View Full Version : Terry Venables

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19

Claret Murph
13/01/2008, 11:02 AM
If i remember right i think we have about 91% of us who said that El Tel is a chancer , hell we can't all be wrong .
The only thing what I will put money on is the FAI like to play games with the media at the moment and this could be another one of the red herrings that they like to throw out every now and then to keep us off the sent so to say .....

livehead1
13/01/2008, 11:10 AM
Jesus, man . Dont steam off your face. You'll never get it to fit back on properly.

Just laughed out loud at what i put..you get the point though...no point starting threads such as that...any self respecting ireland fan can remember the great hurrah when knight said he wanted to play for ireland (or may be interested) and was subsequently capped by england

13/01/2008, 11:24 AM
According to todays Sunday Indo Venables assistants will be Brian Kidd and Andy Townsend
Was it Townsend that contacted the FAI a couple of months ago or was it the other way around?

13/01/2008, 11:38 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/better-than-big-brother-1264969.html

looks like Big Sam has been put off by Givens releasing some info. The article suggests 2 or 3 more candidates are to be interviewed this week before El Tel is appointed?!

Philly
13/01/2008, 12:05 PM
According to todays Sunday Indo Venables assistants will be Brian Kidd and Andy Townsend

That is excellent. Kidd is a hugely respected coach, was number two to Sven at England and is regarded as a top coach in England. Townsend has 70 caps for Ireland and would be a good edition. These two, couples with Venables, is certainly an very good management team (assuming it is true!)

LeixlipRed
13/01/2008, 12:50 PM
That is excellent. Kidd is a hugely respected coach, was number two to Sven at England and is regarded as a top coach in England. Townsend has 70 caps for Ireland and would be a good edition. These two, couples with Venables, is certainly an very good management team (assuming it is true!)

Was Steve McLaren not Sven's number 2?

Philly
13/01/2008, 12:54 PM
Was Steve McLaren not Sven's number 2?

When he left the England set-up, Kidd replaces him.

His history is at the bottom of this page.
http://www.thefa.com/England/SeniorTeam/NewsAndFeatures/Postings/2003/01

13/01/2008, 12:54 PM
Kidd was first before he was diagnosed with cancer, then McLaren took over that spot, but I could be wrong?

13/01/2008, 1:35 PM
At this stage I'm trying to get used to the fact that Venables is going to be the manager but what I'm most annoyed about is this farce of a selection panel. Townsend and Delaney had a lengthly chat and now Townsend is looking likely to be part of the new management team. There's no way Delaney can hide behind Howe, Givens and Houghton.

Townsend would probably be our Ally McCoist figure.

13/01/2008, 1:36 PM
What Irish players have played under Venables? Just off the top of my head, I can only think of McPhail during his 8 month spell at Leeds, and Jason Gavin who played under him at Boro. I remember reading a rumour that Venables was interested in taking him to Leeds as well.

olegunnar
13/01/2008, 1:49 PM
Using his Spurs links to get O'Hara??
Almunia interested in ireland? lol

Steve bruce was never capped by england, slot him in beside Dunne....

or maybe he'll ask Howard Kendall about irish up and comers!!!

13/01/2008, 2:14 PM
What Irish players have played under Venables?
Harte, Kelly and McPhail at Leeds. Curtis Fleming, Keith O'Neill, Alan Moore and Jason Gavin at Boro. Clinton Morrison at Palace.

Noelys Guitar
13/01/2008, 2:36 PM
At this stage I'm trying to get used to the fact that Venables is going to be the manager but what I'm most annoyed about is this farce of a selection panel. Townsend and Delaney had a lengthly chat and now Townsend is looking likely to be part of the new management team. There's no way Delaney can hide behind Howe, Givens and Houghton.

Townsend would probably be our Ally McCoist figure.

It does look a lot like the Smith/McCoist/Burns set up.

Armando
13/01/2008, 2:56 PM
Regarding Zat Knight.
Both his caps were in friendlies so, does that still rule him out? It used not too, but I have a feeling it may have changed recently?

Bondvillain
13/01/2008, 3:30 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/better-than-big-brother-1264969.html
The article suggests 2 or 3 more candidates are to be interviewed this week before El Tel is appointed?!

In fairness, It's looking like the whole 14 or so candidates had to go through the farce of " interview" before El Tel gets appointed.

The fallacy' of Delaney intstructing the three stooges to :

'Go and find the 20 best candidates in Europe, nay THE WORLD, & tell them that money is no object. Do a lengthy in-depth interview process despite their apparent qualifications. Leave no stone unturned, take well into January to speak to them if you need to.

Then come back and tell me that Venables is the best man for the job. Dont leave it later than the end of January though. He's going to be in the Canaries through February, and we need him for the press conference & subsequent party. Sky News are coming over.'

is looking more credible by the minute.

I hope this isn't true. We pay this organisation prices for games that would make the Mafia feel a pang of guilt, we shouldn't be mislead like this.

13/01/2008, 4:26 PM
Regarding Zat Knight.
Both his caps were in friendlies so, does that still rule him out? It used not too, but I have a feeling it may have changed recently?

If he's past 21 and assuming he hasn't submitted a request to switch associations he's tied to England.

dr_peepee
13/01/2008, 4:59 PM
Harte, Kelly and McPhail at Leeds. Curtis Fleming, Keith O'Neill, Alan Moore and Jason Gavin at Boro. Clinton Morrison at Palace.

Andy Turner....

D'mind him and this two new players lark.. You'll find he'll "uncover" two players we've been talking about for months here, and try take credit for getting their comitment... Scannal or someone like that..

13/01/2008, 5:32 PM
Any type of full international, friendly or competitive, ties you regardless of your age. You can play a friendly aged 18 and that's it.

Deckydee
13/01/2008, 5:41 PM
This was Terrys last involvement with the ROI :o)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oN-voEwlrko&feature=related

13/01/2008, 5:48 PM
No Prob. Lennon also said that Venables had really done his homework on the players and had identified 2 possible newcomers (granny rule or playing lower league than Premiership I took that to be) that would really improve the team. I was impressed by that.I don't like Venables and the process still stinks but I think he could do ok, he has a CV after all. Our last 2 managers didn't even have that (OK, Mick was at Millwall for a year or so but in international terms it was nothing).

Would I trust Venables to be able to accurately assess the merits of Irish / Irish eligible players and set a proper team out with square pegs in square holes, and to recognise its strengths and weaknesses? Yes, I would.

This was one of Stan's biggest failings - he was picking everyone and anyone in all areas of the pitch while seemingly ignoring anyone aged 25 or over, bar Nicky Colgan. His stubborn insistence on picking kids who were nowhere near ready - in conjunction with Givens' thinking - has cost both our senior team and our U21s dear.

13/01/2008, 5:50 PM
...which is exactly why Brian Kerr capped Aiden McGeady against Jamaica in the Unity Cup back in 2003.

:ball: PP

Irish_Praha
13/01/2008, 6:08 PM
I don't like Venables and the process still stinks but I think he could do ok, he has a CV after all. Our last 2 managers didn't even have that (OK, Mick was at Millwall for a year or so but in international terms it was nothing).

Mick wasn't one of our last two managers but I understand how you can get confused because it's difficult to call Stan a manager :D

hogey
13/01/2008, 6:10 PM
apparently venables has targetted 2 new squad players, as stated on another thread, during his interview with Paul Lennon....

without getting too bogged down with the granny rule, can anyone speculate which possible players he might be talking about, i heard a rumour Zat Knight is a possible contender...

Over to you.....

Brilliant. More foreigners playing for Ireland.

Paddy Garcia
13/01/2008, 6:11 PM
This was Terrys last involvement with the ROI :o)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oN-voEwlrko&feature=related

I'm not at all sure of the point of your post. His interview was pitched just about right. He said he was embarrased & was very clearly upset.

Unless you think he was tearing up seats & fighting?

Paddy Garcia
13/01/2008, 6:13 PM
Brilliant. More foreigners playing for Ireland.

What foreigners do we currently have?

Deckydee
13/01/2008, 6:20 PM
Thats all I think about when I think about Venables!! ;)

Seriously though that is what i found when i searched his name under Google

14/01/2008, 8:07 AM
Dean Kiely, Clinton Morrison, Liam lawrence, Alan Lee, Owen Garvan, Rory Delap, Jon Walters, Paddy McCarthy, Sean St. Ledger and Jay Tabb could all enhance our squad and maybe plug a gap in difficult positions and all could be considered "new players".

14/01/2008, 8:16 AM
He'll probably be spotted with Kevin Nolan and a large brown envelope...

14/01/2008, 9:10 AM
there was way more than a "handful" or 30, 40 or 100. It was a hell of a lot more than that.

i love the last line by jack, any englishman should be ashamed of himself tonight.

lionelhutz
14/01/2008, 10:47 AM
Regarding Zat Knight.

He's a waster of a defender - Gary Doherty is a better centre half - why would we care if he wanted to play for Ireland??

Deckydee
14/01/2008, 10:49 AM
The only advantage of having Venables (I feel) is that he will use that granny rule. Would Jack have had half the success he had wihout it?

14/01/2008, 10:52 AM
Stan approached Dave Kitson and Gary Cahill to declare for Ireland, and was rebuffed by both. Would they do the same to El Tel?

14/01/2008, 10:53 AM
Are there many "granny rule" candidates that'd actually enhance our team, at least any that haven't already declared?

The likes of Matthew Connolly may prove to be a loss but there are few eligible players I'm aware of who we've yet to approach and who could do anything for us in the near term.

14/01/2008, 10:54 AM
Stan approached Dave Kitson and Gary Cahill to declare for Ireland, and was rebuffed by both. Would they do the same to El Tel?I checked Cahill's age earlier - he's 22 and has already played underage for England I think, not sure if it was competitive or if that's even a factor.

colster
14/01/2008, 11:38 AM
apparently venables has targetted 2 new squad players, as stated on another thread, during his interview with Paul Lennon....

without getting too bogged down with the granny rule, can anyone speculate which possible players he might be talking about, i heard a rumour Zat Knight is a possible contender...

Over to you.....

Darren Anderton & Nick Barmby? :)

14/01/2008, 11:51 AM
Darren Anderton & Nick Barmby? :)
Paul Okon?

Noelys Guitar
14/01/2008, 12:13 PM
Joe Lapira?

Thebolg
14/01/2008, 12:47 PM
Is it just me or is it really a foregone conclusion now. There seems to be little or no speculation to the contrary in the media especially in the last couple of days. So if i have to resign myself to the fact that TV is indeed the next Ireland manager i can only say we could have done alot worse. of course we could have done alot better but in real terms we dont really have the same draw as a top flight european side or any of the major Internationals. I think we might overestimate the draw of a salary in this region for men who in most cases are already seriously wealthy.

Venables has a better record than any previous Ireland manager. Time will tell. I wont be sitting in the stand waiting for the first bad result so i can boo him off the pitch. I just hope the Media dont either. If he keeps his beady little eyes on the job i reckon he can do a job for us.

Wolfie
14/01/2008, 1:10 PM
The attitude and hunger that El Tel has for this job is a relevant talking point.

It's well documented here that many have one issue or another with his proposed appointment. He certainly would not have been my favoured choice for the job but there comes a time where you've got to deal with the reality of the situation.

I do believe that he could hypothectically make us at least competitive and organised again and with some luck, achieve what is required - qualification for 2010 World Cup.

Secondly - whoever is appointed, the players are going to have to be united in meeting him half way in order to have a successful campaign. Whatever you say about him, Venebles could have it within his personality to unite and motivate the players to the cause. Again, it all stems back to El Tel's hunger and how seriously he takes this job.

I can remember El Tel was an analyst on the BBC's World Cup 90 team and he pointed out on more than one occasion that Ireland were far more than "a long ball team".

The English media never failed to pass up an opportunity to cast us as a limited team of chancers. He used footage from our game with Holland to illustrate how we could pass and move with the best of them on occasion. A move that prominantly featured his future mate, Andy Townsend...........................

14/01/2008, 1:29 PM
I agree, I think Venables could well do a good job. We have good players who if motivated and set up correctly can give most teams a good game. The right players need to be chosen for the right positions and the squad places awarded on merit, not on some wing & a prayer based on the future.

That's not to say that people aren't right to:

scrutinise his track record and highlight that some of the things he's acclaimed for just don't stand up
question the process
respond to journalists who put forward a poor case for Venables, overlooking other candidates in the process
respond to pundits & former players who commented positively on Venables but who weren't faced with proper questions or asked to comment on other candidates
highlight the "inelegance" of the composition of the selection team
question his commitment
say whether or not we like him

Thebolg
14/01/2008, 1:39 PM
I agree, I think Venables could well do a good job. We have good players who if motivated and set up correctly can give most teams a good game. The right players need to be chosen for the right positions and the squad places awarded on merit, not on some wing & a prayer based on the future.

scrutinise his track record and highlight that some of the things he's acclaimed for just don't stand up
question the process
respond to journalists who put forward a poor case for Venables, overlooking other candidates in the process
respond to pundits & former players who commented positively on Venables but who weren't faced with proper questions or asked to comment on other candidates
question his commitment

completely agree with what you are saying. i was not on the positive side of the poll on this thread. However i am just hoping that he is given a fair crack of the whip.

Wolfie
14/01/2008, 1:41 PM

question the process
question his commitment

All of which are legitimate and reasonable - despite the Heralds view that we're a shower of cranks who will scare El Tel off if we're not careful.

Noelys Guitar
14/01/2008, 2:05 PM
He must believe himself that he can help us qualify for the World Cup finals. He is independently wealthy so I can't see money being his main motivation. All of our players are familiar to him and he will have an immediate plan of how he wants the team to play. We might have got a better manager but Venables is probably the best of those that applied for the job.

Bondvillain
14/01/2008, 2:08 PM
but Venables is probably the best of those that applied for the job.

....That remain unemployed as the 'interview process' which started in August 1875 draws to a close.

Noelys Guitar
22/01/2008, 3:30 PM
Venables is now 12/1 on Betfair! Has he said to somebody he is not interested.

Noelys Guitar
22/01/2008, 3:31 PM
Venables is now 13/1 on Betfair. Something must have happened.

22/01/2008, 3:33 PM
Venables is now 12/1 on Betfair! Has he said to somebody he is not interested.Yes, and he told his other mates to stick 10 grand on probably.

Dr. Ogba
22/01/2008, 3:42 PM
Venables is now 12/1 on Betfair! Has he said to somebody he is not interested.

ah feck, don't have access to betfair in work - deffo worth a few quid!

can someone sort me out for 50 euro at 12/1? I'm good for it...honest!

EalingGreen
22/01/2008, 4:04 PM
He must believe himself that he can help us qualify for the World Cup finals. He is independently wealthy so I can't see money being his main motivation. All of our players are familiar to him and he will have an immediate plan of how he wants the team to play. We might have got a better manager but Venables is probably the best of those that applied for the job.

Agree with all you've said, except the emboldened part. Which, tbh, is a bit like saying the Pope probably doesn't bother praying these days, since he's already "independently holy"...;)

From what I've read on here, Delaney's a cute hoor of the highest order - and if he annoints, sorry, appoints El Tel, then he'll need to be, since when it comes to money, Venners could outsmart Bertie Ahern's accountant! :eek:

Noelys Guitar
24/01/2008, 5:02 AM
Venables is back as bookies favourite.