View Full Version : Anthony Stokes (F free agent b.1988)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

09/01/2007, 10:16 PM
I think we've just seen why Arsen Whinger felt he didn't need Stokes: his babies have just beaten Liverpool's semi-babies 3-6 at Anfield in the Carling Cup quarter final. Some awful defending but enjoyable game it has to be said and Arsenal able to break quickly. He is on record as saying Stokes just wasn't fast enough for a forward of his.

At one stage Liverpool looked like pulling it back, anyhow Arsenals fast forwards have not got them anywhere in the Prem for a while. You could also say Arsenal conceeded 3 (4 at one point). Agreed he would have trouble geting a game at Arsenal though.

citizenerased
09/01/2007, 10:38 PM
Weird game alright when is the last time liverpool conceded at least 5 at home

09/01/2007, 11:13 PM
Stoke's chances of getting into the Premiership must be pretty slim, yes Sunderland may make the play offs but thats a bit of a lottery at best a 50/50 chance. Automatic promotion would require a phenomenal run. Charlton with a get out clause, should they drop, would have been a good choice. Maybe he has a get out clause if Sunderland fail to get promoted?
Eitherway I think he is a good buy at £2 million, what he might gain in value outweighs any value he might lose IMO.
I can't see them failing to get a playoff tbh. Since Keane took over they've been on par with, say, Preston. They've now brought in Stokes and Carlos Edwards. I think they're certs for a playoff place tbh and have a chance of automatic promotion. Derby have to travel to Sunderland and Sunderland should be expected to win that. If they do they've 7 points to make up. Far from impossible.

09/01/2007, 11:49 PM
Weird game alright when is the last time liverpool conceded at least 5 at home

Liverpool 0-6 Sunderland - 19 April, 1930

dodgycanadian
10/01/2007, 2:46 AM
Stan is a ****in ******, once again he contradicts himself. He came out and said today that he would welcome Anthony Stokes to the team and looks like he will be handing him a call up for the next few games. I thought a few months ago it was "stokes took steps backward at arsenal last season and he is young and inexperienced"

theworm2345
10/01/2007, 4:16 AM
Have to worry about Keanes jusgement when he spent 2m on Connolly but hes probably bought as a Championship player & like many of the others would be disguarded should Sunderland get promoted. Then again Paul Jewell spent 3m on Connolly & almost never played him.
Connolly had a hamstring problem almost all of last season. Sunderland are 3 points off the playoffs thanks to Connolly's recent surge of goals, thank you very much ;)
P.S. He is also joint top scorer with Elliott and Murphy. The thing about Connolly is he makes his own goals, unlike most other strikers, he hasnt had one tap in or penalty this season. The point is, recall him :)
P.P.S Hold the next page for rebuttals to this post :o (and I was holding my tongue so well too)

Fergie's Son
10/01/2007, 4:22 AM
I'd recall Connolly as well.

Still, Doyle & Keane are not quite going to be unseated any time soon.

10/01/2007, 7:04 AM
Stan is a ****in ******, once again he contradicts himself. He came out and said today that he would welcome Anthony Stokes to the team and looks like he will be handing him a call up for the next few games. I thought a few months ago it was "stokes took steps backward at arsenal last season and he is young and inexperienced"

When Staunton made that comment a few months ago, he was probably right. Stokes was going nowhere and at Arsenal was being overtaken by some of their other younger players.

However, things have changed dramatically for him since he was loaned out to Falkirk and he has taken several giant steps forward. We still do not know if he is the genuine article. Scoring goals against the weaker teams in the SPL is one thing. If he can continue scoring at the business end of the Championship,then he will be even further forward.

10/01/2007, 8:11 AM
I think he should call up Stokes and Long for San Marino. Give them a run out with 30 minutes to go if we are cruising.

galwayhoop
10/01/2007, 9:39 AM
... or does the fact liverpool are chasing a hamilton acidemical player show us their standing in world football?

on last nights evidence it looks like it just may!!!!

10/01/2007, 9:51 AM
I think he should call up Stokes and Long for San Marino. Give them a run out with 30 minutes to go if we are cruising.

I'd agree on Stokes, but (going back to a point Stuttgart88 made elsewhere), I think extra members of the squad (say numbers 16-23) should be included on form. They're unlikely to unseat the regular players, but Stan and Bobby can still take a look at them in training and decide if they are worth a place in the matchday 16.
Long, on recent form, would not get into those 16-23 numbers, but Darren O'Dea (for example) would.

youngirish
10/01/2007, 10:40 AM
Why recall Connolly? He was never any use for Ireland even when his club form was better than it is now. Also we don't need him anymore we've far more talented up and coming young strikers deserving of a place.

galwayhoop
10/01/2007, 1:41 PM
yeah connolly has had his chances - we'd be better off with a young lad in the squad.

we could safely exclude morrison and connolly at this stage IMO , both have had ample opportunities to prove themselves - if a game wasn't going their way you wouldn't be shouting for their inclusion and they are unlikely to start so better off with new faces methinks

livehead1
10/01/2007, 2:16 PM
yeah connolly has had his chances - we'd be better off with a young lad in the squad.

we could safely exclude morrison and connolly at this stage IMO , both have had ample opportunities to prove themselves - if a game wasn't going their way you wouldn't be shouting for their inclusion and they are unlikely to start so better off with new faces methinks

Morrisson has been a fantastic servant to Ireland and I for one believe he has been one of our better performers over the past two years.

galwayhoop
10/01/2007, 2:35 PM
Morrisson has been a fantastic servant to Ireland and I for one believe he has been one of our better performers over the past two years.

i don't really think he is up to it but you're entitled to your opinion. i don't even hear of him at club level anymore (is he still at palace??), seems to have gone off the radar big style. he has reached what is supposidly his peak (age / experience wise) at this stage and i feel not shown enough ability to perform at either internaional / premiership level. if i was picking a squad i wouldn't have him in it. alan lee would be before him on current form and then why not have a young lad like stokes in there as the 4th striker (assuming keane and doyle definately start)

10/01/2007, 2:51 PM
i don't even hear of him at club level anymore (is he still at palace??)

He's their top scorer this season, despite being (reportedly) out of favor with the manager

galwayhoop
10/01/2007, 3:07 PM
honestly have heard little or nothing of him except a couple of mnths ago when he spoke of his admiration for keane in an apparant 'come and get me'. btw how many goals / games

10/01/2007, 3:51 PM
honestly have heard little or nothing of him except a couple of mnths ago when he spoke of his admiration for keane in an apparant 'come and get me'. btw how many goals / games

According to this - http://www.soccerbase.com/squad_season.sd?teamid=646 - it's 6 goals in 17 appearances, 8 as a sub. Which amounts to about 1 goal every 3 appearances.

When you consider that the next highest is James Scowcroft with 4 goals in 17 appearances, including 3 as a sub, it's actually not that bad.

Although it probably says more about Palace at the moment than Clinton

irishfan86
10/01/2007, 5:41 PM
I'm not going to be too critical of Clinton, the goals he scored during our last WCQ campaign were the most important. Scoring away against Israel sticks out for me as a huge goal- to be honest he's been more consistent in competitive games than Keane for me.

There's no question Keane is the better player, but Morrison really stepped it up in the big games for us with some key goals.

He has to be behind Stokes in the pecking order at this point though, and the Sunderland crew of Connolly, Murphy, Elliot are probably on a similar level in addition to Alan Lee make up the fringe of our strikers.

Morrison's a borderline squad member for me at this point.

theworm2345
11/01/2007, 1:06 AM

Are you kidding I was shouting for Connolly when he was hurt. And is everyone saying that because they had their chance they should done? How about who ever is playing best should get in regardless of their past. If Stokes plays up front with Connolly up until San Marino and Connolly scores 3 and Stokes scores 0 and loses his starting role, should Stokes get called up over Connolly just because he hasn't had a chance yet? (The problem is, that is Stan's thinking) I like Stokes fine (That could change soon :o) but I think he would have had a better chance if he stayed with Falkirk and kept banging in the goals up there. Morrison also has been playing decently

youngirish
11/01/2007, 9:19 AM
Are you kidding I was shouting for Connolly when he was hurt. And is everyone saying that because they had their chance they should done? How about who ever is playing best should get in regardless of their past.

No, no, no, no. When will people ever learn? HE'S NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR INTERNATIONAL FOOTBALL. Give someone else a go ffs.

galwayhoop
11/01/2007, 10:06 AM
No, no, no, no. When will people ever learn? HE'S NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR INTERNATIONAL FOOTBALL. Give someone else a go ffs.

that was what i was trying to say. thanks

Wolfie
11/01/2007, 9:55 PM
Why recall Connolly? He was never any use for Ireland even when his club form was better than it is now. Also we don't need him anymore we've far more talented up and coming young strikers deserving of a place.

Connolly's had various chances with Ireland. He's had more comebacks than Frank Sinatra.

11/01/2007, 10:04 PM
In fairness, Connolly has started no more than 20-25 games for Ireland and most of them were beside Keane. The majority of his games when not partnering Keane he put in a good shift. The Keane-Connolly partnership has never worked.

theworm2345
11/01/2007, 11:31 PM
In fairness, Connolly has started no more than 20-25 games for Ireland and most of them were beside Keane. The majority of his games when not partnering Keane he put in a good shift. The Keane-Connolly partnership has never worked.
He is exactly right (though I have said it before I think) Connolly's best games came with Niall Quinn...he could also work well with Doyle. I cant find exact numbers, but Connolly and Keane are both guys who make their own goals (Connolly more than Keane though, Keane is always there to pounce). I'm not saying Connolly should start. He could work with Doyle if Keane is hurt though. Someone find me a complete list of Connolly's caps w/ time of sub, etc. and tell me its been that bad. Roy Keane said Connolly has been banging them in in training, and who is he playing against in training? Oh yes, defenders like starting Slovakian defender Stanislav Varga and Welsh internationals Darren Ward and Danny Collins...dont we play both of those teams? (not to mention the goals he has scored in the league) I know its training but still.
enough of this though, just read
|
|
|
ˇ (how can there be now down arrow?)

youngirish
12/01/2007, 9:41 AM
Connolly should be consigned to the dark recesses of history. He was never any use for Ireland. You can make excuses till you are blue in the face as to why this has been so and who's fault it is but in my own opinion he's not skillful enough and definitely not strong enough to get goals against top class defenders. Most of his Ireland goals have been against sh*t teams. Even Morrison (who has his critics) has been a far better servant over the years.

Now with his advancing years and the emergence of Doyle, Stokes, Long, Murphy, Clarke and Keogh the arguments for giving him a recall look to hold less weight than ever. Now let us never speak his name again.

12/01/2007, 11:36 AM
He is exactly right (though I have said it before I think) Connolly's best games came with Niall Quinn...he could also work well with Doyle. I cant find exact numbers, but Connolly and Keane are both guys who make their own goals (Connolly more than Keane though, Keane is always there to pounce). I'm not saying Connolly should start. He could work with Doyle if Keane is hurt though. Someone find me a complete list of Connolly's caps w/ time of sub, etc. and tell me its been that bad. Roy Keane said Connolly has been banging them in in training, and who is he playing against in training? Oh yes, defenders like starting Slovakian defender Stanislav Varga and Welsh internationals Darren Ward and Danny Collins...dont we play both of those teams? (not to mention the goals he has scored in the league) I know its training but still.
enough of this though, just read
|
|
|
ˇ (how can there be now down arrow?)
I'm not 100% but I'm pretty sure none of his 9 goals were scored when partnering Keane. Considering he played a load of times with Keane and also came on as a sub for plenty of his caps he actually has an excellent scoring rate without Keane beside him. He was excellent in that match against Turkey. Him and Doc played up front. As soon as the Swiss match comes around and he's stuck with Keane again and both were anonymous as usual.

republicofwhite
12/01/2007, 1:51 PM
Now with his advancing years and the emergence of Doyle, Stokes, Long, Murphy, Clarke and Keogh the arguments for giving him a recall look to hold less weight than ever. Now let us never speak his name again.

Here's the nail, there's the head. BAM! Spot on, we've never had this much young striking talent coming through so why stifle their progress by including someone like Connolly? He's well past it and had his chances. I admit to being short sighted with this opinion but I never liked him, thought he never fulfilled any potential and was a bit of a chancer. That peno against Spain should have sealed his international fate... Awful.

12/01/2007, 1:52 PM
Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't have Connolly in the squad either.

republicofwhite
12/01/2007, 2:00 PM
Personally I think without a doubt he should be, but Do you reckon Stokes, in reality, will be that 3rd choice striker? (ahead of Clinton and behind Doyle and Keane) Or what will Stan pull out of the bag this time... Exactly, Connolly, no way!

kingdom hoop
12/01/2007, 2:06 PM
i'd say it would be a close call between elliot agus stokes. exciting that they can compete directly at club level, may well drive each other on. i've always liked elliot and feel he is more deserving of the third spot at the moment

galwayhoop
12/01/2007, 2:06 PM
............. he never fulfilled any potential and was a bit of a chancer. That peno against Spain should have sealed his international fate... Awful.

was in the bar of the team hotel after the spain match, the players we're in the restaurant having a meal and from the hallway you could see the players through the glass. every one of the supporters to a man was absolutely gutted and i saw connolly laughing and joking like it was playtime... lost a lot of respect for him then - most of the rest of the squad looked down in the dumps and it didn't knock a dot outta connolly - despite the fact he had missed one of the penalties. lost a lot of respect for him then.

anyway the fact is he has not cut it at international level or in many attempts at premiership level. he is what he is - a decent championship player who has found his level. please don't darken our door while we have so much emerging talent

republicofwhite
12/01/2007, 2:11 PM
I knew it...!

kingdom hoop
12/01/2007, 2:17 PM
Quote from wikipedia on connolly that some may find amusing ; "He is generally considered to be a complete "tw@tface" by most Watford fans. Who regularly sing "You're just a short, greedy basterd" when ever he is encountered."

12/01/2007, 2:30 PM
anyway the fact is he has not cut it at international level or in many attempts at premiership level.
Last season was his first in the premiership. :)

galwayhoop
12/01/2007, 2:57 PM
actually you might be right there eirebhoy, but he has played for a few teams who have won promotion and then been dispatched - meaning their manager don't see him as premiership standard. regardless i think his day has come and gone in an ireland shirt

kingdom hoop
12/01/2007, 3:15 PM
actually you might be right there eirebhoy, but he has played for a few teams who have won promotion and then been dispatched - meaning their manager don't see him as premiership standard. regardless i think his day has come and gone in an ireland shirt

sorry to nitpick galwayhoop but that has not happened.
last season he didnt seem to get a decent run in the team at wigan, mostly due to injury, but when he did play he looked decent enough. he has always scored goals at his clubs but this is a bit moot as i agree that he probably has had his day, but in my book he deserves some protection from the critics. stokes and elliot are definitely ahead of him but i'd rather see him play in front of clinton and alan lee at the moment

youngirish
12/01/2007, 3:33 PM
Can't see how anyone could justify having him in the squad. I'd suggest our striker's should be selected in this order if fit:

1. Doyle
2. Keane
3. Elliot
4. Stokes
5. Morrison
6. Murphy
7. Lee
8. Connolly
9. Long
10. Clarke
11. Keogh

I can see Connolly dropping further down this list in the next few months if he begins to be frozen out of Sunderland by the arrival of Stokes which, if we consider his fairly poor goalscoring record, is likely to happen. Long, Clarke, Keogh and possibly Rooney at Stoke (he'll get more time on the pitch with Bangoura gone) also could climb up this table if they progress over the next few months (Clarke and Keogh should continue to get regular football and develop though I'm a bit worried about Clarke's lack of goals since his return from injury).

I just can't see any reason for including him in the squad in future. Needs to be phased out.

Irish_Praha
12/01/2007, 4:27 PM
I can see Connolly dropping further down this list in the next few months if he begins to be frozen out of Sunderland by the arrival of Stokes which, if we consider his fairly poor goalscoring record, is likely to happen.

I reckon at first Murphy will be the one to make way for Stokes. Keane forked out a big enough wad of cash for Connolly and will want to show that he was right to buy him. He's started scoring again in the last few weeks and has a proven record in the championship. So I'd say Keane will go for a Stokes-Connolly partnership with Murphy waiting in the wings. Maybe I'm wrong but we'll see tomorrow. BTW I also think he shouldn't be in the Ireland squad.

kingdom hoop
12/01/2007, 4:45 PM
I wasnt arguing for his inclusion in the squad, just said "i'd rather see him play in front of clinton and alan lee at the moment", in fact i'd prefer long and clarke to be selected, but if it was between connolly or morrison my vote would be connolly- i dont see why you had to argue at length this point in this thread, its pretty much a toss up anyway, start a 'top 10 current irish strikers' thread if you feel strongly

youngirish
12/01/2007, 5:30 PM
I wasnt arguing for his inclusion in the squad, just said "i'd rather see him play in front of clinton and alan lee at the moment", in fact i'd prefer long and clarke to be selected, but if it was between connolly or morrison my vote would be connolly- i dont see why you had to argue at length this point in this thread, its pretty much a toss up anyway, start a 'top 10 current irish strikers' thread if you feel strongly

Wasn't an argument just a selection of how I think the pecking order should go.

dr_peepee
12/01/2007, 7:08 PM
I like Connolly. I think he's under rated. Not the most versatile of forwrds but will prosper in the right line up. Same way Kevin Phillips did with Niall Quinn. Apparently Connolly kept Phillips on the bench during their Watford days too. I think he has a great footballing brain but doesn't have the abillity or stature to back it up. I've been sticking up for him for years. Stick I got off the lads after Japan though

Last season was his first in the premiership. He never won promotion to the Premiership with any team to be dispanded. West Ham sold him to Leicester the year before they were promoted. West Ham Signed him from Wimbledon. Wimbledon signed him from Feyenoord. He excelled on loan at Excelsior (Or whatever). Held in good stead still in Feyenoord by all accounts too. Scoored a couple for them against Ajax. Too late to make a real impact though. And I wouldn't even consider him if Robbie Keane was available. Those too cannot play together. I think he values his Irish career too. Watch him belt out Amhrann na bhfiann before a game.

12/01/2007, 8:27 PM
How can Morrison be ahead of Long???? This young lad is in the top half of the Premiership and has amazing potential. Clinton is on the slide big time.
International football is about picking the best players at present. While Long has great potential he is still unproven.

galwayhoop
12/01/2007, 9:35 PM
Last season was his first in the premiership. He never won promotion to the Premiership with any team to be dispanded. West Ham sold him to Leicester the year before they were promoted. West Ham Signed him from Wimbledon. Wimbledon signed him from Feyenoord. He excelled on loan at Excelsior (Or whatever). Held in good stead still in Feyenoord by all accounts too. Scoored a couple for them against Ajax.

i stand corrected on the promotion bit - really thought he had been involved with teams that went up but apparantely not.

Re: Feyenoord. i met a few lads from rotterdam and they couldn't stand him. he was on stg£20k per week (which is absolutely MASSIVE in dutch terms & made him top earner at the club) when he was signed and made no impact whatsoever (according to them), they never mentioned anything about him scoring against Ajax but maybe he did. anyway his impact was so little that after a couple of months they sent them to Excelsior who play in 2nd or 3rd division and are a feeder club for Feyenoord. don't know how he feared there but it is supposidily a cat standard. anyway he was back in england in no time.

can't think why we're still talking about this man. stokes, keane, doyle, lee & long offer more than he does albeit in the case of long it is potential. morrison and connolly are not what we need hanging around the place espically as we're building for 2010 (supposidely). at best they are 4th and 5th choice and will only get a run if we are crippled with inuries and even then stan would probably opt for duffer up front so we'd be better off introducing the above players to the fold.

Qwerty
12/01/2007, 10:18 PM
Can't see how anyone could justify having him in the squad. I'd suggest our striker's should be selected in this order if fit:

1. Doyle
2. Keane
3. Elliot
4. Stokes
5. Morrison
6. Murphy
7. Lee
8. Connolly
9. Long
10. Clarke
11. Keogh

I can see Connolly dropping further down this list in the next few months if he begins to be frozen out of Sunderland by the arrival of Stokes which, if we consider his fairly poor goalscoring record, is likely to happen. Long, Clarke, Keogh and possibly Rooney at Stoke (he'll get more time on the pitch with Bangoura gone) also could climb up this table if they progress over the next few months (Clarke and Keogh should continue to get regular football and develop though I'm a bit worried about Clarke's lack of goals since his return from injury).

I just can't see any reason for including him in the squad in future. Needs to be phased out.

Honestly how can you seriously consider putting Doyle ahead of Keane, what does Robbie Keane have to do to get respect?

The Legend
12/01/2007, 10:29 PM
Honestly how can you seriously consider putting Doyle ahead of Keane, what does Robbie Keane have to do to get respect?

Stop whinging? maybe, and start scoring goals again this season.

13/01/2007, 12:25 AM
was in the bar of the team hotel after the spain match, the players we're in the restaurant having a meal and from the hallway you could see the players through the glass. every one of the supporters to a man was absolutely gutted and i saw connolly laughing and joking like it was playtime... lost a lot of respect for him then - most of the rest of the squad looked down in the dumps and it didn't knock a dot outta connolly - despite the fact he had missed one of the penalties. lost a lot of respect for him then.

one of the things that annoyed me about that world cup ( and i was there) was how a lot of the irish fans went to the hotel to see the players straight after the game, i mean i was in a taxi with 5 guys who went straight to the players hotel, i didint i was GUTTED, i only wanted to go home and be depressed
what with the need to see the players, they lost, we lost? is it celebrity, or do ye guys care about the fcukin game?
showed up the real fans that time to me

theworm2345
13/01/2007, 4:48 AM
1. Doyle
2. Keane
3. Elliot
4. Stokes
5. Morrison
6. Murphy
7. Lee
8. Connolly

how can Connolly not be at least equal to Elliott and Murphy when he is equal to them in goals at Sunderland (and on hotter form). Also, Morrison and Stokes would only questionably be above him (depending on how Stokes does over the next month and whether or not Morrison can get his form back from earlier this season)

anyway the fact is he has not cut it at international level or in many attempts at premiership level. he is what he is - a decent championship player who has found his level. please don't darken our door while we have so much emerging talent
Thats a crock of **** I've seen footage of him either crying or something near it and giving McCarthy (the famous picture is of Quinn) a hug after that match. Watch "The Saipan Saga" you'll see. No account of it here (http://www.seoulshamrock.co.kr/day_mick_and_the_lads_came_to_suwon.htm) either. Or here (http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38347000/jpg/_38347437_quinn_connolly_220.jpg) for* (http://dynimg.rte.ie/000023080c1m.jpg) that (http://images.ireland.com/sports/reuters/soccer/quinn_cons.jpg) matter (http://www.totalposter.com/tp-images/products/large/asp1em0q.jpg). You were likely drunk, are you sure it was him? However, it is my fault it started, but the Connolly discussion is for another topic, another time

*A different match though he clearly doesn't not give a ****

Condex
13/01/2007, 10:03 AM
Stop whinging? maybe, and start scoring goals again this season.

Agree I think the Irish team would be better off without Robie Keane, doesn't set a good example for other players. Can't remember the last time he a really good game for Ireland, can score against rubbish teams better defenders have no problem with him!!

13/01/2007, 10:41 AM
Agree I think the Irish team would be better off without Robie Keane, doesn't set a good example for other players. Can't remember the last time he a really good game for Ireland, can score against rubbish teams better defenders have no problem with him!!

I seem to remember him scoring against Germany, the World Cup Finalists that year but perhaps they all have rubbish defenders. He has also scored against Yugoslavia, Turkey, Czech Republic, Holland, Russia, Denmark, Spain, Crotatia and Sweden: all total lightweights. DOn't let facts get in the way of sweeping statements about our all time record scorer. Who else has performed up front for US that you would like to replace him with?