View Full Version : Anthony Stokes (F free agent b.1988)
06/11/2006, 4:22 PM
Uploaded to youtube:
1st goal: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BS2QXxMykcY
2nd goal: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZGl_g9JDxk
3rd goal: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etts2hFCvRM
Fergie's Son
06/11/2006, 4:29 PM
Nice goals but it's still just Dunfermlin he is scoring against. Give it time. I still remember when Paul Byrne was **** of the walk too.
popmart
06/11/2006, 7:22 PM
Took the goals very well. A hat trick with his weak foot, very impressive no matter who you are up against. Would like to see him play the B International.If he keeps scoring goals at this rate though it wont be long before he is called up to the full squad. We are hardly inundated with goal scorers
Fergie's Son
06/11/2006, 7:24 PM
Robbie Keane played well yesterday and set up Lennon's winner.
07/11/2006, 6:54 AM
Uploaded to youtube Good man, thanks.
07/11/2006, 8:15 AM
It's his willingness to shoot which impresses me. Robbie Keane seems afraid to shoot lately.
bmozza
07/11/2006, 10:54 AM
Forget how prolific he was at 16 and how the other Arsenal forwards done in comparison to him and what league he's playing in blah blah blah. This boy looks a genuine talent, like eirebhoy said, his first touch for all 3 goals were top notch, and the finishes were even better. His calmness in front of goal and 18 is what impresses me the most. I think Stachan signing him would be great as well...he's good at taking the youngsters through...
youngirish
07/11/2006, 12:14 PM
Isn't this way OTT at present? He's playing for Falkirk against sh*te like Dunfermline and St Mirren ffs and while I agree he looks like a big fish in a small pond there's no guarantees he can do it at a higher level - such as the Sunday league. The defenders he's playing against and the space and time he's getting on the ball cannot be used to gauge how well he'll perform in a half decent league IMO.
We've seen all this unwarranted hype before anyway and got very little return from other so called massive talents (Kennedy, Barrett, Partridge etc).
I hope he gets another loan move to a Championship club after Christmas and then we'll see how good he really is and Wenger can compare him more directly with Bendter and Lupoli.
07/11/2006, 12:46 PM
Isn't this way OTT at present?
Do we know any other way....
07/11/2006, 12:55 PM
Isn't this way OTT at present?
Not in my opinion. Who's going over the top? He's doing what only the top SPL strikers have done in the past few years. 9 goals in 4 games is fantastic and he deserves all the credit he gets. Whether you like it or not, a top SPL striker is good enough for our squad so if he keeps it up he should be in there.
Point me to the posts where people are going ott?
07/11/2006, 1:12 PM
Stokes is in the "B" squad for the game against Scotland next Tuesday. Head along to Dalymount Park and check him out in the flesh.
07/11/2006, 1:19 PM
Yes, but he'll still be up against Scottish defenders :)
What's been so OTT about the Stokes comments above anyway? Is it exciting that a teenage Irish striker with a bit of a reputation has taken well to senior football? Yes. Is it conclusive proof of anything? No.
Stokes & Billy Clarke are among the most exciting things happening right now in the Irish context and as I'm an Irish fan I'm pleased. It's not as if there's much else to cheer about.
07/11/2006, 1:23 PM
Stokes & Billy Clarke are among the most exciting things happening right now in the Irish context and as I'm an Irish fan I'm pleased. It's not as if there's much else to cheer about.
I agree completely with you. We've got Kevin Doyle, Shane Long and now these other lads showing class too. It's nice to have something to be positive about.
as_i_say
07/11/2006, 2:21 PM
I agree completely with you. We've got Kevin Doyle, Shane Long and now these other lads showing class too. It's nice to have something to be positive about.
is Long injured or something? If not then its an absolute disgrace that a striker who has as many first team premiership appearances as him should be left out of even the B team
Fergie's Son
07/11/2006, 3:39 PM
Interesting though that Wegner may not rate him that highly.
Still, always good to see an Irish player play so well and score goals!
As an FYI, Robbie Keane got some great praise from Bobby McMahon (best pundit in football) last night on Fox Soccer Channel.
co. down green
07/11/2006, 8:56 PM
Stokes has just scored against Celtic in the CIS Cup
07/11/2006, 9:22 PM
Stokes has just scored against Celtic in the CIS Cup
Missed a penalty in the shoot-out but Falkirk win 5-4 on penalties
08/11/2006, 12:30 AM
It is worth remembering when comparing Stokes hat tricks to Larssons that Stokes plays for Falkirk not Celtic, Falkirk were in the Scottish division one last season (I believe?). Equally when some people say he is only scoring against lower end Scotish Premier teams you need to remember that he is playing for one too, so his scoring oppertunites will be less than if he was playing for a top side. Eitherway it's difficult to see how he could be doing any better unless you expect 5 goals a game. I think Stan should have stuck him in the A team against San Marino, I think he could bag a goal or two against them, he doesn't seem to have much trouble finding the back of the net at the moment, you never know he might get another hattrick!! We could do with getting adecent score (as long as we don't let 5 in at the back :D )
DeNiro
08/11/2006, 7:42 AM
Stokes looked the business last night. He movement was very good. Infact he could probably teach Robbie Keane a thing or two about finishing. He looked shaken after he missed the penalty. Maybe he was slightly cocky taking it in the way he did. I think someone on this forum mentioned he might be arrogant, but it's not a bad thing in front of goal. It would be interesting to see a front line of him and Dixon in action.
greendeiseboy
08/11/2006, 8:11 AM
i have been a lifelong celtic suporter but i have to admit to having mixed feelings last night watching the three young irish lads playing for Falkirk - they all look like excellent prospects
08/11/2006, 8:12 AM
Thought Stokes looks the real deal. Surprised to hear Staunton say “he was going backwards at Arsenal”. What the f*** does he know. The lad is 18. What really surprised me was the performances of two other young Irish lads. Patrick Clegg and O’Donnell. Both look very accomplished and could easily, on last nights evidence, play with a more distinguished club than Falkirk.
08/11/2006, 8:16 AM
Falkirk really put it up to Celtic last night and it was great to see ex-Arsenal, Irish lads Cregg and O'Donnell doing well. Think Barrett is injured? They both took their penalties very well. O'Donnell was unlucky to find himself offside, when he reacted quickest to a rebound off the post, from a Stokes belter.
Stokes might be disappointed about missing his penalty but it was his goal that got them that far and his fellow striker, Gow, missed a host of chances along with his penalty.
I think it's his willingness to have a shot which impresses most.
Falkirk paly Hearts on Monday night so I can't see Stokes featuring in the B International the next night.
Here's what Gordon Strachan had to say about Anthony.
Celtic boss Strachan has taken time to praise the youngster and believes Stokes' attitude has been fantastic.
"He's been doing fantastically well," said Strachan.
"It has been a great move for him, coming up here from Arsenal.
"It shows if you are prepared as a kid to get out, get about and not sit on your backside, people will notice you and you can launch a career.
"That's what he's done, taken the chance to get up here from Arsenal and say 'yes, I'll take the opportunity to get up there and play first-team football'.
"It's been great for him, absolutely fantastic, and it's been even better for Falkirk, that's for sure."
Dr. Ogba
08/11/2006, 8:32 AM
That's 10 goals in 5 games now for Stokes. Who was the last Irishman to achieve that? (If ever).
How's Terry Dixon getting on at Spurs? Haven't seen him in ages :D
He's actually out with a very serious injury at the moment....not much of a laughing matter to be honest...:rolleyes:
Dublin12
08/11/2006, 8:54 AM
He's actually out with a very serious injury at the moment....not much of a laughing matter to be honest...:rolleyes:
Did he fall off the chair laughing when Spurs beat Chelsea last weekend:eek: .
08/11/2006, 10:02 AM
I think it's his willingness to have a shot which impresses most.
Same here. He had 3 or 4 shots on goal. 1 went in, 1 hit the post, 1 was a header just wide after beating Balde. Kenny Miller went his first 7 games at Celtic without scoring but people were saying he hasn't had many clear cut chances. That's true. Stokes will always have a couple of excellent chances a game and it's hardly because Falkirk are creating more chances than Celtic. It's all down to the player imo.
scotsbeer
08/11/2006, 3:47 PM
being an exiled hearts fan i watch as much of the spl as i can on setanta and i have to say that stokes does have a touch of class about him no matter if he is "only playing for falkirk in crap league" (not my words). he has falkirk playing a good passing ,quick breaking, attacking style and they are getting great results. now that he has not only scored but played really well against the "mighty celtic" those critics should now be eating their words. a great young irish prospect playing exciting football and scoring for fun should be encouraged as much as possible. unfortunately i cant make it up to the B game on tuesday as im in galway working but i will be looking forward to watching how he gets on against hearts on monday . the game is on setanta and i expect hearts to really struggle (although i of course want them to win) and will let my head rule my heart for once and will be having a wee bet on him to score just for an interest. good luck to him and it would be great if he stays in the spl until the end of the season
09/11/2006, 7:07 AM
Thought Stokes looks the real deal. Surprised to hear Staunton say “he was going backwards at Arsenal”. What the f*** does he know. The lad is 18. What really surprised me was the performances of two other young Irish lads. Patrick Clegg and O’Donnell. Both look very accomplished and could easily, on last nights evidence, play with a more distinguished club than Falkirk.Good news about the others. Celtic were rumoured to be keeping an eye on Cregg a while back.
Are they still U21 eligible? Maybe candidates for next year's B games.
citizenerased
09/11/2006, 12:48 PM
Stokes looks an excellent prospect, he has given me something to be excited about for the future of the Irish team. He has real class about him, and some excellent technique. More importantly than that he was not fased one bit by the mighty celts, wasnt afraid to have a go, and did remarkably well for playing as a lone frontman...
I think he should play against san marino, B team my arsee..Staunton is always harping on about the future and bringing in youngsters..Howcome Alan O'Brien was ready!! Tabb was ready, or even dixon, who is only 16 and not getting a sniff of the first team squad.
He should get rid of Clint for good(who is a disgrace) and bring in Stokes..That cregg looks a decent playr also!
09/11/2006, 1:20 PM
Falkirk have started talks with Arsenal in a bid to extend Anthony Stokes' loan until the end of the season.
Bairns boss John Hughes has confirmed the club have been in touch with Arsenal and hopes the Premiership club will agree to Stokes staying at Falkirk Stadium.
"We're in discussions with Arsenal as we speak as we want to get this sorted out before the weekend," Hughes told the Daily Record.
"The vultures are starting to circle around Anthony and that's only to be expected because of the way the lad has been playing.
"But he is happy at Falkirk and we are happy to have him. Hopefully in the next couple of days we'll have an agreement with Arsenal for him to stay with us until the end of the season.
"If they say no because they want him back in London then that's where he will go.
"But if they are happy to let him go out on loan until the end of the season we would prefer for him to stay with us."
Taken from Sky Sports online. (http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=427693&CPID=14&clid=3&lid=&title=Bairns+start+Stokes+talks)
09/11/2006, 1:46 PM
A mate tells me Roddy Forsyth said on RTE last night that Celtic & Falkirk were both set to bid for him outright. Anyone else hear this?
09/11/2006, 2:48 PM
A mate tells me Roddy Forsyth said on RTE last night that Celtic & Falkirk were both set to bid for him outright. Anyone else hear this?
I'm sure there will be loads prepared to make an offer for him but I don't think Arsenal would let him go permanently yet. Liam Brady was at the game on Wednesday night, presumably assessing Stokes. From what I hear his father has been very influential in his sons career to an extent that it has become a irritant to young Stokes employers. His father seemingly, works as an adviser to young Irish kids going to England. The same company headed by the guy who had his agents licence suspended over the Ashley Cole case. If memory serves me right it is also the company who left an young Irish boy stranded at the airport in England, when he went over for a trial.
09/11/2006, 2:58 PM
The most Falkirk would be able to spend is about £250k. I don't see why Arsenal would accept that unless there's something like a 50% sell on clause. :)
09/11/2006, 3:01 PM
An extended loan deal suits both Falkirk and Arsenal.
It's the most likely outcome.
09/11/2006, 3:24 PM
The most Falkirk would be able to spend is about £250k. I don't see why Arsenal would accept that unless there's something like a 50% sell on clause. :)
I wonder would they have taken a figure like that before the loan move?
09/11/2006, 3:37 PM
They still might take a couple of million though, which Celtic could pay.
The Legend
09/11/2006, 4:40 PM
Its a bit early... best scenario for him is playing out a full season at Falkirk...
If he keeps up his form, I would hope Wenger would give him a chance next season.
10/11/2006, 7:43 AM
I wouldn't want Celtic to pay a couple of million for him now anyway. Football is littered with players who signed for clubs on the basis of a short good spell and then did feck all.
I have high hopes for Stokes but I'd want to see how he did for at least a season before he went anywhere. He's played less than 10 senior games remember.
10/11/2006, 5:41 PM
Falkirk paly Hearts on Monday night so I can't see Stokes featuring in the B International the next night.
The news is that Falkirk's manager has given Stan the ok to play Stokes in the B game.
10/11/2006, 7:37 PM
An interview with Stokes:
http://www.arsenal.com/article.asp?thisNav=news&article=427782&cpid=703&title=Stokes+-+I%27ve+shown+I+can+be+a+prolific+striker
youngirish
13/11/2006, 11:55 AM
Premiership sides flock around Arsenal’s Stokes
November 13, 2006
Three Premiership sides are rumoured to be weighing up January moves to prise Republic of Ireland youth international starlet Anthony Stokes away from Arsenal.
Stokes has hit the headlines in recent weeks following an exceptional run of form for Falkirk, where he has been on loan for the past two months.
Ten goals in his last five games – including back-to-back hat-tricks – have catapulted him to the top of the Scottish Premier League’s scoring charts.
Bairns manager John Hughes wants the 18-year-old to stay on for the rest of the SPL season, but with his initial loan deal due to expire at the end of the year, could face a real struggle to keep him at Falkirk Stadium.
Manchester City, Everton and Middlesbrough are all reportedly monitoring the situation with a view to a transfer offer in the New Year.
SPL champions Celtic – against whom Stokes scored in the CIS Insurance Cup last week – and Sunderland, where he spent time on trial in August, are also said to be keen on the freescoring teenager.
Stokes faces a hectic schedule over the next 36 hours, with Falkirk taking on Hearts in a televised SPL clash tonight (Monday) before he travels to Dublin for Tuesday night’s ‘B’ international against a Scotland XI at Dalymount Park.
Qwerty
13/11/2006, 10:22 PM
Gravesen scoring a hat-trick might take off some of the gloss for Anthony :D
kingeric
13/11/2006, 10:25 PM
i've been watching stokes for a number of years and the only thing that suprises me is that it's taken him so long to rise to the surface and bring this sort of hype that currently surrounds him.
he's an excellent young player and has everything to potentially be a big star, he does all the hard things and makes them look so easy.
his touch, movement skill, dribbling and shooting are all excellent. all i'd like to see him add to his game are the 'easy' things.
he seems to drift in and out of games only showing flashes of his brilliance. with the right coaching he could become a more general all-round striker.
good to see him get some scrappy goals too, because he only ever seemed to score the spectacular ones at under age and arsenal.
14/11/2006, 10:06 AM
Did anyone see how Stokes did against Hearts? Any injury worries bout him for the B game?
14/11/2006, 10:16 AM
i've been watching stokes for a number of years and the only thing that suprises me is that it's taken him so long to rise to the surface and bring this sort of hype that currently surrounds him.
Yeah, I agree. He has been 18 since the summer and should be in the Arsenal first team as well as being a full international at this stage. What the hell has he been doing with himself! Perhaps he's just a late bloomer!?
Did anyone see how Stokes did against Hearts? Any injury worries bout him for the B game?
Watched the game last night, and Anthony did ok. The ball in to him was terrible for the most part and any time he did get the ball, the Eastern Europeans had 8 men between him and the goal. Falkirk struggled to create chances and Gow arguably missed the best one. A great individual effort from Latapy salvaged a draw for the Irish and Hearts will no doubt feel hard done by.
Roy Keane was in the crowd so he's certainly serious about his interest in Stokes. Miserable night and a crowd of around 6,000.
greendeiseboy
14/11/2006, 11:02 AM
watched the game last night ......... disappointing match, weather didn't help. The one thing i noticed about stokes and has been mentioned before is his temperament. On two occasions he kicked out at the opposition when beaten for the ball.This to me is a downside of his game and one that he will have to watch. Other than that i feel that he shouldn't stay too long with falkirk and if a better club moves for him then he should go as he has great potential which would be better developed at a higher club.
14/11/2006, 12:50 PM
On two occasions he kicked out at the opposition when beaten for the ball.
Well one of those incidents was where Nerijus Barasa was behind Stokes, who was in posession, and kept kicking at Stokes until he lost posession. Stokes reacted to this but the ref., who was looking right at the whole thing, left it go.
greendeiseboy
14/11/2006, 2:32 PM
Well one of those incidents was where Nerijus Barasa was behind Stokes, who was in posession, and kept kicking at Stokes until he lost posession. Stokes reacted to this but the ref., who was looking right at the whole thing, left it go.
and that makes it ok
14/11/2006, 2:41 PM
I only saw one of the incidents you're talking about. A Hearts defender used his strength to stop Stokes getting to the ball as it was going out of play. Stokes just hassled him and tried to get his foot in. I'd get very frustrated with a big defender just basically pushing me away from the ball.
greendeiseboy
14/11/2006, 3:17 PM
i dont want to start a whole debate about the thing but its one side of his game he needs to curtail..... if he's going to play at the top we dont want him to be a rooney or smith type where he is earmarked before he even starts a game by both officials and players
15/11/2006, 4:45 PM
i dont want to start a whole debate about the thing but its one side of his game he needs to curtail..... if he's going to play at the top we dont want him to be a rooney or smith type where he is earmarked before he even starts a game by both officials and players
I would love him to be a rooney type player.