View Full Version : Terry Venables
Pages :
[
16]
I'm sorry Noely but this is the post that broke the camels back.... I love yer enthusiasm for Ireland and your posts are insightful but I don't know how many times I've heard this manager and that manager from you for the job. Its getting annoying at this stage man,.
In fairness it was on the late TV3 news as well. " TV3 news understands the 3 man committee will recommend Venebles"
TERRY VENABLES last night moved a step closer to becoming Steve Staunton's successor after Bulgaria named their manager.
The former England boss looks a short-priced favourite to manage Ireland after Plamen Markov was re-appointed Bulgaria coach with a two-year contract.
Nothing confirmed yet.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/el-tels-back-at-top-of-republic-list-1264483.html
12/01/2008, 7:40 AM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0111/venablest.html
More leaks and rumours but it's looking more like El Tel by the minute.
Irish_Praha
12/01/2008, 7:51 AM
This was posted 2 months ago but it's pretty well done.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Jx3Wb-BvdM
livehead1
12/01/2008, 9:53 AM
I wonder when will the FAI listen to the people who pay their wages. It is clear on this board which is made up of Irish football fans that Terry Venables is not the man we want, the poll demonstrates as much. So I suppose we simply accept another manager who lacks the credentials that we crave? Maybe they realise we are just a spineless bunch and as soon as he is appointed we will come out with all the usual "o well never mind, lets get behind him". Its a f*cking farce that we are going to be faced once again, with a man in charge that we don't want.
hamburg paul
12/01/2008, 9:58 AM
This is from RTE not me. I'm not 100% convinced this is a done deal yet. If it is Venables then so be it. Not the worst coach around by any means. I still believe we missed a chance to get someone like Beenhakker or Bilic. Not someone who was going to have us playing Brazilian football but who fully understands how we play and how the opposition plays.
You dont seriously think that either of these would leave their respective teams to join a shambles like ours ?Personally if that piano player and jellied eel eating C..t gets the job i am going to find it hard to go to a game again ,for the love of jasus please do not appoint Venables.:mad:
12/01/2008, 10:48 AM
terrible news if true. really ****ed off, it just goes to show really how much they considered it if venables is the best that we can get. im so ****ed off now.
12/01/2008, 11:21 AM
If he becomes manager then thats it..............i'm out
Noelys Guitar
12/01/2008, 11:27 AM
The FAI have yet to deny the RTE story. Yet you can still get 5/6 on Venables.
Greenforever
12/01/2008, 11:28 AM
If he becomes manager then thats it..............i'm out
I tought the exact same think when Jack got the job, and was disgusted with his first game v Wales at the RDS, the rest's history, (never stopped supporting the team) however i'm not expecting history to repeat itself.
If TV gets the job, id put money on him quiting within a month of the 2nd Italian qualifier, with a nice multi million pay off off our euros.
12/01/2008, 11:39 AM
If TV gets the job, id put money on him quiting within a month of the 2nd Italian qualifier, with a nice multi million pay off off our euros.
If he quits, he gets nothing. He'll only get a pay off if the FAI sack him before his contract ends.
12/01/2008, 11:58 AM
I tought the exact same think when Jack got the job, and was disgusted with his first game v Wales at the RDS, the rest's history, (never stopped supporting the team) however i'm not expecting history to repeat itself.
Were you sitting beside me at that match I remember a bit of a grumpy git giving out about Charlton after only one game. Its onl now that I am older why somebody woudl be so bitter from the start of a managers reign.
Although if Venables does get it I will try to look at the good side of it.
soccerc
12/01/2008, 12:33 PM
If he quits, he gets nothing. He'll only get a pay off if the FAI sack him before his contract ends.
Word is he demands a contract that see's him paid off whether he walks away or is sacked.
In other words he picks up the full contract value regardless
Noelys Guitar
12/01/2008, 12:45 PM
Word is he demands a contract that see's him paid off whether he walks away or is sacked.
If he gets his contract and becomes manager who else was in running for the job (Brady, Hoddle?) or was Venables as seems now in a competition of one?
viagogo
12/01/2008, 12:46 PM
You dont seriously think that either of these would leave their respective teams to join a shambles like ours ?Personally if that piano player and jellied eel eating C..t gets the job i am going to find it hard to go to a game again ,for the love of jasus please do not appoint Venables.:mad:
Leo Beenhaker is getting 250,000 euros year to manage Poland and according to Januarys World Soccer magazine Croatia are paying Slavin Bilic 47,000 pounds a year. Rumour has it we could be paying a manager up to a million euros a year. Surely it would not take much persuading to get guys like this to manage us.
12/01/2008, 12:49 PM
If the FAI give him that sort of contract that should be shot. I cannot believe that even the FAI woudl give him a contract that allows him to walk away and get the full payment of the contract.
Newryrep
12/01/2008, 12:50 PM
Great, so the person who 9 of 10 supporters if the poll is anything to go by dont want anywhere near the job is now dictating the terms.
The FAI should grow some balls and tell him to go **** himself.
I am now inclined to wait till after the Euro's and see who fancies a challenge/E1 million for 5-6 games a year.
A ouja board and Brian Clough anyone ?
Noelys Guitar
12/01/2008, 12:52 PM
If the FAI give him that sort of contract that should be shot. I cannot believe that even the FAI woudl give him a contract that allows him to walk away and get the full payment of the contract.
In theory he could up sticks after the Brazil game and be in charge of Bulgaria by the time we play them with a cool 2 mil in his back pocket.
12/01/2008, 1:01 PM
Rumour has it we could be paying a manager up to a million euros a year.
It's not rumour any more. Delaney confirmed in an interview on RTE that they're willing to pay the new manager a 7 figure sum. So it's at least a million. They'd probably go up to about a million and a half.
12/01/2008, 2:30 PM
Sounds like a Wind Up, again.
I know its Venables but at least keep the rumours somewhere around believable.
Greenforever
12/01/2008, 2:35 PM
Were you sitting beside me at that match I remember a bit of a grumpy git giving out about Charlton after only one game. Its onl now that I am older why somebody woudl be so bitter from the start of a managers reign.
Although if Venables does get it I will try to look at the good side of it.
not guilty, i was on the lansdowne terrace, right behind the goal about half way up on my usual spot, only graduated to the stands when the block booking came in:D
amaccann
12/01/2008, 2:37 PM
Soccer Writers Awards, eh? Sounds to me like maybe some people had a bit too much of the complimentary wine - I mean isn't it a somewhat odd environment for this "news" to break? At least that's what I'm telling myself.
12/01/2008, 2:39 PM
I cannot say I'm surprised. Disappointed if true, I think our 3 amigos lacked imagination and just went through the usual 'has been' list and crossed them out one by one until El Tel was last man standing.
If he is offered a contract then nothing over a 2 and a half years.
Greenforever
12/01/2008, 2:39 PM
Sounds like a Wind Up, again.
I know its Venables but at least keep the rumours somewhere around believable.
with tvs track record regarding business anything is believable, he'll probably want to be paid a bonus on top of his contract if he is sacked remember this is EL TEL we are talking about
12/01/2008, 2:44 PM
I dont see it cut and dried yet.
I hope the selection panel have a plan B.
Rednapp a sure thing at 1/10 to take the Newcastle job didnŽt agree terms.
We need straws.
12/01/2008, 2:49 PM
I dont see it cut and dried yet.
I hope the selection panel have a plan B.
Rednapp a sure thing at 1/10 to take the Newcastle job didnŽt agree terms.
We need straws.
or a hitman! :D Only joking - in case the police are reading!
12/01/2008, 3:15 PM
geysir, usually soccerc has sources before he posts anything and generally they are true. IF that is the case then he shouldbe told go and sh1te. taking the Irish for eejits, unfortunately those in charge are....
If venables is getting it, then what money have they wasted in the "process" when everyones original prediction was that venables would get it, what was the point of the "process" other than to waste money. I am so frustrated. handing out 440 euro for my tickets for 2 games every few months is seriouslly begining to **** me off when I think of who gets the money. its seriouslly frustrating and upsetting. For a start venables is past it and no where near worth 1 million euro, but go on take us Irish for a ride once more.
12/01/2008, 3:52 PM
Who can forget the memorable Hacketts story :)
RTE radio 1 sport this afternoon had announced that they were going to have a chat with 2 who were at the soccer awards. OŽDonaghoe and some scribe about the FAI panel recommendation leak.
I have to go out can anybody listen out for it, has to happen before the close of the sporting day on RTE radio.
Noelys Guitar
12/01/2008, 4:32 PM
RTE radio 1 sport this afternoon had announced that they were going to have a chat with 2 who were at the soccer awards. OŽDonaghoe and some scribe about the FAI panel recommendation leak.
I have to go out can anybody listen out for it, has to happen before the close of the sporting day on RTE radio.
The Journo was Paul Lennon from the Irish Mirror. He said that Venables was interviewed just before Christmas and interviewed very well. Knew all the details of the Irish players and mentioned some players he intended to "recruit". One or two more candidates (I got the impression usual suspects)are still to be interviewed next week and then that is it. According to Lennon The likelyhood is that Venables is will be appointed at the FAI meeting of Jan 22.
O'Donaghue went off on a tangent about Houllier saying what a good candidate he would be. Both O'D and Lennon agreed that the FAI are still interested in Houllier but he has shown no interest in going through the interview process to date and is instead seeking to get back into the Premiership. Lennon finished by saying there is still the possibility of a candidate coming out of nowhere but he must be willing to go through the interview process. Nobody is going to be offered the job without being interviewed by the 3 lads. My own take on this is Venables has the job unless the likes of O'Leary or Daglish are willing to go through the 3-man process and even then Venables is probably still favourite.
soccerc
12/01/2008, 4:42 PM
I suggest you go back and read it again! :D
Where do you think I got the story?
I too was at the awards along with my six guests and strangely, everyone was being told different versions of dfferent rumours so at the end of the night you could have written a new fai rytale.
12/01/2008, 6:35 PM
I wonder when will the FAI listen to the people who pay their wages. It is clear on this board which is made up of Irish football fans that Terry Venables is not the man we want, the poll demonstrates as much. So I suppose we simply accept another manager who lacks the credentials that we crave? Maybe they realise we are just a spineless bunch and as soon as he is appointed we will come out with all the usual "o well never mind, lets get behind him". Its a f*cking farce that we are going to be faced once again, with a man in charge that we don't want.
Strange one ok. 3 "experts" pick the manager but the fans don't agree with the choice. May be Delaney should put it to a vote of the fans in future :confused: ?
dr_peepee
12/01/2008, 6:37 PM
If Venables get that Job I will boo as loud as i can every time I hear his name mentioned on the tannoy in Croker... I f'kin will... This is what I've been reduced to... I'm not gonna bury my dissapointment and get behind the set up like I did when Stan got the job (and most of us knew it was a disaster waiting to happen)... D'ye know why? Because it's misplaced, that's why.. We acted as real suppoprters and two years later the fact we got behind the set up when stan was appointed was used against us. We were only falling in behind Dunphy and the back of the Sun apparently. That was the sentiment from Delaney and the players.The pr'cks in the FAI and some of the players (too far removed from the real fans) treat us like sheep of the media.
So now our views are disregarded, now when a journalist actualy reflects and articulates our views, it's twisted as us following the media... So what's my only medium... Monosylabic hoots at our home ground. And in two years time when that clown delaney and some whingy b!tch of a player attacks our depth as fans when we're all snappin' because either A) That Mercenry Venables treats the job with the well paid indiference I've seen from him the last decade or B) He actually does alright but f'cks off back to the premiership before the qualifying campaign is over. Mark my words. The guy's a gangster... I wanna get in on the ground floor so in no way can I be viewed as a Hypocrite when it all goes t!ts up...
If Venables get that Job I will boo as loud as i can every time I hear his name mentioned on the tannoy in Croker... I f'kin will... This is what I've been reduced to... I'm not gonna bury my dissapointment and get behind the set up like I did when Stan got the job (and most of us knew it was a disaster waiting to happen)... D'ye know why? Because it's misplaced, that's why.. We acted as real suppoprters and two years later the fact we got behind the set up when stan was appointed was used against us. We were only falling in behind Dunphy and the back of the Sun apparently. That was the sentiment from Delaney and the players.The pr'cks in the FAI and some of the players (too far removed from the real fans) treat us like sheep of the media.
So now our views are disregarded, now when a journalist actualy reflects and articulates our views, it's twisted as us following the media... So what's my only medium... Monosylabic hoots at our home ground. And in two years time when that clown delaney and some whingy b!tch of a player attacks our depth as fans when we're all snappin' because either A) That Mercenry Venables treats the job with the well paid indiference I've seen from him the last decade or B) He actually does alright but f'cks off back to the premiership before the qualifying campaign is over. Mark my words. The guy's a gangster... I wanna get in on the ground floor so in no way can I be viewed as a Hypocrite when it all goes t!ts up...
What if he gets us to the World Cup and does reasonably well there? Will you still boo as loud as you can? I'm no admirer of Venables and I dont want him to be appointed but if he is I will back him until I feel he dosnt deserve it. Everyone deserves a fair crack of the whip, he is no different should he be appointed
kingdomkerry
12/01/2008, 7:50 PM
What if he gets us to the World Cup and does reasonably well there? Will you still boo as loud as you can? I'm no admirer of Venables and I dont want him to be appointed but if he is I will back him until I feel he dosnt deserve it. Everyone deserves a fair crack of the whip, he is no different should he be appointed
Well said.
He would'nt be my first choice either but if he gets the job he will have my full backing and support until/unless he does a 'stan' on it
Paddy Garcia
12/01/2008, 7:54 PM
I really don't want Terry. At the same time his appointment would be a ten fold improvement on the last one.
zenokelly
12/01/2008, 8:23 PM
Take a loan out and get down to PaddyPower and back him at 10/11, it might ease the pain:ball:, I'm anyway planning to put a big bet on him tomorrow
12/01/2008, 8:42 PM
The Journo was Paul Lennon from the Irish Mirror. etc etc.
Thanks for the verbatim report Noely, dead on.
The RTE sports did my head in this afternoon, they announced the FAI rumour scope interview about 3pm and then just when you think they have to do it, off they go to some feckin epl game followed by a championship update followed by Anelkas latest hairstyle, berry picking gone mad.
It sounds like, according to SoccerC as well, that we could have had 10 different stories from that night but it all leads to one inevitablity.
Deckydee
12/01/2008, 8:58 PM
Its a dark day for Irish soccer. That guy is a chancer
Noelys Guitar
12/01/2008, 9:44 PM
Thanks for the verbatim report Noely, dead on.
The RTE sports did my head in this afternoon, they announced the FAI rumour scope interview about 3pm and then just when you think they have to do it, off they go to some feckin epl game followed by a championship update followed by Anelkas latest hairstyle, berry picking gone mad.
It sounds like, according to SoccerC as well, that we could have had 10 different stories from that night but it all leads to one inevitablity.
No Prob. Lennon also said that Venables had really done his homework on the players and had identified 2 possible newcomers (granny rule or playing lower league than Premiership I took that to be) that would really improve the team. I was impressed by that.
Delbertt
12/01/2008, 9:48 PM
Why do the opinions off the supporters never count for nothin?
Terry Venables does not deserve to be manager of our country he's a reject that got the sack from England ffs
Paddy Garcia
12/01/2008, 9:56 PM
Terry Venables does not deserve to be manager of
our country he's a reject that got the sack from England ffs
Almost every manager will have got the sack at some stage. So they are all rejects. And most by lesser teams than England.
eekers
12/01/2008, 10:06 PM
Its a dark day for Irish soccer. That guy is a chancer
this guy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WiYO46qpe8 ?
Delbertt
12/01/2008, 10:18 PM
Almost every manager will have got the sack at some stage. So they are all rejects. And most by lesser teams than England.
There are rejects then there are real rejects most of the managers in for the Ireland job are real rejects El Tel being one of the biggest imo
gally
13/01/2008, 12:31 AM
apparently venables has targetted 2 new squad players, as stated on another thread, during his interview with Paul Lennon....
without getting too bogged down with the granny rule, can anyone speculate which possible players he might be talking about, i heard a rumour Zat Knight is a possible contender...
Over to you.....
livehead1
13/01/2008, 1:51 AM
You Goon. I'm steaming off my face yet i know Knight is a full english international.....who you get ur info off?...the landlord?
Bondvillain
13/01/2008, 2:27 AM
You Goon. I'm steaming off my face yet i know Knight is a full english international
Jesus, man . Dont steam off your face. You'll never get it to fit back on properly.
Noelys Guitar
13/01/2008, 7:46 AM
According to todays Sunday Indo Venables assistants will be Brian Kidd and Andy Townsend
Greenforever
13/01/2008, 9:58 AM
According to todays Sunday Indo Venables assistants will be Brian Kidd and Andy Townsend
Thats the first bit of positivie Ive heard about El Tel, possibly grooming Andy to take over as Kidd is likely to end up back at Old Traford. Still not my preference.
dr_peepee
13/01/2008, 10:48 AM
What if??... Yeah true, there are a lot of variables...What if there were more suitable candidates available over the course of this recruitment drive and were overlooked due to some agenda or incompetence???... I may well end up with egg on my face, but I doubt it... I'd rather be wrong than risk being cited as a shallow media following hypocrite again... The guy's a mercenary... The game has moved on since he done anything remotely successfull... He has profited off the demise of a number of clubs...
You say everyone deserves a fair crack... You're right? What about what we deserve? We deserved better from Robbie Keane on the Late Late Show, We deserve better than Delaney's shpeel... The majority of irish fans aren't the morronic bunch that that live off the headlines in The Sun.. We know when Dunphy amd Hyland are talkin' sh!te... I'm not for one second saying that this is democratic and the masses should choose our next manager... I just don't want my support for Ireland twisted and seen as a vindication of the decision to hire that gangster.
carloz
13/01/2008, 10:54 AM
Isn't Brian Kidd working with Sheffield United now. And i doubt Townsend would be interested giving that he has a good job in football. If he gets the job then everything that Souness saiwhen he pulled out of the running was spot on. I think the 3 amigos should have a hell of a lot to answer for and explain fully why they believe an unsuccessful manager who has just come out of a car crash of a campaign with England is the best candidate for out job.