to avoid them. During Ireland games they tend to work on w*nkers the way magnets work on iron filings.:mad:

Sligo Hornet
01/05/2008, 7:13 AM
This has been going on for years. I swerve big time from any Irish pubs. They were cooool about 89 but once they marketed themselves as bare-faced rip off kips I tend to avoid them. During Ireland games they tend to work on w*nkers the way magnets work on iron filings.:mad:

Love that line Lopez!!:D

01/05/2008, 9:32 AM
Lads I am heading to Dubrovnik the day of the game so I will not be coming back from Montenegro and I am staying there for a few days, otherwise I would go an organise the bus with this lad. But What I am going to do is e mail him and express my interest.

I am with GSpain and Green Tribe and we should avoid the Irish Bar. I have been in Dubrovnik. No need to go any where near the Irish Bars there.

To be honest I will probably take it easy at that stage and just enjoy some sunshine and some nice meals etc.

Can we get a list going for this guy and then we can e mail him with a a good lot of names rather than mailing in Dribs.

I can put down

Neil +3

lopez
01/05/2008, 10:20 AM
Love that line Lopez!!:DTrue though! Where was the grief most people talk about in Slovakia? Weren't some ghetto bar out in the projects. It was the 'Oirish' bar in town with the gorillas on the door. I popped into that 'Oirish' bar in Wensesclas Square, with the Indian Leprechaun outside. Grief was about to kick off. Didn't see any grief later that night in the Czech bars.

I'd leave the 'Oirish' bars to the people who have more money than sense and can't drink in any establishment that doesn't remind them of the local back home.

BTW, Sligo: As you are a resident of Watford, the genre of fake 'Oirish' bars reminds me of the 'Oirish' pub between Vicarage Road and the Town Centre. When I was in there last, it looked like it was run by an old English bloke. :D

Sligo Hornet
01/05/2008, 12:09 PM
Lads I am heading to Dubrovnik the day of the game so I will not be coming back from Montenegro and I am staying there for a few days, otherwise I would go an organise the bus with this lad. But What I am going to do is e mail him and express my interest.

I am with GSpain and Green Tribe and we should avoid the Irish Bar. I have been in Dubrovnik. No need to go any where near the Irish Bars there.

To be honest I will probably take it easy at that stage and just enjoy some sunshine and some nice meals etc.

Can we get a list going for this guy and then we can e mail him with a a good lot of names rather than mailing in Dribs.

I can put down

Neil +3

If Paul gets lost in the middle of the night you will probably only require 3 seats!:D

Sligo Hornet
01/05/2008, 12:14 PM
True though! Where was the grief most people talk about in Slovakia? Weren't some ghetto bar out in the projects. It was the 'Oirish' bar in town with the gorillas on the door. I popped into that 'Oirish' bar in Wensesclas Square, with the Indian Leprechaun outside. Grief was about to kick off. Didn't see any grief later that night in the Czech bars.

I'd leave the 'Oirish' bars to the people who have more money than sense and can't drink in any establishment that doesn't remind them of the local back home.

BTW, Sligo: As you are a resident of Watford, the genre of fake 'Oirish' bars reminds me of the 'Oirish' pub between Vicarage Road and the Town Centre. When I was in there last, it looked like it was run by an old English bloke. :D

That was "Macs Bar"........its now reverted to its original english name "The Oddfellows Arms"......looks absolutely no different!;)

lopez
01/05/2008, 1:17 PM
That was "Macs Bar"........its now reverted to its original english name "The Oddfellows Arms"......looks absolutely no different!;)Looking at the map, I think it was Mangan's on Market St.

http://www.beerintheevening.com/pubs/s/16/16342/Mangans/Watford

Landlord is called Ray, and to keep this post on topic, I'm wondering if Ray could run a bus to Pod. Probably cheaper than going from Katie O'Robberys. :D

01/05/2008, 4:16 PM

I can put down

Neil +3

Best start a new thread, to be honest. I'll keep it updated if you want. It'll only get lost in here.

Fr. Joe
01/05/2008, 4:19 PM
Best start a new thread, to be honest. I'll keep it updated if you want. It'll only get lost in here.

Well you can put me down for 6

4 in a row
25/05/2008, 7:05 PM
Lads, im trying to plan me 1st Ireland trip away!!!

How much would i be looking at for the 4 days??

SuperDave
25/05/2008, 8:29 PM
does anyone know the kickoff time yet?

cos i'm looking at flying into budapest on the monday and taking overnight trains both ways.

SuperDave
25/05/2008, 8:32 PM

cos i'm looking at flying into budapest on the monday and taking overnight trains both ways.

Greenforever
25/05/2008, 10:34 PM
Lads, im trying to plan me 1st Ireland trip away!!!

How much would i be looking at for the 4 days??

Might not be the best one as tickets will possibly be very scarce.

Cost depends on how much or little you want to spend, go direct and you can pay a fortune or you can get cheap flights if you are flexible with dates etc.

Never been to Montenegro but safe to say it'll be a lot cheaper than Dublin!

And if you do go welcome to the club

green army
26/05/2008, 7:22 AM
i was on the montenegro airlines website looking to price flights but have difficulty in finding that section. did anyone book flights with them.

26/05/2008, 8:42 AM
i was on the montenegro airlines website looking to price flights but have difficulty in finding that section. did anyone book flights with them.I emailed them to find out a price, they got back to me quite quickly. I didn't book with them in the end because Malev were cheaper. I think I posted the price here somewhere, I'll have a look for it.

*Edit* Here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=910980#post910980)'s the post. It was €275 return from Frankfurt, it might be more now though.

green army
26/05/2008, 10:03 AM
cheers schumi.

Mayo_Bhoy
26/05/2008, 6:00 PM

I'm thinking along the same lines. Have you any links re train times, prices etc??

26/05/2008, 7:01 PM
Try www.seat61.com for details.

05/06/2008, 10:40 AM
Are there many people staying in Budva?

Sligo Hornet
05/06/2008, 10:51 AM
Are there many people staying in Budva?

We were thinking of staying there before we finally managed to blag an Hotel in Pod.......I thought you also had booked in Pod?

Paulie
05/06/2008, 10:57 AM
We're staying in Podgorica from Mon - Wed and in Dubrovnik on the Thursday. I just always prefer to stay in the city where the game itself is on.

Juanace
05/06/2008, 11:01 AM
Myself and another 6 of us are staying in Budva for the week..Sunday to Sunday, have a luvly apartment boooked:D. Do you reckon there'll be many irish staying there?

newrynyuk
05/06/2008, 1:57 PM
Highly likely there'll be many Irish staying in Budva since, as previously mentioned in this thread, every hotel room in Podgorica is gone. Doubly so since it will also be a shorter journey time to Podgorica than from Dubrovnik.

05/06/2008, 2:28 PM
Sligo H, are booked into hotel in Podg yep, but we are considering running a bus from Budva - Podg on the day, have about 12 takers so far, but wondering if there will be a big enough demand to fill a 48 seater for example.

Sligo Hornet
05/06/2008, 2:45 PM
Sligo H, are booked into hotel in Podg yep, but we are considering running a bus from Budva - Podg on the day, have about 12 takers so far, but wondering if there will be a big enough demand to fill a 48 seater for example.

You really do have a love affair with Buses!!;)

05/06/2008, 3:07 PM

You can count me in x3 if I'm staying in Budva (most likely location at the moment).

Juanace
05/06/2008, 3:55 PM
I'd certainly be on for a bus. You could put us down for 7:D..would ya have the bus returning straight back to budva after the game? IF we won it would be good craic to hang around Pod with the rest of the fans? What u thinking?

Babysis
05/06/2008, 7:59 PM
As GT said the bus is just something we are considering at the mo. We need numbers to get an idea of whether its possible and to see if the interest was there - Times etc havent been sorted at all yet. Will keep you posted on it all though.

Mayo_Bhoy
06/06/2008, 3:36 PM
5/6 us more than likely would be interested. Wont be able to confirm for couple of weeks yet though.

06/06/2008, 3:41 PM
In fairness to babysis and GT, more than interested doesn't pay for a bus. Not havnig a go mayo_bhoy at you necessarily but there are a lot on here who sound like the kind of ones who would say ya, and then you go organise a bus and they dont show, leaving someone else to foot the bill.

BTW how far is dubrovnik from pod? I hear its about 60 yoyos in a taxi?!

07/06/2008, 12:35 PM
Paul you should look at the Bust from Dubrovnik to Pod as we have a bus organised and its 11 euro return and we have 4 places left on it.

AidoM
07/06/2008, 12:50 PM
Paul you should look at the Bust from Dubrovnik to Pod as we have a bus organised and its 11 euro return and we have 4 places left on it.

What sort of ride will that be :confused: :eek: :rolleyes:

Mayo_Bhoy
07/06/2008, 6:00 PM
[QUOTE=paul_oshea;958170]In fairness to babysis and GT, more than interested doesn't pay for a bus. Not havnig a go mayo_bhoy at you necessarily but there are a lot on here who sound like the kind of ones who would say ya, and then you go organise a bus and they dont show, leaving someone else to foot the bill.

QUOTE]

Believe me i would not be in that category. I oranise all our away trips and know exactly what a hassle it is trying to collect money etc. I was just expressing an interest in case anyone else organises a bus later on when i have confirmed numbers.