View Full Version : Celtic Discussion
Pages :
[
2]
Iarmhibhoy
22/04/2003, 5:27 PM
So youre a Glasgow Celtic fan for years and years and years? Funny, pats played in the champions league qualifyers in Glasgow about three years ago. Dont you remember that?
Where in my post did i say Celtic have never played these teams???
I said if you fans(i only used these as example could be any el team)come to Parkhead you will be welcome.
I am still fairly young and ive supported them over 12 years which is over half my life so thats what i mean by years maybe years to you is 30+but thats all relative.
Iarmhibhoy
22/04/2003, 5:45 PM
Oh ... thats right, change the subject cos you are losing miserably. That is just sad .... you come onto an eL messageboard, try to convince a few people that you know best, you realise you dont, wont admit it and then try and worm your way out of it, typical (or is this typical of Sell-Thick supporters ?? )
I never said i know best.
I never tried to convince you i know best.
I came on this board following a link from an el site a mate built.
I read all the anti Celtic stuff and was trying to find out why all the negativity.
I never came on to slag off the el and attack u for supporting it.
I dont for one second expect you or any other el supporter to agree with me.
I asked the Breen question out of genuine interest and because i presume many of people on these boards would know more about the el than me if they go every week.
How the hell can i lose a discussion???
I have barely had this discussion before but you lads seem to have your ARGUMENTS honed from years of preaching the truth my embattled boys.
The likes of you narrow minded muppets would turn me off going to el if i didnt know dare are decent supporters out dare.
Goodluck to the Town on Sat,was thinking bout goin to game anyway but definitely will now to see you lads beaten, the el should hire ye lads, 1000's would come out to see Cork beaten every week if ye are typical of City fans which i hope your not.maybe we could meet for a pint before the game and watch the premiership???;)
Niamh_GalwayGal
22/04/2003, 10:52 PM
Originally posted by pete
I continue to be confused by people wearing Glasgow Celtic jerseys at Ireland games. Can anyone explion it???????
they're green
Scotsman
23/04/2003, 6:48 PM
I posted a thread not too long ago about Celtic.
Obviously being a Scotsman I support the Hoops.
I've already spoken about the atmosphere at Celtic Park - Not everyone thinks their Irish that support Celtic.
I don't - I do love the Irish however and have nothing but respect for your Nation.
Come over and join us at Paradise - We''ll go for a drinking competition - Only kidden.
Celtic are a great team - Celtic does have great supporters and the reason for this is the mix of Scots and Irish.
Very similar in nature and I love being a Scotsman and a Celtic man.
I can understand wanting to support your League - Nothing wrong with that - Don't blame Celtic for that - Not their fault alot of Irish support them - Obviously Celtic is still marketed towards Irish as a very strong Irish connection.
This should never be broken and I like the fact that there is strong Irish connection.
Thanks
Isin't that lovely :rolleyes:
Now **** off!
23/04/2003, 7:15 PM
Originally posted by Scotsman
II can understand wanting to support your League
Understand ..... You should take it for granted.
Nothing wrong with that
You better believe it ladie.
Don't blame Celtic for that - Not their fault alot of Irish support them
We dont blame Celtic for that ..... we blame the Oirish that support them.
Obviously Celtic is still marketed towards Irish as a very strong Irish connection.
To the point where is can sometimes be embrassing that people cant actually see through it and are lead along like sheep. Tell them any auld yarn and they are off on the next boat. They claim it is the Oirish connection with Celtic, and this is actually not true, if they ahould be following a Scots/British club then it should be Hibs of Edinburgh, that is the club founded by Irish and have the Irish connection.
This should never be broken and I like the fact that there is strong Irish connection.
Thanks
Of course you like it, and so does the PLC that is Celtic. They are hardly going to turn all the support away now are they. But the fact remains Celtic Club not only dont deny it whne asked, they claim that there is all this history, and it is cobblers ......
That aside .... i dont give a toss about that ....... We really gets up my goat are people who claim to love the sport, and in the next sentence knock the Irish game.
Celtic fans, by and large are the worst for it and i wouldn't mind it so much if it were a great team they were supporting (you could understand that at least) like Real Madrid .... but Sell-Thick ...... that really ticks me off alright.
As far as i am concerned you can stick you're Sell-Thick park up your JAAXIE for all i care.
Iarmhibhoy
23/04/2003, 9:30 PM
To the point where is can sometimes be embrassing that people cant actually see through it and are lead along like sheep. Tell them any auld yarn and they are off on the next boat. They claim it is the Oirish connection with Celtic, and this is actually not true, if they ahould be following a Scots/British club then it should be Hibs of Edinburgh, that is the club founded by Irish and have the Irish connection.
Why do you think Hibs have more connection than Celtic??
Celtic are from west Scotland, traditionally home to most Irish immigrants.
Celtic were founded by an Irish man to raise money to feed irish people.
They are currently managed by an Irish man and have a no of Irish youth players as well as colin healy and neil lennon.
You use the Hibs thing cause this is a subject you know nothing about.
The Plc have actually been accused of playin down the Irish connection and have banned rebel songs and some supporters clubs named after Irish.
I'd say there are at least as many Celtic supporters who travel fom England, Wales, Norway,Sweden,Denmark,Germany,France, etc to Tic games as Irish, Explain that???
If you actually researched some of muck your talkin you'd see Celtic have S.C all over world and are up dare with the best supported teams in the world, so we stupid OIRISH(as u call us) are not the only ones taken in by the MAGIC:D
We really gets up my goat are people who claim to love the sport, and in the next sentence knock the Irish game.
Celtic fans, by and large are the worst for it
I could not disagree with you more,dunno bout Tic fans down dare but in the CSC i'm in i'd say 40 out of the 60 members go to all or most of local el games.
And personally from the very start i have not knocked the el in any way and i agree that no matter how could or bad it is it is the national league and should be supported.
Iarmhibhoy
23/04/2003, 9:41 PM
I was chattin to a mate over weekend whose an el supporter and with whom im goin to an el game at weekend.
He sold me the el in a totally positive way, he talked about how the standard is better since i last went, how the el is attracting back good young players from England, about the atmosphere and the craic and his total genuine enthusiasm for the game rubbed off on me and made wanna give it another go.
I think if some of you cork boys in particular talked about whats good with the el instead of attacking my reasons for supporting Celtic and telling me whats wrong with them and the league there in you would be doing the el a much better service.
Originally posted by Iarmhibhoy
we are not the only ones taken in by the MAGIC:D
At least you realise that you are being totally 'taken in' by this con of a football club.
You talk about 'the MAGIC', what magic would that be? the magic of Bobo Balde or Neil Lennon.:rolleyes: If you're going to support a foreign team you might aswell support one who truly are 'MAGIC', may I suggest Real Madrid or AC Milan.
Scotsman
24/04/2003, 11:02 AM
You lot are Anti-Celtic - Everyone's entitled to their opinion I suppose and I respect people's opinions.
You don't really know what you're talking about when it comes to Celtic FC or Scottish football for that matter.
As was said in previous posts Celtic Fc was started by an Irishman.
That's all in the past but why slate your fellow Irishman for supporting a team that has an Irish heritage as well as Scottish.
You need to get your facts right before letting your belly rumble!!
I think what you should do is let anyone in your Country who wants to support Celtic support them and concentrate on your own league.
I thought I would get a serious debate - How wrong was I!!!
As far the guy who said **** off - You're a lovely person eh!!!
How would it benefit me Celtic being Irish - I'm Scottish!!
Never claimed to be Irish and never will!
I think you guys need to get some and vinegar for the chips on your shoulder.
I was merely pointing out the good points of Celtic and some facts.
24/04/2003, 11:19 AM
The problem Scotsman is with people who support Celtic because of their Irish links but take no interest in their local, domestic teams and league. I watch out for Celtic results (as well as Hibs and Dundee United), my mum even got me a Celtic jersey for Christmas (she didn't know any better) that I wear out and about the odd time (usually if both my Limerick ones are being washed). I think that the level of personal abuse given out on this thread is stupid and pointless. I dunno who said that nobody here has a problem with Celtic but the amount of references to Sell-thick etc would suggest otherwise. Personally I have no problem with Celtic or Irish Celtic fans whose first priority is an Irish club. It's the people who support a Scottish club but not an Irish club and then claim to be doing it because of a deep-rooted patriotism that make me sick. I can't feel that Celtic are my team. I can't walk to Parkhead just for the hell of it any time I want to, I have no chance in hell of bumping into the manager in the street and stopping him to discuss the need for a new left-back, Glasgow, I'm sure, is a nice city but it's not my city and it's not my home. Limerick is my community and Limerick FC represent that community. Celtic don't represent Limerick and I don't expect them to. You seem a good sort of guy with a genuine interest in your local team. If you were from Dundee I think we'd probably see you at Tannadice and if you were an Edinburgher you'd probably be an Easter Road regular. That's showing pride on both a local and a national level and that is all we feel our league deserves.
24/04/2003, 1:48 PM
Sell-Thick Shmell-Thick ...... get over it.
I am not going to tolerate having this "Magic" that we are all hearing about poured down my throat.
not the only ones taken in by the MAGIC
Man ..... the magic is beating Bohs at home on a Tuesday night 3-2 .... that is Magic. There is no way in my right mind that i would go to Sell-Thick park for magic .... thats for sure.
That's all in the past but why slate your fellow Irishman for supporting a team that has an Irish heritage as well as Scottish
Slate my fellow Oirishmen ..... You are not hearing me properly ....
I DONT BELIEVE THAT CHIT
It is all cobblers ...... lies ....... not true.
I refuse to have a Scotsman (Thats if indeed you are actually a Scotsman) who says .....
"I think what you should do is let anyone in your Country who wants to support Celtic support them and concentrate on your own league. "
Tell me what is true or not ...............
You can fool some of the people some of the time, and they already support Sell-Thick. I think you should be content with that.
Again ........ I and most of my friends have minds of our own and see straight through you chit. You are now pushing the boat out, you and your "I thought I would get a serious debate - How wrong was I!!! "
You my friend can go and burst :rolleyes:
Iarmhibhoy
24/04/2003, 5:34 PM
This "Discussion" is just goin round in circles now.
Lads there are plenty of people supporting Celtic(and every other club) who think it makes them irish to chant ra songs and probably go to CP once every five years and in the meantime watch it on telly.
You seem to believe all tic supporters are the same and we all believe that Celtic are pure irish, we are not that naive but they have a recognised irish connection.
Celtic merchandising people are delighted to sell you green white and gold flags and cups
Dont sell tricolors in the store at the ground.
Every club makes a good slice of their income on mercandising.
but when it comes to actually playing Irish players they run a mile. That's hypocrisy. Liverpool, Leeds, Man Yoo, Arsenal, many English clubs have a much finer tradition of playing Irish players than Celtic
If you check this out youll see celtic generally have more irish boys on youth books than most clubs but for whatever reason they dont make it.
What about the likes of bonner,mccarthy brady, and players like given and healy who will move on.
Do you see tricolors flying, the IRISH national anthem and hear irish spoken at Highbury,Elland Rd. etc.
The whole point is that the TENS of thousands of IRISH fans who support Celtic and go togames are the IRISH CONNECTION.
About 5000 IRISH fans on avg. go to Celtic home games, that is the connection.
And its getting bigger, so live with it.
You Cork boys not comin on Sat den?????
Scotsman
24/04/2003, 5:35 PM
Listen my friend - I am indeed a Scotsman.
I'm sitting in an office just outside Glasgow at present.
I have a Scottish first and last name - I know my clan's history and got married in my clan tartan and had a piper.
Is that Scottish enough??
I don't want to force anyone to support Celtic.
Never have tried to - I understand certain parts of your arguement but Celtic is not to blame for this.
Celtic try to the best by everyone - People have a right to support who they want.
No matter how much you dislike it Celtic will always have a large support from Ireland.
I'm glad alot of Irsih fans support Celtic.
Celtic are huge club - Why does it matter about your domestic league, your International team does brilliantly??
Sell-Thick SCUM
anyone know where that old 56page thread has gone to from the depths of the old PROC board
:D a nice link to that would go down a treat right about now :)
Originally posted by Iarmhibhoy
If you check this out youll see celtic generally have more irish boys on youth books than most clubs but for whatever reason they dont make it.
Its not something to be proud of to have young kids going abroad to try and make a career. Most of them have a wretched time (and this isnt aimed at celtic but all non-irish clubs).
The LOI is trying to stop this now.
If we were sending over 16 year old boys to work in any other industry it would be stopped and rightly so.
When people are old enough then they should be transferred abroad (if they truly want to). But it should only be the very top players and a t very good transfer fees. We should be doing it the way the Dutch, Swedes, Norwegians etc do it.
BTW why dont you come to Turners Cross?
When Bohs Knocked Aberdeen out of the Uefa Cup , didnt that make you think? If even more people went or decide to go our results will continue to improve.
Scotsman
24/04/2003, 6:04 PM
C'Mon the Hoops tonight.
rovers scum aint playing tonight mate
Scotsman
24/04/2003, 6:39 PM
So what if the Spl is not of that great a quality - From what I have heard neither is your league.
Aberdeen, Dundee Utd, Rangers have all been sucessful in Europe.
Celtic were the 1st team in Britain to win the European Cup.
All Scotsmen in the Celtic squad.
A great achievement from a League that holds no interest.
England's League is obvioulsy better quality.
There's no denying that.
Spl is a 2 horse race - So is the Premiership.
We are trying to work on the quality of our game and hopefully improve our National team.
Scots know that the quality is lacking - We don't try to kid it's not.
We care about what Scots make of it - No-one else matters on a football front.
Our League still has a higher profile than the Irish League.
Think what you will of Celtic - Celtic could beat anyone on their game.
You talk about Celtic being a kidden on Irish club - not at all.
There is a strong Irsih link - We are also a Scottish Club.
The 2 mixed is superb - What do you care?
So to me anyone who's Irish and supports an English team are glory hunters!!
Our League still has a higher profile than the Irish League
Yes it does!! i agree
and so those our league (the League of Ireland).
BTW Scotsman why not come to Cork for a match?
Youre more than welcome.
24/04/2003, 8:09 PM
Sell-Thick top the poll !!
The club with the most conducted studies on the behaviour of fans in Western Europe.
Now laddie .... put dat in yer pipe an' smoke it a wee bit ;)
Yeah .... like anyone (Oirish or otherwise) would be real happy with that.
"Old Firm" laddie .... like it is something to be proud of, Dressed up Sectarian Violence and hatred (Try and deny it and your argument goes straight out the window).
The 2 mixed is superb
They sure do my friend .... they sure do
So to me anyone who's Irish and supports an English team are glory hunters!!
And all the time i thought you didn't care.
For the record, i dont mind people supporting British clubs, but not over their own domestic clubs.
Very tempted to lock this thread as it is getting very boring indeed.
However, now that i think of it, im going to merge it with the other Celtic thread.
Oh, and calm down lads. I agree with whats being said by the non Celtic people, but i think points are being missed by ppl all round.
G
Originally posted by GWA
Very tempted to lock this thread as it is getting very boring indeed.
I think it's getting interesting. However, we're not going to be able to convince those stupid Scots of anything!:D
25/04/2003, 9:43 AM
Originally posted by Colm
I think it's getting interesting. However, we're not going to be able to convince those stupid Scots of anything!:D
I know .... but what can we do, we cant just give up on them. They are already Godforsaken as it is, poor b@stards :(
eoinh
25/04/2003, 10:59 AM
Originally posted by Conor74
I was in no way trying to knock the Scottish Leagues for their quality. Scotland is a country of some 5/6 million I believe. It is only natural that you would have a slightly better quality than us -
Conor, Scotland is a country of 5 million. The Rep. of Ireland has just under 4 million if you include Derry. Whats more interesting though is the age structure of the two countries and the amount of youngsters who play football in both countries. Ireland has higher figures in these two cases. All things being equal we should be better than the scots at football. Its one of the reasons that Scotland has such a poor national team for instance.
I reckon too if you factor in the fact that Ireland is a richer country we should do better. When will the Irish Celtics and the bar stool brigade learn this.
Scotsman
25/04/2003, 5:17 PM
What's with the stupid Scots patter??
Convince me of what - That Celtic are a great club.
I already know that.
You're the one acting stupid!!
You have a pure attitude problem and you try and belittle people.
Do I care that you hate Celtic - NO.
I have been trying to let you see that Celtic are not what you think - But you are not willing to open your shallow liitle mind.
You''re too obsessed with your own situation that your not open to anything else.
As for bigotry - Yep it does exist - No-one denies it.
What about Ireland is there NO bigotry there??
Well there you go - Celtic and Rangers are trying to do away with the bigory thing and I am in a mixed religion marriage myself.
Rest my case - As for stupid Scots - Do you want me to start where the Scots have achieved - Telephone, Tv, to name but a few.
If you've never been to Scotland, Glasgow and an Old Firm game then you should stop commenting on something you know nothing of.
I know from talking to a few on this forum that there are some decent peole on here, but you are just down right ignorant and unconstructive.
The last thing I wanted was an arguement - I can stay with the wife for that - But your derogative comments bring out the worst in people.
If you seriously want to talk football then I'm your man
Cheers:cool:
25/04/2003, 5:27 PM
Are you gone yet ??
Iarmhibhoy
25/04/2003, 5:28 PM
For the record, i dont mind people supporting British clubs, but not over their own domestic clubs.
I have said repeatedly that i support Celtic but will also go to el games and you still attack me so thats crap.
Lads the whole bigotry thing is true but if you go to games like feyenoord-ajax,lazio-roma,real-barca youll see as bad so its not just a celtic problem.
I wonder if Cork played Linfield would the Cork lads throw a bit of sectarian abuse around??
The club with the most conducted studies on the behaviour of fans in Western Europe.
Could this be that they realise they have aproblem and are trying to address that.
It has improved in recent years and it is def a minority thing to chant the sectarian stuff,95% is the Fields of athenry, YNWA and the likes of the Celtic song.
Anyway lads its been fun,im off now to book my flights to Sevilla.
Ill be dare with a bout 30,000 other Celts to see Lambo lift the cup.
Adios Amigos.
25/04/2003, 5:36 PM
Yeah .... see ya .... have a nice life .... NOT
If you seriously want to talk football then I'm your man
i have no problem with you scotsman. youre a scot after all and you should support a scottish team. i have a problem with Iarmhibhoy though as he should know better.
Scotsman
25/04/2003, 5:51 PM
Is that an ugly, unintelligent, unconstructive, bitter face??
Like your Gaelic quotes right enough.
I only know one being a lowlander - Alba Gu Brath.
You want to get rid of some of your anger - You'll just give yourself a hernia!!
Where did you get your facts on the youth development on Scottish youth and Ireland being richer??
Are you referring to the Rep or the whole of Ireland??:rolleyes:
EireBadBoy
26/04/2003, 1:21 AM
Originally posted by Conor74
Derry?
Derry?
Oh, you mean "LONDONderry"...
;) :D
Watch it.............;)
applehunter
29/04/2003, 7:13 PM
I(Y) have a friend(X) who supports Celtic, and I was asked him the following questions.
Y. Do you support Celtic?
X. Yeah, obviously I'm wearing the jersey amn't I
Y. Why not support Glasgow Rangers?
X. Because they are Protestant *******s!
Y. Why, Are you Catholic?
X. Yes
Y. Do you go to Mass?
X. No
There you have it. He supports Celtic because of his religion and yet he doesn't even practice his own religion.
Scotsman
30/04/2003, 6:31 PM
So are you judging everyone on that basis??
applehunter
30/04/2003, 8:51 PM
At the ireland match tonight every time Flo got the ball he was booed. I think thats wrong and anybody who was boeing is a sad bigot.
30/04/2003, 9:28 PM
cudnt agree more .
i dont claim to speak for every1 and i apologise if this point has been made before but i think the main gripe eL fans have with the irish celtic fans the notion these fans have that somehow they are expressing their irishness by supporting celtic which is absurd really. for example that truly nauseating for club and country t shirt or wearing a celtic shirt to an ireland game.
yur man
30/04/2003, 10:07 PM
booin rangers players is very saaaad
i wish they 'fans' wud grow up. its not funny, harmless banter, its bigotry
UCD_4_Life
30/04/2003, 10:10 PM
Someone told me today that Celtic were "the only real Irish team". Which made we want to vomit.
I told him where to go and asked why he didn't go to eL games but got the "Why? it's all $hite" crap. :rolleyes:
UCD_4_Life
30/04/2003, 10:11 PM
Oh and he then accused me of being a Rangers fan...
Niamh_GalwayGal
30/04/2003, 10:41 PM
Originally posted by gustavo
cudnt agree more .
wearing a celtic shirt to an ireland game.
personally it's a matter of colour - it's green and has a shamrock on it, duh, I'd just as soon wear a Panathinikos shirt. It looks much better if we're all decked out in green up there instead of a multi coloured mix of irish, englis club shirts. Remeber the 2001 Holland game, it looked fantastic, really united. And personally I dislike (o im so posh) Rangers because of their attitude - waaaaaaaaay more bigoted than those of the majority of Celtic fans, i'm sure you all know that. Singing the Fields or YNWA is hardly as sectarian as a song about jumping on a Celtic fan's head
Those muppets were also booing Carew ( I think). Is this because he once look at a guy whose father went to apub where the landlords daughter was going out with a fella who once touched a guy whose great grand son went to a Rangers match ONCE.
How very juvenile. What a pack of Morons. I actually feel sorry for those real Celtic fans who hail from Glasgow, coz us Irish Celtic "fans" are an embarrasment to any team.
Muppets OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by Niamh_GalwayGal
personally it's a matter of colour - it's green and has a shamrock on it, duh, I'd just as soon wear a Panathinikos shirt. It looks much better if we're all decked out in green up there instead of a multi coloured mix of irish, englis club shirts. Remeber the 2001 Holland game, it looked fantastic, really united. And personally I dislike (o im so posh) Rangers because of their attitude - waaaaaaaaay more bigoted than those of the majority of Celtic fans, i'm sure you all know that. Singing the Fields or YNWA is hardly as sectarian as a song about jumping on a Celtic fan's head
Oh my God, unless im completely missing the point, this lady here has just typified every "Irish" Celtic "supporting" fan there is.
Congrats.
01/05/2003, 12:39 AM
Originally posted by Neil
:D :D :D
Sell-Thick Scum!
Yeah ... Sell-thick parq is a wee bonnie place alright ....... On of the great British clubs, Oirish fans all over the world. Blah blah .... fcukin' blah fcukin' blah blah blah .....
Will you ever change the feicin' record like .......
Bigotry ... of the highest order. Flo got a doing off the scum of football tonight and anyone that tries to defend it open admit that they themselves are scum ....
Scotsman
01/05/2003, 12:08 PM
Celtic Scum
Very constructive pal.
What do you know about Glasgow Celtic??
Nothing I presume.
Get a life
I don't care who irish people support even if Glasgow Celtic. On the other hand supporting them cos they oirish, wearing your hooped jersey to Ireland & generally following them cos "they more bigoted than us" is really sad.
Follow the scottish Celtic is you want but please the stop the "oirish club" thing. Even if you can't stop believing they an irish team leave you club bigotry behind when at an irish game.
Scotsman
01/05/2003, 1:05 PM
I don't think their Irish.
I know they have an Irish heritage but I refer to them as Scottish.
After all they are based in Parkhead in Glasgow.
Stop giving the Irish Celtic fans a hard time.
Fúck the WestBrit bartsards
I have no problem with booing players, hell we've all done it at some point. However, what I object to is why he was booed. It is sheer bigotry. Basically the fools were booing him because he used to play for a football club that is based in a foreign country, it's ridiculous.
I felt embarrassed when Niall Quinn was trying to explain why they were jeering Flo on Sky Sports last night, these idiots portray Irish people as being thick ignorant idiots. Remember last year when they were booing the wrong fella, these Oirish Celtic fans know hate Rangers so much that they couldnt even tell the difference between the Rangers player and another player, shows how little they really know. Celtic bigots!
Celtic are Scottish and have nothing to do with the Irish national team, some people seem a bit confused though!
Give us 3 reasons why.
Ill give 3 reason why they should get a hard time
1. They are bigots.
2. They no very little about football.
3. they are supporting a team because they are supposed to, not because they particularly want to.