View Full Version : Anthony Stokes (F free agent b.1988)
yapster
05/01/2010, 3:54 PM
strange that you believe McCarthy won't make it yet he scored for fun in a poorer team and in the same league that now Stokes is scoring in yet you seem to think this same criteria for Stokes (who is older than McCarthy) identifies him as the better prospect . Are you being inconsistent here
Just a hunch thats all folks.
I think the kid at Everton is going to make as well as Stokes so thats two.
samhaydenjr
08/01/2010, 3:31 AM
I think while it is unfair to write Stokes off at 21 as he may deliver on his potential in years to come, it's not unfair to say that he isn't an immediate issue when it comes Irish strikers. Looking at it from afar, the questions to be answered in the near future are:
1. Should Simon Cox be given an opportunity to prove himself?
2. Who is our best option as last quarter big target man? Leon Best or Caleb Folan (or even Clinton Morrison)?
I can even see Terry Dixon, as long as he remains fit, becoming a realistic option sooner than Stokes as there can be no doubting his application and so is more likely to fulfil his potential quicker.
Having said that, I would take issue with those who belittle his scoring record at Falkirk because of the quality of the league. He went on loan as an eighteen-year-old and play with unfamiliar players on one of the weaker teams of a lopsided league and then scored nearly as many goals in half a season as international players Kris Boyd and Scott McDonald scored in a full season and more than Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink did in 2/3 and that is no small feat.
08/01/2010, 11:03 AM
2. Who is our best option as last quarter big target man? Leon Best or Caleb Folan (or even Clinton Morrison)?
Leon Best put in a few decent performances for us the last campaign, Bulgaria away for one when he came on, scores regularly in the championship but am not sure if he would get many for us. Was very poor when he came on at home to France, albeit I think he may have only got 15 mins or so.
Folans most notable performance for us was away to Italy where he was a thorn in their defence, made a nuisance of himself more than anything else. But other than that, not much. He needs to get a move, I see he has put in a transfer request, cant see him scoring regularly in the EPL or Championship though.
I think Clint wouldve been worth a shot this campaign, always did well for us and scored a few decent goals in his time, Swiss away comes to mind. However his level is the championship.
Noel Hunt/Shane Long, Ive seen nothing from these two lads to suggest they should be in the squad regularly. This was Longs season to really break through, he started the season first choice in Reading and hasnt scored a single goal. I think Lou Macari was commentating on their cup game against Liverpool last week and mentioned that from what he has seen Long is not a striker and would be more effective as a winger. The odd time I have seen him, I would tend to agree.
Stokes, terrible attitude in the past, perhaps this is changing now and he is back in the goals again. he is on an upward trend and if this continues he certainly could offer alot to us in the future.
Paddy Garcia
10/01/2010, 6:38 PM
I think the kid at Everton is going to make as well as Stokes so thats two.
Who is the kid at Everton?
10/01/2010, 7:31 PM
either coleman(whose not a kid so shows how little he knows) or duffy who might declare for us same situation as gibson??
10/01/2010, 11:04 PM
I think Clint wouldve been worth a shot this campaign, always did well for us and scored a few decent goals in his time, Swiss away comes to mind. However his level is the championship.
Morrison is the best finisher we have - maybe even better than Keane - but he doesn't have the all-round game to command a regular place. I think he could hack a couple of seasons in the Premiership, though.
Clint's best goal was against Israel away - unreal finish. Home to China was brilliant too.
Razors left peg
17/01/2010, 4:10 PM
http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/sport/sunderland/680709/Hibernian-striker-lifts-lid-on-fiery-relationship-with-Roy-Keane.html
That interview seems to show that Stokes is starting to grow up a bit
EastTerracer
23/01/2010, 3:26 PM
2 more for Stokesie this afternoon against Hamilton.
13 for him now this season
heres hoping he keeps it up for the rest of the season...
Hibernian
23/01/2010, 10:41 PM
he has the abilty there never been the qustion.
its his attitude that stinks but he starting to cop on ever so slightly at present.
Nagger
28/01/2010, 9:45 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/8480348.stm
Stokes scores again :)
28/01/2010, 2:11 PM
and against celtic :) keep em coming
yapster
28/01/2010, 8:33 PM
Stokes can do a good job for Ireland
backstothewall
28/01/2010, 9:52 PM
I would like to see him get the whole of the game against Brazil. A half with Keane and a half with Doyle.
I know a game against Brazil is always a good thing, but it would almost have been better to play a European side of a similar standard to ourselves. We could certainly learn more.
I still think Alan Lee could do a job. He's only 31, and even in the 3rd division he can still offer more than some of our other options in that role
irishfan86
28/01/2010, 10:53 PM
Clinton Morrison is definitely not a target man...he's more of a workhorse than runs in the corners like a Kevin Doyle.
Doyle is a better header of the ball and better technically, but I think they are the same sort of player in terms of style of play.
Yard of Pace
29/01/2010, 10:34 AM
I still think Alan Lee could do a job. He's only 31, and even in the 3rd division he can still offer more than some of our other options in that role
Alan Lee said something to the effect of "I couldn't care less about playing for Ireland again" not too long ago. I think he feels hard done by in terms of getting chances to play and I'd say bridges are burnt now.
He'd be well down the pecking order for me anyway.
Duggie
29/01/2010, 11:26 AM
he deserves a chance with all the goals hes scored in the SPL this term. id like to see him get a half at least.
Den Perry
29/01/2010, 11:30 AM
I would like to see him get the whole of the game against Brazil. A half with Keane and a half with Doyle.
I know a game against Brazil is always a good thing, but it would almost have been better to play a European side of a similar standard to ourselves. We could certainly learn more.
ah here....third tier players? German second tier players? good job you're not picking the squad
Crosby87
29/01/2010, 11:36 AM
Haha. Trap is not going to pick Alan Lee. Lets move forward, not backwards.
Alan Lee.
Royal rover
29/01/2010, 11:45 AM
i pointed out a couple of months ago on this thread how good i thought stokes is - granted it's the SPL - but take it from me the scots rate him higher than any other striker in the league - he's far superior than kenny miller ., Boyd , Mcdonald, i could go on - if he gets 20 this season he'll go back to the EPL as a 3million player and a nice little profit for Hibs - someone will definetly take a chance on him
Duggie
29/01/2010, 11:49 AM
ya isnt he still only like 21 ? maybe staying in the SPL for a few years will be good for him.
Razors left peg
29/01/2010, 12:04 PM
With talk of Scott McDonald leaving Celtic I wouldnt be at all surprised to see them come sniffing around Stokes in the summer
seanfhear
29/01/2010, 1:04 PM
With talk of Scott McDonald leaving Celtic I wouldnt be at all surprised to see them come sniffing around Stokes in the summer
Interesting idea. If he gets a move to a bigger club he better be ready tempermentally (Maturity) the next time.
dr_peepee
29/01/2010, 1:19 PM
I don't watch the SPL at all, but would I be correct in speculating that one or both of the old firm are more likely to be picked off over the next couple years by the likes of Hibs, than they would have been a few years ago???
30/01/2010, 3:34 PM
yep the field seems to be leveling.. the only diffrence between the sides are their historys and brand name really not a massive gap in footballing terms. hibs especially getting stronger.. liam millar scored there for them
TrapAPony
30/01/2010, 4:23 PM
Stokes taken off against St. Mirren after 75 minutes. Liam Miller is still not good enough to be any where near our national side. The SPL is not of a good standard.
kennedmc
30/01/2010, 4:33 PM
Liam Miller is still not good enough to be any where near our national side. The SPL is not of a good standard.
Yeah its very poor standard now. I was looking at the hibeesbounce forum there and they love Miller - think he is a class player.
Eirambler
30/01/2010, 6:42 PM
Yeah its very poor standard now. I was looking at the hibeesbounce forum there and they love Miller - think he is a class player.
Miller was Man of the Match against Celtic on Wednesday and again today, and played really well last Saturday too. Don't know why he hasn't impressed in England or for Ireland because he's had enough chances to, maybe it's just too big a step up for him, he's looked amazing playing for Celtic and now Hibs.
Stokes scoring record in the SPL is exceptional, something like 27 goals in 37 games. I think the Sunderland move came too soon for him and he was mis-managed by Keane but at his age he'll definately get another shot at the big time. Hibs could make a nice profit on him this summer (they paid £500k for him) or they might hang onto him for one more year (he's contracted to 2012) and take the cash then. Another year at Hibs could be good for Stokes as well.
I don't watch the SPL at all, but would I be correct in speculating that one or both of the old firm are more likely to be picked off over the next couple years by the likes of Hibs, than they would have been a few years ago???
Rangers were actually picked off by Hearts for 2nd spot in 2005/06, although Hearts achieved this by spending far outside their means and are paying for this now.
Rangers are effectively run by a bank these days and haven't bought a player for a couple of years. Celtic have some cash but are in transition and it's questionable whether Mowbray is the man to take them back to the top. So yes, it's weak at the moment but to be fair to Hibs and Dundee Utd, they have both massively improved also in the last few years, there's no way Hibs could have signed a Miller or Stokes until recently.
SilkCut
31/01/2010, 1:44 AM
This and the Liam Miller thread appear to be going down the same road.
We as Irish people would have more interest in the SPL than most, most of us remember it when players like Laudrup, Gazza, Larsson, Albertz, Gattusso, Lennon, Lambert, McStay, Collins, Gough, Viduka, Sutton, Flo, Robertson, Hartson, Moravcik, McCoist and many many more were playing there now there is Boruc, McGeady and Kris Boyd with perhaps Fleck at Rangers and Stokes who are capable of playing at a much higher level. The standard has dropped dramatically since the collapse of Setanta.
31/01/2010, 11:20 AM
dont post an almost identical point on both threads gets boaring
Junior
31/01/2010, 12:18 PM
Fleck? Good to see you are not basing your opinion on tabloid sensationalism.
Whats he had about 10 - 20 appearances with a couple of goals over the last couple of seasons?
But obviously he can make it a higher level.:confused:
That made me laugh....
Obviously the lack of finances in the Scottish game is manifesting itself in the quality on the pitch.
31/01/2010, 12:53 PM
fleck has very good potential
Jicked
31/01/2010, 12:55 PM
Fleck? Good to see you are not basing your opinion on tabloid sensationalism.
Whats he had about 10 - 20 appearances with a couple of goals over the last couple of seasons?
But obviously he can make it a higher level.:confused:
That made me laugh....
The guy's pedigree is second to none. I remember Anto when he was 15 and was honestly one of the most sought after young players in Europe. One Christmas holidays he had Arsene Wenger and Alex Ferguson both come over to Dublin to have dinner in his house as they tried to get his signature. His quality is unquestionable, its just the fact he's an absolute pr*ck thats held him back and ruined his development as a player. Then again you can't completely blame a 16 year old kid for acting the maggot and growing up how he did, a lot of that must go down to how he was brought up by his father/agent. His return to form at Hibs suggests that he's beginning to grow up, and crucially is getting away from his father. I still think he'll go on to be a great Irish player and be Robbie's eventual successor.
EDIT - whoops, were you referring to Fleck in your OP? :o
Junior
31/01/2010, 7:05 PM
EDIT - whoops, were you referring to Fleck in your OP? :o
Yeah I was. I pretty much agree with the rest of your post. Stokes has been the most exciting thing in the SPL this season for me, definitely expect to see much more of him in the Irish fold in the coming months.
fleck has very good potential
He may have, or he may just be another young Scot who the Sottish media pray becomes something. I just thought it was amusing that he was stuck in that post in the company of Larsson, Moravcik, Laudrup and Gascoigne, as one of the only current players in the SPL who could do something in a higher league? Based on what? a handful of good to mediocre performances and some lovely headlines.
SilkCut
01/02/2010, 1:39 AM
Yeah I was. I pretty much agree with the rest of your post. Stokes has been the most exciting thing in the SPL this season for me, definitely expect to see much more of him in the Irish fold in the coming months.
He may have, or he may just be another young Scot who the Sottish media pray becomes something. I just thought it was amusing that he was stuck in that post in the company of Larsson, Moravcik, Laudrup and Gascoigne, as one of the only current players in the SPL who could do something in a higher league? Based on what? a handful of good to mediocre performances and some lovely headlines.
You should probably re-read my post Junior, I made it quite clear "perhaps young Fleck" also the entire point of the post was to highlight the difference between the quality that was once in the SPL and what is there now. I take it that you believe McGeady and Stokes are both comparable to Brian Laudrup? If so you are posting on a subject you know nothing about.
Fleck has undoubted "potential" look the word up. He has been capped at every level up to u-21 and captained the u-16 and 17 sides and he is still only 18 so to answer your question, its based on what people more qualified than you and I think of him and how much faith they have in him and also the fact that he is a regular squad member at what is one of the biggest 2 clubs in the SPL.
As for Stokes, yes it is excellent to see him doing well as he also still has enormous potential, I just hope he does not follow McGeadys example and stay in Scotland too long.
dont post an almost identical point on both threads gets boaring
I apologise.
Junior
01/02/2010, 11:23 AM
You should probably re-read my post Junior, I made it quite clear "perhaps young Fleck" also the entire point of the post was to highlight the difference between the quality that was once in the SPL and what is there now. I take it that you believe McGeady and Stokes are both comparable to Brian Laudrup? If so you are posting on a subject you know nothing about.
Fleck has undoubted "potential" look the word up. He has been capped at every level up to u-21 and captained the u-16 and 17 sides and he is still only 18 so to answer your question, its based on what people more qualified than you and I think of him and how much faith they have in him and also the fact that he is a regular squad member at what is one of the biggest 2 clubs in the SPL.
As for Stokes, yes it is excellent to see him doing well as he also still has enormous potential, I just hope he does not follow McGeadys example and stay in Scotland too long.
OK, I apologise, Felck was obviously not the main part of your post. Of course I could see the point you are making with regards to the drop in standard of the SPL since the mid to late nineties. I could also understand why you would throw in Boruc, McGeady and Boyd as perhaps the benchmark of players who could still do better. Arguably these 3 players would fetch the best transfer fees in the SPL if sold.
I just thought it was amusing that Fleck was thrown in there. I have read more tabloid euphoria on this guy than Ive ever seen him deliver on the pitch. The league is littered with Scottish U16's, U18's, U21's - so what? Rangers have not spent money in the last 3 transfer windows, offloading anyone worth a few bob in the meantime, so it doesnt take a rocket scentist to see why one or 2 or maybe even 3 youngsters will be brought through to warm the bench or even get the odd cameo role.
Im well aware what the word 'potential' means. Perhaps in this instance it could mean 'currently not of the standard required'? and then we are back to the starting point and the drop in quality.
gets another against Ross County in the Scottish Cup
Anthony Stokes grabs a headed goal from close range.
Scored one today to make it 16 goals in 29 league games. Not much of a description of the goal on BBC anyway:
"Anthony Stokes then shot home via a deflection"
yapster
27/03/2010, 5:37 PM
Good to see Stokes score again, sadly Liam Miller hasn't the strength of character to make it the upper levels of football and this is as good as it gets for him.
Razors left peg
27/03/2010, 5:56 PM
Good to see Stokes score again, sadly Liam Miller hasn't the strength of character to make it the upper levels of football and this is as good as it gets for him.
I find it a bit strange that u continue to sing Stokes praises (rightfully) but yet u dont rate Robbie Keane, even though Robbie has gone to the same league as Stokes and has 11 goals in 11 games now
yapster
27/03/2010, 6:34 PM
I find it a bit strange that u continue to sing Stokes praises (rightfully) but yet u dont rate Robbie Keane, even though Robbie has gone to the same league as Stokes and has 11 goals in 11 games now
Never said that I didn't rate Keane, I said that he doesn't produce at top clubs and will miss important sitters. Stokes has great potential and will do a job for Ireland I hope.
Razors left peg
27/03/2010, 7:15 PM
Never said that I didn't rate Keane, I said that he doesn't produce at top clubs and will miss important sitters. Stokes has great potential and will do a job for Ireland I hope.
hes got good potential but he will never be as good as Robbie or get near Robbies goal record
27/03/2010, 8:17 PM
Stokes won't even get close to Robbie's record. Stokes is 21 now, by the time Keane was the same age, he had six goals for his country.
yapster
27/03/2010, 8:29 PM
we don't know yet whether he will be as good as keane or not, maybe he won't beat keane record but as long as he doesn't miss the easy important chances he will be fine....
People speculating about someone like Stokes getting near Robbie's record are just being silly. His goal record is superb relative to many of the top players in the world, never mind top Irish players (for which he has almost double the next nearest goal tally). He has more goals than the record scorers for countries like Italy and Holland who routinely produce some of the best players in the world. His record will stand for a very, very long time and someone like Anthony Stokes sure as hell isn't going to be the man to break it.
28/03/2010, 3:55 AM
we don't know yet whether he will be as good as keane or not, maybe he won't beat keane record but as long as he doesn't miss the easy important chances he will be fine....
what does that even mean? "doesn't miss the easy important chances"? So if he doesn't miss the difficult important chances what will he be? Or if he misses the difficult insignificant chances then what?
seanfhear
28/03/2010, 12:07 PM
We know Stokes can score goals at this level. The big question is can he carry that goal scoring form to higher levels.
Can Robbie return to scoring goals at a higher level than this.
I sincerely hope that both can.
28/03/2010, 8:04 PM
lads stokes could score 5 against andorra :) as could any of the forwards
Colbert Report
28/03/2010, 10:21 PM
I love this topic. I don't even see Stokes being in the squad this time next year.
Razors left peg
28/03/2010, 10:55 PM
I love this topic. I don't even see Stokes being in the squad this time next year.
writing him off like McCarthy yeah :)