View Full Version : Celtic Discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18

10/05/2004, 4:59 PM
Know your history,muppet!

What do the muppets have to do with Tim? What does history have to do with Tim?

Let me connect all the dots now..... I have it, Tim must be a muppet Celtic fan who studies History.

Instead of slagging yer own

We're not slagging our own at all, we just feel sorry for all the sad pathetic Scottish people who want to be Irish and all the sad pathetic Irish people who want to be Scottish. It's not that hard to figure out really.... unless you're a brainless Celtic fan.

Declan_Michael
10/05/2004, 5:25 PM
What's with the Scottish lingo? identity crisis methinks. :rolleyes:

Beavis
10/05/2004, 5:52 PM
Slightly disappointed with the atmosphere at Celtic Park
Think it was probably due to the fact that the game meant nothing...I've been there when the championship was wide open and when it had been already decided and there was a big difference.

liam88
10/05/2004, 6:16 PM
We're not slagging our own at all, we just feel sorry for all the sad pathetic Scottish people who want to be Irish and all the sad pathetic Irish people who want to be Scottish. It's not that hard to figure out really.... unless you're a brainless Celtic fan.

-If Scottish people want to honour their Irish roots, fair play to them
-I do not want to be Scottish I am proud to be Irish
-Luck none of Celtic fans on here are brainless then ;)

I rest my case !!
we've had people use speeling errors to rubbish other peoples views on this board before-ain't good practice my friend :rolleyes:

(yea the "speeling" is being ironic)

End of the day no ones shifting on their views on Celtic but those Celtic faithful can part because we've just completed the Greenwash and have set up the perfect end to our season short of winning the UEFA cup next season :D
HAIL! HAIL!

10/05/2004, 6:29 PM
we've just completed the Greenwash and have set up the perfect end to our season short of winning the UEFA cup next season

I doubt Cobh have much chance of winning the UEFA cup to be honest.
You are a Cobh fan aren't you??

liam88
10/05/2004, 6:43 PM
I am indeed :D (and mabye one day....)
I support Celtic as well but in Rambs vs Celtic it would be Rambs, again mabye one day ;)

liam88
10/05/2004, 6:45 PM
We'll concentrate on FAI cup and Div 1 first :D
I was to young to remember the last Rambs Celtic game :(
Saw a programme on ebay the other day but I don't have an acount-argh :mad:

shugk1
10/05/2004, 6:46 PM
To WEAREROVERS, spot on the atmosphere was no where near as good as it usually is, I think we'll put that down to the fact we where scared if they drew or won, they would takr some hope into next season. But they did'nt, so get it up them. Oh and CONOR74, we knocked rangers out of the Scottish cup in March.

sylvo
10/05/2004, 7:31 PM
Shug what was the craic with the away fan's chucking beach ball's onto the pitch, was this some form of wind up because of Celtic being beaten by Villareal. Cause if it was as they say plagerism is the ultimate form of flattery.
Anyway these Celtic thread's are great they never change, alway's end in a kick off. :D

shugk1
10/05/2004, 7:49 PM
Yes it was because we got beat with VillaReal but did'nt think it was that funny. Throwing the potatos onto the pitch was mildly amusing, but would'nt fancy getting cracked on the head with one.

lopez
10/05/2004, 10:07 PM
We're not slagging our own at all, we just feel sorry for all the sad pathetic Scottish people who want to be Irish and all the sad pathetic Irish people who want to be Scottish. It's not that hard to figure out really.... unless you're a brainless Celtic fan. :D :D :D :D Yet another fine example of the education system of the Republic. History lessons consisting of Henry VIII and Martin Luther King. Emigration, sir? Wash your f*cking dirty mouth out you little c*nt!. Still where ignorance is bliss, it's f*cking stoopid to try and change the mindset. Rubbish bin a coming no doubt. Shame you couldn't put Colm's brain in it as well (add Carstein's and a couple of other doughnuts excuse for the function box). :rolleyes:

10/05/2004, 10:26 PM
[B]What do the muppets have to do with Tim? What does history have to do with Tim?

Let me connect all the dots now..... I have it, Tim must be a muppet Celtic fan who studies History.

Excellent retort my friend, simple excellent .... and only because it is true !! :)

[B]we've had people use speeling errors to rubbish other peoples views on this board before-ain't good practice my friend [B]

Can this be true .... do you actually deny you were trying to mimic you Scottish/Iorish/Mongrel brethren ?? This aint good practice for any self respecting TIM

[B]To WEAREROVERS, spot on the atmosphere was no where near as good as it usually is

Yeah spot on WAR .... it was no where near as good asd it usually is !! .... you sad sad man. Oh yeah its normally a paradise beyond you're wildest dreams ... WAR didn't you pick the short straw. I bet you are crippled with bitterness that you picked the wrong game.

shugk1 .... come off the stage ... did you just register to join in this thread. YOU muppet.

You lot beat all i'm telling yeah.

And for the record .... RANGERS hold the best record and you all know it so just give it over.

shugk1
10/05/2004, 10:35 PM
What's the problem with you Cork men

11/05/2004, 12:29 AM
What's the problem with you Cork men

We support Cork City and our National League and the Irish team, while we might look at football from further a field, we dont hang our our league up with our coats. We take pride in out team.

While i enjoy British football .... i wont have it rammed down my throat. I can read between the lines and wont believe any old crock of shíte that you or any other muppet would have me believe.

If i wanted to support a successful Scottish team, then i'd pick Rangers ... they hold the whitewash record apparantly :D

11/05/2004, 6:57 AM
PS.Didn't CC try to mimic the green white & black colour scheme,the other year.....to try to come up with a decent shirt for once?
Instead of slagging yer own....do a Realistic poll on the Lee...& find out how many local fans follow the Tims....not to the detriment of your local team/idol for once.....?!

City have never worn Green, white and Black Dav. The CCFC colours have always been green, white and red (it varied which colour took prominence at which particular time). We've never ever wore Hoops though, nothing to do with Celtic though, more to do with Rovers wearing those colours.

There isn't a single doubt in my mind that there are huge numbers of Celtic fans in Cork, as there are throughout Ireland. We saw thousands of them in Cork when City played Celtic, unfortunately for CCFC, few of them showed up for our European home fixture that same week.

I've got no problem with Celtic, or people who choose to support them, while I'm not an avid fan, I'd know the players, i keep an eye on the results, cheered them on loudly on occasion etc.. I don't have a problem with anybody who posts here and supports them as it was probably an interest in the EL or National team that led them to this site, so I'll have a lot in common with them.

What I, and most people who express a dislike for Celtic cannot abide however, is the type of Celtic fan we'll run into at a bar, or around the city while wearing a CCFC ashirt, who's average outpouring is
"what do you watch that sh!te for"
when referring to the EL, and then go on to tell us that,
"How can you call yourself Irish, if you DON'T support Celtic".
It's in dealing with this that the 'anti' sentiments build.

Much as i like Celtic, I probably find it easier to see where this feeling comes from as I've witnessed the type first hand.

Also if there is such an aversion to influence of Irish- Scots football in Corcaigh....why did you have two teams.....Cork Celtic & Cork Hibernians?!Good choice of names!
Imitation,indeed the highest form of flattery.....

I thought Celtic and Hibernian had their roots in Ireland, and therefore would have been natural choices for an Irish team, must be that pesky education system confusing me again, eh Lopez?

shugk1
11/05/2004, 7:17 AM
We support Cork City and our National League and the Irish team, while we might look at football from further a field, we dont hang our our league up with our coats. We take pride in out team.

While i enjoy British football .... i wont have it rammed down my throat. I can read between the lines and wont believe any old crock of shíte that you or any other muppet would have me believe.

If i wanted to support a successful Scottish team, then i'd pick Rangers ... they hold the whitewash record apparantly :D
Totally agree with your first paragraph,but what's a muppet, I take it is certain kind of Celtic fan from your country and not all Celtic fans. And what is it I'm trying to make you believe, oh and another thing I'm sure you'd be welcome at ibrox with open arms

11/05/2004, 8:06 AM

Have you even the slightest idea how much contempt Irish people are held in by the Ibrox faithful? Didn't think so, otherwise you wouldn't come out with **** like this. Save the wind-up crap for something you understand.

Like I said before - "a face"? An arse, more like...

:mad: PP

lopez
11/05/2004, 8:27 AM
I thought Celtic and Hibernian had their roots in Ireland, and therefore would have been natural choices for an Irish team, must be that pesky education system confusing me again, eh Lopez?So tell me tiktok, what exactly did you and the other resident muppets on this thread learn about emigration and diaspora at school? Hey if you want to have a laugh, have a laugh at a history curriculum that leaves out the biggest social event in 150 years of Irish history.

Have you even the slightest idea how much contempt Irish people are held in by the Ibrox faithful? Didn't think so, otherwise you wouldn't come out with **** like this. Save the wind-up crap for something you understand. Like I said before - "a face"? An arse, more like...An arse???....f*cking brilliant amigo. Sounds like the same knuckleheads who thought they'd go up to the Scum in 95 and talk about the premiership only to get a bottle in their face. Love to see these citizens of L*ngerland do two things for me. 1. Walk through Cork with a Rangers' shirt on and 2. Shout out their support for Rangers at Ibrox.

11/05/2004, 9:19 AM
....So tell me tiktok...you and the other resident muppets....

Well, that just leaves me wondering has the anti-celtic contingent on foot.ie grown, or have those EL fans who might argue in Celtic's favour grown sick of the condescension and insults and backed away from the debate.

Lopez, read my post, I was playing the diplomat, if that makes me a muppet, grand boy, I've better things to be doing than trading insults with you.

sylvo
11/05/2004, 10:00 AM

If yer did fancy supporting them, i don't think they would have gave yer to much to cheer about this season.

lopez
11/05/2004, 10:11 AM
Well, that just leaves me wondering has the anti-celtic contingent on foot.ie grown, or have those EL fans who might argue in Celtic's favour grown sick of the condescension and insults and backed away from the debate.

Lopez, read my post, I was playing the diplomat, if that makes me a muppet, grand boy, I've better things to be doing than trading insults with you.Insults? Hmmm. No I was wondering what exactly is taught in Irish schools about emigration. I get the impression that you think that my 'obsession' with the lack of any teaching on this subject is all in the mind. Perhaps you could enlighten me as A Arse, Colm, and Conor's mate Neil, don't seem to want 'to trade insults' either.

What p*sses me off is not being anti-Celtic. I've a minimal interest in the club which Davros, Sylvo and others well know. While being accused of doing the work the muppets mentioned above can't be ars*d to do, I'll list my probs with the club.

1. Many of their fans feel that the club is on par with the National team.

2. Many of their Scottish fans are one minute weekend provos, the next supporting Scotland.

3. The religious bigotry I've witnessed at the games I attended in the eighties.

4. Supporting Celtic against an Irish club side you'd otherwise support.

5. Going every week/fortnight to watch a club in a cr*p league while claiming the league back home - who recent history of games between clubs of both leagues suggests is more than a match for - is cr*p.

6. Banging on about Rangers' years of religious discrimination while playing against the said team and taking up ticket allocations.

....oh yes and the fact that every Celtic song must be sung with a Gorbals accent. Had to put up with that behind me in Basel with the only redeeming feature was that one of the songsters' voice broke (and b*llocks no doubt dropped) halfway through the game rendering him incapable of continuing. :D

What p*sses me off is that the people who slag off Celtic - a club founded by an Irishman - would have no qualms about following other foreign clubs that have absolutely no connection with either themselves or Ireland except that in AD such and such, they had an Irish player, and then insult anyone Irish that was born outside the 26C. Personally I think these people have real issues with emmigrants and their offspring...a sort of jealousy, but I'll leave that to Freud, or ignorance. Hence the question of education.

lopez
11/05/2004, 10:50 AM
Sorry Dav, much as there is the temptation to bring in these eejits' birthplace, most people from Cork are fine and remember mi suegra lives in West Cork and I've had no trouble out there other than my p*ss poor Irish getting me a whiskey in the pub when I wanted a mineral water.

This is a countrywide problem. A sad symptom of a succession of governments - some headed and containing plastics - in denial. The results are for all to see on this thread.

11/05/2004, 11:26 AM
[B]

Yeah spot on WAR .... it was no where near as good asd it usually is !! .... you sad sad man. Oh yeah its normally a paradise beyond you're wildest dreams ... WAR didn't you pick the short straw. I bet you are crippled with bitterness that you picked the wrong game.

shugk1 .... come off the stage ... did you just register to join in this thread. YOU muppet.

Is that directed at me or shugk1? I said I was slightly disappointed but I had a great day out. I'm not the world's biggest Celtic supporter but unlike you I don't carry around a huge chip on my shoulder about it. :rolleyes:

liam88
11/05/2004, 12:05 PM
Lot of rubbish flying round here :(
Tiktok you talk a lot of sense. People should not neglect their El side and when this happens it is really sad-choice between watching Celtic or Cobh in Europe I'd be at the Jungle :)
Although I love Celtic I think that everyone should support their local side as well. I have strong family connections IN Ramblers and I support them through and through.
I also support Celtic and don't like to see insults against them (I get enough of this in England).
I do appreciate where lots of the anti-Celtic feelings come from and I think incidents such as people arriving for Celtic's match but not City's European match are very sad :(
I don't see this as a reason to hate Celtic but obviously some people do and this isn't going to change.
Of course City fans should try visting the Jungle now and then to watch the best Cork team in action ;)

shugk1
12/05/2004, 12:21 PM
Is that directed at me or shugk1? I said I was slightly disappointed but I had a great day out. I'm not the world's biggest Celtic supporter but unlike you I don't carry around a huge chip on my shoulder about it. :rolleyes:

Can someone please explain muppet, is it someone who overlooks their local EL side to support Celtic or all Celtic supporters. I hope I'm not one I'm born'n'bred in glasgow's eastend. (the bright side of town) :)

lopez
12/05/2004, 12:52 PM
Can someone please explain muppet, is it someone who overlooks their local EL side to support Celtic or all Celtic supporters. I hope I'm not one I'm born'n'bred in glasgow's eastend. (the bright side of town) :)Don't know about Celtic fans or their detractors but Big Bird, Ernie, Kermit and Gonzo to me are the f*ckwits that come on here and make some snide comment about Irish people born abroad which they can't begin to back up and then crawl back under their ManU quilt cover because they can't explain to someone like me, how much of their history lessons at school were given over to emigration. You know who you are, muppets? How's about some f*cking answers! :mad:

lopez
12/05/2004, 1:08 PM
Ummmm, who are you talking about?Not you, but if you want to stick in your nose and be spokesman for the planky gang then be my guest.

12/05/2004, 1:20 PM
Ummmm, who are you talking about?

We've had run-ins with at least one of them Conor, as previously discussed. I'm still waiting - weeks later - for him to answer questions I posed then. He can't, but if he thinks I've forgotten, he's another thing coming.

Lopez - you know yourself, even had emigration been on the history curriculum at ard scoil, it would have been wasted on these narrow-minded eejits. End of story.

:ball: PP

lopez
12/05/2004, 1:26 PM
Lopez - you know yourself, even had emigration been on the history curriculum at ard scoil, it would have been wasted on these narrow-minded eejits. End of story.True, but then they wouldn't be able to use that as an excuse for their ignorance. Thanks for the tip-off, PP. I won't be holding my breath for an answer then.

liam88
13/05/2004, 6:11 AM
I think the most important thing to remember about the Greenwash is that we are Champions, Under 21 Champions and Under 19 Champions.
Rangers have not one a single trophy at any level
That's worth partying about :D

13/05/2004, 7:29 AM
Don't know about Celtic fans or their detractors but Big Bird, Ernie, Kermit and Gonzo to me are the f*ckwits that come on here and make some snide comment about Irish people born abroad which they can't begin to back up and then crawl back under their ManU quilt cover because they can't explain to someone like me, how much of their history lessons at school were given over to emigration. You know who you are, muppets? How's about some f*cking answers! :mad:

I think this is more or less aimed squarely between my eyes. I'll be honest Lopez and PP, I don't know what you've got against me, or where it started, but If you quote me where on here I made ANY snide comment about an Irish person born abroad I'll gladly detail all the History lessons I had right through school.

I'm sure you'll be surprised that I think there are probably points about the Irish education system on which we'd agree but as I said earlier, I've better things to do than trade insults, and at the moment, the 'muppet', 'eejit' and 'planky gang' comments (which IMO I've done little to warrant) are only serving to annoy me.

13/05/2004, 7:46 AM
I think this is more or less aimed squarely between my eyes. I'll be honest Lopez and PP, I don't know what you've got against me, or where it started, but If you quote me where on here I made ANY snide comment about an Irish person born abroad I'll gladly detail all the History lessons I had right through school.

I wasn't referring to you at all, tiktok, and I'm sorry that it comes across as such. We've always enjoyed good banter as far as I can recall. My issues are with a wind-up merchant from Galway. I think he knows who he is.

:) PP

lopez
13/05/2004, 9:15 AM
I think this is more or less aimed squarely between my eyes...Oddly it isn't. You decide to have a pop about my dig at the lack of education about emigration in Irish schools and I took exception. Wrongfully I added 'the other muppets' which I admit suggests that they you are in the same league as the muppets. For that I apologise, not because I'm taking it back, but because I didn't mean to infer the insult in the first place.

The people I'm on about within this thread are A Face and Colm. You can also add Carnstein, Dodge, Brendy Eire and a couple of others to the list. Parochial ignoramuses who need to see a bit more of the world. At least with A Face, if his DOB is true, he has yet to come to an age where he will learn about Irish history in depth. Perhaps when he does, he'll ask about emigration. Don't know if the others have the same excuse.

In Glasgow, the emigration experience has been marred by discrimination on par with what happened during the Stormont years of NI (I think we'll agree that if the likes of David Trimble and David Ervine are willing to admit this happened, it happened). The experience in London for instance, both in the 19C and the 1950s of the 'No Dogs' signs, was nowhere near as bad. We're not talking about a more than average quota of dodgy refereeing decisions against the Irish community's football team. We're talking discrimination in work, health and housing: Serious matters. Perhaps with this backdrop it is no wonder, even after 5 generations, many of Glasgow's Catholics are less than keen on giving their allegiance to the country of their birth.

shugk1
18/06/2004, 9:54 PM
Could anybody please tell me what the problem is with my team. Over the past couple of months while being on the forum I have sensed an anti or maybe not so much of an anti but ****ed off of Celtic feel. Could anybody explain. By the way i'm Scottish and a Glaswegian .

18/06/2004, 10:21 PM
:rolleyes: Again.

We're stick of idiotic Irish football 'fans' claiming that Celtic are Irish. If you're from Glasgow, fair enough, support Celtic. But it doesn't make sense for Irish people to support a Scottish club over their own local club.

Pat O' Banton
18/06/2004, 10:24 PM
Could anybody please tell me what the problem is with my team. Over the past couple of months while being on the forum I have sensed an anti or maybe not so much of an anti but ****ed off of Celtic feel. Could anybody explain. By the way i'm Scottish and a Glaswegian .

Oh gawd, no offence Shugk1 but not this again.

Before this developes any further eL fans believe that Celtic fans should watch domestic Irish football instead of sitting in a pub and watching football on TV.

Celtic fans believe that the club has a strong Irish Identity and have every right to support the Bhoys.

Some eL fans believe that many Irish Celts are Neds, Celtic fans believe that eL fans are snobbish.

I think that, that pretty much sums up the arguement and if it starts again it will only go over old ground and new insults.

While I'm at it I save a few other posts;

Roy Keane is a Judas who deserted Ireland. He's a w@nker :mad:

No Roy Keane is a genius and Irend need him you don't know the first thing about football. McCarthy's the real w@nker.

McCarthy did a good job and look how far we got in the World Cup, despite that tw@t Keane trying to ruin everything.

No Saipan was all McCarthy's fault etc....

I think that thats covered everything. :rolleyes:

shugk1
18/06/2004, 10:41 PM
:rolleyes: Again.

We're stick of idiotic Irish football 'fans' claiming that Celtic are Irish. If you're from Glasgow, fair enough, support Celtic. But it doesn't make sense for Irish people to support a Scottish club over their own local club.
Does that go for Irish fan's supporting an english club.

southside bohs
18/06/2004, 10:52 PM
To sum it up in a few words

Celtic are scottish, the scottish FA profit from them, I have no problem with celtic fans just as long as they don't pipe this 'you should be supporting celtic cause their irish and if you dont your a prod' ****.

I support bohs and liverpool and have no interest in celtic. Im irish and bohs are my irish team, liverpool have done just as much for the irish and have produced more irish internationals.

does this make me a ****** for not supporting them? NO!

shugk1
18/06/2004, 11:02 PM
I hope this does'nt go to the rubbish, I want this to be an explanation to a Scottish Celt and not an argument between Irish . It just seems quite sad the way the Celtic are spoke of from some quarters of the country. I have no desire to be Irish but like many others in this city I have been brought up to never forget who you are and what you are.

19/06/2004, 12:45 PM

Yes.

B_E,Know DC fans who support the Tims & DC avidly......who they'd support If they played each other is anyone's guess...though imagine could back the team most likely to progress in that competition?

Derry City, and all eL clubs, are in direct competition with Celtic for fans. IMO, no eL fan should support a foreign club. Supporting a foreign club only raises it's profile in Ireland and hurts the eL.

Also,without being pedantic....what happens if they come from the Co.of Derry.....a big old area....would you expect them to follow DC or someone else,in Ireland or elsewhere?

Whatever team's closest. I'd rather see a County Derry person supporting Coleraine or Limavady than a foreign team.

Son_Of_Erin32
19/06/2004, 2:40 PM
People are free to support whoever they like as far as i'm concerned, be that Celtic, Man Utd or any Irish team. I support Celtic because they're the club i feel the closest affection to, it's been that way ever since i can remember and it's a tradition that's existed for decades of my family's generations.

Why should i have to change all that just because some guys on here let their inferiority complex get the better of them and take exception to who i support??

Celtic approximate that at least 5,000 of their 53,000 season ticket holders are based in Ireland, myself included, so at least it shows that the Irish 'supporters' do just that and make every effort to live up to the name by going to see the team. I've yet to meet a so-called supporter of any English team who bothers to travel to see the matches, too many define their 'support' as sitting watching the live match on SKY Sports every weekend!

These are the people you're wanna have a go at. Celtic have a genuine, long upstanding tradition of being greatly-supported in Ireland and that will never change, if anything it will only grow stronger.

liam88
19/06/2004, 5:15 PM
But it doesn't make sense for Irish people to support a Scottish club over their own local club.

Aye it doesn't and most of us don't. As I said before I'm an Ireland fan, a Rambs fan, and a Celtic fan-in that order as far a soccer is concerned :D :D
Don't think people arguing over Celtic's IRishness will ever change anything as there will always be Celtic fans and shirts throughout Ireland on both sides of the border for various reasons.
Far as merchandise goes Scotland have only just caught up with Ireland in the number of official Celtic shops, with a new one just been opened at Glasgow ariport; previouslyScotland just had Glasgow City and Endinburgh in contrast to Irelands stores in Belfast, Derry and Dublin.
Not saying that this proves anything excpet in theory it is easier to get Celtic merchandise on our island than in Scotland, you'd struggle to find a sports clothing shop in Cork that doesn't stock the hoops that's for sure.
In Cork there are a fair few Liverpool jersey's and the odd Everton, Man. Utd and a couple of Leeds.

19/06/2004, 10:13 PM
How do the Irish Celtic fans feel about our bright young mdifielder prospect who was earning £800 per week while starring in the champions league then signing a deal with Man Utd for £25,000 per week and getting booed at every touch by his own fans despite trying his guts out. Why should a young Cork lad show any more loyalty to one British club over another?

Furthermore if John O'Flynn announced he was walking out on City at the end of his contract to sign for Man Utd I couldn't see too many City fans abusing him.

liam88
19/06/2004, 10:28 PM
How do the Irish Celtic fans feel about our bright young mdifielder prospect who was earning £800 per week while starring in the champions league then signing a deal with Man Utd for £25,000 per week and getting booed at every touch by his own fans despite trying his guts out. Why should a young Cork lad show any more loyalty to one British club over another?

Furthermore if John O'Flynn announced he was walking out on City at the end of his contract to sign for Man Utd I couldn't see too many City fans abusing him.

Aye you're talking different matter here-I may be a Celtic fan but I'm not defending the booing in any way.
Many Celtic fans are upset because Celtic kept on Liam Miller whilst he was injured; when it would have been better off for the club to drop him, and then as soon as he became fit again he left.
So; MANY Celtic fans feel betrayed and boo him wherever they see him. Now of course-and I'm not trying to stir up trouble here, just stating an obvious fact-there are many Celtic fans at Irish matches.
Therefore the booing can be heard at the matches.

adamcarr
19/06/2004, 10:38 PM
Aye you're talking different matter here-I may be a Celtic fan but I'm not defending the booing in any way.
Many Celtic fans are upset because Celtic kept on Liam Miller whilst he was injured; when it would have been better off for the club to drop him, and then as soon as he became fit again he left.
So; MANY Celtic fans feel betrayed and boo him wherever they see him. Now of course-and I'm not trying to stir up trouble here, just stating an obvious fact-there are many Celtic fans at Irish matches.
Therefore the booing can be heard at the matches.
Well you cant really call them 'fans '

20/06/2004, 11:45 AM
What gets me is that certain people feel he should have been loyal to Celtic because of his Irishness etc etc eg if he'd been a young Swede or Spaniard then no problem.

My point being that Cork City would not expect a young Cork lad to turn down a massive pay increase to join Manyoo even if they lost out on a transfer fee. Why should a British club expect a young Cork lad to favour them over another British club.

The talk of booing him too in an Ireland shirt was disgraceful.

Furthermore the guy gave his all and more in the UEFA Cup despite the boo boys.

It appears Celtic have learned their lesson and tied their other bright prospects to long term contracts.

And btw I'm not a manyoo fan.

nlgbbbblth
20/06/2004, 2:36 PM

No; English clubs are English clubs and don't pretend to be anything else -- people are under no illusions about that

However supporting Celtic because you think them "Irish" or "Catholic" makes no sense if you live in Ireland. Surely you should support your local team. After all they're genuinely Irish.

Re: supporting England
I can see why Irish people hate the England side - no arguments there.
However this hatred only makes sense if they do not support an English club.
People who support Liverpool / Man U /Arsenal etc all year round and shout for ABE are guilty of sheer hypocrisy.

also the same hyporcrites cite English tabloid media arroganace as a reason for their dislike of England's national side.
Yet the very same people purchase the Oirish Sun and Oirish Mirror in droves.

lopez
20/06/2004, 3:49 PM
Could anybody please tell me what the problem is with my team.I personally have a love/hate relationship with Celtic. Love it because it is a club founded by the Irish for the Irish community in Glasgow. Southside Bohs, you're talking out of your a*se if you think that Liverpool are the same unless of course you're one of these w*nkers that think you cease to be Irish the moment you stick your face out of the 26C. However the hate bit comes in droves: The fact that people not only claim that it's an Irish club (therefore as nlgbbbblth says, surely Celtic should be left for the diaspora or at most when Irish clubs are knocked out of Europe) but on par with the National team - this bit sends me f*cking loco. :mad: Then there are the other things: Celtic's relationship with the anti-catholic discriminating den of the devil. While there was real - and I'm equating it on terms to the O6C - discrimination in jobs, Celtic and their fans were doing business with Glasgow's most high profile bigots. Every ticket bought, every programme obtained, every dodgy pie consumed helped fill the coffers of Rangers. What hypocricy!

What gets me is that certain people feel he should have been loyal to Celtic because of his Irishness etc etc eg if he'd been a young Swede or Spaniard then no problem.

My point being that Cork City would not expect a young Cork lad to turn down a massive pay increase to join Manyoo even if they lost out on a transfer fee. Why should a British club expect a young Cork lad to favour them over another British club.I'm no fan of Man Ure, but in the same way that a move for Miller from Cork to Manchester would be good for Ireland supporters, was good coming for Miller leaving a third rate league to one of the top teams in one of the top four (possibly three considering the increasing quality of imports who are no longer in the autummn (more like early December) of their careers) leagues in Europe. But again Celtic is equal to Ireland in many peoples eyes.

Re: supporting England
I can see why Irish people hate the England side - no arguments there.
However this hatred only makes sense if they do not support an English club.
People who support Liverpool / Man U /Arsenal etc all year round and shout for ABE are guilty of sheer hypocrisy.

also the same hyporcrites cite English tabloid media arroganace as a reason for their dislike of England's national side.
Yet the very same people purchase the Oirish Sun and Oirish Mirror in droves.Good point. I don't support any English team under any circumstances. Wait a minute! Did support my non-league home town side in the Hertfordshire senior cup final against Barnet a few years back. Does that count? :( :o It's currently owned by an Dubliner BTW :D

shugk1
20/06/2004, 5:05 PM

Why ask the Irish Celtic fans, how about us all, it sounds like you're making a mockery of the Celtic for what Liam was being paid. In the days before he left for Old Trafford he was offered in the region of £20,000 by Celtic not bad for a boy who played a few good games and is still relatively just a good prospect.

ccfcman
21/06/2004, 11:05 AM
as an aside i would like to say that many irish celtic fans are members of a strange bandwagon.in cork at least the scummiest of scum (on the scafolding @ the redbull thingy :rolleyes: ) wear celtic jerseys,thinkin they are well hard and "hate those rangers huns",and indeed know very little about celtic,its foundationn for the irish commounity etc.ironically they love hartson...which is strange as he was due to join rangers two years before he joined celtic but failed a medical.

if celtic fans hate the english blah blah and want to be weld hard irish nationalists and wear one of the only football jerseys in the world world with a proper large shamrock on it then they better head to greeece to grab a PAO(Panothinaikos) jersey.founded by an irish monk in c.1903.thats your real irish nationalism.