View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22

07/02/2007, 3:57 PM
here is a little more from the ( maybe biased ;) ) local paper:

http://www.roscommonherald.com/news/story.asp?j=5467

Spongey
07/02/2007, 4:27 PM
Good man Paul u tell them we got this far by taking 3 sligo teams a cork team (killumney 5-1) and a dub team (trinity corinthians 1-0) on our day we like any other team can beat anyone we didn't play very well on sun we can play better don't underestimate the country teams id like to think we can go on would b hard to win it. Any one no what west utd are like. castlerea celtic.

No disrespect at all to castlerea as they've done great to get this far but they have had 5 home draws to date with a sixth to come. As regards the Sligo teams they played 2 premier sides and one average super league side. They also lost to a struggling super league side in the connacht cup.

Have to fancy West for this one, recently knocked the super league leaders from sligo out of the connacht cup and going well in a strong galway league. Sorry castlerea

abbeyvale
08/02/2007, 7:22 AM
wembley v woodview is on this sunday at 2

This is the last 16 stage, correct?

footie
08/02/2007, 8:25 AM
This is the last 16 stage, correct?

Correct.

08/02/2007, 10:24 AM
spongey, castlerea aren't playing at home, their own pitch is being levelled!!!! ;)

abbeyvale
08/02/2007, 2:21 PM
wembley v woodview is on this sunday at 2

Best of luck to all involved at Wembley for Sunday's game, hope ye win it.

Spongey
08/02/2007, 3:56 PM
spongey, castlerea aren't playing at home, their own pitch is being levelled!!!! ;)

so is the game being played in Galway or have ye found an alternative venue?

magpies
09/02/2007, 9:43 AM
Rangers CYM/Kildare County/Belvedere V Freebooters AFC
Dundalk/Shamrock Rovers/Athlon Town V Cobh Ramblers
Manor Rangers V Everton AFC
Ballyglass/Castlebar Celtic V Fanad United
Newcastle West V Lourdes Celtic? Ballybrack FC
Longford Town V East Meath/Rotoath Harps/Swords Celtic/ Howth
Clonmel Town/Bohemians V Newmarket Celtic
Borrisoleigh AFC/Gearldines V Wembley Rovers

anyone know anything about Lourdes Celtic/Ballbrack FC

eltell
09/02/2007, 10:24 AM
so is the game being played in Galway or have ye found an alternative venue?

we have been playing all our games in local grounds while our pitch is being developed new survice add flood lights . the game against trinity wasent a bad game ronan robbed the keeper on the end line out at the edge of the 18 yard box he passed to conor whos shot was blocked on the line by three defenders but coner poked the ball in from between there legs right on the line, trinity hit the post once had a lot of the ball but our defence delt with everything well they had 3 or 4 shots well wide we had our chances to put it to bed too .
THe game will b in glenamaddy and its on sun week the 18th @ 2 pm

eltell
09/02/2007, 10:38 AM
No disrespect at all to castlerea as they've done great to get this far but they have had 5 home draws to date with a sixth to come. As regards the Sligo teams they played 2 premier sides and one average super league side. They also lost to a struggling super league side in the connacht cup.

Have to fancy West for this one, recently knocked the super league leaders from sligo out of the connacht cup and going well in a strong galway league. Sorry castlerea

We lost to cliffoney fron sligo we had one of our bad days were missing 5 first players they got a soft goal the wind was gale force there pitch is beside the sea just wernt up for it the game had been called off twice before that due to weather they were beat in the next round

swinfordfc
09/02/2007, 11:03 AM
Rangers CYM/Kildare County/Belvedere V Freebooters AFC
Dundalk/Shamrock Rovers/Athlone Town V Cobh Ramblers
Manor Rangers V Everton AFC
Castlebar Celtic V Fanad United
Newcastle West V Lourdes Celtic/Ballybrack FC
Longford Town V East Meath/Rotoath Harps/Swords Celtic/ Howth
Clonmel Town/Bohemians V Newmarket Celtic
Borrisoleigh AFC/Gearldines V Wembley Rovers

Castlebar beat Ballyglass :D

west awake
09/02/2007, 6:01 PM
P Team M. W D L Diff. Goals Pts.
1. (1.) Mervue Utd 10 7 2 1 22 29 : 7 23
2. (2.) Athenry 11 6 4 1 12 24 : 12 22
3. (3.) Salthill Devon 10 7 1 2 9 18 : 9 22
4. (4.) West Utd 11 5 5 1 7 20 : 13 20
5. (5.) Galway Hibs 9 5 2 2 12 24 : 12 17
6. (6.) Dynamo Blues 12 4 1 7 -7 20 : 27 13
7. (7.) Corrib Rangers 11 2 3 6 -8 14 : 22 9
8. (8.) Colemanstown 10 2 2 6 -8 15 : 23 8
9. (9.) Renmore 8 1 4 3 -3 8 : 11 7

This is the Galway league table at the moment and as it stands West UTD are in 4th position. We Newtown played them in the FAI last year and they were very poor,saying that they beat us and we were at home.We were absolutely terrible same day.Maybe i am wrong but if they are mush the same team as last year then they aren't great.

smellyfeet i think you will find that it was 2 years ago newtown played west and not last year,i agree,2 very poor teams on the day,west winning comfortably 2-0.that was probably the worst west team in their long history,and they were relegated shortly after that!in came a new manager and rebuilt the team from scratch,took them out of the 1st division and back into the premier,of the west team who played newtown 2 years ago only 1 started against wfta last sunday,a game in which we were very lucky 2 win,but thats cup football!castlerea up next which will be another tough game,with a bit of luck you never know!

smellyfeet
09/02/2007, 7:30 PM
smellyfeet i think you will find that it was 2 years ago newtown played west and not last year,i agree,2 very poor teams on the day,west winning comfortably 2-0.that was probably the worst west team in their long history,and they were relegated shortly after that!in came a new manager and rebuilt the team from scratch,took them out of the 1st division and back into the premier,of the west team who played newtown 2 years ago only 1 started against wfta last sunday,a game in which we were very lucky 2 win,but thats cup football!castlerea up next which will be another tough game,with a bit of luck you never know!

I stand corrected.It was a terrible game alright, fair play in turning thing around. All the best in next round

west awake
10/02/2007, 2:55 AM
thanks smellyfeet,and may i wish ye all the best as well in your domestic league,we were treated very well by ye before and after the game and if ye ever come to galway,ye will be well looked after,gentlemen all!we'll give it our best in the next round!

Fair Play
11/02/2007, 4:18 PM
STATOIL F.A.I. JUNIOR CUP - QUARTER FINAL DRAW
Carew Park F.C. or Salthill Devon F.C. V Castlerea Celtic or West Utd.
Carrick Utd. V St. John Bosco or Shangan Ath.
Wembly Rovers or Woodview Celtic V Killester Utd.
Grattan Utd. V Villa F.C.

Ties to be played weekend of the 24th/25th February 2007.

Tipperary_Man
11/02/2007, 6:15 PM
jaysus another home draw for grattan, is lady luck shining on them?? still think killester will win the thing out though

Super Rovers
12/02/2007, 12:53 AM
wembley 4 - 0 woodview celtic

what a game for wembley men. were on top from start to finish but credit to celtic never gave in and battled hard.its always tough away from home in this competition as we found out in the last round against baldoyle

swinfordfc
12/02/2007, 8:30 AM

1. Carew Park F.C. or Salthill Devon F.C. V Castlerea Celtic or West Utd.

2. Carrick Utd. V St. John Bosco or Shangan Ath.

3. Wembly Rovers V Killester Utd.

4. Grattan Utd. V Villa F.C.

Ties to be played weekend of the 24th/25th February 2007.

Carew Park v Salthill Devon and Castlerea Celtic v West Utd on next Sunday, 18th February.
When is St. John Bosco v Shangan Ath being played? anyone?

see's it
12/02/2007, 10:11 AM
Well done Wembley

swinfordfc
12/02/2007, 11:29 AM

1. Carew Park F.C. or Salthill Devon F.C. V Castlerea Celtic or West Utd.

2. Carrick Utd. V St. John Bosco

3. Wembly Rovers V Killester Utd.

4. Grattan Utd. V Villa F.C.

Derek
12/02/2007, 1:19 PM
Anyone have directions to Wembley Rovers Ground?

thomas72
12/02/2007, 1:29 PM
well lads what yer perdictions for CAREW PARK V SALTHILL DEVON this weekend it will be a cracker the carew lads were below in newtown watching them and according to some salthill are going to take alot of beaten. im sure salthill wont like coming down here to play them either anyway who ever wins has a home draw in the last 8 again castlrea celtic or west utd great draw for the winner

jumping jac
12/02/2007, 1:34 PM
well lads what yer perdictions for CAREW PARK V SALTHILL DEVON this weekend it will be a cracker the carew lads were below in newtown watching them and according to some salthill are going to take alot of beaten. im sure salthill wont like coming down here to play them either anyway who ever wins has a home draw in the last 8 again castlrea celtic or west utd great draw for the winner

Thomas what time and when is this match on ? I take it it's going ahead this weekend ? I hope Carew win and get through to the next round. Probably take a trip up and support them if it's on after dinner this Sunday ?

thomas72
12/02/2007, 1:41 PM
Thomas what time and when is this match on ? I take it it's going ahead this weekend ? I hope Carew win and get through to the next round. Probably take a trip up and support them if it's on after dinner this Sunday ?

2 o clock boro club

just like to say well done to wembley rovers on an excellant win yesterday besk of luck against killester

papa-j
12/02/2007, 2:38 PM

I played for Newtwon v Salthill, who are a decent footballing side. 2 strong full backs, particularly the right back. I thought the centre backs were shaky under pressure and gave us a few sniffs at goal from sloppy defending. The midfield is ok nothing special, right sided player is decent. The 2 lads up front are very busy and chase every ball. If Carew give them space they will cause damage. They beat us 2-0 and we were in the game for 70 mins despite being short 4 players who probably would have started.
I fancy Carew Park at home to win but they'll have to dominate physically, keep their wide men pushed onto the Salthill fullbacks and mark the 2 strikers closely. If Carew play anywhere near their best they should win.

the dazzler
12/02/2007, 3:21 PM

monty you were told carew will win the fai out so why are you asking will we beat salthill we should win 2or3 nil watched them against a bad newtown team and they were poor its between us and killester:cool:

thomas72
13/02/2007, 7:16 AM
monty you were told carew will win the fai out so why are you asking will we beat salthill we should win 2or3 nil watched them against a bad newtown team and they were poor its between us and killester:cool:

lads i can safely say dazzler does not speak on behalf of carew park in fact he is a player with another club in this town trying to stir up ****. just because this certin person was talking to one of the countrys top newspapers about his team winning the fai and yet again got dumped out he is trying to make sure everyone gets a good slag off carew when there knocked out. as i said before carew know they wont win any fai and susprised themselves on how far they got and if they do go out again salthill AT LEAST IT WILL BE TO A TOP TEAM AND WELL RESPECTED JUNIOR CLUB IN THIS COUNTRY

the only 1
13/02/2007, 9:00 AM
lads i can safely say dazzler does not speak on behalf of carew park in fact he is a player with another club in this town trying to stir up ****. just because this certin person was talking to one of the countrys top newspapers about his team winning the fai and yet again got dumped out he is trying to make sure everyone gets a good slag off carew when there knocked out. as i said before carew know they wont win any fai and susprised themselves on how far they got and if they do go out again salthill AT LEAST IT WILL BE TO A TOP TEAM AND WELL RESPECTED JUNIOR CLUB IN THIS COUNTRY

ye havent played a decent team yet and as for salthill come on they would not be a top team pike played ballymun,wembly beat castlebar, boro played clonmel and yes dazzler is involved with carew park no point puttin the blame on conny he seems to be everyone on this site should be carew for a top ten finish in the limerick league:)

thomas72
13/02/2007, 9:11 AM
ye havent played a decent team yet and as for salthill come on they would not be a top team pike played ballymun,wembly beat castlebar, boro played clonmel and yes dazzler is involved with carew park no point puttin the blame on conny he seems to be everyone on this site should be carew for a top ten finish in the limerick league:)

ya your right regional are a poor team :rolleyes: do you ever post anything thats not full of **** you can only beat whats in front of you. two away matches again the kilkenny champions and rockmount thats the team that beat gratton 2 and 3 nil already this season in there league so if gratton are that good rockmount must be like brazil any result away from home in the out of town stages of the fai is a good result. who did pike beat some second divsion galway team 8 nil a poor ballymun team and then it was bye bye AGAINST GRATTON. carew actually played a better team than pike in regional anyone who was at the ballymun match will know they very very avarge team.

the dazzler
13/02/2007, 9:15 AM
ya your right regional are a poor team :rolleyes: do you ever post anything thats not full of **** you can only beat whats in front of you. two away matches again the kilkenny champions and rockmount thats the team that beat gratton 2 and 3 nil already this season in there league so if gratton are that good rockmount must be like brazil any result away from home in the out of town stages of the fai is a good result. who did pike beat some second divsion galway team 8 nil a poor ballymun team and then it was bye bye AGAINST GRATTON. carew actually played a better team than pike in regional anyone who was at the ballymun match will know they very very avarge team.

look dont worry abt these muppets we will have the last laugh and yes we havent played the big lads yet its just the way the draw went oh yes please dont compare me to conny :eek:

the only 1
13/02/2007, 9:20 AM

just saying carew had a handier draw than the rest id love to see carew or wembly win it carew have a better chance coz of wembly playing killester

Goals4fun
13/02/2007, 9:42 AM
just saying carew had a handier draw than the rest id love to see carew or wembly win it carew have a better chance coz of wembly playing killester

i think the winners will have to beat killester at some stage anyway

Wembley Rover
13/02/2007, 10:50 AM
i think the winners will have to beat killester at some stage anyway

Winner of Wembley vs Killester will win FAI ha ha

KrocBoy
13/02/2007, 12:44 PM

Where did you get yer info??? Grattan and Rockmount don't even play in the same league. Grattan play in the Cork Aul Premier and the Rockmount team ye played are in the MSL Junior Premier!!:)

Junior One
13/02/2007, 2:37 PM
Salthill Devon will beat Carew Park on Sunday and that will be that!

pearse4t3
13/02/2007, 3:28 PM

I wouldnt discount carew as easily as you seem to be doing. Carew have made alot of changes this season but still have the core of the team that got to the semi 2 seasons ago,gordon,carey,albert,whelan and ger ned. In fairness there league form has been terrible but seem to lift it for the FAI. I reckon there wont be much in it,wouldnt rule out penos.

west awake
13/02/2007, 3:32 PM

i agree with you junior one,i think salthill will also beat carew park,salthill are very tight at the back they don't concede 2 many goals,they are goin well in a strong galway league and carew are hardly settin the limerick league alight,i'll go for a narrow salthill win maybe even on peno's!

i also think carrick will easily dispose of john bosco,killester will have it tough in limerick against wembly,could be a shock you never know,home advantage might just swing it for grattan against villa!

any other predictions?

the hoops
13/02/2007, 3:36 PM
i agree with you junior one,i think salthill will also beat carew park,salthill are very tight at the back they don't concede 2 many goals,they are goin well in a strong galway league and carew are hardly settin the limerick league alight,i'll go for a narrow salthill win maybe even on peno's!

i also think carrick will easily dispose of john bosco,killester will have it tough in limerick against wembly,could be a shock you never know,home advantage might just swing it for grattan against villa!

any other predictions?

gratten pitch is small and bumpy they should beat villa easy thou if u play gratten on a good pitch they will get caught out there fitness is poor

texas ranger
13/02/2007, 4:03 PM
What’s Wembley’s pitch like or will they move the game to Jackman?

MitreSize5
13/02/2007, 4:51 PM
What’s Wembley’s pitch like or will they move the game to Jackman?

they could move it to jackman if they wanted but to be honest they'd be mad to. Rathuards surface is grand but its a very tight pitch and ground. if what people are saying about killester is true then the shoudnt move it in my opinion

pearse4t3
13/02/2007, 4:57 PM
In the eircom league forum its reported that Shane Tracey has signed for Galway United. A MASSIVE LOSS TO WEMBLEY..................

Goals4fun
14/02/2007, 7:41 AM

any other predictions?

if it goes to peno's i fancy carew. Gordon stewart in gols for carew is great at saving them

14/02/2007, 9:59 AM
In the eircom league forum its reported that Shane Tracey has signed for Galway United. A MASSIVE LOSS TO WEMBLEY..................

is that the fella from limerick who had trials with arsenal and his sister plays with arsenal ladies team?

magpies
14/02/2007, 10:48 AM

any other predictions?

Grattan will easily beat Villa, Villa are very ordinary

ffffff
14/02/2007, 11:38 AM
is that the fella from limerick who had trials with arsenal and his sister plays with arsenal ladies team?

yes.he actually was there for a few years not just trials

W.R.F.C
14/02/2007, 12:06 PM
they could move it to jackman if they wanted but to be honest they'd be mad to. Rathuards surface is grand but its a very tight pitch and ground. if what people are saying about killester is true then the shoudnt move it in my opinion

Its going ahead in ratuard, we would be mad allrite to move it, giving away the little advantage we have over them... our pitch is grand anyway so killester wont be too disappointed when they come down... is this match going ahead in 2 weeks, i think i read that in the star yesterday.. can anyone confirm that

smellyfeet
14/02/2007, 12:36 PM
Its going ahead in ratuard, we would be mad allrite to move it, giving away the little advantage we have over them... our pitch is grand anyway so killester wont be too disappointed when they come down... is this match going ahead in 2 weeks, i think i read that in the star yesterday.. can anyone confirm that

Killester are in the US of A at the moment so it prob won't be this week anyway

W.R.F.C
14/02/2007, 1:47 PM
cheers smeelyfeet:) :)

footie
14/02/2007, 2:32 PM
yes.he actually was there for a few years not just trials

Shane Tracey has signed for Galway United on a two year Contract. His last game for Wembley will be tomorrow night in the Munster Minor Quarter Finals at Jackman Park. He will be a huge loss to Wembley Rovers, but more so for the Junior team's FAI run. He didnt play in the league for the juniors this season. Wembley Minors will still prob win the munster minor and F.A.I minor's as they have plenty of talent on the bench. Best of Luck to Shane and I hope he makes it back across to England in the near future, he's definately good enough........

Thunderblaster
14/02/2007, 10:51 PM
My prediction for the last four are Carrick United, Carew Park, Killester United and Villa FC.