View Full Version : Terry Venables
Pages :
[
9]
L37Ultra
29/11/2007, 1:32 PM
Wake up people!!!!
If not Venables, then who??
Are they lining up ouside the FAI building? NO!!
You, me the neighbours dog. God :eek:, anybody but Venables. He would do a terrible job as Ireland manager.No, there not lining up outside the FAI buildings but appartenly there have been 25 applicants for the job!
Bondvillain
29/11/2007, 1:34 PM
Wake up people!!!!
If not Venables, then who??
Are they lining up ouside the FAI building? NO!!
Part of the general feeling of failure and disappointment in our Football association stems from the fact that they seemingly are happy to choose a candidate from those potentials who just "throw their hat into the ring" , instead of forcefully hunting the likes of Hodgson, Van Gaal, and even Mourinho (jaysus!) , and selling it with a passion, saying "Here's the deal, heres the draw, and here's what your wages would be. What can we do to make you take the job?"
As it is ( because at the moment, we're standing against the wall, head down, shoulders shrugged, like the plain girl at the dancehall who'll dance with ANYONE as long as they just ask her) the footballing quagmires that are Derby, Bolton & Birmingham were for the vast majority of candidates, a more attractive proposition for employment than a young international team, that despite it's faults, HAS genuine potential.
The poll was simple - Is Venables the man for the job? My opinion - No.
Simply ticking the boxes of "Has done it before. Is currently unemployed" is NOT GOOD ENOUGH. More should be required from an applicant to be considered favourite for the post, but sadly, an element of lazy journalism has watered common thinking to such an extent that we are starting to truly believe Venables is the best we can get.
If we are to puch at or above our weight at pitch level, we have to start by punching at or above our weight at managerial level, and that means hunting with vigour a suitable capable candidate who has a hunger for sucess, and NOT simply settling for the first unemployed hack that says he wants the job.
stojkovic
29/11/2007, 1:41 PM
Given that people here have commented positively on Hodgson's Wikipedia entry, I was wondering how Venables' stacks up.
Here it is:
Managerial career
Early management
He took over as manager of Crystal Palace when they were in the Third Division, he coached them to the Second Division in 1977 and the First Division in 1979. After a mid-table finish in 1980 he left that October for Queens Park Rangers, whom he led to promotion as Champions in 1983 and a very respectable 5th place in the First Division the following season. He also guided Rangers to the FA Cup final in 1982 whilst still a Second Division side, but lost in a replay against his former club Tottenham.
[11]
Yes we all remember The Team of the Eighties !!!!!!
29/11/2007, 1:45 PM
FAI agree to bring in English headhunters
By Daniel McDonnell
Friday October 26 2007
THE FAI has agreed a deal with an English headhunting firm to accelerate the process to replace Steve Staunton.
Chief executive John Delaney and President David Blood spent yesterday in negotiations with the recruitment experts who are believed to be experienced in the football industry and also work for the English FA.
Discussions took place in the association's headquarters in Merrion Square and at the nearby Merrion Hotel where a deal was hammered out.
It's understood that the consultants, who were flown in from the UK at short notice on Wednesday night, will be tasked with providing a shortlist of potential candidates to the FAI.
The developments contradict comments made by Delaney at the announcement of Staunton's departure on Tuesday night.
While he confirmed that the process of replacing the Louthman would be outsourced, he said that the next course of action would not be ratified until a board meeting next week where a list of 'football people' to be given the responsibility of finding a new man would be drawn up.
Criticism
Delaney also suggested that there would be patience in finding a successor but it appears that the FAI are keen to move quickly after a week where they have come under criticism.
Last night, an FAI spokesman, when contacted by the Irish Independent, denied that talks of any description had taken place.
"We categorically deny that any meeting took place today between John Delaney, David Blood and anyone else in relation to the senior international manager's job," he said.
The English FA frequently use such recruitment firms to fill key roles within their association, with the sports practice of international company Odgers, Ray and Berndtson currently involved in the process of appointing a new chairman.
Ireland's next match is against Wales in Cardiff next month where under-21 boss Don Givens will be in charge.
That will be the last match of the year with no further action scheduled until February. The FAI are keen to have a new manager in charge by that point.
Headhunting, a Bondvillain is advocating, is actually proactively seeking people IN employment. Any twit can get in touch with someone out of work.
Where is the imagination?
Once this process is over will the FAI be able to honestly say they took every measure necessary to approach, interview and select the very best candidate available given their budget? Will they fcuk.
This is a search based on a whim, or worse, based on the demands of a shady character who has the FAI by the short & curlies due to the seemingly perpetual sponsorship arrangement his company has with them.
soccerc
29/11/2007, 1:53 PM
Ok,
Don't lambaste me. I am only relaying something I've been told.
Got a call from someone I trust.
He claimed a junior FAI official was in Hackett's of Lr Baggot Street photocopying some papers today when the machine jammed.
Assistance was needed and during the conversation it transpired the guy was making 15 copies of a managerial contract for Terry Venables.
Believe it, or believe it not :D
29/11/2007, 1:57 PM
Ok,
He claimed a junior FAI official was in Hackett's of Lr Baggot Street photocopying some papers today when the machine jammed.
Assistance was needed and during the conversation it transpired the guy was making 15 copies of a managerial contract for Terry Venables.
I don't want to believe you :(
29/11/2007, 1:59 PM
Ok,
Have they not moved out to Blanch.
29/11/2007, 2:00 PM
Hard to believe that the FAI dont have a photo copy machine.
stojkovic
29/11/2007, 2:00 PM
Ok,
Can the FAI not afford their own photocopier.
soccerc
29/11/2007, 2:01 PM
Have they not moved out to Blanch.
Have they all moved out yet?
Not inconceivable that there was/is a meeting in the city centre is it? ;)
stojkovic
29/11/2007, 2:04 PM
Its like one long continuous Monty Python sketch isnt it.
29/11/2007, 2:05 PM
photocopying some papers today when the machine jammed.
... the guy was making 15 copies of a managerial contract for Terry Venables.
Even a photocopy machine has feelings.
Dr. Ogba
29/11/2007, 2:06 PM
Ok,
15 Venebleses??? say it ain't so!! one's too many!!
29/11/2007, 2:12 PM
Has anybody phoned up Hacketts yet and asked to speak with the assistant who had to help a customer?
soccerc is turning into the boy who cried el tel
29/11/2007, 2:14 PM
Arenīt contracts printed on watermark legal paper?
jmurphyc
29/11/2007, 2:15 PM
Arenīt contracts printed on watermark legal paper?
Remember, this is the FAI that is handing out the contract.
stojkovic
29/11/2007, 2:16 PM
All top city centre hotels have conference/meeting facilites like er phones/faxs/copiers etc.
Where was the meeting held - Statoil !
29/11/2007, 2:19 PM
Hacketts
Legal Documents
Dedicated service to the legal profession
Rapid response to meet crucial deadlines
Experienced with sensitive, fragile and oversized documents
Hackett Reprographics offer expertise and experience to meet the requirements of the legal profession.
Confidentiality and security is key and Hackett embraces these important features in accordance with their ISO accreditations.
Hacketts understand that legal documents are unique and that their reproduction with regard to accuracy and quality is essenti
29/11/2007, 2:20 PM
Who photocopies anymore? Surely just print 15 copies straight off. Even I have that much technical grasp.
RogerMilla
29/11/2007, 2:23 PM
Van Gaal, .
if louis van gaal becomes ireland manager i will stop attending matches and quite possibly watching them, he is odious, arrogant and completely and utterly in the grip of a napoleonic complex, :mad::mad::mad:
I cannot stand him , file under W with rednapp , jamie and shearer ,Alan.
29/11/2007, 2:24 PM
I actually know Joe Hackett senior, very nice man. Top class tennis player in his day.
"Rapid response to meet crucial deadlines" - maybe Hackett's should choose the manager!
29/11/2007, 2:34 PM
Fair play to that photocopier. :D
29/11/2007, 2:42 PM
if El Tel is in Dublin then we are ******. Any sightings?
Bondvillain
29/11/2007, 2:46 PM
if louis van gaal becomes ireland manager i will stop attending matches and quite possibly watching them, he is odious, arrogant and completely and utterly in the grip of a napoleonic complex, :mad::mad::mad:
I cannot stand him , file under W with rednapp , jamie and shearer ,Alan.
Im actually not on the selection commit-tee, but when Delaney runs out of Pro-venables people to join his task force and rings me, your objections will be duly noted.
However, should we draw the Crimea in the next Euro qualifiers, his complex may prove invaluable.
29/11/2007, 2:47 PM
I propose that 2 votes for Venables be removed.
Noely's vote - drunk at the time and pressed the wrong button.
Cymro's vote - I object to the validity of his voting rights.
Dr. Ogba
29/11/2007, 2:54 PM
I propose that 2 votes for Venables be removed.
Noely's vote - drunk at the time and pressed the wrong button.
Cymro's vote - I object to the validity of his voting rights.
indeed...and the rest should be removed because, well, if they're voting for Venebles then their opinions shouldn't really count should they? :D
Well, my vote may be invalid, but I do think you could do worse than Venables. Maybe not the ideal candidate but the ideal candidates all seem to be ruling themselves out! Or at least being linked with other roles.
lionelhutz
29/11/2007, 3:08 PM
I honestly believe that Venables would do a very good job if appointed.
I believe as an international manager the first thing you need is the respect of the players - Venables would have this. Secondly, it would help if you had experience, knowledge and success in international football - which he has (although i know some people argue he wasn't that successful). Finally, you need to be able to select and organise your best team in the space of a few days so that every player knows their role and performs it to the maximum. My opinion is that he would be able to achieve this also
Drumcondra 69er
29/11/2007, 3:12 PM
I believe as an international manager the first thing you need is the respect of the players - Venables would have this. Secondly, it would help if you had experience, knowledge and success in international football - which he has (although i know some people argue he wasn't that successful). Finally, you need to be able to select and organise your best team in the space of a few days so that every player knows their role and performs it to the maximum. My opinion is that he would be able to achieve this also
What makes you believe this? He certainly didn't have it at Leeds, (even Lawrenson who's in favour of the appointment admits that he was told that by Trevor Birch).
I think a lot of todays' footabllers view him as someone whose time has been and gone. England certainly didn't look organised when they played his favoured Xmas tree formation at any stage during the last campaign (away to Croatia for example) and her can't pass all the blame onto McClown for that.
29/11/2007, 3:16 PM
and he can't pass all the blame onto McClown for that.
He did
Drumcondra 69er
29/11/2007, 3:31 PM
He did
I know but who really believes that other then his buddies in the meida who ran the stories designed to distance him from McClaren.
Ok that may be two positives but what about the 20 negative points you have chosen to ignore?
29/11/2007, 3:41 PM
if El Tel is in Dublin then we are ******. Any sightings?
He's supposed to be in Spain at the moment, supervising the development of a La Manga-esque resort. He'll be back in England this weekend, he's managing a team of England legends against a Rest of the World XI on sunday in Manchester.
Armando
29/11/2007, 3:49 PM
He's supposed to be in Spain at the moment, supervising the development of a La Manga-esque resort. He'll be back in England this weekend, he's managing a team of England legends against a Rest of the World XI on sunday in Manchester.
That's about the level he should be at this stage of his career.
Dunphy made a salient point the other night that was lost amongst everything - Nobody else is interested in Venables, that tells you everything. So why are we? It stinks to the high hills:mad:
29/11/2007, 4:50 PM
From Wikipedia
'in 1984 he took the role of manager at Barcelona, earning the sobriquet "El Tel". Venables was recommended by Bobby Robson, a good friend of the Barcelona President and who himself, years later, would take over the team. Terry used a very English system, a classic 4-4-2, which took advantage of outstanding defenders like Gerado, Migueli and Julio Alberto and a hard-working midfield led by German Bernd Schuster'
I remember years ago there was a 4 part ITV type soap drama set around EL Tels years in Barcelona. He was cast as some north England football muck savage trying to communicate his idea of what 442 was to the sophisticated multilingual Barca team,
why is the grass longer in the corners boss?
Bondvillain
29/11/2007, 4:55 PM
I do think you could do worse than Venables.
Aaaaaah, but THEY weren't voting options...what y'all voted for was "Yes he's just what we need"..... That's VERY different to 'doing worse than' , or settling for..
29/11/2007, 5:09 PM
Well, my vote may be invalid, but I do think you could do worse than Venables.
The minimum requirement is that you have to live with the decision.
When you becomes a we, then you can vote :)
cavan_fan
29/11/2007, 5:42 PM
indeed...and the rest should be removed because, well, if they're voting for Venebles then their opinions shouldn't really count should they? :D
And yet people who last week couldnt pick Arie Haan out of a lineup are telling us he's the real deal!
29/11/2007, 6:07 PM
And yet people who last week couldnt pick Arie Haan out of a lineup are telling us he's the real deal!
There were even those who thought that Arie Haan was a European rocket :D
Ireland4ever
29/11/2007, 7:24 PM
Where was the meeting held - Statoil !
its not inconceivable!
The minimum requirement is that you have to live with the decision.
When you becomes a we, then you can vote :)
Ah, right. I do apologise.
We are indirectly affected by the decision though-Celtic Cup anyone? :p
29/11/2007, 7:43 PM
Sky Sports News claims Venables met the FAI today.
Only a 30 second piece saying they met and that sources say Venables is keen for another job at the highest level and that money is not an issue for the FAI.
Bondvillain
29/11/2007, 7:50 PM
Sky Sports News claims Venables met the FAI today.
Only a 30 second piece saying they met and that sources say Venables is keen for another job at the highest level and that money is not an issue for the FAI.
Other things that aren't an issue for the FAI are seemingly : credibility, common sense, or the wishes of anyone in Ireland who's name doesn't start with "John" and end with "Delaney"
Bondvillain
29/11/2007, 8:14 PM
Just one question, (in all seriousness) :
Everyone is entitled to an opinion on the manager, but do the folk who are voting 'yes' to Venables in the poll really believe that he is, without a shadow of a doubt, "Just what we need" , or is it some kind o' protest vote, or a "yes with a but"?
29/11/2007, 8:23 PM
Maybee there was a wine bar around the corner from Hacketts.
Stutts, are you sure you didn't mix the reports that the FAI met and Venables is interested?
29/11/2007, 8:34 PM
Positive, until you planted doubt in my mind. Pretty sure.
Noelys Guitar
29/11/2007, 8:46 PM
If Venables was offered the job you can be sure all betting woud have been suspended. It would be like Arry returning to Portsmouth. Every one of Tels mates would be laying big bucks on him getting the job. But we know the FAI contacted TV on Saturday. And then met him today. But still nothing concrete about offering him the job. Hopefully they are going to interview every worthwhile candidate and then decide.
29/11/2007, 9:18 PM
Great point Noely
cavan_fan
29/11/2007, 9:28 PM
Just one question, (in all seriousness) :
Everyone is entitled to an opinion on the manager, but do the folk who are voting 'yes' to Venables in the poll really believe that he is, without a shadow of a doubt, "Just what we need" , or is it some kind o' protest vote, or a "yes with a but"?
I voted yes, not necessarily as he is without a shadow of doubt the best possible manager.
Realistic candidates are
Venables
Hodgson
Houllier
Souness
Brady
I woujld like O'Leary to be on that list but there we go, of these the only one I'd be passionatley in favour of is Houllier. I'd have Hodgson and Venables on the same level and Souness just above Brady at the bottom. At this stage I'm just happy to see a professional experienced manager getting the job. My biggest concern with Venables is his attention.
I think there is a bit of an unthinking backlash against Venables, based on his character, Dunphy's attack and obviously his recent record. But when I see people suggesting that they would rather John Aldridge then I do despair a bit.
Bondvillain
29/11/2007, 9:49 PM
I voted yes, not necessarily as he is without a shadow of doubt the best possible manager.
Realistic candidates are
Venables
Hodgson
Houllier
Souness
Brady
I woujld like O'Leary to be on that list but there we go, of these the only one I'd be passionatley in favour of is Houllier. I'd have Hodgson and Venables on the same level and Souness just above Brady at the bottom. At this stage I'm just happy to see a professional experienced manager getting the job. My biggest concern with Venables is his attention.
I think there is a bit of an unthinking backlash against Venables, based on his character, Dunphy's attack and obviously his recent record. But when I see people suggesting that they would rather John Aldridge then I do despair a bit.
Thats what I thought. You've made valid points, but have admitted to clicking "YES , HE IS JUST WHAT WE NEED" when you apparently, on the above , don't really think that at all. You voted yes as you consider Venables should be considered, but is not the man for the job, and possibly as a protest vote against someone who reckons Aldridge would be better.
I dont personally agree with the Aldridge thing, even though I DO think that , unlike Venables, he'd at least look upon the Irish job as more than a hobby, and as a consequence, should be interviewed accordingly as part of a fair and balanced and most importantly wide ranging selection process which included all interested & qualified applicants,(hopefully including some headhunted genuine world class managers) and NOT as part of some jolly boys do with a pre-determined conclusion.
("Here's the plan boys. We do 20 balanced and fair interviews, then announce Terry has the job. Ok?")
And , really though, If there is a public backlash against Venables, it's only right that it would be based on His character, Dunphy's criticism (I do not , in this case subscribe to the "My enemy's enemy is my friend" argument), and most importantly his recent record. What else would an Anti Venables backlash be based on if not his character, his percieved flaws and his record?
The arguments contained within all of those aforementioned points are enough put me off him as a valid candidate. If that makes me unthinking, fair enough. I still dont want him.