View Full Version : Champions League thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16

22/05/2008, 7:39 AM
A much better game than I expected. Was expecting a cagey affair with both teams too nervous to try anything but in fairness to both teams they gave it everything and it resulted in an enjoyable game (something that is getting very rare between top teams these days). I felt for John Terry alright but I honestly felt that his slip didn't make that much difference to the flight of the ball. Looked to me like he slipped just after the point of contact.

Certainly a game of two halves anyway with United the stronger in the first and Chelsea dominating the second. It will be very interesting to see what that does to the Chelsea team. If it's true that some of their top players are leaving then it could take them a couple of years to regroup.

Calcio Jack
22/05/2008, 7:47 AM
I'm a neutral so just wanted to see a good game which it was...thought Vidic was MOTM and shored up (yet again) Rio's many deficiences, however would love to know what did he say to Drogba that got him so wound up (although Drogba was foolish to let that happen) , .... as for Terry feel sorry for him, however his miss is what adds to the great 'tragic theatre' that football can be sometimes be.... or maybe you might just hold the view that he was wrong to step forward, who does he think he is Dave O'leary ??

What IMO lost it for Chelsea was Grant playing Essien at r/full instead of midfield.

oldyouth
22/05/2008, 7:48 AM
Drogba is a fool of the highest order and why was Terry taking a pen in the 1st place? hard to believe he was one of the top 5 peno takers available, probably just wanted the glory of scoring the winning penalty, serves him right
Very harsh on Terry. The man had the guts to step up to the mark. I'm sure there are better peno takers but I'd say half of them were crying 'cramp' or some other sh*te. As for Drogba, I wouldn't be surprised if that coward deliberatly got sent off so he wouldn't have to take one.
Very sad night for this lifetime member of the ABU Society

McShels
22/05/2008, 8:00 AM
Before I comment on the match let me say that as a Liverpool fan, I couldn't care less who won last night but unlike some of the previous posts I honestly didn't think it was a good game.

It did have some great moments of skill, brillance Browns cross for Ronaldos header, Cechs double save, Drogba shot off the post.

For me Vidic was man of the match a super performance, I also taught Joe Cole played very well.

Did anyone else notice that on 3 occasions the officals gave a corner/goal kick decision in Man U's favour all 3 involved Joe Cole and all 3 were wrong!!!

But despite all of that extra time and penalties was comedy gold to see Drogba (diving cheating knacker) sent off and his reaction after was priceless and I had a good laugh at that. Let alone the fact that he raised his hand to bitch slap Vidic, he ran from the halfway line to get involved and that alone warrants a yellow card IMO.

Also for Mr. Chelsea (as he is called) to slip while taking the peno, I thoroughly enjoyed that one. Here is a "man" who is nothing more than a bully, he interferes in every decision a referee gives during a game and to see him crying like a baby last night one word Mr,. Terry Karma!!!

Finally, the ref was poor in that he let players from both teams surround him and hassle him to book players of send them off. UEFA/FIFA have to move on this now and make it so only the captain can talk to the ref and not half the team

22/05/2008, 8:42 AM
United were brilliant in the 1st half, shocking in the 2nd half, poor in the 1st half of extra time and were very good in the 2nd half of extra time.

I thought Paul Scholes was outstanding. I was dissappointed to see him taken off.
United should have been 3-0 up at half-time, if Carrick had only placed the ball in the corner rather than straight at Cech!

Drogba was an idiot as usual. Lampard scored one of the luckiest goals he's ever scored(and he's scored some lucky goals!) Other than the goal I thought he did nothing.

In the end I think United deserved it. It was a fitting way to end the season.
Fair fooks to the penalty takers for Man Utd, considering that Ronaldo's taken every penalty this year it showed bottle for the players who stepped up to step up.

lofty9
22/05/2008, 8:43 AM
From a neutral perspective I really enjoyed the game last night.

Had to laugh at RTE's analysis of Terry's penalty, you wouldn't get it anywhere else!

Tevez was my MOM by a mile - outstanding.

Drogba - Idiot of the hightest order.

Referee - gave some bizarre decisions in Utd's favour.

Joe Cole - the biggest whinger on the pitch last night by a mile.

Last but definitely not least - Well done Ryan Giggs.

WoodquayBoy
22/05/2008, 8:48 AM
Big United fan so happy days. Kind of feel sorry for Terry as well, would have preferred if Cashley had missed, but then again, when you look back at the game, watcxh Terrry slyly lob a gobful at Tevez after Drogba is sent off. Terry is walking away, pretends to wipe his mouth with his sleeve and lets a little spit slip out into the face of Tevez.
That said, think he was the best player on the pitch.
Very disappointed with Rooney, disagree with earlier appraisal of Scholes, dare I say both he and Giggs are just a little past it at this level now?
Ref gave Utd some dodgy decisions over corners and throw-ins and what have you.
Thought United had a lot of moaners in the side, but good lord God, Chelsea can't half cry like a crowd of hormonal girls. Ballack should have been sentr off for 2 yellow cards for dissent far earlier in the match than when he was actually booked. Terry is a bully, Drogba is moan moan moan, Joe Cole needs a kick in the ring, Cashley is, well, Cashley.

Billsthoughts
22/05/2008, 8:54 AM
Great game. Was delighted Chelsea lost as they spent the whole game diving, cheating and monaing. Vidic had Drogba totally shackled. Ronaldo was good. Carrick one of the worst passers of the ball on the pitch. I think he only scored his penalty cause he tried to pass to Cech. David May award for most shamless celebration. - John O Shea. Did anyone see Platini giving two medals to Grant? must have been one for Mourhino. At least Bobby Charlton had a bit of class and refused a medal.

22/05/2008, 9:00 AM
The Second medal Grant was given was for Drogba.
I have to laugh at the United posters on here actually having the Gaul to suggest that they deserved to win it. They played well for 1/2 an hour in the first half and where completely overrun in the 2nd, ffs they only won it because John Terry lost his footing at the most inopportune moment imaginable, Van Der Sar was beaten by the penalty so if he hadn't slipped it was game and championship to Chelsea. But I suppose Utd fans are used to fluking their way to wins in big games by now

22/05/2008, 9:00 AM
I thought Paul Scholes was outstanding. I was dissappointed to see him taken off.

Excellent in the first half. Non existant in the 2nd. To be fair Chelsea totally over ran the United midfield in the 2nd half so he wasn't the only one.

22/05/2008, 9:13 AM
I have to laugh at the United posters on here actually having the Gaul to suggest that they deserved to win it. They played well for 1/2 an hour in the first half and where completely overrun in the 2nd, ffs they only won it because John Terry lost his footing at the most inopportune moment imaginable, Van Der Sar was beaten by the penalty so if he hadn't slipped it was game and championship to Chelsea. But I suppose Utd fans are used to fluking their way to wins in big games by now

I'd recommend you watch your 2005 win against Milan again ;)

22/05/2008, 9:15 AM
I'd recommend you watch your 2005 win against Milan again ;)

Totally agree that we robbed Milan blind that night, as they did us Last year. I think most Liverpool fans would admit that but will Man U fans admit that the better team lost last night .....not in a million years they won't thats why no one likes Man U fans

Ferguson could do with watching last nights match again, did anyone here see him on ITV. "We were magnificent in the first half. the 2nd half was more even but I think we just about shaded it too, so over all we deserved to win":eek:
if he really believes that Utd shaded the 2nd half then the man is delusional

22/05/2008, 9:35 AM
Totally agree that we robbed Milan blind that night, as they did us Last year. I think most Liverpool fans would admit that but will Man U fans admit that the better team lost last night .....not in a million years they won't thats why no one likes Man U fans

Ferguson could do with watching last nights match again, did anyone here him on ITV. "We were magnificent in the first half. the 2nd half was more even but I think we just about shaded it too, so over all we deserved to win":eek:

I thought we were excellent in the first half but Chelsea got back into it in the 2nd half after making sure Carrick and Scholes were pressed much quicker. Extra Time? Fairly even. They hit the woodwork twice but Man Utd had a lot of good chances to have wrapped the game up.

Vidic was MOM -Drogba was in his pocket all night. Terry and Lampard are getting MOM in the papers I've read so far today and they must have been watching a different game to me.

22/05/2008, 10:18 AM
Big United should've had it sown up by half time, and Chelsea can hardly bemoan bad luck too much considering the two deflections and van der Sar slipping for their goal. That arguably changed the game from one of United dominance to giving Chelsea the momentum.

Anelka didn't even look bothered he'd missed, which is typical of the guy. Great to see Kenyon get the reaction he deserved when he went up to collect his losers shield. wtf UEFA are doing giving it out anyway, but typical of his ego that they couldn't have got an ex-player to go up for it.

FC promoted to the Northern Premier. Big United European Champions and Champions. Not a bad season of English football.

22/05/2008, 10:23 AM
Found it all a bit too gay, like the Eurovision.
Bring back Leeds and the 70īs.

Anelka deserves special mention for escaping the rap.

old git
22/05/2008, 10:26 AM
Well said, I'm a United fan but I felt gutted for Terry(who is one of the few Chelsea players I like) if anyone should of missed it should of my that lovable character Ashley Cole, although Anelka would of been 2nd on the list

would have been a perfect finish if cole missed last penalty :D:D

old git
22/05/2008, 10:29 AM
I thought that when I saw him stepping up too. As soon as I saw it was him taking the fifth penalty, I knew he's miss. I thought he'd work himself up way too much and blast it. I know it's easy to slag off Grant, but it was really foolish of him to choose Terry to take the final one. I don't have any idea why he decided to do that. Perhaps he let his heart rule his head.

I think had Drogba still been on the pitch it may well have been a totally different outcome as he may have scored his penalty. However, he can only have himself to blame for what happened.

not the managers decision on penalty takers he should have organised order a bit better . if players dont have the b*lls to step up what can manager do at least terry was man enough to step up .. but ballack should have been left as last penalty taker :ball:

old git
22/05/2008, 10:36 AM

did u miss the 2 great chances to go 3 nil up before chelsea scored with first lucky shot on goal in 44th min utd totally owned fist half.
were overrunn for long periods in second half .. buts thats football
if's & buts if terry had not slipped if he did not hit post he did unfortunatly thats the joys of football :D

WoodquayBoy
22/05/2008, 11:00 AM

Ferguson could do with watching last nights match again, did anyone here see him on ITV. "We were magnificent in the first half. the 2nd half was more even but I think we just about shaded it too, so over all we deserved to win":eek:
Man UNited fan here.
United were the better team for 40 mins, Chelsea for 50 and then in extra time, it was a bit more even.
Overall, the better team last night drew!
Okay, the better team lost on the night, but the better team over the course of the season, in their own league and in Europe, won.
Of course Ferguson is myopic, but tell me any club that wouldn't want him manager of their side with his record? Of course Rafa the Gaffa always calls it straight.

jmurphyc
22/05/2008, 11:07 AM
not the managers decision on penalty takers he should have organised order a bit better . if players dont have the b*lls to step up what can manager do at least terry was man enough to step up .. but ballack should have been left as last penalty taker :ball:

I understand what you're saying, but it is the manager's decision on who takes penalties. Okay, if nobody else on the team was willing to take one of the first five, then I guess it could only be JT if he was willing. But he should be attempting to calm them all with a relaxed talk before asking who is willing so that some may change their minds. In the 2005 final Carragher was desperate to take a penalty and Benitez supposedly totally refused even though he was really up for it. So Grant could have told Terry that he couldn't take one. As I said, I thought Chelsea had it in the bag and then as soon as I saw Terry walking up I knew it would go to sudden death.

jmurphyc
22/05/2008, 11:14 AM
Actually, I was just thinking of other players sent off in finals, and of course Zidane suddenly popped in to my head. As much as Drogba is a cheating **** and Zidane was generally loved for his ability on the pitch, nobody seems to be sypathising with Drogba today - everyone seems to agree that he got what his reputation deserved - but after the '06 World Cup Final there seemed to be a lot of good will towards ZZ. Now, as I said, there's no doubt that Drogba is a total cokc but Zidane's actions were far worse than Drogba's (IMO).

22/05/2008, 11:17 AM
Of course Ferguson is myopic, but tell me any club that wouldn't want him manager of their side with his record? Of course Rafa the Gaffa always calls it straight.

I agree his record stands for itself, but I just can't stomach the man. He moans at everything that doesn't go his way He NEVER admits that he got something wrong or that his team was beaten by a better team. He takes no responsibility when things go wrong(Grey Jersey's indeed:rolleyes: ) and takes the plaudits when things go well, he uses ridiculous mind game tactics to unsettle the opposition and referees. He is NEVER gracious in defeat and alway obnoxious in victory.

jmurphyc
22/05/2008, 11:20 AM
I agree his record stands for itself, but I just can't stomach the man. He moans at everything that doesn't go his way He NEVER admits that he got something wrong or that his team was beaten by a better team. He takes no responsibility when things go wrong and takes the plaudits when things go well, he uses ridiculous mind game tactics to unsettle the opposition and referees. He his NEVER gracious in defeat and alway obnoxious in victory.

Exactly. When they lost to Chelsea in the league he came out with - amongst other things - the ludicrous statement that a penalty shouldn't decide such a big game. I understand that he feels he needs to protect his players from the spotlight, but there's a certain way of going about things.

old git
22/05/2008, 11:35 AM
I agree his record stands for itself, but I just can't stomach the man. He moans at everything that doesn't go his way He NEVER admits that he got something wrong or that his team was beaten by a better team. He takes no responsibility when things go wrong(Grey Jersey's indeed:rolleyes: ) and takes the plaudits when things go well, he uses ridiculous mind game tactics to unsettle the opposition and referees. He is NEVER gracious in defeat and alway obnoxious in victory.

he has he bad moments but now 23 years with a club like man utd he must be doing something right .. like all the other managers ,, how many admit they were wrong / moan at decisons that go against them they all do it / ridiculous mind games with players & managers they are are profesional people and should be all i used to it by now ,, as for talking the plaudits when things go well why not he is the manager after all .. :ball:

22/05/2008, 11:47 AM
Very entertaining game in my view. Utd were streets ahead in the first half and could have been 2 or 3 up. Chelsea got a lucky equaliser but then were the much better team in the second half. It was an even extra time really so a draw was a fair result. Then you have the penalties which comes down to luck skill and bottle.

Delighted for John Terry he is a nasty bit of stuff and along with Dessie Byrne was involved in a very unsavoury incident. He was not much of a captain in tears after the game only thinking of his own pain whereas there was Lampard who appears to be a bit of a classy guy holding himself together even though he lost his mother.

Ronaldo shut up the doubters as he scored in a big game. In the end hard luck to Avram Runner up Grant.

22/05/2008, 11:48 AM

You really are a bitter Liverpool fan.

22/05/2008, 11:49 AM
Got up at 3.30 in the morning to watch it, and for a while I thought I'd fall asleep pretty quickly.

First half - United were superior, and I thought they could have had a couple more before Lampard equalised.

Second half - Chelsea were superior, but didn't create as many clear cut chances as United had in the first half.

Extra-time - Pretty even, Chelsea probably shaded it.

Drogba deserved his red, but I thought he didn't dive as much as usual, hardly at all in fact. I actually thought he'd played well until the red card.

People on here are whinging about Chelsea players harrassing the ref, but from what I saw, Hargreaves was as bad as anybody.

A few posters have said Tevez was their MOTM, I couldn't agree with that, I thought he huffed and puffed, but not much else. For me, Vidic was the best player on the pitch, although I thought Ballack did well also. Lampard was ineffective apart from his lucky goal.

WoodquayBoy
22/05/2008, 11:51 AM
Read my previous post, I said he was myopic. But I repeat, I don't believe you wouldn't have him as a manager

jmurphyc
22/05/2008, 11:59 AM
Read my previous post, I said he was myopic. But I repeat, I don't believe you wouldn't have him as a manager

I don't see why any of the other top English clubs would want him (in Mourinho's time, still nobody seems to commend Grant), much like Utd wouldn't want any of the others. Wenger has done a fantastic job at Arsenal, Mourinho did a fantastic job at Chelsea and Grant is carrying on the trend to an extent, and Benitez has done a fanstastic job at Liverpool. None of the big 4 wants the others, as everyone is content with their own managers. There's no proof to suggest that if Ferguson was managing one of the other teams that he'd do any better. In fact I think he'd do worse, much like the rest would do worse than him at Utd.

22/05/2008, 12:23 PM

I know you said he's myopic, I could think of a few other words for him but I'll settle for myopic coming from a Man Utd fan as the majority of ye wouldn't even go that far. as for us wanting him, Thanks but no thanks, he's just not Liverpool material he's too obnoxious (and before you say it I know Benitez has his obnoxious moments but he's not in the same league as ferguson in the obnoxius stakes) Like I said you cant argue with his Trophy haul but just compare him to a thorough Gentleman like Bob Paisley and tell me Ferguson is not a Git

As for Neil McD my opinion of Ferguson nothing to do with Bitterness or being a Liverpool fan. I'm old enough to remember him managing Aberdeen and I hated him then too

22/05/2008, 12:29 PM
There was Lampard who appears to be a bit of a classy guy holding himself together even though he lost his mother. .

I thought the public gestures to the sky both in the last game and this one were naff and for the cameras.

Roadend
22/05/2008, 12:52 PM
Ronaldo shut up the doubters as he scored in a big game. In the end hard luck to Avram Runner up Grant.
If Terry had scored his peno would you be saying that?

22/05/2008, 12:53 PM
I thought the public gestures to the sky both in the last game and this one were naff and for the cameras.
I concur,
nauseatingly naff.

Anybody see Apres Match, had me in stitches.

Closed Account 2
22/05/2008, 12:57 PM
I don't see why any of the other top English clubs would want him (in Mourinho's time, still nobody seems to commend Grant), much like Utd wouldn't want any of the others. Wenger has done a fantastic job at Arsenal, Mourinho did a fantastic job at Chelsea and Grant is carrying on the trend to an extent, and Benitez has done a fanstastic job at Liverpool. None of the big 4 wants the others, as everyone is content with their own managers. There's no proof to suggest that if Ferguson was managing one of the other teams that he'd do any better. In fact I think he'd do worse, much like the rest would do worse than him at Utd.

I think Wenger is the best manager at the big 4... He's taken Arsenal to a European Final, and won the league and cup despite managing a selling club. He's always had to sell his top players (Henry, Vieira) and has taken failing players (Vieira, Henry, Berjgkamp) from leagues where they're struggling and turned them into World Class players. His team's been the second best team to watch in Europe this season (just a touch behind Zenit) and when you consider what Arsenal played like before he joined (under George Graham etc) that is no mean feat. He's introduced a whole raft of professionality into the English game (proper training methods, increased awareness of diet and fitness). He's taken youth team players and made them into greats (the likes of Fabregas, Clichy, Ashley Cole, Denilson etc) and has also never wasted a huge amount of money on a naff player (even Jeffers didn't cost that much).

If it wasn't for Wenger I think you'd be looking at a big 3 instead of a big 4 and Arsenal would be on a par with Everton and Spurs in terms of ability.

DaveyCakes
22/05/2008, 12:59 PM
Lampard who appears to be a bit of a classy guy holding himself together even though he lost his mother.

For god's sake, the way people are going on about him, you'd think he was the first person who's ever had a parent die

22/05/2008, 1:25 PM
For god's sake, the way people are going on about him, you'd think he was the first person who's ever had a parent die

Oh thank god somebody finally has the balls to say that. I wanted to say that after the Liverpool game.

antrimgreen
22/05/2008, 1:41 PM

If your granny had balls she would be your granda :)

22/05/2008, 1:42 PM
Oh thank god somebody finally has the balls to say that. I wanted to say that after the Liverpool game.
fair enough in the Liverpool game, becoming a bit much at this stage.

BlockGRaptor - you're some bitter man. If anything he's cut from the same cloth as Shankly, and he's certainly no more obnoxious than the likes of Souness and Dalglish.

lionelhutz
22/05/2008, 2:14 PM

Although Ronaldo scored and played very well in the first half, he disappeared for the 2nd half and extra time. Also, even when he beat Essien - which he did a number of times - he failed to deliver a telling cross or pass. The great attacking players are able to pick out a team mate when in those position rather than going for personal glory.

It's about making the right decision at the right time - which Ronaldo failed to do a number of times. Granted, he played much better than i expected him to but there's still no way he can be considered in the same class as the likes of Messi - not yet anyway. He's an extremely selfish player.

EAFC_rdfl
22/05/2008, 2:17 PM
same as, wonder will that be the end of it, or will he keep looking to the heavens after scoring another flukey goal.
where was apres match on? didnt see it at all

22/05/2008, 2:25 PM
If anything he's cut from the same cloth as Shankly,

I find that frankly insulting. Bill Shankley was the most humble man you could hope to meet, there is not one speck of humility about AF.

EAFC_rdfl
22/05/2008, 2:45 PM
I find that frankly insulting. Bill Shankley was the most humble man you could hope to meet, there is not one speck of humility about AF.

yet its ok for you to call Alex Ferguson a git?? pot and kettle really

22/05/2008, 3:22 PM
Although Ronaldo scored and played very well in the first half, he disappeared for the 2nd half and extra time. Also, even when he beat Essien - which he did a number of times - he failed to deliver a telling cross or pass. The great attacking players are able to pick out a team mate when in those position rather than going for personal glory.

It's about making the right decision at the right time - which Ronaldo failed to do a number of times. Granted, he played much better than i expected him to but there's still no way he can be considered in the same class as the likes of Messi - not yet anyway. He's an extremely selfish player.

Is that messi who was at fault for Scholes goal at Old Trafford but no mentioned by any of the RTE pundits. Messis is a great player no doubt but 42 goals this season. A goal in the Champions league final and quarter final and last 16. He was the best player this season in the world. Also he did get quality crosses in, one was to Tevez head and another were into very dangerous areas but there did not happen to be a player making the correct run.

22/05/2008, 3:23 PM

The same Bill Shankly who was asked to leave by the Liverpool staff for turning up to training. What a club and what a way to treat an ex manager.

22/05/2008, 3:24 PM

No because then Grant would not have been a runner up then. But if my auntie had balls she would be my uncle.

22/05/2008, 3:28 PM
The same Bill Shankly who was asked to leave by the Liverpool staff for turning up to training. What a club and what a way to treat an ex manager.

The guy had Alzheimer's at the time and he wasn't just turning up to training, he was interfering with training and ringing up players the night before games to instruct them on who to mark etc. many times telling players to mark guys Who's team liverpool weren't even playing that week. The Club had very little choice but to ask him to stay away.
and anyway how does your comment show that what I said about Shankly's humility is not correct

22/05/2008, 3:31 PM
Is that messi who was at fault for Scholes goal at Old Trafford but no mentioned by any of the RTE pundits.
Was it Messi's fault for not tracking back, or was it Zambrotta's fault, for making a blind pass across the front of the penalty area?

Roadend
22/05/2008, 3:31 PM
Is that messi who was at fault for Scholes goal at Old Trafford but no mentioned by any of the RTE pundits.

What? Zambrotta tried to clear a ball blind and it went straight to Scholes who blasted it in. I'd certainly like to see how Messi is to blame for that, come on lets hear your reasoning.

22/05/2008, 3:46 PM
Both of their faults. Initially Zambrotta and then also Messi. Football is rarely simple enough to say that one person was at fault. Usually a few factors contribute towards a goal.

22/05/2008, 3:48 PM
What? Zambrotta tried to clear a ball blind and it went straight to Scholes who blasted it in. I'd certainly like to see how Messi is to blame for that, come on lets hear your reasoning.

Watch the goal again and you will see that at one Stage that Scholes and messi are level but Messi Stos running and he lets Scholes goal who gambles and goes into a clever space and the ball drops to him and he scores. Messi did not anticipate this. He was at fault and so was Zambrotta who was more so at fault. Simple as that.