20]
abbeyvale
26/02/2007, 6:40 PM
STATOIL F.A.I. JUNIOR CUP - QUARTER FINAL DRAW
1. Salthill Devon F.C. V West Utd.
2. Carrick Utd. 0 V St. John Bosco. 1
3. Wembly Rovers V Killester Utd.
4. Grattan Utd. 2 V Villa F.C. 3
Great chance for Wembley to win it out if they can get over Killester (Big if, but who knows),
west awake
26/02/2007, 9:40 PM
Killester United 11/8
Salthill Devon 7/2
Villa Fc 4/1
St John Bosco 5/1
West United 9/1
Wembley Rovers 12/1
Local Bookmaker In Galway John Mullholland Has Match Betting On The Salthill V West Match!
Salthill Devon 4/5
Draw 9/4
West United 3/1
abbeyvale
26/02/2007, 11:21 PM
Killester United 11/8
Salthill Devon 7/2
Villa Fc 4/1
St John Bosco 5/1
West United 9/1
Wembley Rovers 12/1
Local Bookmaker In Galway John Mullholland Has Match Betting On The Salthill V West Match!
Salthill Devon 4/5
Draw 9/4
West United 3/1
Just want to say well done to Wembley and its a great achievment for them regardless of what happens from here on.
Well done to all involved and best of luck in the next round v Killester.
zizu's head
27/02/2007, 7:06 AM
Great chance for Wembley to win it out if they can get over Killester (Big if, but who knows),
Hi Lads,
Can anyone confirm that the Wembley/killester game was on at the weekend?
Heard some stories that Killester were beaten; if true, then that's a big shock.
(No disrespect to Wembley intended) !
KevB76
27/02/2007, 8:21 AM
Wembley played Lawson Cup game this weekend - I think the FAI fixture is 12th March but not sure
Dr Mad
27/02/2007, 8:46 AM
Killester were beaten at the weekend 1-0
But .... it was in a league match -v- O'Deveney.
scoobysham
27/02/2007, 11:42 AM
Hi Lads,
Can anyone confirm that the Wembley/killester game was on at the weekend?
Heard some stories that Killester were beaten; if true, then that's a big shock.
(No disrespect to Wembley intended) !
wembley killester going ahead 11 th of march at half 2
zizu's head
27/02/2007, 2:24 PM
wembley killester going ahead 11 th of march at half 2
Thanks for that. Got my info wrong; I think they were beaten in their own league at the weekend! :rolleyes:
gilberto_eire
27/02/2007, 5:04 PM
Killester United 11/8
Salthill Devon 7/2
Villa Fc 4/1
St John Bosco 5/1
West United 9/1
Wembley Rovers 12/1
Salthill Devon 4/5
Draw 9/4
West United 3/1
ladbrokes i think are giving bigger prices on all them!!. west we'r 16/1 and devon I THINK we'r 5/1 +..... think 3/1 on the 1/4 on west is too good to refuse ill be taking that!
galwayhoop
27/02/2007, 7:21 PM
how come all of the newspapers have the salthill v west game on a knife edge and mullhollands have west as serious outsiders at 3/1???
either team on penalties at 8/1 looks the bet to me!
Gaillimh Al
27/02/2007, 8:20 PM
Game is on at 7.45 not 7.30. The media won't predict a winner cos don't want to be seen to be taking sides and trying to get a large crowd to the game. Plus West have been unfancied all year and have overcome a tough draw(away in last 3 ties). Salthill unquestionably have the better footballing team but West have great team spirit and determination.
If the 2 lads who were sent off in the last game were available the bookies would have priced it closer, but i think 3-1 is fair. Both players are Oscar Traynor players so it has to be a big loss.
Trainee
28/02/2007, 9:37 PM
salthill devon beat west utd 6-5 after pens
abbeyvale
28/02/2007, 9:39 PM
either team on penalties at 8/1 looks the bet to me!
Good Call Galwayhoop
Salthill won on pens tonight.
abbeyvale
28/02/2007, 9:41 PM
STATOIL F.A.I. JUNIOR CUP (Last 5)
1. Salthill Devon F.C.
2. St. John Bosco.
3. Wembly Rovers V Killester Utd.
4. Villa F.C.
Gaillimh Al
28/02/2007, 9:46 PM
Was at the game. Salthill narrowly deserved to win against a dogged West Utd. West tried to stifle Salthill by playing 4-5-1 and it worked for the most part, but how they continued to play with 1 up front when Salthill had their right full sent off baffled me. I think a more positive approach could have got them a goal at that stage. Think they were more afraid of losing than going on and winning the tie.
Anyone else there?
gilberto_eire
28/02/2007, 10:24 PM
ya just back im from claddagh so am alined to west!. i have to say they did play to negatively which resulted in possession/play wise them been played of the pitch but in chances they prob had the better chances!. in relation to the sendings off i think eugene did well to last as long as he did with caldwell pulling and kicking at him as agressively as he did and it was shocking to see how he wasnt even booked at any stage, then vinny o'connor got himself softly sent off wasnt been tugged or pulled at .MOD EDIT_Don't report something you didn't see_*****
i have to say i heard good things about vinny flaherty and was thinking that if he didnt go to ipswich he should be snapped up by us... I TAKE IT BACK. he's the most negative junior(FFS JUNIOR NOT A PRO, SUNDAY LEAGUE)footballer ive ever seen, he's the spit of ronaldo even the way he walks, goes over like a spaniard and is so theatrical on the ground..........cop on will ya, ya nancy boy your playing sunday football not even semi-pro... i can tell ya if he acts like that in a junior match with no crowd and linesman as soon as the ref. is turned he'd have a line waiting to clock him!.
swinfordfc
01/03/2007, 8:30 AM
STATOIL F.A.I. JUNIOR CUP - Last 5
1. Salthill Devon F.C. (Galway)
2. St. John Bosco. (Dublin)
3. Wembly Rovers V Killester Utd (March 11th)
4. Villa F.C. (Waterford)
west awake
01/03/2007, 3:45 PM
Was at the game. Salthill narrowly deserved to win against a dogged West Utd. West tried to stifle Salthill by playing 4-5-1 and it worked for the most part, but how they continued to play with 1 up front when Salthill had their right full sent off baffled me. I think a more positive approach could have got them a goal at that stage. Think they were more afraid of losing than going on and winning the tie.
Anyone else there?
as soon as salthill went down to 10 men,the instructions from the west bench were clear go 4-4-2,the lad that was told to go up front,just kept droppin back,so the they warmed there sub striker up to replace the lad that kept droppin back and just before he was to come on the west full back was dismissed,so then they withdrew a midfielder and brought on a full back,i know this cos i was stood behind the dugout and could hear what was going on,west have only lost once in 33 games playin 4-5-1 so you can't really blame the system for the defeat,it was a 50/50 game which i taught we(west) just about shaded,but you don't always get what you deserve,as wfta found out in the earlier rounds when we undeservedly went through.
best of luck to salthill in the rest of the competition!
the hoops
01/03/2007, 3:51 PM
think killester will beat wembly 3or4 nill
number16
01/03/2007, 4:52 PM
Was also at the game,West are a hard team to play against (on several fronts) - they set themselves out 4-5-1, have a couple of excellent headers of the ball, and are extremely dangerous from set plays - one of their midfielder has one of the longest and most accurate throw ins I ever seen.
Also credit to Salthill who stood up to these challenges and came out on top, good to see a Galway team in the semis.
scoobysham
02/03/2007, 11:57 AM
think killester will beat wembly 3or4 nill
wembley have a better chance than pike anyway.....
the dazzler
02/03/2007, 12:30 PM
wembley have a better chance than pike anyway.....
id say you are right on that for another few weeks anyway:)
04/03/2007, 11:19 AM
FAI Junior Cup semi-final draw:
Wembley Rovers/Killester United v Salthill Devon
St.John Bosco v Villa FC
salthill and killester clear favourates now
Thunderblaster
04/03/2007, 7:49 PM
Going for a Killester United V Villa FC final with Killester to win outright.
galwayhoop
06/03/2007, 3:52 PM
salthill and killester clear favourates now
i presume you mean that whoever comes out of this side is the clear favourite! if they are have to play each other i cant see how they are both clear favourites.
Killester were beaten at the weekend 1-0
But .... it was in a league match -v- O'Deveney.
It was one of those games, keeper made a mess of a bobbly ball in the second minute, after that we bomdarded thier goal but coud not score, just one of those days!
Super Rovers
07/03/2007, 1:05 PM
It was one of those games, keeper made a mess of a bobbly ball in the second minute, after that we bomdarded thier goal but coud not score, just one of those days!
why couldnt ye keep that day for wembley ha ha only messing best of luck to ye against us.
lim abroad
08/03/2007, 3:56 AM
best of luck to ye against us.
are you hoping ye lose???
Super Rovers
08/03/2007, 8:59 AM
are you hoping ye lose???
no we are not hoping we lose its just that we are up against it. personally i want to win but i know it wont be easy. but whats wrong with wishing the opposition a bit of luck at the end of the day its a game of football and im there to enjoy myself
smellyfeet
08/03/2007, 9:14 AM
no we are not hoping we lose its just that we are up against it. personally i want to win but i know it wont be easy. but whats wrong with wishing the opposition a bit of luck at the end of the day its a game of football and im there to enjoy myself
Should wait til after the game to be friendly with opposition.
Hate them until then.To much at stake.I'd be surprised if they want you to do well:)
W.R.F.C
08/03/2007, 9:28 AM
Should wait til after the game to be friendly with opposition.
Hate them until then.To much at stake.I'd be surprised if they want you to do well:)
Well said smeelyfeet
silvercircle
08/03/2007, 3:10 PM
get off your knees...Mr motivator
magpies
10/03/2007, 6:16 PM
Last 16 Fai Youths Cup Newcastle West 3-0 Lourdes Celtic, Newcastle West at home to Everton (Cork) in the last 8
cartman
10/03/2007, 11:56 PM
Best Of Luck To Wembley.. I Think I Speak For Everyone In Limerick Soccer By Hoping The Trophy Returns To Limerick...
Prediction For The Big Match :
Wembley 1 - 4 Killester
bald eagle
11/03/2007, 12:03 AM
Best Of Luck To Wembley.. I Think I Speak For Everyone In Limerick Soccer By Hoping The Trophy Returns To Limerick...
Wembley 1 - 4 Killester
Whoever this guy Cartman is he is not a true limerickman
he says he wants wembley to win but predicts a killester win
i really hope Wobbley sorry Wibbley I mean trembley imean wembley win
The toss :D :D
the only 1
11/03/2007, 2:15 PM
Whoever this guy Cartman is he is not a true limerickman
he says he wants wembley to win but predicts a killester win
i really hope Wobbley sorry Wibbley I mean trembley imean wembley win
The toss :D :D
wembly will get hammered 3or4 nill just no good enough
magpies
11/03/2007, 3:51 PM
Wembley 1-4 Killester Result
KevB76
11/03/2007, 4:51 PM
Hard luck Wembley - the scoreline was harsh, ye played better than the result suggests. Killester definitely had the upper hand in the first half, I missed the first goal (couldn't drag myself away from an intriguing FA cup match) but the second was a sickener - should have been a comfortable catch but ML misjudged the flight of the ball, couldn't scramble back to it in the muck as it landed just behind him and bounced in.
Wembley made a game of it in the second half, were unfortunate to concede a penalty early on. Despite that they fought back well, Tierney's goal was just reward for their efforts. Killester always looked dangerous on the counter-attack as Wembley pushed on, and they finally put one away in the dying minutes to make it 1-4. Killester deserved the win but the scoreline flattered them a bit. Well done to Wembley for making it this far :ball:
the hoops
11/03/2007, 5:00 PM
Hard luck Wembley - the scoreline was harsh, ye played better than the result suggests. Killester definitely had the upper hand in the first half, I missed the first goal (couldn't drag myself away from an intriguing FA cup match) but the second was a sickener - should have been a comfortable catch but ML misjudged the flight of the ball, couldn't scramble back to it in the muck as it landed just behind him and bounced in.
Wembley made a game of it in the second half, were unfortunate to concede a penalty early on. Despite that they fought back well, Tierney's goal was just reward for their efforts. Killester always looked dangerous on the counter-attack as Wembley pushed on, and they finally put one away in the dying minutes to make it 1-4. Killester deserved the win but the scoreline flattered them a bit. Well done to Wembley for making it this far :ball:
christ wouldnt you just know lewis would make a mistake he always does it in the big games
no need for comment like that about lewis at least he has played in an fai quarter final. give the man some credit im sure he is feeling bad enough with going out of competition without you singling him out
cartman
12/03/2007, 7:14 AM
Wembley 1 - 4 Killester
i was hoping wembley would come good but i think it was fairly obvious to everyone that they were on a hiding to nothing...
i mean they are a pretty bog standard 1a team and without the young fellas on their side they would be down with the likes of park this year in the 1a league..
prediction for wembleys season : just miss out on promotion
destined to spend eternity in the quagmire that is 1a football!!!!
themerryman
12/03/2007, 9:15 AM
no need for comment like that about lewis at least he has played in an fai quarter final. give the man some credit im sure he is feeling bad enough with going out of competition without you singling him out
its true do ml is known to bottle the big ones, and rightly so he should be feeling bad ,he throw away any chance the might have had so its only right
he feels bad and shoulders the blame .average keeper in an average side.:(
footie
12/03/2007, 9:27 AM
i was hoping wembley would come good but i think it was fairly obvious to everyone that they were on a hiding to nothing...
i mean they are a pretty bog standard 1a team and without the young fellas on their side they would be down with the likes of park this year in the 1a league..
prediction for wembleys season : just miss out on promotion
destined to spend eternity in the quagmire that is 1a football!!!!
A bit harsh. The season aint over yet cartman. Yee could easily be knocked off your high horse at the top of the league. Admittedly yee are in a great position, but to say Wembley are at the same level as Park???? Thats some bull your talking. Wembleys next league game is against yee. That should make a good game.
swinfordfc
12/03/2007, 9:29 AM
FAI Junior Cup semi-finals;
Killester United v Salthill Devon
St.John Bosco v Villa FC
footie
12/03/2007, 9:30 AM
its true do ml is known to bottle the big ones, and rightly so he should be feeling bad ,he throw away any chance the might have had so its only right
he feels bad and shoulders the blame .average keeper in an average side.:(
Jesus, yee are all having a go at Wembley and ML. If he is so average, why did he get a phone call on saturday to become the Oscar Traynor Number 1????????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????????????? Just goes to show some peolpe talk out their hat pretending to know something about this sport:) :)
see's it
12/03/2007, 10:10 AM
that means f**k all,james o donnell is the left full and his well below average.
whose the OT manager now?
candystripes
12/03/2007, 11:45 AM
Jesus, yee are all having a go at Wembley and ML. If he is so average, why did he get a phone call on saturday to become the Oscar Traynor Number 1????????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????????????? Just goes to show some peolpe talk out their hat pretending to know something about this sport:) :)
he wont be getting the call up after yesterdays performance.Cant give away two soft goals like that to a team like killister and expect to have any chance.
whos number 10 for killister,caused wembly all sorts of problems
themerryman
12/03/2007, 11:52 AM
ah might have something to do with Gordon stewart refusing it , ian bennis refusing it, and 4 or 5 more refusing it , get a grip the o s team is a joke only
idiots like you would think it means something:eek:
footie
12/03/2007, 1:01 PM
ah might have something to do with Gordon stewart refusing it , ian bennis refusing it, and 4 or 5 more refusing it , get a grip the o s team is a joke only
idiots like you would think it means something:eek:
Jesus. Whats wrong with everyone today??????
Was only voicing my opinion.
He's a decent keeper. One of the better keepers in 1A.
And its still an honour to play for your city, joke or no joke.
Now lets all calm down and have a nice cup of tea.