View Full Version : Celtic Discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

Lionel Hutz
01/11/2003, 12:48 AM
Originally posted by Scotsman
So in one hand you're saying that by staing facts about Scotland I took offence but on the other me stating fact about Ireland you have taken offence and that's acceptable as it's childish from me.

Hello!!

Practice what you preach Lionel!!

You talk a good game and that' s all.

Yes but my facts were relevent to the thread where as yours were not!

Lionel Hutz
01/11/2003, 12:51 AM
Originally posted by TheRealRovers
Isn't this thread meant to be about Celtic:confused:

Was mostly about proclaiming all Celtic fans as bigots............
Just went abit of topic thats all!

Paddy Ramone
03/11/2003, 3:32 PM
Originally posted by gspain
Agreed it is ridiculous and disgraceful to expect Irish people to support Hibs or indeed any other British club - they should support Limerick or Shelbourne or Longford or whoever.:rolleyes:

I don't see what's wrong with supporting Hibs. Hibernian FC were the first football club to be founded by Irish people ever. I don't expect Irish people to support the Hibees. But if they are to support a foreign club, it might as well be the Hibees.

Hibernian FC were founded by a Catholic priest from Ballingarry Co Limerick, Canon Hannan in 1875. A good reason for Limerick people to support them instead of Celtic.

03/11/2003, 4:07 PM
Originally posted by Paddy Ramone
A good reason for Limerick people to support them instead of Celtic.
Think at the moment, the best thing Limerick people could do is support Limerick FC before it dies the death...

Paddy Ramone
03/11/2003, 4:49 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Think at the moment, the best thing Limerick people could do is support Limerick FC before it dies the death...

I don't disagree with you. More people should support their local clubs.

Paddy Ramone
03/11/2003, 5:01 PM
Originally posted by Scotsman

What does Hibernian mean? - Excuse my ignorance.

Hibernian means Irish. It is derived from the Roman name for Ireland which was Hibernia.

Jam
07/11/2003, 3:24 PM
Well I'm a member of the SNP and I've never heard it's initials standing for Soon no pope (quote: Scotsman) - are you sure you have been listening too much to your north-Br*t labour chums :D

The SNP face huge hostility in in Glasgow. I know folk that have when campaigning round the doors for the SNP been telt they are orange b*stards or linked to the IRA. Have to say, I find Paddy's unionist reasoning of Celtic and Rangers quite convincing and while he's probably deliberately stretched it, I'm sure there is more than a little grain of truth in it. It's certainly true that the west of Scotland is overwhelmingly north-Brit in its voting patterns - particularly catholics, many of whom are prominent members of the labour party.

Only a decade ago the SNP decided to remain neutral on the Irish national question, when the grassroots would sympathise with the nationalist side - no question. This was probably done tactically, there are more votes to be lost than won out of it and basically cos it's not really our phuqin business.

I'd love to see an independent Scotland and anybody in Scotland sympathetic to the Irish plight needs to open their eyes if they can't see that this independent Scotland would be a huge step on the road to Irish unity. The Ulster-Scots identify with Britishness and a protestant Scotland in particular as part of Britain (an identification that most Scots don't share cos bascially it's crap). If Scotland leaves my guess would be that in 5-10y years Northern Ireland would join the republic leaving Wales and England together.

And arguments about how an independent Scotland would become a hun statelet like Northern Ireland was - well it wouldn't surprise me if they weren't encouraged by the labour party - to stop catholics voting for SNP - let's face it - it's in their interest cos it keeps the jobs for the boys.

TheRealRovers
07/11/2003, 4:18 PM
So what has any of this to do with Pro/Anti Celtic?:confused: :confused:

lopez
10/11/2003, 12:22 PM
Originally posted by Jam
Well I'm a member of the SNP and I've never heard it's initials standing for Soon no pope (quote: Scotsman) - are you sure you have been listening too much to your north-Br*t labour chums :D

I personally couldn't give a fúck if Soon (there's) No Pope, and truth be told so are many more in Ireland. Who got the Brits into Ireland in the first place? Thatch? Churchill? Lloyd George? King Bill? No! The fúcking Pope.

Jam, no offence, I couldn't care less if there is an independent Scotland or not tommorow, simply because of the role of some of your compatriots in the partion of Ireland. Equally from a personal point of view I don't want the seccession of the more moderate parts of Britain turning England into a twent-first century Rwanda. But, hey, good luck all the same. Let's hope it doesn't cost as many lives as Irish independence did (or should that be 'continues to do').

BTW lads, 42 pages?! On Celtic? FFS??!!:rolleyes:

Scotsman
11/11/2003, 3:25 PM
This is way off - Are we gonna talk football or what?

Religion have nothing to do my family supporting labour - We were miners and the labour party supported miners - Nough said!!

Beavis
11/11/2003, 11:21 PM
Originally posted by lopez
Who got the Brits into Ireland in the first place? Thatch? Churchill? Lloyd George? King Bill? No! The fúcking Pope.

I'm just a bystander in this and don't wish to get involved but was interested in this remark.Could you enlighten us(me) Lopez?
[norman invasion 1169,Richard de Clare brought to Ireland by Dermot McMurrough to fight O'Connors of Breifne??]

lopez
12/11/2003, 11:19 AM
Originally posted by Beavis
I'm just a bystander in this and don't wish to get involved but was interested in this remark.Could you enlighten us(me) Lopez?
[norman invasion 1169,Richard de Clare brought to Ireland by Dermot McMurrough to fight O'Connors of Breifne??]

Adrian IV (nee Nicholas Breakspear) sanctioned an invasion of Ireland by Henry II, in his bull laudabiliter (often known as the donation of Ireland) in 1151 to 'enlarge the boundaries of the church, to restrain the downward course of vice, to correct evil habits and introduce virtue and to increase the Christian religion.' (Lydon: The Making of Modern Ireland pp 51). As I believe it, Ireland had its own form of Celtic- Christianity which permitted divorce, extra-marital relations and a loose definition of illegitimacy (this was important in relevance to inheritance).

Therefore, even before McMurrough's 'invitation', the pope had already given his blessing to an English invasion, one that was not acted upon until 1169. As the supreme 'monarch' in Western Europe, no one would have invaded, and made himself King of Ireland, without the papal nod.

Beavis
12/11/2003, 12:08 PM
Very interesting,especially didn't know about our own Celtic Christianity.If only Henry 8th had adopted it,would have saved him a lot of hassle
(BTW Paddy Ramone I think your a bit off about Henry 8th being involved in the initially invasions-he was around about 300 years later!)
Cheers

Paddy Ramone
12/11/2003, 12:40 PM
I meant to say Henry II.

TheRealRovers
12/11/2003, 7:29 PM
Celtic?????? :confused:

13/11/2003, 9:05 AM
And don't forget the Pope was on King Billy's side too in the battle of the Boyne. There is a mural in Stormont showing him getting blessing from the Pope.

Paddy Ramone
13/11/2003, 9:45 AM
The Papacy is also an absolute monarchy. It's the oldest surving monarchy in the world.

lopez
13/11/2003, 11:16 AM
And don't forget the Pope was on King Billy's side too in the battle of the Boyne. There is a mural in Stormont showing him getting blessing from the Pope.

Possibly one of the most idiotic events in Irish history from the point of view of Irish nationalists.:confused: Let's see: Support an English King because he's Catholic against a Protestant Dutch King (who as it just happens is the English King's son - in - law) that has the support of el papa. Apart from the noise, disruption and the obvious intention of rubbing in noses, I never could understand why people get ****ed off over the laughable annual commemoration of this event.

More recently we should look at the role of the RC church in post partition Ireland, particularly under the Viceroy McQuaid. While it would take ages to list His Grace's many valiant attempts at turning Ireland into a Papist version of Iran, :eek: I think Seán O'Faoláin's observation that it was hard to know where the real Irish parliament was - The Dail or Maynooth? - sums things up nicely.:p

Beavis
13/11/2003, 12:32 PM
And don't forget the Pope was on King Billy's side too in the battle of the Boyne.
:confused: anyone know why the pope would support a leader of Protestantism

lopez
13/11/2003, 1:15 PM
:confused: anyone know why the pope would support a leader of Protestantism

We're not talking passive support - as in an Italian wanting Holland to beat England in a football match because Van Basten and Gullit play for AC Milan. We're talking about accusations that Innocent XI actually bankrolled King Billy. I think it had something to do with the Dutch maricon countering some of the power of Louis XIV of France (James II was somehow connected) whom el papa was not on the best terms with. Not for the last time did Rome let religion get in the way of realpolitik.

Likewise, the Vatican loved the British Empire, giving it a free ride into deepest, darkest Africa to convert 'heathens', while discrimination continued against its co-religious in Ireland - discrimination as in the number of Catholics in governmental departments like the civil service as well as blocking self determination itself.

Beavis
13/11/2003, 3:17 PM
I wonder how many irish people are aware of this
You certainly know your sh!t:cool:

lopez
14/11/2003, 1:17 AM
After a undistinguished career at a secular English comprehensive school I spent 10 years at the university of life before studying Irish Studies at a 'New University' (ie sh!te former polytechnic). However even in an Irish context what I studied is small fry (basic Act of Union to Modern day) so pre 1801 is a grey area to me. I do however read a lot of books on Irish history, just to keep my hand in, so to speak.

Too many people know **** all about their own country. The trouble is with Ireland is that there is so much to know. In the English language, there are probably half of a dozen decent books on Swedish history (current pop: 8.9m) that anybody would need to read. On Ireland, this list runs into hundreds. Thanx to Gary Espana, I learned something today about the painting by Pieter Van der Meulen of the Pope blessing KB. In 1934, John Nixon MP (Stormont) - I think he was the RIC inspector who was involved in a murder of a family on the Falls in 1920/1?? - done a Rambo and wrecked the painting. It was taken away to be 'restored' but disappeared. :rolleyes: It is currently worth £1/2M: See www.fantompowa.net/Flame/pope_cut_out_of_.htm
This sort of history will **** off many people. Hence the attempt at destroying the painting.

As agent Mulder and Scully would say: 'The truth is out there.' Well it is if you keep an open mind, and use Yahoo! or Google.:cool:

And to keep people who want to talk about Celtic happy, yeah it's an Irish club with a Scottish accent and too many people who don't know their history supporting them.;)

14/11/2003, 7:46 AM
On a late turn yesterday, Senor? :)

From your previous posts, I had a feeling you'd studied this before. I did a Masters in Irish Studies myself at Liverpool University. I know more about Irish history than I do about that of Britain, despite my first degree containing large elements of British political history. Ahh, the lengths us 2G will go to... ;)

:D PP

(On another note, I'd promised myself that despite being a Celtic fan, I wasn't going to post on this thread. That's blown that then...)

lopez
14/11/2003, 10:06 AM
Liverpool must have been brilliant. I went to North London as a 'mature student' (an oxymoron if ever there was one) and majored in Irish studies (I minored - surprise, surprise :rolleyes: - in Spanish). I was still working and starting a family, so I wanted something that was going to keep me interested. Done my MA there as well in Modern European studies which was equally interesting (my dissertation was on Black migration into Ireland).

Cultural studies is always geting slagged, but my degree contained large parts of history and English literature associated with those subjects, so I think its just snobbery. To be fair, NL (now London Metropolitan) has one of the biggest centres of books on Ireland in the country.

Beavis
14/11/2003, 10:12 AM
Originally posted by Plastic Paddy
Ahh, the lengths us 2G will go to... ;)

It's true.I think growing up away from what you'd call home makes you appreciate it all the more.

These days too many people here don't even care for their heritage.I think this explains the growing Sinn Fein vote in the south;people who want to remain irish and not european, fear that our culture willl gradually fade out unless something is done.

lopez
14/11/2003, 10:30 AM
It's true.I think growing up away from what you'd call home makes you appreciate it all the more.

These days too many people here don't even care for their heritage.I think this explains the growing Sinn Fein vote in the south;people who want to remain irish and not european, fear that our culture willl gradually fade out unless something is done.

It's already started, and the most obvious is Man Ure shirts everywhere. I know this discussion is about Celtic (and after 43 pages we all have to agree to disagree) but the support for English clubs sends me loco.:mad: OK Man Ure are a top club, but what about the Dublin supporters clubs for Leicester City, Ipswich Town, Bradford City, etc.? These crap teams? I've met people who support sh!te English teams on Ireland trips and it's no wonder blokes on here bust a cojon on why they aren't down at their local EL side.

BTW I notice from your profile that you are a Consultant Gynaecologist. I work in a similar job. I too have to look at ****s all day.:D :D

Beavis
14/11/2003, 12:19 PM
A lad started a thread a week or two back wondering was there any Sheffield United fans to start a fan club.I felt like asking what exactly had some dreary town in Middle England had to do with him.I didn't cos it was his first post and I didn't want to seem like an @rsehole.
I hear it everyday though,'I've supported Man U since I was a kid.'
I ask why,'oh I like the way they play'.Basically 'they're the best team I know so I can't lose':rolleyes: .

I confess to not being a major El fan(look out for Waterford cos the oul fella is a big fan) but I watch English football to see how our boys are getting on and my argument is that you want to watch the best you have to offer and ours goes abroad.

Celtic has an undeniable link with this country and I am a fan but I don't have the attitude that Celtic fans are any more irish than anyone else.Me and a friend from work(big Shamrock Rovers fan) were in the pub talking to a Celtic fan last weekend.My mate said he didn't support Celtic just Rovers and the other lad called him a 'hun'.:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

PS Lopez,I thought in spelling consultant gynaecologist wrong would give away that this wasn't in fact my profession!:D

Junior
14/11/2003, 12:46 PM
Liverpool must have been brilliant. I went to North London as a 'mature student' (an oxymoron if ever there was one) and majored in Irish studies (I minored - surprise, surprise :rolleyes: - in Spanish). I was still working and starting a family, so I wanted something that was going to keep me interested. Done my MA there as well in Modern European studies which was equally interesting (my dissertation was on Black migration into Ireland).

Cultural studies is always geting slagged, but my degree contained large parts of history and English literature associated with those subjects, so I think its just snobbery. To be fair, NL (now London Metropolitan) has one of the biggest centres of books on Ireland in the country.

Hi Lopez/PP

When I was wokring in Hemel for a few years, I did an evening course in Irish studies at North London, really enjoyed it but only managed the one term as the journey after work was a struggle to get there on time.

Since I moved back to Manchester, i've fancied continuing the course/starting again, but have struggled to find it on anywhere local, surprising as I just assumed that all the major universities would do it.

Admittedly have I haven't looked too hard in locating a course, could have a look at Liverpool I suppose, but it would need to be an evening/weekend type arrangement.

I don't suppose either of you, or anyone else out there has any ideas?

Cheers, Jnr

PS: Mod: I know this is strictly not a general footie question but Il hope you can forgive me

lopez
14/11/2003, 1:19 PM
PS Lopez,I thought in spelling consultant gynaecologist wrong would give away that this wasn't in fact my profession!:D
I too didn't want to sound like a smart@rse either in case you didn't make a deliberate mistake in the spelling, but I would have put money on you not being a gynaecologist. After a day of that sort of thing and I don't think you'd have the stomach for dinner let alone talking footie/politics/culture.:D

The argument about the quality of Irish football is a tricky one. I saw Longford against some side a few weeks back (not the cup final mind) in a pub with an RTE feed and I thought the standard was good - OK not la liga, but Div 2 at the very least.

But I also remember a visit to Bishopstown in 95 to watch Cork and it depressed me. A new out of town stadium that was already looking knackered with a crowd of 200 or so watching a dire game. Meanwhile, and I've said this story before so please be free to yawn, a bloke I knew was up in Tipp playing in a Munster Cup game for (I think it was Tramore Athletic??) in front of over a thousand. He was a Cork City fan who used to go to the games at Turner's Cross and said that he has no car and even if he had he wanted to have a drink, so he was refusing to go and watch them at Bishopstown.

I think things are improving.

Originally posted by Junior
Hi Lopez/PP
When I was wokring in Hemel for a few years, I did an evening course in Irish studies at North London, really enjoyed it but only managed the one term as the journey after work was a struggle to get there on time.
I'm from Hemel myself, so I know the journey to Holloway Road. I used to work late at Golders Green so I planned work to follow my daytime lectures. Where did you work/live while in this wonderful cultural oasis? I'd say Manchester must be pretty boring after Hemel?:D

Best of luck with finding a course, but apart from Luton, Liverpool and St Marys in W London, I don't know of anywhere else.

Junior
14/11/2003, 3:17 PM

I'm from Hemel myself, so I know the journey to Holloway Road. I used to work late at Golders Green so I planned work to follow my daytime lectures. Where did you work/live while in this wonderful cultural oasis? I'd say Manchester must be pretty boring after Hemel?:D

Best of luck with finding a course, but apart from Luton, Liverpool and St Marys in W London, I don't know of anywhere else.

Worked in Maylands Ave, Siemens building down the bottom end (changed its name now). Still get down there a couple of times a month for meetings etc...

Can't say I had too many sessions in Hemel, couple of lunchtime bevvies / christmas do at the BP offices near the hotel by our office was about as exciting as it got.

Lived in Harrow and Ealing during my time darn sarf..

Emailed Liverpool this afternoon while I was thinking about it, perhaps they do distance learning or similar - that however requires serious commitment, what with our forthcoming WC06 qualifiers.......ah, im sure you know the script!!!!!

lopez
14/11/2003, 6:09 PM
Junior: I know the place. My old man used to work in Lucas down there but since been torn down.

Obviously joking about HH and culture, although the aforementioned Pope Adrian IV was born just outside (hence Breakspear Way onto the M1).

I don't drink there often either unless you count the front room. Still not as bad as neighbouring Chesham...have you seen Deliverance?...or Hatfield which I see they've made life there into a film called The Martins starring Kathy Burke and Lee Evans. It's Ballymun without the red lemonade.:D

Rebel Bhoy
20/11/2003, 10:00 AM
I've just joined up and it seems as though I have missed all the furore over my team but seem to have stumbled into something else entirely. I went to St Mary's in Twickenham to do Irish Studies and last year I went to North London (now London Met) to try and learn a bit of Irish. I wasn't much good at it. I found that you were spot on aboyut the Irish books they have at north London. So much so that the local libraries in Haringey and Islington ended up throwing out a load of Irish books because NL was the best resourced library in this area.
The reason that there are so many studies/books written about the Irish is the spread of the diaspora is so wide and varied that we basically just make good reading!

24/11/2003, 2:38 PM
Originally posted by Junior
Hi Lopez/PP

When I was wokring in Hemel for a few years, I did an evening course in Irish studies at North London, really enjoyed it but only managed the one term as the journey after work was a struggle to get there on time...

I don't suppose either of you, or anyone else out there has any ideas?
Junior

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

One of the places I also tried was the old Bath CHE, which I believe is now Bath Spa University College. IIRC, they did a correspondence/residential style course, which might suit your needs. Bath was the home to the British Association for Irish Studies, which has now moved to Royal Holloway College, part of the University of London. Their website is at http://www.english.ltsn.ac.uk/bais/ and will probably have all the answers you need. If not, they'll know exactly who does.

Hope that's of some use.

Originally posted by Rebel Bhoy
I've just joined up and it seems as though I have missed all the furore over my team but seem to have stumbled into something else entirely.
Despite being a Celtic fan, I tried to avoid joining this debate too, Rebel Bhoy. You get sucked in eventually... ;)

On the subject of Irish books and North London, I always used to frequent the Four Provinces bookshop in Archway. Wonderful place and knowledgeable staff too. Another reason why the aforementioned libraries were devoid of stock.

:D PP

PS Nice Terence MacSwiney quote btw... :)

Rebel Bhoy
24/11/2003, 3:52 PM
Cheers PP. The one in Archway was Green Ink wasn't it? They were fantastic in there. Its been closed a while now. I think the guy who owned it sold up and moved back to Ireland. The 4 provinces is on the Grays inn road. About 300 yards from where I am sat right now. Its much smaller, but the staff really know their stuff and are always up for a chat about this and that.
Its my favourite subject talking about Celtic and Ireland so fignting the same fight over and over again suits me just fine as I'm not so smart so its suits my arguing style!!!
I'm glad that there are folk out there from 'a land beyond the wave' who choose to follow the history af their 'sire-land' and not just on the superficial levels of sport.

Junior
24/11/2003, 6:42 PM
Junior

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

One of the places I also tried was the old Bath CHE, which I believe is now Bath Spa University College. IIRC, they did a correspondence/residential style course, which might suit your needs. Bath was the home to the British Association for Irish Studies, which has now moved to Royal Holloway College, part of the University of London. Their website is at http://www.english.ltsn.ac.uk/bais/ and will probably have all the answers you need. If not, they'll know exactly who does.

Hope that's of some use.

Cheers PP, ironically I emailed them about 3hrs ago, asking for help in locating a course!! Sounds like the correspondence/residential course would be ideal if they still do it. Have also got on to Liverpool Uni as well, though I think P/T is the best they can offer and that will probably clash with work!!

I'll keep you posted, thanks for the help.

Jnr

05/01/2004, 9:20 PM
"celtic could accept awards from the kkk for humanatarian work,and their "fans" would justify it."

RebelBhoy
06/01/2004, 2:49 PM
eh.. good one! not really though.

You say "fans". Does that describe the 80,000-100,000 people who went ot seville knowing they probably would'nt get a ticket and drank and sang with opposing fans not once causing trouble?

06/01/2004, 6:40 PM
Does that describe the 80,000-100,000 people who went ot seville knowing they probably would'nt get a ticket and drank and sang

Kinda stupid spending all that money to go to watch a match in the pub i would have thought.

:D :p

That said, most (OIrish) Sellthick fans have never been inside a football ground ever to see a live match in their lives and would only miss the replays and the commentary etc.

liam88
06/01/2004, 8:06 PM
errrrr yeah-best fans by both UEFA and FIFA involved with the KKK hmmm mabye not. Irish Celtic fans never being in the stadium that's a laugh, even at Fulham in a pre-season friendly I met hundreds-the whole place was Irish!

"Kinda stupid spending all that money to go to watch a match in the pub i would have thought"

No no no-that's called Loy-al-ty , it means you respect your club and will go all that way to represent it even if you havent got a ticket. Try it- Loy-al-ty

Bosco
06/01/2004, 9:19 PM
Originally posted by liam88
Irish Celtic fans never being in the stadium that's a laugh

Is it.For every irish man in parkhead at a celtic match there ten more in ireland who have never been at a real soccer match

06/01/2004, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by Bosco
who have never been at a real soccer match

I dont even have a problem with that.

What gets me is out of the remaining nine, 7-8 couldn't give a toss about going ever.

And nearly all nine will go out of their way to knock the LOI, having never been to a game.

I actually probably wouldn't have a problem with the one that is over there, it is most of the remaining nine give them all a bad name. Most have a clue what they are on about.

I say TAR the mothers with the one brush and be done with it .... let 'em burn i tells ya .... BURN .... :D :D :D

07/01/2004, 12:24 PM
I am not a Celtic fan but I was at Parkhead not so long ago for a league match against Partick Thistle. It was a few days after the match against Bayern Munich. The match was v poor - the only excitement being that Thistle went ahead.
The "famous" Celtic crowd that supports their team through everything could barely be heard. Most of them were leaving 20 minutes before the end of the match because it was raining.
Like every team many of Celtic's thousands of fans are glory chasers and nothing anyone will say will change that.

RebelBhoy
07/01/2004, 3:48 PM
having been to parkhead a lot a have seen these kind of matches.
post european hang over. Thats all. Celtic havent lost in the league at home under Martin O Neill in three years except once against Dundee. You will understand given the timing of the game the lack of atmosphere especially seeing as most teams dont even make the effort to attack. Parkhead has been voted the best atmosphere in "Britain" according to the examiner. I have seen it at first hand and its unreal.

07/01/2004, 4:46 PM
RebelBhoy, I think you're wasting your time trying to engage in a debate about Celtic and our fans with some of these posters hereabouts. A good example is provided by "a face" and his/her view that we Celtic fans should all be tarred with the same brush and burned or whatever. I once tried to discuss the point with him/her and got nowhere. Never mind.

That said, I do have sympathy with Niamh's point; however, football is competing with other offerings in the entertainment business, and success coupled with a quality product breeds demand. If that pulls in "glory hunters", then so be it. I wouldn't however say that this phenomenon accounts for the "many" Celtic supporters who attended the Partick game (I'll not speak for the members of Couch Potato CSC), as the vast majority of those supporters who are old enough followed the club right through the lean years of the 1990s and paid good money for the privilege. Myself included.

:) PP

jofyisgod
07/01/2004, 5:27 PM
RebelBhoy, I think you're wasting your time trying to engage in a debate about Celtic and our fans with some of these posters hereabouts.

You're right there. It just annoys me when i see people and kids wearing Celtic shirts, living nearly a thousnad miles from the place and having no chance of going to a game. What's the point. And they call themselves Celtic 'fans'. I have no problem with real fans, none at all, as most of these real fans also support their locals LOI team. Fair play.But, if evey 'fan' bought an El team jersey, hoe much stronger would he league be getting. They may even go a match...

07/01/2004, 6:00 PM
I know the point you're making, and I have some sympathy. Just out of interest, do you and others hereabouts feel the same way about those in Ireland who follow Premiership clubs?

:) PP

liam88
07/01/2004, 6:09 PM
EVERY team has glory hunters-absolutley EVERY team!
Burn the Celtic fans ey? You'll be pretty lonley in Cork then ;)
I support Rebelbohy here!
As for wearign shirts when you can't see a match being glory hunters-does this include people who are too poor to afford tickets but still were the shirt they saved up for 6 months to buy because they love their team?

Bosco
07/01/2004, 7:12 PM
Just out of interest, do you and others hereabouts feel the same way about those in Ireland who follow Premiership clubs?

Yeah,well i do anyway.Its prob worse seeing people walking around in premiership jerseys because it usually means that they are obsessed with the club where as alot of people wearing celtic jerseys in ireland only wear it because of the irish link and don't really care to much about the club

07/01/2004, 8:57 PM
Originally posted by niamh

Like every team many of Celtic's thousands of fans are glory chasers and nothing anyone will say will change that.

isnt that a bit harsh when there wasnt any glory for a very long period when rangers dominated the scottish game

07/01/2004, 9:57 PM
The Doldrums of 2nd place eh?

Irish link? What Irish link?

Follow a foreign team all you want, support a team who you can actually really SUPPORT ie go to their games weekly, without fail, be it a top of the table clash or a cup tie against some pub team.

Feck this im off to bed!