View Full Version : Anthony Stokes (F free agent b.1988)
kennedmc
15/01/2011, 9:22 AM
http://foot.ie/threads/68695-Anthony-Stokes?p=1217458&highlight=#post1217458
Posted this a while ago about Stokes and have seen nothing to change my mind - there is alot of hype around him based on potential he showed but never fulfilled as a 15 year old. He seems to still get far more hype then he deserves.......take the penno above for example!!
I think Shane Long is a more efffective player at a higher level then Stokes. Although Stokes might look prettier on the ball.
15/01/2011, 12:15 PM
Second penalty in two games for Stokes, after not scoring for nearly two months
Hope this gives him the confidence to push on, he had 9 goals at that point, including a hat trick against Aberdeen
15/01/2011, 12:21 PM
He was chopped down in the box after a neat turn put himself clean through. Took the penalty and drove it home, a dicey shot down the middle. Hibs defender only booked, unlike the Hamilton player on Wed night who got a red card for a less obvious challenge.
15/01/2011, 12:22 PM
Didn't strike that penalty cleanly but it went in. Assist as well for Hopper's goal.
15/01/2011, 12:24 PM
Scores a brilliant second, George Best couldn´t improve on it.
15/01/2011, 12:26 PM
Great finish.
15/01/2011, 12:30 PM
Haven't seen it but BBC described it as sublime.
I'm not convinced by Stokes despite his obvious talent, but recent weeks have shown that our fringe forwards like Long, Best and Stokes - all young - are showing encouraging form.
15/01/2011, 12:34 PM
Nearly got a third, clean through, lobbed the goalie with perfection but the ball was headed off the line.
15/01/2011, 12:46 PM
Can't have been perfect then.
15/01/2011, 12:47 PM
Yes Roy
15/01/2011, 12:55 PM
Anthony's second goal (http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=2lc3fk6&s=7)
15/01/2011, 1:17 PM
Post match - Lennon "Stokes is an instinctive goalscorer, but has a lot to learn"
Royal rover
16/01/2011, 4:57 PM
was at the game yesterday - a semi decent performance from stokesy but he could of scored 4 - i'm not going to be critical of him - he needs a decent run in the team now now that hooper is back - hearts on wed we'll see how he gets on - but i'll give him 8/10 for yesterday
Razors left peg
16/01/2011, 5:04 PM
Anthony's second goal (http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=2lc3fk6&s=7)
that was brilliant
Junior
16/01/2011, 9:17 PM
Took the penalty and drove it home, a dicey shot down the middle. is that commentator speak for scuffed it and watched it trickle over the line:D Reminded me (unfortunately) of the Mendietta penalty back in 2002 that just avoided Shays trailing leg........
hearts on wed we'll see how he gets on - but i'll give him 8/10 for yesterday
We've got Aberdeen at home next Saturday, followed by Hearts at home on the following Weds - Didnt want you to be sat in an empty Celtic Park wondering where the fcuk everyone was;)
17/01/2011, 1:07 PM
Well Junior, I am not as long winded as you are prone to be on a rare occasion:) The adjective I used to describe the actual shot was 'dicey'.
dicey = risky, uncertain, unpredictable, touch-and-go, precarious, unsafe, dangerous, fraught with danger, hazardous, perilous, high-risk, difficult; informal chancy, hairy, iffy, gnarly. ANTONYMS safe.
I think we are in agreement.
Junior
17/01/2011, 1:27 PM
We are that!
TrapAPony
22/01/2011, 2:59 PM
Celtic 1-0 up against Aberdeen. Stokes the goal scorer.
irishfan86
22/01/2011, 11:10 PM
Celtic 1-0 up against Aberdeen. Stokes the goal scorer.
Well taken goal as well. Rounded the keeper and was very patient/cool with the finish. I took him as first goalscorer today as well!
23/01/2011, 12:22 AM
4 goals in three games for Stokes now, after not scoring for more than 2 months
irishfan86
23/01/2011, 6:25 PM
4 goals in three games for Stokes now, after not scoring for more than 2 months
In fairness he was playing out wide before, and now he is (finally) getting a run at centre forward. Why managers insist on playing him out wide I will never know, he's useless as a winger IMO.
Junior
24/01/2011, 10:40 AM
Linked up well with Hooper, who laid on the goal for Stokes. They are starting to form the signs of a decent partnership now, so hopefully Stokes can maintain his form and spot in the starting 11. Next up, Hearts at home on Weds, no doubt they'll be high in confidence after beating Rangers on Saturday though they didnt look all that great to be honest.
24/01/2011, 12:03 PM
Yes, the mighty Hearts led by one time wunderkid Stephen Elliott. Great to see Stokes improving on the 4 goals he scored in 60 appears in the English league.
doing brilliantly so far for Celtic against Hearts. A couple of beautiful dribbles setting up decent chances and a penalty appeal turned down.
and he's just scored a beautiful free kick. Outside the box just to the left of the left goalpost. curled up and around the wall. Superb.
and another afte Hooper did all the hard work, was brought down by the keeper and Stokes was on hand to pounce on the loose ball and roll it in.
rebelmusic
26/01/2011, 8:19 PM
That's 15 goals for the season so far right? 3 strikers in the SPL with over 40 goals between them in a half a season and the only one called up to the squad probably won't get a game....
26/01/2011, 8:23 PM
His second was a gift.
Sublime spin on the pass from Kayal to put Hooper through.
26/01/2011, 8:26 PM
Paddy McCourt goal after a (ahem) nice dummy from Stokes.
Noelys Guitar
26/01/2011, 8:42 PM
If he keeps this goalscoring craic up he'll be dropped by Trap.
26/01/2011, 8:45 PM
Yep, too selfish.
26/01/2011, 9:00 PM
Stokes can't score a hatrick.
26/01/2011, 9:03 PM
Stokes first from a freekick.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRaa-j3zwLQ&feature=player_embedded
Second goal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtWxkWL7qU8&feature=player_embedded
assist from Anthony to Paddy McCourt
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lk2Fr5VOWTw&feature=player_embedded
Junior
27/01/2011, 10:28 AM
Was up at the game last night and thought he had a fairly quiet enough first half hour. After that though he became much more involved. The posts above reflect the key moments, the dribble on the edge of the box and cut back was a lovely piece of skill. He had opportunities either side of his brace as well to get the hatrick but dwelled too long or took one to many touches. In the first half he had a great chance to toe poke home but tried to steer it on to his right foot and the defender blocked the chance. I was thinking to myself thats symptomatic of footballers these days with only one foot but then he lost another opportunity in the 2nd half when he appeared to be trying to move it on to his left - so wtf do I know.
Anyway, the partnership with Hooper is looking good - Two young lads, working hard for each other & the team and linking up well. That can only be good for the confidence and hopefully soemthing he can bring with him to the Irish setup.
Stokes did get booked again, disappointing as it was for dissent from what I could see. Thats 5 hes got now so far this season. Needs to cut it out.
Definitely want to see him get some game time in the up and coming friendly.
Hibs4Ever
27/01/2011, 11:07 AM
If he keeps this goalscoring craic up he'll be dropped by Trap.
Wouldn't make a difference. Not good enough, he proved this when at Championship clubs. At least 5/6 others that would be ahead of him in Irish team. So what if he's scoring in the SPL, it's similar standard to League 2 in England, League 1 at best
Royal rover
27/01/2011, 12:13 PM
there's still alot of negativity regarding stokesy - he's playing ans scoring as i have mentioned when he's at his best for celtic he is more effective than keane was last season but i'm not trying to compare the two overall - junior your right about the partnership with hooper - i don't really see why he shouldn't get a craic at international football in the near future if he keeps playing like this - but he needs to be played as an out & out striker -
Wolfie
27/01/2011, 12:31 PM
there's still alot of negativity regarding stokesy - he's playing ans scoring as i have mentioned when he's at his best for celtic he is more effective than keane was last season but i'm not trying to compare the two overall - junior your right about the partnership with hooper - i don't really see why he shouldn't get a craic at international football in the near future if he keeps playing like this - but he needs to be played as an out & out striker -
Without being too mean spirited - we've been here before with Stokes.
Not a million years ago he was touted as the new hope, but he's not delivered anywhere near that early promise at international level.
That said - if he keeps scoring, he deserves another look, on merit.
27/01/2011, 2:17 PM
So what if he hasn't met some expectations, he was a talented youth at a top club, it's natural to have hope for his career. He's not even one of Celtic's best new players this season. He is not even their best striker, but he has stuck at the task at hand and has made progress with his game.
He has earned a call up to be one of 7 strikers in a friendly. That's not evidence of a second coming. It is hardly likely that he will get game time. But if he does, I have a hope that it works out well.
ArdeeBhoy
27/01/2011, 2:59 PM
So what if he's scoring in the SPL, it's similar standard to League 2 in England, League 1 at best
Are you for real?? Or just sour grapes about Stokes?? ;)
Maybe the current Hibs team is Div.3 level but Celtic (& even R*ngers) are still capable of the PL. As are most of the SPL if they had the millions the likes of Wigan and Blackpool (currently) have to roll about in. Even Hibs??
SwanVsDalton
27/01/2011, 3:33 PM
In fairness he appears to have a class of touch beyond most of our strikers, no matter how inconsistent or at what level.
Hibs4Ever
27/01/2011, 4:20 PM
Are you for real?? Or just sour grapes about Stokes?? ;)
Have you seen Stokes record in England? Even in the Championship he was sh!t scoring 1 goal in 25 games (Sheff Untd & Palace), yet he scores for fun in the SPL. Says it all really
27/01/2011, 4:26 PM
Have you seen Stokes record in England? Even in the Championship he was sh!t scoring 1 goal in 25 games (Sheff Untd & Palace), yet he scores for fun in the SPL. Says it all really
You should have seen Conor Sammon when he played for us.
Hibs4Ever
27/01/2011, 4:38 PM
You should have seen Conor Sammon when he played for us.
I did, he was cr@p, not much better for Derry, yet scores almost weekly in the SPL
I think Stokes is at best fourth in the line behind Keane, Doyle and Long. No way does he deserve to be above that three. Nonetheless, I hope Stokes continues to progress and improve.....we certainly need as many as possible of the young lads coming through. No doubt the guy has talent, his attitude has been in question many a time in the past and still remains to be seen if it has improved indefinitely.
wasnt he played out of position in nearly every game? Dont get me wrong, i think Stokes still has to prove himself to an extent but credit where it is due - he had a stormer yesterday and is something different to what our current striking options offer. And he's a natural goalscorer.
28/01/2011, 1:38 PM
Well said Stu.
It was hugely encouraging to see those two goals against Hearts, regardless of what standard you reckon the SPL is at. I always like to see Irish players score from free-kicks, mainly because Lawrence is probably the only player that gets picked at International level who has any idea what he is doing when it comes to set pieces. Also, the determination to get up alongside Hooper for the second goal was impressive. Hooper was clean through and would have won a penalty in all fairness if Stokes hadn't followed up, but he bust a gut to get and reaped the sweet, sweet goalscoring rewards.
The 'assist' for the last goal, well... we've all done it at some point :)
irishfan86
28/01/2011, 4:24 PM
In fairness Hunt is good at set pieces as well Serb.
for accuracy he is if86 - i think Serb was talking about direct free kicks on goal.
Junior
01/02/2011, 3:25 PM
Stokes will feature tonight for Celtic in the league vs Aberdeen (Live on ESPN for those that have it). I doubt Sammon will feature for Wigan who are playing West Brom live on Sky Sports, though S Reid might be involved as seems to be back early from injury plus McCarthy for Wigan as well.