View Full Version : Montenegro Away - 10th September 2008
Pages :
[
10]
Montenegrin
15/09/2008, 10:55 AM
I am glad that most off you had good time in Montenegro.I am happy that you were treated well.People in Montenegro generaly like Irish people,I dont why really but ok:D.
Newrynyuk,I was not able to go to Podgorica due to some family problems,but I managed to watch the game on TV.Was that maybe this song:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5z3RmgJhpwg
15/09/2008, 11:10 AM
I thought it was possibly the greatest trip for me so far. The only problem we encountered was the evil Olympia bus company in Budva who showed up with 2 buses to take 80 fans to podgorica with a sing-song but the tramps denied that they knew we were football fans (liars) and after phoning the cops (cops said it was fine) the manager of the bus company said he would only take us if we paid more than double the original price. So we told them to forget about it, to hell with their bribe, and everyone took taxis or buses (sorry again) we are having to refund everyone now. Bad form as this would have been great craic a la san marino.
Their loss in the end. Typical business trying to rip people off. Apart from that, the cop was lovely if a little sleazy :D
Big thanks to the Blue Star Hotel (Milan etc) who were so helpful to us, speaking to the bus company and the police and the Hotel Kerber (Maria etc) who were also amazing.
The Montenegrin people were great, maybe shocked to see us all there. Do think the atmosphere was much better on match say than the monday night. The cops were cool, posing for photos no prob.
Would defo go back and i hope we draw them again. Yes, the Montenegrin women are beautiful but the men are fairly easy on the eye too! :D Budva was a class spot, needed that sea breeze, met some great ireland fans on this trip, seemed to be a great crowd. had some great laughs. Fair play to the germans in mainz too, that was great craic.
Hvala lepo!
We'll be back!
Cao!
15/09/2008, 11:12 AM
any of you lads manage to pull any of these beauties? :)
Fr. Joe
15/09/2008, 11:34 AM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=gu6g0ibo1eM :D Some craic, 40 cent cans, unreal women and fantastic weather - what a combination!!
galah
15/09/2008, 12:37 PM
taxis were some craic too!! they seem to tink its alright to pass out on blind bends ...an the guy on the way back to budva had no issues with takin a couple swigs out of our bottle of vodka ...
although heard guys gettin a taxi back next day were lucky to still be alive after crashing.
15/09/2008, 1:00 PM
Also,I will ask off topic question:Why Irish and British dont like basketball,handball,volleyball and other sports that are popular in europe and world wide?I was allways curious about that.
Whatever about the Brits, we just think they're silly sports and can't understand why the rest of you play them. ;)
We play hurling, Gaelic football, football and rugby in Ireland, and horse racing is very big too (although you can't play it really...). That's plenty enough to keep us going, and of those, only football is played in Montenegro (or across Europe really). So it's three sports in, three sports out. Handball in Ireland is so small that it isn't even called handball (it's Olympic handball, cos we have our own game called handball and we only ever notice the other game during the olympics) and the international squad contains a TV presenter. The Irish basketball team seems to be mainly Americans with Irish grannies (bit harsh, but you get the idea) and volleyball is played mainly in college by people who want to be different.
Montenegrin
15/09/2008, 1:09 PM
taxis were some craic too!! they seem to tink its alright to pass out on blind bends ...an the guy on the way back to budva had no issues with takin a couple swigs out of our bottle of vodka ...
although heard guys gettin a taxi back next day were lucky to still be alive after crashing.
It is big problem in Montenegro.It must be gens or something like that since everybody drives fast.Even if we drive carefull it is still like mad driving comparing to you.There is many acidents and many people are killed in them.Something must be done to stop this.Although,I can not judge anyone since I drive fast too:D.
15/09/2008, 2:08 PM
Montenegrin will you be coming over to Dublin for the return leg next year?
15/09/2008, 2:43 PM
our taxi driver took us to the airport instead of the train station, near crashed a few times on the way too :D
we liked the taxi man from budva to podgorica, we gave him our cd and he played it full blast the whole way, arrived in the square republik with give it a lash jack blasting out the windows :D
15/09/2008, 2:52 PM
One random fact I took away is that the Top 5 Montenegran water polo teams have a E1m+ annual budget and are fully pro :eek:
How you get so many horses into the water at one time I'll never know.......
newrynyuk
15/09/2008, 7:30 PM
Newrynyuk,I was not able to go to Podgorica due to some family problems,but I managed to watch the game on TV.Was that maybe this song:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5z3RmgJhpwg
That was indeed the song, over and over we heard it at the stadium. What does "hrabri sokoli" mean?
It means "The Brave Falcons"
Montenegrin
16/09/2008, 11:55 AM
Montenegrin will you be coming over to Dublin for the return leg next year?
Who knows everything is possible.It depends on many things.I have few more exams to get a degree and if I do that maybe I will come.I woud definetly like to come to Ireland and watch that game.
BTW-I was in London this summer so I think that I have a clue how is it in your country;).
Hrabri sokoli=Brave falcons
What is the name of the song from the great movie "Wakening Ned Divine".The one that they play at the very end,it goes something like:"For all the comrades that there I had,they are sorry for me going away;For all the sweethearts that there I had,they wished me one more day to stay"?Very nice sad song.
Montenegrin
16/09/2008, 12:02 PM
One random fact I took away is that the Top 5 Montenegran water polo teams have a E1m+ annual budget and are fully pro :eek:
How you get so many horses into the water at one time I'll never know.......
Well,Montenegro is European champion in Waterpolo,so it is very popular sport in our country.Waterpolo is probably the toughest sport to play,you know.
We beated(better word is destroyed) your national waterpolo team in one of our first matches.
Montenegro-Republic of Ireland 25-2:p.
galah
16/09/2008, 12:38 PM
Well,Montenegro is European champion in Waterpolo,so it is very popular sport in our country.Waterpolo is probably the toughest sport to play,you know.
We beated(better word is destroyed) your national waterpolo team in one of our first matches.
obviously never seen a game of hurling so!!
16/09/2008, 12:41 PM
Kilkenny 7-19 Montenegro 0-1. And that's in the football. :p
galah
16/09/2008, 12:48 PM
Kilkenny 7-19 Montenegro 0-1. And that's in the football. :p
.....giving Montenegro a 1 point headstart!
16/09/2008, 1:23 PM
If this rain doesn't stop our whole country will be under water soon and then we'll get revenge. :D
RodgenotPodge
16/09/2008, 1:24 PM
It sounds like everyone enjoyed Montenegro (apart from the bad experience with the bus from Budva - gob****es). I'm not surprised you were goggle-eyed at the lovely ladies.
I'll be staying at the Kerber on Thursday and Friday next and I'll tell Maria that she has some Irish fans!
One thing puzzles me a bit though; several of you speak of the "crazy" drivers. My experience (of many hundreds of kilometers of travelling around the country) is of very sedate drivers for the most part, chugging along at a comfortable 80kph. The slow trucks and buses make it hard to get anywhere fast; you might see the occasional injudicious overtaking, but no worse in my experience than on the average Irish road.
By the standards of Central/Eastern Europe, Montenegro is pretty safe - try Georgia or Albania!
16/09/2008, 1:31 PM
It wasn't the drivers' speed, it was the overtaking that I noticed. A car would pull out to overtake a lorry or something and be blasted out of it by another driver who was overtaking 3 cars and the lorry all in one go while there was something else coming down the other side of the road.
Sligo Hornet
16/09/2008, 2:24 PM
It wasn't the drivers' speed, it was the overtaking that I noticed. A car would pull out to overtake a lorry or something and be blasted out of it by another driver who was overtaking 3 cars and the lorry all in one go while there was something else coming down the other side of the road.
And that was just on the pedestrian crossings!!:eek:
Fr. Joe
16/09/2008, 2:42 PM
good man saint tom, you made it home from green army duties then? :D
bet budva was class the last few days.
has anyone got the live RTE link with Tony from Mainz....stick it up there will yis?
Right, here it is but after much trawling thru the net I have been unable to convert it to a more common file. Its a .ivr file and it plays using RealPlayer only as far as I can make out. RealPlayer can be downloaded from http://europe.real.com/player/win/
I have it uploaded HERE (http://www.badongo.com/file/11372097) on Badongo. Its just the Football segment 4.97MB in total. Enter verifictaion text on right-hand side of page and hit download.
Enjoy, they weren't long cutting him off :D
17/09/2008, 6:25 PM
cheers finally saw it on rte too, very funny, recognise a few foot.iers in it!!!!
18/09/2008, 9:36 AM
What is the name of the song from the great movie "Wakening Ned Divine".The one that they play at the very end,it goes something like:"For all the comrades that there I had,they are sorry for me going away;For all the sweethearts that there I had,they wished me one more day to stay"?Very nice sad song.
Its called "The Parting Glass".
I associate it with the Clancy Brothers who sang it at the end of every show.
There are many versions around.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KqcdTinjKvA
newrynyuk
21/09/2008, 6:02 PM
Hrabri sokoli=Brave falcons
Oh, okay.
What did that banner at the Montenegrin supporters' end say?:-
http://www.cathalchu.com/pics/photos/others/DSC_3472.jpg
Montenegrin
22/09/2008, 11:38 AM
Oh, okay.
What did that banner at the Montenegrin supporters' end say?:-
http://www.cathalchu.com/pics/photos/others/DSC_3472.jpg
Mi sa tobom uvijek,ti bez nas nikad=We are allways with you,you are never without us(Montenegro,that is).
It sounds little bit stupid when I translate it but it have sence in our language.It kind of message like Liverpools "You will never walk alone",you will never be alone...You got the point;).
newrynyuk
23/09/2008, 9:16 AM
Mi sa tobom uvijek,ti bez nas nikad=We are allways with you,you are never without us(Montenegro,that is).
It sounds little bit stupid when I translate it but it have sence in our language.It kind of message like Liverpools "You will never walk alone",you will never be alone...You got the point;).
Thanks Montenegrin. You should come to Dublin for thhe return match next year.
Montenegrin
24/09/2008, 4:38 PM
Thanks Montenegrin. You should come to Dublin for thhe return match next year.
Believe me,I would like to come,but it is not so simple.First off all I dont know will I be able to come at all since it is long time until the game.And there are problems like getting visa.
It is too early,but who knows;).I would like to see Ireland.