View Full Version : Celtic Discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18

Hibs4Ever
10/01/2005, 9:59 AM
I choose to forget the last all green final :D

RebelBhoy
10/01/2005, 7:37 PM
Let Celtic have that tin pot this season. The rangers are taking back whats rightfully theirs - the league championship.

The future is bright, the future is orange!

:rolleyes: Arite Garry "Billy Boy". Love to see you don a sash a see the reaction on Pana(or anywhere else). Will you have a few pints with the Linfield lads. There very nioce people! :D If only you knew what the future would be like if the future was indeed "orange"... :eek:

Ps Celtic park was rockin on Sunday. Was in North Stand, upper tier. Cant describe the feeling for YNWA and The soldiers song. Hail! Hail! :)

sylvo
10/01/2005, 10:19 PM
Let Celtic have that tin pot this season. The rangers are taking back whats rightfully theirs - the league championship.

I love it, you must have been watching their World class performance yesterday very hard.

One thing they will get this season is 10p off the tooth fairy.
Well done Aiden. :D

Hibs4Ever
11/01/2005, 7:18 AM

Ps Celtic park was rockin on Sunday. Was in North Stand, upper tier. Cant describe the feeling for YNWA and The soldiers song. Hail! Hail! :)

You'll never walk alone. Is that not the song of a protestant football team :rolleyes:

11/01/2005, 7:27 AM
I love it, you must have been watching their World class performance yesterday very hard.

One thing they will get this season is 10p off the tooth fairy.
Well done Aiden. :D

Just check this link as evidence. Quality. :D That'll teach the mouthy ****.

http://69.93.29.242/hb/showthread.php?t=62759

:D PP

sylvo
11/01/2005, 9:05 AM

I thought he was play acting at first from where I was in the ground, but when I was told after that he had a tooth knocked out, I started to feel really bad. ;) :D

sylvo
11/01/2005, 9:06 AM
You'll never walk alone. Is that not the song of a protestant football team :rolleyes:

Your the only one bringing up the word Religon son, nobody else.

sylvo
11/01/2005, 9:10 AM

Not forgetting The Stone Roses ''She bangs the drums'' being played after the match.

Stayed on a while so I could listen to the whole of it, plus smile at the South East corner as it was emptying. :D

eoinh
11/01/2005, 9:22 AM

Says something about their mentality when they take childish delight in someone suffering an injury. How old are those guys? Ten , eleven....

Ok, The kornikova picture was good. :)

Hibs4Ever
11/01/2005, 9:35 AM
Your the only one bringing up the word Religon son, nobody else.

So the Soldiers Song being sang at a foreign football match that is good because............... :rolleyes:

11/01/2005, 10:35 AM
Says something about their mentality when they take childish delight in someone suffering an injury. How old are those guys? Ten , eleven....

:o Guilty as charged. Something of the playground about it, admittedly, but there you go.

One-all. :D

green goblin
11/01/2005, 10:59 AM
So you missed All the points in many previous threads',as to why many Irish people,inc.the Diaspora have adopted Celtic as an Irish cultural institution,a tradition the club itself are happy to continue.
Read 'Celtic Minded' by Prof.Bradley......he'll spell it out for you! ;)

My Dad gave me a copy for Christmas. About halfway though it at the moment. Well worth a read. :)

11/01/2005, 11:00 AM
Out of interest, why is the same word pronounced differently

ie

Celtic Cross

And

Celtic FC

lopez
11/01/2005, 11:02 AM
So the Soldiers Song being sang at a foreign football match that is good because............... :rolleyes:What's your point? You bang on about the so-called religious affiliation of Liverpool FC then wonder why the SS is sung at a club that is both Irish founded and Irish (in both local ethnicity and throughout Ireland itself) supported. Are you still at junior school or just a bit slow?

Hibs4Ever
11/01/2005, 11:10 AM
Glasgow Celtic are a SCOTTISH football club. NOT Irish. THAT is my point. Why don't you's sing the Irish national anthem when celtic play Inverness, or Kilmarnock. Why only against Ranger's?????

eoinh
11/01/2005, 11:18 AM
Out of interest, why is the same word pronounced differently

ie

Celtic Cross

And

Celtic FC

Because Irish is prounced with c as as a hard "c". The greeks referred to us as Kelts.

The British Celtic languages have different influences. Their "c" are always soft. I think welsh and scottish use soft "c"'s so they would call call their team Glasgow Selltick.

If you were saying Cork Celtic you should really pronounce it as Cork Keltic

lopez
11/01/2005, 11:22 AM
Glasgow Celtic are a SCOTTISH football club. NOT Irish. THAT is my point.Silly me! You're sooooo right. Bet you also think a dog born in a stable is a horse too. :D ;)

Why don't you's sing the Irish national anthem when celtic play Inverness, or Kilmarnock. Why only against Ranger's?????The only Celtic games I've been to have NOT included Rangers. The SS (albeit with references to the Pope and the line with land beyond the 'sea' instead of 'wave') has always been sung at all these games. Don't know if these days it's kept to the Old Firm, though.

If loads of scots had settled in boston the team would no doubt be pronounced Boston Selltic. As it was Irish people who settled there its known by its "Irish" pronounced way Boston KelticAren't they also called the Boston 'Sell-tiks'?

eoinh
11/01/2005, 11:26 AM
Aren't they also called the Boston 'Sell-tiks'?

Yes, youre right! I had edited my post before i read yours

sylvo
11/01/2005, 11:33 AM

To right I take great delight in seeing a thug who's already smacked Aiden in the back of the head with an elbow, come unstuck while trying to put the lad up in the air.

Shame Aiden did'nt take the head off his f**king shoulders. Anyway nothing to do with the old firm my feelings on this ;) , I just don't like seeing a young Irish player being pushed around, and am glad he was able to stand up for himself. ;) :D

sylvo
11/01/2005, 11:47 AM
So the Soldiers Song being sang at a foreign football match that is good because............... :rolleyes:

You were the one who was going on about foreign football clubs being Portestant or whatever, the Irish national anthem gets played before GAA matches over here in this country or at the end of the night in Irish centers or pub's.
Whats your point about it. :confused:

Hibs4Ever
11/01/2005, 11:51 AM
Typical celtic fans. :rolleyes:

I'll just leave you's to it :D

Come on the HIBEE'S :D :D :D

lopez
11/01/2005, 4:16 PM
Typical celtic fans. :rolleyes:

I'll just leave you's to it :D

Come on the HIBEE'S :D :DAw come on! Is it not that your argument has been snookered? Liverpool, Protestant. Must tell the Catholic Liverpool supporters I've known along the years about that one. The soldiers song being played in a 'foreign' club. The National, Galtymore and Gresham (plus hundreds of pubs I went to in the eighties) must have failed to read the script too. BTW, don't the Hibees' fans sing the SS in their matches with Rangers and Hearts? Or is it 'A Nation Once Again'? :rolleyes:

Yes, youre right! I had edited my post before i read yoursNo probs Eoin. Had this argument before. In English it's generally accepted that a 'c' before an 'e' has an 's' sound. But then in English, rules are there to be broken I suppose.

nlgbbbblth
11/01/2005, 6:29 PM
Not forgetting The Stone Roses ''She bangs the drums'' being played after the match.

Stayed on a while so I could listen to the whole of it, plus smile at the South East corner as it was emptying. :D

The Stone Roses are from Manchester, England.
I know some Celtic fans who would have a problem with that :rolleyes:

11/01/2005, 7:41 PM

Oh ffs, what tedious drivel. :rolleyes: yourself.

:ball: PP

lopez
11/01/2005, 11:13 PM
I know some Celtic fans who would have a problem with that :rolleyes:I've known some some REAL 'Irish' people who have a problem with me, Sylvo and PP coming from England. Your point?

sylvo
11/01/2005, 11:30 PM

AHHH yoooou know it, yoooou show it, now the time has come to shoot you down, what a sound.

That has got to be my favourite post giving out about Celtic fans on this thread, we've had all the giving out about the booing craic, the craic about people calling them an Irish club, the chucky'oke that happens from time to time, the fact's about the bandwaggon jumpers and people not following their local team but now Celtic fans are being accused of having a problem with proberly one of the greatest bands ever just because of where they come from.
Son I reckon you've been taking those magic disco smarties and are now on the come down, you want to stay away from that stuff kid.
But i'm going to have to use that as my signature. :D Son you've made my day with that post.
If only i'd known about them coming from some English city when I went to see them at Alexandra Palace in 89, I want my money back, to think I even told people that I liked some of the songs off The second Coming album.
I feel so angry now. Don't tell me anything about where Echo and the Bunnymen came from, if I found out that they came from some city in England the hurt would be too much to take. :rolleyes:

Hibs4Ever
12/01/2005, 7:17 AM
Sorry Lopez, we don't sing SS or A Nation..... at Easter Road for ANY matches. Why the hell would we????????

Hibs4Ever
12/01/2005, 7:54 AM
Don't know who your friends are, but they're VERY wrong. I've been season ticket holder at easter road for past 5 years. These songs are NOT sang at Hibs matches. So stop coming on here with your bull sh*t :mad:

Hibs4Ever
12/01/2005, 8:42 AM
They must have mis-heard then :rolleyes: ............I stand corrected ;)

No problem ;)

See you's in the SFA Cup Final. :D

Aldini98
12/01/2005, 10:32 AM
Celtic play in SCOTLAND, they're SCOTTISH.

Also, wish they'd stop singing "You'll Never Walk Alone" , its a Liverpool Supporters song. :p

liam88
12/01/2005, 10:45 AM

Also, wish they'd stop singing "You'll Never Walk Alone" , its a Liverpool Supporters song. :p

Wow-two brand spanking new arguments there! Fresh out the box and only used 999999999999999999999 time before :D :D welll done!

You'll never walk alone!........unless you're Alex Rae's tooth :D :D

liam88
12/01/2005, 10:46 AM

What a bizzare post :rolleyes:
Will you be autograph hunting in Bolton this weekend? :eek: :rolleyes:

lopez
12/01/2005, 10:54 AM
Don't know who your friends are, but they're VERY wrong. I've been season ticket holder at easter road for past 5 years. These songs are NOT sang at Hibs matches. So stop coming on here with your bull sh*t :mad:Well maybe Hibs have managed to sanitise their Irish connections just in time for you to make an appearance but it's not what I saw in the eighties whenever they made a brief spot on the box. Matches with Hearts and Rangers seemed just as much a Chucky Oke as Celtic's. Tricolours and the old IPP 'party' flag (the one with the Harp on it with 'Erin Go Bragh' underneath) were much in evidence.

As for coming on here with bull sh*t? LOL, why not take some of your own advice? :p

liam88
12/01/2005, 11:13 AM
Is this longer than Longford's back four yet? :D

sylvo
12/01/2005, 11:19 AM

It's a song from a musical first and foremost.

Pat O' Banton
12/01/2005, 12:36 PM

I've just had a revelation, I live in Ingerland so I must be Ingerlish :rolleyes:

12/01/2005, 12:40 PM
Is this longer than Longford's back four yet? :D

strictly speaking yes.....but i think this might have a couple of merged threads because of the various flame :rolleyes: wars through the years :)

Hibs4Ever
12/01/2005, 12:42 PM
I've just had a revelation, I live in Ingerland so I must be Ingerlish :rolleyes:
Stupid thing to say really???

When Celtic play in Europe they are representing SCOTLAND
If they'd won UEFA cup a couple of years ago, it would have been a SCOTTISH club winning it.

Pat O' Banton
12/01/2005, 1:32 PM
Stupid thing to say really???

Not really you are judging the club without taking into account their background. So for example would you say that London Irish, are simply representing Ingerland when they play in Europe? Is there no reason for Irish people to support them from an Irish perspective? To parapharse from another thread are we saying that people, football clubs or a miriad if other institutions exist in isolation without a history or an identity and does this history and identity not shape the person or institution? Or are you saying that as soon as people leave Ireland and set up institutions to represent or look after Irish people they still have no right to claim any sort of Irish identity?

lopez
12/01/2005, 1:59 PM
Not really you are judging the club without taking into account their background. So for example would you say that London Irish, are simply representing Ingerland when they play in Europe?I was a youth player at London Irish between 1983-5 and they wouldn't accept members unless they were Irish, Irish parents/granparents, or played for an IRFU club. Lots of 'planters' there though, Dav. ;)

I went back in 1995 to do a project for Uni and spoke to (an English) Director of Marketing. He told me they were debating about getting rid of the rule. Even he couldn't join the club although was employed by it. Now they've got England internationals playing for them.

sylvo
12/01/2005, 2:01 PM
Not really you are judging the club without taking into account their background. So for example would you say that London Irish, are simply representing Ingerland when they play in Europe? Is there no reason for Irish people to support them from an Irish perspective? To parapharse from another thread are we saying that people, football clubs or a miriad if other institutions exist in isolation without a history or an identity and does this history and identity not shape the person or institution? Or are you saying that as soon as people leave Ireland and set up institutions to represent or look after Irish people they still have no right to claim any sort of Irish identity?

London Irish rugby club's fans also sing the Irish national anthem as well as getting stuck into a right ould chucky-oke in stadiums abroad, which seems to be a problem for some on here Pat when its done by fans of a certain football club.

Even been to London Irish games where the team has run on to the pitch to the tune of ''Sean South of Garryown'' and ''the Boys of the old brigade''.
(Those flipping bigoted rich city working, stockbroker belt living, building company owning, golf playing, tory voting Republicans) ;)

lopez
12/01/2005, 6:06 PM
Yeah,met a Grand Master of the Or*nge Lodge,playing for their OB's team in Budapest in '97?Wasn't a happy bunny,esp.after we took a picture with a huge tricolour behind him....... ;)I can honestly say that after a diet of WT concerts at the National and one drunken night trying to tip over mister Metropoleeetan poleeesman's metro at the Galty, this sort of Irishman was a bit of a shock to the system. :eek:

London Irish rugby club's fans also sing the Irish national anthem as well as getting stuck into a right ould chucky-oke in stadiums abroad, which seems to be a problem for some on here Pat when its done by fans of a certain football club.

Even been to London Irish games where the team has run on to the pitch to the tune of ''Sean South of Garryown'' and ''the Boys of the old brigade''.
(Those flipping bigoted rich city working, stockbroker belt living, building company owning, golf playing, tory voting Republicans) ;)The Powergen Cup final was a classic example of this disgusting behaviour. Loads of English people and 'barstoolers' waving tricolours. Why? I didn't see one Butchers' apron, sorry, Union Jack or SGF with 'London Irish' on it.There were even some coming over from Ireland. Don't they know this sort of thing is killing the local game. Lots of 'Fields' aswell. What's the matter lads. Don't you know that's a Provo song? :mad:

AmenToThat
13/01/2005, 1:32 AM
Don't know who your friends are, but they're VERY wrong. I've been season ticket holder at easter road for past 5 years. These songs are NOT sang at Hibs matches. So stop coming on here with your bull sh*t :mad:

Wasnt there a campaign last season to ban all national and regional flags at Easter Road (meaning Irish flags but it would have been considered racist to say so publically) because tricolours were being waved by a section of the Hibs fans when the were playing the Mini Huns who were bringing Red Hand and Union flags to the derby games.

liam88
17/01/2005, 7:32 AM
For all the 'wannabe H*ns' who come on.....try here (http://www.rangersfansvcelticfans.com)

Good craic that site-specially the phycobable.....will see me on there as liam_1916 though haven't posted for a while...... :D

18/01/2005, 11:06 AM
Another trialie for the Celts:
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=250462

liam88
21/01/2005, 9:22 AM
Another trialie for the Celts:
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=250462

Signed a couple of young Icelandic lads to who should make first team appearances by the end of the season :D looking good......

Dav re. oldfirmfans.com try looging on during a certain summer month....very rare to find talk of football among the 'banter' :D
Are a few twisted sicko's on there specially since they took away the 'no Sunday jokes' rule.....still good to see the eejit who asked if he could make fun of the Ibrox disaster get shouted down by both sides;
right back to geography work.........

21/01/2005, 1:29 PM
Signed a couple of young Icelandic lads to who should make first team appearances by the end of the season :D looking good.....

Given that a couple of young Icelandic lads probably aren't that great really I'd dispute that point Liam. Sure, they could turn out to be the next Pele and Maradona but I'd be sceptical and to be honest if this pair are on course for a fast track to the first team then it says more about the dearth of real talent in the current Celtic squad than anything else.

Personally I've lost interest in Celtic in the last year or 18 months because the majority (not all I stress) of their Irish support are muppets of the highest order. In fact they turned me off the club so much that I now watch out for Dundee United instead! :) I mean, I just can't affiliate myself with these people who so slavishly believe the notion that passionate support of a Scottish club (and again I know they were established to help Scottish-based Irish) is an expression of Irishness. And while I come from quite a republican background and would still have sympathies in that direction I find the sectarion bile a bit off-putting too.

I've met some great Irish Celtic fans. Seriously top class people. But I would honestly say that the average Irish Celtic fan talks more crap than the average Irish Arsenal fan. Or Liverpool fan. Man Yoo fans are a whole other story! :p

Junior
21/01/2005, 2:40 PM
Signed a couple of young Icelandic lads to who should make first team appearances by the end of the season :D looking good......

Dav re. oldfirmfans.com try looging on during a certain summer month....very rare to find talk of football among the 'banter' :D
Are a few twisted sicko's on there specially since they took away the 'no Sunday jokes' rule.....still good to see the eejit who asked if he could make fun of the Ibrox disaster get shouted down by both sides;
right back to geography work.........

Got this from the huddleboard.com

The two of them are pencilled in to play against Kilmarnock for the Youth team at the weekend. The match is kicking off at half past 10 in the morning at Barrowfield if anyone fancies going up to Celtic Park early and catching this match and a couple of hours in the pub before the first team game

Plenty of other lads ahead of them that might get a look in towards the end of the season depending on how the title chase is progressing. Rocco Quinn, Maloney & Beattie (if they are back), Ross Wallace etc....

http://69.93.29.242/hb/showthread.php?t=64568

some clips of them within the above thread for those interested.

21/01/2005, 3:31 PM
It seems Bjarnason was only signed to keep Finnbogason company. :) They both look a bit old fashioned. ;)

21/01/2005, 3:45 PM
Anyone remember Johannes Evaldson, an Icelandic Celt, from the 70s? In fact, I think there might have been two Icelandics there at the time.