View Full Version : Anthony Stokes (F free agent b.1988)
13/01/2008, 6:26 PM
Yeh Murphy really got better as the game went on.
dr_peepee
13/01/2008, 8:06 PM
I like Murphy... .. He's using his frame a bit more (like the goal against Bolton) and he uses the ball good and early... (As well as Jones has been playing for Sunderland he has an awful habit of taking too much out of the ball as if he's waiting to bring someone into the game, even though there's options either side of him waiting on a layoff or a second touch)... Murphy lacks a bit of pace playing wide though, and when up front, for someone so big, he can't jump.
On Stokes, I'd like to see him play more in a conventional 2 man forward line..
13/01/2008, 9:01 PM
Stokes got a bonus point in the fantasy football so whoever was judging was impressed too.
cheifo
13/01/2008, 9:21 PM
Sunderland fans on RTG seem to be impressed with him today(and Murphy).
Eventually I would guess he will play as an out and out striker but great to see him in the team and playing well.Along with Garvan he is IMO our biggest prospect for the last couple of years.
Bondvillain
14/01/2008, 11:37 AM
I see the "Irish" Mail on Sunday quoted the People's retracted story about the Stokes Neigbour's complaint in their "Roy Keane is Evil and must be DESTROYED! Burn him! Burn Him!" story yesterday...
"AYE KEANO" - p52 IMOS 13/01/2008
Three others - Ian Harte, Greg Halford and Ross Wallace have allegedly been listed for non-footballing reasons, with two having been told they'd never play for the club again.
And while David Connolly & Stephen Wright are also on the way out, Anthony Stokes, Subject to an official complaint from one of his neighbours, was spared a similar fate following an impassioned face-to-face plea with the manager.
(...)
And all this before Clarke's damning intervention with his assessment that Keane ignored his players and ranted and raved following defeat cut deep.
The article continues on in similar clumpy, clumsy, poorly structured vein, torturing the English language at every given opportunity. You'd think with two Journalists as credited authors (Take a bow Jack White & Martin Hardy), they would have A) Checked their facts, and B) Not started so many paragraphs & sentences with the word "And".
Will they too have to offer an unsigned apology? (If they do, it'll Probably start with "And....")
fergalr
14/01/2008, 12:24 PM
Sunderland fans on RTG seem to be impressed with him today(and Murphy).
Eventually I would guess he will play as an out and out striker but great to see him in the team and playing well.Along with Garvan he is IMO our biggest prospect for the last couple of years.
Roy was happier with him too:
"Even Anthony Stokes tackled someone. That gives us all hope."
http://football.guardian.co.uk/Match_Report/0,,2240385,00.html
Ozymandias
14/01/2008, 2:04 PM
Stokes was a class act yesterday..got on the ball and looked comfortable with it...showed good awareness of his teammates...hopefully it is a turning point for him..he is playing out of position though..would love to see him play up front alongside yer man jones...Murphy looked very good as well...what ever went on at Sunderland last week seems to have brought out the best in them all...Miller played well in midfield as well...in a more of a spoiler role to let richardson roam.....hope they all kick on from here as it would be positive for Ireland
14/01/2008, 3:29 PM
i thought there defence was still poor, and 3 at the back WOULD GET CAUGHT OUT ON ANY OTHER DAY. The thing is though the attacking team he put out were very good in the last 3rd, so it will be interesting to see if he keeps it 3 at the back....i wouldn't recommend it though. McShane did well when he came on as well.
Was it stoksie that hit that pass to murphy with the outside of the foot that murphy was clearly onside for but ruled offside? It was one of the best passes i have seen in a long time.
14/01/2008, 5:09 PM
Match of the day didn't show either Stokes or Murphy's wrong offside calls.
galwayhoop
14/01/2008, 5:13 PM
i thought there defence was still poor, and 3 at the back WOULD GET CAUGHT OUT ON ANY OTHER DAY. The thing is though the attacking team he put out were very good in the last 3rd, so it will be interesting to see if he keeps it 3 at the back....i wouldn't recommend it though. McShane did well when he came on as well.
was it not 4-5-1/4-3-3. with jones up front and murphy and stokes playing either side?????
14/01/2008, 7:42 PM
Anyone hear Stokes' interview on Off The Ball. Did sound like he's getting his act together.
14/01/2008, 7:46 PM
I didn't hear it but he always comes across well in interviews. That's why I'm so surprised with the bad reputation he has.
18/01/2008, 11:20 AM
Stokes on this weekend's game: http://www.safc.com/home/?page_id=14008
paddywhack
18/01/2008, 7:02 PM
I didn't hear it but he always comes across well in interviews. That's why I'm so surprised with the bad reputation he has.
I am not surprised, how could he have a good reputation just look back at some of the stupid comments on this site not only about Stokes as a footballer but very personal comments from people who claim to know him but do not have a clue about him or his lifestyle.
I heard him on the radio the other night he came accross very well when asked about stories in the newspapers he said he has had to live with this since he was fourteen years old .
How sad for a young boy to be subject to such lies and roumours about himself and his family.
For example I never read or heard him complain about playing in any position when he was with arsenal. To read some on here you would think he did not want to stay with Arsenal. Why dont people leave him alone to get on with his life.
On the other hand I would imagine he isent too bothered about what a group of loosers on this site say about him.
Come on Stoksey you have already donemore with your life than any of theese knockers will ever do
18/01/2008, 8:15 PM
On the other hand I would imagine he isent too bothered about what a group of loosers on this site say about him.
Come on Stoksey you have already donemore with your life than any of theese knockers will ever do
A 10 page thread here on Stokes, the vast majority of it complimentary to the young lad. A bit of a Keane complex there.
paddywhack
18/01/2008, 8:35 PM
A 10 page thread here on Stokes, the vast majority of it complimentary to the young lad. A bit of a Keane complex there.
Well if you are new to this site have a look at all the other posts on Stokes going back over the last four years.
Also some of the comments on this thread and others have been deleated because of the downright lies and nasty things some people posted.
kennedmc
18/01/2008, 8:41 PM
Well if you are new to this site have a look at all the other posts on Stokes going back over the last four years.
Also some of the comments on this thread and others have been deleated because of the downright lies and nasty things some people posted.
I don't think he is new with 2,500 posts!!
Didn't Wenger say Stokes chose to leave Arsenal and not the other way around..........???
Personally I kust want to see him make the very best of his talent....I'm just not sure if that will be a stiker or an attacking midfielder (I think the latter)
paddywhack
18/01/2008, 8:54 PM
I don't think he is new with 2,500 posts!!
Didn't Wenger say Stokes chose to leave Arsenal and not the other way around..........???
Personally I kust want to see him make the very best of his talent....I'm just not sure if that will be a stiker or an attacking midfielder (I think the latter)
If he has 2,500 posts he must never read them otherwise he would have to agree that most of the posts on here have been very negative towards Stokes. some way over the top and full of hate almost wishing him to fail.
and my point was simply that these people are very sad and need to get a life and not be dreaming and living in a fantasy world
18/01/2008, 10:37 PM
He said that of this 10 page thread, 196 posts, the vast majority have been complimentary to young Stokes. You can't get a better indication of current opinion than that.
He does remember a previous thread about his time at Falkirk complete with blow by blow accounts of his goal scoring exploits.
20/01/2008, 10:41 AM
A bit of a Keane complex there.Certainly some kind of complex. Very odd behaviour. It'd be irritating if it wasn't so pathetic.
carloz
20/01/2008, 1:47 PM
Took off before half time yesterday and by all reports was absolutly dreadful. Miller and McShane not much better
20/01/2008, 2:03 PM
I heard Miller and Murphy were in the thick of things. Each got 7/10 in the Telegraph this morning.
20/01/2008, 2:20 PM
I heard Miller and Murphy were in the thick of things. Each got 7/10 in the Telegraph this morning.
Daryll Murphy should be in the shake up for the next squad. A tall striker who is deft enough to play on the wing. He did ok in the American tour last year too.
20/01/2008, 4:09 PM
Just saw MoTD which gives a flavour of the game but can be misleading. On the 10 minutes they showed Miller seemed his usual Goldilocks self, not too bad but not too good either. Murphy put in 2 or 3 exceptionally good low balls across the 6 yard box and looked dangerous out left.
McShane is really facing a tough learning experience. Every half error is punished. He wasn't alone mind you.
20/01/2008, 6:14 PM
The Sunderland fan who rates every game in the observer gave Miller an 8 today and gave him a good write up. Murphy got a 7 I think and Stokes a 5 before his subsitution.
irishfan86
21/01/2008, 2:40 AM
Miller had a decent enough game and was unlucky not to score- great save by Czerny.
Murphy was really impressive though and gave Stalteri and then Chimbonda a horrible time.
He was beating them one on one and as you said Stutts, sent at least 3 really dangerous balls in that should have led to goals.
We seem to have a glut of left wingers playing really well right now...
cheifo
21/01/2008, 10:48 AM
Well done to Murphy.Some uneducated people like me had written him off but
seems to have found a bit of confidence and as mentioned ran riot second half with real quality to his crosses.
Noelys Guitar
30/01/2008, 10:43 AM
Well done to Murphy.Some uneducated people like me had written him off but
seems to have found a bit of confidence and as mentioned ran riot second half with real quality to his crosses.
Murphy had another great game last night for Sunderland v Brimingham. Played first half at center forward and scored a good goal. Second half played on left wing and got in some great crosses. Stokes played OK (taken off)and beat 2 two Brum playes with a sublime piece of skill in the first half. The way Duff has been playing (no confidence ATM) I would have Murphy ahead of him in the pecking order.
30/01/2008, 10:47 AM
The way Duff has been playing (no confidence ATM) I would have Murphy ahead of him in the pecking order.What about Stephen Hunt?
Larks
30/01/2008, 10:53 AM
Let's face it lads, and dont criticise me ofr being hard on the lad, but Stokes is just not good enough to be a striker for a premiership team, he simply doesnt have the pace or strength imo. He might be better playing deeper but I dont think he'd be as good as miller even playing there.
Noelys Guitar
30/01/2008, 10:58 AM
What about Stephen Hunt?
For the Brazil game Hunt because he has been playing well over a longer period than Murphy. Duff has to start improving (out for a long time with injury and playing not for but in a circus) and ATM I would have Murphy ahead of Duff.
cheifo
30/01/2008, 11:02 AM
If Stokes keeps getting games and keeps himself in good shape he will come good.Hunt has played well on the right for Reading this season which gives us another option there.
dr_peepee
30/01/2008, 11:11 AM
For the Brazil game Hunt because he has been playing well over a longer period than Murphy. Duff has to start improving (out for a long time with injury and playing not for but in a circus) and ATM I would have Murphy ahead of Duff.
Duff has to start against Brazil... He needs a shot in the arm.. He deserves it.. Sometimes when it's not going so well at club level, I believe the change of scenery international level can provide the spark again. Leaving him out against Brazil will only compound things on his laboured comeback, especially if it transpires he hasn't actually "lost it". Duff has done enough in his Ireland career to warrant a starting spot against Brazil as an attempted "springboard" if you know what I mean.
Not detracting from the form of Hunt and Murphy by any stretch.... I just think a fully fit and on form 28 year old Damian Duff has more to offer than the two lads and it's Don Givens duty to aspire to that...There's more to be gained than lost.
30/01/2008, 12:53 PM
Murphy had another great game last night for Sunderland v Brimingham.
Telegraph gave him man of the match.
Was Kelly asleep for Murphy's goal? It was on TV with the sound down and I saw it while watching Arsenal on Albanian TV.
How did Stokes and Miller do?
I agree with the doc, Duff deserves his place. Both he and Hunt can play both wings which I think is useful.
Did Stokes play well?
30/01/2008, 1:15 PM
From the 10 minutes that I saw, Birmingham were absolutly awful so I wouldn't read too much into the game.
30/01/2008, 3:22 PM
Worse game I have seen in quite a while. Miller was busy, Murphy was game too. Stokes was average though had one fantastic piece of skill and cross. Kelly was very average.
30/01/2008, 5:22 PM
Let's face it lads, and dont criticise me ofr being hard on the lad, but Stokes is just not good enough to be a striker for a premiership team, he simply doesnt have the pace or strength imo. He might be better playing deeper but I dont think he'd be as good as miller even playing there.
His pace is open for debate although he's not slow but would you really question is strength? He seems a strong enough guy to me.
Average is good enough for Stokes on the wing tbh. As long as he's finding teammates with his passes. It's when he starts losing possession that it gets frustrating but he's not a winger in a million years.
29/02/2008, 4:59 PM
Keane considering Stokes loan (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_3215083,00.html)
"I've said many times before that Anthony's a young man and we can't expect too much, too soon, from him.
"We are all in danger of that, especially when players come to Sunderland. But he is learning his trade and a few games in the reserves will do him no harm.
"If he had to go out and get some other games at a Championship or League One club, I don't think it would do him any harm.
"We've had an enquiry about him regarding a loan move and I'm weighing it up. The problem is we haven't got the biggest of squads."
Drumcondra 69er
29/02/2008, 5:17 PM
Keane considering Stokes loan (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_3215083,00.html)
"I've said many times before that Anthony's a young man and we can't expect too much, too soon, from him.
"We are all in danger of that, especially when players come to Sunderland. But he is learning his trade and a few games in the reserves will do him no harm.
"If he had to go out and get some other games at a Championship or League One club, I don't think it would do him any harm.
"We've had an enquiry about him regarding a loan move and I'm weighing it up. The problem is we haven't got the biggest of squads."
Linked with Leeds on the back of the Herald today. Would Keane loan him to a club Staunton's at or would Quinn have some influence?
29/02/2008, 5:57 PM
Are Leeds becoming the new Sunderland, a refuge for the Irish hopefuls?
29/02/2008, 8:42 PM
He should have signed for Celtic. Getting played in position, getting goals, playing against decent teams 10 times a year, playing against physical teams every week. He'd be better than that big Dutch stick they have.
Again, we're too quick to judge kids. Just because Rooney, Ronaldo and Fabregas are world class at 20 or younger doesn't mean a player hasn't got his best years ahead of him aged 24 or even older.
My young fella isn't toilet trained yet but listening to some mums I know their lads who are 3 months older are fcuking concert pianists. Let them all develop at their own pace is the politically correct line. Same applies to young footballers.
01/03/2008, 12:32 AM
There are some lads on Ireland trips who are not toilet trained by the way
jmurphyc
01/03/2008, 8:25 AM
A loan move would do Stokes some good. I've only seen him very briefly and am not really impressed so far, but he's young and just needs to keep learning and gain some consistency. Hopefully if he gets a loan move to the championship (maybe even league one) he'll get some goals and it'll give him confidence going into next season with Sunderland.
Rebel11
04/03/2008, 9:25 PM
Stokes scored twice tonight for the reserves, I really do hope this guy turns into the player he can be, needs to move away on loan for a while do.
CraftyToePoke
15/03/2008, 6:48 PM
heard on Setanta, on the Steve Claridge phone in show just now that Stokes and a couple of other players were omitted from Sunderlands squad today due to their socialising habits in recent days.
i havent even checked todays team for Sunderland, but if this is true then how close is this guy to the exit door of Keanes lot?
CraftyToePoke
15/03/2008, 6:55 PM
just checked, and Stokes definately wasnt involved today. neither was Murphy, I only had half an ear on the show but i think he may have been mentioned in relation to this also.
dr_peepee
15/03/2008, 6:59 PM
Was roumered that Sokes murphy Chopra and Richardson were all omitted due to disciplinary reasons.... But Keane has since cited that as "Utter nonsense"... Hard to say. Murphy gone from starting to not even being in the match squad??? Richardson's one of there better players and you'd assume would start when fit. Strange?
inexile
15/03/2008, 6:59 PM
reid and o donovan started, with mcshane and harte on the bench
CraftyToePoke
15/03/2008, 7:05 PM
Was roumered that Sokes murphy Chopra and Richardson were all omitted due to disciplinary reasons.... But Keane has since cited that as "Utter nonsense"... Hard to say. Murphy gone from starting to not even being in the match squad??? Richardson's one of there better players and you'd assume would start when fit. Strange?
well, with Miller just put on the list in an attempt by Keane to install discipline and lay down a marker, im guessing he'd rather dismiss this as nonsense coming so soon after,as it doesnt reflect well on his rule there, now does it?
and you are right, id expect some of those guys to be involved today, certainly Murphy and possibly Richardson.
zenokelly
15/03/2008, 8:16 PM
well, with Miller just put on the list in an attempt by Keane to install discipline and lay down a marker, im guessing he'd rather dismiss this as nonsense coming so soon after,as it doesnt reflect well on his rule there, now does it?
and you are right, id expect some of those guys to be involved today, certainly Murphy and possibly Richardson.
Whatever about Murphy, Richardson is a certain starter. Even Harte got a run today!!:D
But Stokes hasn't shown too much on the pitch and I don't think it would hurt his squad at all if he was let go this summer, so I wouldn't be surprised if he's transfer listed. I wouldn't think he'd get attention from any other than decent Championship sides. It will be his own fault, but can you blame him? Trying not to waste the best years of his life on a massive salary, living it up?