View Full Version : Fools guide to buying German tickets

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

Bring Back Mick
12/07/2006, 1:14 PM
the eejits should have had the match at a bigger stadium, like dortmund, munich or berlin

Seems most fans were on the ball with eventim for tickets, within the 1st couple of weeks when going on sale and posted on foot.ie they were delivered to Irish addresses without any problems.

Ask the majority of the fans travelling where they would rather play this game. This is a return to where Ireland hit the big time , thanks to eventim have got tickets for virtually the same seats we were sitting in when Ray put the ball in the England net 18 years ago..................

BA flights / 2 nights 5* Hotel / match ticket - £240.......roll on September !!!

Jens1893
12/07/2006, 1:36 PM
Seems most fans were on the ball with eventim for tickets, within the 1st couple of weeks when going on sale and posted on foot.ie they were delivered to Irish addresses without any problems.

Ask the majority of the fans travelling where they would rather play this game. This is a return to where Ireland hit the big time , thanks to eventim have got tickets for virtually the same seats we were sitting in when Ray put the ball in the England net 18 years ago..................

BA flights / 2 nights 5* Hotel / match ticket - £240.......roll on September !!!

You won´t recognize the stadium if the last time you saw it was in 1988. :)

$Leon$
12/07/2006, 2:14 PM
the eejits should have had the match at a bigger stadium, like dortmund, munich or berlin

The Germans have shown with this WC how many top class stadiums they have. Seen as the DFB doesn't have it's own stadium they use different grounds around the country. Why shouldn't they use Stuttgart the countries 4th largest? It's a 55000 seater stadium remember. You are making it sound like some run down eL ground.

12/07/2006, 2:17 PM
Given I have free accomodation in Stuttgart, I commend the DFB on their wise decision.;)

Forever Dreamin
12/07/2006, 3:36 PM
Travelled with 747 to Paris. Michael sold us tickets of face value of €20 in the French end for €45. We were origionally told they were face value of €30 until we got them in our hands after we payed for them.Alot of other things didn't run smoothly with that trip as far as 747's arrangements were concerned. Transfers were late, he kept changing hotels and trying to get us to pay more for the privilage.

nothing new about that:eek: :eek: :eek:

Forever Dreamin
12/07/2006, 3:53 PM
Sure, ye deserve a match, but I think the DFB might have underestimated the Irish travelling support here. We brought 40,000 to Stade de France, for example.

and do you think that the Germans care about how many we will bring, they could have sold out anygroud they wanted with their own supporters and we would only get 10% of the ground.

what is most important is our friends in eventim gave us loads of tickets :D :D :D

jockser
12/07/2006, 6:05 PM
Hi Lads

im looking for one ticket for this if anyone can help me please?
cheers!

Soko
13/07/2006, 12:06 AM
I'd prefer Munich or Dortmund due to the absence of a running track

reder
13/07/2006, 9:13 AM
The german fa just have to take care of the german fans. As a previous poster said they can fill any ground in their country easily and they are following the rules by giving us 10%. Just because ireland bring a large away support to 1 or maybe 2 games in every campaign shouldnt entitle us to extra tickets. We only give away teams 3,000 for Lansdowne! Basel away part 1 had 20,000 irish fans in the city but the game in the WC qualifiers had about 2,500 at it max. The irish section wasnt even full.

I have 2 friends in Germany who were at all their world cup games and sales for the ireland match passed them by. They have no ticket now as do many other regular german fans. They are rightly annoyed and are all writing to the powers that be to get something done about it. (Personally, I dont think they can do squat about it but you can understand their frustration.)

13/07/2006, 9:22 AM
To be honest the fact they have a system were the general public can buy tickets like ticketmaster for games is a joke to be honest. If I was a german fan I would be ****ed off with the German FA. The Irish fans did the right thing and used their resources.

I think the German FA underestimated the resources of the Irish fan. The French made the same mistake but I suppose the French public did not care for that team much until Zidane came back and they got to a world cup semi final and subsequent final

13/07/2006, 9:47 AM
I rang the gimps the other day and was told, after an elongated pytonesque conversation with some foreign chick, that she could check if you're on the list but that they're not sending out the tickets til August(ie you won't know if you've been successful unless you ring them).

I just rang them and was told they couldn't say if tickets are allocated
to people yet as they are still processing the applications.

galwayhoop
13/07/2006, 10:05 AM
To be honest the fact they have a system were the general public can buy tickets like ticketmaster for games is a joke to be honest. If I was a german fan I would be ****ed off with the German FA. The Irish fans did the right thing and used their resources.

I think the German FA underestimated the resources of the Irish fan. The French made the same mistake but I suppose the French public did not care for that team much until Zidane came back and they go to a world cup semi final.

FINAL methinks!!

13/07/2006, 10:12 AM
FINAL methinks!!

Read it again. I said they did not come back to supporting them until they got to a world cup semi final They then subsequently got to the final. My point was in relation to the fickle French public.

galwayhoop
13/07/2006, 10:40 AM
And why should the amount of travelling fans concern us? If you go without a ticket, that´s your problem ... and the FAI´s, but not ours.

it may be yourselves who are going without tickets!!!!!!

most people on these threads seem to have tickets in the bag and are more worried about accomodation and flights. i know i bought 8 tickets when i heard about them (at that stage only 3 of us had defo plans of going) and told many others who bought similar numbers (again fair play to original poster).

on sept 2nd you will find most of the green army with tickets and those looking will be the germans wanting to ovate their heroes..... sure we'll give them a good cheer and may even learn a few words of yer anthem alá paris!!!

ye may want a bigger stadium then when between 25 - 40% of stadium is green (assuming crowd of somewhere between 13,000 - 22,000 and it is entirely plausible than we may be closer to the latter). i know from a straw pole of people i know who travel away (including band wagoners) that most who travel are going to this one.

roll on sept - i personally can't wait!!!

galwayhoop
13/07/2006, 10:42 AM
Read it again. I said they did not come back to supporting them until they got to a world cup semi final They then subsequently got to the final. My point was in relation to the fickle French public.

me nitt picking again - valid point in original post regardless of incorrect wording:D :D :D

Jens1893
13/07/2006, 12:52 PM

most people on these threads seem to have tickets in the bag and are more worried about accomodation and flights. i know i bought 8 tickets when i heard about them (at that stage only 3 of us had defo plans of going) and told many others who bought similar numbers (again fair play to original poster).

on sept 2nd you will find most of the green army with tickets and those looking will be the germans wanting to ovate their heroes..... sure we'll give them a good cheer and may even learn a few words of yer anthem alá paris!!!

ye may want a bigger stadium then when between 25 - 40% of stadium is green (assuming crowd of somewhere between 13,000 - 22,000 and it is entirely plausible than we may be closer to the latter). i know from a straw pole of people i know who travel away (including band wagoners) that most who travel are going to this one.

roll on sept - i personally can't wait!!!

It was inevitable from the start that at least half the Untertürkheimer Kurve would be green from the start due to Ebay and other things. And if anyone who wanted to go missed the ticket sales, then that´s not my problem, as I have 2 for myself and my dad. I don´t really get your cockiness re: the tickets as I seriously don´t give a flying ****, actually the more, the merrier, as the crowd at Germany homes games usually is terrible and full of clowns and idiots who only have a casual interest in the sport. That actually is one of the things that´s putting me off international football, but let´s discuss this another time. :)

And there still will be plenty of Irish fans without tickets for this one.

Jens1893
13/07/2006, 12:56 PM

Bingo! And I have no problem with that. The Germans who wanted to go and deserved tickets, do have tickets as they ordered as soon as they went on sale. And they were on sale for 2-3 weeks so if you didn´t snap them up when they were on sale, you deserve everything you get.

13/07/2006, 12:59 PM
Thats true, I suppose its different in a large country like Germany were the games are all played around the country but have the German FA ever thought about a block booking system like we have in Ireland. In my opinion the system works well and the only problem I would have with the FAI in this regard is that they dont set up a similar separate system for away games.

Jens1893
13/07/2006, 1:07 PM
Thats true, I suppose its different in a large country like Germany were the games are all played around the country but have the German FA ever thought about a block booking system like we have in Ireland. In my opinion the system works well and the only problem I would have with the FAI in this regard is that they dont set up a similar separate system for away games.

I don´t think it´s neccessary really. The people in the Germany Supporters Club get first option and can buy tickets 2-3 days before they go on general sale. Those who need tickets and deserve them, usually get them one way or another. We also don´t have Ireland´s travelling support for Germany matches as most people prefer to spend their money following their club as we, no offense, have a "proper" league.

It´s club over country for me, too, and I usually only go to home games in Stuttgart and take in an away game every couple of years if the city or the stadium tempts me, like Dublin in October 2007.

13/07/2006, 1:11 PM
Its funny here I think a lot of the hardcore Irish fans are also EL fans all though there many who are not also. But I think anybody that goes to their club week in week out then often goes and supports their country here.

You do have a system then with the German Supporters Club getting 1st option which seems fair enough.

galwayhoop
13/07/2006, 1:21 PM
It was inevitable from the start that at least half the Untertürkheimer Kurve would be green from the start due to Ebay and other things. And if anyone who wanted to go missed the ticket sales, then that´s not my problem, as I have 2 for myself and my dad. I don´t really get your cockiness re: the tickets as I seriously don´t give a flying ****, actually the more, the merrier, as the crowd at Germany homes games usually is terrible and full of clowns and idiots who only have a casual interest in the sport. That actually is one of the things that´s putting me off international football, but let´s discuss this another time. :)

And there still will be plenty of Irish fans without tickets for this one.

it's not cockniness - merely that i assume that there will be many german supporters dissapointed at not seeing their national side on their first competitive outing after world cup.

as stated in an earlier comment re: bigger stadium needed etc. from what i hear on the ground most irish travelling have tickets already and FAI allocation has not been issued yet. similar situation in paris 2 years ago in the end i gave 2 tickets to a young lad selling programmes for free as there wasn't anyone to give them to!!

i understand that the stadium was picked prior to germanys unexpected achievement in WC and i think that as we were not involved our minds were on sept while yer's were on WC.

my point: more home supporters will suffer from lack of tickets than those travelling

Re: quality of germany support at home games, sounds suspiciously like lansdowne

Jens1893
13/07/2006, 1:29 PM
Its funny here I think a lot of the hardcore Irish fans are also EL fans all though there many who are not also. But I think anybody that goes to their club week in week out then often goes and supports their country here.

You do have a system then with the German Supporters Club getting 1st option which seems fair enough.

What are the EL ticket prices like? I don´t think I know more than 2 clubs ... Bohemian and Shelbourne :eek:

I follow my club home and away, but I hardly know ANYONE who goes to Germany games often.

13/07/2006, 1:32 PM
Average about €12-€15 for an adult.

Junior
13/07/2006, 4:08 PM

I'd just like to point out once again, that Jens was in fact a key factor in irish fans being able to get sorted as soon as tickets went on sale via eventim.de, albeit he was not on this forum at the time;)

Thanks again...............

Forever Dreamin
13/07/2006, 5:11 PM
I'd just like to point out once again, that Jens was in fact a key factor in irish fans being able to get sorted as soon as tickets went on sale via eventim.de, albeit he was not on this forum at the time;)

agree :D :D

supasparx
13/07/2006, 6:18 PM

The lad has been great, and if you notice from other forums for previous away games someone from the country involved has always logged on to offer help and advice. More of the same please!:)

galwayhoop
14/07/2006, 8:37 AM

no offence intended in original post