View Full Version : Champions League thread
Pages :
[
16]
24/05/2008, 12:17 AM
It just occured to me:
Don't Everton get a few million euros now?
Pretty sure there was some stipulation in Wayne Rooney's deal that if Man U won the league in so many years after he joined Everton would get some more money and that something similar was agreed if they won the CL.
24/05/2008, 1:17 PM
neil mcd , going by your reckoning on the scholes goal - messi should be tracking scholes while his own team have the ball...
so at the exact same time in the same game were the likes of eto tracking ferdinand in case he broke forward even though barcelona had the ball!!
the whole point being, why in the name of god would you be tracking an opposition player when your own team have the ball??? its just plain ridiculous really..
also the fact that its barcelona who have the ball [1 of the best teams at retaining possession in the game] in this situation makes your reasoning just foolish..
you have some balls to be questioning other peoples knowledge of the game on here after stupid comments like these
Thanks for the compliments on my balls. Secondly if you read the thread you will find it was my knowledge of football that was questioned first. Finally David Pleat is knows his football and he straight away mentions Messi.
24/05/2008, 1:22 PM
This from "Mr. Morals" himself:
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has accused Real Madrid of lacking morals in their pursuit of Cristiano Ronaldo.
Real coach Bernd Schuster and president Ramon Calderon have both expressed a desire to see Ronaldo at The Bernabeu.
Ferguson, fresh from United's Champions League truimph, said: "Schuster's talking and Calderon's talking.
"Real think they can ride roughshod over everyone, but they won't do it with us. They have no moral issues."
This from self confessed ABU
stojkovic
24/05/2008, 2:11 PM
Yeah, as if Old Whiskey Nose never tapped up anyone in his life !
Armando
24/05/2008, 2:30 PM
Wednesday night was heartbreaking.
John Terry has taken, and scored, penalties before in the league when Lampard hasn't taken them so I wasn't surprised he went up to take one.
I thought it was a pretty good match. Fair play to Man U, they held on.
Irrelevant but will Fergie be banned for going up to the ref at half-time. He was waiting for the ref at the tunnel like a primary school bully. He is disgraceful.
I won't defend Drogba or Terry but surely Hargreaves should have been sent off for pushing the ref in the big melee.
What!? Bullying the ref? Ferguson stands up for his team and it's it's the way it should be. It is ingrained in his players to leave the talking up to him. Look at the other top teams Chelsea and Arsenal - their players conduct on countless occasions are a disgrace because thier respective managers let them carry on like this.
In this incident Chelsea were very late out of the dressing rooms for 2nd half. Utd were waiting on the pitch a couple of minutes and Ferguson let the ref know he wasn't happy with it - proper order I'd say. He looks after his players and doesn't miss a trick....a big part of what makes him the greatest manager on the planet.
Having said all that I readily understand why most outsiders wouldn't like him because of the siege mentality he has created to get the best out of his players. But again this obviously works judging by Utds constant success and is another hallmark of his greatness.
As for saying Hargreaves should have been sent off...are you serious? Clutching at straws to be honest.
24/05/2008, 2:41 PM
It is ingrained in his players to leave the talking up to him.
You cannot be serious. United are just as bad at it as any other team at it. Giggs has been doing it for years, and Hargreaves, despite being a relatively new acquisition, is one of the worst of all for whinging to the ref.
http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/08_03/KeaneReferee_468x402.jpg
http://d.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/ng/sp/empics/20071006/18/3099887097-soccer-barclays-premier-league-manchester-united-v-wigan-athletic-old.jpg
http://image.guim.co.uk/Guardian/football/gallery/2007/nov/05/1/GD5193473@ARSENAL-V-MANCHESTER--3657.jpg
http://cache.viewimages.com/xc/1354154.jpg?v=1&c=ViewImages&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF19390335F8FA9CA92A61931DBF1657157A1 9930FDCFC4C15FBB
oldyouth
24/05/2008, 2:41 PM
What!? Bullying the ref? Ferguson stands up for his team and it's it's the way it should be. It is ingrained in his players to leave the talking up to him. Look at the other top teams Chelsea and Arsenal - their players conduct on countless occasions are a disgrace because thier respective managers let them carry on like this.
In this incident Chelsea were very late out of the dressing rooms for 2nd half. Utd were waiting on the pitch a couple of minutes and Ferguson let the ref know he wasn't happy with it - proper order I'd say. He looks after his players and doesn't miss a trick....a big part of what makes him the greatest manager on the planet.
Having said all that I readily understand why most outsiders wouldn't like him because of the siege mentality he has created to get the best out of his players. But again this obviously works judging by Utds constant success and is another hallmark of his greatness.
As for saying Hargreaves should have been sent off...are you serious? Clutching at straws to be honest.
There is no argument to the fact that Ferguson is the greatest manager. His record speaks for itself. However, it is getting to the stage when he believes he is above the game. No-one has the right to abuse the referee like he did before the 2nd half. What sort of an example did he set to millions of youngsters watching the biggest club game of the year. He should be ashamed, but he won't be and neither will any Man Utd customer. That behaviour is more than his infamous 'mind game' strategy.
It's because of nonsense like this that everyone hates fans of the 'Big 4' in the England. Just leave it at all four clubs are a cancer on the game and move on
24/05/2008, 3:32 PM
What!? Bullying the ref? Ferguson stands up for his team and it's it's the way it should be. It is ingrained in his players to leave the talking up to him.
Bull. Man U players are as bad as the other Big 4 teams for surrounding and intimidating the ref. If anything, tey see the way he goes on and find it acceptable.
He pushed the ref. ANY player who does that should be sent off.
old git
24/05/2008, 7:51 PM
Bull. Man U players are as bad as the other Big 4 teams for surrounding and intimidating the ref. If anything, tey see the way he goes on and find it acceptable.
He pushed the ref. ANY player who does that should be sent off.
so why did ref not send him off then .. must have only been a little push :D:D
oldyouth
24/05/2008, 10:20 PM
It's because of nonsense like this that everyone hates fans of the 'Big 4' in the England. Just leave it at all four clubs are a cancer on the game and move on
Dammit Jebus, I have to agree with you on this one. Don't tell anyone
Hibernian
29/05/2008, 1:01 PM
"Cancer on the game"
Get real lad that is worst thing I have heard on foot.ie ever.
Your away with the birds lad.
29/05/2008, 1:14 PM
He's right though.
Hibernian
29/05/2008, 1:28 PM
He's right though.
In what way?
The fact that there winning trophies?
Its not there fault that there only teams that can win premership.
what about the Real Madrids, Barca, Inter and Ac Milan's of this world.
Bar Barca they're all cancers that should be ran into their precious Super League along with Bayern and Juventus (possibly Lyon too, not really into French football so don't know) and be done away with. Celtic and Rangers would be included if anyone outside of Scotland and Ireland gave a damn about Scottish football. All better?
Its not there fault that there only teams that can win premership
Yes it is, they have a stranglehold on the Premiership and English football in general through their own greed
that is worst thing I have heard on foot.ie ever.
I hear that so much it's lost all meaning
Hibernian
29/05/2008, 2:01 PM
Bar Barca they're all cancers that should be ran into their precious Super League along with Bayern and Juventus (possibly Lyon too, not really into French football so don't know) and be done away with. Celtic and Rangers would be included if anyone outside of Scotland and Ireland gave a damn about Scottish football. All better?
Yes it is, they have a stranglehold on the Premiership and English football in general through their own greed
I hear that so much it's lost all meaning
Every club in football is or has greed just cause its richer then others does not make it more greedy.
They have a stranglehold on premiership because there best four teams in England.. Simple really I would have taught it happens in every country you should know that as a Limerick fan (It happens in every sport) You could say the same about Kerry footballers or Cork Hurlers
Just cause its said all the time does not mean its not true.
They have a stranglehold on premiership because there best four teams in England..
Nope, Man Utd and Liverpool in particular pushed forward plans for the old First Division to move away from the FA and form Sky's Premiership, selling out their souls to Rupert Murdoch in the meantime and condemning the other divisions to a lifetime of mediocrity. Since then Chelsea and Arsenal have joined the more influential clubs through the genius of Arsene Wenger and the riches of Roman Abramovich and it's this group of 4 that run football in England. They could allow more money to trickle down to help out the football league clubs, but they don't want to miss out on those new ivory backscratchers. The sad thing is that these clubs they have fooled people like yourself into thinking they are community clubs, and that they care about the state of football in England, especially at a time when more and more of their proper fans (people who are from Manchester, Liverpool and London) are being turned off by overinflated prices that tourist fans (like the Irish) are happy to pay. They're pigs, greedy ****ing pigs, and hope all four clubs **** off ASAP.
Honestly though if you can't see that the shine has been taken off football since even a decade ago than you are either 15 years old, or blind through your support of one of these teams
ust cause its said all the time does not mean its not true.
Doesn't mean it has any meaning either
Roadend
29/05/2008, 4:17 PM
Typical Jebus, always sitting on the fence.
Hibernian
29/05/2008, 9:30 PM
Nope, Man Utd and Liverpool in particular pushed forward plans for the old First Division to move away from the FA and form Sky's Premiership, selling out their souls to Rupert Murdoch in the meantime and condemning the other divisions to a lifetime of mediocrity. Since then Chelsea and Arsenal have joined the more influential clubs through the genius of Arsene Wenger and the riches of Roman Abramovich and it's this group of 4 that run football in England. They could allow more money to trickle down to help out the football league clubs, but they don't want to miss out on those new ivory backscratchers. The sad thing is that these clubs they have fooled people like yourself into thinking they are community clubs, and that they care about the state of football in England, especially at a time when more and more of their proper fans (people who are from Manchester, Liverpool and London) are being turned off by overinflated prices that tourist fans (like the Irish) are happy to pay. They're pigs, greedy ****ing pigs, and hope all four clubs **** off ASAP.
Honestly though if you can't see that the shine has been taken off football since even a decade ago than you are either 15 years old, or blind through your support of one of these teams
Doesn't mean it has any meaning either
The word ambition comes to mind. Pool and Utd did not force this down anyones mouth. At end of day every country has its top teams.
I am sure if it happened at your club you would be more then happy.
Not if my club became a cancer on the game
Typical Jebus, always sitting on the fence.
:D:D
Hibernian
30/05/2008, 3:33 PM
Not if my club became a cancer on the game
:D:D
Very easy say that when your club has been in the trouble it has been in for past number of years financially.
I get your point but just dont agree thats all.
Very easy say that when your club has been in the trouble it has been in for past number of years financially.
I get your point but just dont agree thats all.
Honestly most United fans I know would admit they aren't as into it as they used to be, it was there for all to see with the muted celebrations at winning the Champions League. I mean the very next day people didn't seem to care, even United fans. I know a Chelsea fan of roughly 40 years who didn't particulaly care when they won the league because he maintains it's not the same club he supported. I've found the same with a lot of the old lads who come into my mother's bar, they just don't care anymore, mostly because there is too much money in the game and it has destroyed the sport as a proper competition
Armando
30/05/2008, 4:54 PM
Honestly most United fans I know would admit they aren't as into it as they used to be, it was there for all to see with the muted celebrations at winning the Champions League. I mean the very next day people didn't seem to care, even United fans. I know a Chelsea fan of roughly 40 years who didn't particulaly care when they won the league because he maintains it's not the same club he supported. I've found the same with a lot of the old lads who come into my mother's bar, they just don't care anymore, mostly because there is too much money in the game and it has destroyed the sport as a proper competition
Nah, it's probably because they are world weary, moany old gits!....everything was better back in their day and so on...:D
stojkovic
30/05/2008, 6:44 PM
Nope, Man Utd and Liverpool in particular pushed forward plans for the old First Division to move away from the FA and form Sky's Premiership, selling out their souls to Rupert Murdoch
Im open to correction here, but to my knowledge Liverpool were one of two clubs who voted AGAINST the forming of the Premier League.
02/06/2008, 2:12 PM
I think we need a copy of Michael Palin's and Terry Jones Ripping Old Yarns.
Billsthoughts
03/06/2008, 11:29 AM
We dont need them as we have your footballing tales to keep us amused...