View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22

leather
02/02/2007, 11:08 AM
Hooperlooper.... 8 + 8 = 16. 16 plus 44(width of are)= 60

how you get 70 yards wide???

magpies
02/02/2007, 11:15 AM
Newcastle West V Villa fc, Ballygown Park kick off @2pm (outside officials)

MitreSize5
02/02/2007, 12:59 PM
Hooperlooper.... 8 + 8 = 16. 16 plus 44(width of are)= 60

how you get 70 yards wide???

we must borrow dermot finnans measuring tape:)

jimbo
02/02/2007, 2:51 PM
right lads prediction time for weekend; scores etc

thomas72
02/02/2007, 3:38 PM
not consistant coz there ****:D they didnt meet a good team yet:) they are the wimbledon of the 80s

i think thats an unfair comment i know for a fact none of the carew lads expect to win the fai there susprised themselves on how far they have come and with a home tie next there very relaxed because no one expects them to win it. jason o connor is buliding a team that can challange for the league on day its his first season and he is doing a very good job the first thing he got into the club was discipline which was the cause of carew losing so many cup finals and important games over the years. carew have not picked up one red card this season how many clubs can say that. you have to remember out of a squad of 20 all he has left out of the players who are with carew a long time are gordon, albert sla, ger ned, wheelen, koyce, mike carey, he has signed some excellant players who are doing very well for the club etc rhino,farmer,phil cla, ming, johnny corbett, and with the the work started on there new home which will rival any set up around things appear good for the future of the club

02/02/2007, 4:04 PM
Backed clonmel at 2/1 to beat Killester in ladbrokes

jimbo
02/02/2007, 4:41 PM
cant see them doing killester in 90 mins to be fair; might beat them on pens; wont have come across 2 lads as quick as killester have up front; are clonmel coming up the night before?

hooperlooper
02/02/2007, 8:15 PM
leather,,,,,,,,,,,,the 18 yard box is only a reference to the distance from the end line to the edge of the penalty area,the width of the penalty area just has to be greater than that of the 6 yard box,which has to start at right angles to the end line 6 yards out from the goal and 6 yards to the side of each goal post,the edge of the ''box'' from left to right can be of any distance greater than this just as long as it is 18 yards from goal line to edge of area.there is a minimum distane to be used as a guide line but it is not obligitry,you can always look at the fifa web site FIFA.COM if you need any futher help with the rules,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,jimbo killumney play in the cork premier A just below the top teir,there pitch is in killeady,which is half way down to bandon,its a decent pitch flat and wide,they can be quite physcial at times but are a decent football side if left to run a game, a few good experienced players and they were one of the first teams down in cork to start crossin the palms of players so to speak in order to climb up the ranks,we played them last year and the best ad:ball: vice i can give is to have a couple of quick wide men and get them to take the full backs on as much as possible as they dont take any prisoners in d tackle,for a physcial side they dont like it bein done to them which is a common trait amoungst that kind of side so at them from the start and you should be sorted ''ps there keeper is quite good so keep your crosses away from him,hope this was of some help

last man
02/02/2007, 8:26 PM
leather,,,,,,,,,,,,the 18 yard box is only a reference to the distance from the end line to the edge of the penalty area,the width of the penalty area just has to be greater than that of the 6 yard box,which has to start at right angles to the end line 6 yards out from the goal and 6 yards to the side of each goal post,the edge of the ''box'' from left to right can be of any distance greater than this just as long as it is 18 yards from goal line to edge of area.there is a minimum distane to be used as a guide line but it is not obligitry,you can always look at the fifa web site FIFA.COM if you need any futher help with the rules,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,jimbo killumney play in the cork premier A just below the top teir,there pitch is in killeady,which is half way down to bandon,its a decent pitch flat and wide,they can be quite physcial at times but are a decent football side if left to run a game, a few good experienced players and they were one of the first teams down in cork to start crossin the palms of players so to speak in order to climb up the ranks,we played them last year and the best ad:ball: vice i can give is to have a couple of quick wide men and get them to take the full backs on as much as possible as they dont take any prisoners in d tackle,for a physcial side they dont like it bein done to them which is a common trait amoungst that kind of side so at them from the start and you should be sorted ''ps there keeper is quite good so keep your crosses away from him,hope this was of some help

mother of devine god mr.hooperlooper u either are the fastest typer in the world or ya have nout else for doin.......

The Ref
02/02/2007, 8:33 PM
leather,,,,,,,,,,,,the 18 yard box is only a reference to the distance from the end line to the edge of the penalty area,the width of the penalty area just has to be greater than that of the 6 yard box,which has to start at right angles to the end line 6 yards out from the goal and 6 yards to the side of each goal post,the edge of the ''box'' from left to right can be of any distance greater than this just as long as it is 18 yards from goal line to edge of area.there is a minimum distane to be used as a guide line but it is not obligitry,you can always look at the fifa web site FIFA.COM if you need any futher help with the rules

Incorrect.

The Box must be 18 yards from the endline to the edge of the box (as you say)

The box must also be 18 yards from the goalpost (Law 1 states)

The goal is 8 yards wide

The width of the box from one side to the other is 44 yards (18+18+8)

You can check FIFAs Law book if you require any further help with the rules!

The Ref

hooperlooper
02/02/2007, 9:20 PM
sorry again ref but law 1 is in relation to fifas rules on how professional pitchs shoud be lined,with a minimum requirement for the peno area and various other measurements,junior pitchs are not subject to this as it is a non pro game and all you have to do to play a game at junior level is have 2 goal posts a ball 22 lads a ref and a bloody net with a few squiggles in between 4 lines,i have played against msl sides in cork that when you went outside there 18 yard box the side line was 3 yards away,top msl sides, the fifa rules and regulations regarding the dimensions of a pitch are for use in fifa or fifa offiliate (uefa,concaf ect ect) competitions and the competions that fall under those offiliates where either pro players or refs are used or the competition rules clearly state that the dimensions of the pitch should fall within a certain criteria,which it dosent for the fai junior,they just quote law 1 which again is only for the pro or international game so here we are goin round in circles again,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

The Ref
02/02/2007, 10:45 PM
sorry again ref but law 1 is in relation to fifas rules on how professional pitchs shoud be lined,with a minimum requirement for the peno area and various other measurements,junior pitchs are not subject to this as it is a non pro game and all you have to do to play a game at junior level is have 2 goal posts a ball 22 lads a ref and a bloody net with a few squiggles in between 4 lines,i have played against msl sides in cork that when you went outside there 18 yard box the side line was 3 yards away,top msl sides, the fifa rules and regulations regarding the dimensions of a pitch are for use in fifa or fifa offiliate (uefa,concaf ect ect) competitions and the competions that fall under those offiliates where either pro players or refs are used or the competition rules clearly state that the dimensions of the pitch should fall within a certain criteria,which it dosent for the fai junior,they just quote law 1 which again is only for the pro or international game so here we are goin round in circles again,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Incorrect again,

All games are subject to the laws of the game.

For international football, the specifications regarding the minimum/maximum width and length are more specific than the general spec (but it is within it), but all laws are binding on junior football- here is exactly what Law 1 states:

Dimensions
The field of play must be rectangular. The length of the touch line must be greater than the length of the goal line.

Length:
minimum 90 m (100 yds)
maximum 120 m (130 yds)

Width: minimum 45 m (50 yds)
maximum 90 m (100 yds)

International Matches
Length:
minimum 100 m (110 yds)
maximum 110 m (120 yds)

Width:
minimum 64 m (70 yds)
maximum 75 m (80 yds)

According to your logic, clubs can a-la-carte cherry pick the rules to suite their needs, eh, I don't think so. Why don't the MSL or Cork AUL (or any league) throw away the offside rule?, it would make for more open play... the reason is they can't.

Incidentally, nets are not obligatory.

The Ref

Fair Play
02/02/2007, 10:52 PM
I am afraid you are wrong, and The Ref is correct. I think you need to read the Laws of the Game again. There is nothing wrong with having only 3 yards on either side outside the penalty area - this would give a total of 44 yards for the width of the penalty area, plus 2 multiply by 3 yards (6) outside the penalty area. This would give you a total of 50 yards, which is the minimum width for a pitch. This is a minimum requirement for all pitches irrespective of the game, except in certain underage matches where the rules have been accepted for those particular competitions.

hooperlooper
03/02/2007, 1:48 AM
firstly it was'nt me who brought this up it was van the man and i couldnt give 2 fxxxs how big the poxy pitch is cause im not playn on it,and all law one states as you have pointed out is the dimensions of a pitch lenght by breath,those are the minimum and maximum sizes you have to adhear to ,too be able to play,the internal dimensions are only quoted guide lines because they are based on a full size pitch not a junior pitch,a junior pitch is only subject to the fifa law 1 in regards to lenght and width and all other dimensions would be in relation to the size of your pitch,if you have an 18 yard box with only 3 yards to the side line you should be playn five aside,if we choose to have an extra 5 yards either side of the goals id say thats our own decision and we couldnt give a fifa,a fufu a fifi or a fxxk about anyone else ahahahahahahahahah

wilhelm2
03/02/2007, 8:00 AM
is,nt it time you dropped the hooper from your name????????

The Ref
03/02/2007, 2:01 PM
firstly it was'nt me who brought this up it was van the man and i couldnt give 2 fxxxs how big the poxy pitch is cause im not playn on it,and all law one states as you have pointed out is the dimensions of a pitch lenght by breath,those are the minimum and maximum sizes you have to adhear to ,too be able to play,the internal dimensions are only quoted guide lines because they are based on a full size pitch not a junior pitch,a junior pitch is only subject to the fifa law 1 in regards to lenght and width and all other dimensions would be in relation to the size of your pitch,if you have an 18 yard box with only 3 yards to the side line you should be playn five aside,if we choose to have an extra 5 yards either side of the goals id say thats our own decision and we couldnt give a fifa,a fufu a fifi or a fxxk about anyone else ahahahahahahahahah

??????????????

Within Law 1 it states:

The Penalty Area
A penalty area is defined at each end of the field as follows:
Two lines are drawn at right angles to the goal line, 16.5 m (18 yds) from the inside of each goalpost. These lines extend into the field of play for a distance of 16.5 m (18 yds) and are joined by a line drawn parallel with the goal line. The area bounded by these lines and the goal line is the penalty area.

(It also has diagrams)

Also the Laws may only be modified in their application for matches for players of under 16 years of age, for women footballers, for veteran footballers (over 35 years) and for players with disabilities.

Any or all of the following modifications are permissible:

• size of the field of play
• size, weight and material of the ball
• width between the goalposts and height of the crossbar from the ground
• duration of the periods of play
• substitutions

Junior football (which is what we are talking about on this fourm) does not fall into any of these categories!

Therefore you are wrong.

The End

The Ref

last man
03/02/2007, 2:05 PM
is,nt it time you dropped the hooper from your name????????
:D :D :D

magpies
03/02/2007, 3:32 PM
Holy sh1t Pike Rovers out of the Fai Junior Cup, lost on pens, aparentally a lot of contriversey, any info?

Worldcup
03/02/2007, 5:27 PM
mate no disrespect or anything but pike are playing in the most competitive league in the country against some of the most physical teams in the country, and on some of the biggest cabbage patchs in ireland so we wont be found wanting on any of those counts.

ye seem to fancy yer chances in a big waywell it just show's what can happen in cup football.let's see how many player's leave to play with lim37 now pike are out of the fai.;)

lim abroad
03/02/2007, 6:14 PM
well it just show's what can happen in cup football.let's see how many player's leave to play with lim37 now pike are out of the fai.;)

are they really out???how come the game was played on a sat?

The Ref
03/02/2007, 6:25 PM
are they really out???how come the game was played on a sat?

Not all junior teams play on Sunday as they do in Limerick, I think Gratten play Saturday in the Cork AUL so they play on a day that suits them?

lim abroad
03/02/2007, 6:29 PM
Not all junior teams play on Sunday as they do in Limerick, I think Gratten play Saturday in the Cork AUL so they play on a day that suits them?

can you confirm that grattan won ref?

smellyfeet
03/02/2007, 6:36 PM

Ya Pike are out, lost on peno's.
it was 3 all in the game then into peno's.
Will they every win the FAI.:confused:

The Ref
03/02/2007, 6:40 PM

No, maybe someone else can, if so well done Grattan :)

lim abroad
03/02/2007, 6:41 PM
Ya Pike are out, lost on peno's.
it was 3 all in the game then into peno's.
Will they every win the FAI.:confused:

jeez thats a big shock alright,i'm sure they'll win it someday but they've lacked serious bottle in recent years.they've been excellent these last few years domestically and have beaten a lot of top sides in the fai but just haven't been able to win it.

smellyfeet
03/02/2007, 6:57 PM
jeez thats a big shock alright,i'm sure they'll win it someday but they've lacked serious bottle in recent years.they've been excellent these last few years domestically and have beaten a lot of top sides in the fai but just haven't been able to win it.

Suppose your right, doesn't help when you go down to 10 men either " beleive me it has happened to us 7 times this year" also peno's are a lottery. Pike missed their last peno, feall sorry for player tough, he must be cutted, sure it could happen to anyone and i'm sure his team mates wont pass any blame on him either, he'll just have to go out and score the winner in another big game for them.

Goals4fun
03/02/2007, 7:01 PM
pike lost 5-4 on penalties.
they were two down and came back to 2 all. Then conceeded again . at 3-2 they had sniffer sent off for two yellows (one for diving and 1 for leading with elbow even though the other player was never touched and never looked for a free or nothing).
Pulled it back to 3-3 when a grattan defender handled the ball and they scored a peno (no yellow for the player)
No score in extra time and the first 4 pike players scored and the last missed.
They should have had at least 2 more peno's during the game but at the end of the day they played poor and conceeded 3 goals from set plays. For such a big side that is strange, maybe the moment or tyhe occasion got to them.
While grattan get home ties they will be tough to beat but onvce them move from there i expect them to be beaten. They will not win the fai.
Pike seem to fall around this stage for the past few years. Do they really have what it takes to win an FAI? one wonders....

therise
03/02/2007, 7:12 PM
Excellent result for Grattan. Great to see a cork aul side at this stage. Grattan will fancy themselves home or away especially after knocking out Pike and Clonmel

lim abroad
03/02/2007, 7:25 PM
pike lost 5-4 on penalties.
they were two down and came back to 2 all. Then conceeded again . at 3-2 they had sniffer sent off for two yellows (one for diving and 1 for leading with elbow even though the other player was never touched and never looked for a free or nothing).
Pulled it back to 3-3 when a grattan defender handled the ball and they scored a peno (no yellow for the player)
No score in extra time and the first 4 pike players scored and the last missed.
They should have had at least 2 more peno's during the game but at the end of the day they played poor and conceeded 3 goals from set plays. For such a big side that is strange, maybe the moment or tyhe occasion got to them.
While grattan get home ties they will be tough to beat but onvce them move from there i expect them to be beaten. They will not win the fai.
Pike seem to fall around this stage for the past few years. Do they really have what it takes to win an FAI? one wonders....

did pike miss a peno in extra time too?

Goals4fun
03/02/2007, 7:48 PM
did pike miss a peno in extra time too?

no . they missed one out of the 6 they took. (1 in normal scored and 5 in the shootout (4 scored)

smellyfeet
03/02/2007, 7:54 PM
Excellent result for Grattan. Great to see a cork aul side at this stage. Grattan will fancy themselves home or away especially after knocking out Pike and Clonmel

I say they won't fear anyone at this stage and rightly so.
Anyone know what the Pike team was.

the only 1
03/02/2007, 8:05 PM
I say they won't fear anyone at this stage and rightly so.
Anyone know what the Pike team was.

hickey,mitchell,enright,mc,carry,hanrahan,boyle,fi nucane,hartnett,grady,mc,carthy,sniffer boyle man of the match but misseed pen in shootout gratten r poor if it was on in the pike would lose 4r5nil ref was **** gratten player handled on line when at 2all ref played on well done to gratten on the day but they had a lot of help from the ref

inexile
03/02/2007, 8:30 PM
why could you not have just left it at well done to gratten instead of making excuses, if you are beaten i can't understand why people cant just say nothing and take it on the chin

smellyfeet
03/02/2007, 8:44 PM
if you are beaten i can't understand why people cant just say nothing and take it on the chin

Well if the ref did screw Pike then it is very hard to just let it go.
Its the worst fealling to be screwed in a game and anyone involved in a game
wether it be ref or linesman or anyone for that matter that delibritly make these decision should be ashamed, biggest game of the season and the whole build up to it is something that these people don't seem to care about.Its cheating no matter what way you look at it. Its sad to say but it happens every week and will keep happening.:mad:

allab
03/02/2007, 9:31 PM

They beat peake villa, clonmel are stil in it

KrocBoy
04/02/2007, 12:06 AM
They beat peake villa, clonmel are stil in it

Clonmel Town are still in yes, I'm sure he's refering to Clonmel Celtic who Grattan beat 3-2 aet in Tipp.:cool:

KrocBoy
04/02/2007, 12:29 AM
wether it be ref or linesman or anyone for that matter that delibritly make these decision should be ashamed, biggest game of the season and the whole build up to it is something that these people don't seem to care about.Its cheating no matter what way you look at it. Its sad to say but it happens every week and will keep happening.:mad:

To be honest lads was at the game and the ref was not the best but to say he screwed Pike is a joke. In fairness he made some bizzare decisions but he was very fair to both sides on the day.

Its fair enough to be upset if you were clearly robbed by a home official, but at this stage of the competition are the ref's not from a neutral league!

To be fair the sending off seemed a bit harsh alright I don't think it was a deliberate elbow myself its just that he's hands were raised when jumping for the header as is the norm. Pike's penality was a debatable issue too like, from where i was standing it looked more like ball to hand than a deliberate hand ball!
The players hand was down by his side when it hit him and he didn't appear to move his hand to block the ball in any way.

Fair play to both teams on the day the game was highly entertaining to say the least.;)

hooperlooper
04/02/2007, 9:55 AM
to be very honest a part of me this mornin was expectin a few nice messages regardin the game,alas it dosent seem that way,why when a team is beaten dose some one always say that they were robbed by the ref that is a very poor statement to make ,defeat is never easy to take,but to takeit with humility shows a great team,pike are they did not argue with the ref afterwards they tried there best and on the day it was not good enough should be left at that.............................................. ......,the referee yesterday was poor,very poor,grattan were about as happy as pike were to have him ref the game,there wasnt a bad tackle in the game yet how many were bookd,a man sent off,he gave a peno 4 pike,could have given one for gattan in the first 20 mins when our outside right went 2 nod the ball on and was polaxed by the pike left back,who was poor,but he didnt and you just get on with it,them the joys,when grattan went to play clon celtic they were supposed to bet easy pickins for celtic, grattan came from a goal down to win the game 3/2 after xtra time and showed great spirit,next peake were to come to cork for another walk in the park,grattan disposed of them 2 2/1,then pike munsters finest and 2nd favs to win outright by some bookies came and went and still the gratts are standin and still there are those who say they will lose the next round,we might well but if we do you wont have any grattan members or supporters blowin wind out their backsides like spoilt kids whingin causethey did not win,,,,,,,,,grattans whole game is about hard work,they close down very quick,dont allow any space and attack on the break,they are VERY GOOD at it,to say pike would have won 5 nil if at home is childish whimperin,pike were physcially bigger but i think they were surpried by how well grattan came at them,i thought it was a crackin tie,pike have a great team,i thought they were the best team grattan have played in the 15 years i have been envolved as aplayer or commitee member,top lads as well,pikes supporters deserve a special thanks as well they were fantasic on the day a credit to there club,as regards who gratan get in the quaters,do ye honestly tink we care,to lose in the quaters for a club of our size,with players so inexpeirenced would still be a fantastic result for all our hard work this year and home or away the gratts will give no one an easy victory,3 times we have bin written off and 3 times we have done the job,,,,humble pie is never easy but there are some of you out there that should have kitchen full of it but still you wont admit even wen its oozin out yer arse that ye were beaten by a team who wantd it more,grattan are without the dark horses of the fai junior and it would be nice for some of ye out there to admit they are,to the people who have wishd us luck thanks you very much,to the the shower who keep puttin us down ,kiss my fuzzy white ass,,,,COME ON THE GRATTS

tipp man
04/02/2007, 10:34 AM
Only two things wrong with that last post hooperlooper. Firstly you referred to Pike Rovers as 'Munster's finest' even though Clonmel Town have contested the last 3 Munster Junior Cup finals and are the current holders. Secondly, is your last post the longest single sentence ever?

scoobysham
04/02/2007, 1:45 PM
heard there was a lot of aggro on pike's bus home

jumping jac
04/02/2007, 2:07 PM
[QUOTE=hooperlooper;616545]to be very honest a part of me this mornin

Hooperlooper I wish ye the best of luck in the next round, and well done for beating one of favourites. It's very hard to beat this Pike team but ye showed ye have balls. Well done again and bext of luck of one of those Pike fans that was there on the day.:)

magpies
04/02/2007, 3:42 PM
NewcastleWest 0-0 Villa. Villa win 2-0 after extra time.

Newcastle West left the game behind them with a series of missed chances, they just could'nt find the net Villa's first goal in extra time was a freak goal where a miss hit shot scrambled through 3 players and goalie. Newcastle pushed on for an equaliser and where caught on the break.

irishkop
04/02/2007, 4:04 PM
Carrick Utd bet Portmarnock 2-1. Thomas Fitzgerald getting both goals after Portmarnock had taken an early lead. Portmarnock scored after about 3 or 4 minutes however Carrick then equalised within a minute or so with Fizzy following up on a free kick and then adding a second from the penalty spot after Wayne Fitzgerald was taken down. Portmarnock then had a man sent off for a second yellow card. To their credit Portmarnock applied a good bit of pressure in the second half but Carrick held on for the win. Overall a very entertaining game.

the only 1
04/02/2007, 4:04 PM
heard there was a lot of aggro on pike's bus home

you heard wrong

tipp man
04/02/2007, 6:29 PM
Killester beat Clonmel Town 2-0 aet.

tipp man
04/02/2007, 6:30 PM
Great win for Carrick. Beat a good Portmarnock side. First half was about as good a half of football as I have seen this year. Clonmel Town, Pike, and Portmarnock out at last 16 stage. A Killester v Carrick final would be momentous if they can avoid each other until May.

MunsterMunch
04/02/2007, 8:12 PM
HooperLooper, i dont think i have read any posts that have been more ignorant than yours....please reference any posts or facts that clonmel or peake actually said that playing grattan was a walk in the park???!! people on this site have said fair play to grattan for making the last 8 but all you do is reply with stupid posts claiming how everyone thinks that grattan are a cake walk.....get over yourself! there is such thing as a gracious winner you know

Den Perry
04/02/2007, 8:33 PM

Was the ref Stevens? He turned down a stone wall hand ball in the box for peake villa down there

tipp man
04/02/2007, 8:40 PM
The 'us against the world' mantra is the oldest one in the game. Den Perry you are worse than Mr. Hooper if you rise to his rubbish. If I were to post something like 'they'll be gone by the next round' he would jump on it and continue with his postings. Lets just see who Grattan get and wait until they play next before engaging in any more pointless name calling.

Dr Mad
04/02/2007, 9:11 PM
Just a quick note to say congratulations to Carrick on beating us today down in their quality set-up in Kilnamuck. A decent club who try to play skilful football and a good gang of lads on and off the pitch as well. Great experience for our young Porto squad to get this far in this re-building season and hopefully will be put to good effect in the years ahead.

My money is still firmly on Killester although the smile on Graydons face if they win it would probably make me even sicker than I feel tonight :(